Empire Today - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 33 ratings and
67 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Experience
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO, CALIFORNIA -- Regretfully the reviews I had seen before hiring Empire Carpet were ones posted by their own company.
The sales person that came out was nice and made the sale quickly- After that it became the worst experience ever. We had scheduled carpet to be laid for our office on a Friday first thing. We were told they would be there between 8-9. about 10 a crew showed up, unprepared w/o dolly and not enough crew to do the job, they said. After we had put everything up and moved furniture, they said they would have their contractor send someone on Saturday, as we were open for business on Monday. The contractor called us and assured us someone would be there lst thing in the morning. At 12:00 noon Saturday a new crew came with the wrong stuff and no dolly, and were very defensive and angry. We would have cancelled the whole thing at that point, but we had just spent all of Friday getting it ready - so long story short- they did not get done until Sunday late. We ended up having to put everything back in place to be ready for business on Monday. We asked them to leave a couple of the large scraps. They ended up taking them saying they will bind them for us- but never did. We had paid in full on Saturday, and needed a receipt and release to give to the landlord- Called the contractor- who responded angrily that I had his phone number. Still have not received the release. Called sales person. Called main office. Asked about carpet piece- they said they do not leave scrap pieces, because according to their policy and purchase we do not buy the scraps. Asked about the release, they said it has to go to the main office in Chicago or somewhere. We have never had such a bad experience.
Everyone is rude. Even though I was very nice on the phone, everyone is defensive and say that someone else has to take care of it. That they cannot help company pollicy. I would hope to spare someone else from this experience. They are too big to care and do not communicate.
On the other hand, we had painting done the next weekend and it was a wonderful experience. We are people that are easily satisfied, but I did not do my homework and should have checked reviews with my3cents.
Company Response 6/13/2012:
Joanne, we’ve read your review and we’re disappointed about the experience that you’ve had thus far. We regret any inconvenience that resulted from the delay in installation, as we know that your time is valuable. We make customer concerns a top priority, and the lack of follow up that you’ve received is not in line with the level of service that we expect for our customers. A member of our customer service team will be reaching out to you soon to discuss your concerns and work towards a resolution. If you have any questions, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Replies
Stay away from Empire
Posted by on
SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- In May 09, an Empire salesman sold my husband and I a product that was the "best thing" in vinyl. He showed us how durable it was, claiming it was water proof, and that it had a seamless quality. Within a few months, there was bubbling that had to be fixed. A couple months later we noticed a few gouges appear, the main seam continually became more noticeable and more bubbling appeared. In Jan 10, many attempts were made to contact Empire. It took several phone calls before someone came to inspect the floors. The repairman called the day prior to confirm the appt for an earlier time and that day. I corrected him and related the appt was set for 4pm the next day. He called late the next morning asking if he could come earlier. I told him no, neither my husband nor I would be there. I reminded him that our appt was for 4pm. He showed up to the house at two, my roommate let him in and he tried to repair the floors, not conduct an inspection like he was supposed to. Several weeks later, an actual inspector came to the house to examine the floor. He said he would try to compensate us the 3, 200 we had already spent and quote us tile instead of replacing the vinyl with more vinyl. The salesman called a couple days later, he said he would give us full compensation but, the tile installation would cost roughly 8, 000, 4, 900 with our compensation included. We got a second opinion from West Coast Flooring; they quoted us 3, 900 for all the same areas plus the fireplace and entry way. I have requested contact once again regarding a possible refund and have not heard back yet.
Our BBB complaint got us no where, we decided to go straight to the corporate office to file our complaint. The corporate 0ffice made us an offer to replace the vinyl with tile for $500. However, there were only five options none of which we liked. So, we requested a monetary settlement. They offered us 1/4 of the money we originally spent on the floors and a settlement agreement issuing a gag order and that we had to retract our BBB complaint and could not blog or forewarn anyone against the company.
My family owns a flooring installation business and I am familiar with the proper care and normal wear of a vinyl floor. In my opinion, Empire and their product are not meeting expected standards. We are unhappy with Empire due to the poor quality product sold to us and the terrible customer service. Considering the price difference and better customer service experienced with West Coast Flooring, we are dissatisfied with Empire.
Company Response 05/20/2010:
We are currently researching your concerns. We are dedicated to service and satisfaction. A representative from our customer service team will continue to be in contact with you to assist with all your concerns.
     
Replies
Bogus Quote - Square Footage Outrageous
Posted by on
STOUGHTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- I had to replace the carpet in the hallways/staircase of a three story three family in Boston. I had used Empire before, so gave them a call and got an estimate. The price was $4.53 per sq. ft. installed. To say that the salesperson was incompetent would be generous. He had to measure everything three
times, could not do simple calculations. He made so many mistakes on the order crossing things out two and three times that it was unreadable. He told me that I had to put down a third of the total cost because it was a special order and would take 10-14 days to get the carpet. Then in the next breath said that it could be installed the next day.

Came up with an estimate of $3,692 based and 774.26 sq ft. I said that seemed high. He said: no, and that this was a big area. I asked if there was an additional labor charges since this was a staircase. He re-iterated: no, it's a flat fee. I agreed to remove and dispose of the old carpet to save $200. He called the office and the lowered price for $3,001 was agreed upon. When I ripped up the carpet I looked at them and concluded that there was no way that this was close to 800 sq ft. I measured it and came out with 304 sq ft. I am an architect with 30 yrs experience and an expert in this area. I had a third person measure it and he came up with 305 sq ft.

Granted it was a staircase with more waste than normal, but over150%. I called the office and complained. A manager came out and first he said was that in the order was written for 680 sq. ft., not the original 774.26 sq. ft. that the basis for the quote. He also confirmed that the price included installation and that there was not a separate labor charge. When I asked why there was no
adjustment and that the price still reflected the original 774.26 sq. ft. he had no answer. He also confirmed that it was in stock. No one has ever explained why I had put up $1,000 deposit instead of the standard $25. A question that remains unanswered to this day.

He measured and came up with 502 sq. ft. Not sure how using the same equation they came up with three different sizes for the same square footage of floor space. He told me that he would give me a $500 credit. I said OK and the installation was scheduled for the next day. I really didn't have much
of a choice, as I stood to lose the $1,000 deposit.

The installers arrived with the work order where the price was still $3,001. There also was a note to call after the work was done. When I told them that this is not the right price, they called to the office before they started, but the manager didn't want to talk. I took the phone and reminded that we
agreed to lower price by at least $500. He answered that he would discuss the final price after installation. The installers installed and I called to manager again. This time, he said the bill was $2,800. I reminded him again that he had agreed to a $500 credit from the $3001. He denied that he had ever having agreed to that. Among the scrap was a single piece 12ft x 6ft = 72 sq. ft and I tried to get a credit for it. I tried to pay for 430 sq ft instead the 502 sq. ft. (502-72=430), the amount actually installed plus waste. He said: no. So I said that I would pay for every sq in that was in the truck. I took out my calculator and computed: $4.53 x 502 sq. ft + 5% (taxes)= $2,387.76. He said: no, that
$2,601 was the best he could do. I reminded him that the contract was for $4.53 per sq. ft. for 502 sq. ft. not for 545 sq. ft. (There was a total 502 sq. ft. of carpet in the truck). I still questioned the 58% waste (based on 502 sq, ft., not the 545 sq. ft. that I was charged for), but have decided to drop it

He pretty much demanded the new higher price even though he could offer no explanation as to how he came to that price. He also told me that I had to pay it since it had already been installed even hough the new higher price had never been discussed. So, I paid $2, 601. Very expensive carpet for the 305 sq. ft. of floor space!
     
Replies
Didn't Offer Service As Advertised
Posted by on
MIDDLETOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- I was doing research on have a few floors in my home redone with laminate flooring. After deciding not to take on the project myself I got a few quotes on having the work done for me. I did got a few from local companies and decided to check out Empire since they advertised the lowest price around and next day installation.

First of all it is a very high pressure salesman who comes to your door. They will spend the first half hour making small talk and trying to charm you. Then after lots of wasted time they will try to give you a quote. Our initial price was $5900.00 but they were running a %30 off sale so he recalculated and said the price was now $4700.00. As I said I had done some homework and new that he was more than double prices else where. They try to tell you it is so much more because the competitors will all hit you with hidden fees, and their product is superior. After asking him to leave he gave me the "I really like you sales pitch" he said he needed to call his manager to see if he could give me his employee discount.

Anyway after all his games we negotiated a price of just over $2100.00. This was still a little high but my wife was very excited about having it done the next day so we figured we were paying for that service.

The next day arrives and so do the installers. They are both very nice but say that the salesman didn't give them the proper SF so they don't have enough product to do the job. So now I have a kitchen and dining room and main floor hallway that are a complete mess. Oh yes and to get the 2100.00 I had to remove the carpet and pad myself before they arrived. So now they can't do the job and will need to return tomorrow. I complained to him and he said it happens quit often with this salesman.

I also looked at the product and noticed it was not the same as the sample shown to me. I talked to "Steve" some kind of manager and he assured me it was. It is not, the installer told me that just about everyone complains that the thickness in the product being installed is not what they were shown. Trust me it is not so do not listen to the speech of a thicker superior product. It is not and they will not do anything for you. The installer also asked what warranty I was offered. Most of the installed product because they are thinner do not have the same warranty as the thicker stuff they show you.

Bottom line, stick with the locals who pride themselves in the business and their reputations. Empire is only a high pressure sales type company who only want to close the sale. They will not give you what they offer in their attempts to make the sale. And they will not back up their products.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Free In Home Estimate
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
BETHLEHEM, PENNSYLVANIA -- All i can say is scam! Scam! Scam!!!

We requested a free quote. Empire is having a 50% off installation and carpet installation foor one bedroom. They told us that the price would be $3000 for the lowest grade of carpet.....umm REALLY?

Then he tried to make us think we were getting a deal and said it would be 50 percent off of that so my new price is $1500. Now, I've gotten two other estimates and they were around $1,000 for my bedroom so Empire jacked up their price and then took 50 percent off of that. Totally dishonest and they have lost a customer!!!!!!!!!!!
Company Response 03/20/2015:
Hi Nicole, we’re disappointed that our pricing did not meet your expectations. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. We also offer a price match guarantee. We would like the opportunity to discuss your pricing concerns in more detail and better explain the current promotion. We cannot locate your account with the information posted here, but if you call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, we will follow up with you as soon as possible. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bathroom
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WILMINGTON, DELAWARE -- DO NOT use this Company... They do not honor their contracts. I was informed in 2008 when they sent a sale representative to my home to recruit for a new bathroom makeover. At the time I was informed that if I went with the company the items would be lifetime. I contacted the company in regards to replacing the shower door handle that had broken off causing the door to fall and glass to break. I was informed by representative Aaron @ ext 3452 and John @ ext 4414 that because the company no longer uses the products they used in 2008 that I was just plain out of luck.

UNBELIEVABLE. DO NO USE THIS COMPANY... THEY DO NOT HONOR THE LIFETIME CONTRACTS!!!!!

SCAM ONLY TO RECRUIT THEN YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN IF ANYTHING HAPPENS.!!!!!!! WORSE COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH WHEN IT COMES TO LIFETIME WARRANTY (A JOKE).
Company Response 08/04/2014:
Hi Angela, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We understand that we’ve been in contact about this matter, and we will be following up again shortly to review the situation in more detail and work towards a resolution. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Not Truthful on Estimate and Pushy Sales Man
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CHATSWORTH, CALIFORNIA -- We called for a free carpet estimate for 3 bedrooms (10x10) (12x10) & 16x12 and 13 stairs, we were shown cheap carpet stating it was high end and it didn't have the Company name on samples, but Empire's name. The sales guy tried to state it was Shaw, but I don't think Shaw would like that their name wasn't on these samples. Then he never showed us his true estimate just gave us a 50% off deal for installation, padding and carpet.

Our cost after the 50% was $2,250.00... We had other estimates for much less and it included better carpet and installation, padding & moving furniture. When we told him were still shopping and not sure yet, he started that fake phone call to his boss to get a better deal and he was a horrible actor and you could tell he wasn't even talking to anyone. Then gave us $250.00 off, he became to change his attitude and putting down our carpet we had and tried to give us a week to think about it but with a $50.00 deposit refundable up to a week. I didn't fall for any of his horrible sales antics and was done. We said no thank you and we did our research and read reviews and read our story over and over.

Shame on you Empire for just not sending good sales men and being more honest. Funny thing is basically stating it would of originally cost us for 3 bedrooms not even large rooms and 13 stairs that it would of cost us for low grade $4500.00 without the sale? Please give us homeowners better credit!!!! Bad Business!!!!
Company Response :
Hi Deb, we were disappointed to read your review, but we appreciate that you’ve taken the time to share your concerns with your sales appointment. It’s disappointing that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations, and we’d like to learn more about what happened. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. We also offer a price match guarantee. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email your contact info to customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will reach out to you. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Salesman Sold Us Two Types of Floors We Could Not Use
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SOUTH HACKENSACK, NEW JERSEY -- We ordered kitchen flooring from Empire. we agreed on wood planking. After a week the men came to install it we were told the floors were not level and they could not install it without it cracking. We were frustrated and were willing to accept white tile and the salesman promised to have the floors leveled as well. When the men came to install they AGAIN stated it too would crack and refused to install it: and there was nothing about leveling the floors on the paperwork.

this was a week before Thanksgiving and our floors were a wreck Empire offered $300.00 off of rugs we had installed as well, but it did not restore our trust in salesmen who misrepresent the facts to sell floors.
Company Response :
Hi James, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are aware of the issues that prevented your installation from being completed, and we regret any inconvenience that occurred as a result. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you about these issues, and we’d be happy to discuss this further and address any unresolved concerns. You can reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Buy One Room, Get 3 Free Ads! "FRAUDULENT"!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
GLADSTONE, OREGON -- We responded to the TV ad (buy one room, get 3 free). The year before we had our living room carpet replaced for about $800.00, but because of a new carpet burn from our fire place, we decided to take advantage of the ad offer and get a couple small bedrooms done as well. Even with the ad I knew there was bound to be extra charges. So I expected to pay double the living room costs. The sales bid came in @ over $5000.00! I asked the sales girl "how's that possible considering the ad"? She said the carpet was free for the extra rooms but we had to pay all labor. I asked how much per yard she was charging for the matching carpet. She had charged us 3 times the retail value for the carpet. Empire Flooring is the worst way to go for flooring. Go to a flooring store and find a reputable, local installer if you want a "real" fair rate for flooring and installation. Stay away from TV ads!
Joe builder
Company Response :
Carl, it’s disappointing that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. We understand that you’ve gone with another company, but we would like the opportunity to learn more about your concerns and better explain our all inclusive pricing, as well as the promotion. If you’re interested in speaking with us, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x3555 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't Waste Your Time or Money
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- We contacted Empire today for an estimate on new carpeting in our entire house. An Empire Today salesperson came out with samples of carpet and gave us an estimate of approx. $3000. He assured us that the carpet was good quality, and that there is a 10 year warranty should anything happen to it, such as excessive wear or stains. It also came with a 1 year installation warranty. We decided to purchase. Not even 2 months later, the new carpet looked worse than the 10 year old carpet we had replaced with it. It was worn down to almost nothing and it was falling apart from the seams and from the middle of the floor. We do not by any means abuse our carpet. We never wear shoes in the house, we vacuum at least twice a week, etc. So we called Empire and they told us that they would send an inspector out to look at it. Instead of an inspector, an Empire salesperson came out, but even he told us that there was clearly a problem with the carpet and that he said he would request a full replacement of an upgraded carpet. He took pictures and went on his way. Over 2 weeks later, after not hearing anything from Empire, I called them to check on our claim. The lady on the phone told us that the claim had been denied because, from the pictures, they could not see any defect in the carpet or the installation. When I asked to see a copy of the pictures, I was told that the salesman who took them passed away and they did not have access to his computer. After fighting with them for weeks, and filing a complaint with the BBB, they finally
Company Response :
Amanda, we regret that this matter has not yet been resolved. We understand that we have been in contact with you previously, and we will continue to work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >