Davis Vision - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 15 ratings and
28 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Always a Fight for Reimbursement
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LATHAM, NY -- Went to OD Doctor for eye exam at Costco. Submitted OUT OF NETWORK claim for with the examiner's signature for eye exam and Costco's figure for frames and lenses filled in and signed by both OD, Dr and the glasses Vendor. Included a copy of my prescription which also included charge for eye exam and a procedure code of 92015 (not noted on claim form. Got a rejection of Exam charges do to unapproved procedure code "refraction 92015. Always something with these people and we pay for coverage under COBRA since GM canceled retiree eye care and dental many years ago. I do not go to their providers because the make so many mistakes and have poor quality frames and lenses. Called to question the rejection but the CS representative had no access to my paperwork so will request it be reopened, now I wait again with no confidence of reimbursement.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bait and Switch
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LATHAM, NEW YORK -- Me: Why did you deny benefits?

Davis It's an out of network provider

Me: But, I called them because they're listed on your website as a provider. I called them and they confirmed they are a provider.

Insurance: Ma'am, we sell thousands upon thousands of different policies. Nearly every one is different. No provider can tell you they'll be reimbursed unless they submit a claim and it gets paid.

Me: Seriously? You can list providers and fail to inform consumers that they don't actually participate in the network????

Insurance: We had a meeting about that in our strategy group. We knew it would confuse customers, but our CEO decided to do it anyway.

I guess I need to go buy stock in this insurance company because their profit margin has to rock the world at the rate they rip off customers!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Obsfucation on 04/02/2013:
If they really say that they work with this provider on their site, you need to get a screenshot then make a call to the insurance commissioner in your state.
DV Customer Service on 06/23/2013:
I am very sorry that you experienced this. However, ever policy is different. The employer elect who the providers for the specific policy may be. That is why we recommend that you contact us or view your vision benefits online. We can provide you with provider information that is accurate for your policy.

Sometimes members call around asking Dr offices if they "accept" DV. They are told "yes" and go. However, some Dr's may be approved on a certain policy and others may not. It all depends on who your group is, if they are a strict group and who they are allowing to service their members.

Davis Vision does not select your benefits or providers. We only administer the policy.

Most individuals have no idea how insurance works. But you have a dedicated customer service team that will take the time to lead you in the right direction. All you need to do is call us.


kim hemmingway on 12/27/2013:
My husband company recently chose Davis Vision as their eye care provider for their employees. From what I am seeing they're a complete waste of time. Not only that their providers are not local. What an insult to their employees. I guess the big bosses are pocketing the money along with the crooks and incompetent people at Davis Vision.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Davis Vision - Horribly Snail's Slow Paced Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LATHAM, NEW YORK -- Going through my eye care provider to get new replacement lenses, what a pain. They don't even know the correct co-pays of Davis Vision and then Davis (the insurance co.), they're even worse. Three to four weeks waiting to get my new uncomplicated prescription progressive lenses? Come on. This is just ridiculously poor service. If it wasn't offered through my employer and the savings I receive, I'd have nothing to do with these morons.

I've emailed Davis' customer services, bantering back and forth with their non-sense e-mails, saying I have to phone them about the co-pay situation and slow service on the new lenses. With all this energy expended, and they're spending in engaging with e-mail requests and
their answering, you'd think that they'd just do their jobs to
begin with?! Wouldn't you?

Go figure with these idiots.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
CUontheFlipSide on 11/16/2012:
I wonder what these 'morons' and 'idiots' think about you. I think I get a sense of why they might not be knocking themselves out to help you.
madconsumer on 11/16/2012:
insurance companies often make the insured out to be the problem, when in fact it is the insurance company. insurance is a racket, and many find they are bigger than the all mighty himself.

very helpful review, and voted as such!
trmn8r on 11/17/2012:
How does the fact that you received slow service, in your opinion reflect that their employees are "idiots" or "morons"?

You say that you use them because of the cost, but do you really want "idiots" or "morons" preparing your eyeglasses?
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor quality
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I am going into 6 weeks of trying to get a pair of eyeglasses. The first time they sent them to the Dr office, they had bad lens, the second time the lab sent them to the Dr office, the prescription was wrong. This is the third time the Dr has ordered these glasses. The lab told the Dr that they would call me and work out something. No communication at all from the lab. This is totally unacceptable!! I have asked for a refund so I can use another lab, even offering to pay out of pocket but Davis Vision will not give refunds. So my money is tied up with a company that has very poor quality and no communication. I am now trying to get my employer involved.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Looking For My Glasses If I Could Only See
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NEW KENSINGTON, PENNSYLVANIA -- I went to the Allegheny Ophthalmology in Natrona Heights, Pa, I received my glasses in about 8 days, the frames had nicks all over them. The optical dept returned them to the lab with Davis Vision to be replaced and I have been waiting 3 weeks still no glasses. They only had to replace the frames not make new lenses. I can not get any assistance with this. I am told the Dr offices has no control over this. The lab is picked by Davis Vision and they won't give any information on what's going on with my glasses. I didn't get glasses for a fashion statement I bought them so I can see correctly. I need to know who or what I can do next.

This is not a reputably way to service eye care. If this lab can't do their job it's Highmark and Davis Vision responsibility to partner with someone who will. I am sorry I picked these frames. For an additional fee I could have picked someone else. I also think it's the Dr's office optical dept to post a disclaimer letting patients know they have many complaints and no customer service if you pick these frames approved by Davis Vision. The optical dept. let me know this after I kept calling them. Very disappointed on how this is handled and will post complaints everywhere I can, Facebook, Twitter and places like this. Everyone else should too and maybe we can force these Companies to do what's right or do us all a favor and get out of bad business.
     
Add reply
Rip Off
Posted by on
PARSIPPANY, NEW JERSEY -- Davis Vision insurance provides scratch resistant coating for free. What they don't tell you is that you have to pay $20 for insurance for the coating. You cannot buy the coating without the insurance. Therefore the coating really isn't free. RIP OFF. I suggest you get other vision insurance!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
traceylynn on 11/08/2011:
I just switched to Davis for my 2012 benefits. I love Sears Optical and with VSP you cannot go to Sears. I have noticed with both VSP and Davis you have to pay the 20.00 copay which neither one of them used to have it. Sign of the times I am guessing........everything costing more and getting less.
MDSasquatch on 11/08/2011:
I have VSP and my Eye Doctor waives the co-pay; I switched from Davis to VSP because the first time I tried to use Davis, they sent my glasses without the lenses. It took me numerous calls to make someone understand that glasses need lenses and another four weeks to get a replacement pair.
leet60 on 11/08/2011:
I worked as an optician for over 20 years. I can tell you that almost every plastic lens blank manufactured already has scratch resistant coating. While you must pay for a warranty in most cases if you wish one, the coating is already on the lens.
secretinfo on 11/17/2011:
Understand almost ALL vision plans, including VSP restrict doctors and reimburse at such a low level... that rarely is it worth a patient paying for such vision plans. Sometimes you can save the monthly insurance fee and work out a discount on your own with your eye doctor. Youll get better service, much better options, and still pay close to what you do with insurance.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bogus Insurance
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- I enrolled for Vision Insurance through them, in the benefits document they had mentioned Costco is one of the providers. When I bought Glasses from Costco they informed that particular Costco is not covered, so they denied my claim.

I was paying around $40 month as premium. I canceled there service, I used the premium money to buy 2 pairs of glasses from Costco next time.

Looks like these guys are good in taking our money and when it comes to giving it back they find all kinds of excuses.

Sanjay Shetty
Phone: 630-851-4347
     
Add reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
ROCKY POINT, NEW YORK -- Megan was rude on the phone and after being very short with me when I said thank you she just hung up on me without saying anything. Very rude.
     
Add reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
So Slow They Are Going Backwards
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
LATHAM, NEW YORK -- Submitted a reimbursement form weeks ago. Called to check on status of claim. They have no record if it and recommended calling back next week...they cannot even tell me the typical turn around time because it "depends on the number of claims". Seriously? How can a company not be sufficiently staffed to cover periods of high demand? Will definitely let my employer know this is an unsatisfactory option for vision coverage.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
MDSasquatch on 02/06/2013:
I too made the mistake of signing up with Davis Vision; my first experience was them sending a pair of glasses without the lenses. It took them over a month to own up to the mistake and get the correct pair of glasses shipped.

I recommend VSP; I made the switch as soon as I could do so and have had ZERO problems since.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Skip if You Can!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ROCKY POINT, NEW YORK -- Awful, rude workers who can't be bothered to help you. Constant wait although 10 workers are visibly doing nothing. I have to go because of my insurance, if not I would totally avoid this place.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
DebtorBasher on 07/20/2012:
10 workers in your sight doesn't mean they are all trained for the same position. If I went to the hospital, I wouldn't want someone from the billing department to perform surgery on me, just because they work there.
fast327 on 07/20/2012:
Only if Obamacare is allowed to mature will people in the billing department be allowed in the operating room.
MRM on 07/21/2012:
While the staff may work in different depts, they should have gotten somebody to help the customer.
bruce p on 12/14/2013:
You most certainly do NOT have to go to Davis for eyeglasses. I'm sure a local optical shop will provide superior service without the selling pressure OR price games. I own a local optical store for 32 years and do NOT participate in Davis Vision Plans. I'm cheaper, quicker and certainly more courteous.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >