Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Today - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 83 ratings and
116 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, IL 60014
800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empiretoday.com
customersupport@empiretoday.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Flooring Charges
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTHLAKE, ILLINOIS -- My original contract is not broken down into different orders for the type of work being performed. The process of payments seems not to be a seamless situation. Of course with a change to this order really confused all parties involved with multiple contractors showing up without the correct information or correct materials and me being charged a lot more than originally quoted. With a call to customer service to no avail of course, I am very dissatisfied with this process. Why do I get three different COD charges for one original order? NEVER WILL I USE OR RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE.

Company Response 11/02/2017:

Dear Customer,
We're disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can further assist you.
Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Quality Carpet and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LINCOLNSHIRE, ILLINOIS -- One year ago (September 2016) we had carpet installed and for about a month or so we were happy and then we noticed the loops in our Berber carpet were pulling out and the surface looked "frizzy". Someone from customer service came out, took pictures, told us this was a manufacturer's defect and they would re-carpet everything - start over with salesman and choose something else.

It was now too close to the holidays so the salesman agreed to wait until January after decorations were down. He came out, we chose an "upgraded Berber" that was nearly identical to the original carpet. We agreed on a date for installation (February 20, 2017) and here we are again... months later unhappy with backing pulling up through the carpet, loops pulling out and the beginnings of that "frizzy look". I have been phoning daily and cannot seem to get a phone call back from anyone to even have someone come out and look at the carpet.

I even contacted our salesman and he said there is nothing he could do to help me. The customer service personnel who answer initially have been wonderful; but I can't get past them. I am completely frustrated with Empire! In addition to the great amount of money spent, we have hours of time spent making phone calls and home from work two days for installation... two days taken from actual vacation time with family. FRUSTRATED and would definitely not recommend anyone to consider using Empire.

Company Response 09/28/2017:

Deanna,
We're disappointed to hear that your carpet is not meeting your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we'll be in contact with you soon to further address your concerns.
Thank you.

Replies
Beware Doing Business With Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRESNO, CALIFORNIA -- We had them come out to measure for two rooms of carpet under their 50/50/50 sale. We selected two carpets and signed a contract to install. That very day we saw an ad at a local warehouse that would be 50% less money for a better grade carpet and pad. We immediately followed the terms of the contract and canceled. Even though we were given a cancellation number by phone, we mailed the cancellation as instructed per the agreement on the same day of purchase.

About a week later, I called regarding the return of the deposit to my credit card and was told I would have to wait 10 business days from the date of the cancellation. A few days later a sales representative called and offered us the carpet at a reduced price which was still more than the better grade carpet we could buy. We declined the offer.

After 10 business days, still no credit to my credit card of the deposit so I called again and was told the cancellation date was after the sales representative made her final pitch to us and we would have to wait 10 business days from that! The cancellation reference number was issued to me 10 days before the sales representative called me and we could find no reference in the contract to a last ditch sales effort to determine a cancellation. What a racket to use my money. They bought a lot of bad feelings for small amount of money. Wouldn't it just be better to do the upfront thing and honor the contract and return the money?

Company Response 06/21/2017:

Dear Bill,
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We'd like to address your concerns, but are unable to locate your account with the information provided. Please email your account and contact information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can follow up with you.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
Horrible Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NEW JERSEY, NEW JERSEY -- I placed an order for laminate flooring for my basement with Empire. We were set to go until the day of install. Where the installers weren't able to install laminate flooring due to humidity in the basement. (Wish the salesperson told me that from the beginning.) Right there was a waste of my time and day off from work. Then I decided to go with carpet in the basement due to humidity.

They come the following week, take off 3 doors and don't bother to put it back. The installer tells me that they don't put back doors. B/c the carpet is high they're unable to re-install it. (The installer told me this after the fact.) On top of that they broke one of my doors and denied it. I followed up with Kathy ** from customer service and she said that Empire does not make any door alterations. I need to hire a handyman to cut and re-install at my expense. They will reimburse me for the broken one. I will never, never order from Empire again.

Company Response 03/13/2017:

Dear Jose,
Our goal is for our customers to have a great experience from start to finish - and we're sorry that didn't happen. We will be following up with you shortly to discuss your concerns further.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH CAROLINA -- I do not recommend this company. My experience has been a nightmare. My installation was schedule more than a week in advance. Received e-mail confirmation for installation the day before. From there it has been downhill. On day of scheduled installation the installers did not call to confirm the installation or confirm a time. Got an electronic call at 12:00 noon stating installation would be in afternoon.

After sitting at home waiting all day, at 5:20 in afternoon I started calling to see if they were coming. Customer service finally, after 3 calls told me they had gotten in touch with the installer and they were an hour away and could be here between 8:00 pm and 9:00 pm that night. I said, no, they could not come that late.

I started calling again the next morning and was told that it would be another week before they could reschedule me. My house was in an absolutely mess from making preparations for them. I had cleaned out all the closets, all the books from the wall unit, all pictures off the wall, removed all small furnishings... done everything I was told to make it easier for them and now I'm suppose to wait another week with my house upside down because of their poor scheduling.

This is a poorly managed company and I would never recommend them to anyone. They will keep reducing the price until they sell you something, RED FLAG, remember You get what you pay for! Cheaper is not always better. This company does not care about the customer... only the fast $. I canceled order but have no confidence I will get my $600 down payment back without a fight!

Company Response 03/13/2017:

Dear Customer,
It's disappointing that you weren't happy with your installation experience. We'd like to speak with you more to better understand what happened. However, we aren't able to look up your account with the information provided. Please send us your account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can further assist you.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
Waste of Time
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- What a waste of time. Of course their "50/50" deal only applied to certain products. All we wanted was to pick out flooring, get a price and get on with our night. The salesman called his boss to get us a "good deal". It was more than we wanted to pay, but we were willing to go with it. But first we had to sit through his life story. He did the typical salesman tricks trying to Win over the wife (me) and seal the deal. He took up a couple hours of our time talking about himself. What he failed to do was his job. He never checked the flooring under our carpet.

When the installers came out that was the first thing they did. They told us they were certain our tile was asbestos and because of that we couldn't get the hardwood we had picked because it would have to be nailed in. You can't do that with asbestos. If he had done his job we would have picked out another flooring right then and there, but instead they have lost a sale.

Just out of curiosity we asked the installers to measure. The salesman hadn't even gotten the measurements right. They would not have had enough flooring to complete the job. I wasted two vacation days on these people. They have since contacted me three times. The second time I asked them not to contact me again or I would post this information online... So here I am. Moral of the story DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH EMPIRE.

Company Response 01/02/2017:

Dear Customer,
We would like to know more about your concerns and help make things right for you. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please email your concerns along with your account and contact information to customersupport@empire-today.com and mention my3cents in the subject line so that we can follow up with you.
Thank you.

Replies
Empire Carpet: Bait and Switch.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- I'm very unhappy with my Empire carpet and the customer service. I was told by Deb that I have to prove several carpet cleanings before she will allow someone to come to my home to assess the poor quality, matting, crushing on this carpet. In May 2015, I bought "nicer" carpeting per the sales person, "since I had a nicer home". We were preparing to move in a week. We had a carpet purchased for the stairs going from second floor to the basement and the upstairs hallway. We ended up moving back in Oct. 2015. Over the course of living in the home again I realized just how poor quality the carpet AND the padding were compared to the other, older carpeting in my home.

I've been getting ignored by customer services. I'm told they are leaving a message for the representative, or "they called you yesterday" which they had not called at all. My iPhone keeps a log of all calls. I paid $3000 and want a refund or want new carpeting and a better carpet pad. I feel as though I was duped by the salesperson and received the "moving special" i.e. pay more for carpeting and receive poor quality. Feel free to contact me. Thank you.

Company Response 12/08/2016:

Dear Customer,
Your concerns are important to us and we would like to follow up with you to learn more about your experience. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate your account with the information provided. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can further assist you.
Thank you.

Replies
Installers Refused to Tear Up Old Carpet
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- On the day of our install for carpet in 3 bedrooms, the hallway and two sets of stairs the installers show up at 2:30. They walk through, take the carpet out of the truck and ask to use our garage to cut the carpet. We tell them sorry but it's full of our furniture. They ask for payment and we tell them we will pay half up front and half when they are done. We wanted to make sure they did not rush through the job at the end of the day.

While my husband is on the phone with customer service, the installers leave. We called to find out why we were told they did not want to have to take away a portion of the carpet that had severe pet stains, we explained we would be happy to dispose of that portion if they were concerned but was told they have a right to refuse. However that is nowhere in the contract. I called and told them I need someone out the next day and they told me they had to see if anyone was willing to do it. Really???

I have all my furniture in the garage, three weeks until the holidays, a back procedure next week and I need someone out here tomorrow. We are working on it. No resolution yet but I can assure you they are in for a fight with me if this does not happen.

Company Response 12/06/2016:

Dear Carolyn,
We are disappointed to know that your experience was not a great one. We understand that you have decided to cancel your order. If you continue to have questions and/or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empire-today.com.
Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Shoddy Install of Hardwood Floors
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MARYLAND, MARYLAND -- $16,000 job looks like children did it. Gaps between the wood that they filled with tacky putty. Two days off work for the repair shot to heck. This guy tells me that this installer always does bad work. Funny, his work is just as tacky. We work hard and 16k is an investment. Don't expect to be taken advantage of. Corporate office useless.

Company Response 08/10/2017:

It's regrettable that you weren't satisfied with your installation. We want to know more about the issues you've experienced, so we can work with you towards a resolution. We've been unable to locate your account with the information provided here. If you could, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com so we may reach out to you and begin working towards a resolution together.

Replies
Carpet And Laminate Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHVILLE,TN -- My wife and I are currently dealing with Empire. It is slowly turning into a nightmare. We did our due diligence and had three estimates done for flooring. My wife at the time of the estimates was eight months pregnant. The sales representative from Empire came out. He was a pretty nice guy. Did his song and dance and we told him our problems. We needed carpet in two bedrooms and laminate in our kitchen and living room. The problem is our living room is not level and is off as much as an inch in some areas, we told our representative that and he was completely aware of the problem. He sold us what I will assume is good carpet and a nice laminate.

Fast forward two weeks to install. The carpet was to be installed Tuesday and the laminate on Thursday. Empire called to confirm our appointment on Tuesday only to cancel it the day of install and they want to come Wednesday. Great, we had set up all of our dr. appointments for Wednesday so now we are scrambling to figure out what to do.

I called customer service and stayed on hold well over an hour and only made headway when I mentioned they had breached their own contract by not installing when they said they would. They ended up giving us a discount that covered my day's wages as that is what I would lose if I had to stay home for them. The install crew was awesome! Very courteous and quick. The carpet looks great. You have to remember they are contractors not really part of the company.

Now for the laminate. Install was supposed to be there between 8-10. They didn't show up until 4:30, as if they were going to get anything done. Then the install leader tells my wife he can't install the type of laminate we selected that it will crack because of the uneven floors.

Wait a minute??? That's what we told the rep? Then our installer tells us of a cheaper material that could be used LPV. He calls the install manager who has someone bring out a book of choices for us and they say "if you pick one today we may be able to install on Saturday." My wife picked one out and that was the last we heard from anyone for two days. No one would answer their phones. I called customer service and they couldn't reach anyone as well. Now I'm getting mad. They have a $900 deposit for a floor that salesman sold me that won't work. Now I feel like I've been had.

Yesterday sales representative calls and says he will be out tomorrow to see what we can do. My wife is now almost due and we were ensured this would be done within two weeks let alone a month. Today my wife got three call attempting to confirm Monday as an install day. To install what??? We haven't picked anything new out? I'm wondering if they are just going to send out another install team that doesn't care to attempt to install. I guess I will find out if the sales representative shows up tomorrow.

At this point Empire has violated their own contract and it's getting old. Their customer service is the absolute worst I have ever dealt with. I should have known something was up when there was only one number you can call. And they will never transfer you to a supervisor. Bad business if you ask me. I have never treated a customer the way they have treated me and my wife. I will keep this thread updated as things go along.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >