Preview Review

Next Review

Delta Airlines Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worse Customer Service Ever!
By -

BUFFALO, NEW YORK -- On 12/25/08 I was given a buddy pass by a friend to go to Buffalo, NY and surprise my ten year old son for Christmas, who is currently living with his father. Getting there was not bad at all. I arrived a little late, but everything was fine. Now I have traveled with Delta airline plenty of times and preferred Delta over the rest. This was the first and last time flying with a buddy pass.

Now I am aware of the procedure when using a buddy pass. If the flight is full, you would have to wait on the next. Fine, no problem! My flight to come home was a deal breaker. I understood during the Holiday season that it was possible that I would not be able to make it home in a timely manner.

As I set and waited for the first flight at four in the morning from Buffalo NY to Atlanta GA, I watched as the ticket guy ** got into a heated argument with an older guy. Not sure what was said but you could see that the words back and forth were not friendly. After a while I decided to go up to the counter and ask ** if he had an idea if I would be able to make this flight or not. He replied " You will know if I call your name!" Not once looking up at me. I thought that was rude but hey it was the holidays and everything was hectic. So I went back to my seat and waited.

After everyone had boarded the plane ** gave me a seat 7a and closed the door. Now the plane was due to take off at 6:30am. He handed me my seat at 6:27am. I walked down the ramp and was seated in 8f because someone was already sitting in 7a, and the stewardess advised me to sit anywhere a seat was available.

After five minutes of being seated a stewardess came back and asked who was supposed to be seated in 7a. I told her that I was. She asked if I had a "Rep pass?" Not knowing what that was I told her that I didn't know. She turned around and walked away...6:35am now! Next thing you know ** is walking down the aisle. He stopped and looked at me and said "You need to get up right now!"

I said "Why you just gave me this seat"? He said very nasty "It doesn't matter you need to get up and get off the plane now!" Now everyone on the plane is looking at me like I was some kind of terrorist. I was really embarrassed. Without another word I got up and exited the plane. I walked threw the tunnel and waited at the counter.

A couple of seconds later ** exited the tunnel. Not knowing exactly what had just happened I questioned him. I said "What happened why was I kicked off and you gave me that seat?" He stated in a disrespectful tone "Go and sit down and I will be with you later!" I said "You don't have to be nasty you gave me that seat!" He stated "First of all that wasn't your seat, that seat belonged to a paying customer!" Again everyone seated waiting for the next flight was listening to what was going on.

I said "I understand that but you acted as if I forced myself onto the plane, when you are the one who gave me a seat, I just want to know what going on!" He said really loud "You never had a seat that was the other ladies seat. She is a paying customer and you are basically trying to fly for free, so you don't have a seat!" I said "It doesn't matter if I'm a paying customer or not you don't have to speak to me that way." He then said " If you're going to sit there and argue with me you won't be flying at all!" At that point I decided not to continue going back and forth with him. It was either that or to go to jail in Buffalo and be stuck there for a while.

After contacting my fiance to let him know what had just happened as I cried my eyes out from the embarrassment, he advise me to get the guys name and his supervisors name and number. I walked over and asked him for his name he refused to give me his last name and told me his supervisors name was **. He advised me that ** was downstairs back out at the counter pass security. Without another word I walked downstairs and met **.

** was very busy with a line that you wouldn't believe. I waited or him to get a quick moment. While I waited I heard ** calling back up stairs to ** and was very upset with him for sending customers back to him to reschedule their missed flights. I watched as they argued back and forth. Soon ** got the opportunity to talk to me. I explained the situation to him. I was informed that ** had made a mistake.

Once a paying customer seat was giving away to a standby the paying customer had missed their flight and needed to rescheduled. So those customers he let on the plane after me was not supposed to board the plane. The fact that I was flying with a buddy pass was no ones business. He violated the confidentiality policy of Delta Airlines by shouting out this information. What was really odd was ** response. He said that that's the way ** was and that he gets complaints a lot about his customer service skills.

Now if that is the case, why is ** still employed with Delta? I think that ** should be fired and should not work in customer service anywhere. I was given another stand by ticket and was sent back up to where ** was. As I approached a seat and I heard ** telling another ticket person about our argument and how he started to tell me off. I think again that his actions were completely unprofessional and I will see to it that he never does this to a customer again. Paying or not! No one deserved to be treated like this.

After spending a total of 15 hours in the airport on 12/30/2008 after the last plane left without me. I called my girlfriend to pick me up and I went back to her house, got on-line and bought a one way ticket home to Texas. Of course I didn't purchase the ticket threw Delta. I flew Air Tran, and they have just gained a new customer. I see why they were voted #1 in customer service. They were very pleasant!

Replies
Advertisement
Delta's Criminal behavior. My 15 Years Old Daughter in Potential Danger.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Delta's criminal behavior. My 15 year old daughter (minor flying by her self) in potential danger. I bought non stop flight tickets for my daughter, paid more, to make sure she will have no extra trouble. Her trip was stressful enough: Dallas to NY JFK; NY JFK to Moscow Russia, then on the way back Moscow to NY JFK; NY JFK to Dallas. My daughter very bright person, she had flown before, so I decide to let her navigate between her gates and flights by her self.

On the way to Russia her flight from Dallas was late, so she missed her connection and Delta had rescheduled her for another flight that leaves 3 hours later and runs by Russian Airline. So my daughter had to run from her gate she arrived from Dallas to the gate of her original flight to Russia and Delta representatives closed door right in front of her face, stating she is 2 min. late. Then they sent her to her previous gate, to change her flight, then she had to stay in line to change her ticket, so Delta booked her on Aeroflot (Russian airline) flight.

By the time they gave her new flight information, she had only 1 hour to run to new gate and get checked in. That was her trip to Russia. I thought it was bad, but I was wrong!!! On the way back, Delta canceled her connection flight to Dallas and re-booked her on flight with 2 connections (NY, Wash, Atlanta, Dallas) and they changed date for next evening. My daughter outside of the security (because she had to clear custom) with all her luggage, even bag that was checked in in JFK Airport by her self for another 26 hours, after flying form Russia (flight 10 hours).

I made 7 calls to Delta, had to wait for at list 25 minutes. Delta told me they booked my daughter to American Airline, they gave me confirmation number and also they said: Tell your daughter to go to AA and give them confirmation code. When my daughter with all those bags got there AA representative told her, Delta never booked her on this flight and now they don't have available seats. My daughter was running around asking for help, but Delta representatives at the airport, was ignoring her, when I asked her to give them her cell phone, so I can explain the situation, they refused to talk to me.

It took me 7 hours to try to get her on any flight to Dallas, but it wasn't successful. Finely they got her on flight to JFK to LA to Dallas ha-ha-ha!!!! But it made me feel little better, at list she is not on a street in strange town. Now she is on the way to LA and her flight is running late, so I am worry she is not going to make her connection to Dallas, but at list her baggage checked in and hopefully it will make easier to run between gates in LA.

It would be funny story, if it wouldn't be so sad. Why did I pay more for non stop flight from NY to Dallas? Why no one is responsible for this situation? Why my daughter have to spend night on a street in NY or fly all over the country to get home? Delta you are bunch of criminals!!!

Replies
Terrible Vegas Vacation
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- My fiance and I were on a flight from Atlanta to Las Vegas on May 13, 2011. I purchased a headset from the flight attendant for what I thought would be $2.00 but actually turned out to be $372.00.This was the beginning of a terrible vacation. Due to the overcharge, I was unable to rent a car, pay for my hotel, and basically enjoy all the perks of Las Vegas because my money/checking account was tied up due to Delta's error. Because of this, Bank of America had to freeze my account and I was unable to access cash because my debit card was frozen and I could not withdraw it from a branch because it was Saturday and the banks were closed!

When I first spoke with Delta, I was told I would receive 2 call backs, one from the 1-800 number and one from the counter at the Las Vegas airport. That did not happen. When I called back Sunday, I spoke with Brent of Tampa. He told me there would be nothing they can do until I provide them with the document number to trace the charge. Well, because the charge came in over the weekend, it was pending until the beginning of the week when it posted so I was unable to provide the number because there was no number yet associated with the charge.

By Monday morning I was livid! I spoke with the rudest person from your Salt Lake City office, Paul, and was told there was nothing Delta can do. I would need to contact my bank and they will handle the refund. That was it. I instantly came to the conclusion that I will NEVER fly Delta again. I took my flight back to Atlanta and Tuesday morning, I called your corporate number and spoke with Edith. She was very apologetic and helpful but still I am unsatisfied. She issued me case number: #** and a $125 credit for another flight. Wednesday morning, I check my account and nothing has happened.

I call back your corporate customer service line to check the status of my case and the woman I speak with says I have yet to issue proof of the charge. I tell her I emailed it in yesterday and would she like me to fax it in. I ask for her fax number and ask her to please have Edith, the woman I was speaking on Tuesday, give me a call back once she received it. She says sure and begins to end the call. I quickly stop her so she can confirm my telephone number and believe it or not, she has the WRONG telephone number. She reads out 4047152600. I want to scream. That is Delta's corporate office's telephone number not my telephone number.

She says "Oops, my bad. Can I have you number please?" This is completely unacceptable. My vacation was ruined! I could not enjoy anything because I had no access to cash! I had to take public transportation because my card was declined for my rental car reservation. My RESERVED birthday dinner for my fiance and friends was unable to happen because I had no funds. And all I get as an apology is a $125 credit? No! That is not right.

I spent over $600 for our tickets to Las Vegas with Delta and because one of your flight attendants was careless and charged me $370 over the price of a $2 headset which in turn locked up my banking account, I am supposed to just accept this and move on. My big birthday bash for my fiance was RUINED!

I am utterly and completely dissatisfied with what happened and believe that Delta needs to rectify this situation immediately. And a $125 travel credit is an insult. Not to mention as of this time, 5/18/2011 at 10:33 am EST, I have yet to be refunded for the overcharge of the headset! The lack of professionalism from you first line customer service is beyond me and some definite retraining is needed.

Replies
Rude and Unhelpful flight supervisor and Delta tickets politics.
By -

I was flying from Norfolk to Atlanta on Feb 6. I had such an unfortunate experience that I want to share. As I am not from Virginia, I don't know the city much. I went to Newport News instead of Norfolk and the Delta customer there told me to go to Norfolk. I rushed to Norfolk and I got 170 dollar speeding ticket with court fees. I then hurried to the airport. I left the check in baggage with my friend and told him to send it later as I did not want to miss the flight. I immediately got the boarding pass and ran and ran to the gate. The passengers were still checking in the flight but the front gate was closed.

Flight supervisor was called and she said she can't help with this flight. I explained my situation to the other Delta employee and she called the supervisor again. I told them that it's the last flight and if I miss this, I can't make to Little Rock tonight. The same flight supervisor said that she would talk to me soon but didn't not listen to what I said. I am a physician and had 13 sick patients to see in the morning which I didn't wanted to miss. I was here for a job interview and had to rush back the next morning. As the flight departed (which was by the way not for 15 min while I was standing outside looking for it to go), the supervisor came.

I told my story and how important it was for me to reach little rock. She said she would help and while she was booking next flight, she realized that it was the last flight. She immediately booked my next flight and she asked me to rush at Atlanta airport and try to catch my connecting flight. The layover time was 6 min and Atlanta being the busiest airport, I don't know how did she even say that? Why would she even give me false help and wrong suggestions when it was not possible. I told her that when Delta flights get delayed many times, we customers don't say anything. We realize that it happens and we try to be as cooperative as we can.

She had no empathy to me and refused to give me her name. After this episode, I called my friend who suggested that there was actually US airways which was flying at 7:45 pm and would reach Little Rock at night. I suggested that she can try talking to US airways which she again refused. She suggested that if wanted I can book flight with them now. (well I am 28 yrs old and I can think that much.) She could have helped me in at least 10 different ways but I saw no empathy, help or even at least listening to the customer.

When I asked what if I lose the connecting flight, she suggested that the next flight be booked tomorrow morning but I have to make my own night arrangements. I was heart broken and felt immensely sad, helpless( for myself and my patients). Here is the worst part. My flight reached Atlanta actually 30 min early and the flight attendant in the flight was very helpful and she tried her best to help me out. She even let me to get out of the flight first and suggested me to tell the Delta service agent that my connecting flight is 30 min away and that I have made it to the airport and will be coming soon. I did so and the agent told me not to worry.

Now when I went there to board this flight and I was 15 min early, this gate was CLOSED TOO and it was 15 min early. And I asked what was the problem for which the supervisor there said he will talk soon. I was accompanied by 3 more customers there and when I asked their story, they said they were given the wrong gate. (You can verify this if you want to by looking into the customers who got canceled that flight). Now while the flight had not still left, I asked the supervisor why would he not let us board the flight? He said he can't do it and we have to stay overnight and carry the next morning flight.

When I repeatedly asked him what's the problem now, HE SAID THAT OUR SEATS ARE ALREADY SOLD AND ACTUALLY THERE ARE NO SEATS AVAILABLE. How ridiculous and unprofessional is that? He also read me the report saying that it was already explained to me at Norfolk and the issue is resolved. The supervisor probably knew that I would complain and she possibly did everything she can to protect herself and did everything she can to protect herself and defensive. He did give me a free overnight stay but I am so not satisfied with Delta.

I sincerely ask for little more better service from Delta and please take this as a feedback. I would please ask for the supervisor's reply to at least realize what I went through and how could the situation been handled better. She was arrogant, impatient and extremely unhelpful and rude. Not to mention, she immediately ran away from the scene in 5 min. I am telling my horror story to all my friends and will try to post this in all the forums and internet just to make customers realize that we as a customers should not keep quiet if we find any faults from the flight side. It probably has created lot of mistrust which is such an unfortunate event.

Replies
Advertisement
Delta ticketing agents frighteningly incompetent and rude
By -

Here's my experience with just trying BOOK a frigging flight with this brain dead airline. I was using points from a credit card that had to be transferred over to my Delta frequent flier account so my family and me could fly on my miles. I called a month ahead of time to do so. The first nimrod I got was overseas with a thick accent and a fake American name. After numerous attempts to make myself understood he told me I would need 80,000 miles total to qualify for seats. Made the reservation and called my Credit card company and they immediately transferred the miles over. Simple yes? Wrong. The genius in Delhi, Calcutta or whatever third world backwater was wrong.

It was 80,000 miles PER SEAT. Luckily, I called Delta just before I lost my seats and found this out. The next agent I spoke to Jason was a rocket scientist in OHIO. He reassured me that he would extend the deadline on my reservation for two more days until the additional miles came in. Jumpy now, I called the next day, a day BEFORE the new deadline, and got Jenny in the US who told me that my reservation had been canceled because it was past the deadline. Smoke coming out of my ears I said, "Your agent assured me that he would extend the deadline and you're telling me now that my reservation GONE? I called a MONTH in advance for these flights.

These times and dates are non-negotiable. We have to be in Atlanta on a certain day for a certain event. "Well let me see what I can do for you, click, click, click, okay I found your itinerary and I've re-booked those flights. You can go on Delta.com and see them there." She promises to send me an email confirming this. Problem solved, right? WRONG! I never get an email confirming this conversation. Not trusting anything this pathetic excuse for a company tells me, I check my reservation on their website and, sure enough, Jenny screwed up my return flight booking it A MONTH LATER than my original one.

Head... about... to... explode, I call Delta and get Carol who sounds like a dude. Either that or she's smoked so much that she's got a voice that could strip paint. I make my frustration and displeasure with Delta plain to Carol who is - how should I put it - an unsympathetic witch with the listening skills of Glenn Beck. She starts stonewalling, tells me I'm being unreasonable and that it's not a big deal. "NOT A BIG DEAL?" "I've had to make four, count ‘em; four phone calls to make a simple fight reservation and each time YOU GUYS have nearly screwed me. How is that not a big deal?"

Finally, I get my return flight sorted out with yet another reservation, and ask her to send me an email confirming this. She refuses, telling me they don't send emails unless the ticket is paid for. I point out that the first guy in outsourced hell already sent me one and Jenny said she would (Although she never did). Carol still refuses and then has the nerve to tell me I'm acting unreasonable. So, I make her stay on the line while I go their website to confirm she did what she said. She had. After promises to stay in touch, we say our tearful goodbyes.

As of now, I'm holding a reservation on the dates I want but Delta has not processed the miles my credit card company has transferred over. I still may lose this reservation and again, bear in mind, this is me planning a trip A MONTH in advance. Does it really have to this hard?

Replies
"Held Hostage" by Delta for 16 Days in Johannesburg!
By -

One can understand that it sometimes can be difficult to get a seat on a plane, more so during peak travelling times, flying on a Delta Buddy Pass, on a standby basis. That being said and done, our first attempt to get on our Delta flight (Flight DL201) from Johannesburg back to Atlanta was on December 10, 2010.

Needless to say, after having checked in at 15H45, as was required, we were told to return to the particular check-in counter at 19H00. That we did, and stood around until 20H20, when the flight departed. At no stage were we advised that no seats were available.. The people working for Delta at the check-in counters simply closed up their workstations, and disappeared. No word of what the situation entailed i.e. no seats available, the plane has departed, or to come back and try again the following night! Nada, Zilch!

The above events were repeated for the following 6 nights, no seats, no explanation, nothing.. That was when I felt I had come to the point that I felt I was owed an explanation by the people in the Delta Ticketing booth. At all times I remained polite (in fact, my wife who is a multi-media producer, has all on video), and during my conversation with the staff in the ticketing booth, it became clear that they did not work for Delta Airlines, they were merely subcontracted by Delta, and in fact worked for a company called Swissport.

That was when I demanded to speak to their supervisor if they had such a person - and it then transpired that Delta had in fact only one employee / manager, a person with the name of **. I demanded to speak to him, but was advised that he had already left and gone home. I demanded that they call him at home, which they did.

** the manager of Delta Airlines at OR Tambo Airport in Johannesburg, was not at all interested in my questions, particularly when I asked him about another standby couple who had offered their seats to myself and my wife, when they learnt that we had been stuck for more than a week, not being able to get on a Delta flight and when I pointed out to him that there were in fact 22 seats available on the plane, he simply said that Delta'€™s first priority was to load extra cargo, instead of standby passengers (Non-Revenue Passengers, as standby passengers are known to Delta) as that was financially the most logical thing for Delta to do.

He then simply hung up the phone on me the last thing one would expect from a Delta employee, but then, alas, perhaps understandable in the Africa context where very little accountability can be expected! About 5 minutes later, three different couples who were also on buddy-passes and on the same priority rating, offered their seats to us, as that was their first attempt, and they by then knew that we were now trying for 6 nights to get on the plane! The check-in people simply refused to allocate that particular couple'™s tickets to us, or to any other of the other standby passengers for that matter!

One particular couple - who were then indeed allocated two seats - were so annoyed that Delta would not pass on their seats to long waiting standby passengers, that they then simply refused to get on the plane, and cancelled their boarding passes.. Regardless of that, Delta would not issue those particular seats to ANY of the waiting standby passengers!!!

That being said and done, we simply went back to the ticketing office, to have us again placed on the standby waiting list for the following night. That was the night of 18 December. Every night the same thing happened. Some passengers did a trip to South Africa for 10 days, only to be stuck at O. R. Tambo for the same number of days! (Personally, we have been trying to get on the Delta flight for 14 days now!) This all is nothing but a clear example of an abuse of power! But then also the total breakdown in security!

One particular passenger who lucked out and was given a boarding pass, called us again when we had returned to the hotel, after another unsuccessful attempt to get on the flight! She had cleared customs, was cleared by security personnel, and got on the plane, only to find that someone was sitting in her allocated seat! She called a flight attendant, and it then became clear that the boarding pass given to her at check-in was in the name of another person, and not in her name! Needless to say, she was then again promptly escorted off the plane, and nobody was held accountable or even questioned about the breakdown in security!!!

On December 23, we tried again to get on the flight, with no luck, regardless that we were told earlier in the week that the 23rd is wide open, with many seats available, and that the 23rd was THE day to get on the flight on a stand-by passenger basis! It became clear when passengers started checking in that there were 22 seats available in business class, and 94 in economy class. Guess what“ only 2 passengers on standby were allowed to board the plane!!!

Again we were fed the nonsense that the number of standby passengers allowed to fly was subject to the amount of cargo to be taken on, which was UTTER NONSENSE! That became clear when one retired Delta pilot, (also on standby but on a higher priority of course!) explained to us that the cargo story fed to us was nonsense. According to him, if a flight has an 8 PM departure, the cargo would already have been loaded on the plane by 4 pm!!!

According to the same pilot, the issue was only about the inefficiency of the agents booking in passengers and issuing boarding passes. We checked, and sure as hell THAT was indeed the problem!!! It took a minimum of 4 hours for inefficient staff to issue boarding passes to all passengers. (Again, they are not employed by Delta Airlines, but are subcontracted from a company called Swissport“. Hence the fact that they have no incentive to work faster or more efficient!)

Look at this now. This same retired pilot, when he SAW that Delta would not board a standby passenger with a sick baby in her arms, then went and BOUGHT the lady and her baby a ticket out of his own pocket, just so that she could get on the flight, and get her baby home! Shame on Delta!!! A couple of œnon-revs€, as standby passengers are known and described by Delta, killed time by comparing how long it took other airlines to issue boarding passes to their waiting passengers. Believe it or not, Lufthansa, Air France, KLM and BA took an average of 1 hour and 15 minutes to board their passengers! Compared to Delta'€™s FOUR hours!!!

So the story given by Delta that the weather, cargo / passenger ratio etc. was the determining factor as to how many standby passengers were allowed to board is plain poppy cock! It simply boils down to this the captain on the plane has a departure time deadline, otherwise he gets dinged - and when it comes close to his scheduled departure time, he simply has the aircraft doors closed and proceeds to depart. Which means - To hell with whom still needs to board even if it is a passenger with a fully paid ticket not just the standby-passengers!

So these are the simple facts but Delta will not acknowledge the problems are 99% to be blamed on inefficient people employed on a subcontract basis as that will not be the Political Correct thing to do!!! So they blame it on totally irrelevant factors like weather and cargo!! (If that was indeed the case, why do other airlines not have the same problems!!!??)

Totally bloody preposterous!!! (It is not like non-revs are flying for free - standby passengers still pay around 50% of an economy class ticket! Threatening one to have the flight privileges of the person who gave us the standby ticket is so egregiously inhumane, and corporate crap! (And amounts to blackmailing!) On Christmas Eve, we were told that DELTA had a total embargo on standby passengers, meaning we were again stuck for the night at the airport, and could only HOPE to get on a flight on CHRISTMAS DAY!!!

On Christmas Day - Day 16 of trying to get on a Delta Flight, we again went to the airport at 3 PM, to have ourselves listed on the standby-list. One particular employee named **, (his name tag described him as a flight controller) - told us to come back to see him (not another agent!) at 7PM, when it was the cut-off time to check in. He apparently had received word that the Captain on flight DL201 had decided to allow all 14 stand-by passengers to board the flight! At last! After 16 attempts go get on a Delta flight!

We were advised that we were to take up seats as indicated on our boarding passes, but that we were to be moved to the business class section after takeoff, when the plane reached cruising altitude. We did so when told to move seats, only to be faced by disgruntled and irritated flight attendants, when we were seated.. As it was, they were already mad at having to work on Christmas Day, and then got even more disgruntled when the section which was supposed to be clear of any passengers, were now filled by the €œnon-revs€ the Captain allowed to board!

(The flight attendants were rude and unfriendly, and one could almost feel that the food and drinks were just about thrown at you!) So, there it is our 16 day ordeal with Delta Airlines with whom I will never fly again, and an airline I will not recommend to any of my clients going on an African Safari.

Replies
Small request + large fee = Taking my business elsewhere
By -

My fiance and I were interested in switching my flight on Dec.19th to an earlier date, ideally on December 17th after 4 pm EST. He contacted Delta and inquired about the switch and was informed that since the seat change was not made within 24 hours, there would be a $200 charge. $150 would be charged for the change and there would also be a $50 rebooking fee.

This is where I am slightly miffed. He paid $244.40 for my window seat [10 days prior to my departure] through Expedia.com. Paying an additional $200.00 would mean my seat for (possibly) December 17th or 18th would cost upward of $450.00. As we are both students in college, it seems a bit much for a seat switch. I realize that with the holidays approaching, people will be traveling and seats will be scarce, but I would be willing to take the chance at losing my beloved window seat for a seat on a Delta airplane two days sooner.

By forfeiting my flight on the 19th, I would be freeing up an available seat with a well-known airline. Surely losing my place on that plane would not affect airline profits... A frequent flier with Delta myself, I was not looking to switch airlines. I merely was looking to switch dates. I am aware of the lost sales Delta may receive by my seat being reserved until now (ie: A customer and his wife wanted two seats next to each other, and the seat in the middle was open but my seat was reserved, therefore they could not purchase the seats next to each other and opted to go elsewhere). However, I am also strongly aware of the high demand of flights around the holiday.

$200 for booking a flight change in addition to the first seating fee seems outrageous. We tried to change it immediately-- as soon as I was aware... but we were met with "policy." As a female with experience in retail for nearly 9 years (working customer service, specifically, for 6 of those years) I am aware that policies are only as firm as the people who impose them, and they are often bent to make the customer happy.

This particular way of doing things may not increase the immediate sale, but it will affect future sales. It will satisfy the customer and will build guest loyalty, therefore increasing future sales, both by the customer's repeated business and word of mouth. I do not understand why our request for switching my flight to an earlier date could not be met without a hefty fee. Similar to a "restocking fee" that we have at my current employer, I acknowledge the "rebooking fee." I do not agree with the additional $150.00 in fees that would put my ticket cost over $400.00...

My fiance and I are asking for this favor one week in advance, not one day, or one hour in advance. The "policy" for the "seat change charge" and "rebooking" charge is purely for the airline's profit, and I am well aware of this. I have never had any other ordeals with your airline. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Replies
Vacation Ruined... Delta Does Nearly Nothing.
By -

ALTANTA, GEORGIA -- On Saturday October 2, 2010, I left Sarasota, Fl on Delta Flight 2348 to Atlanta, GA. I was then supposed to continue to Paris, France, on Delta Flight 274 and continue to Genoa, Italy on Delta Flight 5843 with a final destination arrival time of 5:20pm on Sunday October 3, 2010. With an on-time departure from Sarasota, we actually arrived about 20 minutes early into Atlanta, GA. While this was the case, we could not reach our gate because another Delta aircraft was at our assigned gate.

After sitting on the runway until almost 8:30 PM, we finally reached a gate and unloaded from the aircraft. I immediately made contact with the agent at the gate and told her to let my other flight know that I was there and would be at the gate soon. She confirmed and I started running to the gate. I arrived at the gate at 8:35. There were still five to seven people in front of me to board the plane and an irate gentleman at the ticket counter. The Delta representative at the gate took my ticket and passport, scanned my ticket, and was in motion to scan my passport.

The other Delta representative at the ticket counter said “He (referring to me) didn't get here early enough; he can't get on the plane.” In the meantime, the gentleman at the counter that did not originally have an assigned seat on the plane was allowed on the plane and I was bumped. I was directed to a Delta special services counter and the door to the gate was closed.

At the counter, I was told that the soonest I could leave was the next day. I was schedule for Delta flight 130 at 4:40PM to Munich and then Continental Flight 5486 to Genoa at 11:00 AM on Monday October 4, 2010. I was also told that Delta was only going to give me a discounted rate at a hotel because the rescheduled flight was not Delta's fault; it was air traffic controls fault. While waiting on the hotel shuttle, I called the Delta, explained the situation and the representative said it wasn't Delta's fault, it was due to in climate weather in the area. If clear skies and on a starry night is in climate weather for a Delta aircraft, I don't feel comfortable riding in one.

After continuing the conversation, the representative said he would give me a $50 flight credit. At this point in time, I am still paying for a hotel room in Atlanta. I have to pay for might night missed in Genoa, and I lose a full day's work. In my luggage was also two boxes of brochures that were going to be used for the sales of boats at the Genoa International Boat Show. Without these brochures, the company's full line cannot be shown to customers and sales are missed.

Finally arriving to the hotel at 12:20AM on Sunday October 3, 2010, I get a room. The room was dirty and the bed wasn't even made. The hotel that Delta recommended had a nice lobby but the room was awful. I was put in another room. At 3:30AM, I received a notice from Expedia saying that I needed to contact the company immediately pertaining to my flight. At that time, I called Expedia and they informed me that the flight from Munich to Genoa was overbooked and I was only on the standby list for the flight. While even more frustrated with the situation, I tried to sleep for a while and returned to the airport to sort out the matter.

At the same special services counter from the day before, I asked about my flight and told them I wanted a guaranteed flight and did not want to be on standby. After checking my reservation, the Delta representative was baffled at her findings telling me that she did not have access to the Continental flight information but the flight was in conjunction with an airline that Delta is not even supposed to book with. Once again, I was rescheduled on a new set of flights. This time, I was scheduled on Delta Flight AF681 to Paris at 5:50 PM on Sunday October 3, 2010 and Delta flight AF5847 to Genoa at 9:55 AM.

Delta Flight Af681 to Paris left on time and landed on time. The connection to Genoa, AF5847, left on time also. While in the air, the captain explained that we were circling the Genoa airport because of storms, and we were number 6 in line to land. We were expected to land in about 30 minutes. About 15 minutes pasted and the captain came on again saying that the airport was now closed due to flooding, and we would be landing in Nice, France.

Upon arrival, I proceeded to baggage claim and received none of the three pieces of luggage I checked. I reported my delayed luggage and proceeded to the provided bus to Genoa. When we got to the bus, the driver told us that there was to be no eating or drinking on his bus. We would arrive in Genoa in three to three and a half hours, and we could eat then. About five hours into the ride, yes five, a girl appearing to be in her early teens asked the driver to unlock the bathroom so she could use it. He denied her request and she sat down.

About 20 minutes later she returned and was denied again. Immediately her father stepped in along with other passengers on the bus and demanded that the restroom be unlocked. We were sitting still in traffic and there was no reason the driver couldn't do it. After a small uproar, he gave in. On his way to unlock the door, he yelled to the passengers to not take advantage of the toilet because he didn't want to have to empty it and clean it. After six and a half hours of travel, the driver exited the highway and dropped all of the passengers and their luggage off at an abandoned gas station that had several beggars at time just inside of Genoa.

I tried to get the driver to let me use his phone or give information at least. He resisted, slammed the bus door and drove away. Now, Delta has dropped me off in an unsafe environment, in pouring rain, in a foreign country, with a foreign language, without any official of the country seeing my passport. Immediately, the number of beggars grew and so did my uncertainty. I, along with a group of other passengers, got together and began walking toward hotel Novotel. The front desk at Novotel was nice enough to call a cab for me. After waiting an hour, a cab arrived. I was taken to the hotel where I was supposed to meet my colleague, Bristol Hotel Palace.

Upon arrival at the hotel, I called my hotel, Hotel Alexander, and was told that my reservations had been sold. I did notify them before leaving the USA that my flight had been moved to the following day to keep my reservation. Since the airport was closed, they didn't think that I was going to arrive and sold my reservation. Luckily, another person from my company was staying at another hotel and took a different airline. I stayed at the Bristol Hotel where he was and got a room for the night. Before going to bed, I called and had the information for my delayed luggage changed and confirmed.

The next day and the days following, I called from my hotel, Bristol Hotel, checking on the luggage. The lost baggage line had no information on the luggage. My final day in Genoa, I received an email from Hotel Alexander saying that they had my luggage. I called from my hotel and they said I needed to give them 1500 Euros to release my luggage. Of course, I do not speak Italian, and they only spoke very broken English. I told them I was not paying the fee but I need my luggage. They hung up on me three times and demanded the money.

I called Delta (actually Air France) and the representative said that it was their mistake and the airline would pick up the luggage and bring it to Hotel Bristol. The entire day passed and I didn't receive the luggage. I finally called and went to Hotel Alexander myself to get the luggage. Strangely enough there was a representative there that could speak perfect English and demand the 1500 Euros.

After arguing and bartering for over 30 minutes, I had to pay 270 Euros to get my luggage. At this point, I was surrounded by 4 large men yelling at me in Italian; I felt I had to pay or I wasn't going to leave there in good health or well-being. This is another dangerous situation that Delta and its partners forced me to be in. Delta offered me 19000 skymiles. What a joke. A refund of the entire trip, a refund of the money I paid to get the luggage back, refund for the clothing and laundering I had to do, and a refund for the extra $255 worth of luggage I checked is what I should get.

Replies
Advertisement
Delta added unnecessary added stress during time of grief
By -

We arrived at our home airport (GEG) to travel to my mother-in-law's funeral (BUF) on 7/14/2010 to find there was a huge line of people that were being re-ticketed due to severe weather in MSP. We totally understand that Delta has no control over the weather so we pleasantly allowed the attendant to re-ticket us from GEG to SEA later that night (on Alaska Air) and then take a red-eye flight to PHL and then on to upstate NY on US Airways the next day.

When we arrived back at the airport later that evening (with plenty of time to check bags and get through security for our flight to SEA) the Alaska agent said she couldn't issue us boarding passes because the Delta attendant hadn't re-ticketed us properly and she would have to get a Delta employee to fix the problem. She tried to call the Delta customer service phone line but discovered (as I had earlier in the week) that the recording there says "due to the high volume of calls we are experiencing at this time, we are unable to help you...click". Yes click, not “your hold time will be long, can we call you back?” just disconnect.

Anyway, she immediately called the Delta counter and found no one there. She then paged them to call her which they did in a few minutes. They said they would come over with new vouchers immediately. We waited for nearly 45 minutes for the Delta employee to bring over the new vouchers which then gave us a very narrow margin to catch our plane and we ended up running through the airport to do so.

So after 12 hours of being in airports we had made it 300 miles. In SEA we had to have the US Airways agent issue boarding passes for PHL. When they started to do so they realized the Delta employee had written us 2 vouchers for the PHL to ELM flight and none for the SEA to PHL flight.

We then had to leave our daughter with our carry on luggage, trek all the way out of security and find a Delta counter where after waiting in line we were told they couldn't help us and we had to go to a "Customer Care" counter. We did this and they did re-write the vouchers but we then had to go back through security, find our daughter and the gate and once again had a very narrow margin to catch the flight. The flight from PHL to ELM was uneventful.

Then on our return trip today (BUF to MSP to GEG) which had not been altered in any way from our original reservation, we waited in line curb-side for about 15 minutes only to be told he couldn't issue boarding passes but he couldn't tell why, we would have to go inside. We then went inside where there was a huge line and after waiting another 15 minutes or so were told by the agent (who by the way acted like it was our fault!) that she needed a ticket number in order to issued the boarding passes. I had a confirmation number and the itinerary but apparently these were not good enough.

After another 10+ minutes on the phone she was able to obtain a ticket number and issue our boarding passes. At this point the agent's demeanor changed to a little more friendly and she did walk us up to the front of the security line but once again we found ourselves running through the airport to catch our flight because the gate agent said they wouldn't hold the flight for us even though the inability to issue the boarding passes was a Delta error and not our tardiness.

We did make the flight although I have no idea how and thought we were home free- just one more flight from MSP to GEG and we'd be home. We had our boarding passes for the flight and did not anticipate any other problems...wrong! At the gate when the agent took our boarding passes to scan them she says there's a problem and we can't get on the flight. Are you kidding me? Eventually she did solve the problem and we arrived home on time but the way we were treated while in the stressful state we were in, having just lost my husband's mother and having paid nearly $2500.00 for 3 tickets to the east coast was simply not acceptable.

Again, we totally understand that Delta has no control over the weather (although I must throw in that I did check the FAA website in Minneapolis while we were waiting to be re-ticketed and they showed less than 15-minute delays due to weather).

However, due to two Delta employee errors we were caused an unbelievable amount of extra stress that was absolutely unnecessary and, quite frankly could have caused my husband to have a break- down given the incredible amount of stress he was under anyway due to his mother's death. It is simply not acceptable that we paid triple the amount per ticket as other passengers on the same flights and got treated so poorly.

Replies
Unresponsive/ Useless Customer Service on Baggage Claim
By -

Back in October 2009 I returned from a trip with my husband to find my baggage damaged beyond repair. I immediately took it to the customer service area and filed a damaged report with the agent. Since then here is a recap of the 8 months of run around I have got from Delta Airlines... always promising a check is in the mail or to call me back... I have received neither and now am out luggage too.

06/01/2010 2:04pm -“ Contacted Delta again today, have not received anything in the mail and wanted to confirm where the case stood. On hold for 18 minutes then spoke with **. Ask for an update on case # **. She sees nothing in regards to my claim under that #. I also gave her the claim # from ** email Delta File **. She can't get into that file so she is seeing if she can find someone that can. Going to transfer to another department, I should hear something within the next few days.

05/21/2010 8:25am - As of today still no call from Delta Corporate or no response to the email sent on 04/27/2010. Spoke to ** he told me that the case was completed it is case # ** and the check should be sent within 10 days. 05/11/2010 12:32pm -€“ Contacted the 800# & spoke to **. She told me there was nothing in the system about my claim.

She said she would email corporate and they would contact me. I asked to speak to a supervisor and she refused saying they couldn't do anything for me and the only way they could contact them was via email (that they didn'™t have a phone number for them). I asked when I could expect a call and she said she really didn't know.

04/29/2010 10:10AM - Contacted the 800# & spoke to **. I gave her the background and she informed me that the claims are not handled in Augusta any further they are handled in ATL. She did see in the system that the claim was approved on 04/26/2010 for the full amount and if I haven'™t received a check within 10 days to call back. 04/28/2010 was at the Des Moines Airport and spoke to an agent about the email and showed them the damage report the agent filed and they said that should be sufficient and to contact the 800# again.

04/27/2010 Received an email today stating that because I didn'™t file my claim within 21 days that they would not process it? I responded asking to have it re-evaluated because the agent at the airport filed the claim on 10/19/2009.

œ04/13/2010 - I received an email from Delta stating they did receive my fax and will be expediting it for processing. 03/23/2010 Received an email from Customer Care asking me to refax the claim to ** - Faxed at 3:40pm. 03/16/2010 8:00am Re-faxed to claim report to Delta. 03/15/2010 1:39pm spoke to **. She asked for the File # I gave her ** from the damage report. She doesn'™t show receipt of the fax? Asked me to refax it again.

02/05/2010 Faxed document. Sent 01/27/2010: This is the second email I have sent to this website: the first on 01/18/2010 with NO response given! I think this is unfair that now the airline has not paid me a dime & taken my suitcase!

Sent 01/18/2010: Good morning, I am writing today because I feel I am out of options and don'€™t know where else to go. On October 19, 2009 my husband and I were returning from vacationing in Mexico. When we returned to the Omaha, NE airport we found our bag to be broke. I took it to the service counter and he opened it looked at it and filed a claim which he gave me a copy of the damage report. He told me since we live in Des Moines and needed to get our stuff from the suitcase before we turn it in we could do so in Des Moines.

On Sunday, October 25th I went to the Des Moines airport with the claim form and bag and they asked if they could exchange it for one they had there. I had recently purchased the bag for $240.00 and still had the receipts and the bags that were at the airport didn'€™t compare. The customer service representative told me since the bag was less than 6 months old they could give me a full refund of 100% ($240.00). She took my receipts and bags wrote on the damage report 6 month $240.00 and told me I would have a check in 4-6 weeks. That time passed and I had not heard anything so I called the 800# she gave to me on 12/08/09.

I was asked to call back later that day because the systems were down. I then called on 12/14 and spoke to ** she told me there was no claim in the system and she took my number and was going to have someone contact me. That NEVER happened! On 12/23/09 I contact the 800# again and spoke to ** she told me the claim was closed and a check was sent. She gave me file # **. On 01/18/2010 I had still not received a check so I called the 800# again and spoke with **. She told me to call Corporate at 404-714-7101 and press option 2 but then told me they would be closed today so I would have to call back.

I asked her to verify that a check was sent because I had received the run around so much. With her looking into it she told me that that claim was closed in February? I was confused because I didn'€™t file this claim until October? She looked into it further and that claim # was for a delayed flight where we were stuck in Orlando so they gave everyone $100 vouchers, not for my baggage. She said I would have to resubmit a claim because they have no record of this claim and to go on line and find the form.

Well I guess I could do that but the Customer Service Rep in the Des Moines airport took all of my receipts, luggage, etc? I don'€™t know where to go with this. It was not a cheap bag costing me $240.00 and I am really disappointed with the run around I have been receiving. Can you please help me get this figured out or direct me where to go to? This is going on 12 weeks or run around and I think that is unacceptable. Thanks!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Delta Airlines Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 29 ratings and
324 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Delta Airlines
1030 Delta Blvd
Atlanta, GA 30320
1-800-221-1212 (ph)
www.delta.com
Product/Services
Compare Airline Companies