Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Today - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 80 ratings and
113 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, IL 60014
800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empiretoday.com
customersupport@empiretoday.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NEW JERSEY, NEW JERSEY -- I placed an order for laminate flooring for my basement with Empire. We were set to go until the day of install. Where the installers weren't able to install laminate flooring due to humidity in the basement. (Wish the salesperson told me that from the beginning.) Right there was a waste of my time and day off from work. Then I decided to go with carpet in the basement due to humidity.

They come the following week, take off 3 doors and don't bother to put it back. The installer tells me that they don't put back doors. B/c the carpet is high they're unable to re-install it. (The installer told me this after the fact.) On top of that they broke one of my doors and denied it. I followed up with Kathy ** from customer service and she said that Empire does not make any door alterations. I need to hire a handyman to cut and re-install at my expense. They will reimburse me for the broken one. I will never, never order from Empire again.

Company Response 03/13/2017:

Dear Jose,
Our goal is for our customers to have a great experience from start to finish - and we're sorry that didn't happen. We will be following up with you shortly to discuss your concerns further.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH CAROLINA -- I do not recommend this company. My experience has been a nightmare. My installation was schedule more than a week in advance. Received e-mail confirmation for installation the day before. From there it has been downhill. On day of scheduled installation the installers did not call to confirm the installation or confirm a time. Got an electronic call at 12:00 noon stating installation would be in afternoon.

After sitting at home waiting all day, at 5:20 in afternoon I started calling to see if they were coming. Customer service finally, after 3 calls told me they had gotten in touch with the installer and they were an hour away and could be here between 8:00 pm and 9:00 pm that night. I said, no, they could not come that late.

I started calling again the next morning and was told that it would be another week before they could reschedule me. My house was in an absolutely mess from making preparations for them. I had cleaned out all the closets, all the books from the wall unit, all pictures off the wall, removed all small furnishings... done everything I was told to make it easier for them and now I'm suppose to wait another week with my house upside down because of their poor scheduling.

This is a poorly managed company and I would never recommend them to anyone. They will keep reducing the price until they sell you something, RED FLAG, remember You get what you pay for! Cheaper is not always better. This company does not care about the customer... only the fast $. I canceled order but have no confidence I will get my $600 down payment back without a fight!

Company Response 03/13/2017:

Dear Customer,
It's disappointing that you weren't happy with your installation experience. We'd like to speak with you more to better understand what happened. However, we aren't able to look up your account with the information provided. Please send us your account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can further assist you.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
Waste of Time
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- What a waste of time. Of course their "50/50" deal only applied to certain products. All we wanted was to pick out flooring, get a price and get on with our night. The salesman called his boss to get us a "good deal". It was more than we wanted to pay, but we were willing to go with it. But first we had to sit through his life story. He did the typical salesman tricks trying to Win over the wife (me) and seal the deal. He took up a couple hours of our time talking about himself. What he failed to do was his job. He never checked the flooring under our carpet.

When the installers came out that was the first thing they did. They told us they were certain our tile was asbestos and because of that we couldn't get the hardwood we had picked because it would have to be nailed in. You can't do that with asbestos. If he had done his job we would have picked out another flooring right then and there, but instead they have lost a sale.

Just out of curiosity we asked the installers to measure. The salesman hadn't even gotten the measurements right. They would not have had enough flooring to complete the job. I wasted two vacation days on these people. They have since contacted me three times. The second time I asked them not to contact me again or I would post this information online... So here I am. Moral of the story DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WITH EMPIRE.

Company Response 01/02/2017:

Dear Customer,
We would like to know more about your concerns and help make things right for you. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please email your concerns along with your account and contact information to customersupport@empire-today.com and mention my3cents in the subject line so that we can follow up with you.
Thank you.

Replies
Empire Carpet: Bait and Switch.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- I'm very unhappy with my Empire carpet and the customer service. I was told by Deb that I have to prove several carpet cleanings before she will allow someone to come to my home to assess the poor quality, matting, crushing on this carpet. In May 2015, I bought "nicer" carpeting per the sales person, "since I had a nicer home". We were preparing to move in a week. We had a carpet purchased for the stairs going from second floor to the basement and the upstairs hallway. We ended up moving back in Oct. 2015. Over the course of living in the home again I realized just how poor quality the carpet AND the padding were compared to the other, older carpeting in my home.

I've been getting ignored by customer services. I'm told they are leaving a message for the representative, or "they called you yesterday" which they had not called at all. My iPhone keeps a log of all calls. I paid $3000 and want a refund or want new carpeting and a better carpet pad. I feel as though I was duped by the salesperson and received the "moving special" i.e. pay more for carpeting and receive poor quality. Feel free to contact me. Thank you.

Company Response 12/08/2016:

Dear Customer,
Your concerns are important to us and we would like to follow up with you to learn more about your experience. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate your account with the information provided. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can further assist you.
Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Installers Refused to Tear Up Old Carpet
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- On the day of our install for carpet in 3 bedrooms, the hallway and two sets of stairs the installers show up at 2:30. They walk through, take the carpet out of the truck and ask to use our garage to cut the carpet. We tell them sorry but it's full of our furniture. They ask for payment and we tell them we will pay half up front and half when they are done. We wanted to make sure they did not rush through the job at the end of the day.

While my husband is on the phone with customer service, the installers leave. We called to find out why we were told they did not want to have to take away a portion of the carpet that had severe pet stains, we explained we would be happy to dispose of that portion if they were concerned but was told they have a right to refuse. However that is nowhere in the contract. I called and told them I need someone out the next day and they told me they had to see if anyone was willing to do it. Really???

I have all my furniture in the garage, three weeks until the holidays, a back procedure next week and I need someone out here tomorrow. We are working on it. No resolution yet but I can assure you they are in for a fight with me if this does not happen.

Company Response 12/06/2016:

Dear Carolyn,
We are disappointed to know that your experience was not a great one. We understand that you have decided to cancel your order. If you continue to have questions and/or concerns please contact us at customersupport@empire-today.com.
Thank you.

Replies
Poor Quality and Even Worse Communication.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SCHENECTADY, NEW YORK -- We had almost our entire house replaced with new carpet and laminate flooring in December 2015. Only one month after installation, the entire upstairs carpet started falling apart and the laminate floor in the dining room broke apart. It took several months for Empire to respond to our situation. After 8 months of poor communication, Empire would not honor a half refund for flooring that has a 10 year warranty.

To this day Empire insists on replacing the defective carpet. With the very poor communication and lack of understanding by Empire Today, the last thing we want is another round of carpet and flooring with them. It is very sad that a 10 year warranty carpet can fall apart after only one month and Empire Today refuses to consider half a refund.

Company Response 10/21/2016:

Dear Scott,

Thank you for making us aware of this situation. We never want our customers to be disappointed in the quality of our products, and will follow up with you shortly to discuss your concerns.

Replies
Horrible, Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRENTWOOD, TENNESSEE -- Had an Empire sales representative come out to house to quote carpet installation. Ended up signing a contract to have installed in 3 weeks. Customer service called the week before to confirm our appointment. We moved everything out of our kids' rooms along with the office.

Morning of installation we receive a call that says they are short installers and cannot make it out for another 3 weeks. Told them how unacceptable and unprofessional this was and they needed to have someone out within 3 days because our house is going on the market the following week, not to mention we rearranged our schedules to be off work and board our dog. They said they couldn't and we would have to take the appointment that was in 3 weeks or they couldn't come until November. This is a terrible company to do business with and would never recommend them to anyone.

Company Response 10/04/2016:

Dear Amy,
We regret to hear that you were inconvenienced by a delay in your installation. We assure you that concerns are important to us, and we want to help. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate your account with the information provided. Please email your concerns along with your contact and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com so that we can further assist, and mention my3cents in the subject line.
Thank you.

Replies
Hardwood Floor Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- We called Empire Today to have hardwood floors installed in the kitchen and hallway. First the saleslady tried to sell us the floor for $11,000.00. I told her that was too much money. She lowered the price to $5,200.00. I asked the saleslady several times if the hardwood needed to sit in my house and acclimate to the temperature and humidity in my house. She repeatedly said no. After the floor was installed, I found out that I was right that the floor needed to sit in my house for a few days.

The installers came and installed the floor but left damage everywhere in my house and on the new hardwood. Nail holes, dents and scratches throughout the hardwood floor. They ruined my banister and tried to hide the damage by gluing the wood back on. They tried nailing 3/4 trim on while they were specifically told we wanted 1/2 trim. They ripped and chipped the wood under my kitchen cabinets. The hardwood has huge gaps between each plank!
We called Empire Today's office several times for the past several weeks. We want Empire to take out the floor and return our money. They won't do it so we are forced to hire an attorney.

Company Response 10/03/2016:

Dear Christine,
Your satisfaction is important to us and we regret to hear about your experience. We assure you that we take matters such as this one very seriously and we'll be in contact with you soon to discuss your concerns in more detail.
Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Shoddy Install of Hardwood Floors
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MARYLAND, MARYLAND -- $16,000 job looks like children did it. Gaps between the wood that they filled with tacky putty. Two days off work for the repair shot to heck. This guy tells me that this installer always does bad work. Funny, his work is just as tacky. We work hard and 16k is an investment. Don't expect to be taken advantage of. Corporate office useless.

Company Response 08/10/2017:

It's regrettable that you weren't satisfied with your installation. We want to know more about the issues you've experienced, so we can work with you towards a resolution. We've been unable to locate your account with the information provided here. If you could, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com so we may reach out to you and begin working towards a resolution together.

Replies
Carpet And Laminate Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHVILLE,TN -- My wife and I are currently dealing with Empire. It is slowly turning into a nightmare. We did our due diligence and had three estimates done for flooring. My wife at the time of the estimates was eight months pregnant. The sales representative from Empire came out. He was a pretty nice guy. Did his song and dance and we told him our problems. We needed carpet in two bedrooms and laminate in our kitchen and living room. The problem is our living room is not level and is off as much as an inch in some areas, we told our representative that and he was completely aware of the problem. He sold us what I will assume is good carpet and a nice laminate.

Fast forward two weeks to install. The carpet was to be installed Tuesday and the laminate on Thursday. Empire called to confirm our appointment on Tuesday only to cancel it the day of install and they want to come Wednesday. Great, we had set up all of our dr. appointments for Wednesday so now we are scrambling to figure out what to do.

I called customer service and stayed on hold well over an hour and only made headway when I mentioned they had breached their own contract by not installing when they said they would. They ended up giving us a discount that covered my day's wages as that is what I would lose if I had to stay home for them. The install crew was awesome! Very courteous and quick. The carpet looks great. You have to remember they are contractors not really part of the company.

Now for the laminate. Install was supposed to be there between 8-10. They didn't show up until 4:30, as if they were going to get anything done. Then the install leader tells my wife he can't install the type of laminate we selected that it will crack because of the uneven floors.

Wait a minute??? That's what we told the rep? Then our installer tells us of a cheaper material that could be used LPV. He calls the install manager who has someone bring out a book of choices for us and they say "if you pick one today we may be able to install on Saturday." My wife picked one out and that was the last we heard from anyone for two days. No one would answer their phones. I called customer service and they couldn't reach anyone as well. Now I'm getting mad. They have a $900 deposit for a floor that salesman sold me that won't work. Now I feel like I've been had.

Yesterday sales representative calls and says he will be out tomorrow to see what we can do. My wife is now almost due and we were ensured this would be done within two weeks let alone a month. Today my wife got three call attempting to confirm Monday as an install day. To install what??? We haven't picked anything new out? I'm wondering if they are just going to send out another install team that doesn't care to attempt to install. I guess I will find out if the sales representative shows up tomorrow.

At this point Empire has violated their own contract and it's getting old. Their customer service is the absolute worst I have ever dealt with. I should have known something was up when there was only one number you can call. And they will never transfer you to a supervisor. Bad business if you ask me. I have never treated a customer the way they have treated me and my wife. I will keep this thread updated as things go along.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >