MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE -- First of all, the people that are suppose to help you are rude and uncaring. Half of the hardwood floors was installed on the 4th of Feb... Two rooms are being worked on, and we moved all the furniture to other rooms. One big mess.
It is now the 3rd of March and they have yet to finish the job. Both rooms are halfway done and we have received 5 emails giving us different dates of when they would return and finish. The second appointment they did not bother to call and let us know they would not be there, and that was a missed day of work for my husband.
We are still waiting on our floors to be finished. This not acceptable! I will be calling the Better Business and I am thinking of cancelling this contract and finding someone else! I'm sure there will be more lies coming my way from these people.
Hi James, we know it's frustrating that your installation was not completed as initially scheduled, but we can assure you that we are taking your concerns very seriously. We understand that we've been in contact with you about the situation, and we will continue to follow up with you until everything has been completed to your satisfaction. You can also reach us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager
INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I was real excited about having Empire to come out to my home to give me an estimate on laying new carpet on my floors. But I was just needing an estimate and the associate Damien ** Independent Contractor attempted to make me sign a contract. I advised him that I was just needing an estimate and I would get back with him. He was trying to loop me into signing something that made me obligated to the sell.
It was a horrible feeling and it reflects the company poorly. If older person would have signed the paperwork not know what he was doing. But I was well aware of his scam tactics and I was not going for it. I believe no one should be pressured to sign documents if they just want an estimate. To weigh their options. BAD BUSINESS.
Hi Leandra, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We can assure you that we never want our customers to feel pressured to purchase, and we regret that this was your experience. We would like to know more about your concerns, and we will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation. You can also reach us at email@example.com. Thank you.
DALLAS, TEXAS -- We moved into a new house about a year ago. The house had brand new carpet, but we prefer hard floors. No more than six months ago we had Empire come out and give us a quote as they had done our floors in our old house. We decided on hardwood and had it installed the next day.
A few weeks ago a TV tray left a small scratch that was deep enough to not be the same color as the flooring. I was surprised that the TV tray scratched the floor. Then a week ago, while closing the reclining part of the couch a very large gouge was left on the floor.
We called about it and were told that "Everything scratches...even diamonds scratch" and they were not going to warranty the floor! We paid $8,000 less than six months ago and they are telling us it is not covered? That decision solidifies my efforts to not only never use this company again, but tell everyone and anyone I know to choose a much more reputable company that values their customers and more importantly believes in their product enough to recognize this particular floor is inferior!
The last time we purchased a floor for our old house, they left us with some planks in case we needed them. This time they did not. I have a 3,200 sq ft house. They only did the first floor. I will call someone else for the second floor.
We've read your review, Nicole, and we regret that your product has not been meeting your expectations. We understand that we've been in contact with you about this issue, and we will continue to follow up with you to work towards a resolution. You can also reach us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Thank you. Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager
MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- I scheduled a free in home estimate with a 2 hour window for arrival. After waiting over 3 HOURS later, no phone call from Empire explaining why they are late. I called and they could not even find the salesman or explain why he is so late. An hour later Empire calls and said the salesperson could possibly be there in a half hour! "POSSIBLY"??? This was a SURE clue how they conduct business and I want NO part of dealing with a company that handles their customers this way.
Hi Christine, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we regret that you were inconvenienced by the missed sales appointment. We want to help make things right for you, and we will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation in more detail. You can also reach us at email@example.com. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- Go elsewhere for a midrange product or better that won't have the odor this product. It took weeks for the noxious odor to dissipate. $3000 was the cost for two bedrooms and hallway. It also took the two installers from noon to 8pm to complete the job. I took up the previous carpeting and there was only 4 pieces of bedroom furniture. The salesperson was pleasant, but the product is inferior. The fact that Empire never followed up to inquire on the product or installation speaks volumes. Empire knows it is sub par.
Hi Evelyn, we regret that your product has not been meeting your expectations, and we would like to know more about the issues you've been experiencing. We will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation in more detail and work towards a resolution. You can also reach us at firstname.lastname@example.org or 888-588-2315 x3555. Thank you. Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager
SHAME COMPANY, FLORIDA -- I decided to do laminated floors in two rooms. So the first thing the saleslady says when she walks in is "today is your lucky day because we have a 50/50/50 sale." She does all the measuring and it's about 350 sq ft. She sits down and comes up with a price of 4600$, I almost fell out of my chair. Then she goes with the 50/50/50 sale, we cut the 4600$ down to 2300$ like she's doing me the biggest favor in the world.
Then I showed her an estimate that I got the day before that was for 1045$ From US Wood Flooring here in South FL. I asked if she will match or beat that price. She put me on the phone with one of her bosses. He basically was trying to get me worried not to go with that product from that company. I've done plenty of home remodels and renovations in my life and the product from the cheaper price was better. Bottom line is that Empire Today overcharges people that don't know any better about cost of flooring.
Hi Lenny, thank you for bringing your pricing concerns to our attention. We'd like to know more about the situation, and we will be following up with you shortly. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email@example.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- Saw the catchy TV ad. Called to schedule free appointment. Appointment was set, then they inquired if all the decision makers could be at the appointment because they will be unable to leave any samples. Told them my wife would be there. At the appointment, they quoted three choices (that must have been all they had).
They measured the rooms and stairways and quoted enough sq ft to allow for over 20% scrap. I know because I measured precisely. They included 400 square feet for two carpeted stairways. By my measurement, the finished product on the stairs would have been 165 sq ft of carpeted surface. That comes out to 235 sq ft wasted, over 100% scrap on the stairs. That's the best their installers can do??
The sales representative left without a signed agreement. I called the Cust Svc number. I requested a copy of the contract that they prepared at the estimate. I requested the manufacturer name for the selected carpet style. I requested What is the carpet made of? I requested the Face Weight. I requested a copy of the manufacturer warranty and installation warranty. Guess what! That information cannot be presented in writing prior to completion of the installation and the Sales Rep should have discussed all of that at the estimate. I cannot see the contract unless I sign it first and wait for installation before I can have a copy.
Customer Svc can only provide the name of the Manufacturer (Mohawk). Any further information would have to come from the Sales Rep who does not return my calls. Well, this was the first company we approached for an estimate. We have seen enough to smell a rat. All I can say is do they really think they can sell me a "pig in a poke"? Ok the pig phrase is not a joke. Just go ask your oldest acquaintance what it means.
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we'd be happy to answer your questions about our products and warranties. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information in your post. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email your contact information to firstname.lastname@example.org, and we will follow up with you to learn more about the situation. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
PENNSYLVANIA -- I scheduled an in-home estimate through your website. The guy showed up at the scheduled time. He completed the measurements and grabbed samples out of his car. He had minimal samples to show. We selected a carpet style and a laminate style and then that's when your company began to failed us.... The guy that showed up had no markings on his car, no uniform, no business cards, nothing to tie him to your company. As he was going over the prices, they were double and triple over a competitor.
When I asked about the 2 specials you are running, he stated they only applied to select styles/products and stated he did not have the products with him and refused to show any idea what they looked like. This was a huge let down. Don't market a sale if you cannot actually deliver the product. He stated the quotes and then said he could "Call and get a lower price" but it needed to be a done deal at that moment. Unacceptable. He didn't have any paperwork that stated a real estimate or quote that could be backed by Empire. No other contractor works like that.
He refused to give us a business card because he "can't come back tomorrow." This feels unsafe. Why do you allow your contractors to do this? I will never buy anything from Empire and I will tell everyone I know to do the same. TERRIBLE BUSINESS PRACTICES!
Hi Ashlee, we regret that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations, and we can assure you that this is not the experience we expect for our customers. We understand that we've been in contact with you about this matter and that you have chosen to go with another company. We would still like the opportunity to know more about your concerns, and please don't hesitate to contact us if you would like to discuss this matter further. You can reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email@example.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
BETHLEHEM, PENNSYLVANIA -- All I can say is scam! Scam! Scam!!! We requested a free quote. Empire is having a 50% off installation and carpet installation for one bedroom. They told us that the price would be $3000 for the lowest grade of carpet.....umm REALLY? Then he tried to make us think we were getting a deal and said it would be 50 percent off of that so my new price is $1500. Now, I've gotten two other estimates and they were around $1,000 for my bedroom so Empire jacked up their price and then took 50 percent off of that. Totally dishonest and they have lost a customer!!!
Hi Nicole, we're disappointed that our pricing did not meet your expectations. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. We also offer a price match guarantee. We would like the opportunity to discuss your pricing concerns in more detail and better explain the current promotion. We cannot locate your account with the information posted here, but if you call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email firstname.lastname@example.org, we will follow up with you as soon as possible. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- Do not use this company... They do not honor their contracts. I was informed in 2008 when they sent a sale representative to my home to recruit for a new bathroom makeover. At the time I was informed that if I went with the company the items would be lifetime. I contacted the company in regards to replacing the shower door handle that had broken off causing the door to fall and glass to break. I was informed by representative ** that because the company no longer uses the products they used in 2008 that I was just plain out of luck.
Unbelievable. Do no use this company... They do not honor the lifetime contracts!!!!! Scam only to recruit then you are on your own if anything happens!!! Worse company I have ever dealt with when it comes to lifetime warranty (a joke).
Hi Angela, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We understand that we've been in contact about this matter, and we will be following up again shortly to review the situation in more detail and work towards a resolution. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email@example.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager