FedEx Corporation

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
105 reviews & complaints.
www.fdxcorp.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Fedex Destroys Then Disposes Of Priceless Shipped Item
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- My dad died just before Thanksgiving (my mom passed about 3 years ago), and one of the items in their house that I wanted to have is a beautifully and intrinsically hand-carved wooden swan that they had purchased when they lived in Hong Kong. It was about 15 pounds, and about 2 feet in length.

I took the swan and a few other small items to PakMail in Seneca SC to have them shipped to me at home, and I emphasized to Andrew at PakMail how fragile this swan was in particular. The wood itself was not fragile but the long swan neck could be broken if it was abused. Andrew assured me that they would pack the shipment with the utmost care and ensure its safe delivery. The shipping alone was about $185. I insured the shipment for $200, thinking that even if the swan arrived slightly damaged, it should be able to be repaired by a good woodworker for about that amount.

The box arrived more than a week later, a HUGE box, about 4 feet by 3 feet by 2 feet, and upon opening the box, which was very full of Styrofoam peanuts and bubble wrap, the wooden swan's neck had been broken. It was a clean break. I called PakMail, who asked me to go get an estimate from a local woodworker. I did so and sent him the estimate (under $200), where his instructions were that I should wait to hear from him and he would file a claim with FedEx. I sent him pictures of the broken swan, as well as pictures of the box which showed no external visible damage.

Several days later, a FedEx truck came to my house, and the driver asked to pick up the broken swan. What? I did not know he was coming, nobody had said anything to me about this. I told the FedEx driver that I did not have the box anymore, and questioned him about whether or not the swan could be transported safely. He thought for a moment, then said that FedEx "does this all the time" and that he would ensure its safety. Although not offered, I would not let him take the swan without a receipt, so he (grudgingly) gave me a receipt with a claim number.

I called PakMail and told them about this. Andrew was upset since he said he had specifically told FedEx *NOT* to pick up the swan, but he said since I did not know any better nor had been told anything differently, it would be ok.

Not having heard anything from FedEx a week later, I called FedEx to inquire about the status of the swan, since I wanted to go ahead and get it repaired at the woodworker who had given me the estimate. After being transferred several times, I was told that the swan "had been damaged beyond recognition, and FedEx had DISPOSED of it". What?? DISPOSED OF IT? That was NOT their call and what about the driver who said he could transport it safely?? The FedEx supervisor took my statement to file a complaint against the driver but I knew in my heart that that would go nowhere.

Talking and emailing with Linda [Snip] of FedEx (who apparently is the FedEx contact for PakMail), she finally told me after several more weeks that FedEx would take no responsibility for this, and that since the insurance claim for $200 had been paid (and PakMail also felt bad enough about this to refund the $185 paid for shipping), that they would close this case. I told her repeatedly that even if one were to ignore the tremendous sentimental value of a very special item owned by my recently deceased parents, several Google searches showed that purchasing a replacement equivalent piece would be $500-$1000.

FedEx has demonstrated their willful destruction of personal property, their negligence in handling it properly, their unwarranted decision to DISPOSE OF IT (their exact words), and their unwillingness to do anything about it. Is that the kind of company YOU want to use to ship items that have ANY value to you at all? For me in the future, no way.
     
Replies
StarStarStarStarStar
Great job Federal Express
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
COLORADO -- I would like to thank Federal Express for delivering my package just now, at 9:00 AM, Saturday, February 11th, 2012, in such bad weather.

I ordered an item yesterday morning, out of Daytona Beach, Florida, and decided to go with Federal Express Saturday delivery, because it would work best for me, I would be home.

Last night, a snow storm began, and I started to have doubts my package would arrive, due to weather conditions, and I tracked it, and as I was tracking it, so far so good.

When I awoke at 6AM this morning, I looked outside and had a shock, because we are having a bad snow storm. On the news last night, they made no mention that we would be having blizzard white out conditions. I thought to myself, oh well, if it does not arrive, it's not Federal Express's fault.

But it did arrive! I heard the doorbell, and ran downstairs to find the Federal Express delivery man on my door step, all happy and smiling with my package. I've always had excellent service with Federal Express, and am glad I made the decision to have my package sent for Saturday delivery.

Federal Express, well done!!!!
     
Replies
Fedex Home Delivery Fiasco
Posted by on
What a heart warming and complementary story about UPS (Posted By: SJW-19 on 2/9/2010 ). I only wish today's large Corporations were as compassionate, reliable and understanding.

My nightmare experience with Fedex Ground Home Delivery has been just the opposite. It all started when on February 3, I placed an online order for a LCD computer monitor with Dell, Inc. It was estimated to be delivered in 5 to 7 days. Sure enough, Dell's appointed shipper, Fedex Ground, brought it to my home town, Baltimore, within 5 days. But for the last 4 days, the package has been enjoying joy rides on Fedex Home Delivery truck, a separate unit of Fedex. I will explain.

Initially it was scheduled for delivery on February 9, but did not reach me. Second and third time, it was scheduled for delivery on February 12 and February 13 respectively, and again it was not delivered. Each time it was scheduled for delivery, I have had to stay home the entire day to receive and sign for the package. After lugging it around in the area the truck returns to Fedex Home distribution facility and a staff person enters it's status in the computer as "Delivery Exception due to Weather, Attempted Delivery". Yes we have had considerable snowfall this year, but on the days of scheduled delivery it has been bright and shiny and the traffic has moved at a reasonable pace. I can understand Fedex may have had difficulty delivering it on February 9 but surely Fedex Home should have been able to deliver it on February 12. This of course only makes sense if Fedex Ground were more organized and planned their deliveries based on what can be delivered in a day and delivered packages received first. Calls to Fedex have resulted in little help. Ditto to my calls to Dell, who incidentally have their customer service representatives sitting some 8,000 miles away and have little clue as to the appointed shipper. Dell representative's best suggestion is that I should just wait until the package is delivered to me!

In the meantime, I shudder every time Fedex Home website allerts me my package is on the truck for delivery as it means another day holed up in my home. Scrabble anyone?
     
Replies
FedEx killed my dog too
Posted by on
MAURY COUNTY, TENNESSEE -- Just before Christmas, 2010, while I was out buying dog food, a FedEx driver came into my yard to deliver a package (I guess) and killed my dog and left him in the snow to die without even checking the dog's injuries or notifying me until asked about it by law enforcement. I was gone only a little over an hour. The week before, the dog had barked at the driver and he left furious and cursing under his breath, so I didn't even have to think about who did it. The most unnerving aspect of the incident was that the dog had no signs of being "accidentally run over" as the lying bum told me and law enforcement.

The "detective" assigned to "investigate" the incident never even saw the scene where it happened, never saw a single photo of the scene, and formed his "opinion" about what happened without even letting me know that he was finished with his "investigation." I was told by [snip] "That's Messed Up!" website, that it was assumed that the driver "accidentally hung him with the bumper while backing out." This is the type of generalizing and stupidity that causes so many crimes to go unsolved.

Had this "judge/detective" gotten off his butt and done his job properly he would have seen that NO ONE IN THEIR RIGHT MIND WOULD "BACK" OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY!! It has a large area, similar to a cul-de-sac, that allows for a car, truck, or even a semi to pull in and without any "backing" at all, circle and leave. The house was previously owned by a semi driver and I'm sure that is what he designed the driveway for. In addition, like the other story here, my driveway is over a quarter mile, close to 1/2 mile long. The dog was a registered German Shepard in prime condition, 10 months old, and I have no doubt whatsoever that a truck traveling at 10mph would be able to run over his head (the only place there was trauma) with him giving it his full attention. Also THE DOG WASN'T IN THE DRIVEWAY, HE WAS IN THE GRASS APPROX. 10' FROM THE DRIVEWAY AND APPROX. 110 yards. FROM WHERE THE PACKAGE WAS LEFT! THERE WAS NO GRAVEL OR TREADMARKS ANYWHERE ON THE DOG AND NO BLOOD OR HAIR OR EVEN DISTURBED GRAVEL ANYWHERE IN THE AREA! (Very light gray gravel just washed by melting snow)
When asked if FedEx would replace my dog, their spokesman said that he had been in "contact with the family and expressed their condolences." THIS IS A BLATANT LIE! There is no "family" as I live alone and the only contact I've had from FedEx was the liar who came to deliver another package THE NEXT DAY AFTER LAW ENFORCEMENT STARTED ASKING THEM ABOUT IT. He said that he did not drive the day my dog was killed. He admitted he was the one my dog barked at, and he was delivering on the day he told me this lie, but it was an anonymous "someone else" who actually killed the dog, he just "forgot to contact me" after he told the "guilty driver" that "I will handle it". It was a driver who was "so upset" that he left my home and felt he should tell his supervisor-the liar I was talking to. Not to tell me anything or see if the dog needed a vet. NO NOTE WAS LEFT, NO PHONE CALL UNTIL THE "DETECTIVE" TOLD HIM TO CALL ME AND SAY SOMETHING" . My dog was at home minding his business, he would come to anyone offering him a snack. EVEN-IF-HE-HAD-PREVIOUSLY-BARKED-AT-YOU!!!
"Seek first to understand-THEN TO BE UNDERSTOOD!!!!!"- Steven Covey
THIS IS MY H_O_M_E, NOT TO BE VIOLATED IN SUCH A WAY BY A_N_Y_O_N_E!!!
     
Replies
Loaded Fraudulent Charges & Equipment Destruction
Posted by on
MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE -- I am a blind business owner and requested assistance with shipment of my office equipment November 2009 from Texas to Colorado. The agent on the phone said she had no problem assisting me and there would be no charge for the help since I was visually impaired. I requested the shipment be sent to my office receiving station in Colorado and the company refused to deliver to a competitors address. I made arrangements for the shipment to be delivered to FedEx Express. Later it was discovered Ground Drivers made snide remarks about shipping hear as well.

The order was placed for the equipment to be picked up on Tuesday November 17, and I waited all day, and no one showed up. I called in around 6:00 PM to be informed they would not come until next day.

On Wednesday the driver finally showed up with no help, no dolly and attempted to move my equipment from my home office to his personal vehicle as advised by one of my neighbors who was helping me. Rather than having my equipment damaged my neighbor retrieved my personal dolly from the garage and then returned when driver finished loading. All cartons were labeled and ready to go when driver arrived.

I contacted again and requested a second shipment on Thursday and this time they sent two drivers who proceeded to take boxes at random rather than what was marked for shipment. They were unprofessional and very rude.

After shipping my equipment the trouble began firs there is a box stolen from my shipment containing valued electronic equipment and then there was destruction of CCR TV used by me and my staff who are all blind. We submitted a claim for damaged goods and was insulted again by James who works at the local office stating that FedEx would not honor a damage claim from my business.

I am refusing to pay for delivery until they replace all my damaged goods, make the invoices correct and cease attempting to charge me with service I did not order.

They are attempting to charge me with Call Tags never requested.

They are charging return charges that never occurred

And then there is the damage of more than $5,000 of which they have made a trivial payment in the amount of $400.

I will be cancelling service with this company after 20+ years and will use the competition as I refused to be abused and subjected to predatory practices because I am blind.

As a business owner and shipper it is my choice where to have products delivered business to business not Federal Express Ground.

It is my right to file claims for damaged goods due to poor handling of clearly marked goods.

It is my right to receive quality service and performance as a blind person just as if I were sighted. It is time business stop attempting to take advantage of visually impaired business owners.

Seems strange they would lie to public "FedEx is committed to providing outstanding customer experience, to being a great place to work, a thoughtful steward of the environment and a caring citizen in the communities where we live and work. At FedEx, we are passionate about sustainably connecting people and places and improving the quality of life around the world:". This quote is from their website. How can it possibly be true if this type of customer treatment is to be allowed.

FedEx Customer Relations




     
Replies
Lazy Delivery Drivers LIE about attempted deliveries
Posted by on
On 10/5/09, I was waiting for my "Guaranteed" delivery from a supplier whom we do business with on a monthly basis. My shipment came in two parts, one from UPS, the other from FedEx Ground. I asked my supplier not to use FedEx because they had lied the last time, claiming "attempted delivery, customer unavailable". I explained this to their "manager on duty" who told me this simply could not happen. I advised him to stop smoking whatever it was, and it COULD happen because I was sitting on my front porch waiting for the truck when the tracking website claimed they were at the door!
My supplier advised me that to receive my order by the deadline, FedEx was their only option from the origination point.

Well, today I heard the doorbell ring and there was UPS with half of my order. I signed his electronic pad at 4:20pm and set the large box just inside. As the UPS driver started his truck I saw a FedEx truck go down the street slowly. My wife went to call our supplier who said both boxes would be delivered today. I got a sinking feeling in my gut and went immediately to the computer to check the tracking. Sure enough, they had been to my house again! This time with at 4:21pm when he "attempted delivery". The UPS driver was still there (I signed his pad at 4:20), my wife was on the phone with our supplier at that moment, and I was standing out front apparently looking at a FedEx truck with stealth technology. I even told FedEx this when I called. They said we were the driver's last stop (really?) and he was in route back to the distribution center. I reminded them that only 10 minutes had passed! How for could he be! Hutchins, TX is an hour drive from my house. The only reply was "We can't MAKE him go back, Sir. You can come pick it up tonight after 8:00pm or we'll reschedule delivery for tomorrow sometime." So people out there in consumer America, here's my choices; I get to drive an hour each way to collect my shipment tonight (because they CAN MAKE me drive there), or I can wait until tomorrow and pay my employees a day's pay to sit and wait (and pray) the FedEx phantom driver comes.

They've gone too far folks. They can get away with this disgusting and dishonest behavior because we allow it. Do yourself and others a favor. Please tell your friends, family, bosses, co-workers, stores you shop in, and especially websites you buy from not to use this horrible company that couldn't care less if WE are victimized! FedEx Ground Sucks, plain and simple.
     
Replies
Fedex Sucks... Flat Out Sucks
Posted by on
SHARON, PENNSYLVANIA -- It all began when I ordered a laptop from Dell. Mind you, this was a month or so ago. I got the email that it had shipped, so I was excited. When I tried the tracking number it gave me an error that said invalid tracking number or something. So I called Dell to see what was up and they gave me the correct number. I thought all was well until it just sat there. After a few days I called FedEx to see what was going on and I was told that they couldn't find the package. This made me mad... I ended up being bounced back to Dell, they claimed Dell never sent the package, but Dell said they did so I gave up for the day. A few days after this I woke up and had a nagging feeling so I went outside to look around and there it was MY NEW LAPTOP covered in snow on my NEIGHBORS porch! We don't live in the greatest neighborhood so I was none to pleased about this because I was told it required a signature. It was over though, I had my laptop until it broke. Dell sent a box and I thought all was well, but it never came. Then my neighbor pounds on my door and asked if the box was mine.

It was blowing around in the yard because they left it on their porch once again. I got my box, at least. Packed my laptop up called to schedule a pickup. Thought all was well, man was I wrong. I was told that they can't schedule pickups past 3 in my area and they would be here to pick it up at 12:30. 12:30 rolls around, then 1,2... I called and asked where they were and was met by a woman who said the representative I spoke to yesterday messed up, they can't schedule ground pickups and that it showed they were here at 12:47. I said they weren't what's the address and of course I was met with the wrong street! I lost it on the lady, and she agreed with everything I said. She said I could wait till Monday, or drop it off at a FedEx in my area. Well we have none in my area. So I told her that was not an option, they made all the mistakes they can come pick it up TODAY.

Just 5 minutes ago they came to pick it up. I guess every so often it pays to air your opinion. Now I'm waiting to see what happens when my laptop returns, oh the fun that is to be had... Use UPS or USPS don't waste your time on these clowns!

UPDATE: 3/02/09

I got my laptop back today and the delivery guy was very apologetic for what happened. He said they got A LOT of complaints about the other guy and they switched his route or something. I'm still not going to use them, unless I absolutely have to. I'm just glad I didn't have to pull teeth to get a simple thing done.

The End ;-)
     
Replies
Ghost deliveries
Posted by on
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- It's good to know that I'm not the only one who has a problem with fed-ex ground delivery service.What amazes me most is fed-ex continues to let the drivers get away with it.Not all fed-ex drivers are bad,just the ones I've dealt with lately.And it's true about some of the post that said when they tracked their packages on fed-ex's web site they get the read out of a package estimate delivery date only to find out later that the message has been up-dated to:delivery exception,customer unavailable or business closed.Having personally experienced this a number of times myself an with the driver not leaving any form indicating he/she was here.
The way I see it is the problem is three folds.
1.Accountability
2.Poor business Management
3.lack of communication
Allow me to explain....Accountability...No one is held accountable as far as I can tell for repeated mistakes by fed-ex drivers.
poor business management....Fed-ex sub leases some of it's deliverers to independent drivers saving fed-ex money but causing some customers aggravation in the form of drivers who don't know their routes and rather than admit it,they simply say the customer was unavailable and the fed-ex facility having no way to verify the driver attempted a delivery,simply assume the delivery was made.
Lack of communications...Once a customer calls fed-ex and inquires about their package/s they are told it is out on the truck for delivery.
P.S. you never get the facility the driver works out of, just the 800 main facility.
The agent politely tells you 'We have no way of contacting the driver once the driver leaves the station,however we will call the station the driver works out of and leave a message and someone will call you back later to inform you of status of your package.My experience has been a hit and miss scenario...mostly miss.I.ve called fed-ex and e-mailed them to suggest they put some form of communication in the truck with the drivers so the station the driver works out of can contact the driver on a moments notice to avoid problems such as these in the future.It doesn't have to be anything elaborate or fancy..A cell phone with a direct link to the station and driver could do just as well.When the suggestion was made, you can imagine the response I got.It's safe to say it won't be happening anytime soon.Granted I don't live in the best of neighborhoods, but fed-ex is in the delivery business and the drivers it hires knows this as well,plus the fact that...And I've seen this for myself,some drivers will drive by a place of delivery and see a bunch of people hanging outside and decide right then and there they're not going to make the delivery.
As a fed-ex driver you know that you might have to make deliveries anywhere and everywhere your assigned route.In all fairness to the drivers however I also concede that sometimes circumstances beyond the drivers control can account for packages being late or damaged,but when the offense is repeated over 3/4 the time,at the same address,
Rather that lie and say the business was closed or customer was unavailable, just tell the truth...Some of you was to scared to make that particular delivery.Because I'm handicapped, I do a lot of shopping online and don't need the aggravation of wondering if my packages might get delivered.Add to the fact that there are 3 adults here and there is always an adult here to receive my packages, then there is no reason I should have to go through these changes just to get a package.Like most delivery companies fed-ex offer pick up option...You or your agent can pick up your package/s at a fed-ex facility.That's not a viable option...When you pay for shipping and handling for a package, you expect it to be delivered to your door(not you have to pick it up at a fed-ex facility...(if you do pick up your package/s from any delivery service, will they reimburse you for shipping)?
Ha! Ha! What a joke.
Anyway,thanks for letting me get this off my chest,the problem is still there but I feel much better knowing that there are others out there like me who understand the frustration of having to deal with a company that seems to not care about it,s customer,s.

     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
FedEx Lost My Wedding Dress
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CAPITOL HEIGHTS, MARYLAND -- FedEx has allegedly delivered my package to me according to the tracking info. It says I signed for it and everything! However, I did not sign for anything and it is now 9 days before my wedding which will be out of the Country and I have no wedding dress or anything in my closest as a possible backup. Which means, I will have to go around town trying to find a summer white beach destination wedding dress in February!

The driver states he did not deliver any packages to this address all week, yet he scanned and marked the package as delivered. How does a company stay in business by not following the proper procedures. Your not curing cancer your dropping off packages. Is it really hard to remember not to mark the packages as delivered, until they are actually being delivered and to the right person. I ordered plenty of things online and this is the first time my package has been lost/ delivered to wrong address.

I'm scared to repurchase online that I would actually get it and would it be in time, and now have to take my chances with whatever is on the racks. My mother says it's a sign that I shouldn't even be getting married and this has added so much more stress and jitters to an already stressful time.

Thanks Fed Ex for throwing such a curve ball in what was supposed to have been one of the happiest days of my life. I might even have to wait until I get there and hope I can find something.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad Representatives
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MACON, GEORGIA -- 6/5/13 received a phone call, between Fedex and company sending my package, they left a message on my answering machine. I proceeded to call the Macon Ga. store to talk to a young lady that ask for my physical address, and she told me that my package would be delivered on 6/6/13, upon getting home from work, still no package, so I called the Macon Ga. store again, was told that they could not help me without a tracking number, which was never given to me, and for me to call 1-800-FEDEX, they also gave me the run-a-round, long story short, FEDEX workers had me calling from one office to the other because no one knew where my package was. Don't know what time my package arrived, I stay until 11 PM, still no package. Awake the following morning to find my package sitting on the ground near my doorstep, after it had rain all night. About two yrs. ago FEDEX was supposed to deliver a modem from Windstream to my house.

When I called to check on it, I was told that it had been delivered to my home, when in fact it had been delivered to another address, told to me by the carrier, so Windstream told me to go and purchase one from BestBuy, and they reimburse me. I hope the next time that I have to have something delivered, that it can either come to my PO Box, or go through another CARRIER.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >