Preview Review

Next Review

eBay Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
They Refuse To Close My Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

After 300 transactions on eBay with 100% positive feedback I tried to contact eBay customer service with a problem. I soon discovered they try to make it as hard as possible to contact them. In fact, it took over 1 hour of wading through their garbage pile of questions and 30 minutes on hold, listening to their commercials, to reach a representative.

NOW GET THIS. THEY JUST REFUSED TO CLOSE MY ACCOUNT. The representative informed me they would not close my account for 180 days even though I had no transactions pending. He told me the reason they do this is they hope the customers will change their minds. I guess your customer service sucks that bad that's the only way they can hold on to their customers. I had to go to PayPal to get my money back and it only took about 1 minute to get in touch with PayPal. Is this even legal for eBay to just refuse to close someone's account?

Replies
Advertisement
eBay Ripped Me Off as a Seller, and Ignored My Numerous Complaints for Over a Month
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- eBay prevented my account from activity for over a month, due to their system failure, and failed to remit my seller funds, and refused to return numerous calls for help. This large company took my few dollars of a sale, and said, "tough, live with it."

Replies
Sucks ass
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

** eBay, they do not cater at all to sellers and charge 10% for items you sell including having to pay for damn shipping if you listed it as so. Every crackhead is on to get deals so don't auction or else you'll get ripped off. I bought a game for $42 off eBay and a month later it sold for $26?! WTF. I wouldn't mind if I could see cost of shipping or cancel transaction before bum pays but eBay provided no such thing. I need to call one of their representatives and blow up on them.

Replies
Join the Campaign - No EBay Charging for Auctions Ahead of Time! Say No to Fee-Greedy Execs!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

USA, CALIFORNIA -- Yes, once again, eBay is choosing to rip off the seller by charging for auctions in which there are no sales. I, for one, will not open another auction until you have returned to asking for payment after each sale, as opposed to charging for non-selling auctions, as well as completed sales.

It is completely unnecessary to do it this current way, as opposed to charging a little more on each completed sale, if that is truly what the company needs to do; however, my strong suspicion is your main officers are greedy for extra profit, even though they make more & more money simply through product price inflation, which gives eBay and PayPal increased dollars in fees. I simply don't understand these boneheaded moves.

I can guarantee you, eBay & PayPal already know how unpopular a decision you have made, based on what your selling customers are telling you & the way they are walking away, by slowly pulling product off your shelves, & taking their business somewhere else, as each auction becomes no more, due to this barbaric double-dip charging.

I am so ticked off at your executives right now, whereas, I was essentially moderately happy with eBay & PayPal, your pseudo 'spin-off' company, where, combined, you make 15%+ profit on each sale. Sure you charged a little too much, but at least we could measure our profit & loss on each sale, as opposed to getting ripped off before we even sell an item.

I hope you don't draw out the inevitable move back to sanity for months & months; that would be foolhardy. In the meantime, I'll move my sales to Etsy, where we have a much better deal, albeit less of a buyer base - & perhaps we will b able to build up Etsy & other sites to make the 'playing field' a little more even... but still, I would hate to see eBay to be so greedy & foolish that the company stumbles its way down the path of self-destruction, like such companies as Blockbuster, for instance, who stood in the dark, completely clueless as to what was going on around them. That would be a shame for all of us, eBay & PayPal, included.

Replies
Advertisement
EBay Is Open Door for Smuggling
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I bid a cell phone on eBay from a seller "**" (no longer listing as seller. From what I heard from eBay they terminate this seller). Cell phone description is "brand new, unlocked (means you can use any sim card worldwide). I paid $481, no description where it's coming from, where it was manufactured. But instead all I know is I am making my transaction from an American resident and was affirmed by eBay that this seller is a U.S. resident.

Date of transactions are as follows: bidding ended 3-27-13, I paid it right away cause I want to get it fast to excitement. Waiting period is till 4-5-13. I was constantly checking online the status of shipment cause my waiting period is over.

My expectation from eBay at least email me. Since it's a computerized technology of selling stuff, they would monitor this seller and ask the seller why is it not yet being mailed for shipment since they already collected the fees for this transaction. I presumed they never care cause I did not received any email from them or from the seller. So at this instance I decided to ask the seller about this fully paid transaction. The seller wrote a reply telling me its "out of stock." To cut short I have a bitter communication with this seller.

I send a communication that I am going to sue him/her in the court of Washington state for "breach of contract on a fully paid item" and he/she will be coming to my state to attend the hearing and will pay all the legal fees. But I stated a demand that I should receive the item on or before 4-10-13, otherwise he or she have to face the legal consequence.

Comes 4-10-13 I got the package shipment. To my excitement I opened the package and install my existing sim card from my iPhone and boom it works seamlessly. But comes 1st week of July 2013 this Nokia Lumia acting up differently showing sluggish, slow, goes to different windows, goes on a blank dark screen. I search on internet how to reset this cell phone at Nokia.com/support page. So it did work for a little bit amount of time then it started acting up again differently.

This time I called USA Nokia and tried to get a warranty support from them. First Nokia asked me to give them the "IMEI no." Come to find out Nokia USA said they will not cover this for warranty cause it was made in "Vietnam". I tried calling back Nokia on different occasions expecting some changes about giving warranty but unfortunately "negative". Now I started investigating on the packaging of shipment. I came to find out it came from Hong Kong and manufactured in Vietnam. Those are two different countries. I explained this to eBay but help still to no avail. eBay only wants their monies of listing fees.

So consumers out there beware of Nokia product. They don't give international warranty though it was affirmed that it is their product. On this 3rd week of July I called eBay trying how to resolve the issue. EBay representative can't help me, so I went to a different venue and it's the credit card company Citibank. This credit card company is really very helpful when it comes to product dissatisfaction. What my credit card did is they called PayPal and we are on a group conversation over the phone and PayPal said they will try to resolved this issue within 30 days and send me by email reference case number.

Presently, I'm waiting what's going to come up. Recap is eBay is not worth keeping in buying stuff and its a wide door open for smuggling since seller was able to shipped this item in USA avoiding to pay import tax.

Replies
EBay Will Not Accept Legal Documentation of Domestic Violence, Restraining Orders and Protective Orders to Reinstate Account Sabot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I sent the letter included below to eBay in December 2012 with no acknowledgment. I have several emails from eBay and spoke with them as recently as Saturday June 1, 2013- on which date I was told if I paid an outstanding balance of $8.95 my account would be reinstated in 24 hours. I paid it immediately and my account remained suspended. I called again on June 3, 2013 and was told if I enrolled a credit card as an eBay fees backup payment method, then my account would be reinstated immediately. It was not and is not.

I called again on June 4, 2013 and was informed that because I had a number of unpaid item cases that I was banned for life on eBay. I asked to speak with someone to appeal that decision based on the fact that I was in a very abusive relationship with a man determined to do everything he could to hurt me emotionally, physically, financially and socially.

He had access to all of my passwords, my computer, iPod, phone and phone records, banking, credit cards and he set forth to discredit me and succeeded. Every single bank, credit card company, family member, health care worker has worked with me to restore my credibility and fix the damage done except eBay - the one I depend on to earn a living.

They will not allow me to appeal with documentation of the severe abuse he subjected me to and blame me for the damage he did and will not reconsider any legal, physician's statement, letters of support from domestic violence advocates, proof of me changing all my accounts, phone number. And because he could access that account on my computer, they have let him do the worst damage imaginable - I have suffered terrible economic losses and uncertainty over being banned from selling on eBay without any consideration for reasons that has ever been fully articulated.

I can no longer support myself at all and have had no luck finding work. I am on the verge of becoming homeless and have no way to pay for my room I rent, phone, medicine, bus pass and buy my cat food. My parents are deceased and my siblings cannot or will not help - I have exhausted all help my friends can offer. I can't believe that a company of this size and importance doesn't have any policies regarding victims of domestic violence.

Of course I cannot be the only person to discover selling on eBay as a way to support oneself and get out. Problem is he installed software on my computer and abused all my personal information. He even sent private pictures to my family and friends. Can anyone help me with this?

How can a company be so capricious and dishonest and outright ruin someone's life when by their own admission my compliance with their rules and policies was always high and my feedback 100% positive? Can someone PLEASE help me?

You don't know me. I am not anyone notable. I have been absent from the world at large for years only having just begun to re-emerge after escaping an abusive relationship that continues to threaten to swallow me alive leaving no trace of my existence. I have no money, no list of distinguished accomplishments. My parents are deceased and having grown up in dysfunction, I have no other family, no relatives to whom I can turn to for help.

Like most battered women, I have no friends - developing any type of friendship was prohibited by my abuser. After 2 hospitalizations and having nearly succeeded in ending my own life to escape the intolerable conditions in which I was intimidated and coerced to exist - I knew I had to escape which meant I had to have some means with which to support myself. Extricating oneself from domestic violence is near impossible without help. I am afraid to seek regular employment because my abuser Is determined to destroy me because I left.

I was able to escape by opening a clandestine eBay account and selling clothing and boxed family heirlooms on eBay... I left in March and have encountered numerous difficulties and sabotage by my former partner. By the grace of God, through eBay, I was able to break free from my abuser and manage to keep a roof over my head and get my basic needs met - and I do mean just barely!- but I am alive, I exist and I am visible again which is worth more than anyone apart from those who share my experience can ever imagine!

Today, every hope I dared to have again, my ability to support myself and my freedom - actually my survival were all shattered today when eBay suspended my account because I couldn't always pay for items- which I regret and would gladly forfeit any privilege to buy on eBay if I could just keep my seller account which to me, quite literally is life or death.

I have called repeatedly today. Been told to stop crying and calm down as calls were lost during transfers, being left on 20 to 30 minute holds only to be told someone would call me back but I had to change my number last week due to harassment from my ex and no one seems to understand when I beg them to update my number so someone CAN call me back nor will anyone explain WHY they did this without telling me that this was about to happen - HOW did this come about? WHY no mention of this.

I spoke to them earlier this week. I was led to believe everything was okay and I was not about to be suspended - and why they feel I had too many "not as described issues" when None have counted against me and there were 3 ever opened... But no one will speak to me and explain what happened or why I wasn't instructed that this was imminent.

They restricted my buying privilege for 7 days, reinstated it yesterday and then suspended my account indefinitely today and tell me if I try to open another account they'll suspend it too... I am desperate for information - for an opportunity to right where I have erred and have more guidance - some concrete rules to follow and clear proscribed consequences not things that hit you out of the blue.

I am so desperate, I am begging for your help. I know from reading your story that you are on a committee and clearly someone eBay values and is proud to be affiliated with. I have nowhere to turn and no place else to go. If I can't have my seller account restored right away - I will be homeless in 2 weeks or forced to return to my ex where I cannot even fathom the punishing hell he will subject me to for having left. Neither option is livable - that account is literally my life.

I never have to be allowed to buy anything on eBay ever again- just someone please, anyone- help me at least have a chance to talk to someone or be granted only selling privileges - or some forgiveness - and FAST! I cannot make rent come January 1 without the account restored - not asking anyone for any money, any support other than to believe in me, honor the fact that while imperfect, I am doing my best to pull myself up and out of darkness ... Please!

Replies
NO protection for the sellers!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CLARKSVILLE, TN -- After being a seller for over a year, I can completely and truthfully say eBay is more than completely unfair to sellers. I have a 100% feedback score, yet I still have all these problems. Yes I have my fair share of buyers with great communication, fast payments, and no problems at all. However, here recently I have dealt with such HORRIBLE customers. Customers that do not read the items listing or description, then open a case on me, and demand their money back. Buyers that know they are not buying a brand new item, yet when they get it expected it to be absolutely brand new.

I just recently had a case opened up on me because the buyer did not read the listing, yet continued to bid on the item over and over. The buyer had the item for over two weeks before they "all the sudden" wanted their money back. They then argue with me via emails over the eBay rules and regulations that are clearly stated, saying I was the one wrong. A case is then opened up on me and of course eBay sided with this absurd buyer. Clearly the buyer NOT reading the listing was MY fault. The buyer then waited another week to even mail the item back to me. I then never received my final cost fees back or listing fees, as I haven't in the other few cases I had to refund.

It is obnoxious that the buyers go through so much to offer items on eBay, then in the end the buyers are the ones that get screwed. One particular buyer that did not read my products description and listing thoroughly and cussed and fussed with me for what seemed like days, demanding their money back, broke my product in the process, ended up with their money back and me a useless product that I can't even resale. This is also a buyer that could not even make legible sentences, that it literally took me several times reading over their horrid emails to make sense of it.

Now this person has been suspended and kicked off eBay because I'm sure they were doing the same thing to several other people. I know not all buyers are outstanding, just as all sellers are not. With all this trouble, stress, and money I have lost over eBay not protecting their sellers I will not be selling on eBay much longer. It's about a joke of a company.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service! Buyer Beware!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NY, NEW YORK -- I needed some "no smoking" stickers to place on the front door of my rental properties. I went to a local place and they want $5-20 per sign. So I checked on eBay and found some for $3 each. I purchased 10. The seller had a good rating, over 90,000 transactions, so I figured he was sound.

A couple of weeks later I get a package from Sam's Club. Inside are 10 stickers that say "store hours". Wrong item. So I contact the seller through EBay. The seller says, according to eBay's rules, I am to pay the postage and return the items to a different address (not back to Sam's Club). I emailed them back saying, "this problem was not created by me, the seller shipped the wrong item, the seller should fix the problem and pay the shipping. It is his error." Then they email me a link to print a label to ship the 10 pieces of paper back. Great, except I do not have a printer.

I again email the seller suggesting he either send me the product I ordered and throw in a return label or just mail me a return label. I never heard from the seller again. Big effort on his part to fix his mistake. So I took it up with eBay. And I won! They emailed me a link to print out a label to send the product back for a full refund (when I escalated the case, I told them I did not have a printer).

Finally, I got someone on the phone at eBay. They said eBay does not have a printer either and that I would have to waste my time, gas and money driving the several miles into town to find a place (library was their suggestion) and drag in my tower computer to have the label printed so I can return the item for a refund.

Now maybe I am just a little old fashion, but where I come from if you screw something up, you make it right. Where I come from the customer is always right. Not at eBay. At eBay if the seller screws up, it is the buyer's responsibility to fix the problem. Nice!

You can have all the "great" reviews in the world, you can have the highest customer rating ever recorded. But you only get one chance to screw me over eBay/Paypal. Never again will I make that mistake! Now is anyone interested in some "Store Hours" signs, I have 10 for sale, cheap!

Replies
Advertisement
Why Pick on Me Not Hundreds of Others?
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

INTERNET -- I have been selling on eBay for 13 years. Lately I found that Unofficial pressings of records are listed by the hundreds if not thousands. I have sold 5 or 6 this month alone. So now a Pink Floyd Live recording I had listed, and it had a bid and multiple watchers, was pulled from eBay completely because of Copyright Violation. I respect this to a point. But there are a couple others of same thing on eBay currently, and they were there before my item was listed about 5 days ago.

Now I can't even contact the bidder that had bid on item because the Listing info is gone, into the void. I guess it's my fault I didn't print out as I listed it, but to be removed as if it never existed, this is scary. Lastly, why am I the sudden criminal, or victim in my opinion when hundreds of other Pink Floyd unofficial pressings are currently still on there. The email from eBay said: "The rights owner or an agent authorized to act on behalf of the rights owner, Pink Floyd Management, notified eBay that this listing violates intellectual property rights. When eBay receives a report of this type of violation, we remove the listing to comply with the law."

Again, I respect music ownership, but thousands of these are out thereby many different groups, and it seems being sold on eBay all the time. I'll bet Pink Floyd members no nothing about my item on eBay so who is "Pink Floyd Management? Anyway, I should end all my listings, and close my eBay account, but this month I am selling more items than I have sold in the last 5 years! Anyway, I feel I am a scapegoat and let's see if any of my other items now listed, including another Pink Floyd, get pulled or not.

Replies
Utterly Awful Experience, as a Buyer and a Seller
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- eBay and its sidekick Paypal, just too many unpleasant experience to mention this year. Really went down the pan. With the DSR rating disaster, along with eBay more or less condoning and enabling theft, eBay is a revolving door for eBay sellers. Here today, gone tomorrow, nothing you can do about it. With the tide of junk and lowball listings coming out of Asia, it's a pain to wade through so much crap.

To give you some idea how unreliable eBay is now, remember, they claim you can 'Trust' them? If your eBay DSR ratings slip into the 1-2% range of low ratings, it could be two buyers don't like standard USPS prices and slap a low DSR rating for something nothing to do with the seller.

That is, just 1 or 2 customers in a hundred... eBay first withholds your funds for 21 days (could be illegal) then caps what sales you can do, then blocks you, anyone in your family or associated with you, from selling. Permanently. Without warning. Do you and your family and anyone connected to you want to be victimized, blocked from selling, permanently? For no reason, without warning... eBay is dead from the neck down, a bad risk for buyer and seller.

Webstore, bonanza, ebid, aquabid are far more pleasant places to browse. They are better websites. Am all ears for other interesting listing, auction websites as there are sellers out there with great stuff which I'd like to find. Are they going to list their precious gems on eBay? I don't think so. Am a bit out in the sticks and browsing special interest websites within the USA improves the postage costs.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

eBay Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 56 ratings and
278 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
eBay
2145 Hamilton Avenue
San Jose, CA 95125
408-376-7400 (ph)
www.ebay.com
meg@ebay.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Online Stores/Auctions