Preview Review

Next Review

ICICI bank Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
It's A Great Mistake To Open An Account With ICICI
By -

TIRUPPUR -- Here is another customer, Nature Neem Product, Tiruppur, who regret to have opened an account with ICICI. Our foreign buyer from Italy has transferred money to us and we are struggling for the past 15 days to get this account.
If we call by telephone, they say our card number is invalid and reset the PIN quit the call. After several tries contact to customer services is unsuccessful. Sending an email to corporatecare@icicibank.com, nri@icicibank.com, nodalofficer@icicibank.com - no email has been replied for the past 4 days (I have the proof).

Contacting the local bank - they confirm that money has reached (!!!) some 10 days before and they can't remit the money to our account for X reasons (as if it's their money). They asked the invoice, then asked a 100 rupees bond, then they asked a letter this was going like this for the past 15 days and our buyer has lost patience and now he cancelled the order.

ICICI should realize how small companies like us struggle to take an international order. Now we has lost the order because of the worst services of ICICI. Even today the money is not transferred and we have incurred a loss due to them. The next wise decision I have to take is to close the account with them. We are frustrated and we can provide the proof for the all that we have explained above. I advice all of you kindly not to open the account with ICICI.

Replies
Advertisement
ICICI Bank Never Reset Anything for You on Phone
By -

ICICI bank system is poor ever I see on my life. I need to reset my password and I call ICICI bank customer service. Someone verify all security question and finally told me, "your ID will re-activated within 24 hours so try after 24 hours." Now here is story I found after calling ICICI bank 3 or 4 time to enable my ID.

I found very good answer from one of the customer service person. He told me, "when you call first time for problem, we send your password to your home address and nobody was on home so we destroyed the envelope." Is this makes sense? Since this happen to me, I decided to withdraw all my money from ICICI bank by debit card because I am NRI, and I was using this account to donate money to people in India.

Replies
Deposit
By -

Do you know that we have to explicitly request to close a short-term deposit account? If it is a joint account, you need to send the same request duly signed by both account holders. If you are sending this after so much of online life where you have never signed, better check your old passport signature or send a updated signature duly notarized. If you have NRE SB account if your deposit is NRO account, when it is closed, it cannot go to NRE account, so you need to open a new NRO account. It took nearly 4 months to learn all these. That is the sad part of this information.

Replies
Refusal To Close Or Delay In Closing The Accounts
By -

I have an existing ICICI bank account with their JP Nagar branch in Bangalore. The bank has deducted an amount of Rs112 twice for a single statement availed by me. When the customer support was contacted, they gave a false reason saying that the statement was taken twice once on 12/08/08 and on 20/08/08, when in fact I had taken only one statement on 12/08/08. The bank did not revert the amount. Subsequently I decided to close the account.

After paying 281 rupees towards the same and handing over my ICICI cheque leaves and the ATM debit card, I observed that the account has not been closed even after a month. At the time of closure request (06/09/08), they acknowledged the closure (after payment of 281 rupees towards closure) with an acknowledgment receipt and assured me that the account would be closed in 2-3 weeks.

Since the account was not closed by the bank even after a month, I registered a complaint regarding the same. After lodging a complaint with customer support and through my net banking support, the customer support contacted me saying that 500 Rs more would be required towards the same.

When questioned why wasn't this intimated when I had earlier visited the branch in person on 06/09/08 for closure request, they reverted back saying that I would be required to coordinate with the Bangalore JP Nagar branch. I have been harassed too long by this ICICI branch at 75/A, 100 FEET ROAD, 6TH PHASE, JP NAGAR, BANGALORE, 560 078 KARNATAKA. My patience has been really tested by this fraudulent bank.

Replies
Advertisement
ICICI Bank Likes to Hold on to Your Money
By -

COPENHAGEN -- I would like to share with you one of the worst banking experience I have had. It is with ICICI Bank. I am an NRI working in Denmark and as per the ICICI Bank website, I transferred 10,000 Danish Kroners to an account in Danske Bank, Denmark. This account is supposedly operated by ICICI who collect the money and transfer them into the Indian accounts of the respective people. It is nearly 2 months and I am yet to get the money into my Indian account (**).

Because I too have a local bank account with Danske Bank, I did a normal account-to-account transfer. Now ICICI Bank asked me to ask my local bank to send a SWIFT message. When I approached the local bank, they said that SWIFT messages are only for wire-transfers and not for account-to-account transfers within the same bank. But ICICI refuses to acknowledge this simple fact. They acknowledge that they have received the money and know it is from me, but still won't transfer the money. They just keep on insisting on this SWIFT message which I repeatedly told them that the local bank won't give.

This message is to warn all people who remit money through ICICI Bank. They must realize that when they transfer money into an account operated by ICICI, they are at the mercy of the ICICI. Even if they want to get back the money, they cannot unless ICICI decides to give it back because they have willingly given the money through online transfer. I hope you will carry this incident on your website. I think the only hope I have is the Banking Ombudsman Scheme started on 1st January 2006 by the RBI. **

Replies
ICICI NRI Customer Service SUCKS!!!
By -

INDIA -- ICICI NRI Customer Service SUCKS!!! In the first place, the online access to my ICICI NRI account was locked/disabled even though I used the login/password that was provided to me. I tried my best to reach the support on the toll-free number (1-866-ICICI-4U). Every time it takes more than 5 minutes to talk to a representative. And they just say that they will not be able to service on the phone, and ask me to mail to nri@icicibank.com.

I live in US and have been waiting to access my account for more than 10 days. And after 10 days and many email exchanges, I am told that the passwords would be sent via postal mail to my Indian address, and not via email!!! This just doesn't make sense to me, as there is no one to access my account in India, and I cannot ask someone to go open my mail and send me the password!!!

Dealing with ICICI bank is driving me nuts. And I am seriously thinking, why I should do business with ICICI bank? The following policies/features are JUST UNACCEPTABLE to me. I have few bank and financial accounts for many years now, and I never had to spend more than 15 minutes to get any issue resolved.

No FULL-SUPPORT via telephone, especially to activate disabled accounts. Email-based support with 24-48 hour response time. And this is misleading, as 2 days is taken to respond, not resolve issue!!! My issue is not resolved even after 10 days, and each 2 days is taken to just respond with counter questions/answers. The responses from the Customer Service representatives is just ambiguous (I was asked to "answer below 4 questions", when I actually saw 6 questions listed below the statement!!! I had tough time to correctly interpret each sentence.)

There is no way to reach a higher official/manager via phone/email to express my anguish, and get my issue resolved. The website is not user-friendly, and there are many broken links. And sometimes, the error messages are just ridiculous (I got the message: "Unknown error occurred", instead of the something like, "The Social Security Number you entered does not match our records. Contact Customer Service.")

Replies
ICICI Bank, the Con Masters
By -

Don't ever sign blank forms of ICICI bank. At every ATM and branch, you have smiling marketing guys approaching you to apply for credit cards, insurance, current accounts, demat accounts and what-not. The project themselves as helpful. They explain to you the product they have, just ask you to sign on the application and they fill up the rest, thus save you precious time and hassles. We feel these guys are living up to the slogan "Hum hain na" and some of us do sign and leave the rest to them.

I have had a nasty experience while opening a current account. After understanding the various current accounts, I told the marketing guy I would like a Rs. 25000/- Quarterly Average Balance account. He said no problem and asked me to sign on the necessary spaces and since he does not want to waste my time, he could fill up the rest.

10 days later I got my account number and immediately I deposited Rs.25,000/- cash. Six months have gone by, I have made sure my balance is never less than Rs.25,000/-. Now in my September bill I get a charge of Rs.771.40 for non-maintenance of QAB (Quarterly Average Balance). When I spoke to the customer care, the charge is because I had not maintained a QAB of Rs.50,000/-. When I told him, I have an Rs.25000/- QAB account he says nope, you have an Rs.50,000/- QAB account.

When I approached the M.G Road, Bangalore branch where I had opened the account. I was directed to the solutions manager, he told me he will get back in 2 days time, which he did not. I again visited the bank and met him, he retrieved my application and told me since you have signed on it, you had accepted the Rs.50,000/- QAB account.

When I got pissed off, he told me there have been instances where the marketing guys have used white ink to tamper applications. And why do they do that? To earn higher commission. The higher the QAB account they sell, the higher commission they get!

He has asked me call in a week's time to let me know if they can reverse the charge. But told me it is doubtful. And also told me, if my application was tampered with white ink, he would definitely support me cent percent. The marketing guy who sold me the account was **. The manager I approached is designated as Area Head, Business Banking Group and his name is **. My advise to you all is, if you want to buy any ICICI bank's product, look at them as con artists and take all precautions. And please, please don't ever sign on blank applications.

Replies
ICICI Bank Is Cheating
By -

MUMBAI -- I am a NRI and have visited Mumbai in Sep 2005 . I tried to open ICICI NRE accounts for myself and my family, totaling three accounts by paying 1000 $ on 19th Sep 2005 (by completing all the process). Money in cash was handed over to ** and ** who were on duty. As per me, those were opened successfully, since I received check books, ATM CARDS and various PINs. These accounts belonged to ICICI Andheri Branch.

After that I left India within few days. When I tried to make some transactions, I found funds missing from all my three accounts. The money I deposited did not appear in bank records. I tried to call Bank Manager Ms. ** and **, but no one was ready to talk or interested to reply. Moreover on my further attempts calling them failed, as they do not pick up phone. There is no one in bank who is ready to answer about the whereabouts of my money (foreign currency) deposited, for which I have some receipts which looks fake.

I believe there is some scam or fraud going on in bank on the name of opening NRE accounts. So called ICICI staff - feel that it is easy to cheat non-residents and easy to make money out of foreign accounts which involves foreign currency. It looks like foreign currency racket/scam. Such foreign currency has huge demand in domestic market as far grey market is concerned.

If everything was right then after 20 days, I wouldn't see zero balance in all the three accounts. It clearly show bank's dishonesty. When I acted strong, these scammers started blaming on defect of my documents meant for opening accounts.This claim came after I started trace/investigation of my funds.

I feel lost as I do not know what to do since no bank staff is responding to whereabouts of my money and sitting 10000 km away, I feel that I have been cheated by ICICI Bank Andheri, Mumbai branch. I feel shame on such banks. BEWARE OF ICICI BANK. NRI's need to be extra careful before opening account with ICICI BANK to protect their hard-earned foreign currency.

Replies
Advertisement
Top of Page | Next Page >

ICICI bank Rating:
18 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
ICICI bank
Bandra-Kurla Complex
Mumbai 400 051
1800-102-4242 (ph)
www.icicibank.com
Compare Banks