Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Carpet Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Carpet Less Than 6 Months Showing Traffic Pattern, Inferior Quality, Not Name Brand, Do Not Stand Behind Product.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT WORTH, TEXAS -- We replaced 12 year old carpet in only 3 rooms on the lower level of our home, the rest of the downstairs is hardwood or tile. Our home was designed by us and our Custom home builder... every aspect of our home contains great workmanship and quality, including the original carpet. One of our older dogs had a few accidents and got sick in our master bedroom, although we had the carpet cleaned numerous times the stain reappeared. We decided to replace the 12 year old carpet in all three carpeted areas downstairs and chose Empire.

We had shopped around some and chose Empire, although it was a 50% off sale, the price was very similar to other quotes. The representative was personable, so we chose Empire. MISTAKE. 6 months later wear patterns are appearing in the master bedroom and master closet, the office shows some wear patterns but not as distinctive, the seldom used guest room is ok. The carpet we chose has a pattern which is no longer as distinctive.... at the time of this writing the carpet is only 9 months old! Our 13 year old carpet upstairs that withstood 5 children and now our grandchildren shows no traffic patterns or depressions.

Empire sends someone out who looks at the fibers and says, "It is still good, it is not wearing. It is just a traffic pattern that will come back with a cleaning!" I am not a Rocket Scientist, however, it is very obvious the carpet I was sold is an inferior product and incapable of handling the daily traffic of two slim people walking in and out of their bedroom or master closet. It seems walking on this carpet puts too much stress on its resiliency and forces the pattern to disappear under the daily pressure of a 120 lb women and 180 lb man.

Empire's Solution: Get the carpet cleaned with only hot water OR PAY MORE FOR AN UPGRADE! What the heck did I pay for??? I was very specific with the salesperson about the quality of the carpet desired. The sales person did not have many samples to show me. She did go back to her car and bring in the second book of samples from which I selected my carpet. I am very dissatisfied with this carpet.

Empire does not stand behind their product and has little regard for customer satisfaction. We paid over $3,000 for carpet that we are very dissatisfied with, our only recourse is to spend more money with them.... Not on your life. I will never use them again and will dissuade anyone else contemplating their services. We are going to have several reputable carpet companies look at this carpet, get their professional opinion and probably replace this carpet, based upon the current deep traffic patterns it will be worn to the pad within 6 months.
BUYER BEWARE.

Company Response 04/16/2015:

Hi Donna, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. It's disappointing that your product has not been meeting your expectations, and we can assure you that we are taking this situation seriously. We are committed to working with our customers until they are completely satisfied, and we regret that this situation has not yet been resolved. We understand that we've been in contact with you about this matter, and we will be following up with you again shortly. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Experience with Empire Direct
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE -- Excellent all the way through. Salesman showed up on time, very professional and extremely knowledgeable of the product. Gave us many option on style and color. Installers were a little late due to finishing up a job from day before, but made sure to contact me and inform me so I was not just waiting. But arrived ready to work. The team was very professional. Moved all the furniture and put it back when done. I was able to watch the whole process, they never minded me asking questions. Explained the whole process. Can't wait to have the new vinyl flooring installed next.

Company Response 05/01/2015:

Thanks for sharing, Neil! We're thrilled to know you enjoyed your experience with us, and we're glad that everyone you worked with was helpful and accommodating. We hope you're enjoying the new look and feel of your home, and we look forward to working with you on future home improvement projects! Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Flooring for Kitchen Was a Different Quality What the Salesman Showed Me.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORAM, NEW YORK -- Empire flooring installers came with a different quality flooring than what the sales person sold me. The installers were very unprofessional, no tools of the trade and requested full payment up front. I canceled the order. Was very disappointed. I waited three weeks for this installation from the time of order.

Company Response 04/08/2015:

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We regret that the product and installation experience did not meet your expectations, and we can assure you this not the level of service we expect for our customers. We would like to follow up with you to learn more about your concerns and discuss the situation in more detail, but we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Install
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TENNESSEE -- Victor and his crew were on time very considerate and very professional! Great job Victor!!! If I had another install Victor would have to do it!!

Company Response 04/02/2015:

Thank you for sharing your experience! We love hearing from our satisfied customers, and it's wonderful that your installation went so smoothly. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to assist you with future home improvement projects. Enjoy the new look and feel of your home! Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Carpet Sales Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LYNDHURST, OHIO -- Empire today carpets. I scheduled an appointment for a sales associate to come give an estimate to install carpet in my house. He measured and quoted a price, and said the installation would be the following day. I was excited because the sales guy talked up the carpet to be amazing. When the installers came to install the carpet, I asked the installers, "Is this good carpet?" They replied "ehhh I mean it's ok." Instantly I got a pit in my stomach because I was told it was one of the top carpets. The installers came into my house and I showed him the areas that the carpet would be installed.

About 20 minutes later the installers told me that they have an issue and that there wasn't enough carpet in the van to install the areas. That the sales guy must have measured wrong. Aggravated but polite I said "ok, well can you install then come back and finish the stairs?" He said "no it all has to be done the same day". I was upset because I lost money due to taking off work. I asked the sales guy to come back out so I could talk about different type of carpet.

He arrived 2 days later and we talked about a different carpet. I then told he I receive a better quote for the carpet but they had the newer generation of carpet. So empire said they would match the price. But they only had the older generation of the carpet. After thinking about it I decided well I already got approved through empire and I'm selling my house anyway so it really doesn't matter. So I signed the contract. I called friend. My friend and explained everything (because he has installed carpet for 20 years through multiple company but is retired now.)

My friend said "WHAT? They charged you how much for the carpet you picked out?" I told him, and he said "NO, the carpet you are getting is NOT the same carpet and ANY other carpet place would sell the carpet for $15 less a yard." And my house was quoted at 120 yards. So that's 1800$ in cost. He came out and measured the 2 areas I'm getting carpet. Great room. Basement and 1 set of stairs. And said he came up with 100 years and not 120. My stomach sunk and I became sick. I called and told Empire my story and they said, "Unfortunately we cannot give you a better price."

Well sorry Empire you just lost my sale, and the other friends and family that I will demand that they do not give Empire their business. I hope this review helps anyone looking for carpet because as of this moment October 2nd 2014 they have not made any attempt to earn my business.

Company Response 10/07/2014:

Hi Donnie, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We regret that your installation was not completed as initially scheduled, as we never want our customers to be inconvenienced. We understand that we've been in contact with you regarding your pricing concerns and are currently working towards a resolution. We will be following up with you shortly and you can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Empire Today Disgracefully Dishonest - Company Responds
By -

MORAINE, OHIO -- I answered an add on Craigslist almost 2 years ago. I get a call from Empire somewhere around Mid June of 2011. I meet with the "manager" to discuss the possibility of working for them as a sub contractor. I was asked to sign countless pages of a so called "agreement", never once being shown what I was signing. I had to fill out their ridiculous forms no less than 3 separate times. Each time I would ask "What is this for"? I was told some sort of different excuse each time.

The first job I was to do for Empire, the temporary installation manager comes out to the warehouse with a blank paper with nothing more than a line for a signature. He said to me "Here you need to sign this before you start to do any work". Again I asked why, he explained it was just a technicality and that this form appears to have been lost and they need another copy of it. I loaded material to go to first job, Laminate flooring, and arriving at the job I noticed several details the sales person overlooked.

After starting to lay out the material I realized the laminate was defective. The planks/panels where not milled properly, they wear out of square and when you put the planks together it would leave uneven gaps between the planks. I called to explain this to Empire. They wanted me to continue installing the product telling me "this is typical of this product, it's fine". I refused to continue and returned to the shop to show Empire first hand how bad the material was.

There is day 1 where I invested time and was paid nothing for my time and expenses. A couple of days after that I was told they sent another crew out with the same material and they installed it, telling me that next time I have that situation to tell the customer "that is the nature of this product". Second job, I arrive at the customers house immediately seeing that the salesperson failed to accurately evaluate the scope of work. After about 2 hours of calling back and forth to Empire, they finally contacted the customer and worked out a deal for additional money to correct the salesperson's improper evaluation.

This is job #2 that nothing additional was paid to me for the extra time spent correcting their mistakes. The third job I was dispatched to, we arrive to find 3/4" hardwood glued to concrete. Which the homeowner was to have torn out himself. The customer informed us that he worked on tearing out the floor for 3 days and finally gave up. Once again I spend hours calling back and forth to Empire to try to correct this issue. Which did not only refer to the fact the floor was not taken up, but the salesperson wrote on the work order that "glue may need to be scraped up in some areas". Again another over site by the salesperson.

The installation manager tells me "do what you need to do and we will pay you very well for the extra time" and also promised me that I would be paid the following Friday as I had to spend money out of my own pocket to buy the proper leveling compound to be able to properly install their new floor. That Friday came, and no check. I was told their "policy" does not allow for a contractor to be paid outside of their "scheduled pay period" This is job #3 involving a lot of extra time, and even money out of my own pocket that I was never reimbursed for. And what little I was paid was not paid to me on time as promised.

Then the next job I was sent to I was told "We got you a real good job to help me make up for the money lost on the last few." I look at the stack of material and it is 3/4" solid Brazilian Cherry, and several buckets of glue. I informed them that "you DO NOT GLUE DOWN 3/4" SOLID WOOD!" (common knowledge/industry standard) The installation manager's response, after I asked for an in writing guarantee that I would not be charged for this job after it fails, "it is in your contract, Empire will replace it at no cost to you".

Arriving at the job site we notice that there is asbestos tile threw out the entire house. This is a type 1 asbestos that is only considered harmful if it is broken/cracked visibly degraded. In this situation the asbestos was in very poor condition and a danger to anyone in the home. I was first told "come back to the shop and get a leveling compound/patch to cover all the asbestos tile (which is acceptable if the asbestos containing material is in good shape.) Only after they realized that I was sent to the job with the incorrect flooring material (the 3/4" wood I pointed out from the very beginning) was I told to leave the job site.

The next day about noon I was called by Empire demanding that I go back out to the job site and remove the carpet so I could save the job for Empire and they would not lose this customer. I again explained the condition of the asbestos and I went on to explain that if I removed the carpet it would disturb the degraded asbestos underneath of it putting myself and the occupants of the home in real danger and the response I got was "you will only crack the tile a little bit here and there when you pull the tack strip up." I said "no I am not comfortable doing that."

Not 15 minutes later the same guy from Empire calls me again. "We really need you to go out and save this job for us, we really got egg on our faces over this one." I again said no, to which he told me "come on and do this for us and you can put a feather in your cap and if you don't do it you will be blacklisted." To which I responded "if that's how you need it to be, fine!" and hung up. This is job #4 that I was never paid anything for the time invested (about 4 hours) loading material in and out of the customer's house and countless phone calls back and forth to Empire while stuck at the job site.

To any customer thinking about having Empire out to your home, I hope this gives you a small look behind the scenes and what goes on there. I am not looking to get millions of dollars from them, I simply want what is rightfully owed to me. They have been reported to OSHA, The Federal Trade Commission, The Bureau of Workmans Comp, The Attorney General of Ohio, and to all of the local news "trouble shooters". I will not rest until Empire is forced to close there doors!

I was never shown a "price list" their pay scale was never disclosed to me. I was asked to sign countless papers with no explanation of what they wear or why I needed to sign them. I was given an excuse for everything, lied to countless times, and not paid for my time and efforts. I was told by the general manager of this Empire location that "there are costs to doing business" and I was told every excuse as to why they could not pay me.

The office staff at this location is without a doubt the most unorganized mislead group of individuals I have ever had the misfortune of meeting. One person will tell you one thing, then the next person tell you something completely different. I urge all potential customers and/or contractors thinking of getting involved with Empire to take a good long look at not only this review but the countless others out there. They advertise in such a way as to make people believe they are saving money by using Empire, when in reality they are spending more!

Places like Empire are driving skilled trades people to work for minimum wage and introducing less skilled people into the trade due to their ridiculously low pay scales.

Company Response 1/24/2012:

We apologize if you felt you did not have a positive experience while working as an independent contractor. While we strive to create a positive atmosphere for all our contractors, misunderstandings can occur and we are happy to help address and resolve this issue.

We are confident that all work performed is in accordance with local regulations and accepted industry standards and we continuously strive to provide exceptional service for our customers.

Please feel free to contact Steven Jedras at 888-583-3000 x4345 to further discuss and resolve your concerns.

Replies
Pushy, Unprofessional Salesman
By -

We requested a 'free estimate' from Empire Carpet to install berber rugs in our 2nd floor bedrooms and hallway. The salesman showed up on time and was friendly and personable at first. After he took the measurements we sat down at the kitchen table to look at samples. Before he went out to the car he asked me which kind of carpet I wanted. I said berber so he brought back a book for berber that contained 9 different colors and a book for plush (which is the complete opposite).

The samples only have Empire Carpet's logo on them and not the actual manufacturer's name. In the commercials and on the website, Empire claims they carry all of the popular brands but won't tell you which one is which. The salesman starts writing down a bunch of numbers on a blank sheet of paper. He starts by telling me "Here is the regular price and here is the deal I'm going to give you". The regular price was around $2000 and his price was $1600. When I asked him if "His Price" was part of the 60% deal that is always advertised on the website, he wouldn't give me a straight answer.

This was the first quote we had seen and we weren't sure if it was fair or not so we wanted to continue with seeking other estimates. He explained to us that the process is very simple. The installers will come on the day we schedule and all we have to do is hand them our credit card before they start their work... Oh and we have to cut him a $100 deposit on the spot to secure the deal and the appointment, all before anyone does any work. Is this typical? He assured us that we would get our deposit back if we cancelled within 3 days.

As soon as we said "no, we're not committing today," he flipped a switch and his nice guy salesman attitude turned hostile. He started yelling "You're going to make me drive back here again to collect my deposit?!" First off all, what makes you think I'm going to call you back after that outburst. He might have had a chance with us if he didn't have a reaction like that.

So after he started talking in circles for several minutes to get us to change our mind and he realized we weren't going to, he angrily gathered up his weak samples and stuffed my estimate in his briefcase. When I asked him for a copy of my estimate he snapped at me and said "You know what the price is, it's $1588!" And then he let himself out. He then sat in his car in my driveway for another 4 minutes thinking that I was going to run out there with a check after all that.

I became obsessed with the experience and searched the internet to find that hundreds of people around the country had the same experience. How is this company rated A+ with the BBB? I've read other reviews about people who have actually used Empire and the installation quality had a lot of issues too.

I ended up going with a local flooring company and the salesman took the time to explain to me that since I'm putting carpet down for the first time (over hardwood) that I would need to shave the bottom of my closet and bedroom doors because of the padding and carpet will elevate the floor making them difficult to close. He also explained the difference of going with carpet that comes off a smaller roll which means I'd have seams that could come apart over time vs. a larger roll where I'd be paying for more due to a lot of waste.

I will always stick with local small businesses in the future and will gladly pay an extra couple of hundred dollars if I have to, to know that my money is going to an honest hard working professional.

Company Response 12/21/2010:

Thank you for bringing your sales experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are dedicated to service and satisfaction; please contact us at 800-588-2300 to assist you.

Replies
Free estimate! Beware, nothing in life is free!!
By -

FLORIDA -- So I set up an appointment for a FREE estimate on carpet and installation The scheduled time window was from 3 to 5 pm. The salesperson came at about 4:30. He looked around, took some measurements and asked some questions. He went to his car and brought in 4 samples. That's it. When I asked about price he steered clear of answering. When I asked about manufactures, again he avoided answering. I knew only one of the samples was near what I could afford. Still he quoted two. I asked about the manufacturer and price, again he danced around answering the questions. Finally I get a quote. That's what I was waiting for. Still no manufacturer.

Then he proceeds to tell me that it's a free estimate, but for his time because he did come out here... He saw my face, slightly appalled I imagine, and said "let me start over. Forget I said that." Like I am really going to forget that he said that. He wanted a fifty dollar deposit. But all I wanted was an estimate. I rushed out the door to make it to my new house on time, assuming he may have done the same. I don't live there yet, because I need Carpet, so I didn't have a way to do a deposit. He goes outside to call his boss. Of course I eavesdropped the best I could without getting up.

He comes back in and says his boss will let me do it with no deposit and knocked $261 off estimate. Why not give me that price to begin with? I'm still a little confused as to why I needed to place a deposit on estimated work, while I planned on still looking around. Then it comes, what day do you want to install it? I was placing an order. Since "I am not ready to decide yet" was not an acceptable, I let him proceed. If he wants to waste my time, I can waste his. It's now 6 pm. I'm hungry, I had errands to still do and I'm falling behind schedule. I decided to let him do whatever he was trying to do.

As I read the paper, I find after 3 days, I am in a binding contract that if I do cancel I am responsible to pay 15% of the estimated price. I had him write on the contract that I can cancel without penalty anytime before the day of installation. Still I proceeded. After all the paper work was done and he was collecting his 4 samples and briefcase I asked again who is the manufacturer? "Oh, I don't know." wow. I looked at him..."Let me look it up." Finally "SHAW."

When I went home and researched the carpet he pushed my way and nowhere does it say the KEEPSAKE II is a Shaw carpet. In fact I can't find it anywhere. Needless to say I cancelled the VERY NEXT DAY. All it cost me was a few minutes on the phone and a postage stamp. If only my estimate was that simple.

Company Response 10/13/2010:

Thank you for bringing your sales experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are dedicated to service and satisfaction; please contact us at 800-588-2300 to assist you.

Replies
Advertisement
Not Worth the Cheap Price
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BERKELEY, CALIFORNIA -- The selection which to choose from is poor. The carpet is of poor quality, and for what you are getting the price is too high. There is no deal here, buyer beware. The service is not that good either. The salesperson asked for a cash tip in lieu of part of the cost to be charged.

The wait window is too open, from 8 in the morning to 6 at night. They call the day of the install with an approximate time your installer will come, but this too is very 'approximate' as my installers were two hours late. And you have to listen to a lot of whining. The sales guy is not going to make any money, the installers have too many jobs to do, blah, blah, blah. However, the installers did do a good job given what they had to work with. I needed new carpet, but I really wished I had waited till I could have afforded better. I will not do business with Empire again.

Company Response :

Anne Lisa, it's disappointing to know that you have not been satisfied with your product and the service you've received. We can assure you that we are committed to working with our customers until they are completely satisfied, and we would like to learn more about your concerns. A member of our customer service team will be contacting you shortly. If you have additional questions, you can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Late, Bullying, Salesman
By -

DELAWARE COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA -- So, I made an appointment for a FREE Estimate with Empire Carpet. The appointment was scheduled for between 11 am and 1 pm, although the Salesperson did not show until closer to 2 pm. I called the office several times to see where the salesperson was and when to expect them since I had taken the morning off from work, and was sitting in an empty apartment since I do not live there yet. The company told me that the salesperson was lost, not familiar with the area, and would be there shortly.

When the Salesperson arrived - He barely got two feet in the door before he started his spiel, stating that Empire does a TON of work in that area and they have exemplary customer service. We questioned how he could do a ton of work in the area, yet be lost for over an hour and the sales person had not good answer. At some point in his drawn out speech on Empire's Award winning Customer Service, he pulled out his large black box/brief case and I thought that we were finally going to look at some carpet, but no - He proceeded to show us all of the awards Empire has won and continued to tell us how fantastic and trustworthy the company is.

Finally, we got on the topic of carpet - He asked if we were renting the property and if the decision maker was present. We explained that I was renting the unit and my dad is present because he is the contractor overseeing all of the renovations (therefore the decision maker). The Salesperson then began arguing with us, saying that the website asks that the decision maker be present for the appointment. I explained that I read and understood that portion of the website and ultimately my dad and I would be making the decision, but right now we are gathering estimates.

The salesperson then preceded to tell me that Empire pays him 350 dollars to come to make these visits and if we do not give a definitive YES or NO answer THAT DAY- Empire will not send someone back out to the home. We asked if he could write up the estimate and then we can just call and make an appointment with the installer, but the Salesperson stated that that is not how Empire operates and it cannot be done.

The Salesperson went on to explain how much of a waste of time it is for him to come out when we are not going to give him a clear YES or No that day. My dad finally interjected and told the Salesperson that he was wasting our time and asked him to leave. The salesperson huffed and puffed and made some rude comments before finally exiting the home.

I immediately called Empire and informed them of our interaction. I asked them flat out- if requiring a definitive YES or NO before giving the estimate is the company's usual practice and the representative said "No, Absolutely not." The representative asked that he put me on hold and when he returned to the line (5 minutes later) he stated that he sent my complaint to a manager and to expect a call from them soon. Still no word from them and honestly - I'm not expecting a call from the manager.

Company Response 11/08/2010:

Thank you for bringing your sales experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are dedicated to service and satisfaction; please contact us at 800-588-2300 to assist you.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Empire Carpet Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 22 ratings and
78 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Empire Carpet
333 Northwest Ave
Northlake, IL 60164
1-800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empirecarpet-flooring.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies