Preview Review

Next Review

Humana Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Customer Service, Violation of HIPAA Regulations
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was enrolled in a Humana Supplement beginning 01/01/14. On 10/15/14 I received a notice from Humana, raising my rates for 2015. At that point, Humana had paid $20 in costs for me during 2014. I located other insurance, equally good, for much less money. It was secured on 10/27/14. I contacted Humana to dis-enroll as of 12/31/14.

For the next 3 1/2 months I have been arguing with Humana. On January 3, they drafted the money for January from my account. I complained. Three weeks of daily calls and arguing passed before a check was finally issued on 01/28/14 to reimburse me for the money they had drafted. However, by the time the check reached me, I also received a call from Humana accusing me of inappropriately getting a check from Humana for money I actually owed them. The call was accusatory and threatening.

On 02/06/15 I received a letter from Humana stating that my application for supplemental insurance was being denied. It went on to say that, in my application (that I had never submitted) I had agreed for them to use my PHI to complete and underwriter review. That was a lie and a HIPAA violation. Finally I sent out letters to the Ethics board, the insurance commission, and the Board of Directors at Humana as I have all of the communications as evidence of this fiasco.

Sure enough, I received a letter dated 02/10/15 saying that they were disenrolling me, effective 12/31/14, followed by a second letter, dated 02/11/15, saying that my application for supplemental insurance had been denied, based on the fact that I had provided them with permission to access and use my PHI to facilitate underwriting review and based on the information they received, I was being denied coverage.

At this point, it is clear to me that the denial letters are punitive, a way to punish people who disenroll from their coverage. They are clearly violated HIPAA regulations and should be prosecuted for those violations. Further, the company functions in an atmosphere of the most uncaring, ignorant, disrespectful, dishonest employees imaginable. I will not be satisfied until Humana is publicly prosecuted for HIPAA violations and publicly humiliated for the way they do business.

Replies
Advertisement
They Are Terrible You Call Humana and Get Different Stories Every Time You Call as to What to Do
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEMPLE, TEXAS -- They are a nightmare... First I called after my surgery to see if I could get some hand therapy... Duh they did not have a list of therapists online in my area. I asked to go to such and such place to see if they would cover and they had no idea. They told me to ask the hand therapy clinic if they take my insurance. The place said they did. Then I went to the hand therapist and about 10 visits in I call my insurance company to see how the bills were being paid. Guess what? Now they said I have to go back to my regular doctor to get an ok to see my hand therapist. I went back to my Dr who approved my hand therapy and started therapy and Humana paid all the visits.

Then I found out I had to go back to my regular doctor and get an ok again because it had been a couple of months. My doctor approved 60 visits which should be covered. I called Humana again to make sure everything was ok and they told me my visit would not be covered, but then assured me they would get on phone and try and get it covered. I went back to my surgeon who wanted me to continue therapy and again called Humana and they referred me to another company who makes the decisions.

This company I never had a contract with by the way and they told me I would have to get the Dr notes faxed over to them to have my visit today covered. I called the OT clinic and they had no clue so I recalled Humana who called my OT clinic or so they said and they told me that the OT clinic agreed to call me when they faxed over the notes.

Three days later no phone call so I called Humana who told me to call this other company because they did not give ok just this company. The company told me that I would not need to fax over the notes even though someone else in the company told me to fax it over... So today I have an appointment and I have no clue if it is covered... Get rid of Humana. It sucks... Oh by the way the last person I talked to stated they probably said all this to get me off the phone Thanks a lot...

Replies
Being Jerked Around for Months
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ARIZONA -- Thoroughly disgusted... I am on the phone once again with Humana. They are all idiots with no brain. They tell you a different thing every time you call. I have posted on social media repeatedly. Do not sign up for Humana or you will be on the phone for the rest of life. I have now had to get paperwork for small claims court because of them jerking me around since 10/15/15 and still waiting for reimbursement of over $2,000. That I had to pay first and wait for. I am currently on the phone with another idiot name Michael in Central Texas. Waiting for a supervisor, 20 minutes and counting. Spoke to Georgan, another waste of time, she gave me the below 800#.

Let's see the primary's office gets anywhere. I am not hopeful. I think taking them to court will be the only way I will get my money. They are so incompetent and I have had to call my dr's repeatedly. They just give you the runaround. Now my primary dr's office is calling 800-523-0023. Humana just jerks their member around, over and over... thoroughly disgusted... Just talked to Kyle's supervisor. In authorizations, another moron. They offered to transfer me the claims in Manila, Philippines. I would rather file in court tomorrow. It will be faster. I have been waiting 3 months to be reimbursed. No more...

Replies
Medications
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My wife who is suffering from multiple sclerosis has not been allowed to refill her Betaseron for more than 15 days. The reason...Humana is reviewing her medication. How long does it take? Humana doesn't know. In the meantime, Humana did send her temporary medication.

Today, after being on the phone with Humana for 3 hours and been transferred from one employee to another, with no luck, at the end up talking to a manager there by the name of Deanna (conversation-ref. # **). This manager informed me that I cannot file a complaint over the phone about my dissatisfaction of the customer service at Humana and the only way to file complaint about an employee of Humana is in writing to the grievance department.

In the meantime, she advised me to take my wife to the ER to get her Betaseron shots or to go buy it from my pocket. (To whom doesn't know. Betaseron is not a medication that you can buy from a pharmacy.) Now February is almost over and we could not get a refill. We use to get the Betaseron from Biotech, but this month Biotech informed us that Humana did not allow them to refill it because they want the medication to come from Right Source pharmacy only. The patients should stay without medication until Humana finish their review of the medication. This what you should expect when you sign up with Humana.

Replies
Advertisement
Approval for Inpatient Cardiac Rehab
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOUISVILLE. KY -- I am a 56-year-old woman who has Humana Medicare. I had a six-way bypass and my surgeon wanted me to go to a rehab facility for a few weeks. I live in a tri-level home with 2 small children in the home and no one in the home to help me with my recovery. I spoke with the benefits section and was told I had coverage for rehab for 20 days at 0 copay and then 156 dollars a day.

After 3 days of waiting for approval finally they called the rehab facility I was suppose to go to and said I was declined. They said my age I should be able to go home. They didn't take my surgeon's expert opinion that I needed to be in the facility. Humana wants your money but does not want to pay for you to have the services you need.

Replies
Subscription Plans
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CINCINNATI, OHIO -- DO NOT BUY HUMANA RX INSURANCE! Humana has a cheap monthly charge that they use as a come on. However, there is first a $320.00 deductible to be satisfied. Then, their drug costs are way out of line. For example: I've had to pay $22.00 for a 30 day supply that my previous carrier charged $4.00. I've had to pay $117.00 for a 30 day supply that my previous carrier charged $40.00. They move what are Tier 1 Rx with other carriers to Tier 2 to be able to overcharge for what is clearly Tier 1.

I suffered a complete breakdown in communicating with them. They tried to contact my MD using the wrong phone and fax numbers. Both correct numbers were clearly written on the Rx. Furthermore, I was given two different fax numbers that my MD was to use to contact RightSource. Again - DO NOT BUY HUMANA RX INSURANCE!

Replies
Insurance From Hell!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This has to be the worst excuse for an insurance company I have ever seen. No one knows what is going on. No one can ever explain to me what is going on. They do not answer questions. The website is horrible. The list goes on and on.

Lately I have been getting the same email sometimes 2 or 3 times a day exhorting me to get a flu shot which I do not need or want. I have complained several times on their website and no one even bothers to reply. I am sick of being ignored.

Every time I place a pharmacy order there is some kind of problem and my order is delayed or canceled outright. No one ever knows what is going on, and they obviously do not make notes in my record when I call, because their customer "service" people are clueless. I have applied to UnitedHealthcare for 2016 and can't wait until I can tell Humana goodbye!!!

Replies
Untrustworthy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEATHERLY, PENNSYLVANIA -- They didn't pay all the bills they are responsible for. I don't even use the plan much because I hate going to the Doc. I started getting bills that they recalled the money from the Doc. I tried to contact them and they said, "You have two insurance companies." I said that they are incorrect. I spent numerous hours trying to prove they were wrong. I finally did prove it. It turns out that they thought that my dad and I are the same person. Never mind that he is 26 years older than I am, that he has a different SSN and the he lives 800 miles away and these plans are regional.

But, even though I proved my case, they still haven't paid all of the bills they are responsible for. The collections calls are nonstop and they are hurting my credit report. This is an extremely unethical company that everyone... especially the elderly and disabled, should stay away from. Unless you like stress and harassment.

Replies
Advertisement
Trying to Become a Provider
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA -- I applied to join their network as a provider on December 23, 2014. The customary time is 60 days if you have everything. Humana reports it takes 120 days. It is Sept. 9, 2015 and I am still not approved. They haven't sent me anything either. I called over ten times and sent 5 emails. Two escalations and two supervisors and still nothing. They have cost me business by not putting me on their panel. I am very angry that it has taken almost 9 months. I can see why they were bought out. They can't provide customer service. I can only imagine what the clients go through.

Replies
Insurance Plan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- On 12/1/14 I had cataract surgery in Kissimmee, FL - all went well. However, I had Humana health ins a ppo that was my 1st real mistake. This company fights you on everything and they end up getting huge discounts and you end up paying any remaining bal. Come October 1st I will switch to another ins company as Humana is by far the worst I have ever had.

The overall cost of my surgery was appx 6200. They paid about 60% but they should have paid much more. I started out with a $30 ded and it is now up to $50. You can not thru to a customer representative and when you finally do they don't know what they are talking about. Avoid this company at all costs, they are really bad.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Humana Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 44 ratings and
81 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Humana
500 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
1-800-4-Humana (ph)
www.humana.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies