Preview Review

Next Review

Gateway Laptops Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
3 Gateways - All Unusable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DEVILS LAKE, NORTH DAKOTA -- I purchased 2 laptops - Gateway and Acer (Gateway). Within 3 months, they were unable to complete MS updates and got stuck on "reverting back." The only option was to restore them. When you restore a Gateway, it removes everything including drivers. Even with a back up system, there is no mouse or keyboard. I had purchased another one and within 24 hours it did this - thankfully I was able to return it. However, when I attempted to contact Gateway, not the outsourced IT techs I kept getting, you got it - the outsourced IT Techs who for only $249 each would fix my computer. They are extremely rude.

Replies
Advertisement
Gateway Just a Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My husband and child gave me Gateway for mother's day present. Just because of mother's day present, I still survive to keep it. No matter since the day I opened the package and start using it already have so many issue and trouble. I wanted to return, have to pay open package fee at $70. Too much! I have been trying to fix in many ways, but remain so slow even still so much space on it. With any virus and malware software still get attacked. Keyboard keep jumping, strange noise when log off/on, cursor freeze most of time and so on and so on and finally just a black screen.

Fixing it, spend another $400 and in result remain worst of the worst! They just don't provide any freaking support, nothing! I spent too much money, energy and time already for this crap! Just for a respect I keep it on my desk or else in the garbage bin! One lesson and that's it! Do not walk but RUN!!!

Replies
Never Ever Buy Anything From Gateway
By -

I purchased my laptop in January of 2007. I am a college student and greatly depend on my lap top. Towards the end of the school year (May), my laptop was not charging correctly. This was JUST FOUR MONTHS after I bought the product. Since school was almost done and I put up with it. By the time I was finished school I could not even get the lap top to turn on.

Once I went home for the summer I used the desktop at my house. July 21, 2007 I called technical support because I needed the problem to be fixed for the upcoming school year. The technician thought that the problem was with my AC adapter and sent a new one to me. I got the new adapter early August. By November 23, 2007 I was YET AGAIN in need of a new adapter. I called tech support and they sent me a newer version of the AC adapter. THE LAST ADAPTER LASTED THREE MONTHS!

It is now March and I am having the same problem. For the last couple of months I have put up with this terrible product. The only way I can charge the lap top is by literally holding the charger in place and pushing on the cord until I have marks on my fingers. The second I let go, the charger is not recognized by the lap top. After charging it to get a full battery, it dies in about 20 minutes. I literally sit through class with one hand on the adapter and the other hand typing. As of today, my lap top will NOT turn on. Gateway should be thanking me for being as gracious as I am about the faulty product they have on the market. I called tech support yesterday.

My warranty ran out in January of 2008, just two months ago. The woman I spoke to on the phone said that since I only had a two prong adapter, that sometimes you have to get another one. After a long talk with her, she finally gave me the number for corporate. Even she finally agreed that I shouldn't need to get three new adapters a year. When I finally got through to someone at corporate and explained my problem, he diagnosed it as a much different problem, or should I say... a much more expensive problem.

Now that my warranty is up, they are expecting me to pay 250 dollars on a repair that they should have been able to fix all last year when I explained my problem to them. Now, all of a sudden, they conveniently have a different idea of what needs to be fixed at my expense. I could not be more frustrated with this product.

I will never buy any product from Gateway EVER again and will make a point to tell everyone I know about what terrible products Gateway produces. It is ridiculous that a product I paid hundreds of dollars had severe problems just months after I bought it. Gateway needs to stand by their crappy products and take responsibility for their poor quality. Never ever buy a gateway because they are not worth one cent of your money. They are the worst possible products on the market. I have never been so disappointed with a purchase in my life.

Replies
Gateway garbage
By -

SKOKIE, ILLINOIS -- I purchased a Gateway MX6956 computer on 11/28/2006 from Best Buy #302 Skokie, IL. The unit worked without any problems until August 2007 when the Sprint Mobile Broadband PCMCIA card failed to power up. However, the same PCMCIA card as well as the Sprint Mobile Broadband service do work in my Toshiba notebook computer. I worked with Sprint Technical Support and Gateway Technical Support and it was determined that the computer would have to be returned to the Best Buy Store for service. I returned the computer to the store three different times for service.

After each time I returned the computer it was out of service for 3-4 weeks, I was then informed that the computer was ready to be picked up and no trouble was found. However each time I returned to the store to pick up my computer I brought the Sprint PCMCIA card with me and had the personnel at Best Buy test the computer with the card, it failed each time. The card will not power up which was verified by the support staff at the Best Buy store.

Each time they sent the computer out again for service after verifying that in fact there was a problem. Each time the computer was returned to me, the only service performed was that the operating system was reinstalled. After receiving no satisfaction from Best Buy I contacted Gateway. The computer has been sent to the Gateway Service Center in LaVergne, Tn seven different times for service of the same problem, PCMCIA card slot will not power up.

It is then returned to me as No Trouble Found, No Failure Claim Description Provided, even though I had spoken to Gateway Technical Support on the phone and provided a description of the problem prior to sending the computer in. It was determined by the phone support personnel through their troubleshooting procedures that the computer would have to be returned for service. The telephone support personnel had determined that the mother board would need to be replaced.

It was returned to me after the seventh time for service from Gateway and the computer continued to fail. I called Gateway and spoke to ** and was told there was nothing else they could do to resolve the problem.They do not know what is wrong and cannot repair the computer. It was just my tough luck and I should not bother them anymore. Needless to say I was astonished at the poor quality of service provided by a representative of Gateway and asked to speak to a manager. I was then connected to Tiffany who refused to provide me with an employee ID.

The conversation began very pleasantly and I was happy that I was finally going to get this problem resolved. After I had explained what had transpired, the tone of the conversation changed. I was informed that in the four months since I have been attempting to get this computer repaired that the warranty no longer covered the notebook. She told me that I did not have an extended warranty and that there was nothing Gateway was going to do, they are unable to determine what the failure is and I should just forget about the problem and not bother them anymore. End of conversation.

I believe that I have been more than patient in dealing with an arguably incompetent organization, Gateway. I now want a complete refund of the price I had paid in order that I may purchase a new computer of any other brand but Gateway. This was my first Gateway computer and most definitely will be the last.

I will be able to provide documentation of the three service tickets from Best Buy and the seven different service tickets from Gateway, as well as sales receipts, upon request. I want to add that I am composing this email on my Toshiba Satellite notebook computer using the Sprint Mobile Broadband service PCMCIA card to connect to the network. The same PCMCIA card and service that will not work on the Gateway computer.

Replies
Advertisement
Will NEVER Buy a Gateway Laptop Again.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA, CALIFORNIA -- Whatever you do, DO NOT BUY GATEWAY OR ACER. This is not a relationship that you want to get into. Gateway is defined by poor quality products and ZERO customer service. ZERO. I purchased an NV Series Gateway laptop and within the first two months had my first issue, I took it back to Best Buy and it was sent back to Gateway where they had to replace a piece of faulty hardware.

A couple months later the Gateway laptop failed again, and once more I took it back to Best Buy who sent it off and had a new mother board installed. A few months later, the same thing happened, failure, and ANOTHER mother board had to be installed. At this point I was requesting a new computer because it was close to the end of what I consider a short one year warranty and I had already had so many failures and spent so many weeks without my computer.

Well, not long after the warranty expired, so too did the battery. The Gateway battery had a catastrophic failure, I lost data and now the battery will not charge. Since that time, my Gateway laptop has become a desk top, always having to be tethered to a wall outlet.

The most recent issue is that it will not start up; it keeps freezing and will not allow me to recover to the last good configuration. I have contacted Gateways tech support but they require a $200 fee for their help. I spent just under 2 hours getting the run around by their tech support and then a supervisor.

When I told them I wanted to speak with a corporate customer service rep, I was given a phone number which ultimately got me to another call center in India where they finally admitted that they were in fact tech support as well and not customer service. What you can expect from Gateway is a shabby product that will be patched up and barely kept together until your warranty runs out and then you are on your own unless you want to cough up even more money and time to get it fixed (over the phone by the way).

Replies
Computer seems to have been damaged at repair center.
By -

IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased this laptop on Home Shopping Network, advertising it as the only computer you will need for the next 5 years. After only 6 weeks of use, I had issues with it powering on. Used all the info in owners manual before calling repair. I was very aggressive in my demands for a new laptop, no I was told send it to repair center in TX by an customer service representative in the Philippines. Then told by Escalations personnel that I had no options but to pay for shipping to TX, cost me $20.

Before shipping back, we noticed that the port for the AC/DC adaptor plug was too far recessed in, thus the plug was not making a connection. Computer was in perfect condition, only needing new jack/port for the battery cable. I included a note with the computer notifying them that was all that was needed. Received email stating computer was received at repair center, 6 business days later received call stating due to all the damage and repairs, they would have to replace parts with non matching parts. I asked why would they be needing those parts when there was only one issue.

To cut it short, the computer was damaged between the time it left me and up to 6 days after Acer repair center received my laptop. Gateway/Acer is stating the damages weren't covered by warranty they were just doing me a favor. Also the mother board was replaced and a broken key!!! How did this all happen when all they needed was to replace the port for the cable? Questioned why they would accept the computer in that condition(damage not covered by warranty) and then wait 6 business days to contact me.

They are dumbfounded and without an answer, but my only option is to take the non-matching casing panel or they will just send it back damaged. DO NOT BUY ACER/GATEWAY computers. The warranties are worthless and they obviously drop your computers before they repair them. No way would they have accepted my laptop for a simple repair if there was a cracked casing panel piece, broken key, and in need of a new mother board after 6 weeks of use!!! THEY ARE DISHONEST AND SELL LEMON COMPUTERS.

Replies
Gateway is not all bad!
By -

I must first qualify my review, I am a component level PC technician / IT support and forensic specialist, often hardware manufacturers get a black eye from irresponsible software vendors "pushing" a beta release of an OS that's not ready for release to the general public. My Gateway experience follows.

In Nov of 2009 I purchased a refurbished Gateway NV5214u and Western Digital 500GB HD from the CompUSA/Tiger Direct group. I was totally Jazzed, everything I wanted in a laptop and a screaming deal to top it all off. I ripped that puppy out of the box and began the initial charge, once the battery's forming charge was complete, with a quart of "DD" coffee and champing at the bit I powered up, the laptop came preloaded with "Vista Home Entertainment" version, in several min I was greeted with a pleasing blue/gray frame around the famous BSOD (blue screen of death), OK let's play, 45 min later after much keypunching and profanity BSOD persisted!

OK, pop open the optical drive a stuff a Suse 11.2 "Live CD" and reboot, following the post screen came the hardware inventory, well son of a gun, I ran the memory diagnostic and loaded live mode, everything was there. Great! Not a hardware but a driver issue, don't have to return it. Now with confidence I shutdown, pulled the 350GB Seagate drive installing the 500GB Western Digital and loaded Suse 11.2 Linux, which was the initial plan. About 2 hours later the laptop of my dreams was sitting before me, It hasn'€™t missed a beat since.

A few months later I upgraded to 11.3, in the following months I have been so pleased I have purchased 4 more of these laptops at baby needs shoes prices, all not working, all responding to the same therapy.
Thanks Bill, never could have afforded them if they worked!

Advise for all purchasing new computers / electronics. Follow the initial charging instructions! All semiconductors are subject to "New device mortality rates" the longer the device has been operating the more reliable it is. General guidelines advise a minimum "burn in" of 200 hours for hi-rel applications. I leave my new stuff on for months, if it's destine to fail it's going to do it while it's under warranty.

For computers, STFW for "live CD distributions" these are alternative OS's that run albeit slowly but entirely off the CD without altering your hard drive. A wonderful tool to find who's really responsible for your misery. Ultimately it's always "caveat emptor" arm yourself with knowledge, you'll find life requires far less KY jelly, best of decisions and fortune to all. "I fix windows but I work on Linux"

Replies
A Once Good Company Gone Bad ... Fails to honor warranty on faulty product
By -

SOUTH DAKOTA -- Let me first say that I have owned Gateway products in the past and was very happy and recommended them to others who purchased based on the recommendation... However... I have a laptop that failed while under warranty... tech support, which is somewhat of a horror show, informed me that the BIOS would have to be reset for a cost of 99.00 !!! BIOS is not my fault... but they essentially extort, because they will not even have a look unless you pay for what should be under warranty first.

So, I pay... send it off to service. It is returned with the battery jammed in crooked and a bottom panel unsecured... don't worry, I took pictures! Within days, strange things happen and it proceeds to quit on me. Called the techies overseas and as part of the diagnostic, they ask if I have restore discs. I reply that I received 1 with the computer... Oh, but you need 2. So that will be 23.00 first, then we can proceed with diagnostics. Does this reek of extortion once again? I pay the 23.00, receive the disc, call tech support and guess what? Yep, it sounds like a bad hard drive... AGAIN - that's #2!

This time they agree to pay for shipping... Well, here we go again... 3rd new hard drive that works for a few days until the "lock ups" and endless reboots. Now, I'm dead in the water again. Meanwhile, I urge everyone with a Gateway problem to contact the **. I have yet to get real satisfaction yet as Gateway has denied the first portion of my claim but I've had 2 more hard drive crashes since they were first notified and they're stalling. That's the name of the game, force the consumer to give up. It's important that everyone with a Gateway problem GET PROACTIVE and CONTACT THE SD ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE. Hopefully, there will be strength in numbers. Good Luck.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Computers - Customer Service
By -

Purchased $2700 laptop 5/06. Between 5/06 and 6/2/07 approx 3-4 motherboards & defective screen replaced in my "new" comp with several Full System Recovery involved. During this time GW had the comp longer than I did & my purchased FULL 3 year warranty was diminishing.

6/7/07 I was sent a "new?" REFURBISHED unit, (I received someone else's defective, problem filled computer!). 4/22/08 Motherboard was replaced due to lack of power to unit.. 7/30/08 Called GW with problems. Tech appt made for NEW MOTHERBOARD. 8/5 TECH DIDN'T SHOW. Resched Tech 8/14 - TECH NO SHOW! I called @ 12noon promised me a called back "right away". No call - I CALLED @ 1pm. Rescheduled finally - new MOTHERBOARD & KEYBOARD.

9/30/08 - NO POWER to comp. Called Gateway - Gilbert in 2nd Level support insisted unit come back to GW. GW received comp 10/9/08 into @ Repair center. I Talked to GW 10/10 - motherboard is backordered. 10/30 I talked to GW - "still waiting for motherboard can't give any other information". 10/30 after 1 hr on hold was transferred to "escalating service dispatch" and was told GW expected to receive part 10/31.

11/18 - GW was EXTREMELY rude to me & stated to send a letter to Cust Serv in Tempo, TX if I don't like her answers. 11/18 - GW - waiting on motherboard but will extend my warranty. 1/7/09 GW - to send new M-1622H comp. 1/22/09 - Comp TO be a REFURBISHED UNIT!!! & should have 2 weeks. PLEASE NOTE IT HAS BEEN ALMOST 5 FIVE! MONTHS SINCE I HAVE SENT IN THIS PIECE OF GARBAGE!!!

I do not want a refurbished computer as I received previously with dire results! I asked for a refund on this computer and was denied. I wish to purchase another superior make/model laptop! With a company with better customer service!! Product or Service: UNSATISFACTORY! I HAVE REPEATEDLY TOLD GW THIS IS MY WORK COMP!!! BUT THEY HAVE BEEN NON COMPLACENT.

ON 1/23/09 After sending a complaint to Better Business Bureau I received a call from GW Corporate Office. The representative stated that he has gone over my issues and he noticed that I was getting a “new” computer. REMINDER - I'M GETTING ANOTHER REFURBISHED UNIT. He stated that is how GW handled these type of issues and there is nothing else they are willing to do. After I reiterated to him that this was my WORK computer and my livelihood he just brushed me off and told me that this is the way Gateway handles these situations. I'M REALLY NOT SURE WHY GATEWAY EVEN CALLED ME!!! I AM SO DISGUSTED WITH GATEWAY AS A BUSINESS AND COMPUTER!

Replies
My First And Last Experience With Gateway
By -

I purchased this laptop on the HSN in September of '07 When I first got it I loved it until about four months later when my nightmare began. One day I went to turn it on and the power button would light up for about 10 seconds then the computer would shut down and try to start again. It would continue this loop forever and not boot up.

So I called Gateway and they tried to get me to trouble shoot the problem even though I told them it wouldn't even boot up. They finally agreed I needed to send it in for repair. I got it back over week later with a repair slip that said they replaced the "auto power on". A week later it did the same thing. Sent it in and it came back saying they replaced the motherboard.

Two weeks later the screen went white with vertical pinstripes going through it. Sent it in, came back with no explanation of repair. Within 3 days it was doing the same thing. Sent it in, came back with all my data wiped out saying they replaced the processor. I thought everything was fixed until I started listen to music on it and found out ANY audio on it had clicks and pops similar to an old record. Sent it in, they sent it back saying they couldn't hear any problem.

By this time I'd had enough and finally got to talk to an upper manager. I told her I think I got a lemon and I wanted a replacement laptop. She said I needed to send it in at least three times for the same problem and if they couldn't fix it then I would qualify for a replacement. So I sent it in two more times. Still no improvement. So she said they would send me a "Refurbished" laptop to replace my "New" laptop. I complained but was told that was my only option.

I received my new "refurbished" laptop and it worked great for about 6 months, then the same problems I had in the beginning with the first one started happening with the refurb. I call Gateway and they tell me "Since its past your warranty it will cost you almost as much for us to fix it as it would for you to just buy a new one" then they even suggested I might be happier with a Dell or an HP! WTF! So now I own a $800 paper weight. In a nutshell, 2 Gateway computers that didn't even last close to a year, customer service that couldn't care less about your problems or if you ever buy another one of their computers. YOU KNOW WHAT GATEWAY? I NEVER WILL!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Gateway Laptops Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 9 ratings and
61 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Gateway
4545 Towne Centre CT
San Diego, CA 92121-1900
858-799-3401 (ph)
858-799-3459 (fax)
www.gateway.com
Product/Services
Compare Computer Companies