Preview Review

Next Review

eBay Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Ebay does whatever Ebay wants to do when you leave customer support in the hands some some ignorant non-English speaking, rude females! I have had a complaint twice, yet I cannot explain a thing when I am speaking to these idiot women Ebay hires who barely understand English PLUS have little knowledge to understand much of anything going on at Ebay! They can only understand ONE concept at a time and hardly that little bit of information! I felt like I was talking to a foreigner who was 3-years old! I won't do business with Ebay again, either with buying OR selling!

Replies
Advertisement
Utterly Awful Experience, as a Buyer and a Seller
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- eBay and its sidekick Paypal, just too many unpleasant experience to mention this year. Really went down the pan. With the DSR rating disaster, along with eBay more or less condoning and enabling theft, eBay is a revolving door for eBay sellers. Here today, gone tomorrow, nothing you can do about it. With the tide of junk and lowball listings coming out of Asia, it's a pain to wade through so much crap.

To give you some idea how unreliable eBay is now, remember, they claim you can 'Trust' them? If your eBay DSR ratings slip into the 1-2% range of low ratings, it could be two buyers don't like standard USPS prices and slap a low DSR rating for something nothing to do with the seller.

That is, just 1 or 2 customers in a hundred... eBay first withholds your funds for 21 days (could be illegal) then caps what sales you can do, then blocks you, anyone in your family or associated with you, from selling. Permanently. Without warning. Do you and your family and anyone connected to you want to be victimized, blocked from selling, permanently? For no reason, without warning... eBay is dead from the neck down, a bad risk for buyer and seller.

Webstore, bonanza, ebid, aquabid are far more pleasant places to browse. They are better websites. Am all ears for other interesting listing, auction websites as there are sellers out there with great stuff which I'd like to find. Are they going to list their precious gems on eBay? I don't think so. Am a bit out in the sticks and browsing special interest websites within the USA improves the postage costs.

Replies
Ebay 'el cheapo' rout
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

US, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA -- It's not so much eBay itself, 'though I've so many non-payers and eBay does not cough up the Final Value Fee (despite fact the buyers have stolen from me). CHEAP-O buyers. With various fees and PO shipping how can the sellers even profit at all? I just feel eBay and almost of the granddaddies are pimps who put the buyers at top value above sellers. I don't list much on eBay anymore. I'm really tired-hurt of not feeling appreciated. A penny for an item? Gee. Buyers, get realistic...and STOP stealing (unpaid bids) from sellers, we know who you are and also specifically block you!

Replies
Horrible customer service and lies about refunds
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

If I could give it no stars I definitely would. They make a big fuss about eBay bucks and coupons but don't try and return the item you bought with a coupon because unless you feel like trying to find a number on their site (which is harder than it should be) and trying to explain your problem multiple times and being made out to be an idiot and then having the person get an attitude with you, it's not worth it.

I've tried returning things twice with coupons and each time the seller refunds it to my PayPal account and then eBay turns right around and takes it and gives me nothing for it. I just had a customer service representative get an attitude with me for double checking that she was going to issue a refund for not one but two items in the same order that I had to return. It's outrageous.

Replies
Advertisement
Scam and Thief
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FREMONT, CALIFORNIA -- I bought an item at eBay, and it never arrived. I contacted the seller and they gave me the tracking number and yes it did show it shipped to my address, but somehow the USPS never delivered to me and sent it back to the seller. I asked the seller to either give me my money back or send me my order again. I even attached the tracking number showing the item shipped back to them, and eBay decided the seller is right. Really??? How can they be so blind and can't read the tracking number the item sent back to the seller. I will not buy again from eBay.

Replies
Ebay Is Buyer Beware.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a pair of new lam boots. They were listed as new and the last pair. When I received them they were worn and you could see that they had been worn 5 or 6 times by the soles. I immediately returned them and filed with eBay. I had paid with PayPal and so I tried to file a claim there. I had to pay $10 to send them back and eBay would only allow the original amount to be refunded to me, and no original postage. PayPal wouldn't do squat because I filed with eBay. They are both screws and I will never buy from eBay again. They are a buyer beware site.

Replies
Ebay Charged Me for Unreceived Item!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BELARUS -- I purchased a small item from Belarus, cost $14.00. The item never arrived. I contacted seller and was provided a Belarus tracking number, but no link. I contacted Ebay and related problem. Their so-called Problem Resolution Center decided against me. I appealed that decision and was again decided against. I left negative feedback for the seller and Ebay deleted my feedback! Nobody at Ebay will talk with me, and I'm out $14.00. I guess Ebay just hoped to get the monkey (me) off their back. I'm now done with Ebay, having been a faithful buyer for a decade. So buyer beware, or better yet, don't trust them or Paypal!

Replies
Bad eBay Seller - Abso-Computers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- Basically he is selling T-Mobile sim cards on eBay that he advertises as 4G capable. Well I take them to the store and they tell me they are the older non-4G capable cards. I contact the seller and ask if there is anything he can do since the cards are not as advertised. He tells me I can send the cards back and I would be given a full refund.

I send the cards back in the mail as he requested. Two weeks or more go by and I have not heard anything from the seller. I contact him and ask him to check if he misplaced the cards somewhere when he gets a chance. Another 2 weeks go by. I tell him if he does not refund the money by Saturday I will have to leave bad feedback. So that's what I'm doing now. Hopefully this will help at least one person avoid problems like I experienced with this seller.

Replies
Advertisement
EBay Is Open Door for Smuggling
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I bid a cell phone on eBay from a seller "**" (no longer listing as seller. From what I heard from eBay they terminate this seller). Cell phone description is "brand new, unlocked (means you can use any sim card worldwide). I paid $481, no description where it's coming from, where it was manufactured. But instead all I know is I am making my transaction from an American resident and was affirmed by eBay that this seller is a U.S. resident.

Date of transactions are as follows: bidding ended 3-27-13, I paid it right away cause I want to get it fast to excitement. Waiting period is till 4-5-13. I was constantly checking online the status of shipment cause my waiting period is over.

My expectation from eBay at least email me. Since it's a computerized technology of selling stuff, they would monitor this seller and ask the seller why is it not yet being mailed for shipment since they already collected the fees for this transaction. I presumed they never care cause I did not received any email from them or from the seller. So at this instance I decided to ask the seller about this fully paid transaction. The seller wrote a reply telling me its "out of stock." To cut short I have a bitter communication with this seller.

I send a communication that I am going to sue him/her in the court of Washington state for "breach of contract on a fully paid item" and he/she will be coming to my state to attend the hearing and will pay all the legal fees. But I stated a demand that I should receive the item on or before 4-10-13, otherwise he or she have to face the legal consequence.

Comes 4-10-13 I got the package shipment. To my excitement I opened the package and install my existing sim card from my iPhone and boom it works seamlessly. But comes 1st week of July 2013 this Nokia Lumia acting up differently showing sluggish, slow, goes to different windows, goes on a blank dark screen. I search on internet how to reset this cell phone at Nokia.com/support page. So it did work for a little bit amount of time then it started acting up again differently.

This time I called USA Nokia and tried to get a warranty support from them. First Nokia asked me to give them the "IMEI no." Come to find out Nokia USA said they will not cover this for warranty cause it was made in "Vietnam". I tried calling back Nokia on different occasions expecting some changes about giving warranty but unfortunately "negative". Now I started investigating on the packaging of shipment. I came to find out it came from Hong Kong and manufactured in Vietnam. Those are two different countries. I explained this to eBay but help still to no avail. eBay only wants their monies of listing fees.

So consumers out there beware of Nokia product. They don't give international warranty though it was affirmed that it is their product. On this 3rd week of July I called eBay trying how to resolve the issue. EBay representative can't help me, so I went to a different venue and it's the credit card company Citibank. This credit card company is really very helpful when it comes to product dissatisfaction. What my credit card did is they called PayPal and we are on a group conversation over the phone and PayPal said they will try to resolved this issue within 30 days and send me by email reference case number.

Presently, I'm waiting what's going to come up. Recap is eBay is not worth keeping in buying stuff and its a wide door open for smuggling since seller was able to shipped this item in USA avoiding to pay import tax.

Replies
EBay Will Not Accept Legal Documentation of Domestic Violence, Restraining Orders and Protective Orders to Reinstate Account Sabot
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I sent the letter included below to eBay in December 2012 with no acknowledgment. I have several emails from eBay and spoke with them as recently as Saturday June 1, 2013- on which date I was told if I paid an outstanding balance of $8.95 my account would be reinstated in 24 hours. I paid it immediately and my account remained suspended. I called again on June 3, 2013 and was told if I enrolled a credit card as an eBay fees backup payment method, then my account would be reinstated immediately. It was not and is not.

I called again on June 4, 2013 and was informed that because I had a number of unpaid item cases that I was banned for life on eBay. I asked to speak with someone to appeal that decision based on the fact that I was in a very abusive relationship with a man determined to do everything he could to hurt me emotionally, physically, financially and socially.

He had access to all of my passwords, my computer, iPod, phone and phone records, banking, credit cards and he set forth to discredit me and succeeded. Every single bank, credit card company, family member, health care worker has worked with me to restore my credibility and fix the damage done except eBay - the one I depend on to earn a living.

They will not allow me to appeal with documentation of the severe abuse he subjected me to and blame me for the damage he did and will not reconsider any legal, physician's statement, letters of support from domestic violence advocates, proof of me changing all my accounts, phone number. And because he could access that account on my computer, they have let him do the worst damage imaginable - I have suffered terrible economic losses and uncertainty over being banned from selling on eBay without any consideration for reasons that has ever been fully articulated.

I can no longer support myself at all and have had no luck finding work. I am on the verge of becoming homeless and have no way to pay for my room I rent, phone, medicine, bus pass and buy my cat food. My parents are deceased and my siblings cannot or will not help - I have exhausted all help my friends can offer. I can't believe that a company of this size and importance doesn't have any policies regarding victims of domestic violence.

Of course I cannot be the only person to discover selling on eBay as a way to support oneself and get out. Problem is he installed software on my computer and abused all my personal information. He even sent private pictures to my family and friends. Can anyone help me with this?

How can a company be so capricious and dishonest and outright ruin someone's life when by their own admission my compliance with their rules and policies was always high and my feedback 100% positive? Can someone PLEASE help me?

You don't know me. I am not anyone notable. I have been absent from the world at large for years only having just begun to re-emerge after escaping an abusive relationship that continues to threaten to swallow me alive leaving no trace of my existence. I have no money, no list of distinguished accomplishments. My parents are deceased and having grown up in dysfunction, I have no other family, no relatives to whom I can turn to for help.

Like most battered women, I have no friends - developing any type of friendship was prohibited by my abuser. After 2 hospitalizations and having nearly succeeded in ending my own life to escape the intolerable conditions in which I was intimidated and coerced to exist - I knew I had to escape which meant I had to have some means with which to support myself. Extricating oneself from domestic violence is near impossible without help. I am afraid to seek regular employment because my abuser Is determined to destroy me because I left.

I was able to escape by opening a clandestine eBay account and selling clothing and boxed family heirlooms on eBay... I left in March and have encountered numerous difficulties and sabotage by my former partner. By the grace of God, through eBay, I was able to break free from my abuser and manage to keep a roof over my head and get my basic needs met - and I do mean just barely!- but I am alive, I exist and I am visible again which is worth more than anyone apart from those who share my experience can ever imagine!

Today, every hope I dared to have again, my ability to support myself and my freedom - actually my survival were all shattered today when eBay suspended my account because I couldn't always pay for items- which I regret and would gladly forfeit any privilege to buy on eBay if I could just keep my seller account which to me, quite literally is life or death.

I have called repeatedly today. Been told to stop crying and calm down as calls were lost during transfers, being left on 20 to 30 minute holds only to be told someone would call me back but I had to change my number last week due to harassment from my ex and no one seems to understand when I beg them to update my number so someone CAN call me back nor will anyone explain WHY they did this without telling me that this was about to happen - HOW did this come about? WHY no mention of this.

I spoke to them earlier this week. I was led to believe everything was okay and I was not about to be suspended - and why they feel I had too many "not as described issues" when None have counted against me and there were 3 ever opened... But no one will speak to me and explain what happened or why I wasn't instructed that this was imminent.

They restricted my buying privilege for 7 days, reinstated it yesterday and then suspended my account indefinitely today and tell me if I try to open another account they'll suspend it too... I am desperate for information - for an opportunity to right where I have erred and have more guidance - some concrete rules to follow and clear proscribed consequences not things that hit you out of the blue.

I am so desperate, I am begging for your help. I know from reading your story that you are on a committee and clearly someone eBay values and is proud to be affiliated with. I have nowhere to turn and no place else to go. If I can't have my seller account restored right away - I will be homeless in 2 weeks or forced to return to my ex where I cannot even fathom the punishing hell he will subject me to for having left. Neither option is livable - that account is literally my life.

I never have to be allowed to buy anything on eBay ever again- just someone please, anyone- help me at least have a chance to talk to someone or be granted only selling privileges - or some forgiveness - and FAST! I cannot make rent come January 1 without the account restored - not asking anyone for any money, any support other than to believe in me, honor the fact that while imperfect, I am doing my best to pull myself up and out of darkness ... Please!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

eBay Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 58 ratings and
268 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
eBay
2145 Hamilton Avenue
San Jose, CA 95125
408-376-7400 (ph)
www.ebay.com
meg@ebay.com
Product/Services
Compare Online Stores/Auctions