Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Today - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 52 ratings and
85 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, IL 60014
800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empiretoday.com
customersupport@empiretoday.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Installation Sloppy and Not as Promised
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

UNION, NEW JERSEY -- At time of sale we were given the option of moldings. The molding we requested was not given at time of installation and we settled for quarter-inch molding which we didn't want in the first place. The installers had quarter-inch molding on the paperwork and had nothing else in their truck and their paperwork said quarter-inch molding but the paperwork that we signed did not. The quarter-inch molding was of a cheap material and the cutting of it sloppy.

My husband is taking it up and in doing so has discovered just how sloppy the laying of the flooring is with uneven gaps along the borders making us have to cover these gaps up with molding that we do not care for. The installers seemed nice but one spoke no English at all and the other very little making it hard to communicate with. They had no warranty or care information with them as well. The product itself (laminate) is beautiful however the sloppy job overshadows it.

Company Response 04/11/2016:

We appreciate you letting us be aware of your experience. We are unable to locate your account. Please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com, so we can address your concerns. Thank you.
-Empire Customer Support

Replies
Advertisement
Still Waiting on Empire Today to Finish Our Floor. Half Done on Feb. the 3rd... It Is Now March 22!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Horrible service. EMPIRE TODAY is HORRIBLE. First of all, the people that are suppose to help you are rude and uncaring. Half of the hardwood floors was installed on the 4th of Feb... Two rooms are being worked on, and we moved all the furniture to other rooms. One big mess. It is now the 3rd of March and they have yet to finish the job. Both rooms are halfway done and we have received 5 emails giving us different dates of when they would return and finish. The second appointment they did not bother to call and let us know they would not be there, and that was a missed day of work for my husband.

We are still waiting on our floors to be finished. This not acceptable! I will be calling the Better Business and I am thinking of cancelling this contract and finding someone else! I'm sure there will be more lies coming my way from these people.

Company response 03/03/2016: "Hi James, we know it's frustrating that your installation was not completed as initially scheduled, but we can assure you that we are taking your concerns very seriously. We understand that we've been in contact with you about the situation, and we will continue to follow up with you until everything has been completed to your satisfaction. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Bill **, National Customer Service Manager". Attention Bill **: It is now March 22,2016 and we are still waiting for you to finish putting our floors down... What will it take for our floors to be finished?

Company Response 03/24/2016:

Hi James, we regret the delay in completing your installation. We understand that we've spoken with you and scheduled the installation for next week. We want to make this right for you, and please don't hesitate to contact us with any additional questions or concerns. Thank you.

Replies
Still No Baseboards
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- We ordered carpet and baseboards for three rooms in our house. The carpet was installed 2 weeks later at which time we were informed that the baseboards had not been ordered yet, therefore would be installed at a later date. The woman I spoke with told me she would order them that day and that they should be in and installed in 10 days to two weeks. I waited the two weeks before calling to find out when they would be over to install the baseboards and a very rude person hung up on me.

Since then I have been calling several times a week and every time I call I am told someone they can see on their computer that I have called several times and they will try to get someone to resolve the issue. So far no one has called me back even once. Each time I call, the customer service representative apologizes and promises they will leave a message with management and I should get a call back within 24 hours. Still no callback. I am ready to sue.

Company Response 03/24/2016:

Hi Barbara, the lack of follow up you've received is disappointing, and we can assure you that we are taking your concerns seriously. We will be contacting you shortly to discuss completing your installation, as well as any other questions or concerns you may have. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Horrible Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE -- First of all, the people that are suppose to help you are rude and uncaring. Half of the hardwood floors was installed on the 4th of Feb... Two rooms are being worked on, and we moved all the furniture to other rooms. One big mess.

It is now the 3rd of March and they have yet to finish the job. Both rooms are halfway done and we have received 5 emails giving us different dates of when they would return and finish. The second appointment they did not bother to call and let us know they would not be there, and that was a missed day of work for my husband.

We are still waiting on our floors to be finished. This not acceptable! I will be calling the Better Business and I am thinking of cancelling this contract and finding someone else! I'm sure there will be more lies coming my way from these people.

Company Response 03/03/2016:

Hi James, we know it's frustrating that your installation was not completed as initially scheduled, but we can assure you that we are taking your concerns very seriously. We understand that we've been in contact with you about the situation, and we will continue to follow up with you until everything has been completed to your satisfaction. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
The Worst Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I was real excited about having Empire to come out to my home to give me an estimate on laying new carpet on my floors. But I was just needing an estimate and the associate Damien ** Independent Contractor attempted to make me sign a contract. I advised him that I was just needing an estimate and I would get back with him. He was trying to loop me into signing something that made me obligated to the sell.

It was a horrible feeling and it reflects the company poorly. If older person would have signed the paperwork not know what he was doing. But I was well aware of his scam tactics and I was not going for it. I believe no one should be pressured to sign documents if they just want an estimate. To weigh their options. BAD BUSINESS.

Company Response 01/27/2016:

Hi Leandra, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We can assure you that we never want our customers to feel pressured to purchase, and we regret that this was your experience. We would like to know more about your concerns, and we will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.

Replies
Poor Service After the Sale and Substandard Products
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- We moved into a new house about a year ago. The house had brand new carpet, but we prefer hard floors. No more than six months ago we had Empire come out and give us a quote as they had done our floors in our old house. We decided on hardwood and had it installed the next day.

A few weeks ago a TV tray left a small scratch that was deep enough to not be the same color as the flooring. I was surprised that the TV tray scratched the floor. Then a week ago, while closing the reclining part of the couch a very large gouge was left on the floor.

We called about it and were told that "Everything scratches...even diamonds scratch" and they were not going to warranty the floor! We paid $8,000 less than six months ago and they are telling us it is not covered? That decision solidifies my efforts to not only never use this company again, but tell everyone and anyone I know to choose a much more reputable company that values their customers and more importantly believes in their product enough to recognize this particular floor is inferior!

The last time we purchased a floor for our old house, they left us with some planks in case we needed them. This time they did not. I have a 3,200 sq ft house. They only did the first floor. I will call someone else for the second floor.

Company Response 09/21/2015:

We've read your review, Nicole, and we regret that your product has not been meeting your expectations. We understand that we've been in contact with you about this issue, and we will continue to follow up with you to work towards a resolution. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager

Replies
2 No Shows for Estimate
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANFORD, NORTH CAROLINA -- Twice I cleared my schedule and Empire was a no show. Repeatedly requested corporate office number to contact and complain. Could not receive number.

Replies
Couldn't Even Get Past Free Estimate!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- I scheduled a free in home estimate with a 2 hour window for arrival. After waiting over 3 HOURS later, no phone call from Empire explaining why they are late. I called and they could not even find the salesman or explain why he is so late. An hour later Empire calls and said the salesperson could possibly be there in a half hour! "POSSIBLY"??? This was a SURE clue how they conduct business and I want NO part of dealing with a company that handles their customers this way.

Company Response 11/03/2015:

Hi Christine, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we regret that you were inconvenienced by the missed sales appointment. We want to help make things right for you, and we will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation in more detail. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Take Your Time Looking and Go Elsewhere
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- Go elsewhere for a midrange product or better that won't have the odor this product. It took weeks for the noxious odor to dissipate. $3000 was the cost for two bedrooms and hallway. It also took the two installers from noon to 8pm to complete the job. I took up the previous carpeting and there was only 4 pieces of bedroom furniture. The salesperson was pleasant, but the product is inferior. The fact that Empire never followed up to inquire on the product or installation speaks volumes. Empire knows it is sub par.

Company Response 08/10/2015:

Hi Evelyn, we regret that your product has not been meeting your expectations, and we would like to know more about the issues you've been experiencing. We will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation in more detail and work towards a resolution. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com or 888-588-2315 x3555. Thank you. Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager

Replies
A Company That Rips People Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SHAME COMPANY, FLORIDA -- I decided to do laminated floors in two rooms. So the first thing the saleslady says when she walks in is "today is your lucky day because we have a 50/50/50 sale." She does all the measuring and it's about 350 sq ft. She sits down and comes up with a price of 4600$, I almost fell out of my chair. Then she goes with the 50/50/50 sale, we cut the 4600$ down to 2300$ like she's doing me the biggest favor in the world.

Then I showed her an estimate that I got the day before that was for 1045$ From US Wood Flooring here in South FL. I asked if she will match or beat that price. She put me on the phone with one of her bosses. He basically was trying to get me worried not to go with that product from that company. I've done plenty of home remodels and renovations in my life and the product from the cheaper price was better. Bottom line is that Empire Today overcharges people that don't know any better about cost of flooring.

Company Response 09/25/2014:

Hi Lenny, thank you for bringing your pricing concerns to our attention. We'd like to know more about the situation, and we will be following up with you shortly. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >