Preview Review

Next Review

IKEA Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
IKEA Useless Warranty After Sales Department @ 151 NW 136 Ave, Sunrise FL 33325
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUNRISE, FLORIDA -- I purchased an entire kitchen in November 8, 2008 for $3698.00. This was the Nexus Brown Black design series.
This kitchen was discontinued later on after I purchased it. I finally placed a warranty claim for some damaged parts at IKEA After Sales Department located at 151 NW 136 Ave, Sunrise FL, 33325 with **, the claim is IKEA Claim **.

Like all IKEA Products I got suckered into the famous "25 Year Kitchen Warranty Dream", and the "We tested the items over a million times" dream and so on and on..... Right now today I am stuck with a useless NEXUS IKEA Kitchen because even if I wanted to purchase the replacement parts I cannot, two reason why.

FIRST: The IKEA 25 Year WARRANTY is a bunch of ** and the more you speak to the warranty reps like ** you start understanding that you might as well talk to a wall. I had to do all the research and gathering of information and pretty much stuff it in her head, then she sent the information to a ** (what he does, I have no clue, maybe the janitor) then finally they called back with the famous Cop Out Act "we talked to the IKEA Presidents and looked all over the world for your parts and you are screwed, you have NO WARRANTY ANYMORE".

SECOND: Pretty much like I said before, even if I wanted to purchase the parts IKEA does not have them and they did not even make plans to ensure there was a replacement product similar to the discontinued product to assist and honor their MAKE BELIEVE WARRANTY.

IKEA is a JOKE. I now look at their products differently and this story will be repeated at their store, I will tell my story to every person I see wanting to buy their crap kitchen until I get thrown out. I will be proud to make my friends aware of the reality of this compressed wood possibly termite infested POS Swedish Junk, I will also look into making a web site to gather info on product owners of discontinued items sold under false pretense of product availability and warranty fraud.

I will also look into making a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT against this deceitful company IKEA for breach of contract. I know lawyers who just might see things the way I see it and can help me fight this. To close this experience, People - spend your money somewhere else where their products are warranted for real! IKEA Sucks Big Time!

Replies
Advertisement
Ikea Disposed of My Swivel Chair Even Though It Was Reported as a Defective
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALGARY, AB, CANADA -- My Ikea swivel chair had a defective footrest elevator mechanism that made it inconsistent in popping open after the lever was pulled. On the way to Ikea, it fell off my car top which caused the bottom edge to be torn and the arm to be partly scratched. After hearing my story, initially, the returns lady agreed to replace it but when she saw the scratched part she changed her mind. Even after I demonstrated to her that the footrest wouldn't pop open all the time, she insisted that it was ok for as long as I leaned back on the back rest (which wasn't consistent anyhow).

I got mad because of that and told her to put my name on the chair and that I would report her to the Better Business Bureau. She did not inform me that they would only hold my chair for 48 hours and then dispose it even though Ikea had my email and phone info. That same afternoon, I filed a complaint with their after sales customer service dept. that then ruled it as a quality issue that was covered under the 10-yr warranty. I was told that it would be forwarded to the Ikea manager for review. He also asked me where the chair was and I told him it was with the returns department.

They then decided to fix the problem by sending a repair guy... finding out eventually that the returns dept had already destroyed the chair saying that I had abandoned it and that it was their policy. If I had asked the returns lady to put my name on it and that I was going to report it, and if I had been given a complaint file number by the after sales agent who then passed it on to the manager for review, how is it NOT their fault that they failed to inform me of their 48-hour policy? How is it NOT their fault that they failed to coordinate with the returns dept? How is it NOT the manager's fault that he didn't look into it after getting the recommendation from the after sales agent?

Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- My wife and I traveled 2 hours to visit your store in Orlando Florida yesterday dedicating an entire day with one purpose and goal, and that was to purchase an entire bedroom set for our house. We have always spoke highly about Ikea and recommended it to everyone we know. However after the lack of customer service at this location, the rudeness of your employees, and the failure to both listen and assist us in any way we will no longer be shopping with Ikea. The experience we had yesterday with your staff and BOTH managers was the worst experience we have had at ANY public place!

After spending over 3 hours walking the store, filling our cart and picking out the items we wanted we finally made it to the warehouse level where we were to pick out the pieces we needed for the bed and dresser. At this point we were planning on spending over $1000 in your store, but after it was all said and done we left spending $0. We had written down all of the numbers for all of the pieces and started filling the flat beds with our items needed. We only had one left when we realized that what we needed was just on the 3rd shelf.... just high enough that we couldn't pull it down. At this point I went to the desk to ask for assistance.

The employee there asked what I wanted (with the attitude that I was wasting his precious time). I told him that I needed help, he looked up the part, and then informed me that it was not available. I informed him that it was only on the 3rd shelf and I just needed a hand getting it down. His response was "I won't be able to help you, better luck next time, come back tomorrow and maybe it will be lower". I was completely shocked and offended by this response! A "Customer Service" person that didn't even want to help me or even attempt it! I walked away feeling like a worthless customer.... returned to my aisle to see if I could find it somewhere else... with no result.

So then I asked another employee for help hoping that I just got one bad employee the first time. I asked him for a manager. He radioed the manager and over his radio I hear the manager say "I just talked to "That Guy" and I won't help him... tell him to come back tomorrow" Really??? I am referred to as "That Guy", not a customer? At this point I am getting very upset. I just drove 2 hours, spent 3 shopping in your store and now nobody even cares to help me with 1 item!

So I asked for another manager, still with hope that someone in your company cares about a customer that is going to spend $1000 or more! This manager was even worse. She point blank told me "There is nothing I can do for you" while looking right at the product only an arm length away! We pleaded, asked, begged even and she kept on repeating the same single line.... "There is nothing I can do for you". So, because your staff, and your company would not take one item down from only 7 feet in the air, you have now lost over $1000 in sales.... like your company even cares I am sure.

After multiple attempts to find another solution your manager did inform us that It could be shipped... for another $200! Let me ask you this, if you went to a store and saw the product you wanted, could even touch it let's say and this happened to you, would you accept a $200 shipping fee because they wouldn't help you take it off a shelf? NO... but of course if you are an Ikea employee you would think that this was just all OK just like driving another 4 hours the next day is just all OK as well! To top it off, because I was so visible upset... your manager called security to escort us out of the building. Great job Ikea... Great job caring for your customer.

I don't expect a response to this email because apparently it is your "Company Policy" to not care about your customers that drive a long distance to shop at your store, or even plan on spending hard earned money with you. We went to Target and they were happy to help us get our product that was "Not where we could get it down" and even loaded it in our car for us. You will not see us again, and I will make sure to post this everywhere I can. I am also going to contact the BBB because this was by far the worst experience I could have ever imagined... Period. You have lost a "Customer"... like you even care.

Replies
Ordering Online and Delivery
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- FYI! I decided to order my IKEA stuff online about 10 days ago. There is no place to check past orders on the IKEA website. The order had a delivery date estimate of this past Monday. A small order too. There is NOWHERE to check order status. Called them and am on hold now for ages. WARNING! This ordering online is frustrating!!! You can't look up your past or PRESENT orders and there is no tracking an order. LONG hold for customer service. NEVER AGAIN. 20 Min wait for customer service. She said they have no current or past orders they keep for your login online. Can you believe this?

She said my order is still in the warehouse although it's been “picked” and now it's up to UPS Ground to get it. NO ESTIMATE for delivery and it's been TWO WEEKS! I was shocked. It was so frustrating. What large company feels so invulnerable with no ship date reliability for customers?! IKEA CS said they didn't know, but it was picked in the warehouse. Total disregard for delivery date of last Monday. And now they're saying it wasn't shipped. Hard to believe.

Replies
Advertisement
Shipping was Changed from $10 to $349
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STOUTLAND, MISSOURI -- Placed an order for some shelving units that were on sale. Before placing order checked for shipping and it said $16. I proceeded with order and the shipping came up as $349. I couldn't get it to change to the correct amount. Under contact information there was no phone number, only email that said it took 3 days to get a reply. So I waited till the next day and utilized their web chat option. She gave me a number to call and get it straightened out.

When I called she said I had to place 2 separate orders (even though it said that nowhere on the site) and the shipping would be $10 per order -- total $20. She then told me that they were out, even though when I placed them in my cart they had been in stock. She said I could back order them, but she would not honor the sale price -- even though the reason I didn't pay for my order was because of the $349 shipping that should have been $20. No customer service. My first time EVER dealing with this company. Will be my last.

Replies
Nothing Short of Disappointed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORPORATE -- I made an online order for stock furniture for my second home in FL and was charged a standard delivery charge of $129+ and promised delivery by June 30. Then received an email confirming delivery for July 1. July 1 came and went and no delivery. I called and was placed on hold for over an hour. Called again and was transferred and then placed on hold for 45 minutes with no response from the CS representative. Finally I received a recording stating "IKEA is now closed. Please call back during normal business hours." This was in the middle of the day on a Wed. Hmmm.

I've called again and again with the similar messages but have not ever reached a representative again. Finally received an email with very little explanation except that the delivery was delayed because a $4 item had been damaged in transit - really crazy email. No contact information that differed from what I already had. My order was substantial and a $4 item shouldn't be delaying the delivery. I'm going to make a fraud claim with my credit card provider tomorrow. Nothing more that I can do. Any suggestions?

Replies
Ordered a Table Which Arrived With the Wrong Legs!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I Ordered a table which arrived with two wrong legs. After calling and complaining, they said they would expedite the legs in 5-7 business days (which I thought was absurd since it was their fault for sending the wrong legs so the least they could do was get it delivered faster). Ok, on the 8th business day, nothing! And not a word also, no email or call giving us any type is status on the delivery.

I called again and guess what? They said the same thing! Would take another 5-7 business days... that is... if the parts were in stock. They couldn't even check to see if they were actually in stock, because as the customer service manager mentioned very politely (not) - they don't have access to stock information! So now what? Wait for MAYBE 5-7 more business days and hope it arrives??? This is so ridiculous, how can a company this big not be able to resolve such a basic issue and not be able to have a decent customer service department? I'm so extremely upset!!!

Replies
IKEA was wrong, I paid the price
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEMPE, ARIZONA -- We bought a new bed frame for our son. When we went to get it delivered, and possibly assembled, the man behind the counter gave me a quote based on my total bill, not the item itself, which is incorrect based on their own rules. The assembly charge was too rich for my blood at $159, so I declined. When I got home and glanced at my receipt, I realized that I had been misinformed by the IKEA representative and that the charge should have been $89. That may not sound like a big difference, but it's the difference between reasonable and gouging in my opinion.

I tried to get the change made via phone, but got caught on IKEA's typical customer service hamster wheel and after about an hour on the phone was told the change could only be made in-store. Since we had just gotten home from IKEA, live about 20 miles away from IKEA, and I had just seriously injured my hand trying to move one of IKEA's giant boxes, I balked at having to make all the effort for something that was NOT MY FAULT BUT ENTIRELY IKEA'S.

Eventually got the frame assembled for $75 by a nice guy not affiliated with IKEA -- a fair price that demonstrates how overpriced IKEA's services are. Their customer service, too, is sorely lacking. Face it, they don't need we consumers satisfied, as they pretty much have a stranglehold on their little market niche. Nevertheless, I'll never shop there again unless I happen to be in the market for fairly cheap furniture that requires a Swedish Ph.D. to assemble and lasts about two years.

Replies
Advertisement
Defects Not Visible Until Assembled
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WESTCHESTER, OHIO -- I purchased the square LERHAMN dining table and there were not any screw holes for the trim to attach to the bottom of the table top. Called IKEA and was told that was normal and to install the screws with a screwdriver or a drill. So I installed the screws with a borrowed drill since I was not strong enough drive them in with a screwdriver. After all of that effort, I finally achieved full assembly just to find that the finished product had 2 manufacturing defects, that to me were not acceptable.

Called IKEA and told the customer service representative my story and he said I could return or exchange the table which meant traveling back to the store with a fully assembled table and exchange it for another one that could or could not cause me to have the same issue. I asked if it was possible to, upon me being in store with my table, to have IKEA unbox a table while at the store and have them assemble it since I'd already done it once and was told that was not possible.

I will not be purchasing anything from IKEA again. And their pricing is actually rather high for the customer to have to pull the merchandise from the shelves, load your purchases and take them home to assemble or you can make it even more expensive by paying for delivery and assembly of your purchases. Most of the merchandise is made China with the ever so Swede designer names. Find out the hard way that IKEA is not for me and cannot understand why they are so successful with all of the negative reviews. I guess IKEA does not stay afloat with repeat business.

Replies
Trying to Get Replacement Parts for Kvartal 3 Track Curtain Rod Track
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANTON, MICHIGAN -- We have purchased and installed the Kvartal style 3 track hanging blind system in our kitchen. The plastic interlock tabs to move the 3 hanging panels keep breaking. There is one store in Burlington, Ontario 3-1/2 hours away and one in Canton, Michigan one hour away (closest stores). We have been to both twice with no success at obtaining these plastic clips which eventually break (in about a month or two if you get that far) such that you have to handle each panel individually by grabbing them which dirties and bends them - not a great practice.

The frustration is that Ikea does not have part numbers for these clips so instead you have to buy the entire track setup. If they have returns of these tracks or open boxes with missing parts they'll take all these parts and throw them in a bin which they will let you look through to find what you hope you will find - yeah, good luck! One time we were able to do this - miracle of all miracles! These clips again lasted about a month. I have tried to glue them but the type of plastic used does not lend itself to Super Glue or epoxy or any other glue I can find or think of. This is just a poor design or poor choice of polymers.

Phone calls and emails to Ikea Customer (NON) Service have been nothing short of dismal and frustrating. I would like to be able to get several parts and willing to pay for them. I would like to help Ikea make this otherwise good overall product better by letting them know they have a problem with these clips that they should redesign. They understand my problem and frustration but can do absolutely NOTHING nor will they try on either point.

I have never seen such stupidity, such poor product control (no part numbers - you have to copy the assembly instructions and circle the nameless part (not even a Swedish name for it) and show it to them so they will know what you are even looking for). Be careful what you buy at Ikea - it is seemingly cost efficient and reasonably good looking merchandise but if you have to return it or replace something, and if you expect it to last you are really out of your mind with those expectations. They rank among the worst customer service I have encountered and only rivaled by Samsung Customer Non Service - which is an whole other story or stories that you can internet search.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

IKEA Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 59 ratings and
169 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
IKEA
400 Alan Wood Rd
Conshohocken, PA 19428
1-888-888-4532 (ph)
www.ikea.com/us/en/
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Furniture Stores