Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Carpet Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
They let THIEVES into my home!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- My husband and I had several carpet estimates for our home and decided to go with Empire as the carpet looked good quality and the salesman assured us they only used "licensed and background checked" installers. Well, they installed my carpet last Friday Jan 10, and after they left, I noticed a gold ring (valued at $2,000) missing from my master bathroom, where they had no business entering. I searched for over an hour for it, then called Empire. No manager available so they told me to file a police report and a manager would call me back ASAP.

72 hours later (ridiculous) I received a call asking for the police report # and telling me they would start an investigation. I asked when I should expect a follow-up call and was told by Friday the 24th, still haven't heard ANYTHING!!! Funny how great their customer service was before the job but now they want to ignore this situation. I loved that ring and I am most upset that I had a criminal in my home (I was here the entire time of install, working downstairs while they put in carpet upstairs) who now knows where I live! This is scary and ridiculous. Do not use this company!!

Replies
Advertisement
Empire Carpet Has No Accountability
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- We purchased new carpet from Empire Today, and overall we were happy with the cost and timeliness of the company. The next day carpet was installed throughout our home, however, due to a miscommunication, no closets were carpeted. We immediately brought this to Empire's attention and they said someone would be back the next day to finish the install. No one came. We called again and were again told someone would come the next day to complete the install. Again no one came. This has happened the last 6 consecutive days and our carpet still is not complete.

When calling Empire Today's corporate offices repeatedly over this past week we have been given many reassurances that "someone will complete the install tomorrow", but never specifics as to who, or when, that will occur. It is obvious that Empire Today contracts out their work, so in a sense there is no accountability to a certain person (besides myself) to ensure the job is complete.

I think that if you are present during install and can confirm the job is done correctly, this would be a good company. However, if there is miscommunication or an issue, it will be extremely difficult for someone to take ownership of the issue and correct it in a timely manner. Because of this I would definitely not recommend Empire in the future.

Company Response :

Hi Andre, we regret that your installation has not been completed and any confusion or miscommunication that occurred. We understand that we've been in contact, and we will be following up with you again to discuss the situation and ensure that everything is being completed to your satisfaction. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Mislead Terms of Payment
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- I will never use Empire Carpet again... beware if you choose to. Use anyone else. I thought I was getting two years to pay off the carpet on a loan through a national bank. At least that is what the salesman lead us to believe, when I received my bill in the beginning of August and saw that there was over 2000.00 dollars of interest added on I flipped. When I called the bank and Empire, I was told that it is on the contract that I signed. Now they are charging me 15% interest every month, for the next two years. The salesmen are liars.

Company Response :

Keith, thank you for making us aware of your concerns. We do not set or control the terms of the financing. We understand that we've been in contact with you about this matter, and we will be following up again shortly. If you have additional questions or concerns, you can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Stay Away From Empire Carpet
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COVENTRY, CONNECTICUT -- Empire was a bad decision made! The install of the floor was horrible, the molding came up the next day, called several times to have it fixed, was blown off several times then a crew comes out - don't speak any English and the guy says the other people didn't know what they were doing. They used too small of nails. Also had chips and scratches in floor but of course they did not have the right color match with them so they had to come back and again was blown off several times.

They come back, tear up most the floor and put it back together the exact same way, made several calls to Empire never a callback. Most of my floor has moved, I kick it back into place daily and all the surrounding moldings have been taking out and I have upgraded myself!!! And if I would have known how easy this floor is to do I would have done it myself!!! Stay away from Empire. They don't deserve to be in business!!!

Company Response :

We were disappointed to read your review. The installation experience you described is not what we expect for our customers. We are committed to working with our customers until they are completely satisfied, and we regret any inconveniences that occurred during your installation process. We would like to follow up with you and ensure that everything has been completed to your satisfaction, but we are unable to locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will contact you to discuss the situation. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Right Hand Does Not Know What the Left Hand Is Doing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I called last week and was given an appointment for that afternoon. I had to go out to do some errands and rushed home. When I came home I got a message on my machine - they could not make it. Then a few days later on a Friday they called to re-schedule for that Monday. Monday came and I got a call from them. They could not make it. Apparently when you call the 1-800 number they give you an appointment without knowing if the salesman in your area is available. Needless to say I will not use them again. If this is the customer service they give, I can only guess how it would be to deal with them if there is a problem with their merchandise.

Company Response :

We were disappointed to read about your missed appointments, and we regret any inconvenience that occurred as a result. We understand your frustration, and we can assure you that this is not the experience we expect for our customers. We would like to make things right for you, but we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Rescheduled Twice
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- I scheduled an online appointment for Empire free estimate. The first appointment was on a Saturday time between 6-8. I ask if they could come closer to 7. They said no problem. It was about 7:50 when I was just about to call them to see how much longer, my other lined rung with an Empire's representative stating that the contractor was still with another customer and would need to reschedule.

I reschedule for Wednesday between 7-9. I hadn't heard from Empire, so I called about 7:20. I was told that the sales representative was with another customer and would call me soon. It's now 8:35, no call. I call customer service to check on appointment and lo and behold while I'm talking to one service person, another calls me and states the sales representative is still with a client and it would be past 9:00 before he or she got here.

I explained that this is the second time and I felt that must get lots of business and don't need my money. They wanted to reschedule. I said no thank you. I will take my business elsewhere. Never again. I would be a fool to schedule another appointment and wait. My time is precious and not to be wasted. It was just interesting that every time I called Empire would call me on the other line. Huh! Just a note, don't waste your time.

Company Response :

We're disappointed to learn of your missed appointments and any inconveniences that occurred as a result. We can assure you that this is not what we expect for our customers, as we always want to provide world-class service. We understand your frustration, and we would like the opportunity to make things right for you. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information you've provided here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will follow up with you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Empire Carpet is Slimey
By -

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I have a 260 sq ft room with an adjacent flight of stairs that I needed to get recarpeted and always feel vulnerable when talking to salespeople, especially, if the subject is something that I don't have too much knowledge in. I had gotten my first quote before meeting the "Empire man" and it was roughly about $600. I wanted a second opinion and was willing to splurge a couple hundred more if the price was in the range. I set up the appointment and for doing so online I received a $200 off coupon. The "salesman" did arrive on time and was quite cheery. I took him up to measure the room and stairs; he soon realized that I didn't know too much of what to expect.

It gets funny from here, because after he measured, to my shock, he said that it was 400 sq ft (completely off, because I had been worrying about the pricing and had measured/remeasured; all that on top of the first quote whose measurements matched up to mine).

The first person that gave me the estimate gave me the option of different carpet textures and pricing per yard. The empire guy didn't give me any of the pricing per yard and showed me which pad was going to be used (wouldn't let me switch, because he said the yellow stain-resistant pad is the only thing that Empire is allowed to use, meanwhile, I see many other pad samples in his bag that he won't show).

He gets to writing and he has two initial quotes. One for $1400 and the other for $1600. OK... so I tell him that I have another quote and showed it to him and he scoffed at the price and tells me that the people that gave me the quote likely didn't know what they were doing, I would get poor service, and I couldn't trust them. He goes back to his writing and now gets it down to $1200 (still a shocker) and says he might be able to get it lower if I could agree the same day, but I was confident that he wasn't going to beat the first estimate so I told him that I wanted to wait and make a decision.

He says that the offer would then be at $1200. I said OK, helped him pick up his samples and helped him out to his truck. I thought the sales-con was over, but this guy was SLIMEY!! We were at the table with the first quote, the one he scoffed at, and after he leaves **ta da** it's gone!! I know he took it with him and I couldn't help but to chuckle for a good hour, because I didn't think that a salesman would stoop so low. I luckily did have the phone number of the first estimator, but really... I can't say that I would ever consider Empire after the dirty trick. All in all... Empire makes sales and they have their salesguy running numbers instead of looking at the basic cost of the project.

Company Response 09/16/2010:

Thank you for bringing your sales experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are dedicated to service and satisfaction; please contact us at 800-588-2300 so we can assist you.

Replies
Robbed Me Blind... Literally
By -

30102, GEORGIA -- I had an in home visit from one of their salespeople and it was great. She was helpful and the price was really good. I scheduled the installation and was very excited about getting fresh new carpet for my house. The installers came on time. The crew manager was great, he answered all of my questions and was generally very friendly. He had 2 Hispanic guys working with him. They spoke no English. They finished in 3.5 hours and I was so excited. The carpet looked great. I was thoroughly satisfied. I really thought I would get to go out onto the internet and write a good review of the company. That is, until I started unpacking my stuff that I boxed up to get out of the way.

I unpacked a box and thought that there was some CD's and a DVD missing, but I wasn't sure. That prompted me to check my jewelry box that was in a box under stuff in the bathroom. When I did I was shocked to find 6 rings missing from my jewelry box. One of which was my grandmother's wedding rings (she passed away last Feb and that's all I have left of her). Those rings were on a gold chain. The chain was snapped and the rings gone. I was so upset, I was literally devastated.

I immediately called the crew manager that was at my house and told him that I had belongings missing. He was able to stop his crew. One of the men was working with him for the very first day ever. This guy handed over 2 of my rings, but nothing else.

By that time I had contacted the local police and they were at my house. Long story short, what ended up happening was the crew manager and his wife came all the way back here from the warehouse in rush hour traffic to give a statement with me to the police. It was really great of him to do that and he didn't have to do anything.
If that wasn't bad enough, Empire was notified also and they told me that someone would call me in 24 hrs. They should have made that a priority.

The lady called me the next day got information and said she would call back. She took 4 hours to do so. When she called back (after 2 msgs from me) she gave me the B. S. line of "we are going to cooperate with the police". When I asked what the company was going to do for me, she repeated that line FREAKING PARROT! She wouldn't explain anything.

I spoke with the Installation Manager here in Atlanta and he basically told me that b/c legal is involved they can't discuss it with me. They aren't doing anything to resolve the fact that I paid $1800 to be robbed! This could happen to anyone with any company. My point is that EMPIRE has no customer service to speak of. I wish I had gone with someone else even if I had to pay more money. Beware of Empire.

Replies
Advertisement
Flooring for Kitchen Was a Different Quality What the Salesman Showed Me.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORAM, NEW YORK -- Empire flooring installers came with a different quality flooring than what the sales person sold me. The installers were very unprofessional, no tools of the trade and requested full payment up front. I canceled the order. Was very disappointed. I waited three weeks for this installation from the time of order.

Company Response 04/08/2015:

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We regret that the product and installation experience did not meet your expectations, and we can assure you this not the level of service we expect for our customers. We would like to follow up with you to learn more about your concerns and discuss the situation in more detail, but we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Install
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TENNESSEE -- Victor and his crew were on time very considerate and very professional! Great job Victor!!! If I had another install Victor would have to do it!!

Company Response 04/02/2015:

Thank you for sharing your experience! We love hearing from our satisfied customers, and it's wonderful that your installation went so smoothly. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to assist you with future home improvement projects. Enjoy the new look and feel of your home! Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Empire Carpet Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 22 ratings and
78 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Empire Carpet
333 Northwest Ave
Northlake, IL 60164
1-800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empirecarpet-flooring.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies