Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Today - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 75 ratings and
108 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, IL 60014
800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empiretoday.com
customersupport@empiretoday.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NEW JERSEY, NEW JERSEY -- I placed an order for laminate flooring for my basement with Empire. We were set to go until the day of install. Where the installers weren't able to install laminate flooring due to humidity in the basement. (Wish the salesperson told me that from the beginning.) Right there was a waste of my time and day off from work. Then I decided to go with carpet in the basement due to humidity.

They come the following week, take off 3 doors and don't bother to put it back. The installer tells me that they don't put back doors. B/c the carpet is high they're unable to re-install it. (The installer told me this after the fact.) On top of that they broke one of my doors and denied it. I followed up with Kathy ** from customer service and she said that Empire does not make any door alterations. I need to hire a handyman to cut and re-install at my expense. They will reimburse me for the broken one. I will never, never order from Empire again.

Company Response 03/13/2017:

Dear Jose,
Our goal is for our customers to have a great experience from start to finish - and we're sorry that didn't happen. We will be following up with you shortly to discuss your concerns further.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH CAROLINA -- I do not recommend this company. My experience has been a nightmare. My installation was schedule more than a week in advance. Received e-mail confirmation for installation the day before. From there it has been downhill. On day of scheduled installation the installers did not call to confirm the installation or confirm a time. Got an electronic call at 12:00 noon stating installation would be in afternoon.

After sitting at home waiting all day, at 5:20 in afternoon I started calling to see if they were coming. Customer service finally, after 3 calls told me they had gotten in touch with the installer and they were an hour away and could be here between 8:00 pm and 9:00 pm that night. I said, no, they could not come that late.

I started calling again the next morning and was told that it would be another week before they could reschedule me. My house was in an absolutely mess from making preparations for them. I had cleaned out all the closets, all the books from the wall unit, all pictures off the wall, removed all small furnishings... done everything I was told to make it easier for them and now I'm suppose to wait another week with my house upside down because of their poor scheduling.

This is a poorly managed company and I would never recommend them to anyone. They will keep reducing the price until they sell you something, RED FLAG, remember You get what you pay for! Cheaper is not always better. This company does not care about the customer... only the fast $. I canceled order but have no confidence I will get my $600 down payment back without a fight!

Company Response 03/13/2017:

Dear Customer,
It's disappointing that you weren't happy with your installation experience. We'd like to speak with you more to better understand what happened. However, we aren't able to look up your account with the information provided. Please send us your account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can further assist you.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
Waste of Time
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- What a waste of time. Of course their "50/50" deal only applied to certain products. All we wanted was to pick out flooring, get a price and get on with our night. The salesman called his boss to get us a "good deal". It was more than we wanted to pay, but we were willing to go with it. But first we had to sit through his life story. He did the typical salesman tricks trying to Win over the wife (me) and seal the deal. He took up a couple hours of our time talking about himself. What he failed to do was his job. He never checked the flooring under our carpet.

When the installers came out that was the first thing they did. They told us they were certain our tile was asbestos and because of that we couldn't get the hardwood we had picked because it would have to be nailed in. You can't do that with asbestos. If he had done his job we would have picked out another flooring right then and there, but instead they have lost a sale.

Just out of curiosity we asked the installers to measure. The salesman hadn't even gotten the measurements right. They would not have had enough flooring to complete the job. I wasted two vacation days on these people. They have since contacted me three times. The second time I asked them not to contact me again or I would post this information online... So here I am. Moral of the story DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH EMPIRE.

Company Response 01/02/2017:

Dear Customer,
We would like to know more about your concerns and help make things right for you. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please email your concerns along with your account and contact information to customersupport@empire-today.com and mention my3cents in the subject line so that we can follow up with you.
Thank you.

Replies
Empire Carpet: Bait and Switch.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- I'm very unhappy with my Empire carpet and the customer service. I was told by Deb that I have to prove several carpet cleanings before she will allow someone to come to my home to assess the poor quality, matting, crushing on this carpet. In May 2015, I bought "nicer" carpeting per the sales person, "since I had a nicer home". We were preparing to move in a week. We had a carpet purchased for the stairs going from second floor to the basement and the upstairs hallway. We ended up moving back in Oct. 2015. Over the course of living in the home again I realized just how poor quality the carpet AND the padding were compared to the other, older carpeting in my home.

I've been getting ignored by customer services. I'm told they are leaving a message for the representative, or "they called you yesterday" which they had not called at all. My iPhone keeps a log of all calls. I paid $3000 and want a refund or want new carpeting and a better carpet pad. I feel as though I was duped by the salesperson and received the "moving special" i.e. pay more for carpeting and receive poor quality. Feel free to contact me. Thank you.

Company Response 12/08/2016:

Dear Customer,
Your concerns are important to us and we would like to follow up with you to learn more about your experience. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate your account with the information provided. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can further assist you.
Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Installers Refused to Tear Up Old Carpet
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- On the day of our install for carpet in 3 bedrooms, the hallway and two sets of stairs the installers show up at 2:30. They walk through, take the carpet out of the truck and ask to use our garage to cut the carpet. We tell them sorry but it's full of our furniture. They ask for payment and we tell them we will pay half up front and half when they are done. We wanted to make sure they did not rush through the job at the end of the day.

While my husband is on the phone with customer service, the installers leave. We called to find out why we were told they did not want to have to take away a portion of the carpet that had severe pet stains, we explained we would be happy to dispose of that portion if they were concerned but was told they have a right to refuse. However that is nowhere in the contract. I called and told them I need someone out the next day and they told me they had to see if anyone was willing to do it. Really???

I have all my furniture in the garage, three weeks until the holidays, a back procedure next week and I need someone out here tomorrow. We are working on it. No resolution yet but I can assure you they are in for a fight with me if this does not happen.

Company Response 12/06/2016:

Dear Carolyn,
We are disappointed to know that your experience was not a great one. We understand that you have decided to cancel your order. If you continue to have questions and/or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empire-today.com.
Thank you.

Replies
Poor Quality and Even Worse Communication.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SCHENECTADY, NEW YORK -- We had almost our entire house replaced with new carpet and laminate flooring in December 2015. Only one month after installation, the entire upstairs carpet started falling apart and the laminate floor in the dining room broke apart. It took several months for Empire to respond to our situation. After 8 months of poor communication, Empire would not honor a half refund for flooring that has a 10 year warranty.

To this day Empire insists on replacing the defective carpet. With the very poor communication and lack of understanding by Empire Today, the last thing we want is another round of carpet and flooring with them. It is very sad that a 10 year warranty carpet can fall apart after only one month and Empire Today refuses to consider half a refund.

Company Response 10/21/2016:

Dear Scott,

Thank you for making us aware of this situation. We never want our customers to be disappointed in the quality of our products, and will follow up with you shortly to discuss your concerns.

Replies
Horrible, Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRENTWOOD, TENNESSEE -- Had an Empire sales representative come out to house to quote carpet installation. Ended up signing a contract to have installed in 3 weeks. Customer service called the week before to confirm our appointment. We moved everything out of our kids' rooms along with the office.

Morning of installation we receive a call that says they are short installers and cannot make it out for another 3 weeks. Told them how unacceptable and unprofessional this was and they needed to have someone out within 3 days because our house is going on the market the following week, not to mention we rearranged our schedules to be off work and board our dog. They said they couldn't and we would have to take the appointment that was in 3 weeks or they couldn't come until November. This is a terrible company to do business with and would never recommend them to anyone.

Company Response 10/04/2016:

Dear Amy,
We regret to hear that you were inconvenienced by a delay in your installation. We assure you that concerns are important to us, and we want to help. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate your account with the information provided. Please email your concerns along with your contact and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com so that we can further assist, and mention my3cents in the subject line.
Thank you.

Replies
Hardwood Floor Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- We called Empire Today to have hardwood floors installed in the kitchen and hallway. First the saleslady tried to sell us the floor for $11,000.00. I told her that was too much money. She lowered the price to $5,200.00. I asked the saleslady several times if the hardwood needed to sit in my house and acclimate to the temperature and humidity in my house. She repeatedly said no. After the floor was installed, I found out that I was right that the floor needed to sit in my house for a few days.

The installers came and installed the floor but left damage everywhere in my house and on the new hardwood. Nail holes, dents and scratches throughout the hardwood floor. They ruined my banister and tried to hide the damage by gluing the wood back on. They tried nailing 3/4 trim on while they were specifically told we wanted 1/2 trim. They ripped and chipped the wood under my kitchen cabinets. The hardwood has huge gaps between each plank!
We called Empire Today's office several times for the past several weeks. We want Empire to take out the floor and return our money. They won't do it so we are forced to hire an attorney.

Company Response 10/03/2016:

Dear Christine,
Your satisfaction is important to us and we regret to hear about your experience. We assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously and we'll be in contact with you soon to discuss your concerns in more detail.
Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Carpet
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH BRANCH, MINNESOTA -- I could not be more dissatisfied with the carpet I purchased and the lack of customer service. I had four bedrooms a hallway, and a living room carpeted after 17 years from building our home. The carpet looked good on the little square sample and I was told how pet-friendly it was so I made over a 5,000 purchase.

Within six months I could see little snags in the carpet some of which I had to cut. Well, one day I was vacuuming and zoom, the vacuum caught a snag and now I have over a two foot run in the hallway carpet. I finally got someone out to inspect it and was told I would hear something in a week.

After two weeks went by I finally got a call from the inspector saying the carpet was fine and that it appeared to be something on-site causing the snags. The guess was the dog's nails. Funny I never had a snag in my 17 year old carpet and have always had dogs. I was told that the general manager would contact me and we could work out a discounted price to have it replaced. Yep, surprised, I had to repeatedly call before I was finally given the general manager's name and direct number.

Over the past two weeks I have left two messages for him and have yet to get a return phone call. I will never recommend this company to anyone and more than likely will have to go to the BBB to get any action. By the way, once the carpet was installed I have never seen anything look so incredibly cheap!!

Company Response 08/29/2016:

Dear Customer,
Your satisfaction is important to us and we regret to hear that your product is not meeting your expectations. We will be in contact with you to start working towards a solution.
Thank you.

Replies
Carpet Ok, but Customer Service Extremely Poor
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BAHAMA, NORTH CAROLINA -- We did not have any problems with installation of carpet and so far, after 8 months, everything seems to be fine. My complaint is that a big deal was made about their referral reward system, but when I did follow through and refer a friend to our salesperson and she bought and installed carpet because of that referral. Empire Today refused to honor their $100 gift card reward for referral promise. I spoke with customer service three times who insisted that I had to fill out some online form before her actual installation, but after her purchase. I don't know how I was supposed to know this since no one from the company contacted me to tell me this.

I spoke directly to the sales person, who agreed that I was owed the referral reward and that customer service was incorrect -- the online form was supposed to be filled out AFTER installation. However, I was still not instructed on how to do this. I called again and customer service promised someone would be in touch, but no one ever called me again. It's only a $100, but I just felt like the whole thing was very sleazy and left me with a very bad impression of the company since they would go so far to resist following through with their referral promise -- especially since it is only a $100 and my referral led to a $6000+ job for them.

Company Response 08/29/2016:

Dear Susan,
We regret to hear that you have yet to receive your referral gift. We appreciate you making us aware of your concerns, and we'll be in contact with you once we investigate further into this matter.
Thank you for your patience.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >