Preview Review

Next Review

Guardsman Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Do Not Be Scammed Into Purchasing!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Purchased the 5 year GOLD plan for three barstools - one barstool got stain - they could not remove so they replaced it. The new chair arrived with loose arm. The delivery person stated he would tighten it. After being used VERY seldom - the arm fell off the chair. "NOT COVERED" says Guardsman. The salesman at Havertys told us no matter what happened to the furniture it is covered for 5 years - "even if the dog chews the leg off". They state if they replace an item, the replaced item IS NOT COVERED. Loophole!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Very Poor Customer Service - Waste of Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- I contacted Guardsman September 12, 2016 due to a few stains on my pillows and couch cushion. I also had a zipper that had come apart due to damaged teeth in the zipper. I was told to take pictures, and mail in all the paperwork which was sent in the next day, September 13, 2016. It was October 5, 2016 before I received an email from Guardsman to schedule a date for them to come out and repair the items I purchased.

It was October 31, 2016 before they came out. The gentleman they sent out was able to get the stains out for the most part but wasn't able to repair the zipper. He informed me that he would order a new cushion cover and took pictures after he was able to get the zipper back on track. It's now November 7, 2016. I called Guardsman to get an idea on how long it would take to receive the new cover because any weight on the cushion would break the seam again because the teeth of the zipper are damaged.

I was informed that because the gentleman was able to get the zipper back together that the order was closed and I would have to reopen a case and start over and request a new case to be opened. This process took 6-7 weeks. I spent $300 on this "protection plan" and now I can't even get my main item (the zipper) fixed.

I am 100% disappointed with this entire purchase. Not one person has tried to make this right. I am very disappointed. I've had to take day off of work and didn't even get this situation taken care of. Not one person has tried to make this right. Very disappointed in your customer service and I will NEVER spend another dime in the future for this so called "protection plan". It's WORTHLESS.

Replies
Warranty Wasted of Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BAY SHORE, NEW YORK -- I purchased my leather furniture from Guardsman about 4 years ago. I paid $300 for it. Recently the sofa and loveseat began to become worn out from the side a little bit. I called Guardsman regarding the problems. They have a whole lengthy form that you have to fill out and also all the pictures you have to take with a ruler and everything. I did everything they asked for.

I just got an email today saying that my claim was denied. When I called them you get the most rude people on the phone apart from being on hold for more than 15 minutes. They just told me I was denied that the damaged on the couches was not cover. I told them "So what am I cover for then." Then I asked for my money back and they told me that was impossible.

So I just gave this thieves $300 of my hard earn money for nothing at all. What a ripoff and their customer service is trash. They just hang up the phone on you. Since they already have your money they don't need you anymore. What a POS company.

Replies
Furniture Protection Plan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- The process to file for a claim was a long and lengthy process that took 3 weeks with mail. After getting approved, trying to get a service technician to come to my house to clean my sofa was another story. Once a I had to wait a whole week for a technician to call. She was very unprofessional and gave me a date with no time frame, telling me she cannot give a time frame, expecting me to take a full day off work to sit at home and wait. Even pge and comcast give you a time window so you can plan accordingly.

I rejected that tech and called guardsman again to set me up with another tech. It took them 2 weeks to get to my request and still they gave me same tech with no time window! I am very disappointed with the protection plan and I believe it was a scam. Please don't be fooled into purchasing it.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- This company is a fraud and according to my La-Z-Boy dealer who sold me the furniture and the warranty, declines most if not all claims. I purchased a $1300 leather chair from La-Z-Boy and bought the 5-year extended warranty provided by Guardsman. The leather on the chair headrest tore after four and a half years.

I reported it to Guardsman and they acknowledged the warranty. They took over a month to look at the claim and then sent me an email declining the claim without explanation. Also, you cannot reply to their emails and you can only send them an email of a maximum 300 words. This is clearly their business plan and constitutes fraud and misrepresentation in my opinion against consumers. I will be taking legal action and reporting them to the Federal Trade Commission and appropriate consumer affairs offices where I live as well as in their home state of Michigan. I urge all of their other unfortunate customers to do the same.

Replies
Horrible Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SMITHVILLE, MISSOURI -- A few years ago a sectional we purchased from Nebraska Furniture Mart had a hole in the top in a seam. We went thru entire procedure correctly and when asked when it had happened, we said within a couple of months. Didn't know we needed to say it happened yesterday in order for them to do anything! 2 years ago, we purchased another couch from Nebraska Furniture Mart and we're sold the plan again by salesperson there. He swore up and down that Guardsman would fix anything and if they couldn't they would replace couch.

Anyway, stupid us, we fell for it again. This time a front "decorative" seam had come unraveled. We thought for sure that would be covered. Reported problem through the correct way. Received phone call, saying it was denied. They don't fix decorative stitching. Now I blame Nebraska Furniture Mart as much as Guardsman! They sold me the crappy product Guardsman not once but twice! For those that actually get them to come to your house, have no idea how you even get that done! Guardsman employees are terrible people. Not sure how they sleep at night! DO NOT BUY IT!

Replies
Won't Cover Water Marks on Table
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON -- Guardsman company is a ripoff. Do not buy their warranty. We bought a dinner table from Bassett and the sales representative insisted that we should buy the Guardsman warranty as it covers "everything". We had young children so we went for it. Fast forward 2 years and this table has horrible water marks on it with regular use, along with scratches and chipping paint. The Guardsman person comes out and takes a look at it and states that it is not covered because of the "general condition" of the table. This is a total ripoff. Never buy this warranty unless you want to throw money down the drain. Also beware of buying furniture from Bassett which is poor quality.

Replies
Will Not Honor Repair Work Needed Because Claim Is Out of 5-Day Reporting Period
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We purchased over $19,000.00 worth of new furniture from Haverty's in Duluth, GA in January 2013. This was a huge purchase for us and since the salesman offered the Guardsman Protection Plan, stating that it covers "absolutely everything, no questions asked", we thought it in our best interest to also purchase the Gold Plan covering 5 years of protection for an additional $500.

The Haverty's salesman offered no disclaimers regarding what was not offered or any timeline restrictions. I certainly never thought to look for reasons that Guardsman would have to deny any claims - believing them to be a reputable company.

About 2 weeks ago I submitted a claim for four different damaged items, reporting that all had been noticed the end of May 2016 - trying to be honest here. Well, being honest cost me. All four claims were denied because they were not reported within the 5 DAY time period allowed. I am beyond frustrated that a 5-year plan can allow denials because of such a small window of reporting time. And so, it is true - what sounds too good to be true, probably is not true. I will be pursuing this with Haverty's and making a report to the Better Business Bureau.

Replies
Advertisement
Guardsman Furniture Protection Plan Not Worth the Cost.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEESBURG, VIRGINIA -- I first called Guardsman when I got a food stain on my Sofa. They sent someone to clean but months later the stain returned to the surface. At this point it had been 14 day since service and a claim to come out and reclean was denied. Then my 4 year threw up on sofa. They sent someone to clean stain yesterday but it still smells. When I called Guardsman they said they do not cover smell. If you ask me they don't cover ANYTHING. They put a band-aid on the problem instead of solving it! Don't waste your money.

Replies
Guardsman Furniture Care Are Scamming From Customers!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I spent hundreds of dollars on Guardsman Furniture Warranty to be taken advantaged of by Guardsman. I mail them all the information that they asked for from me two times and they kept saying that they didn't get it, so then I mail it priority so I can track it. Then Guardsman tells me that's it too late and they are not going to fix anything! They have to receive it within 30 days from when I reported it. Guardsman are stealing from people. They pretend they don't get the mail until it's too late. They make up this 30-day rule so they can get out of fixing the problem. I bought this at Ashley Furniture. I hope they are not involved in this scam.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Guardsman Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 83 ratings and
109 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Guardsman
4999 36th St SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2005
800-516-0195 (ph)
www.guardsman.com
Compare Furniture Stores