Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Today - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 85 ratings and
118 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, IL 60014
800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empiretoday.com
customersupport@empiretoday.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Flooring Charges
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTHLAKE, ILLINOIS -- My original contract is not broken down into different orders for the type of work being performed. The process of payments seems not to be a seamless situation. Of course with a change to this order really confused all parties involved with multiple contractors showing up without the correct information or correct materials and me being charged a lot more than originally quoted. With a call to customer service to no avail of course, I am very dissatisfied with this process. Why do I get three different COD charges for one original order? NEVER WILL I USE OR RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE.

Company Response 11/02/2017:

Dear Customer,
We're disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can further assist you.
Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Quality Carpet and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LINCOLNSHIRE, ILLINOIS -- One year ago (September 2016) we had carpet installed and for about a month or so we were happy and then we noticed the loops in our Berber carpet were pulling out and the surface looked "frizzy". Someone from customer service came out, took pictures, told us this was a manufacturer's defect and they would re-carpet everything - start over with salesman and choose something else.

It was now too close to the holidays so the salesman agreed to wait until January after decorations were down. He came out, we chose an "upgraded Berber" that was nearly identical to the original carpet. We agreed on a date for installation (February 20, 2017) and here we are again... months later unhappy with backing pulling up through the carpet, loops pulling out and the beginnings of that "frizzy look". I have been phoning daily and cannot seem to get a phone call back from anyone to even have someone come out and look at the carpet.

I even contacted our salesman and he said there is nothing he could do to help me. The customer service personnel who answer initially have been wonderful; but I can't get past them. I am completely frustrated with Empire! In addition to the great amount of money spent, we have hours of time spent making phone calls and home from work two days for installation... two days taken from actual vacation time with family. FRUSTRATED and would definitely not recommend anyone to consider using Empire.

Company Response 09/28/2017:

Deanna,
We're disappointed to hear that your carpet is not meeting your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we'll be in contact with you soon to further address your concerns.
Thank you.

Replies
Beware Doing Business With Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRESNO, CALIFORNIA -- We had them come out to measure for two rooms of carpet under their 50/50/50 sale. We selected two carpets and signed a contract to install. That very day we saw an ad at a local warehouse that would be 50% less money for a better grade carpet and pad. We immediately followed the terms of the contract and canceled. Even though we were given a cancellation number by phone, we mailed the cancellation as instructed per the agreement on the same day of purchase.

About a week later, I called regarding the return of the deposit to my credit card and was told I would have to wait 10 business days from the date of the cancellation. A few days later a sales representative called and offered us the carpet at a reduced price which was still more than the better grade carpet we could buy. We declined the offer.

After 10 business days, still no credit to my credit card of the deposit so I called again and was told the cancellation date was after the sales representative made her final pitch to us and we would have to wait 10 business days from that! The cancellation reference number was issued to me 10 days before the sales representative called me and we could find no reference in the contract to a last ditch sales effort to determine a cancellation. What a racket to use my money. They bought a lot of bad feelings for small amount of money. Wouldn't it just be better to do the upfront thing and honor the contract and return the money?

Company Response 06/21/2017:

Dear Bill,
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We'd like to address your concerns, but are unable to locate your account with the information provided. Please email your account and contact information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can follow up with you.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
Horrible Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

NEW JERSEY, NEW JERSEY -- I placed an order for laminate flooring for my basement with Empire. We were set to go until the day of install. Where the installers weren't able to install laminate flooring due to humidity in the basement. (Wish the salesperson told me that from the beginning.) Right there was a waste of my time and day off from work. Then I decided to go with carpet in the basement due to humidity.

They come the following week, take off 3 doors and don't bother to put it back. The installer tells me that they don't put back doors. B/c the carpet is high they're unable to re-install it. (The installer told me this after the fact.) On top of that they broke one of my doors and denied it. I followed up with Kathy ** from customer service and she said that Empire does not make any door alterations. I need to hire a handyman to cut and re-install at my expense. They will reimburse me for the broken one. I will never, never order from Empire again.

Company Response 03/13/2017:

Dear Jose,
Our goal is for our customers to have a great experience from start to finish - and we're sorry that didn't happen. We will be following up with you shortly to discuss your concerns further.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH CAROLINA -- I do not recommend this company. My experience has been a nightmare. My installation was schedule more than a week in advance. Received e-mail confirmation for installation the day before. From there it has been downhill. On day of scheduled installation the installers did not call to confirm the installation or confirm a time. Got an electronic call at 12:00 noon stating installation would be in afternoon.

After sitting at home waiting all day, at 5:20 in afternoon I started calling to see if they were coming. Customer service finally, after 3 calls told me they had gotten in touch with the installer and they were an hour away and could be here between 8:00 pm and 9:00 pm that night. I said, no, they could not come that late.

I started calling again the next morning and was told that it would be another week before they could reschedule me. My house was in an absolutely mess from making preparations for them. I had cleaned out all the closets, all the books from the wall unit, all pictures off the wall, removed all small furnishings... done everything I was told to make it easier for them and now I'm suppose to wait another week with my house upside down because of their poor scheduling.

This is a poorly managed company and I would never recommend them to anyone. They will keep reducing the price until they sell you something, RED FLAG, remember You get what you pay for! Cheaper is not always better. This company does not care about the customer... only the fast $. I canceled order but have no confidence I will get my $600 down payment back without a fight!

Company Response 03/13/2017:

Dear Customer,
It's disappointing that you weren't happy with your installation experience. We'd like to speak with you more to better understand what happened. However, we aren't able to look up your account with the information provided. Please send us your account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can further assist you.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
$99 Room/Sale? Don't Believe The Hype
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BONAIRE, GEORGIA -- First I would like to say I had never purchased carpet before and there were subtle signs that really let me know I should go elsewhere, but I ignored them. A relative of a friend had a good experience and I based my decision on that and the $99 room sale. I wish I had come across these comments and reviews before setting up a FREE CONSULTATION. But I was truly just ready to get the simple, small, project over and done with. Please... FOLLOW YOUR GUT INSTINCTS AT ALL TIMES and continue READING THIS REVIEW!!!

My first appointment was scheduled for January 2, 2015 which was great because I was off. About an hour before the time frame that someone was supposed to show up, the salesperson, **, calls, explains he's out of town on vacation and Empire must've made a mistake scheduling me on that day. He asked if it was possible that he could come Monday. I agreed because I happened to be off that day as well. He said he would call around noon Monday January 5, 2015. I received no call at all.

I called Empire and explained the entire situation and the cust svc representative just scheduled me for another appointment on January 12, 2015. No apology for the current inconvenience. Ok fine. I need to get an estimate to see what I am working with so I agree to the January 12th appointment. Now I had a whole week to mull this over and check online, but life got in the way and next thing I knew January 12th was here.

On January 12, 2015, ** (yes same salesperson!) shows up on time. Makes no mention of standing me up previously. How do I know it was the same salesperson? I kept the number he called from to cancel the first appoint and it was the same number he called from on the 12th and it was on his business card. But I am just ready to find out how much it's going to cost me. Now keep in mind I've never purchased carpet before so I am admitting I was clueless. But this $99 room sale sounds amazing and even with the added cost of the product it can't be that bad.

PROJECT: Replacing only the carpet in 1 small bedroom with dimensions of 10x11 with a carpet as similar as possible. The salesman gave his whole spiel, history of the company, etc. I know he must do this, but I also know I am only getting this one room done so it's no big deal. I look at the samples, pick the carpet. He measured the room and never told me what he came up with. So now I'm saying to myself ok that's a little weird. He starts telling me about all these discounts I am eligible for, etc.

Now he's talking my language. He breaks out a calculator and starts computing figures behind his briefcase so that I cannot see what he is doing. But I can hear him banging on the calculator like crazy. If you've ever seen the scene of Tyler Perry's Diary of a mad Black Woman where Madea is in the kitchen adding on a calculator, that is the same exact thing ** was doing, but he wasn't talking, just calculating. Right then I was thinking this is going to be really good or really bad.

It was really bad. I was told padding is included in the price and that's just how Empire does it so I couldn't get carpet only. The least expensive carpet quote was $614.27. And the rest went up from there increasing in $100-$150 increments. And they were all just flat numbers. Not a breakdown of what exactly I would be paying for and what discounts I was getting.

Should've said NO THANKS right then and there, but I really wanted this job done. He told me he could have one of his 20 crews back over here tomorrow and have the job done in an hour or so. I said ok, at least I wouldn't have to wait any longer. He pulled up the contract on his tablet and said I would get a copy overnight, I just had to sign some areas. Then he said he would need my credit card info or check to secure the appointment. He stressed that no one would get paid until the work was done and that I signed a certificate of satisfactory completion and gave it to the installer. That is how they get paid.

So I said ok, it made sense to me. I made sure I saw that in the contract as well as my right to cancel and signed the contract. All this took place over the course of 40 minutes. After ** left I spent 2 hours trying to comprehend how $99 plus cost of carpet turned into $614.27. I got online and came across this site and spent over an hour reading all of the horrible reviews. My heart sank. I had made a huge mistake. I had to cancel.

I called Empire Today the same night, about 4 hours after my free consultation and explained that I needed to cancel immediately. Please do not send any installers. The CSR told me the department that cancels installs is closed, but my cancellation is processed and they will just review it to make sure I get refunded. Refunded? I haven't had anything done to get refunded!! The CSR says my account shows a payment via credit card for $614.27 paid in full.

Now I am furious, but I am thinking it must be an error. ** said they don't get paid until the job is complete and I sign that certificate. When I got off the phone, I checked with my bank and sure enough, there was a pending transaction against my checking account for that $614.27.

The very next morning on January 13th I call Empire back to confirm my cancellation and make sure my money is being refunded. I spoke with a CSR who asked why I was canceling and I told her I found someone to do it for less (I had not, but I didn't want to go through a whole song and dance). She asked for how much and I told her it was only 1 room and I found someone to do it for half the price they were charging me. This CSR tells me my business is appreciated and she sees some rebates that I am eligible for which would knock my price down considerably. It wouldn't be as low as half, but they really want to do business with me. WHAT?!! Are you kidding me?!!

I told her I would have to decline because even with the rebates, it doesn't take away the fact that money was charged immediately for services that were not completed and I am not happy with that. She reviews my account and told me she saw where there was a deposit charged. I told her that nothing was mentioned about a deposit and I would not have agreed to a deposit that was the full cost of the project. She said she wasn't there so she cannot say what was agreed to, but don't worry I would receive my complete refund in 3-5 business days.

Yes you read correctly. The same money they took immediately as a "deposit" now cannot be refunded for 3-5 business days. I am livid! I am mad at myself, Empire, **, the whole situation!!! She told me that because I used a credit card I would receive a refund much faster than if I had wrote a check which could take up to 15 days. Her final question was if there was anything else she could do to help me. My response was "Unless you can immediately refund my money the same way you took it, then no there really isn't any other way you can help me."

Is this situation over? No. I am so paranoid and skeptical because of what I read I call Empire back on January 14th, the day after I confirmed my cancellation, to make sure it was truly canceled and the refund was processed. That CSR is showing the cancellation, the cancellation number and tells me it will be refunded in 7-10 business days. Excuse me!!! What happened to the 3-5 business days from yesterday? This CSR is sticking to her script and tells me it will be 7-10 business days and this is the credit institutions policy. The refund will be deposited as soon as they can do it. Ok is it 3-5 business days, 7-10 business days or as soon as you can do it?!!

I hang up feeling dumb and defeated. I should've known better. Empire immediately sent emails confirming my free estimate consultation and my installation. But when I canceled, I received a cancellation number and no email to verify it. If it sounds too good to be true, many times it is. This story does end well though. I ended up asking another friend for a carpet install referral. I explained the Empire catastrophe and he introduced me to a local guy who came and assessed the situation. I bought some carpet from Lowe's for $150 (I had to get a 10x15 piece for the style I wanted).

This local guy picked up the carpet and installed it. My all inclusive (carpet, install and tip) price was $260. I felt relieved and it took the edge off of having to wait to get my money back from Empire for work that was never done. Imagine looking at a room with jacked up carpet after $614.27 has been taken from your checking account. Not a good feeling.

Empire returned my money to my checking account on January 21, 2015. Technically that was 4 business days after I canceled (the 19th was a holiday). But it felt like an eternity since it was 9 days from the date of my FREE consultation. Please beware of the $99/room sale. Especially if you are doing your whole house!!

Attached are before and after pics of the bedroom that needed the carpet replaced. I just want you to see that paying a total of $260 for new carpet and installation does not mean the work is shoddy at all. I am extremely pleased now that Empire is out of the picture!!! NO THANKS to Empire Today.

Company Response 01/27/2015:

Hi LaToria, we appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us, and we regret that you did not enjoy your experience. We understand that we've been in contact with you and that you have already purchased elsewhere. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Opposite of the Reviews I Read
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

ATHENS, GEORGIA -- Initially I was scared to even try Empire from reading the reviews. I'm so glad I went with them. Other than arriving later than the given time frame everything else was excellent. It took about 7.5 hours for them complete the job and clean up. There were no cutting corners and the job is beautiful. No damages were substantiated. No holes, no open ended flooring. Just awesome timely work. We had carpet in three areas and tile in the other and once converted it made our home feel more open and everything flows together amazingly.

Company Response 01/05/2018:

Dear Customer,
We love to hear from our satisfied customers, and we're thrilled to know that we surpassed your expectations. We look forward to working with you on future projects.
Thank you!

Replies
Shoddy Install of Hardwood Floors
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MARYLAND, MARYLAND -- $16,000 job looks like children did it. Gaps between the wood that they filled with tacky putty. Two days off work for the repair shot to heck. This guy tells me that this installer always does bad work. Funny, his work is just as tacky. We work hard and 16k is an investment. Don't expect to be taken advantage of. Corporate office useless.

Company Response 08/10/2017:

It's regrettable that you weren't satisfied with your installation. We want to know more about the issues you've experienced, so we can work with you towards a resolution. We've been unable to locate your account with the information provided here. If you could, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com so we may reach out to you and begin working towards a resolution together.

Replies
Advertisement
Carpet And Laminate Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHVILLE,TN -- My wife and I are currently dealing with Empire. It is slowly turning into a nightmare. We did our due diligence and had three estimates done for flooring. My wife at the time of the estimates was eight months pregnant. The sales representative from Empire came out. He was a pretty nice guy. Did his song and dance and we told him our problems. We needed carpet in two bedrooms and laminate in our kitchen and living room. The problem is our living room is not level and is off as much as an inch in some areas, we told our representative that and he was completely aware of the problem. He sold us what I will assume is good carpet and a nice laminate.

Fast forward two weeks to install. The carpet was to be installed Tuesday and the laminate on Thursday. Empire called to confirm our appointment on Tuesday only to cancel it the day of install and they want to come Wednesday. Great, we had set up all of our dr. appointments for Wednesday so now we are scrambling to figure out what to do.

I called customer service and stayed on hold well over an hour and only made headway when I mentioned they had breached their own contract by not installing when they said they would. They ended up giving us a discount that covered my day's wages as that is what I would lose if I had to stay home for them. The install crew was awesome! Very courteous and quick. The carpet looks great. You have to remember they are contractors not really part of the company.

Now for the laminate. Install was supposed to be there between 8-10. They didn't show up until 4:30, as if they were going to get anything done. Then the install leader tells my wife he can't install the type of laminate we selected that it will crack because of the uneven floors.

Wait a minute??? That's what we told the rep? Then our installer tells us of a cheaper material that could be used LPV. He calls the install manager who has someone bring out a book of choices for us and they say "if you pick one today we may be able to install on Saturday." My wife picked one out and that was the last we heard from anyone for two days. No one would answer their phones. I called customer service and they couldn't reach anyone as well. Now I'm getting mad. They have a $900 deposit for a floor that salesman sold me that won't work. Now I feel like I've been had.

Yesterday sales representative calls and says he will be out tomorrow to see what we can do. My wife is now almost due and we were ensured this would be done within two weeks let alone a month. Today my wife got three call attempting to confirm Monday as an install day. To install what??? We haven't picked anything new out? I'm wondering if they are just going to send out another install team that doesn't care to attempt to install. I guess I will find out if the sales representative shows up tomorrow.

At this point Empire has violated their own contract and it's getting old. Their customer service is the absolute worst I have ever dealt with. I should have known something was up when there was only one number you can call. And they will never transfer you to a supervisor. Bad business if you ask me. I have never treated a customer the way they have treated me and my wife. I will keep this thread updated as things go along.

Replies
Horrible Product and Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- If I could give them a zero I would! We got carpet installed less than 2 years ago and about 2 1/2 months ago the carpets were cleaned in all 3 rooms. A day later the smell that came from one of the rooms was so bad I had to tear it off and remove it because it was right next to my kids rooms that are 2 and 4 years old.

When I called empire to report this they told me that all I can do is create a case and they would get back to me. About 4 days later they told me that they wanted to send someone out there to take a look at the carpet, which I had no problem with but he could only do it in 3 days. Now we are talking about a week later, which I had to keep my kids away from the carpet because I tore it out and they wanted to mess with the threads.

Once the guy came out he took pictures and asked if he could take the carpet I ripped out with him and I said yes. About another week and a half later a woman named Janet ** called me and said that the carpet didn't dry correctly. So I told her that it sounds like a product defect because all three rooms were dried the same way.

She told me that they can replace the section I tore out with new carpet, which was not even up for discussion because a 2-year old carpet even with cleaning looks completely different from a brand new carpet. So she then proceeded to say that they will pay for material and I have to pay a $400 dollars for labor. I told them that it was unfair that I had to pay again for a defect that their product caused and they should absorb the whole cost. She told me that she would need her supervisor to agree to this and that she would call me back.

One month later with 3 phone calls and 2 voicemails unanswered I was finally able to talk to a supervisor named Linda ** that decided to tell me that they would lower the price to $200. I told her that it was ridiculous how they have treated me and that they should be ashamed of themselves. I had to get the carpet replaced because I had a hose hole in my floor for the past month and a half and I couldn't live like that anymore so I agreed to pay the cost.

A day before the appointment they decided to call me and tell me that they over booked and can't make it. They did tell me that they would now install it for free, which was the first decent thing that they have done for me. We rescheduled and the second time they came they told me that they were going to install gold or silver floor transitions, which I told them that there was no way they were going to do that because they originally installed wood transitional and it was even noted on my original order form. So yes once again I had to reschedule.

The third time they came out I told them to come early but the gave me a window of 9-11 which they ended up coming at 11:30. This time they told me they couldn't replace the carpet because I needed my husband to remove the closet folding door. I told them the original time they were here that they removed it and put it back together. The guy said he doesn't do that and I should call my husband. I told him that there wasn't going to be anyone here till 6. By this time I was so upset, I have missed 2 days of work for them and moved furniture twice by myself all for this crap.

I called Linda again and left a message. The guys told me that they were going to go and I told them to wait till I got a hold of someone so I knew what was the next step, but before I could get someone on the phone that I was on hold for 25 minutes they left my house. So now I still have a hole in my floor, I still need to miss another day of work and I have to put everything back and take it out again. Still no one called me back!!!!! PLEASE! PLEASE!! PLEASE LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE AND STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!!

Company Response 10/12/2015:

Hi Hila, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we understand your frustration. We can assure you that we are taking your concerns seriously, and we will be following up with you to ensure that everything gets completed to your satisfaction. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >