Preview Review

Next Review

Discover Card Credit Cards Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Discover Card Slashed My Credit Limit Two Days After I Paid Them 8500
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRATTLEBORO, VERMONT -- Paid off my card a few months after my promotional zero % period ended about 8500 bucks. TWO DAYS LATER they slashed my credit line to 500 bucks with some lame story about my having too much credit extended on other cards which is untrue. Credit history shows same amount over the past ten years. No notice mind you... In the run up to the holidays which is why I paid it off. So much for customer appreciation. I will never use this card again. Moral of the story: If they don't get to ** you with interest you'll be ** by them and Discover just how happy the relationship actually is.

Replies
Advertisement
Awful Service! Don't Do Business With Them!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- This company and its employees are plain awful! First, the notifications for payments don't always go through then they charge you for a late payment and call you non stop (even if you have made payments throughout the month that equal up to or more than the min payment due). Then they con you into making a bigger payment than you really need to by saying that that is the minimum payment due when in reality it is not. When you call to get this worked out the banking services department's employees are incredibly rude. They talk over you and insist that you have been talking over them (and in order to insult you they had to talk over you...).

Also they talk as if they are lawyers and know your rights better than you know your own (I did my research and my father is a lawyer). Then when you insist to talk to a supervisor they insist that they don't have one, so they are either lying or poorly run. Also they cash back only works once you have $50 worth of cash back. Until then you are required to use it at Amazon (this is a stipulation they don't make clear when signing up). All in all this is one of the absolute worst companies I have ever had to deal with! I would suggest that you DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM EVER FOR ANY REASON seeing as though their main issue is customer service and stealing money.

Replies
Discover Card Ripoff!! Bait and Switch!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE, OHIO -- I was given an offer that if I spent 3000/month Aug-December 2013 I would get a 500 reward. I called periodically to make sure I was on track for each month. Always happily told I was on track. Come end of December, after I have spent over 15,000 on their card, now they tell me they have no record of "signing up" and there is "nothing they can do."

Why do they structure their program with all these confusing sign ups - signs ups for this and that. I believe I did sign up, but even if I missed... They got the benefit of the bargain - over 15,000. What normal business would get what they were after from a customer and then not come through, paperwork details be damned? Assuming they actually cared about their relations with a customer, that is. The whole purpose of the promotion was presumably to get customers to use their card more. Not only will they not achieve that goal with me, they will get a counterproductive result as I will cancel the card.

Supervisors pretend they have no authority, or worse, they are chained to ridiculous corporate policies that require treating customers like crap. I have no room for ridiculous people or organizations in my life. They use confusing and proliferating sign ups to rip off customers! That is their business model!

Replies
Liars, Thieves, scam, rip-off, non-compliant, unwilling to a settlement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- First Off, I (We) have been dealing with Discover for some years now. And like many complaints I have read I feel someone wrote it for Me!! Not much is different in the way we have been treated by these ruthless individuals. One thing, are when we had about 3,000 on the card We stopped using it. I usually paid $10 or so over the min. payment amount just to be ahead a little. Well seemed like the bill kept getting higher... When I called they always told me my payment was late... the payment due date was ALWAYS the 13th & was auto draft from my bank account So if the 13th landed on Sun, the payment automatically came out Mon A.M.

Hum, it was late to them. Even though they said it wasn't, I could see the outcome on the next billing cycle. We were supposed to be paperless Billing!? How does that work? We still get monthly statements & internet billing. I have not charged on my card for 3 yrs. In fact both have been cut up. My bill is over 5,000. Let me tell You also I have offered them 3,000 for a settlement just last week. Believe me when I say the answer was "No. We're not accepting 'any' settlements at this time." WTH!!

Question now - what can we do? Who out there can help Us and Numerous others who have been taken? I'm very much believing from reading one other review that Discover is in fact IS a White Collar Terrorist Organization Operating with Impunity in the United States.

Replies
Advertisement
Do Not Apply For A Discover It Student Card!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS, TEXAS -- Do not apply for the Discover It Student Card! They do not have standards for approving or denying applications. My twin sister and I will both be college freshmen in the fall. In order to start building our credit history we both applied for the Discover It Student Card. We applied on the same day with virtually the same information. Neither of us have had credit cards before. We worked at the same grocery store for the same amount of time. We have the same address, birth date, etc. Essentially, in the eyes of a credit card company, we have identical credit histories.

My sister's application was approved. My application was denied due to “insufficient credit history.” They claimed that I had to get a co-applicant. I called the supposedly “stellar” customer service, and I was transferred from department to department. I was forced to explain my situation repeatedly and still no one was able to give me a straight answer as to why my TWIN sister with the SAME credit history was approved while I was denied.

All the representatives refused to review my application again. They just kept saying I had “insufficient history” and needed a co-applicant. They refused to tell me why my sister didn't need one even when I had her authorize them to provide us with the information. My father has had a Discover card for a while, but needless to say my entire family is leaving Discover for good. I gave this card a chance because it's supposed to be the best student card out there. Instead, I got horrible treatment and evasive representatives who don't care about potential customers at all.

Replies
Discover Card Does Not Care About Long-Term Card Members
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- I have been a Discover Card member since 2000. Recently, I was promised 5% cash back on 'every purchase' for 3 months when I received and activated my new card. I checked my rewards balance after 2 months to find I was receive less than 1% cash back. I called to correct the error only to be told I had to spend $500 in order to receive the 5% and could only receive up to $75 in rewards. Well, I was pretty peeved and said, "I'll just close my account" and hung up. I wrote the CEO complaining about their treatment and false promises. I received a call the following day from the 'executive office' and ended up hanging up on them too.

I logged into my account just the other day and the rewards money I had was gone. I emailed customer service only to be told my account had been closed as per my request. Funny because it was closed the day before I received the call from the executive office... Why would they call if I was no longer a member?? Discover card closed my account without verifying I actually wanted it closed. They closed it without verifying any security information or reviewing any account closure agreements/consequences with me. They were unapologetic and simply said, "You closed your account so you forfeited your rewards."

After being a member for 13 years with no late payments and never going over my limit that's what I got. Discover card doesn't give a damn about their customers and their cash back program is a joke. I'll stick with my Bank of America Visa card and my Chase MasterCard… at least they honor their promises.

Replies
Discover Card's Service Belongs to Third World Countries
By -

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- When I was living in US, Discover had been consistently sending me advertisement about their cards. Although I was already happy with my current credit cards, I thought I could give Discover a try in July 2010. The result? I was really offended by the disturbing experience Discover representatives threw at me. Their incompetence forced me to sacrifice valuable time and other goals in a pressed schedule (so pressed that I had to travel and slept in a car outside to meet schedule), only to make a successful payment to Discover.

So here was how it happened. After I used Discover card for a while, I needed to move to Canada, so I used IP relay service to call Discover (as a hard hearing person without landline at home, IP relay was the only communication method for me with Discover) and required an address change. Suddenly the relay operator told me the call was terminated for a fraud reason. Discover then locked my account. As a consequence, I could not make a payment online. After my account was locked, I immediately contacted Discover security department to verify my identity.

I informed the Discover representative, **, that I couldn't hear sound so I couldn't pick up their call. ** insisted that their record showed they had spoken to the cardholder so they would still go ahead and call back. Well how could they have the record of calling me when I couldn't communicate through phone and never met them in person? Therefore it is either this Discover representative was a liar, or the representative was unprofessional and didn't know what she was talking about. I was still willing to give Discover another chance.

Several days later I successfully verified my identity with next representative, and confirmed that the request for foreign address change was indeed from the cardholder. After one week, I contacted them to change my address. I also kindly reminded them that I made the same request for address change last time. Guess what, they locked my account again, despite my effort to verify my identity a week ago. On next day before I departed from US, I told a Discover representative, **, about my situation. They refused to unlock my account (address change neither) and they wanted to call me back later.

I had to explain to ** again about my disability and I couldn't pick up phone call. She just said she couldn't continue the call and hanged up disrespectfully. At the time I was completely done with Discover. So the pattern I see here is if the cardholder requires a change to a foreign address, Discover locks the account and turns head away.

When they don't like answers from cardholder or feel their ego is invaded, they treat the cardholder like a thief in rude manner. This is especially true when they hear explanation that the cardholder can't receive call from Discover. And does Discover realize that if the cardholder is ACTUALLY moving to another address, by refusing to change address, they are putting the cardholder at the risk of exposing information to next renter at the previous address?

They also gave me a difficult time to communicate to them and make payment to the card, and I suffered from their rude attitude when I had a lot, lot of work to do at that time, and when I was very sick and coughing painfully. How their fraud department handles fraud is absolutely ridiculous and laughable.

My VISA and AmEx card companies politely changed my address without any problem, hence I concluded Discover service is trash and I will not do further business with them. No wonder VISA, MasterCard and AmEx are still the mainstream while Discover is still a nobody-Care Credit card company, along with their uncivil and backward representatives. DON'T USE DISCOVER.

Replies
Discover Card Predatory Lending, Unconscionable Practices, Continuous Interest Rate Increases and Exploitation
By -

NATIONWIDE -- Discover Card engages in unconscionable behavior and exploits their cardholders through predatory lending practices. My interest rate on my Discover Platinum card was 12.74% as of the April 19, 2005 statement and is now 27.99% as of my March 19, 2006 statement. My account has seen a monthly "just noticeable difference" interest rate increase of .25% to .75% per month from April 2005 to December 2005. My interest rate jumped almost 10% from 16.49% to 25.99% in the month of December 2005 and is currently at 27.49% as of the March 19, 2006 billing.

Since December 2005, Discover keeps increasing my interest rate each month in small steps of .25%-.50%. I encountered a problem with Chase Bank not utilizing my overdraft line of credit and thus my bank account overdrafted and the balance went negative as non-sufficient fees compounded on the account. It took me almost 4 weeks to resolve this matter with Chase. Chase eventually took responsibility for their error and reversed almost $1,000 in NSF fees on the account.

Because of Chase's error, my November 2005 Discover Card payment was returned to Discover Card towards the beginning of December as NSF and Discover Card increased my interest rate from 16.74% to 25.99%. Chase Bank provided a letter to me and the letter stated and acknowledged their error. I forwarded the letter to Discover Card and they will not reduce my interest rate because their justification is I have been over my credit limit within the last 12 months. I would not had been over my credit limit had Chase initially paid the November 2005 payment as they should have done.

Discover Card also compounded the damage and caused my account to go over the limit by assessing me late fees, over limit fees and return item fees along with continually increasing my interest rate. They also continued to approve charges while the account was over the assigned credit limit and now they are trying to exploit me with unconscionable interest rate increases and do not want to work with me and restore the account to the point it would have been had Chase paid my November 2005 payment and not returned it.

I have tried to speak with Discover Card and they do not wish to help me and continue to revert to the cardholder agreement which clearly states they can change the terms at any time. I have proven beyond reasonable doubt to Discover Card that Chase made a mistake and that Chase has taken full responsibility for the error. Discover will not budge in my favor and they continue to exploit me with exorbitant interest rates and interest rate increases, higher payments and over the limit fees.

Discover Card keeps reverting to the cardholder agreement as their justification for my interest rate hikes yet Discover Card and Chase bank have gotten me where I am today with this account. Chase accepted responsibility for their mistake. Discover Card will not make amends to my account because Discover would rather profit from my misfortune with Chase Bank and Discover also told me the ultimate responsibility falls on me to ensure payments are made on time. Discover will not accept Chase's letter but instead want to use this as an opportunity to profit in the short term and lose a customer in the long term.

The cardholder agreement is a cohesion contract and I am the weaker party because I do not have any bargaining power. Discover is using this to their advantage to engage in predatory and unconscionable lending practices and exploit their cardholders and rake up millions of dollars in additional income.

The cardholder agreement, because of the binder arbitration agreement which gives Discover Card free rein to exploit their cardholders and not be held accountable because the cardholder has no recourse and cannot revert to the court system to hold Discover Card accountable for their abuses, is a non-negotiable cohesion contract where the cardholder has no power or recourse and Discover Card has the power to amend it at anytime in their favor and as often as they want too. The cardholder is exploited and has to either accept the amendment or close the account if they do not wish to accept the new term(s).

Discover Card skims more money from the cardholders, in small amounts from the mass population, as a result of changing the cardholder agreement and sneaking in small monthly interest rate increases in hopes the cardholder does not notice them. I advise everyone to watch their interest rate monthly on their account and don't become victim to their practices. It is ironic how David Nelms, Chief Executive Officer, came to Discover Card in 2005 and all these predatory lending practices seem to be increasing and occurring since his assignment to Chief Executive Officer.

David's prior employment was with MBNA. MBNA had several class action lawsuits brought against them for predatory lending and fraud during David's tenure and now Discover Card is engaging in these practices. Coincidence here? It sure seems to me that the top leadership has brought his MBNA business tactics to Discover Card and implemented them to exploit their cardholders and generate millions in income. There was a case in California, as follows, that illustrates Discover Card's attempted use of the Arbitration Agreement, and the court upheld the agreement as unconscionable.

If you are a Discover Card account holder and have experienced more than one interest rate increase within the last year even though your credit has not changed and Discover Card has used predatory tactics with you and you would like to be a member and/or participate in a class action lawsuit, contact me via email. A class action lawsuit is also being considered to challenge the credit card industry's "BMA- Binding Mandatory Arbitration" clauses. Discover Card implemented the BMA back in 2001 and several other big credit card companies followed suit.

The Arbitration clause disallows class action lawsuits and court action by cardholders and further encourages Discover Card to use their power to commit fraud and engage in predatory lending and not be held accountable by the courts for their actions. My recommendations are: Get rid of your Discover Card account and do not do business with any credit card company which uses "BMA". The companies that utilize arbitration are the ones who set out to exploit the consumer and don't want to be held accountable by the courts for their unconscionable and predatory actions.

The following credit card companies have and use binding mandatory arbitration - Bank of America, Discover Card, JPMorgan Chase, Washington Mutual, Chevy Chase, MBNA, Wells Fargo, Household Financial, Beneficial, Orchard Bank and Providian so steer away from them because they will exploit you and take your money. Only do business with credit card companies who do not dictate terms and make you use arbitration or have binding mandatory arbitration. Credit Unions are your best defense against the credit card industry and arbitration clauses as most credit unions don't use arbitration because they are not out to steal people's money.

The best thing we all can do to the "credit card loan sharks" is take our credit business to a credit union and get one of their Visas. I checked out the credit unions in my area and the rates are 8%-15%, no late fees until 10 days after the payment due date, 9.9% fixed APR on balance transfers until they are paid off and no over limit fees. Most of the credit union websites I checked out had fixed rate credit cards so you know what your rate will be and don't have to worry about them pulling the "interest rate increase tricks" and escalating your interest rate because you are now "a greater risk" or just changing the rate at their leisure to generate more income.

IF you do fall prey to Discover Card or any other credit card company and they change your terms and/or exploit you, notify the following and file a complaint or share your story: ABC Television Network, NBC Television Network, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation - FDIC (Regulatory and enforcement arm of the banking industry), Office of Comptroller of the Currency, CBS Television Network, Fox News, your State's Attorney General Office, your state senator(s), MSNBC Television, Cable News Network - CNN, Wall Street Journal, and Securities and Exchange Commission.

Replies
Advertisement
Unfair Late Charge
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEVITTOWN, NEW YORK -- I was informed that I was alerted by emails, mail and phone calls. Emails and mail is considered junk mail to me. But a phone call would have alerted me that there was an issue. They would not waive $28.71 late charge, so I paid off my amount and happily closed my credit card account and bid "farewell" to Discover after years of being a consumer. Hope the $28.71 was worth it for them. :)

Replies
Discover Card Does Not Honor Commitments They've Made
By -

My wife lost her job and it was becoming difficult for us to make our Discover Card payment. I called them and the customer service representative told me that we qualified for a program where they would close the account and have an agreed upon amount automatically taken from our checking account on a designated date each month. They reduced our annual interest rate to 7.00% annually. The representative enthusiastically told me that as long as we made these payments on time each month, we would continue to qualify for this reduced interest rate.

Money was tight with the loss of my wife's income, but I made sure that this bill was paid on time each month because with the interest rate being so reasonable I could see our balance lower each month. In fact, the Discover Card representative told me that if we stayed on program the balance of our Discover Card in five years. To my surprise, when I received my January 2010 statement it indicated that only a minimum payment was due, which was less than the amount I'd agreed to pay on on the repayment, and the interest rate had increased to 29.99%.

I thought there must be some mistake so I called Discover Card. After being transferred four times to four different people, the only answer I was able to get from Discover Card was that this program was only for 12 months, that their representative was incorrect when he said that I would be eligible for this reduced interest for the next five years. The only suggestion was that I call a credit counseling agency. They made absolutely no effort to live up to the promises they made me when I enrolled with this program.

The U.S. economy is the worst it's been since the Great Depression, millions of American have lost their jobs, house foreclosures and bankruptcies are at record levels, but Discover Card doesn't care about this - they just want to make sure that they collect their "loan shark" interest rates. Credit card companies are "organized crime". I've had a Discover Card for over 25 years. I feel like I've been duped. I will never give them my business and will recommend to everyone I know that they do the same.

Chase Bank and Well Fargo set me up on similar programs to repay our credit card after my wife lost her job.
Guess what? I'm still on these programs, they getting paid a reasonable rate of interest on the credit card balance, and I'm watchin' the balance go down each month. It's too bad that Discover Card is so greedy, that they won't let their customers continue with this program during these trying economic time. Don't do business with Discover Card they have no integrity and don't live up to the agreements they make!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Discover Card Credit Cards Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 9 ratings and
54 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Discover Card
Attn: Complaints
P.O. Box 30943
Salt Lake City, UT 84130-0943
212-761-4000 (ph)
212-761-0086 (fax)
www.discovercard.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks