Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Today - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 88 ratings and
121 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, IL 60014
800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empiretoday.com
customersupport@empiretoday.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Cancelled and Lied About Calling
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- I called a week prior to get an in home estimate for my townhouse rental for carpeting. Got the robot call 2x to remind me. Waited for 1.5 hours and called to find out my appointment was cancelled. The service person could not even say why. Said they called. Checked my phone and my husband's. No missed calls at all from them. I don't deal with companies that lie to me. I promptly went straight over to Lowe's and made an appointment with them. I drove over an hour and 20 minutes round trip to this property. Unprofessional and inexcusable.

Company Response 03/05/2018:

Dear Michelle,
We know your time is valuable, and we're sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by a missed appointment. Please email us at customersupport@empire-today.com with both your concerns and the street address were your appointment was scheduled. We look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
Flooring Charges
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTHLAKE, ILLINOIS -- My original contract is not broken down into different orders for the type of work being performed. The process of payments seems not to be a seamless situation. Of course with a change to this order really confused all parties involved with multiple contractors showing up without the correct information or correct materials and me being charged a lot more than originally quoted. With a call to customer service to no avail of course, I am very dissatisfied with this process. Why do I get three different COD charges for one original order? NEVER WILL I USE OR RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE.

Company Response 11/02/2017:

Dear Customer,
We're disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please email your concerns and account information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can further assist you.
Thank you.

Replies
Poor Quality Carpet and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LINCOLNSHIRE, ILLINOIS -- One year ago (September 2016) we had carpet installed and for about a month or so we were happy and then we noticed the loops in our Berber carpet were pulling out and the surface looked "frizzy". Someone from customer service came out, took pictures, told us this was a manufacturer's defect and they would re-carpet everything - start over with salesman and choose something else.

It was now too close to the holidays so the salesman agreed to wait until January after decorations were down. He came out, we chose an "upgraded Berber" that was nearly identical to the original carpet. We agreed on a date for installation (February 20, 2017) and here we are again... months later unhappy with backing pulling up through the carpet, loops pulling out and the beginnings of that "frizzy look". I have been phoning daily and cannot seem to get a phone call back from anyone to even have someone come out and look at the carpet.

I even contacted our salesman and he said there is nothing he could do to help me. The customer service personnel who answer initially have been wonderful; but I can't get past them. I am completely frustrated with Empire! In addition to the great amount of money spent, we have hours of time spent making phone calls and home from work two days for installation... two days taken from actual vacation time with family. FRUSTRATED and would definitely not recommend anyone to consider using Empire.

Company Response 09/28/2017:

Deanna,
We're disappointed to hear that your carpet is not meeting your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we'll be in contact with you soon to further address your concerns.
Thank you.

Replies
Beware Doing Business With Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRESNO, CALIFORNIA -- We had them come out to measure for two rooms of carpet under their 50/50/50 sale. We selected two carpets and signed a contract to install. That very day we saw an ad at a local warehouse that would be 50% less money for a better grade carpet and pad. We immediately followed the terms of the contract and canceled. Even though we were given a cancellation number by phone, we mailed the cancellation as instructed per the agreement on the same day of purchase.

About a week later, I called regarding the return of the deposit to my credit card and was told I would have to wait 10 business days from the date of the cancellation. A few days later a sales representative called and offered us the carpet at a reduced price which was still more than the better grade carpet we could buy. We declined the offer.

After 10 business days, still no credit to my credit card of the deposit so I called again and was told the cancellation date was after the sales representative made her final pitch to us and we would have to wait 10 business days from that! The cancellation reference number was issued to me 10 days before the sales representative called me and we could find no reference in the contract to a last ditch sales effort to determine a cancellation. What a racket to use my money. They bought a lot of bad feelings for small amount of money. Wouldn't it just be better to do the upfront thing and honor the contract and return the money?

Company Response 06/21/2017:

Dear Bill,
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We'd like to address your concerns, but are unable to locate your account with the information provided. Please email your account and contact information to customersupport@empire-today.com, and mention my3cents in the subject line so we can follow up with you.
Thank you.
-ET Customer Support

Replies
Advertisement
$99 Room/Sale? Don't Believe The Hype
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BONAIRE, GEORGIA -- First I would like to say I had never purchased carpet before and there were subtle signs that really let me know I should go elsewhere, but I ignored them. A relative of a friend had a good experience and I based my decision on that and the $99 room sale. I wish I had come across these comments and reviews before setting up a FREE CONSULTATION. But I was truly just ready to get the simple, small, project over and done with. Please... FOLLOW YOUR GUT INSTINCTS AT ALL TIMES and continue READING THIS REVIEW!!!

My first appointment was scheduled for January 2, 2015 which was great because I was off. About an hour before the time frame that someone was supposed to show up, the salesperson, **, calls, explains he's out of town on vacation and Empire must've made a mistake scheduling me on that day. He asked if it was possible that he could come Monday. I agreed because I happened to be off that day as well. He said he would call around noon Monday January 5, 2015. I received no call at all.

I called Empire and explained the entire situation and the cust svc representative just scheduled me for another appointment on January 12, 2015. No apology for the current inconvenience. Ok fine. I need to get an estimate to see what I am working with so I agree to the January 12th appointment. Now I had a whole week to mull this over and check online, but life got in the way and next thing I knew January 12th was here.

On January 12, 2015, ** (yes same salesperson!) shows up on time. Makes no mention of standing me up previously. How do I know it was the same salesperson? I kept the number he called from to cancel the first appoint and it was the same number he called from on the 12th and it was on his business card. But I am just ready to find out how much it's going to cost me. Now keep in mind I've never purchased carpet before so I am admitting I was clueless. But this $99 room sale sounds amazing and even with the added cost of the product it can't be that bad.

PROJECT: Replacing only the carpet in 1 small bedroom with dimensions of 10x11 with a carpet as similar as possible. The salesman gave his whole spiel, history of the company, etc. I know he must do this, but I also know I am only getting this one room done so it's no big deal. I look at the samples, pick the carpet. He measured the room and never told me what he came up with. So now I'm saying to myself ok that's a little weird. He starts telling me about all these discounts I am eligible for, etc.

Now he's talking my language. He breaks out a calculator and starts computing figures behind his briefcase so that I cannot see what he is doing. But I can hear him banging on the calculator like crazy. If you've ever seen the scene of Tyler Perry's Diary of a mad Black Woman where Madea is in the kitchen adding on a calculator, that is the same exact thing ** was doing, but he wasn't talking, just calculating. Right then I was thinking this is going to be really good or really bad.

It was really bad. I was told padding is included in the price and that's just how Empire does it so I couldn't get carpet only. The least expensive carpet quote was $614.27. And the rest went up from there increasing in $100-$150 increments. And they were all just flat numbers. Not a breakdown of what exactly I would be paying for and what discounts I was getting.

Should've said NO THANKS right then and there, but I really wanted this job done. He told me he could have one of his 20 crews back over here tomorrow and have the job done in an hour or so. I said ok, at least I wouldn't have to wait any longer. He pulled up the contract on his tablet and said I would get a copy overnight, I just had to sign some areas. Then he said he would need my credit card info or check to secure the appointment. He stressed that no one would get paid until the work was done and that I signed a certificate of satisfactory completion and gave it to the installer. That is how they get paid.

So I said ok, it made sense to me. I made sure I saw that in the contract as well as my right to cancel and signed the contract. All this took place over the course of 40 minutes. After ** left I spent 2 hours trying to comprehend how $99 plus cost of carpet turned into $614.27. I got online and came across this site and spent over an hour reading all of the horrible reviews. My heart sank. I had made a huge mistake. I had to cancel.

I called Empire Today the same night, about 4 hours after my free consultation and explained that I needed to cancel immediately. Please do not send any installers. The CSR told me the department that cancels installs is closed, but my cancellation is processed and they will just review it to make sure I get refunded. Refunded? I haven't had anything done to get refunded!! The CSR says my account shows a payment via credit card for $614.27 paid in full.

Now I am furious, but I am thinking it must be an error. ** said they don't get paid until the job is complete and I sign that certificate. When I got off the phone, I checked with my bank and sure enough, there was a pending transaction against my checking account for that $614.27.

The very next morning on January 13th I call Empire back to confirm my cancellation and make sure my money is being refunded. I spoke with a CSR who asked why I was canceling and I told her I found someone to do it for less (I had not, but I didn't want to go through a whole song and dance). She asked for how much and I told her it was only 1 room and I found someone to do it for half the price they were charging me. This CSR tells me my business is appreciated and she sees some rebates that I am eligible for which would knock my price down considerably. It wouldn't be as low as half, but they really want to do business with me. WHAT?!! Are you kidding me?!!

I told her I would have to decline because even with the rebates, it doesn't take away the fact that money was charged immediately for services that were not completed and I am not happy with that. She reviews my account and told me she saw where there was a deposit charged. I told her that nothing was mentioned about a deposit and I would not have agreed to a deposit that was the full cost of the project. She said she wasn't there so she cannot say what was agreed to, but don't worry I would receive my complete refund in 3-5 business days.

Yes you read correctly. The same money they took immediately as a "deposit" now cannot be refunded for 3-5 business days. I am livid! I am mad at myself, Empire, **, the whole situation!!! She told me that because I used a credit card I would receive a refund much faster than if I had wrote a check which could take up to 15 days. Her final question was if there was anything else she could do to help me. My response was "Unless you can immediately refund my money the same way you took it, then no there really isn't any other way you can help me."

Is this situation over? No. I am so paranoid and skeptical because of what I read I call Empire back on January 14th, the day after I confirmed my cancellation, to make sure it was truly canceled and the refund was processed. That CSR is showing the cancellation, the cancellation number and tells me it will be refunded in 7-10 business days. Excuse me!!! What happened to the 3-5 business days from yesterday? This CSR is sticking to her script and tells me it will be 7-10 business days and this is the credit institutions policy. The refund will be deposited as soon as they can do it. Ok is it 3-5 business days, 7-10 business days or as soon as you can do it?!!

I hang up feeling dumb and defeated. I should've known better. Empire immediately sent emails confirming my free estimate consultation and my installation. But when I canceled, I received a cancellation number and no email to verify it. If it sounds too good to be true, many times it is. This story does end well though. I ended up asking another friend for a carpet install referral. I explained the Empire catastrophe and he introduced me to a local guy who came and assessed the situation. I bought some carpet from Lowe's for $150 (I had to get a 10x15 piece for the style I wanted).

This local guy picked up the carpet and installed it. My all inclusive (carpet, install and tip) price was $260. I felt relieved and it took the edge off of having to wait to get my money back from Empire for work that was never done. Imagine looking at a room with jacked up carpet after $614.27 has been taken from your checking account. Not a good feeling.

Empire returned my money to my checking account on January 21, 2015. Technically that was 4 business days after I canceled (the 19th was a holiday). But it felt like an eternity since it was 9 days from the date of my FREE consultation. Please beware of the $99/room sale. Especially if you are doing your whole house!!

Attached are before and after pics of the bedroom that needed the carpet replaced. I just want you to see that paying a total of $260 for new carpet and installation does not mean the work is shoddy at all. I am extremely pleased now that Empire is out of the picture!!! NO THANKS to Empire Today.

Company Response 01/27/2015:

Hi LaToria, we appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us, and we regret that you did not enjoy your experience. We understand that we've been in contact with you and that you have already purchased elsewhere. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Opposite of the Reviews I Read
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

ATHENS, GEORGIA -- Initially I was scared to even try Empire from reading the reviews. I'm so glad I went with them. Other than arriving later than the given time frame everything else was excellent. It took about 7.5 hours for them complete the job and clean up. There were no cutting corners and the job is beautiful. No damages were substantiated. No holes, no open ended flooring. Just awesome timely work. We had carpet in three areas and tile in the other and once converted it made our home feel more open and everything flows together amazingly.

Company Response 01/05/2018:

Dear Customer,
We love to hear from our satisfied customers, and we're thrilled to know that we surpassed your expectations. We look forward to working with you on future projects.
Thank you!

Replies
Shoddy Install of Hardwood Floors
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MARYLAND, MARYLAND -- $16,000 job looks like children did it. Gaps between the wood that they filled with tacky putty. Two days off work for the repair shot to heck. This guy tells me that this installer always does bad work. Funny, his work is just as tacky. We work hard and 16k is an investment. Don't expect to be taken advantage of. Corporate office useless.

Company Response 08/10/2017:

It's regrettable that you weren't satisfied with your installation. We want to know more about the issues you've experienced, so we can work with you towards a resolution. We've been unable to locate your account with the information provided here. If you could, please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com so we may reach out to you and begin working towards a resolution together.

Replies
Carpet And Laminate Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHVILLE,TN -- My wife and I are currently dealing with Empire. It is slowly turning into a nightmare. We did our due diligence and had three estimates done for flooring. My wife at the time of the estimates was eight months pregnant. The sales representative from Empire came out. He was a pretty nice guy. Did his song and dance and we told him our problems. We needed carpet in two bedrooms and laminate in our kitchen and living room. The problem is our living room is not level and is off as much as an inch in some areas, we told our representative that and he was completely aware of the problem. He sold us what I will assume is good carpet and a nice laminate.

Fast forward two weeks to install. The carpet was to be installed Tuesday and the laminate on Thursday. Empire called to confirm our appointment on Tuesday only to cancel it the day of install and they want to come Wednesday. Great, we had set up all of our dr. appointments for Wednesday so now we are scrambling to figure out what to do.

I called customer service and stayed on hold well over an hour and only made headway when I mentioned they had breached their own contract by not installing when they said they would. They ended up giving us a discount that covered my day's wages as that is what I would lose if I had to stay home for them. The install crew was awesome! Very courteous and quick. The carpet looks great. You have to remember they are contractors not really part of the company.

Now for the laminate. Install was supposed to be there between 8-10. They didn't show up until 4:30, as if they were going to get anything done. Then the install leader tells my wife he can't install the type of laminate we selected that it will crack because of the uneven floors.

Wait a minute??? That's what we told the rep? Then our installer tells us of a cheaper material that could be used LPV. He calls the install manager who has someone bring out a book of choices for us and they say "if you pick one today we may be able to install on Saturday." My wife picked one out and that was the last we heard from anyone for two days. No one would answer their phones. I called customer service and they couldn't reach anyone as well. Now I'm getting mad. They have a $900 deposit for a floor that salesman sold me that won't work. Now I feel like I've been had.

Yesterday sales representative calls and says he will be out tomorrow to see what we can do. My wife is now almost due and we were ensured this would be done within two weeks let alone a month. Today my wife got three call attempting to confirm Monday as an install day. To install what??? We haven't picked anything new out? I'm wondering if they are just going to send out another install team that doesn't care to attempt to install. I guess I will find out if the sales representative shows up tomorrow.

At this point Empire has violated their own contract and it's getting old. Their customer service is the absolute worst I have ever dealt with. I should have known something was up when there was only one number you can call. And they will never transfer you to a supervisor. Bad business if you ask me. I have never treated a customer the way they have treated me and my wife. I will keep this thread updated as things go along.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Product and Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- If I could give them a zero I would! We got carpet installed less than 2 years ago and about 2 1/2 months ago the carpets were cleaned in all 3 rooms. A day later the smell that came from one of the rooms was so bad I had to tear it off and remove it because it was right next to my kids rooms that are 2 and 4 years old.

When I called empire to report this they told me that all I can do is create a case and they would get back to me. About 4 days later they told me that they wanted to send someone out there to take a look at the carpet, which I had no problem with but he could only do it in 3 days. Now we are talking about a week later, which I had to keep my kids away from the carpet because I tore it out and they wanted to mess with the threads.

Once the guy came out he took pictures and asked if he could take the carpet I ripped out with him and I said yes. About another week and a half later a woman named Janet ** called me and said that the carpet didn't dry correctly. So I told her that it sounds like a product defect because all three rooms were dried the same way.

She told me that they can replace the section I tore out with new carpet, which was not even up for discussion because a 2-year old carpet even with cleaning looks completely different from a brand new carpet. So she then proceeded to say that they will pay for material and I have to pay a $400 dollars for labor. I told them that it was unfair that I had to pay again for a defect that their product caused and they should absorb the whole cost. She told me that she would need her supervisor to agree to this and that she would call me back.

One month later with 3 phone calls and 2 voicemails unanswered I was finally able to talk to a supervisor named Linda ** that decided to tell me that they would lower the price to $200. I told her that it was ridiculous how they have treated me and that they should be ashamed of themselves. I had to get the carpet replaced because I had a hose hole in my floor for the past month and a half and I couldn't live like that anymore so I agreed to pay the cost.

A day before the appointment they decided to call me and tell me that they over booked and can't make it. They did tell me that they would now install it for free, which was the first decent thing that they have done for me. We rescheduled and the second time they came they told me that they were going to install gold or silver floor transitions, which I told them that there was no way they were going to do that because they originally installed wood transitional and it was even noted on my original order form. So yes once again I had to reschedule.

The third time they came out I told them to come early but the gave me a window of 9-11 which they ended up coming at 11:30. This time they told me they couldn't replace the carpet because I needed my husband to remove the closet folding door. I told them the original time they were here that they removed it and put it back together. The guy said he doesn't do that and I should call my husband. I told him that there wasn't going to be anyone here till 6. By this time I was so upset, I have missed 2 days of work for them and moved furniture twice by myself all for this crap.

I called Linda again and left a message. The guys told me that they were going to go and I told them to wait till I got a hold of someone so I knew what was the next step, but before I could get someone on the phone that I was on hold for 25 minutes they left my house. So now I still have a hole in my floor, I still need to miss another day of work and I have to put everything back and take it out again. Still no one called me back!!!!! PLEASE! PLEASE!! PLEASE LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE AND STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!!

Company Response 10/12/2015:

Hi Hila, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we understand your frustration. We can assure you that we are taking your concerns seriously, and we will be following up with you to ensure that everything gets completed to your satisfaction. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.

Replies
Complaint Against Empire
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- July of 2014, we called Empire Today. The pushy sales lady came to my house the same day. She did not leave until we signed the contract with her. The next day, I called the company and wanted to cancel because their price was very expensive, and they would not cancel. They gave me a couple of hundred dollars off the carpet and tile installation.

We did not have a major problem with the tile people, but we started replacing the carpet August of 2014. The installer was at my house July 28th and inspected my furniture and my house and the flooring to make sure that they have ordered enough carpet and to see how they would move the furniture. There were supposed to install the carpet the next day which would have been Tues July 29th. Based on his suggestion he said for us to start August 1st so that he can bring more people and that they can finish the job sooner on Saturday. I said okay.

They started the replacement of my carpet August 1st 2014. Two people came and literally hostage in my house. They were using laundry room door and front door to come into my house. They put all the heavy furniture with no coverage on my front entry, which is marble which was in perfect condition before they started working. They moved the rest of my other furniture in my kitchen and in my breakfast area and we were held hostage because we couldn't use our kitchen and refrigerator and front entry. So, we were literally living on the front yard or backyard. We were not able to get into the house to see what was going on, or in some case use the restroom.

At 7:30pm on Friday, we were informed that they would be back Saturday and he would bring 4-6 people to finish the job. They put some furniture back and some furniture on my front entry. Saturday Morning they came back around 11am and there were about 4-6 people working. We stayed outside again, and blocked out again hoping that they would finish the job today.

Around 2:30 when my husband left the house to get something to eat, the installer came to me to tell me bad news, that they cannot finish the job today. This was because the carpet he had was different than the carpet he had yesterday. The color is the same, but the lot # is different. He wouldn't be able to match the seam and that I would be unhappy.

All my upstairs furniture, they shoved it in the balconies of my master room and my daughter's balcony, and he said that he feels really bad for us because he has to bring back the furniture to the room, but can't put the furniture back because he will be coming back on Monday to fix the problem. He brought everything from the balcony and shoved them more into the bathrooms and we were all blocked out of our closets and showers, and restrooms and changing clothes. Everything was shoved in a small place.

The only place we were able to use was the downstairs powder room, which has no shower. And we were able to only use the kitchen and family room. He said he feels really bad, but Empire would take care of you and give me some kind of credit, which they did not do that yet.

He came back on Monday August 4th, and he said that he will fix the problem for me. He has the right carpet he said and he left Monday around 8pm and he wanted a signature from my husband, and checked marked for where we would survey him. I told him I am not happy with the carpet change, and furniture was very much damaged and the seam of the carpet all over the house was very much visible. He told me the carpet is not thick enough for my home, and will shed. So basically, Empire needs to re install the carpet again, and he would come do the change.

Knowing that he knew from the beginning that the carpet is not thick enough, and knowing that the carpet they gave him was not the right carpet, and also knowing that he would have to come back and re install new carpet because of this. Saturday August 2nd, 5 people had to sleep in the family room on the floor with no pillow and blanket since we had no access to anything in our house and everything was locked out. We didn't have access to toothpaste and toothbrush and had to go out and buy them since the no access. We had to use the powder room downstairs to brush our teeth.

Based on his suggestion we had to call Empire today and tell them what was going on immediately. And since August 5th 2014, we are calling Empire and letting them know what happened and what's going on and little by little that 4 door stopper were missing in my house, the base board was broader, doors were not closing. Baseboard and walls and paint have been damaged, and also couches. Also formal living room couches, and glass dining table has been chipped at so many places. The house was painted In Nov of 2013, and most of my paint upstairs have been damaged, including the kid's bedrooms, master bedrooms, etc.

All paint is damaged, and all bedroom sets also have been damaged. The installer did not put all the screws on the bed, and the bed was loosened. The formal dining room and buffet which has been covered with sheets since we moved in have also been damaged with scratches and dents. The chairs and coffee table and side table have scratches and also book case and office and room desks have been broken.

Also master place fire place marble have been damaged, and also the casing around the patio door because of the moving of the furniture. He broke the casing of the patio door in front of my husband, and told him he would come back and fix it but never did. All my marble have been scratched and chipped where the carpet meets the marble.

There have been so many damages on the marble that I cannot describe anything. The staircase has been deeply scratched and it is so excessive that I do not know what to do about it. Small picture frames in the hallway fell and damaged the frame and also the wall. And bigger tapestry pictures have been broken due to being fallen.

We have been following all the installers instruction to put things in box, and put the small items away, and I have 3 or 4 days to put things away. He never told us to remove any picture frames. Empire changed my flooring of my 5 bathrooms with the tile, and he also damaged the tile which was connected from my daughter's room to the bathroom. There are so many chips in my kitchen flooring, and breakfast area.

Pieces of the tile are gone, and he came back and shaved some of the pieces of the tile in my kitchen and laundry room to make the pieces straight. He did the same to my daughter's bathroom, and for it to not be noticeable. But, I have more carpet there, more than tile, which you are supposed to have more tile than carpet. Due to the rolling in of the heavy carpet, my washer and dryer have been scratched and paint has been damaged.

We have sent pictures to Empire, they have sent supervisors to my house to look at the damages, and each time they tell me they are going to fix the damages of my kitchen flooring and marble. They said they are going to order marble to replace your chipped marble, and someone is going to come and paint where has been damaged and change the flooring for kitchen and laundry room with the same tile of the bathroom. When the painter came to look at the damages, he said he has to paint the whole house to make it all even.

For the staircase, even with sanding and staining, it will never go back to when it was normal in the beginning, so little by little they changed their mind, after all the promises Howie (installation supervisor), me to directly and Janet (Cus. Serve. Rep), to fix everything, they have only decided to give me 10% of the purchase price, which is about $830 dollars, and I rejected the offer.

They reported this to installer insurance company, and they came over and looked at everything, and rejected the damages due to previous existing damages. What I want to ask them, is if the damages are pre existent, the first of installer should have told me and had me sign some sort of paperwork. The first installer came to inspect my house on July 28th, and if there were any pre existing damages, he should have taken a picture, and sign something like two other installers that came and changed the carpet again.

Most of my furniture were new, and were kept really well since they were covered until the first installment. This tells any logical person, that there were no pre existing damages, and no furniture damaged. If so, he should have said something about it. After the second installer came to inspect the house, and when he was changing the carpet, while he was dissembling my bedroom set, purposely put the foot board and head board in the wrong place for me not to see the damages on my cherry wood furniture. I have trusted Empire due to the false advertisement on TV due to what they have promised.

For the second time the carpet has been changed for the second time in Nov. 12th of 2014. The second carpenter took an hour to look at the furniture and the damages, and let me know the damages have been done previously to show me that they are previous damages, and he would not be held responsible. He did a terrible job of carpet installation. The cuts were horrible and easily seen and it took him 3 days to finish the job. He left the Friday at 4pm and said that this was the best he can do.

Meanwhile we are paying for the carpet every month through Wells Fargo. We asked Wells Fargo to help us to get our money back through them, and Wells Fargo is not helping us and we are disappointed with Wells Fargo because they are telling me to deal with Empire and not them. Wells Fargo is a credit card company, and I don't know why they want us to deal with Empire, and Not Wells Fargo to get my money back for an unfinished job.

Anyhow, now the carpet has been changed for the 3rd time. The supervisor's name is Juan, and he came over. He said that everything is wrong with the carpet and it has to be changed for the third time. On June 10th, the carpet was finished. I called the next day. We still have a problem with the stairs, with the size of the nails, and the carpet is pushing out on both sides.

I hope to never do business with Empire again. My life has been changed since August of 2014. I am still dealing with them and getting nowhere. I am calling them daily. It is frustrating not to get a response from them. I am only getting an email once in a while, and keep getting promises made but not getting any of them.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >