Guardsman

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 59 ratings and
85 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
I Was Denied a Claim Due to an Arbitrary Deadline in an Email.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I bought a dining table from Drexel Heritage in Raleigh, NC. The sales person told me that it was solid wood. It turns out she was incorrect. At this point I had already ordered the table so I kept the order. I was also convinced by the salesperson that I should buy the Guardsman extra warranty for scratches and marks. Since it was an expensive dining table I figured I should buy it for $199.00 and get the insurance. The salesperson assured me it was worth it.

I was very careful with the table and used it rarely. After our first Thanksgiving meal on it I noticed some marks on table, so I called it in to Guardsman that following Monday. I then sent in all the paperwork including a sketch. The women informed me that a technician would be contacting me to schedule a visit. I never got a call, which is what I was expecting. I did get an e-mail asking for further follow up. Why? I'm not sure I provided them with all of the information they originally asked for. That e-mail also stated that if I did not reach them back by 5 days my claim was VOID. I was on vacation, so I did not see the e-mail until after the arbitrary date imposed on me.

I called the customer service number to see what I could do. But the agent informed me that there is nothing I could do. My claim was void, since I missed the date. I spoke to managers and sent letters, but to no avail. I even involved Drexel Heritage and the manager there told me that she could not help me. I was left very frustrated by this experience. I feel taken advantage of and vow never to buy from Drexel Heritage or buy insurance again. It's a SCAM!!!

     
Replies
BEWARE - Do Not bother with the protection plan!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I contacted Guardsman in the summer with a claim. My kids had spilled a drink and the color completely was removed from the leather sofas. This is the second time this had happened. The first time they sent someone out and the woman did an amazing job. This time however, the first person I talked to told me to just send pictures and the claim since they had my invoices on file. I complied. A week and a half later some guy left me a voicemail letting me know they could not dispatch my claim until I sent the invoice. He then said he had no idea why the girl told me they had it on file, because they didn't.

Fast forward several months and I finally find the original receipt. Excited to get this addressed I called Guardsman again - the woman said she had no idea what I was talking about because she was looking at my invoice in her system. She transferred me to my claims representative I left a voicemail. She left a voicemail back stating it was not covered because cracking and pealing of the leather is not covered. I called back and they said the same thing. When I explained that this type of thing was handled a previous time and it was the same thing, the guy starts telling me "look I can submit it again, but there is no way you are going to get this covered. It isn't in the plan."

I argued stains and damage from them are covered. He said they aren't and back and forth we went. I think the plan price is a percentage of what you paid. We purchased high-end furniture and the plan for me was not cheap (upward of $500), but worth it considering I have two little kids. :) This time around they were just plain HORRIBLE. Save your money and buy some furniture covered. :) It saves you from feeling completely ripped off. NEVER AGAIN WILL I BUY GUARDSMAN!!!

     
Replies
They will not honor warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- They denied claim because they say paper work was not submitted in a timely fashion. So they say they have no obligation to stand up to their warranty. Purchased Guardsman warranty from Gardner-White Furniture on 5/19/09. The framework in the chairs I purchased on 5/19/2009 began to break and crack. I called Gardner-White and the said to contact Guardsman Service Center. I contacted service center on 9/23/13 in which they promptly sent me a email to file claim. The email text body said you have two methods to complete form, electronically or by mail. The suggest in bold to complete electronically for fastest service.

I completed and returned form to their exact specification on 10/28/13 to exact specification. I heard nothing from them so I emails on 10/25/13 and never received return response. I called and spoke to representative and he informed me that a hard copy has to be mailed and submitted with electronic claim. The representative then sent me email a new set of forms on 12/23/13. I completed the forms on 12/25/13 and mailed to the Guardsman address in Grand Rapids Michigan. I received an email on 1/14/14 stating that they received my claim.

I received a call today from Montgomery stating that they would not be honoring warranty because it was not submitted in a timely fashion. When I asked to talk to a supervisor I talked to ** who also said claims were not submitted in a timely fashion and they would not honor their warranty. I said I had saved all emails documenting communication. She told me that did not matter because they did not have any record of them. No I am stuck with a warranty I paid for and a company that won't honor it. As a result I have 6 chairs that have broken frame work and are not usable.

     
Replies
Waste of $$
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Guess I'm another unfortunate victim of the scamming company. I purchased the protect-a-bed through Nebraska Furniture Mart, which then uses Guardsman, to carry out their warranty of the product. The damage occurred on the protect-a-bed in October of 2012, but I was pregnant with serious complications at the time, that I missed my 10 day window to return the service request form back to them to get it replaced. When I finally got settled back in at home after the very early and problematic birth of my son, I called Guardsman to make sure I could still submit the paperwork, to which they agreed I could.

Today, I received an email from them denying the request to replace the product due to the service request form not being turned in within the 10 day window of the original damage. So, I called them to explain to them why it took so long and they still said there was nothing they could do. So, I decided to call Nebraska Furniture Mart's furniture department to try to get it replaced or resolved with them. **, said NFM could and would not replace it, and also called Guardsman to try to have them resolve the issue with them directly, but they refused.

I paid for this service expecting that if I submit the necessary paperwork, that the product would be replaced. I paid for the 3 package of the protect-a-bed knowing that with a 20 year warranty on the bed itself, that I wanted to keep the mattress in tip top shape to prevent damage with life's events that could damage it. I didn't expect to be so poorly treated by NFM and Guardsman on this issue.

The day of the damage, I washed the protect-a-bed as directed but forgot to change the temp on the dryer from high heat to medium heat until minutes later. By then, the damage had been done. A hole was ripped in the fabric and the two layers of fabric came apart, making it no longer able to protect the mattress from stains, etc. When ** from NFM called Guardsman, they changed the reason they gave me for denying the replacement from missing the 10 day window to submit the service request form to "it improperly being dried." So, they said the warranty was then voided and I was "out of luck."

I never received any paperwork stating what was and was not covered for warranty claims either. I have since filed a BBB complaint on them.

     
Replies
DO NOT purchase this Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- Filed a claim following all protocol for such an action according to the steps deemed necessary by Guardian Furniture Protection Plan. Few days after sending in info on needed repairs I received an itinerary for having my recliner fixed. A repairman was sent to fix the footrest of my recliner but was unable to do it as the bar that operates the kick out feature was broken. Repairman said he had to take the part and the handle with him to have Guardian order the part to fix it. Few days later I got this email from Guardian:

"Rather than make a poor quality repair, your claim has been sent back to our administration center for review. We will receive a full report from the technician, including photographs of the damage, shortly. Once we review this report, which should happen over the next several days, we will determine the best course of action to resolve your claim. This may include ordering a replacement part from the manufacturer, or working with your retailer to identify a replacement. However, because parts and replacements are not always available, we may also explore other options with you."

A few more days go by then a representative from Guardsman calls to inform me that all of the sudden, the recliner is not covered. Read the email to him and he still said it was not covered. Spoke to manager and was told the same thing. If it was not covered, which it was, then I should not have received two correspondences telling me it should have been fixed. They were willing to fix it when they thought it was going to be cheap to do so.

Please tell everyone you know in the market for new furniture not to even consider this scam of a protection policy. They are just like health insurance in that they want their money right then and there and make you jump through hoops to file a claim, but then when it is their turn to reciprocate..... all of the sudden whatever you have/need is not covered.

     
Replies
Guardsman Warranty is Worthless!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ASHEVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- Back in late 2008 and 2009 I purchased several rooms of furniture between Carolina Furniture Concepts and Havertys, I also purchased a 5 yr Guardsman service agreement on all of the pieces. I was told and sold on this Guardsman Warranty as a Platinum Service Warranty. I have not used the service agreement until recently when I had a problem with a drawer in a upright chest, the extra deep drawer in particular, when the drawer quit functioning.

I had noticed that the plastic guide on the bottom rail had been split when installed initially at the factory and finally cracked into 2 pcs, now the drawer doesn't close or open. And one recliner footrest in a reclining sofa began to stick and hard to open while sitting in the recliner. Not sure if something is bent or what happened there. Anyway, I decided it was time to put in a claim to get these two what I consider minor issues resolved before my Warranty runs out in 2013-2014.

So, I first contacted the furniture stores which promptly told me to use the warranty. I was within 10-14 days from when damage occurred when we filled out the forms and mailed them in, only to receive a decline letter a month later stating that since the damage didn't occur within 7 days of the claim it was denied. It takes 7 days just to get the mail claim to them! So I decided to do the online version where I could take pictures and submit again with-in the 7 day window, only to be declined again because we're on an earlier claim and were denied based on "not within the 7 days". What a technicality! I could see within 30 or even 15 day, but 7?

After trying to explain to my worthless account manager and the rude manager, it became obvious that this is business as usual at Guardsman, they are good at shirking accountability and highlighting any technicality! This company is a joke! And Carolina Furniture Concepts and Havertys should be ashamed for pushing these worthless warranties! What a waste of time trying to submit a claim. I will never purchase another "Guardsman" anything and will tell everyone I know about this bad experience.

     
Replies
This Company Lies To Clients Regarding The Service That Offers
By -

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- The company says the plan cover damage by accidents but then they decide what is an accident, for their convenience. I buy the plan and no arranged nothing. Because they said it was not an accident.

     
Replies
Do Not Honor Service Agreement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a Guardsman furniture protection plan at Nebraska Furniture Mart when I bought my leather sectional about a year ago. When doing so I also received my service agreement from Guardsman. When I went to file a claim with them when my couch was cut by a box cutter it took them two weeks for a guy to come out and fix my couch. But instead of fixing it he just took pictures of it and left. Two weeks later I received a very vague email from the company that my claim was denied because the damage was from wear and tear. However, it is very obviously a cut.

When I tried to call the company regarding my denied claim they kept on avoiding letting me talk to a manager about it and when I finally did the manager said that the cut has to go all the way through into the stuffing of the couch in order for them to cover it. This is not stated on their service agreement at all. "What is covered: any puncture, cut, tear, or rip from a specific incident or caused by a defective furniture mechanism." That is quoted directly from their service agreement.

The company has absolutely no customer service and if you look up all of the complaints on the bbb they respond to all of them but never resolve a single one. The only reason the company is still accredited from the bbb is because they have been in business since 1915 and always respond to complaints. However then never resolve them. That is directly why the bbb has given them the grade they have and the bbb actually tells you that! Those are the only reasons they are still accredited! This business has been in the business of scamming people since 1915!

Just do me a favor google: "Guardsman reviews" and read the reviews from a site that is not the Guardsman site. This company is absolutely awful.

     
Replies
BEWARE - Would Not Go Near This Company Unless You Approve of Fraudulent Business Practices and Obnoxious Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GRAND RAPIDS, MICHIGAN -- My claim was denied for reasons best known to them. When I called them to ask about why the claim was denied, their representative (**) told me that it is not covered under the "not covered part" of the contract. I read her the contract and pointed out that a tear is clearly covered in the "what is covered" part of the contract and that is precisely what the issue at hand was. At this point the representative ** started being rude and questioning if I knew how to read??? Great Customer Service... Did not know I was supposed to send my transcripts along with my claim?

Anyhow at this point not wanting to waste my breath and indulge a rude and belligerent person I asked her to please connect me to her supervisor or anyone else who can help me. She got ruder at this point and hung up the phone. So much for Customer Service if that's what they call it (go figure!)

I called again and this time did not want to waste my time and asked for a supervisor to talk to straight away and lo and behold was connected to her voice mail. So I left a message. Surprise I get a call a few days later at 8 am as I am driving to work. Seriously who calls you at 8 am???

Unfortunately, I could not get to the phone in time and this time get a message from Guardsman representative ** from the company saying that my claim has been denied and no reason given again. Surprise!!! Moral of the story, STAY AWAY FROM ALL THINGS GUARDSMAN. They may have gotten away with my money this time, but NEVER AGAIN. PS: Did I tell you they just lost a bigger order for my office/business which I am proud to say I cancelled with no hesitation. I do wish them all the best though, they will need it.

     
Replies
Protection Plan Is A Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRANDON, FLORIDA -- A complete scam! I purchased a policy for all my furniture and the one time I need to use it my claim gets denied. The leather is peeling as well as the finish on my table. After a month waiting for a reply, they told me peeling is not covered on the sofa, and the peeling on the table is also being denied because I didn't see it happen. It's obvious they deny every claim to avoid standing behind their pathetic scam of a policy!! From what I'm reading online, this is their common practice. Unfortunately, I trusted the furniture company and its recommendation of purchasing this policy. It's obvious both Ashley Furniture and Guardsman are in this scam together.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >