Delta Airlines - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 28 ratings and
323 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Delta Airlines
1030 Delta Blvd
Atlanta, GA 30320
1-800-221-1212 (ph)
Compare Airline Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unresponsive/ Useless Customer Service on Baggage Claim
By -

Back in October 2009 I returned from a trip with my husband to find my baggage damaged beyond repair. I immediately took it to the customer service area and filed a damaged report with the agent. Since then here is a recap of the 8 months of run around I have got from Delta Airlines... always promising a check is in the mail or to call me back... I have received neither and now am out luggage too.

06/01/2010 2:04pm -“ Contacted Delta again today, have not received anything in the mail and wanted to confirm where the case stood. On hold for 18 minutes then spoke with **. Ask for an update on case # **. She sees nothing in regards to my claim under that #. I also gave her the claim # from ** email Delta File **. She can't get into that file so she is seeing if she can find someone that can. Going to transfer to another department, I should hear something within the next few days.

05/21/2010 8:25am - As of today still no call from Delta Corporate or no response to the email sent on 04/27/2010. Spoke to ** he told me that the case was completed it is case # ** and the check should be sent within 10 days. 05/11/2010 12:32pm -€“ Contacted the 800# & spoke to **. She told me there was nothing in the system about my claim.

She said she would email corporate and they would contact me. I asked to speak to a supervisor and she refused saying they couldn't do anything for me and the only way they could contact them was via email (that they didn'™t have a phone number for them). I asked when I could expect a call and she said she really didn't know.

04/29/2010 10:10AM - Contacted the 800# & spoke to **. I gave her the background and she informed me that the claims are not handled in Augusta any further they are handled in ATL. She did see in the system that the claim was approved on 04/26/2010 for the full amount and if I haven'™t received a check within 10 days to call back. 04/28/2010 was at the Des Moines Airport and spoke to an agent about the email and showed them the damage report the agent filed and they said that should be sufficient and to contact the 800# again.

04/27/2010 Received an email today stating that because I didn'™t file my claim within 21 days that they would not process it? I responded asking to have it re-evaluated because the agent at the airport filed the claim on 10/19/2009.

œ04/13/2010 - I received an email from Delta stating they did receive my fax and will be expediting it for processing. 03/23/2010 Received an email from Customer Care asking me to refax the claim to ** - Faxed at 3:40pm. 03/16/2010 8:00am Re-faxed to claim report to Delta. 03/15/2010 1:39pm spoke to **. She asked for the File # I gave her ** from the damage report. She doesn'™t show receipt of the fax? Asked me to refax it again.

02/05/2010 Faxed document. Sent 01/27/2010: This is the second email I have sent to this website: the first on 01/18/2010 with NO response given! I think this is unfair that now the airline has not paid me a dime & taken my suitcase!

Sent 01/18/2010: Good morning, I am writing today because I feel I am out of options and don'€™t know where else to go. On October 19, 2009 my husband and I were returning from vacationing in Mexico. When we returned to the Omaha, NE airport we found our bag to be broke. I took it to the service counter and he opened it looked at it and filed a claim which he gave me a copy of the damage report. He told me since we live in Des Moines and needed to get our stuff from the suitcase before we turn it in we could do so in Des Moines.

On Sunday, October 25th I went to the Des Moines airport with the claim form and bag and they asked if they could exchange it for one they had there. I had recently purchased the bag for $240.00 and still had the receipts and the bags that were at the airport didn'€™t compare. The customer service representative told me since the bag was less than 6 months old they could give me a full refund of 100% ($240.00). She took my receipts and bags wrote on the damage report 6 month $240.00 and told me I would have a check in 4-6 weeks. That time passed and I had not heard anything so I called the 800# she gave to me on 12/08/09.

I was asked to call back later that day because the systems were down. I then called on 12/14 and spoke to ** she told me there was no claim in the system and she took my number and was going to have someone contact me. That NEVER happened! On 12/23/09 I contact the 800# again and spoke to ** she told me the claim was closed and a check was sent. She gave me file # **. On 01/18/2010 I had still not received a check so I called the 800# again and spoke with **. She told me to call Corporate at 404-714-7101 and press option 2 but then told me they would be closed today so I would have to call back.

I asked her to verify that a check was sent because I had received the run around so much. With her looking into it she told me that that claim was closed in February? I was confused because I didn'€™t file this claim until October? She looked into it further and that claim # was for a delayed flight where we were stuck in Orlando so they gave everyone $100 vouchers, not for my baggage. She said I would have to resubmit a claim because they have no record of this claim and to go on line and find the form.

Well I guess I could do that but the Customer Service Rep in the Des Moines airport took all of my receipts, luggage, etc? I don'€™t know where to go with this. It was not a cheap bag costing me $240.00 and I am really disappointed with the run around I have been receiving. Can you please help me get this figured out or direct me where to go to? This is going on 12 weeks or run around and I think that is unacceptable. Thanks!

Animals get better treatment
By -

On 3/13/10, during the recent windstorms, my family and I flew from Nassau to LaGuardia, NY and were to connect to Detroit on Delta airlines. The plane was delayed before take-off for 20 minutes to take on extra fuel the pilot indicated. Little did the unwary passengers know the airport was closed in New York and the pilot wanted to be ready to circle the airport for some time. This fact was only revealed to the passengers mid-flight. We were told there were high winds in New York and the airport was only intermittently open for short periods of time.

The pilot informed us that it was unlikely we would be able to land in New York and suggested we may be re-routed to Pittsburgh. Nothing else was relayed to the passengers until we had circled LaGuardia for almost two hours. At this point the pilot told the passengers that we were not going to land in New York, as the airport was still closed and now low on fuel we had to be re-routed immediately to another airport. The airport we were sent to was Harrisburg, PA (apparently a charming town - I had plenty of time to read their tourist literature while there).

Unknown to any of the passengers until we were on the ground, the Harrisburg airport was only equipped to accept commuter jets and not a jet of our size. We waited on the tarmac for approx. one and a half hours while we were told someone was coming in from home to determine how to unload the aircraft. We finally disembarked about 9:30pm, approximately 8 hours since our departure. Most of the passengers had not eaten since breakfast and were starving and no special effort was made by the airline to feed us.

There were no open restaurants in the Harrisburg airport. We were told that we were going to overnight in Harrisburg and try to get to LaGuardia the next day. We were told that no one could unload our bags and they would stay in the belly of the aircraft overnight. Delta made arrangements for all of the passengers to stay at a nearby Best Western. I informed to flight crew and the ticketing agent I waited in line about an hour to see that both my wife and I had medicine in our luggage that we needed.

We were told that retrieving our luggage was impossible and we were repeatedly chastised by Delta personnel that we should have packed our medicine in our carry on luggage, implying that the problem was due to our poor foresight and not their fault. The fact of the matter was that we had medicine at home and assumed that if our luggage were lost we would be O. K. Little did we imagine that we would be mishandled not our luggage.

Once we arrived at the ticket agent's desk we were told that there were no flights to Detroit, our final destination, they were all over booked. If we went back to New York there were no flights and if we tried to fly direct from Harrisburg there were no flights. They refused to take the time to see if we could be re-routed through another city like Cincinnati or Atlanta. I understand that by this time it was late and the ticket agent was probably tired and there were many other passengers to help, however, I was shocked when her response to our plight was to say, "here's the 800 #, try to find a flight by calling the number."

I felt as though the airline had dropped us in a strange city with little prospect of getting home, no luggage, no medicine, and no food and essentially abandoned us with nothing more than a phone number. The story didn't end there. We went to the Best Western where the kitchen staff was trying to close and luckily we and several of the other passengers were able to order pizza delivery, some, but definitely not all of the passengers were able to get food from the hotel restaurant. I repeatedly called the 800# only to get a busy signal.

Finally after midnight I got through and waited for another 30 minutes for someone to answer the phone. They told me there were two seats on a 7:30am flight and another two seats on a 4:30pm flight. I explained that we were traveling with our daughter and her college friend and we were uncomfortable with splitting up, to which the person on the other end of the line responded, "that's what we have take it or leave it, if you don't take it someone else will and you'll have no flight." We reluctantly made the reservation. It was now about 1:00am and the night we switched to daylight savings, so were going to lose an additional hour.

So at 5:30 am with virtually no sleep, we all went back to the airport. A ticket agent did look for our bags but was unable to find them and I appreciate at least one person working for Delta who seemed to care for our predicament. We sent our daughter and roommate to Detroit. We tried unsuccessfully to go standby and waited in the airport another 9 hours for the next flight. Since we don't live in Detroit but had driven to the airport our daughter and friend had to wait in Detroit for us to get there 9 hours after them, sleeping on benches in the airport until we arrived.

In summary, we left Nassau to fly to an airport that was closed. No one but the flight crew knew this. Second we circled the airport in New York with a "land at LaGuardia at all costs attitude," until we ran out of fuel and had to be re-directed to an airport that could not accommodate us. All of this could have easily been avoided. We could have been told that the airport on New York was likely closed prior to our departure. When the plane arrived in New York and the airport was closed Delta could have immediately re-routed us to a suitable airport rather than circling until we ran low on fuel. Certainly, they could have cared more about our welfare during the ordeal.

Unfortunately, no significant effort was made by Delta to ensure that we were fed. No significant effort was made by Delta to help us get to our ultimate destination. "Do the best you can" and "take it or leave it" was their attitude. No significant effort was made until morning to get our medicine. I am a practicing physician in Michigan and if any of my colleagues or I made "seat of the pants" decisions about our patients welfare that in retrospect were as poorly made we wouldn't be in practice very long.

I am amazed that airlines, which must deal with this sort of problem on a regular basis apparently have very few guiding principles and policies to help them, instead it is just the luck of the draw where you go and how you're treated. Hopefully the airlines can learn something from our experience. The airlines seem to think that if they get you to your destination in one piece, no matter how long that takes they did their job. In medicine if we say to patients at the end of a procedure, you're procedure was done and you're alive, that is rarely adequate consolation to them. People want to be and deserve to be treated with dignity.

Delta Is Dishonest & Does Not Care About Its Customers
By -

On Saturday February 27th- my partner and I were scheduled for an overnight flight on Delta Airlines #DL1768 from Kona, Hawaii to LAX leaving 9:30P Saturday, February 27th with arrival 5AM Sunday, February 28th. Our final destination was Minneapolis, Minnesota- with a 6:40AM connecting flight at LAX. Because of an airline error in fueling our aircraft - we had a 3 hour delay in leaving -thus missing our connecting flight. This error entailed Delta Airlines putting too much fuel in the aircraft- which according to them- affected our weight standards for lift off in Kona International.

In addition to this error in fueling in Kona by Delta Airlines- we were rerouted to Honolulu International for additional fuel (for some reason we could lift off just fine from Honolulu International but not Kona International Airport). During the 3 hours we were on this aircraft- Delta's crew and captain were unresponsive to our questions and concerns regarding connecting flights and they were quite frankly- dismissive of our concerns regarding our schedules when we asked about them. There was never an announcement on connecting gates or any care put into our connecting itineraries from the captain of the aircraft.

At approximately 12:15AM on Sunday - while sitting on the tarmac in Honolulu- my partner called Delta Airlines to move us from that 6:40AM flight to the 8AM flight leaving from LAX to Minneapolis International- as it looked like we would be able to make that time schedule with the current delay. We had a confirmed seating confirmation number on this flight- according to the Delta helpline representative we spoke to.

When we finally arrived at LAX at 7:40 Sunday morning – a Delta agent was not there to open the doors for our incoming flight- and no prior arrangements were made for passengers with connecting flights! Thus- we ended up sitting at the gate for another 10 minutes which was precious time - in making our 8AM Minneapolis connection in LAX.

After getting off the flight DL1768 - we arrived at the gate for our Minneapolis flight at 7:51AM- only to find that Delta Airlines had given our confirmed seats away to other standby passengers! The Delta gate agent tried to get us seated (and remove the standby passengers that had taken our confirmed seats) but was told the flight was leaving by her supervisor and that they would do nothing for us. Delta Airlines in LAX knew of our plane's delay from Kona - and made no effort to hold the plane bound for Minneapolis for its passengers that had that connecting flight!

After the 8AM flight for Minneapolis left the gate- the gate agent told the group of us (there were about 50 people trying to find a way to the Twin Cities) that she would help us. However after 10 minutes she was summoned to another gate and we were informed that we needed to go to the Delta Help Desk in LAX to get rerouted to other flights.

After waiting in line for 45 minutes- we were placed on a flight plan connecting through Salt Lake to Minneapolis and were given confirmed seating assignments but with no seat numbers attached to them for either of the legs of those flights. When we arrived at the LAX gate for our Salt Lake flight at 11:50AM- we were told that there were no seats available and that the flight was over-booked by 16 people. There would be no provision made for us due to Delta's delay in our Kona flight- even though we had ‘confirmed' seating assignments. The gate agent told us tersely that she would call our name if seats were to become available.

After a very heated conversation, in which excuse after excuse was made as to our delay in Kona by Delta Airlines, we strong armed our seat assignments. In this instance, we felt Delta Airlines at their LAX help desk was willfully dishonest to us in telling us this Salt Lake flight was available- in essence to get us out from in front of them. After arriving in Salt Lake at 2PM that Sunday- we knew we would have the same situation as our Minneapolis flight and would need to fight for seats on that flight.

This time we went over to the help desk and strongly requested seat assignments 2 hours prior to the gate opening for the 5PM flight- going over the gate agent's head for that Minneapolis bound flight. After a conversation of explaining ourselves and trying to charm the customer service person into granting us seats- we received our ticketed seat assignments. Numbered tickets in hand- we arrived at the gate and found others- many over the age of 75- with ‘confirmed' seating but with no seats available on the flight! The flight to Minneapolis was overbooked by 22 people!

Again- in this instance-Delta was dishonest to these other individuals at LAX and booked them on flights that they knew were oversold! I feel that this is in direct violation of FAA regulations regarding the selling of tickets- and the contractual obligations to paying passengers. When it was all said and done- we arrived at our home destination 9.5 hours after what was scheduled- spending close to a total of 24 hours traveling. While at help desks and gates in LAX and Salt Lake- Delta's story to its staff was that due to the Tsunami in Hawaii- that there was no available fuel in Kona which in effect caused our delay.

The Tsunami ‘all clear' was called at 1:30PM Hawaii time Saturday, February 27th by the Hawaii Department of Emergency Management- our flight that Sunday was at 9:30PM. In addition to that- the only airport with cancelled flights that day was Hilo International on the other side of the island. We arrived at Kona International airport at 7PM and noticed our Delta plane was on the tarmac ready for boarding.

If fuel was indeed an issue in Kona- why didn't Delta Airlines taxi the flight to Honolulu to fill the aircraft in that time before take-off? The flights are less than hour each way from Kona & Honolulu. If a ‘full tank take-off' was never possible from Kona- then this is outright fraud by Delta Airlines in selling tickets to passengers who expected a direct flight from Kona to LAX. We know from other United Airlines passengers that they took off with a full tank of fuel in Kona directly to LA with no incident- one half hour before our flight.

In summary- we were offered no compensation whatsoever due to Delta's mishandling of the Kona leg of our flight plan. At numerous gates we saw other ticketed passengers offered up to $600 in cash to give up seats on the flights that were severely oversold. We missed our connections due to Delta Airlines' errors and we were offered nothing but Tsunami, fuel and ‘communication error ‘excuses from various Delta Airlines employees.

One of the Delta Airline attendants on our Minneapolis bound flight even told a senior couple with little flying experience that if they traveled all the time for business- that this was to be expected and that delays happen periodically –insinuating that we all were inexperienced simpleton travelers. I have family members that travel extensively for business- they nor I - are willing to accept poor service and a lack of accountability by Delta Airlines. That senior couple from Willmar, MN was also told to fly another airline by a Delta Flight attendant on our Minneapolis flight home if they did not like the delays and service they received from Delta.

All of us in the Twin Cities certainly would fly another airline- if there was an ample choice of carriers and destinations out of Twin Cities International Airport! This was a Delta Airlines Vacation package made through a travel agent- my partner and I are seeking a refund of our airfare for that leg of our trip from Delta Vacations due to breach of contract.

By -

My wife and I -- world travelers visiting families of three kids around the world -- have gone through considerable physical challenges and anguish last week -- never experienced earlier. We are wondering if we could expect a response that would reinstate our trust in your airline. We travel so often that I joke with friends my wife does her laundry at airport rest rooms. Before drying it on the baggage carousels.

We were due to shuttle from BWI to JFK, Feb. 9, to catch an evening flight to Budapest, Hungary. All went fine at first. We were due to fly out in between two snow storms. When I checked about my routine vegetarian meal (replacing special sea-food option) I was even queried regarding my dairy or non-dairy preference. How nice! Then all hell broke loose.

**, to whom we talked, told us the BWI was closed due to (yet non-existent snow storm. Because a plane had just took off and the storm was not due before well after we were in JFK.) The snow storm was used as an excuse. Apparently because Delta did not have a plane ready to take out scheduled passengers. Or used them to shuttle passengers from further west, according to our private information.

** suggested to book us on an Air-France flight to Charles de Galle in Paris and then proceed to Budapest. We were in a hurry to begin a four-day vacation in Hungary's capital, paid for by our daughter -- a concert pianist. Trying to reach the Dulles airport, given the cost and the time for taking a likely 3 hour trip through mushy snow (piled by a previous storm), was time-wise, financially and mentally not acceptable to these two senior citizens.. Especially the prospect of lugging heavy bags across treacherous snow puddles.

So we figured out a way to reach New York by alternative ways. ** confirmed our original take-off plan from JFK. When asked about compensation for the paid for but unused Baltimore-JFK airfares, he suggested we reach JFK not later than 4 P.M. Feb.9 and contact the check-in Delta manager. "How much would that be?" I asked. "We need to count our pennies." "I can't tell you exactly," he said, "but they will work that out there." (Was he trying just to send us down the river?) "Okay, fine, thank you!" I said.

My wife and I did reach JFK Delta well before 4 P.M. after changing several road vehicles (four to be exact). Lumbering around our hefty bags in and out (hardly a piece of cake for this 77-year old guy). However, once I mentioned to the manageress what ** had suggested -- the response was brief and curt. Delta NEVER compensates passengers for weather-caused cancellations. I was told. And dismissed.. -- Company policy -- she added.

My daughter had booked us in Budapest, February 10-14 in a modest hotel. Extra travel expenses involved in shuttling ourselves between Baltimore and JFK badly decimated our funds prepared for a relatively decent enjoyment of our first visit there. (Of course we shall never mention this incident to our kind and caring daughter, **)

Who had previously remarked, off-handedly, that she was compensated with $400.00 by the United, for similar inconveniences. Involving extra efforts to make it possible for her to perform major concerts in a series which started in Chicago and continued with the Carnegie Hall full house concert with the Chicago Symphony orchestra on the last day of January. She was playing during celebrations honoring THE major French composer and conductor. For his 85th birthday.

And not only that. The UNITED put her in the business class as a way of apology. Spreading the image of a passenger-caring company. HUH! Now, of course, she is an extremely successful and attractive pianist performing around the world. I have spent 36 years as a chief of bureau of a major American wire agency. All I can do is share my experience with peer travelers. Practicing now whatever scribing skills remain in my pen. Get a few laughs.

On a lighter note, I do hope the recession comes to an end soon. So I can revert to my special, sea-food diet. As we were served dinner aboard -- there was no special meal for me. "Did you talk to **?" an air Hostess challenged me over my complaint. "**? By Golly! And who might ** be, please?" "She works in the opposite alley up there!" "Oh! Is that so?" So I should go chase her there? Usually stewardesses come with a sheet to check my seat and serve me upfront. But on all other airlines. Somehow I was loath to confront the stern-looking **. Golly. Whoever. Because I already had a kind of a beef with her.

"GET BACK TO YOUR SEAT! Never bothering to get up," the strict lady had instructed me. There were no air turbulence. Not out of the plane so seat belts were no mandatory except as a recommendation. I had ventured across the aisle of the semi-empty cabin to the left windows. To bid my customary farewell to the receding lights of Halifax, Labrador. The fishing villages in Nova Scotia. An old sentimental fool, you may call me. This could always be my final time.

The second time she bawled me out, from afar, seeing me approaching her, was when I sought to protest unsolicited but continuous blaring on the PA. The noise being what some young people claim was music. But much too loud. She told me I had to wait this out. After the tape runs its course.

"Why, is that the choice of the automatic pilot?" I tried to lighten the atmosphere. She never smiled and ordered me back. Still she decided other passengers were due an apology. I settled for pasta. Not bad, to be honest. Though not on my recommended dietary regime. The moral is clear: I shall now need to think twice before booking tickets. We never stay more than two months at a time. Because we do need to keep traveling helping out with our five grandkids. Our three children dutifully paying our fares. There you go. You like my story. The amusing part? Instructional? I am considering sharing it and/or publishing it? Get a few laughs.

A moms nightmare
By -

I wanted to share my experience with Delta Airlines with you. It started in April when I bought tickets for my husband, daughter, granddaughter and myself to travel from Portland, Oregon to Norfolk Va. We were leaving on July 28 to attend my son's wedding. He is stationed in Virginia. On July 1st just before 10 am I received a phone call. It was a mom's nightmare. My son was just in a motorcycle accident. I was told I needed to meet them at the hospital. I said I can't I live in Washington state. Most of the day is just a blur.

The following day I spent on the phone with the trauma center. I had doctors calling me needing my OK to do surgery. I really should say surgeries. I received a lot of phone calls telling me all these things wrong. It just kept coming and coming. Broke jaw, cheek bones, orbits, thumb, leg, wrist, 3 bones in his foot, he can't breathe, they have to do a Tracheotomy. They couldn't find a vein so they needed a central line and it goes on and on. Call after call.

So I call Delta. I have 3 airline tickets already so I will just change the dates. I get told that I could change the dates BUT it would cost me about 1200.00 to change them. You have to be joking. Yes I had explained what was going on. $130.00 per ticket just to change a date?? I understand the airlines have been struggling but come on. OK well I don'€™t have 1200.00 to change these tickets so I hang up. OK I can talk to the Red Cross. They help active duty military. Oh wait I'€™m not my son is. But they tell me if I can figure something out let them know so they can help the next family. I leave there just not knowing what to do.

OK I will go back to the airline. This time I will just cross the river to Oregon and go talk to a Delta Rep. I get there and stand in line. I wait my turn. I ask if there is a supervisor that may be I could speak with. The lady at the counter was super nice. I did need to explain what I needed. It'™s pretty hard having to hear my self say all these things wrong with my son over & over. She told me to hang on and walk around the corner to a door. I stepped aside so other people could go. She came out from the door and said she is on a conference call and would be right with me. 5 minutes go by and the lady goes back in & out and tells me again but says she will be out any minute. So I wait a while longer.

What seemed to be for ever was only about another 5 minutes the lady at the counter comes in, comes back out and says she is on a call and it was going to be a very long time before the supervisor could come out and talk with me. So my 15-20 minute trip was for ??? As I was leaving the lady at the counter called to me and asked me if I called customer care. I told her that was who told me it would cost me the extra money to change the tickets.

She said no, not customer service but customer care. OK I didn'™t know there is a difference. But I took the number anyway. After I returned home I tossed the number on the desk. Maybe a hour later I saw the number again and figured OK I will try it. Maybe the next person can be more help and maybe help me figure out what I could do.

Now I know I could have just gotten new tickets but I already had 3 I just needed to change the dates, as there was going to be no wedding. When I called I was very surprised to find that the lady on the other end was willing to help me. She changed the dates for all 3 of us. I was going to be able to get to my son.

We weren't able to sit together and that's OK I understand we changed tickets. Even coming home we weren't able to be together. There was a man at the Norfolk Airport on our return that was very nice. He was even asking if there was anyone that wanted to catch another flight because you were over booked. I told him that we would stay behind if he could get us on our joining flight. He asked us to wait and he would check. Well we did and it was the last minute when he said he couldn't get us to Atlanta in time. So because we waited so long to check in we weren't able to sit together.

But then we were doing what we should and we checked in on-line. We checked our bags in and then we get charged 40 for 2 bags and there was 3 of us plus the baby. We only had 2 carry-ons if you don't count the baby. But anyway it just seems like the system should have just put a bag on each one of us not 2 on 1 and nothing on the other 2.

I haven'€™t been on a plane in years. It was about 30 for my husband and 22 for my daughter. She was very little the first time. Oh and by the way, when my son came home on leave in Dec he was held at the airport because an employee that was not helping at all. The result was my son missed his flight. We called and filed a complaint in for that one, but were told it was internal and we would not hear anything about it. But, that is a different story. People shouldn'™t have to go through this. It doesn'€™t matter if its vacation or not. My family was going through so much at this time.

My husband was so upset in Norfolk that I had to keep him calm so we wouldn'™t get held back. I remember what happened to ** when he got upset.. So once I figured out about the baggage I called Delta because the charge was still pending. I did the email thing. It took days for a reply. I replied back only to receive the same email asking for a check number. I explained that since it took a week to hear something back I figured I was just out of luck. I sent another reply only to get another email wanting this number.

Oh also telling me: I hope I have been able to resolve any concerns you have about our service. Your business is important to us and given the opportunity of serving you in the future, I am confident Delta will not only meet but exceed your expectations. Once again I sent an email explaining a little more about what had happened. About 4 days later another email comes and once again they want a number that I have told them several times I don'€™t have. Guess what another email. They changed my name on it. They ask me for a number that I have already told them by now at least 5 times I didn't have.

And at the end of this one I am told: We appreciate the opportunity to review your concerns and hope your trip is pleasant in every respect. It wasn€'t pleasant. It was a nightmare. The phone service was bad, most of the flight attendants can't seem to smile, and sending comments and or concerns in form of emails is terrible, not to mention the flights are all overbooked causing problems for travelers. Now I am sorry I guess I just needed to vent. We want to get back to Virginia soon to be with our kid. He is still in the hospital. It'€™s been 41 days. I just don'€™t know if Delta would be on the top of my airlines to use.

I sent a letter to Delta by mail and emails. I was thinking they would at least allow me to have my 10.00 back. I sent a letter to Delta when I figured out that emails weren't getting it done. All they would do is thank me and say hope I had a good trip. Even after the letter I never heard a thing from them.

Unprofessional and rude agents
By -

I have been the Delta preferred member from past 10 Years. I remember the time 9 years ago when you were greeted by very friendly Delta agent to the agents now who would not even say hello to you, just nod their head after you greet them. My recent experience with Delta has been a nightmare. My parents were flying to India from Atlanta airport On July 27, 2009 Flight DL 0184 at 8:05pm. The reason they choose this flight because they are over 63 and did not wanted any connecting flights. They wanted straight flight to India.

By the way they always love to fly by Air India. I advice them to take Delta this time and not only that I also enrolled them in the so called sky mile program. (I am the Platinum member and so is my husband. Well that does not mean anything to this Delta people anyway).

So we arrived at the airport at 5:30pm and were standing in the line at the check in counter from 5:50pm. My parents were finally able to check in at 7:23pm. Agent name ** was checking them in. They had four bags and were taking additional bag with them. ** checked their four bag in and advise us it would be $200.00 for additional bag. My dad took out $200.00 for the additional bag to give to **.

At that moment (7:33pm) ** informs us my parents are going to miss their flight since it was too late. Passengers have already started boarding and there is no way for them to get into this flight. He told has very rudely we should have got to the airport 2 hours prior to our flight. Well we were standing in line right in front of them from 5:50pm, flight was for 8:05pm so technically we were 2 hrs prior to our flight time.

We told ** we were two hours prior to our flight time and standing in the line from 5:50pm so how is it or fault for missing the flight. ** kept arguing with us that we should have been on time at the Airport which is 2 hours prior to our flight time. When we argued and asked to see the camera to check since when we were standing in line on time another over smart agent informs us we should have been 4 to 5 hrs prior to our flight time.

I demanded to show me where it says on website or anywhere else that passenger is supposed to be 4 to 5 hrs early prior to their flight time, he walked away. Meanwhile ** kept telling us that were going to miss this flight. They have closed all the door etc etc. I asked ** to reschedule them for another flight which he refused too since that was the last flight.

OK I understand that part so I asked him for next day and he said you have to buy another ticket. That made us very very angry. I asked him if Delta would pay for their flight since it was not our fault for missing the flight he said no. He kept on saying we should have been on the time at the airport. I got very mad and asked him what part he did not understand. I asked him to check his security camera and he said no. OK My husband asked to speak to the supervisor and he called for one.

It was getting late so I was frantically looking for Delta office or somebody to talk to. We asked to see if they would stop the plane since it was one stop destination. While trying to find Delta office or booth I saw a lady wearing Delta T Shirt so I explained her my situation and asked to see manager. She replies, "Well they called one for you. He should be here any minute. He is wearing red blazer so if you see one get him." She further said "€œI do not know which one I should call" and walked away.

I sported a guy in Red Blazer and told him he needs to hurry otherwise we will miss the flight. He took his own sweet time to get to our counter and when he did he was worse than **. ** is the worst supervisor ever. First thing he says€ "You people do not get here on time and than you miss flight, so what can I do"€. We all screamed at him that we were on time check your camera. He still was being very rude and got my parents the seats number.

He told us "You did not even had seat number be glad I got you now. Since you have done this through travel agent its not our responsibility". I could not believe my ears. Instead of apologizing he thought he did us a favor. ** had already checked our bags in so we had to get this flight otherwise we would loose our luggage.

My dad asked supervisor to let his extra bag go and was willing to pay $200.00 for additional bag. He refused saying "All the doors are closed"€. My dad kept requesting him that "Please ** how can I leave my belonging here. Here is money for additional bag let us go". ** replied€ "It is not my problem you are travelling with excess luggage. You can give your daughter you bag to take back with her and stop talking and catch your plane otherwise you are going to miss it".

My dad again pleaded "** I am not sure what I have in that bag please here is $200.00 and let us check the bag in"€. ** replies€ "Well you should know what you have in that bag since it's your belonging and you packed it". My dad argued he had 5 bags between him and my mom and has spread out everything so how can he tell what is in what bag. ** the Idiot Supervisor with very poor communication skills kept on telling us you are going to miss the flight if you keep arguing with me over the bag. He further reminded us next time we are supposed to be on time.

It was 7:50pm by then. Since my parents four bags were already in the plane they had to catch that flight. I am not kidding we all ran to catch the flight as if we our running for Olympics. Please bear in mind my parents are 63 and 66 and they had to run to clear security and catch train to get to their plane. My mother with bad knee almost had a panic attack.

I went to check with the Delta people to see if my parents were able to catch flight or not guess what. When I reached the counter ** was telling other passengers about us. He was telling them how irresponsible we were etc etc. Seeing me he stopped and looked at me, I asked him if my parents were able to make it and he said well they had plenty of time they should. I asked him to asked the computer to see if they did for sure ** for a minute than as if doing me a favour asked me last name and informed me that they already did 30 minutes ago.

I told him that s not the right person so he asked my dad's first name and complained for having same last name like the other passengers. Another Delta agent standing next to him explained him that ** are like Smiths very common last name. He did "œhuh" and than said in a very rude tone €"ya they did".

I am extremely disappointed with this airline. Every year the service is getting worse from bad. Being Platinum member this is very very disappointing and sad. I am never ever going to fly with delta. My family travel through Delta twice a year. Delta has lost all our family business. No wonder this airline is not doing well. Why don't the agent understand customers are the reason why they are getting their pay check. All ** should have done was try to help us rather than fighting us and showing their powers.

There are very good unemployed people. Delta should get rid off people like ** who are ruining their name and reputation and hire Some good people who wants to work and not just collect their pay check. I called this evening at around 5:00pm and was greeted by ** who truly was walking example to great customer service. He apologize to me for my inconvenience and offered me $100.00 voucher or 5000 points.

I refused on both but I do appreciate him taking time to listen to my concerns and address that to his supervisor. People like ** should be awarded for their professionalism and excellent customer service. He was very patient and very professional. Reminded me of great Delta experiences decade ago. It's people like ** who leaves up to that standards and people like ** who has ruined Delta reputation. They should be fired.

Delta Ruining Northwest
By -

ORANGE COUNTY AIRPORT, CALIFORNIA -- I wondered how long it would take delta to ruin what was, arguably, the country'™s best airline. Unfortunately, it took much less time then I had anticipated when I booked what will be my last flight on delta/Northwest. I booked a flight on for myself, my wife, and my sister-in-law from Oregon, Wisconsin to John Wayne airport in California. We were scheduled to depart Oregon on February 26, 2009.

Unfortunately, mother nature had other plans so we were rescheduled on the same flights on the 27th. Lucky for us, I was able to deal with Northwest people and everything was taken care of with a simple phone call. It was the level of service I had grown accustomed to from Northwest over the past ten years.

Contrast that with the "€œfrig you"€ attitude I experienced from the delta bunch of ignorant, non-professional, idiots in Orange County when we tried to return on March 3, 2009. It is difficult to express in words how horrific that experience was for me and others. I'™ll start with my arrival at the airport. We drove by the terminal the first time and, we thought, had missed the Northwest sign. On the second pass, my brother-in-law said that the sign must have fallen down but he had traveled on Northwest from Orange County many times so he dropped us off at the south end of the terminal.

I dragged our checked baggage into the terminal and still was not able to find the Northwest counter. I asked a TSA person and was told that I had to go to the north end of the terminal and check my baggage at delta. So I lugged the baggage down to the delta area. When I got there I found three lines, none with any markings. I asked a person in line 1 what it was. He informed me it was for delta frequent fliers. He said if I was checked in I could get in the line next to him and use the kiosk to check my bags.

Now by this time the line had gotten longer so I slipped the bags out to the curb and got in line for curbside baggage check (as suggested on my online check in). I worked my way to the front of the line only to be told that since I was a "œNorthwest person", I could not use curbside baggage check! Just an aside. There NO SIGNS anywhere providing any information (more on this later).

By this time I had been at the airport for 45-minutes and had accomplished absolutely nothing. Hauled the bags back inside and, seeing it was very likely I would miss my flight, I sent my wife and her sister ahead and told them not to worry about me if I did not get on the plane. So I am back in the line and one of the delta baggage witches asks if anyone is on the 6:45 to Atlanta. Several people raised their hands and they were brought to the front of the line. When I asked about the 6:45 to Minnie, I was told they had to take care of the Atlanta (translate "delta"€) flight first.

I finally get up to a kiosk and after several attempts I ask the delta service witch for assistance. She tells me I am too late to check my bags and proceeded to "explain" to me I needed to be at the airport in time to check my bags. I told her I was there on time but there are not any signs outside telling me where to go to check my bags.

She then told the first of many lies that I would hear from various delta folk in the course of the morning. She said the airport would not allow them to install a sign. (I just got off the phone with the airport administration office and was told they were not aware there was not a sign and they would under no circumstances forbid an airline from posting a sign).

The next step in the folly was when a delta warlock came over and told me I was in the wrong line as the Northwest system does not talk to the delta system and only one kiosk (the one in the last of the three lines) was where I had to go to check my bags. So once again I move to yet my fourth line and wait my turn. I make it to "€œnext in line"€ and a little oriental delta witch appears and says she "€œknows a secret way" to make the delta kiosk work so she grabs my boarding pass and runs off. While this is going on, three other people use the kiosk I could have been using, to check their bags. At that point the little witch returns and "so sorry, I can't get it"€.

At that time I told them they could keep the damn bags I was going to try to catch my flight. After clearing security I did an OJ, running to my gate, shoes and jacket in hand. As I approached the gate, I saw the plane was still at the gate and the door to the jet way was open. I handed my boarding pass the delta gate witch and she said "The flight is closed." By now three of my fellow passengers were at the gate as well. Despite our pleadings, she refused to even call the plane. Incidentally, the plane remained at the gate for another 11 minutes (I timed it).

I then asked about getting rebooked. After another fifteen minutes the CS witch got me rebooked on the 3:50PM flight arriving in Oregon at midnight. When I asked her if that was the best she could do, she replied (here comes another lie) "œYes. I'™m sorry I even checked all of the other airlines."€ So I went, put on my shoes and got a cup of coffee. Then I thought, why should I believe that witch? I am a Northwest person and she is a delta witch who could not care less about a Northwest flier.

So as I walked back towards my original gate (gate 3) I noticed that United had a flight to O'€™Hare just starting to board at gate 5. I asked the United Angel if there was room on the flight and could I make any connections to Oregon. She checked and said yes there were seats and she could get me on a flight to Oregon arriving in Oregon at 4PM. I had to go back to the delta witch to get my ticket and she presented yet another lie when she said that flight did not come up on her earlier search. She was SO surprised when she found it this time. She issued the tickets and I was off in the Friendly Skies.

I arrived in Oregon on time and then set about getting a handle on my baggage. A wonderful Northwest baggage agent in Oregon took care of everything in a professional and cheerful manner. It is a shame that people like her are going to all be replaced by the brown booted, uncaring delta androids.

I want to thank Northwest for hundreds of thousands of miles of professional, courteous, and above and beyond service. It is sad to know I have flown my last flight on my favorite airline. My future travel will be on United, American, Midwest, or Southwest. I will NEVER, EVER set foot in a plane operated by the androids. In fact, I will use every means I can find; the internet, blogs, letters to editors, and networking to do my part to warn people of the hideous service (or lack of service) they can expect from the androids at Delta.

By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- Don't think it can happen to you? A colleague in the same office as me happened to select Delta Airlines for a similar trip and the exact same thing happened to her. Consider yourself warned!

We recently had a very frustrating and disappointing experience with your airline that we feel should addressed by your management team and compensation should be issued for the inconvenience caused by Delta Airlines and your employees.

On January 19, 2006, we made travel arrangements for a dream vacation to Italy from San Diego (Delta Airlines Record Locator: **). We were traveling to Rome to run in a marathon and also enjoy vacation time in Rome, Florence and Venice. We planned early and even made are reservations two months in advance. As you can imagine this is a costly and long flight and an important element to this trip was being able to obtain appropriate seats for this type of travel. We selected our seat assignments when we purchased the tickets and everything appeared to process correctly.

A few weeks before the trip we decided to re-verify the details of our travel plans to ensure there would be no unnecessary surprises during our trip. The only issue we found was with your airline. When I looked at the Delta website I noticed we no longer had seat assignments. I immediately called your customer service department and was told not to worry that it is your policy to not assign seats on international flights. I found this questionable since we also did not have seat assignments for the domestic segment of our trip.

In addition, we had also purchased tickets for four additional people traveling with our group from another city and they were assigned seats on each segment of the trip. When I questioned your representative I was told that they could not help me since it was company policy and that we would need to arrive early at the airport to obtain our seats. I called a few days before the trip to verify this again and was told a very similar story.

We arrived at the airport well in advance of our flight'™s scheduled departure but discovered that your agent in San Diego could only help with our seat assignments for the San Diego to Atlanta flight. It appeared that your customer service agent had provided misinformation and as a result the only seats available were the extremely uncomfortable middle seats and we could not even sit together. Although we had not started the trip off pleasantly there was still hope because we would arrive in Atlanta early for our flight to Rome and we would have plenty of time to take care of obtaining appropriate seating for the international segment of the trip.

When we arrived in Atlanta we were directed to one of your customer service stations and after waiting in a long line for about 20 minutes we were referred to the customer service station in the international terminal. Once there we waited in an even longer line only to be told (with tremendous attitude) that they did not handle this type of request and that we needed to quickly go to the gate because they had already started assigning seats.

Naturally we rushed to the gate only to find that no agent was there yet so we waited and waited. Since we were under the impression that Delta's policy was to not issue seat assignments on international flights in advance we were not concerned since there was only one other person in front of us. You can imagine our surprise and dismay when the agent started processing the seat requests and we were told the only seats left were the uncomfortable middle seats.

This was unacceptable to us. If we had made the travel arrangements at the last minute we would gladly had taken what was available. We planned this trip with your airlines well in advance and at the time of purchase we were assigned appropriate seats for this type of travel. We even followed the seating assignment process as directed by your Delta Airline employees.

We requested to speak to a manager at the gate and we were told there was no manager available to talk to us and besides there was nothing that could be done. We were then handed a Delta Airlines survey and told if we had something to say we needed to fill it out and mail it in to the service department. If we could have found just one employee in San Diego or Atlanta that cared enough about us and our situation to simply listen to our story we would not be writing this letter today. Honestly, there was not one Delta employee that day that showed any empathy or concern towards our travel plight.

I had to use my cell phone to call your customer service center and speak to a manager over the phone (which was about a 30 minute call so I can't even imagine how much that will cost). He did take the time to listen to my issue and was at least honest enough to admit there was a processing error in our travel record that caused the original seat assignments to fail. It was something about a plane type change and our seat assignments should have been worked manually but no employee got to the work so it never happened (I'€™m sure you have notes in your customer records and you can verify all of the details in this letter).

As a result, the plane was over sold and we fell into a bucket where we could not be assigned a seat because the seat assignments are cut-off at a certain occupancy level and the remaining seats are used by the agents for some type of flexibility during check-in. Again, I would assume this makes sense to Delta Airlines since I was told that was your policy by one of your managers.

I can assure you this was not from lack of planning on our part and I am now pretty sure it is definitely NOT your policy to NOT issue seat assignments on international flights. Your employees directly lied to us about your policy instead of addressing the actual issue. This error was a result of poor processes and lack of employee ownership within Delta Airlines and one where we, the customers, should not have been penalized.

We paid you money well in advance to handle our reservations as agreed when the tickets were purchased. Moreover, we had a contract with Delta Airlines. You had an obligation to reserve and hold our seats, even if there was a process failure on the part of Delta Airlines. You failed to deliver on your end of the agreement.

Therefore, as compensation for an extremely frustrating experience, we would like you to provide us with two international tickets to any location we choose to be used in the next year. Nothing can compensate us for turning our once in a lifetime dream vacation into a vacation nightmare, but we want to ensure that you think seriously about your commitments to customers. Treating them badly, directly lying to them and poor internal processes will only bring you bad publicity and loss of business.

I realize you are probably heading towards closing the doors forever but customer service is the basic for any business and it is a critical element to remaining in business. I used to fly Delta Airlines at least twice a month from Dallas to Atlanta for years in the mid 90'™s. I honestly thought there was not a better airline out there anywhere. What happened?

Rude, Abusive & Downright Lies
By -

Upon our arrival in Miami we had to check in with Delta and we noticed the purposeful slow response of the ticket agents. It seemed like they didn't care if people made their flight our not, but more interested on the daily gossip. Oh well, every company has those mindless, useless people that companies can't seem to get rid of. We obtained our boarding passes and proceeded to fly to Atlanta.

After our layover in Atlanta we boarded the plane to Wichita. Luckily I was seated at the very back of the plane and got to experience the wonderful handling of everyone's bags onto the plane. Front of the suitcase down to the ramp and no less thrown on. Hey, but I did see my bags get on the plane & for that I was happy.

Then, to my dismay, I saw the conveyor reverse and ALL of the passengers baggage including mine being emptied from the cargo hold, unceremoniously dumped onto the concrete face first & all the bags tossed, or should I say thrown, onto the existing pile on the concrete with my bags being on the bottom.

They were not handled with the slightest ease or care, but extremely rough and abnormally abusive. (I have seen other bags being loaded into cargo before & I have never seen this kind of treatment to baggage). When I realized that our bags were NOT going to be returned to our plane I leapt from my seat & went to the front of the plane to discuss this with the stewardess. She instructed me to return to my seat and she would speak to the pilot.

About the time that it took me to walk from the front to the very rear of the plane & buckle up, the pilot announced overhead that he was sorry for the delay (45 minutes) but due to last minute paperwork and catering we were now ready to depart. Shortly after that announcement the stewardess came back to me and stated the pilot was sorry about my baggage but that I was more than welcome to leave the plane.

Now I'm steamed. Not only was I lied to, but the entire plane, whose bags got manhandled onto the concrete were lied to and they didn't even know it yet. If our bags were unloaded due to a weight issue and safety factor just tell me the truth. Don't treat me like I'm a 6 year old who can't handle the real world. When you go to the Doctor or your Attorney you expect the truth out of those professionals, right? Why should I not expect the truth out of a pilot? I could live without my bags for a couple of days to save my life.

So we arrive in Wichita and the Pilot announces we can all pick up our bags at the baggage claim area. I started to laugh. Oh goody, another lie. The stewardess tries to apologize to me one more time as I deplane stating to me to talk to an agent. What agent? There's not an agent in site! Thank god there were a few other smart passengers on that flight. The minute they saw me go up to the stewardess before take off, they knew something was wrong & immediately contacted security upon arrival at the Wichita terminal and told security to get Delta personnel down to the counter.

That took 30 minutes for a cargo technician to arrive and take care of our descriptions and instructions for delivery of our baggage upon arrival to Wichita. Wow, 14 rows of passengers to deal with. Thank goodness I was at the front of the line and only wasted an hour of my sleep. (Flight landed at 10:00 - I finally left the airport at 11:15). Some of these poor people I'm sure did not get a good nights sleep due to leaving the airport well past midnight.

Now wait, this gets even better. My husband requested he be contacted by phone to make the necessary arrangements for delivery of our luggage the following day due to us both having to work and not being home. We did not want our $8,000.00 scuba equipment dumped on the porch to be stolen not to mention our other bags. Did he get a call? We'll of course he did.

When the delivery person was on our porch and “oh too bad, but I'm here and I can't put it back on the delivery van”. My husband did not receive a phone call prior to delivery as instructed because our baggage arrived damaged! And when my husband called to make a claim, Delta stated he had to bring the bag in for Delta to inspect as to whether or not it could be fixed or repaired.

This is a brand new $300.00 suitcase! And the portion that was ripped totally off from the luggage held my brand new regulator and octopus along with my transmitter that is connected to that equipment that regulates whether or not I have air. A safety feature I rely on! Now, I can't trust my equipment due to your companies lies and total disregard for others property.

Seems to me that Delta may not only be purchasing a new bag for me, but after I have the regulator, octopus and transmitter tested and if any damage is detected Delta will be buying me a $500.00 regulator, a $300.00 octopus and a $1,000.00 transmitter-computer. Wow, that's a $2,100.00 bill just for being lied to, being personally mistreated, not to mention my baggage ripped to shreds and being just plain outright rude!

What a way to end what was a wonderful vacation. Now, all the relaxation and stress relieving properties of a wonderful vacation have been thrown three sheets to the wind. My back, shoulders and neck are in knots due to being so rudely mistreated for two days in a row and with such a lackadaisical attitude! I'd like to thank you for adding several more errands to my list that should not be there, thanks to the piss-poor way your company conducts business.

You know, after all this occurred and I got on the internet to obtain your address, I ran across several websites regarding complaints against Delta. Your company is fast gaining a bad reputation. Between the people you have already mistreated and whom they have spoken to regarding your treatment of them, the passengers of the plane and I that just landed whom I'm sure will spread the word regarding your despicable operations, not only have you lost the customers who have traveled with you but you have lost possible travelers who won't touch your airline with a ten foot pole due to what they have heard from word of mouth.

I feel very sorry for the way you run your company. I'll be flying with American, Continental or United from now on and if the only possible way I can reach my destination is by Delta, I won't be going. An extremely unhappy passenger.

Flight 6558 cancelled over snowstorm in New York - Delta still liable

I had confirmed reservations for an international flight on Delta to Toronto via New York JFK on 10th February 2010. At 9.00 P.M. on February 9th 2010, I received an automated telephone call from Delta that my flight next morning was cancelled. I immediately checked Delta's website which confirmed that my flight was cancelled. No reason was given for the cancellation either in Delta's telephone call or on its website. I sought to contact Delta's 24 hour telephone line but was unable to get an answer except for a recording saying that all agents were busy.

At 1.00 A.M. on February 10th 2010 I purchased a new ticket on another airline at a cost of US$737 directly to Toronto which was more than three times the cost of my original Delta flight of $211 which was booked months earlier. Apparently there was a problem in New York but flights not connecting in New York were not affected. At about 2.00 A.M. on February 10th 2010 I e-mailed Delta to say that I had booked on another airline. Delta e-mailed back to say that they could not deal with my email for another 2 to 3 days.

There followed this email correspondence: February 10th Delta Customer Support emailed to ask for more details. February 15th I emailed Delta to say that when they cancelled their flight I purchased a new ticket on another airline for $737 and requested reimbursement. February 16th Delta Customer Support emailed to say that “during irregular operations” they put passengers on the next available Delta flight or they rebook passengers on another carrier but since they did not handle the rebooking, they could not reimburse the airfare.

February 17th I emailed Delta to say that since all I heard from the airline that its flight was cancelled without giving any reason, it was contractually obligated to get me to Toronto even if that meant booking me on another airline. February 21st Delta Customer Support emailed to say that the first leg of my flight, the one into JFK was not cancelled, but the second leg JFK to Toronto was cancelled because of a snowstorm in New York. Delta offered to refund the $211 for the original ticket, but not the $737 for the new ticket.

February 21st I emailed Delta to say a refund of the fare I paid to them would not be adequate because of the increased price of the ticket which I had to pay on the date of travel and I threatened to take it to Court. February 24th Delta Customer Support emailed to say that Delta was sorry for my disappointment and hoped that I will still make Delta the airline of my choice. February 24th I emailed to say that I was not in the least disappointed but that I wanted the compensation that I was legally entitled to.

I proceeded to file a claim in court. Delta filed a Defence referring to its terms and conditions available on its website to the effect that in the event of a cancellation the passenger's remedy is for a refund of his fare. I replied to state that those terms and conditions were not brought to my attention when I booked the ticket. Delta's Defence filed in court had appended to it the said terms and conditions which were about 80 pages long. Delta retained a firm of prominent Attorneys to defend the case. There followed some correspondence between me and Delta's Attorneys.

From the start once the case was filed, Delta was willing to reimburse all my expenses, but they wanted to settle without a judgment of the Court and if I agreed they would give me $500 in travel vouchers in addition to reimbursing my expenses. This offer increased to $650 in vouchers during the correspondence. When the case was called in Court I appeared in person and Delta was represented by two Attorneys and Delta conceded and agreed to reimburse the $737 ticket, court costs and the cost of telephone calls I had made to relatives in Toronto on the night of February 9th 2010, and the Court entered judgment against Delta by consent.

Court costs were $80 and this is the most I would have had to pay if I had lost. I did not agree to the $650 in travel vouchers in return for forgoing the entry of a judgment against Delta. A judgment entered on the record of a court is a public document that can serve as a precedent, and another person similarly circumstanced with a case against Delta can use it to persuade another Court. Delta refused to settle before litigation had commenced and so I considered a judgment of the Court was appropriate.

Top of Page | Next Page >