Davis Vision - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
24 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor quality
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I am going into 6 weeks of trying to get a pair of eyeglasses. The first time they sent them to the Dr office, they had bad lens, the second time the lab sent them to the Dr office, the prescription was wrong. This is the third time the Dr has ordered these glasses. The lab told the Dr that they would call me and work out something. No communication at all from the lab. This is totally unacceptable!! I have asked for a refund so I can use another lab, even offering to pay out of pocket but Davis Vision will not give refunds. So my money is tied up with a company that has very poor quality and no communication. I am now trying to get my employer involved.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Looking For My Glasses If I Could Only See
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NEW KENSINGTON, PENNSYLVANIA -- I went to the Allegheny Ophthalmology in Natrona Heights, Pa, I received my glasses in about 8 days, the frames had nicks all over them. The optical dept returned them to the lab with Davis Vision to be replaced and I have been waiting 3 weeks still no glasses. They only had to replace the frames not make new lenses. I can not get any assistance with this. I am told the Dr offices has no control over this. The lab is picked by Davis Vision and they won't give any information on what's going on with my glasses. I didn't get glasses for a fashion statement I bought them so I can see correctly. I need to know who or what I can do next.

This is not a reputably way to service eye care. If this lab can't do their job it's Highmark and Davis Vision responsibility to partner with someone who will. I am sorry I picked these frames. For an additional fee I could have picked someone else. I also think it's the Dr's office optical dept to post a disclaimer letting patients know they have many complaints and no customer service if you pick these frames approved by Davis Vision. The optical dept. let me know this after I kept calling them. Very disappointed on how this is handled and will post complaints everywhere I can, Facebook, Twitter and places like this. Everyone else should too and maybe we can force these Companies to do what's right or do us all a favor and get out of bad business.
     
Add reply
Rip Off
Posted by on
PARSIPPANY, NEW JERSEY -- Davis Vision insurance provides scratch resistant coating for free. What they don't tell you is that you have to pay $20 for insurance for the coating. You cannot buy the coating without the insurance. Therefore the coating really isn't free. RIP OFF. I suggest you get other vision insurance!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
traceylynn on 11/08/2011:
I just switched to Davis for my 2012 benefits. I love Sears Optical and with VSP you cannot go to Sears. I have noticed with both VSP and Davis you have to pay the 20.00 copay which neither one of them used to have it. Sign of the times I am guessing........everything costing more and getting less.
MDSasquatch on 11/08/2011:
I have VSP and my Eye Doctor waives the co-pay; I switched from Davis to VSP because the first time I tried to use Davis, they sent my glasses without the lenses. It took me numerous calls to make someone understand that glasses need lenses and another four weeks to get a replacement pair.
leet60 on 11/08/2011:
I worked as an optician for over 20 years. I can tell you that almost every plastic lens blank manufactured already has scratch resistant coating. While you must pay for a warranty in most cases if you wish one, the coating is already on the lens.
secretinfo on 11/17/2011:
Understand almost ALL vision plans, including VSP restrict doctors and reimburse at such a low level... that rarely is it worth a patient paying for such vision plans. Sometimes you can save the monthly insurance fee and work out a discount on your own with your eye doctor. Youll get better service, much better options, and still pay close to what you do with insurance.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
ROCKY POINT, NEW YORK -- Megan was rude on the phone and after being very short with me when I said thank you she just hung up on me without saying anything. Very rude.
     
Add reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
So Slow They Are Going Backwards
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
LATHAM, NEW YORK -- Submitted a reimbursement form weeks ago. Called to check on status of claim. They have no record if it and recommended calling back next week...they cannot even tell me the typical turn around time because it "depends on the number of claims". Seriously? How can a company not be sufficiently staffed to cover periods of high demand? Will definitely let my employer know this is an unsatisfactory option for vision coverage.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
MDSasquatch on 02/06/2013:
I too made the mistake of signing up with Davis Vision; my first experience was them sending a pair of glasses without the lenses. It took them over a month to own up to the mistake and get the correct pair of glasses shipped.

I recommend VSP; I made the switch as soon as I could do so and have had ZERO problems since.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Skip if You Can!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ROCKY POINT, NEW YORK -- Awful, rude workers who can't be bothered to help you. Constant wait although 10 workers are visibly doing nothing. I have to go because of my insurance, if not I would totally avoid this place.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
DebtorBasher on 07/20/2012:
10 workers in your sight doesn't mean they are all trained for the same position. If I went to the hospital, I wouldn't want someone from the billing department to perform surgery on me, just because they work there.
fast327 on 07/20/2012:
Only if Obamacare is allowed to mature will people in the billing department be allowed in the operating room.
MRM on 07/21/2012:
While the staff may work in different depts, they should have gotten somebody to help the customer.
bruce p on 12/14/2013:
You most certainly do NOT have to go to Davis for eyeglasses. I'm sure a local optical shop will provide superior service without the selling pressure OR price games. I own a local optical store for 32 years and do NOT participate in Davis Vision Plans. I'm cheaper, quicker and certainly more courteous.
Close commentsAdd reply
Davis Vision should be shut down!
Posted by on
NEW YORK -- Davis Vision is by far the WORST visual care plan. The do shoddy work and their customer service is useless. I have been waiting for new lenses to be put on MY frame for about 6 weeks! The lenses have come back twice with cloudy spots from the coating and they misplaced my frame! Davis Vision only cares about making money and there is absolutely no regard for their customers.

I will never use them again!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
MDSasquatch on 09/16/2010:
I agree 100%! I had them for 1 year and as soon as I was eligible to switch, I did. They actually sent my glasses without the lenses; then took 6 weeks to fix the problem. I asked them how a quality control check could miss the fact that the glasses didn't have lenses and got no answer.

You should do what I did, ask you optometrist which insurance they recommend.
beyondsick on 10/04/2010:
Being stuck with Davis Vision as the insurance that General Motors pays for their employees is awful. They have made the lenses for my husbands glasses 5 times so far and still a problem. Going on the sixth time. The BBB can't do anything because they can't force the company to let you use another lab. Their patient advocate Justin lies when confronted with things he has said and is useless. We can go out of network and pay a higher out of pocket but why should we do that, if they are incapable of making the lenses correctly they should pay the other lab to make what they can't seem to.
Close commentsAdd reply
Horrible Experience
Posted by on
LITTLE NECK, NEW YORK -- I couldn't believe what Horrible service I received there !!!! I am livid and was in shock at there Customer Services Skills I spoke with a tall dark skinned women who was rude and acted like I wasn't there.
I didn't say anything for a while then reminded her again what I was there for I have no idea where this person went she left the front came back I was still waiting then finally realized I was there like I just walked in the place for the first time. "Have you been helped" OMG I was horrified that this incompetent person has a job.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
MDSasquatch on 06/15/2010:
Davis Vision = RUN AWAY AS FAST AS YOU CAN!

They actually made me glasses with no lenses, they even passed their quality control inspection....

Took 4 weeks to get my glasses, never again!
beyondsick on 10/04/2010:
Quality control is a joke. After the first three times of the lenses coming in flawed they said to have a manager follow the process through. Manager signed off on the glasses and they were flawed the forth time. Now we are going on the sixth time and were told by my husbands benefit representative at the union that we have to let them make them as many times as necessary to get them right. How many times will that be? Maybe until the year is up and he can start again with his next pair of lenses.
Close commentsAdd reply
Davis Vision does not honor their guarantee of satisfaction
Posted by on
LATHAM, NEW YORK -- I have had the displeasure of having Davis Vision as the provider under my group health insurance for the last 5 years (approximately). Originally, they made the eyeglasses within tolerance according to my optometrist's prescription, but since 2007 they have not been grinding the lenses correctly. Most recently they have what they call the PD (which is the distance in mm between the center of the nose to the point where you SEE through the glasses (usually the center of your pupil). Well, in this case the doctor ordered 31/33 and they produced lenses 34/34. And now they refuse to redo them because I didn't bring them back to the optometrist fast enough. By the way, their online "satisfaction guarantee" doesn't have any time limitations nor does it mean THEIR satisfaction. In this case the time was 8 months. For those 8 months I got by by moving the nose supports to the side a little bit. The vision was not perfect, but at least it was useable. Then when I came for THIS YEAR's exam, I discovered that they never provided me with a pair of glasses that were cut to specs. And now they are being chincy about fixing the problem. I would not recommend these people to anyone.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 12/18/2009:
pardon me for saying so, but regardless there not being a time limit, any reasonable human would assume that 8 months is too dang long. If you can wear them that long, then you can keep wearing them until your next renewal.

You should have said something way before now.
dand1001 on 12/19/2009:
Point is, a warranty is a WARRANTY, and if they were NEVER MADE RIGHT, I am entitled to receive a pair that I paid for made to specs! They never made the correct prescription and they were paid to do so. And if they want the luxury of printing a "Complete Satisfaction Warranty" then they have to stand behind it or remove it from their marketing!
Ytropious on 12/19/2009:
You waited 8 months to complain? Even places with great customer service don't help customers who wait that long.
dand1001 on 12/20/2009:
You're missing the entire point, they were NOT MADE to specs, and I didn't invite your opinion. You have a right to your view and I have a right to express mine.
PepperElf on 12/20/2009:
it is surprising to wait that long to complain however

and if they haven't been grinding lenses properly since 2007 why would you even consider going back? that'd be almost 3 years of improper lens-making by now...
Close commentsAdd reply
Not Worth The Time
Posted by on
I ordered glasses with Davis Vision, through my eye doctor. The order was botched from the start. Lenses cut wrong, frames lost, frames and lenses lost.... everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. It took 4 months to get a simple pair of bifocals! They gave both me and my provider the run around each and every time we called them for information on the order. I will never use them again!

Despite my coverage, it was not worth the time it took to get the glasses! Horrible service!!!
     
Add reply
Top of Page | Next Page >