Empire Carpet - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
79 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Empire Carpet
333 Northwest Ave
Northlake, IL 60164
1-800-588-2300 (ph)
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
By -

We need to replace our basement carpet and scheduled an appointment with Empire Carpets online. Sales person shows up with polyester carpet touting them as the best. Not true, Nylon is better. He measured our basement at 630 sq ft which was about 150 sq ft over the actual and never gave us his dimensions. The price quoted was $2200. We had two local shops come by and give us an estimate. They both came up with the correct square footage (580 sq ft) and a much lower price that included nylon carpet with a heavier face weight.

To add insult to injury the Empire guy wanted $50 as a refundable deposit to lock in the price. When I inquired more on the conditions of the refund, he said that I would have to ask for the refund within three days. My advice. Shop around and stay away from Empire. There are lots of better option out there.

Robbed Me Blind... Literally
By -

30102, GEORGIA -- I had an in home visit from one of their salespeople and it was great. She was helpful and the price was really good. I scheduled the installation and was very excited about getting fresh new carpet for my house. The installers came on time. The crew manager was great, he answered all of my questions and was generally very friendly. He had 2 Hispanic guys working with him. They spoke no English. They finished in 3.5 hours and I was so excited. The carpet looked great. I was thoroughly satisfied. I really thought I would get to go out onto the internet and write a good review of the company. That is, until I started unpacking my stuff that I boxed up to get out of the way.

I unpacked a box and thought that there was some CD's and a DVD missing, but I wasn't sure. That prompted me to check my jewelry box that was in a box under stuff in the bathroom. When I did I was shocked to find 6 rings missing from my jewelry box. One of which was my grandmother's wedding rings (she passed away last Feb and that's all I have left of her). Those rings were on a gold chain. The chain was snapped and the rings gone. I was so upset, I was literally devastated.

I immediately called the crew manager that was at my house and told him that I had belongings missing. He was able to stop his crew. One of the men was working with him for the very first day ever. This guy handed over 2 of my rings, but nothing else.

By that time I had contacted the local police and they were at my house. Long story short, what ended up happening was the crew manager and his wife came all the way back here from the warehouse in rush hour traffic to give a statement with me to the police. It was really great of him to do that and he didn't have to do anything.
If that wasn't bad enough, Empire was notified also and they told me that someone would call me in 24 hrs. They should have made that a priority.

The lady called me the next day got information and said she would call back. She took 4 hours to do so. When she called back (after 2 msgs from me) she gave me the B. S. line of "we are going to cooperate with the police". When I asked what the company was going to do for me, she repeated that line FREAKING PARROT! She wouldn't explain anything.

I spoke with the Installation Manager here in Atlanta and he basically told me that b/c legal is involved they can't discuss it with me. They aren't doing anything to resolve the fact that I paid $1800 to be robbed! This could happen to anyone with any company. My point is that EMPIRE has no customer service to speak of. I wish I had gone with someone else even if I had to pay more money. Beware of Empire.

Carpet Less Than 6 Months Showing Traffic Pattern, Inferior Quality, Not Name Brand, Do Not Stand Behind Product.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT WORTH, TEXAS -- We replaced 12 year old carpet in only 3 rooms on the lower level of our home, the rest of the downstairs is hardwood or tile. Our home was designed by us and our Custom home builder... every aspect of our home contains great workmanship and quality, including the original carpet. One of our older dogs had a few accidents and got sick in our master bedroom, although we had the carpet cleaned numerous times the stain reappeared. We decided to replace the 12 year old carpet in all three carpeted areas downstairs and chose Empire.

We had shopped around some and chose Empire, although it was a 50% off sale, the price was very similar to other quotes. The representative was personable, so we chose Empire. MISTAKE. 6 months later wear patterns are appearing in the master bedroom and master closet, the office shows some wear patterns but not as distinctive, the seldom used guest room is ok. The carpet we chose has a pattern which is no longer as distinctive.... at the time of this writing the carpet is only 9 months old! Our 13 year old carpet upstairs that withstood 5 children and now our grandchildren shows no traffic patterns or depressions.

Empire sends someone out who looks at the fibers and says, "It is still good, it is not wearing. It is just a traffic pattern that will come back with a cleaning!" I am not a Rocket Scientist, however, it is very obvious the carpet I was sold is an inferior product and incapable of handling the daily traffic of two slim people walking in and out of their bedroom or master closet. It seems walking on this carpet puts too much stress on its resiliency and forces the pattern to disappear under the daily pressure of a 120 lb women and 180 lb man.

Empire's Solution: Get the carpet cleaned with only hot water OR PAY MORE FOR AN UPGRADE! What the heck did I pay for??? I was very specific with the salesperson about the quality of the carpet desired. The sales person did not have many samples to show me. She did go back to her car and bring in the second book of samples from which I selected my carpet. I am very dissatisfied with this carpet.

Empire does not stand behind their product and has little regard for customer satisfaction. We paid over $3,000 for carpet that we are very dissatisfied with, our only recourse is to spend more money with them.... Not on your life. I will never use them again and will dissuade anyone else contemplating their services. We are going to have several reputable carpet companies look at this carpet, get their professional opinion and probably replace this carpet, based upon the current deep traffic patterns it will be worn to the pad within 6 months.

Company Response 04/16/2015:

Hi Donna, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. It's disappointing that your product has not been meeting your expectations, and we can assure you that we are taking this situation seriously. We are committed to working with our customers until they are completely satisfied, and we regret that this situation has not yet been resolved. We understand that we've been in contact with you about this matter, and we will be following up with you again shortly. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Carpet Sales Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LYNDHURST, OHIO -- Empire today carpets. I scheduled an appointment for a sales associate to come give an estimate to install carpet in my house. He measured and quoted a price, and said the installation would be the following day. I was excited because the sales guy talked up the carpet to be amazing. When the installers came to install the carpet, I asked the installers, "Is this good carpet?" They replied "ehhh I mean it's ok." Instantly I got a pit in my stomach because I was told it was one of the top carpets. The installers came into my house and I showed him the areas that the carpet would be installed.

About 20 minutes later the installers told me that they have an issue and that there wasn't enough carpet in the van to install the areas. That the sales guy must have measured wrong. Aggravated but polite I said "ok, well can you install then come back and finish the stairs?" He said "no it all has to be done the same day". I was upset because I lost money due to taking off work. I asked the sales guy to come back out so I could talk about different type of carpet.

He arrived 2 days later and we talked about a different carpet. I then told he I receive a better quote for the carpet but they had the newer generation of carpet. So empire said they would match the price. But they only had the older generation of the carpet. After thinking about it I decided well I already got approved through empire and I'm selling my house anyway so it really doesn't matter. So I signed the contract. I called friend. My friend and explained everything (because he has installed carpet for 20 years through multiple company but is retired now.)

My friend said "WHAT? They charged you how much for the carpet you picked out?" I told him, and he said "NO, the carpet you are getting is NOT the same carpet and ANY other carpet place would sell the carpet for $15 less a yard." And my house was quoted at 120 yards. So that's 1800$ in cost. He came out and measured the 2 areas I'm getting carpet. Great room. Basement and 1 set of stairs. And said he came up with 100 years and not 120. My stomach sunk and I became sick. I called and told Empire my story and they said, "Unfortunately we cannot give you a better price."

Well sorry Empire you just lost my sale, and the other friends and family that I will demand that they do not give Empire their business. I hope this review helps anyone looking for carpet because as of this moment October 2nd 2014 they have not made any attempt to earn my business.

Company Response 10/07/2014:

Hi Donnie, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We regret that your installation was not completed as initially scheduled, as we never want our customers to be inconvenienced. We understand that we've been in contact with you regarding your pricing concerns and are currently working towards a resolution. We will be following up with you shortly and you can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Not Worth the Cheap Price
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BERKELEY, CALIFORNIA -- The selection which to choose from is poor. The carpet is of poor quality, and for what you are getting the price is too high. There is no deal here, buyer beware. The service is not that good either. The salesperson asked for a cash tip in lieu of part of the cost to be charged.

The wait window is too open, from 8 in the morning to 6 at night. They call the day of the install with an approximate time your installer will come, but this too is very 'approximate' as my installers were two hours late. And you have to listen to a lot of whining. The sales guy is not going to make any money, the installers have too many jobs to do, blah, blah, blah. However, the installers did do a good job given what they had to work with. I needed new carpet, but I really wished I had waited till I could have afforded better. I will not do business with Empire again.

Company Response :

Anne Lisa, it's disappointing to know that you have not been satisfied with your product and the service you've received. We can assure you that we are committed to working with our customers until they are completely satisfied, and we would like to learn more about your concerns. A member of our customer service team will be contacting you shortly. If you have additional questions, you can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Terrible everything just don't buy their carpeting
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALBANY, NEW YORK -- I bought my carpet for them after pricing out quality and price from Home Depot and Lowe's. Empire seemed to offer better everything and a good price, they installed the carpet with the wrong pad. The carpet in the hallway was laughable bad. In one door transition they left a 2 inch gap between the bedroom carpet and the hall. The floor below was clearly visible!!! The stair was supposed to be wrapped with the end of the carpet. They stapled the carpet jaggedly cut to the rise of the stair! Empire was good about it and reinstalled the entire carpet with the correct pad.

Then I vacuum once and the seam that was NOT supposed to be in the hall has started to come up. I am still waiting for that carpet to be reinstalled. I called. They said "no problem we will take care of it." And no one has shown up or returned my calls. The carpet is not as good quality as I had thought either. After a month it no longer looks new nor nice. Just don't bother no matter how nice and friendly the sales people are, they are not. The sales guy who sold me the carpet wouldn't even return my calls!!!

Company Response 4/24/2012:

Jennifer, we're disappointed about the lack of follow up you've received. We are dedicated to customer satisfaction, and we want to work with you to make sure all your issues are resolved. A member of our customer service team will be following up with you soon to discuss your situation and make things right. If you have any questions, call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Lousy Carpet & Installation
By -

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- In March 2011, we foolishly hired Empire Today to install Laminate and Carpet in our home at a cost of over $11,000. Salesman stated Laminate must be installed before carpet and he schedules it accordingly. Laminate crew arrives and discovers that they do not have all the materials to do all the rooms paid for. Laminate crew chief returns 4 days later, which happened to be same day carpet scheduled for install, and completes Laminate job.

Carpet crew consisting of two men in shorts, flip flops, and undershirts arrive to install carpet in four rooms. They immediately yell at me because Laminate was installed first. I told him that is how salesman stated it MUST be done. They then complained about having to move furniture which they were required to do per our contract, and complained that job was going to take them longer than the 90 minutes they like to spend doing a job. They rolled out our carpet in the middle of the road and proceeded to cut the pieces.

I inspected each room upon completion and noticed the carpet was not tacked down in most rooms along the walls and none of the thresholds had been tucked in all four rooms. I complained to the I staplers and the told me it was supposed to look that way and it would probably work itself out over next 6-8 weeks. That has to be the dumbest thing I ever heard.

I called Empire Today in May 2011, to have someone come out and properly install the carpet. Have been getting the runaround for two weeks now. Finally got a day and time for someone to come out to fix, take off early to meet them for the 2:00 pm appointment, and they don't show up and don't call. I call them again, get on schedule for next day (June 3) same time, and as of 5:33 pm, no show and no call. I complained to corporate office, someone named **. She just said she would call me Monday, June 6 to see if they showed up.

We are SO SORRY we chose Empire Today. They advertise buy one room get rest free. It's NOT free. You only get material free, and have to pay out the ear for labor and installation. Carpet is of very poor quality and poorly installed. DO NOT purchase anything from Empire Today. They are a total nightmare and complete rip off.

Company Response 06/23/2011:

Michael, it's always our goal to make the installation process as convenient as possible for our customers and I'm sorry for the issues you've experienced. It's my understanding after working with our customer service team a few weeks ago, your repair was completed and that you're satisfied with the results. Please feel free to call me at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email me at customersupoprt@empiretoday.com if you have any further questions or concerns. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Reduced quote
By -

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- We had a sales representative come to our house. He was very nice. My first negative was when he started to bad mouth Home Depot and Lowe's. I can't stand when a salesman bad mouths another company. Well anyway I let it slide thinking he was proud of Empire. He measured and we looked at samples. I was not going to make a decision that day anyway - I just don't make decision that quick. Well when we got our quote it was over $8000 for about 2200 sq feet that was with the buy 1 room get the rest free.

When I told him my quote from Home Depot was approx. $6000 he immediately dropped his price to $6500. I said I wanted to find my Home Depot quote to be sure. He started pressuring me to buy - that he could have it installed on Monday today way Saturday. I told him I still needed to pack up my house - we had 2 floods in our house and it was basically a mess I wanted to go through everything myself to discard what I didn't want anymore. He became upset at that point but was still pleasant. But I was assured when I made my appointment that I would not have to make a decision on the spot.

We decided we would call Empire back if we wanted to use them. Still have not decided, but I figured the price would be a whole lot better than what they quoted. I don't think they actually give you the deal they advertise on TV. I expected the quote to be at least half of the Home Depot price.

Company Response 03/04/2011:

I came across your post and I'd like to see if there's an opportunity to follow back with you and about the concerns you've expressed. I can see you're still trying to decide about home improvements and I'd like to be able look up your account, so I can help you with information about your quote as well as answer any questions about our sales promotion. You can email your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x 4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

So sorry I used them
By -

I have an apt building and a professional friend told me how satisfied the owners of a bldg she managed were with a change to Pergo flooring. When I needed to replace carpeting I chose Empire because of the longevity of their product and the knowledge and professionalism of the salesman. The installation went smoothly and the look was high quality. 14 months later my very-careful tenant noticed 1 plank had bubbling, which looked like it was de-laminating.

I called the sales person, who was informative, but referred me to the general 800 number. I have had 4 calls from them-all non-productive and ignoring whatever I said. The last girl, **, called to reiterate wrong information (the 2nd time). I asked for a supervisor and she hung up on me. When I called the 800 number, a nice also-young girl said the minimum "I'm sorry" and tried to get a supervisor to the phone. She said he finally walked up to her but wouldn't pick up the phone. She also couldn't find **.

I spent twice as much $ thinking this product would be better quality and would last, and the company had been around for a long time. LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE.

Company Response 12/07/2010:

Pat, Thank you for bringing your laminate experience to our attention. We would like to speak with you regarding your concerns please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or 800 588-2300.

Insider knowledge to help you decide
By -

I worked in wholesale flooring for over 20 yrs so know a bit about about retailing and carpeting. First Empire works on one of the highest profit margins of any retailer I'm familiar with. While 40-60% may be reasonable with most stores Empire works on a 4-500% profit margin. Buying carpet cheap and selling it at greatly inflated prices is their model.

When you read the reviews of this company and someone is given a quote for $8000 then immediately offered a $2000 discount that should give you some sort of clue. Someone has to pay for non stop TV ads. Do you really think you pay for one room and get two free???: All the sales staff are not employees as Empire makes all 'employees' become independent contractors. They operate on a one stop close with high pressure and no time to make an informed decision. I ask you to consider shopping at a local retailer that will give you much better service and not that much of a mark up and deal with people you trust.

Company Response 11/12/2010:

We would like to speak with you regarding your concerns. If you are interested, I can be reached at customersupport@empiretoday.com or call 888-588-2315 x4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Top of Page | Next Page >
[ X ]

Find the Right Company for Your Home Improvement Project

Get a Quote