Preview Review

Next Review

eBay Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Ebay 'el cheapo' rout
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

US, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA -- It's not so much eBay itself, 'though I've so many non-payers and eBay does not cough up the Final Value Fee (despite fact the buyers have stolen from me). CHEAP-O buyers. With various fees and PO shipping how can the sellers even profit at all? I just feel eBay and almost of the granddaddies are pimps who put the buyers at top value above sellers. I don't list much on eBay anymore. I'm really tired-hurt of not feeling appreciated. A penny for an item? Gee. Buyers, get realistic...and STOP stealing (unpaid bids) from sellers, we know who you are and also specifically block you!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible customer service and lies about refunds
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

If I could give it no stars I definitely would. They make a big fuss about eBay bucks and coupons but don't try and return the item you bought with a coupon because unless you feel like trying to find a number on their site (which is harder than it should be) and trying to explain your problem multiple times and being made out to be an idiot and then having the person get an attitude with you, it's not worth it.

I've tried returning things twice with coupons and each time the seller refunds it to my PayPal account and then eBay turns right around and takes it and gives me nothing for it. I just had a customer service representative get an attitude with me for double checking that she was going to issue a refund for not one but two items in the same order that I had to return. It's outrageous.

Replies
Scam and Thief
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FREMONT, CALIFORNIA -- I bought an item at eBay, and it never arrived. I contacted the seller and they gave me the tracking number and yes it did show it shipped to my address, but somehow the USPS never delivered to me and sent it back to the seller. I asked the seller to either give me my money back or send me my order again. I even attached the tracking number showing the item shipped back to them, and eBay decided the seller is right. Really??? How can they be so blind and can't read the tracking number the item sent back to the seller. I will not buy again from eBay.

Replies
Ebay Is Buyer Beware.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a pair of new lam boots. They were listed as new and the last pair. When I received them they were worn and you could see that they had been worn 5 or 6 times by the soles. I immediately returned them and filed with eBay. I had paid with PayPal and so I tried to file a claim there. I had to pay $10 to send them back and eBay would only allow the original amount to be refunded to me, and no original postage. PayPal wouldn't do squat because I filed with eBay. They are both screws and I will never buy from eBay again. They are a buyer beware site.

Replies
Advertisement
EBay Is Open Door for Smuggling
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I bid a cell phone on eBay from a seller "**" (no longer listing as seller. From what I heard from eBay they terminate this seller). Cell phone description is "brand new, unlocked (means you can use any sim card worldwide). I paid $481, no description where it's coming from, where it was manufactured. But instead all I know is I am making my transaction from an American resident and was affirmed by eBay that this seller is a U.S. resident.

Date of transactions are as follows: bidding ended 3-27-13, I paid it right away cause I want to get it fast to excitement. Waiting period is till 4-5-13. I was constantly checking online the status of shipment cause my waiting period is over.

My expectation from eBay at least email me. Since it's a computerized technology of selling stuff, they would monitor this seller and ask the seller why is it not yet being mailed for shipment since they already collected the fees for this transaction. I presumed they never care cause I did not received any email from them or from the seller. So at this instance I decided to ask the seller about this fully paid transaction. The seller wrote a reply telling me its "out of stock." To cut short I have a bitter communication with this seller.

I send a communication that I am going to sue him/her in the court of Washington state for "breach of contract on a fully paid item" and he/she will be coming to my state to attend the hearing and will pay all the legal fees. But I stated a demand that I should receive the item on or before 4-10-13, otherwise he or she have to face the legal consequence.

Comes 4-10-13 I got the package shipment. To my excitement I opened the package and install my existing sim card from my iPhone and boom it works seamlessly. But comes 1st week of July 2013 this Nokia Lumia acting up differently showing sluggish, slow, goes to different windows, goes on a blank dark screen. I search on internet how to reset this cell phone at Nokia.com/support page. So it did work for a little bit amount of time then it started acting up again differently.

This time I called USA Nokia and tried to get a warranty support from them. First Nokia asked me to give them the "IMEI no." Come to find out Nokia USA said they will not cover this for warranty cause it was made in "Vietnam". I tried calling back Nokia on different occasions expecting some changes about giving warranty but unfortunately "negative". Now I started investigating on the packaging of shipment. I came to find out it came from Hong Kong and manufactured in Vietnam. Those are two different countries. I explained this to eBay but help still to no avail. eBay only wants their monies of listing fees.

So consumers out there beware of Nokia product. They don't give international warranty though it was affirmed that it is their product. On this 3rd week of July I called eBay trying how to resolve the issue. EBay representative can't help me, so I went to a different venue and it's the credit card company Citibank. This credit card company is really very helpful when it comes to product dissatisfaction. What my credit card did is they called PayPal and we are on a group conversation over the phone and PayPal said they will try to resolved this issue within 30 days and send me by email reference case number.

Presently, I'm waiting what's going to come up. Recap is eBay is not worth keeping in buying stuff and its a wide door open for smuggling since seller was able to shipped this item in USA avoiding to pay import tax.

Replies
EBay Will Not Accept Legal Documentation of Domestic Violence, Restraining Orders and Protective Orders to Reinstate Account Sabot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I sent the letter included below to eBay in December 2012 with no acknowledgment. I have several emails from eBay and spoke with them as recently as Saturday June 1, 2013- on which date I was told if I paid an outstanding balance of $8.95 my account would be reinstated in 24 hours. I paid it immediately and my account remained suspended. I called again on June 3, 2013 and was told if I enrolled a credit card as an eBay fees backup payment method, then my account would be reinstated immediately. It was not and is not.

I called again on June 4, 2013 and was informed that because I had a number of unpaid item cases that I was banned for life on eBay. I asked to speak with someone to appeal that decision based on the fact that I was in a very abusive relationship with a man determined to do everything he could to hurt me emotionally, physically, financially and socially.

He had access to all of my passwords, my computer, iPod, phone and phone records, banking, credit cards and he set forth to discredit me and succeeded. Every single bank, credit card company, family member, health care worker has worked with me to restore my credibility and fix the damage done except eBay - the one I depend on to earn a living.

They will not allow me to appeal with documentation of the severe abuse he subjected me to and blame me for the damage he did and will not reconsider any legal, physician's statement, letters of support from domestic violence advocates, proof of me changing all my accounts, phone number. And because he could access that account on my computer, they have let him do the worst damage imaginable - I have suffered terrible economic losses and uncertainty over being banned from selling on eBay without any consideration for reasons that has ever been fully articulated.

I can no longer support myself at all and have had no luck finding work. I am on the verge of becoming homeless and have no way to pay for my room I rent, phone, medicine, bus pass and buy my cat food. My parents are deceased and my siblings cannot or will not help - I have exhausted all help my friends can offer. I can't believe that a company of this size and importance doesn't have any policies regarding victims of domestic violence.

Of course I cannot be the only person to discover selling on eBay as a way to support oneself and get out. Problem is he installed software on my computer and abused all my personal information. He even sent private pictures to my family and friends. Can anyone help me with this?

How can a company be so capricious and dishonest and outright ruin someone's life when by their own admission my compliance with their rules and policies was always high and my feedback 100% positive? Can someone PLEASE help me?

You don't know me. I am not anyone notable. I have been absent from the world at large for years only having just begun to re-emerge after escaping an abusive relationship that continues to threaten to swallow me alive leaving no trace of my existence. I have no money, no list of distinguished accomplishments. My parents are deceased and having grown up in dysfunction, I have no other family, no relatives to whom I can turn to for help.

Like most battered women, I have no friends - developing any type of friendship was prohibited by my abuser. After 2 hospitalizations and having nearly succeeded in ending my own life to escape the intolerable conditions in which I was intimidated and coerced to exist - I knew I had to escape which meant I had to have some means with which to support myself. Extricating oneself from domestic violence is near impossible without help. I am afraid to seek regular employment because my abuser Is determined to destroy me because I left.

I was able to escape by opening a clandestine eBay account and selling clothing and boxed family heirlooms on eBay... I left in March and have encountered numerous difficulties and sabotage by my former partner. By the grace of God, through eBay, I was able to break free from my abuser and manage to keep a roof over my head and get my basic needs met - and I do mean just barely!- but I am alive, I exist and I am visible again which is worth more than anyone apart from those who share my experience can ever imagine!

Today, every hope I dared to have again, my ability to support myself and my freedom - actually my survival were all shattered today when eBay suspended my account because I couldn't always pay for items- which I regret and would gladly forfeit any privilege to buy on eBay if I could just keep my seller account which to me, quite literally is life or death.

I have called repeatedly today. Been told to stop crying and calm down as calls were lost during transfers, being left on 20 to 30 minute holds only to be told someone would call me back but I had to change my number last week due to harassment from my ex and no one seems to understand when I beg them to update my number so someone CAN call me back nor will anyone explain WHY they did this without telling me that this was about to happen - HOW did this come about? WHY no mention of this.

I spoke to them earlier this week. I was led to believe everything was okay and I was not about to be suspended - and why they feel I had too many "not as described issues" when None have counted against me and there were 3 ever opened... But no one will speak to me and explain what happened or why I wasn't instructed that this was imminent.

They restricted my buying privilege for 7 days, reinstated it yesterday and then suspended my account indefinitely today and tell me if I try to open another account they'll suspend it too... I am desperate for information - for an opportunity to right where I have erred and have more guidance - some concrete rules to follow and clear proscribed consequences not things that hit you out of the blue.

I am so desperate, I am begging for your help. I know from reading your story that you are on a committee and clearly someone eBay values and is proud to be affiliated with. I have nowhere to turn and no place else to go. If I can't have my seller account restored right away - I will be homeless in 2 weeks or forced to return to my ex where I cannot even fathom the punishing hell he will subject me to for having left. Neither option is livable - that account is literally my life.

I never have to be allowed to buy anything on eBay ever again- just someone please, anyone- help me at least have a chance to talk to someone or be granted only selling privileges - or some forgiveness - and FAST! I cannot make rent come January 1 without the account restored - not asking anyone for any money, any support other than to believe in me, honor the fact that while imperfect, I am doing my best to pull myself up and out of darkness ... Please!

Replies
Ebay's Customer Support Is Beyond Terrible
By -

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- I am a seller on eBay and have been for years now and I am really fed up with the customer support that eBay has to offer. It is completely terrible. The worst I've experienced in my life and that's saying a lot since I really have had some terrible service.

Since I have been a member for so long, you'd think they would treat me better since I am more prone to giving them negative feedback if treated wrongly. What makes matters even worse is that I am also an extreme buyer, so I know both sides of the story and buyers are treated slightly better but not by much. The overall support is just terrible.

Firstly as a seller, eBay provides absolutely no security and buyers usually abuse their feedback. But personally I had my account put on restriction because I was "selling too many items." They proceeded to ask for proof of merchandise. If you have a regular account, not a company account, how can you provide proof of merchandise?

They are basically slandering their own motto where it states that they are the place where you can sell old items and earn a little extra money. Who keeps receipts for items you bought for family members or your children years ago? What if it were a gift? It's simply impossible for home sellers to provide "proof of merchandise", period.

Not only were they harassing me by putting my account on restriction. But for over two months I called in every day to resolve whatever issue they had with me. Countless times would they tell me they would call me back or send me an email to address my concerns and I NEVER received a response. They always told me that the department I was trying to get a hold of had no phone support and they didn't know their email address for me to contact them. Sounds hard to believe that they don't know how to get a hold of one of their own departments, don't you think?

Two and a half months later I called back in and spoke with a phone representative and they FINALLY slightly lifted the restriction. Instead of the previous items I was allowed to list (as many as I want), I was allowed to list 5 items. 5 items couldn't even pay for gas money. As a seller since 2007, you'd think they would treat me with a little more respect then only giving me 5 items.

When I threatened them that I would cancel my account completely, only then did I receive a response and after leaving a long detailed message the only part they responded with was, "We do this to all our sellers." Does that make sense to you? We are bringing in all this money for them and they are treating us like **. If it weren't for us then they wouldn't be as successful as they are now.

I felt I needed to voice my opinion because I understand that there are people who cheat eBay and do them wrong, but for me to be a member for that long and to have excellent feedback, there's got to be something wrong with the eBay company.

Replies
Ebay Destroyed My Store and Selling!!
By -

I sold items on eBay for over a year. I had 100% positive feedback until the end of March. Where do I begin with this? EBay will black mark any seller if you receive neutral or negative feedback or if a buyer opens a case. Buyers know if they open a case it 100% guarantees they get their money back for any reason. This includes them destroying items or sending back empty boxes - eBay kisses their ass. The first bad review was a woman who bought a epad tablet from me.

Two days after purchase I am sending out her order. After I just dropped it at the Post office she gives me a negative feedback saying "worst experience ever". I never got one email from her. Ebay regardless counts it against me! I sold about 50 tablets in 2 weeks. Ebay never put any restrictions or selling limits on me due to being a long time member before they started that. I go on and my account was suspended! They said because my sell gross was 10,000! WTF! I had to submit paperwork about all my electronics. I had no sales due to this. No money for 2 weeks till they approved me to sell.

They gave me 5,000 a month gross. This is not profit! I had 2 buyers open. Not described cases (very common lie with buyers). I got black marked for that. They lie saying items not working bs. Items came back fine. They just wanted their money back. They should just send it back asking for a refund. I then start selling again. I had a buyer receive a tablet and send me an email cursing at me. I told him to return it if he did not like it. He opened a case after I told him to return it. It came back DESTROYED. The buyer took the tablet apart.

I called eBay and had video and picture proof. They still gave him his money back! I then have another guy mad because he destroyed his tablet trying to program it. I told him I don't refund customer damage. He thinks it's because they're fake! He really knew nothing about android programs. He writes a review saying Fake tablet! He calls eBay saying his Microsoft 98 certification makes him an Android expert. Yeah whatever **!

He wrote all my buyers who left reviews! I then get 3 more cases buyer admitting his harassment and lies. Ebay sides with him regardless of all my proof vs HIS MOUTH!! I have facts and documents from manufacturers. They send eBay messages encouraging buyers to file claims due to what he said as well! I talked to eBay appeals and other departments. They tell me buyers are allowed to do what they want! This buyer destroyed my company and so did eBay! No proof just mouth!! My Paypal that Ebay owns is negative and I can't pay it! I am sick of this. I need a lawyer!!

Replies
Advertisement
Open Letter to eBay (A Cautionary Tale)
By -

I have been a long time eBay user, a loyal customer and seller, advocate, cheerleader, and even a shareholder of the company stock - but my most recent experience has forever changed my opinion of this company.

My journey to resolve a 2-minute simple situation took me deep into the bowels of eBay'€™s indifferent and arrogant customer service department, tumbling down a black hole I found myself in the pit of customer service hell, snarled for weeks in their labyrinth I was flushed out the other end of this mind-numbing experience having wasted countless of hours of my time, only to find myself no closer to a resolution. Convinced this company couldn'€™t give a damn about customers.

Short story: I sold an item to a buyer that ended up in dispute. eBay settled the dispute in my favor, yet the buyer was still able to leave negative retaliatory feedback, even though their stated claim was fraudulent. My question (and request), is it possible to have this erroneous feedback removed? Much abbreviated "G" rated history of events:

Over the course of three (3) weeks I have spent no less than 30+ hrs on hold.
I have spoken to 22 different customer service representatives and had 6 separate chat sessions.
Each representative required that rehash and re-explain in exhaustive detail, ad nauseam, the same points over and over again (22 + 6 = 28 times) because they keep NO record of your previous call/transcript.

After each lengthy explanation, every representative told me they did not have the authority to help me with this matter, but assured me this would be taken care of, and transferred me to the Trust and Safety dept (who do have the authority) where
Each time I was promptly disconnected or rang busy (19 times).

Each time I was told that if I get disconnected they would call me back. I'€™m still waiting for those 19 callbacks.
Start over again.
On 3 occasions the transferred call actually made it through (yay!) to Trust and Safety where I was able to explain the circumstances to a live human, only to be put on hold so they could "€œlook into it"€, and then I got disconnected again.
The End!

My initial thought was that my experience was the result of complete unmitigated incompetence, which is almost tolerable. But after three weeks of exhaustive effort and numerous conversations with these staffers, I am convinced I was on the receiving end of a malicious and insidious strategy at eBay to throw up so many unbearable, herculean, and painful obstacles that you get worn out, ground down, and just go away bewildered.

There is no way anyone can justify and explain away the experience described above with a lack of training of staff or simple ignorance in customer service department. This was mean-spirited, arrogant, and disrespectful. The fact that everyone in this department at eBay was "€œon the same page"€ exposes eBay's leadership, the intent of their customer service scheme, and their total lack of regard for those who, in the end, pay their salaries. This has been, without equivocation, the absolute worst customer experience I have ever encountered. eBay makes the airlines industry look like five-star JD Power customer service rockstars!

As a consumer: It is unacceptable for any company to treat their paying customers with this level of disdain, disrespect, and lack of regard. I have never encountered this level of unaccountability, ignorance, and indifference at any company I have ever done business with. Thankfully there are other auction-retail options, do I will vote with my two feet, and take my business elsewhere.

As a shareholder: A strategy that centers on giving your customers the proverbial stiff-arm and middle finger is not a long-term sustainable business strategy (This also in part explains why my investment has been in the tank for years). A multi-billion dollar company can fly blind for a long time (maybe years) with incompetent pilots, a dysfunctional flight plan, and a broken autopilot, but eventually this vessel will meet the side of a mountain and crash. It is inevitable.

And as a shareholder I have seen enough to know my investment is not in capable nor ethical hands, so I have sold my entire long term equity position in this company, and will take my money elsewhere. I tried in vain to reach someone at eBay to tell this tale of whoa, but of course I was put on hold, disconnected, hung up on, etc.

This was not meant to be a rant that falls on the trash-heap along with millions of other unanswered complaints. Rather, my hope this ends up in the hands of someone at eBay that actually gives a damn about the company and their customers, and becomes a wake up call for this once great company.

Replies
The "eBafia"
By -

EBay (aka “the eBafia”) is demonstrably a totally unscrupulous, dysfunctional, criminal organization! How could that be, you ask? Well, with much effort and some multi-auction analysis, it can be very clearly demonstrated (see the following link) that shill bidding fraud by unscrupulous professional sellers on nominal-start auctions is rampant on eBay auctions, and the executives “in the know” at eBay, unless they are actually even more naive than they apparently think all we simple consumers are, cannot but be aware of that criminal activity.

And, of course they will say they are not aware, because they do not want to be aware, because if they admit that they are aware of such criminal activity (which they cannot but be, and from which they are profiting), and they do nothing effective about it (which they don't), then they are guilty of the crime of “criminal facilitation”. It's as simple as that!

And, it can also be demonstrated that, contrary to their claims, they do not do anything proactive nor truly effective to prevent such criminal activity. Indeed, they have done the very opposite. During the second half of 2008 eBay introduced anonymous non-unique masking of bidding IDs, which serves no logical purpose other than to deliberately further obscure such criminal activity and aid and abet said criminal shill-bidding sellers to maximize their sale prices, thus maximizing eBay's final valuation fee (FVF).

It's even worse in the UK, where the form of bidder masking makes it simply impossible for buyers to detect the unscrupulous, sophisticated shill-bidding professional sellers that undoubtedly now infest eBay UK auctions. Needless to say sales by auction on the UK site have collapsed to a small fraction of what they used to be. Is it any wonder then that, relatively speaking, buyers are staying away, and eBay's marketplace business, the world over, is still going down the toilet?From an eBay buyer's point of view, the full ugly story of eBay, and the proof of eBay's criminality, at http://www.auctionbytes.com/forum/phpBB/viewtopic.php?p=6502877

It is about time that some competent authority in the US shone a bright light under this slimy rock. eBay: Dead Man Walking! Then there is PayPal— about the only part of the eBay business that is not, relatively speaking, going backwards. PayPal is an unregulated, unprincipled, systemically dysfunctional, amateur organization (just like its ugly mother, eBay).

PayPal and Bill Me Later are not a bank, are not regulated as banks are, do not subscribe the banks' credit card code of ethical behaviour, and yet offer banking-type services, services that would be more appropriately and more competently carried out under the auspices of the real banking community (via their credit card organization partners).

The simple fact is that without the bankers' knowledge of the entities involved in the transactions, PayPal, or any other non-bank provider, will always be handicapped. Non-bank providers will never guarantee anything for the buyer or seller because they simply cannot have the bankers' level of knowledge of the entities involved.

The head turkey at eBay, ‘Noise' Donahoe, has occasionally talked of the possibility of offloading PayPal, because he is just barely smart enough to know that when the major credit card companies do get off their butts and introduce a like card/terminal-less payments system to complement their credit card system, they will do it properly, and the dysfunctional PayPal will then sink like a stone — other than, possibly, on what is by then left of the Donahoe-shrinking eBay marketplace.

Possibly, the banks may even let PayPal keep those problematic customers that the banks, who will always better ‘know' the entities involved, might not likely allow a merchant-type facility. If Donahoe has any brain at all he will be actively trying to sell PayPal to the banks to complement their credit card system; but I doubt the banks would want to lower their image any further by associating themselves with the likes of PayPal; not even for a peppercorn consideration would the banks touch such a dysfunctional amateur operation as PayPal, I suspect.

Does anyone then think that ‘all the banks' are not watching this market segment with interest, and is it possible that PayPal could be having some negative effect on their credit card business? Why then would ‘the banks' not be considering a like system to complement their existing card systems? The simple fact is that anything that PayPal can do ‘the banks' can do better (read ‘properly') and, after all, every internet banking user is already set up to receive such a service directly, efficiently and securely, from their bank.

Do we then need to offer the banks and the major credit card companies another such monopoly-type situation? Ideally not. But, having said that, within the credit card system the individual banks do (marginally) compete with each other on terms, interest rates, etc. Regardless, it would be nice to have a card/terminal-less system that worked efficiently and effectively—as does the banks' credit card system. Regrettably (or thankfully, some say), PayPal does not have such a partnership with ‘all the banks' and so PayPal can never offer that same effectiveness.

My only surprise is that ‘all the banks', via their credit card partners, have not yet offered their own system. When they do, I suspect that it will be bye, bye, PayPal—you most ugly of daughters. And, more importantly, we will then have a system that works properly, just like our credit cards do! In support of the above comment I offer an introduction to the full sad/ugly story of eBay/PayPal at http://www.auctionbytes.com/forum/phpBB/viewtopic.php?p=6502877

How did this clown, this clown Donahoe, ever get to be CEO of a listed public company? Oh, that's right, she who would be governor of California selected him. Donahoe is undoubtedly going to go down in US corporate history as the man who literally did ‘kill the golden goose'. And, if you want a laugh or a cry (whatever moves you), take a look at this recent video interview of this clumsy, inarticulate, chimpanzee (the hand language tells it all) at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kgmBYHOvb8Q&feature=player_embedded

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

eBay Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 59 ratings and
269 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
eBay
2145 Hamilton Avenue
San Jose, CA 95125
408-376-7400 (ph)
www.ebay.com
meg@ebay.com
Product/Services
Compare Online Stores/Auctions