Preview Review

Next Review

Dish Network Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Being Charged for 2 Years When I Had to Move Out of Residence!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO -- On March 26, 2016, I moved into an apartment that was misrepresented to me as a nonsmoking unit. I noticed a slightly stale smell during the walk-through, but attributed it to the unit being closed up for a few months. It was not evident it was smoke, and I had no reason to assume it was, due to the unit being advertised as a nonsmoking unit. The smell was nothing. It thought wouldn't go away with some airing out. However, the smell persisted, and after a mere three days of living there, my towels, clothes, and even hair were starting to smell of it.

Upon my mentioning the smell to the maintenance man when he came to hook up the washer and dryer, he admitted that the previous tenant had indeed been smoking in the apartment. I cannot tolerate cigarette smoke, so I contacted the landlord and made arrangements to leave the property. I promptly cancelled all utilities, none of whom gave me any trouble whatsoever except for Dish Network, and moved out of the property on April 10, 2016.

I was recommended Dish Network as a cable provider when I started electric service with West Penn Power and they transferred me to First Energy. The woman I spoke to who scheduled me for installation never mentioned a contract, length of service agreement, or any kind of termination fee. She only mentioned the low price per month of roughly $32.

March 26, 2016 was also the day a representative from Dish Network came to the unit to install the satellite dish and hook everything up. Again, he never mentioned a contract, length of service agreement, or early termination fee. Once he was finished, he explained to me how to work everything and had me sign a few lines on an iPad, much like someone signs for a package. He scrolled through the iPad for me, simply showing me where to sign. He said I was signing acknowledging that he HOOKED UP MY SERVICE and EXPLAINED TO ME HOW TO WORK IT.

It was not explained or made obvious at all that this was a contract, which I fully believe was intentional. As he was holding the iPad and doing the scrolling, I had no reason to take it from him and do it myself – or assume that very conveniently and deceptively hidden in the corner of the screen was an outrageous early termination fee. As stated above, he scrolled through, only stopping where I needed to sign, and stated that I was signing acknowledging he hooked up my service and explained how to work the remote/TV.

I cancelled service with Dish Network on April 8, 2016, and got nowhere when speaking to a representative. After asking for a supervisor, whose name might have been Julie but I can't be certain, I got the same robotic, rehearsed monologue. Customer service was frustrating, to say the least. No one had any understanding or sympathy, or even deviated from their monotone script.

I explained my situation tirelessly, just as it is explained above, enforcing that I hadn't even used the service during my short stay at this apartment, and that my lease was only to be for a year, so there's no way I would have signed up for a two-year agreement. Nobody listened and they proceeded to charge my account the full amount. After this phone call, I did some research and stumbled upon the horrific reviews of this company. I am utterly shocked they are still in business.

On May 11, 2016, I called Visa/Bank of America to dispute this charge on my card, and I believe I spoke to a girl named Sarah from Maryland or Virginia. After explaining the story above, she removed the charge and I received a letter in the mail notifying me of the credit to my account. Then I found out Dish Network is disputing my complaint and trying to make me pay, and Visa has basically washed their hands of it. (So guess who will be changing card providers? Hello, MasterCard.)

My main dispute is the outrageous early termination fee. My main complaint is that I should not have to pay for a service I AM NOT GETTING AND WILL NEVER GET. I did not buy something and then refuse to pay for it. I am expected to pay for two years of a service I am not getting, through no fault of my own. I did not just decide I didn't want Dish Network or didn't like my new apartment. I was deceived about the apartment's condition and had to move out.

This was an unfortunate situation all the way around, and a financial burden for me already, with the cost of moving twice in two weeks, money that I paid in rent, etc. Dish Network has shown no human compassion, understanding, or appeasement to try to keep me as a future customer. All they have done is give me a massive headache and more problems to deal with.

Everyone avoid these liars, scammers, crooks, and thieves like the plague. If I wanted to waste $534.37 I'd just light it on fire. They deliberately deceive good people who work 2 jobs and 50+ hours a week (me) for their hard earned money. Everyone, warn everyone you know. If enough people hear and heed the warning, maybe these con artists will finally be out of business and actually working for a living like the rest of us.

Replies
Advertisement
Dish Has Thieves Working for Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BULLARD, TEXAS -- I had a new Dish system put in and their technician stole my $400 wedding set out of my room that was in my jewelry box my husband bought me while overseas and then signed my name to a contract that I never got or seen but he signed it for me. I made a police report and some theft department I am supposed to deal with never calls me back and calls me a liar when I know I just took it off before he showed up to do some yard work and put it in my jewelry box. The president of Dish says despite of the fact I am not the one who signed it they will not be disputing the signature and the don't dispute signatures. I attached the picture of my ring that he stole to this.

Replies
Verify EVERYTHING They Tell You!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ENGLEWOOD, COLORADO -- I recently decided to get cable/satellite television, and internet. It seemed it would be best to get the services “bundled”, to keep everything together with one company. In speaking with several companies, I had decided it would probably be best to go with one particular company. However, upon speaking with a GoDISH sales agent, I was led to believe that DISH was partnered with AT&T U-verse. His sales pitch was that I would be getting DISH AND AT&T internet. Only after I signed the contract did I learn that DISH was NOT partnered with AT&T. Not only that, but I can't even get AT&T at my residence.

Since my decision was based on the fact that I would be getting AT&T through their partnership, I felt I had been deceived. When I realized that I had been duped, I called DISH (June 3, 2016) and complained, stating that I was led to believe that they were partnered with AT&T, and I had made my decision on that basis. Since that was not the truth, the contract should not be binding. I spoke with Hector, who said he would review the transcript (recording).

Hector called back on June 16, 2016, and reported that he had listened to the recording, and the sales agent didn't indicate that it was a “bundled” service; that DISH and AT&T were individual companies. He didn't explain why the agent was touting AT&T as being a partner. Because the agent did nothing wrong, the contract stood “as is”. And I would have to pay the penalty fees if I were to break it. There was no discussion of my being misled, or that it had been agreed to under false pretenses.

I have always retained good credit. I pay what I owe. And when there is a difference of opinion, I am willing to try to find a solution (which I tried to do). But when I feel I have been scammed, and talk doesn't work, I see no alternative but to dispute the issue loudly and long. What occurred, should be interpreted as “bait and switch” tactics, which is illegal.

Replies
Awful
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I've been an unhappy Dish customer for 9 years. Every few months I get a bill saying I owe more than our last agreement. I would then call them and go through same old song and dance... they would say the promotion, which I was told was good for a year, had ended. Even though that agreement was made only a few months earlier. I like a dummy not wanting to hassle with the alternative would agree to the few dollars increase and on we went... till last month and another increased bill arrived.

So this time, I canceled my service and Dish as agreed shut off my service and sent me their confirming cancellation email, with a sweet footnote saying they hoped I'd reconsider and come back. I called them and asked if they had reconsidered their price increase to my bill and they said NO. I replied... "I'm done."

The supervisor representative then said, "Do you want me to cancel your account?" I replied... "It's already canceled." He said, "No, it isn't you 'just' reactivated it. And if you cancel now, you will have to pay an early termination fee." I said, "I'm not going to continue playing your games. My service is off and I have your cancellation email that you sent to me two days earlier... we're done. Goodbye!"

Dish then reactivated my service; with fewer channels I might add and sent me a bill. Needless to say at this point I can't believe what has and is happening. I think Dish Corporate can't know this is how their customers are treated. So I called Dish corporate offices in Englewood, Colorado. Phone# 303-723-1000 ext. **... I left six (6) detailed 'short version' messages for Kathy Schneider, Sr. VP Customer Service asking her to call me and to date NO ONE has returned my call. So in closing... STAY AWAY FROM DISH!!! Life is too short to have this kind of BAD energy in your life.

Replies
Advertisement
Dish Network Killed My Puppy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JASPER, ALABAMA -- Dish network killed my puppy. I HAD a full blood, red nose, 8-week old pit bull puppy. He was a sweetie. Hs best buddy was a 7-month-old German Shepard mix and a 10-week old kitten. He stayed indoors most of the time but we went outside to play and for him to use the bathroom. Now he's gone because of a grossly negligent Dish Network tech/driver.

I live in the last house on a dead end drive, surrounded by woods on 3 sides, and I have no trespassing signs posted around my property. One sign is posted about 50 ft before you get to my driveway where it can be seen BEFORE coming onto my property.

On this dead end there are 3 driveways before mine. The house closest to my no trespassing sign is empty, so people can turn around in that driveway in order to not trespass on my property. I'm explaining the location so you understand why this shouldn't have happened.

Monday afternoon, I took my puppy out to do his business. I went inside and within a few minutes I heard a vehicle so I looked out my window and saw a Dish Network van pull into my drive, back out then he ran over/hit/killed my puppy then sped off.

I do not have any Dish services, not Dish Network or any other provider and I don't want any Dish services. Due to these facts that I have no Dish services, I have no trespassing signs at my property lines and I live at the end of a dead end drive surrounded by woods, Dish Network had no business on my property.

My puppy wasn't killed because I was irresponsible and let him run the neighborhood. He was killed on his own/my property by the Dish Network van and its driver (who had no business there) and it happened so quick that there was nothing I could do but watch.

After I gained my composure (from checking my pup hoping he was ok just to confirm he wasn't), I called Dish Network and I filed a police report. Once I finally reached a person to speak to at Dish Network and explained what happened the person transferred me back to automated services. This actually happened a few times before a man transferred me to a lady in the complaint department.

The lady wasn't very helpful. She took down my information, basically told me there was nothing Dish could do, then told me I'd be contacted later. After hanging up with her, I proceeded to email Dish Network's corporate office and their representing attorney to tell them.

The following day a man named Luke called me concerning my email. He took my information and told me another company services my area. Regardless of the service area, I SAW IT ALL with my own eyes and it was definitely a Dish Network van, which I told Luke. He told me he would give the info to his superiors and contact me later. Before disconnecting, Luke gave me his direct phone number.

It has been 5 days since the killing of my puppy, 4 since speaking to Luke and as of yet I've not been contacted again. I've seen a few complaints online about Dish Networks reckless technician/drivers. It's a sad world where our pets can't go outside in their own yard without being killed. Hopefully Dish Network addresses this situation before a child is run over by one of their technicians/drivers. Have not been offered any sort of compensation.

Replies
Don't Do It!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PERTH AMBOY, NEW JERSEY -- I had Dish Network installed on Feb. 3, 2017, & it's been nothing but a headache ever since. Let me first explain that I was lead to believe that this was a "bundle deal" with Verizon since AT&T wasn't available in my area. My bill for March was $164 just from Verizon for 75mbps, not including the $71 for Dish. So when I call up Verizon to dispute my bill, they told me that they don't know anything about a bundle deal & they don't partner with Dish Network. So now I'm confused because I was told by Dish that I have a bundle, & that I would be receiving 2 bills, one from Dish & one from Verizon but the price would be reflected between the two bills.

I was also told this would be better for me because it would keep down the taxes & fees on both. Well, when I tried to correct the issue, Dish informed me that they couldn't even help me because it is subcontracted through a third party, Infinity Sales Group. I was never informed of this, & the phone number I called was for Dish Network. They checked their computer & I was never signed up for a "bundle", & there was nothing they could do, I had to call Infinity Sales Group. This service has been a headache from the day it was installed, & on top of everything, the cable goes out during rain, snow, clouds, or even a steady breeze.

I called 2 weeks after the install to cancel but found out there are severe penalties for early termination. On top of it all, I was promised a $100 gift card within 6-8 weeks, it's been 3 months & still no card or solution. I wish I would have read these reviews first because this service sucks!! And they don't care, all they care about is you paying your overpriced bill.

I told their representative that I would tell anybody & everybody who would listen, DO NOT DEAL WITH DISH!! Their customer service is horrendous, & they lie (or tell half truths) to get you signed up, then when you realize how horrible it is, it's already too late. Already have been overcharged the last 3 months, but they want me to pay an early termination fee, for their mistakes & terrible service lol NOT!!!

Replies
Save Yourself...Choose Any Other Carrier!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLEVELAND, OHIO -- The awful service began on day one when I paid DISH TV $200 to install a flat panel TV in my bedroom. The tech showed up with no work order for a install of a flat panel and didn't have the mount to even install it. At that time I cancelled the flat panel install and to this day DISH has not refunded me that money! Second, I transferred my service from one residence to another in order to simply complete my two year contract with Dish but apparently, without my knowledge, they renewed my contract at my new residence because I added a receiver.

No one ever made us aware of this and I simply transferred my service so I could finish the last four months of my current contract without paying an early termination fee. So...I went to cancel my service two days ago and Dish informed me that I am under contract for another 15 months because I got the new receiver. I told them I never would have signed a new contract for two more years because I was just looking to end my service with Dish. Now they are saying I will owe $360 if I cancel.

I told them I wanted proof of this new contract I signed and they were unable to provide one but still charged $360 on the credit card on file when I cancelled. When I told Dish I would dispute the charge with my CC company they told me to go right ahead. The two "Presidents of the company" that I spoke to both talked down to me with an arrogant attitude. This company treats their customers like garbage and they are flat out dishonest! I will never pay them another dollar of my money! I WOULD STRONGLY ADVISE YOU STAY CLEAR OF DISH TV! DISH TV ARE CRIMINALS!

Replies
Loss of Fox and Dish Networks Lack of Concern
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OCEAN SHORES, WASHINGTON -- Someone needs to file a class action lawsuit against Dish Network. When current customers signed up for their service, FOX network was an offered channel. We on the West Coast know NASCAR and THE SEAHAWKS are brought to us by Fox Network. Yet for the last month and a half there has been no FOX network, thus no NASCAR. In the next 7 days, professional football starts and there will be NO Seahawks games provided to DISH customers via the Fox network.

It seems to me that this is a significant inconvenience to the paying customer whom expected this service when contractually agreed to DISH services. And, Dish is not willing to provide a discount for the inconvenience. Then when you go to a provider that does offer FOX, Dish charges you an outrageous cancellation fee of which they refuse to discount or waive due to their lack of service! There is certainly something wrong with this scenario and Dish should not be getting away with this injustice to the consumer.

Replies
Advertisement
Liars
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKLAHOMA -- Was told I didn't have to sign a contract and the guy that came in set up my receiver's - was here for 4 hours. I didn't know what he was doing. Was frustrated. By the time he left said," Here, I need you to sign," that you didn't tell me what it was and a couple minutes later I received an email saying I signed a contract. I tried to talk with them. I've been a customer for 6 years and they said, "Well you can just cancel it and will charge you $500." They are shady and Liars. Do not recommend.

Replies
Issues With TV
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

DENVER, COLORADO -- Today is May 16th and I live in Denver, CO and I called Dish with an issue of not being able to get a picture on one of my TVs. I talked with a lady named Camille. She was courteous, knowledgeable and tried several different things to final get the problem solved. I was so pleased that I had her check another issue that we had the previous day and was told it was a TV issue and not a satellite issue and I should call the TV manufacturer. I explained the problem and within minutes she walked me through a diagnostic and solved the problem. DISH needs more techs like this one.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Dish Network Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 520 ratings and
1324 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Dish Network
9601 S. Meridian Blvd.
Englewood, CO 80112
1-888-624-3474 (ph)
1-720-514-5140 (fax)
www.dish.com
pedersenjason@echostar.com
Compare Cable/Satellite Services