Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Carpet Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOLVERINE LAKE, MICHIGAN -- The sales representative told me that the LVP flooring was tear and scratch resistant. Not true. Had he been honest I would have went with something different. They put silver transition pieces all over the hickory LVP. They put corner round-up against my back door so it couldn't be opened and put no transition piece at the front door where they made uneven cuts.

I called to complain and they sent someone else to fix it. The second group that came out and tore some stuff up but said it was too bad to fix and that I would need a new floor, and that a manager would call me later that day. Nobody called. I spent the next 2 weeks calling and was always told a manager would get back to me in 24 hours. I finally got someone when I started bawling on the phone and begged for a manager because at this point I was sick of having a torn-up floor. I certainly expected better when you're paying $5,000 for a kitchen and dining room floor.

So the third team comes out and says they don't see why they should rip out the floor and put in a new one all because they put transition pieces all over even though that's why they were coming. So they left with all my flooring they had just picked up. I think they just kept it for themselves because nobody ever called to see if it was done and at this point, I'm done. I can't sit on the phone with them anymore. I'll have to call another company to fix it.

Replies
Advertisement
Carpet Pet Pad
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

AURORA, COLORADO -- I purchased a carpet (love the color) along with Pet Pad (expensive). I have pets and in case they had accidents I was worry free. Rented place to a young couple who's dog was learning to potty train. I rented a carpet cleaner from local store and smell of pet urine was awful. I thought it was the store's steam cleaner itself.

I hired 2 companies who claimed to be able to remove pet odors. I purchased a heavy duty steam cleaner with no success. I'm sold my townhome, returned the other day to finish the final closing requests and my townhome smells so bad of pet odors. I am not only embarrassed I am selling my home this way but, I am very angry and disappointed in the Pet Pad or carpet that is supposed to decrease or eliminate odors. I will never use Empire Carpet again.

Replies
Unsatisfactory Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHESTERFIELD, MICHIGAN -- Salesperson came to our home to discuss and get an estimate to replace the existing flooring in our kitchen, dining and laundry room. The installers put a seam between the kitchen and dining room when these rooms all flow together with no door! We told the installers this was not acceptable. They said it is Empire's policy to put a seam every 10 ft which isn't true because our kitchen is over 20 ft and only 1 seam. We made a very bad mistake by letting them finish the job thinking Empire would correct the problem because when we called and told Empire they said they would contact management and get back to us.

That didn't happen and when we finally got through they said that is the policy. When asked why not another seam then? They asked for a picture. We sent a before and after to show our old laminate had no seam. Their next response was that the flooring we chose required that seam. Again only 1 seam. Now we have to purchase more flooring, rip out their install and do it ourself. We will do that after we contact them on some defective boards. Don't use Empire for flooring.

Company Response 05/18/2017:

Dear Customer
We sincerely regret to hear about your experience, and assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject like for further assistance.
Thank you.

Replies
Scam Warning!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANFORD, NORTH CAROLINA -- I received a "quote" from Empire Flooring to replace all floors... Upfront warning: you have three days to cancel your order which involves mailing a form to their legal department. That time frame is too short for regular mail so your only option is to pay for priority or overnight delivery. If you miss this, the contract states a min. 15% fee.

My quote for engineered wood and carpet (during the 50/50/50 sale) was $16K... that was nearly $9/sq. ft. The representative told me he needed to put an install date and needed my e-signatures for the quote. Engineered wood throughout most and carpet in two bedrooms, stairs, and bonus room. Approx. 1900 sq. ft. with a quote of more than $16K... that's more than $8/sq ft.

I called and emailed my sales representative and got nothing back except to say he missed my call... No reply to my email re: the cancellation policy and whether it applied to my quote. I didn't risk it and overnighted the form requiring a delivery signature. Despite this, installers showed up at my door on the date he plugged in "just for quote purposes." I would have been on the hook for a lot of $$ and bet this is how Empire makes most of their $$... Through shady sales tactics and reliance on consumer faith they're working with a trustworthy company. It's a marketing ploy to make money off restock fees/consumer penalties.

Company Response 05/18/2017:

Dear Customer,
We sincerely regret to hear about your experience, and assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject like for further assistance.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
Advertisement
Paid for Carpet and Can Not Get Them to Install
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPARTANBURG, SOUTH CAROLINA -- We purchase carpet and had an appointment for installation on 2-27-2017. They called and rescheduled for 2-28-2017. We advised them when we made our purchase we needed installed before 3-1-2017 because we had appointment to show our residence on 3-01. They came out on 02-28-2017 and stated they did not have material for install. Rescheduled for 03-01-2017. Nobody showed nor called. We contacted them to be told we were confirmed for 03-02-2017. We will see but, I am not confident anyone will show. If you are thinking about using them to purchase and install carpet, I have one word for you. DON'T!!!

Company Response 03/07/2017:

Dear Customer,
We regret to hear about your experience. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empiretoday.com for further assistance.
Thank you.

Replies
You Can Find Better Carpet Company In Maryland
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRYANTOWN, MARYLAND -- BUYER BEWARE!!! On the day of the installation the installers showed up on time. They were very professional. However, they showed up with not enough carpet for the job and the wrong padding. This was not the installers' fault, the salesman did not order enough carpet or the right padding. Also, the installer advised me that I have to pay the full amount before he can even start work. What kind of a reputable company wants the full payment before they can begin and knows they will not finish that day because they do not have all of the material?

Also they could not guarantee me they would return the next day to finish job. The installers did good work however. My opinion, you can find a better carpet company in Maryland. It is a shame that management is ruining this company.

Replies
Do Not Use Them - Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DENVER, COLORADO -- I scheduled an appointment with them and they canceled with an automated voice mail 30 minutes prior to the appointment. OK, I was disappointed but the treatment that I received afterwards was ridiculous. No one very apologized and the closest I got to an apology was "no problem." I called again to cancel the appointment I rescheduled and the lady actually hung up with me. They have NO CUSTOMER SERVICE! I am so glad that I learned that from the beginning instead of in the middle of a project with them. DISGUSTING!

Replies
Gave Me Inflated Quote
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OCALA FLORIDA, FLORIDA -- Told me 3300 was half off of 530 square feet of laminate. Triple what Lumber Liquidators charge even "on sale". Be wary of a place that won't clearly post prices up front. A year ago got a quote on 250 sq ft of vinyl for 780? Huge scam. Who charges 6500 full price to do 500 sq ft of laminate? Even the half off was three times more than everyone else. Bait and switch scam if you ask me.

Replies
Advertisement
Carpet Less Than 6 Months Showing Traffic Pattern, Inferior Quality, Not Name Brand, Do Not Stand Behind Product.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT WORTH, TEXAS -- We replaced 12 year old carpet in only 3 rooms on the lower level of our home, the rest of the downstairs is hardwood or tile. Our home was designed by us and our Custom home builder... every aspect of our home contains great workmanship and quality, including the original carpet. One of our older dogs had a few accidents and got sick in our master bedroom, although we had the carpet cleaned numerous times the stain reappeared. We decided to replace the 12 year old carpet in all three carpeted areas downstairs and chose Empire.

We had shopped around some and chose Empire, although it was a 50% off sale, the price was very similar to other quotes. The representative was personable, so we chose Empire. MISTAKE. 6 months later wear patterns are appearing in the master bedroom and master closet, the office shows some wear patterns but not as distinctive, the seldom used guest room is ok. The carpet we chose has a pattern which is no longer as distinctive.... at the time of this writing the carpet is only 9 months old! Our 13 year old carpet upstairs that withstood 5 children and now our grandchildren shows no traffic patterns or depressions.

Empire sends someone out who looks at the fibers and says, "It is still good, it is not wearing. It is just a traffic pattern that will come back with a cleaning!" I am not a Rocket Scientist, however, it is very obvious the carpet I was sold is an inferior product and incapable of handling the daily traffic of two slim people walking in and out of their bedroom or master closet. It seems walking on this carpet puts too much stress on its resiliency and forces the pattern to disappear under the daily pressure of a 120 lb women and 180 lb man.

Empire's Solution: Get the carpet cleaned with only hot water OR PAY MORE FOR AN UPGRADE! What the heck did I pay for??? I was very specific with the salesperson about the quality of the carpet desired. The sales person did not have many samples to show me. She did go back to her car and bring in the second book of samples from which I selected my carpet. I am very dissatisfied with this carpet.

Empire does not stand behind their product and has little regard for customer satisfaction. We paid over $3,000 for carpet that we are very dissatisfied with, our only recourse is to spend more money with them.... Not on your life. I will never use them again and will dissuade anyone else contemplating their services. We are going to have several reputable carpet companies look at this carpet, get their professional opinion and probably replace this carpet, based upon the current deep traffic patterns it will be worn to the pad within 6 months.
BUYER BEWARE.

Company Response 04/16/2015:

Hi Donna, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. It's disappointing that your product has not been meeting your expectations, and we can assure you that we are taking this situation seriously. We are committed to working with our customers until they are completely satisfied, and we regret that this situation has not yet been resolved. We understand that we've been in contact with you about this matter, and we will be following up with you again shortly. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Empire Today Disgracefully Dishonest - Company Responds
By -

MORAINE, OHIO -- I answered an add on Craigslist almost 2 years ago. I get a call from Empire somewhere around Mid June of 2011. I meet with the "manager" to discuss the possibility of working for them as a sub contractor. I was asked to sign countless pages of a so called "agreement", never once being shown what I was signing. I had to fill out their ridiculous forms no less than 3 separate times. Each time I would ask "What is this for"? I was told some sort of different excuse each time.

The first job I was to do for Empire, the temporary installation manager comes out to the warehouse with a blank paper with nothing more than a line for a signature. He said to me "Here you need to sign this before you start to do any work". Again I asked why, he explained it was just a technicality and that this form appears to have been lost and they need another copy of it. I loaded material to go to first job, Laminate flooring, and arriving at the job I noticed several details the sales person overlooked.

After starting to lay out the material I realized the laminate was defective. The planks/panels where not milled properly, they wear out of square and when you put the planks together it would leave uneven gaps between the planks. I called to explain this to Empire. They wanted me to continue installing the product telling me "this is typical of this product, it's fine". I refused to continue and returned to the shop to show Empire first hand how bad the material was.

There is day 1 where I invested time and was paid nothing for my time and expenses. A couple of days after that I was told they sent another crew out with the same material and they installed it, telling me that next time I have that situation to tell the customer "that is the nature of this product". Second job, I arrive at the customers house immediately seeing that the salesperson failed to accurately evaluate the scope of work. After about 2 hours of calling back and forth to Empire, they finally contacted the customer and worked out a deal for additional money to correct the salesperson's improper evaluation.

This is job #2 that nothing additional was paid to me for the extra time spent correcting their mistakes. The third job I was dispatched to, we arrive to find 3/4" hardwood glued to concrete. Which the homeowner was to have torn out himself. The customer informed us that he worked on tearing out the floor for 3 days and finally gave up. Once again I spend hours calling back and forth to Empire to try to correct this issue. Which did not only refer to the fact the floor was not taken up, but the salesperson wrote on the work order that "glue may need to be scraped up in some areas". Again another over site by the salesperson.

The installation manager tells me "do what you need to do and we will pay you very well for the extra time" and also promised me that I would be paid the following Friday as I had to spend money out of my own pocket to buy the proper leveling compound to be able to properly install their new floor. That Friday came, and no check. I was told their "policy" does not allow for a contractor to be paid outside of their "scheduled pay period" This is job #3 involving a lot of extra time, and even money out of my own pocket that I was never reimbursed for. And what little I was paid was not paid to me on time as promised.

Then the next job I was sent to I was told "We got you a real good job to help me make up for the money lost on the last few." I look at the stack of material and it is 3/4" solid Brazilian Cherry, and several buckets of glue. I informed them that "you DO NOT GLUE DOWN 3/4" SOLID WOOD!" (common knowledge/industry standard) The installation manager's response, after I asked for an in writing guarantee that I would not be charged for this job after it fails, "it is in your contract, Empire will replace it at no cost to you".

Arriving at the job site we notice that there is asbestos tile threw out the entire house. This is a type 1 asbestos that is only considered harmful if it is broken/cracked visibly degraded. In this situation the asbestos was in very poor condition and a danger to anyone in the home. I was first told "come back to the shop and get a leveling compound/patch to cover all the asbestos tile (which is acceptable if the asbestos containing material is in good shape.) Only after they realized that I was sent to the job with the incorrect flooring material (the 3/4" wood I pointed out from the very beginning) was I told to leave the job site.

The next day about noon I was called by Empire demanding that I go back out to the job site and remove the carpet so I could save the job for Empire and they would not lose this customer. I again explained the condition of the asbestos and I went on to explain that if I removed the carpet it would disturb the degraded asbestos underneath of it putting myself and the occupants of the home in real danger and the response I got was "you will only crack the tile a little bit here and there when you pull the tack strip up." I said "no I am not comfortable doing that."

Not 15 minutes later the same guy from Empire calls me again. "We really need you to go out and save this job for us, we really got egg on our faces over this one." I again said no, to which he told me "come on and do this for us and you can put a feather in your cap and if you don't do it you will be blacklisted." To which I responded "if that's how you need it to be, fine!" and hung up. This is job #4 that I was never paid anything for the time invested (about 4 hours) loading material in and out of the customer's house and countless phone calls back and forth to Empire while stuck at the job site.

To any customer thinking about having Empire out to your home, I hope this gives you a small look behind the scenes and what goes on there. I am not looking to get millions of dollars from them, I simply want what is rightfully owed to me. They have been reported to OSHA, The Federal Trade Commission, The Bureau of Workmans Comp, The Attorney General of Ohio, and to all of the local news "trouble shooters". I will not rest until Empire is forced to close there doors!

I was never shown a "price list" their pay scale was never disclosed to me. I was asked to sign countless papers with no explanation of what they wear or why I needed to sign them. I was given an excuse for everything, lied to countless times, and not paid for my time and efforts. I was told by the general manager of this Empire location that "there are costs to doing business" and I was told every excuse as to why they could not pay me.

The office staff at this location is without a doubt the most unorganized mislead group of individuals I have ever had the misfortune of meeting. One person will tell you one thing, then the next person tell you something completely different. I urge all potential customers and/or contractors thinking of getting involved with Empire to take a good long look at not only this review but the countless others out there. They advertise in such a way as to make people believe they are saving money by using Empire, when in reality they are spending more!

Places like Empire are driving skilled trades people to work for minimum wage and introducing less skilled people into the trade due to their ridiculously low pay scales.

Company Response 1/24/2012:

We apologize if you felt you did not have a positive experience while working as an independent contractor. While we strive to create a positive atmosphere for all our contractors, misunderstandings can occur and we are happy to help address and resolve this issue.

We are confident that all work performed is in accordance with local regulations and accepted industry standards and we continuously strive to provide exceptional service for our customers.

Please feel free to contact Steven Jedras at 888-583-3000 x4345 to further discuss and resolve your concerns.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Empire Carpet Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 45 ratings and
101 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Empire Carpet
333 Northwest Ave
Northlake, IL 60164
1-800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empirecarpet-flooring.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies