Preview Review

Next Review

IKEA Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
IKEA Useless Warranty After Sales Department @ 151 NW 136 Ave, Sunrise FL 33325
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUNRISE, FLORIDA -- I purchased an entire kitchen in November 8, 2008 for $3698.00. This was the Nexus Brown Black design series.
This kitchen was discontinued later on after I purchased it. I finally placed a warranty claim for some damaged parts at IKEA After Sales Department located at 151 NW 136 Ave, Sunrise FL, 33325 with **, the claim is IKEA Claim **.

Like all IKEA Products I got suckered into the famous "25 Year Kitchen Warranty Dream", and the "We tested the items over a million times" dream and so on and on..... Right now today I am stuck with a useless NEXUS IKEA Kitchen because even if I wanted to purchase the replacement parts I cannot, two reason why.

FIRST: The IKEA 25 Year WARRANTY is a bunch of ** and the more you speak to the warranty reps like ** you start understanding that you might as well talk to a wall. I had to do all the research and gathering of information and pretty much stuff it in her head, then she sent the information to a ** (what he does, I have no clue, maybe the janitor) then finally they called back with the famous Cop Out Act "we talked to the IKEA Presidents and looked all over the world for your parts and you are screwed, you have NO WARRANTY ANYMORE".

SECOND: Pretty much like I said before, even if I wanted to purchase the parts IKEA does not have them and they did not even make plans to ensure there was a replacement product similar to the discontinued product to assist and honor their MAKE BELIEVE WARRANTY.

IKEA is a JOKE. I now look at their products differently and this story will be repeated at their store, I will tell my story to every person I see wanting to buy their crap kitchen until I get thrown out. I will be proud to make my friends aware of the reality of this compressed wood possibly termite infested POS Swedish Junk, I will also look into making a web site to gather info on product owners of discontinued items sold under false pretense of product availability and warranty fraud.

I will also look into making a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT against this deceitful company IKEA for breach of contract. I know lawyers who just might see things the way I see it and can help me fight this. To close this experience, People - spend your money somewhere else where their products are warranted for real! IKEA Sucks Big Time!

Replies
Advertisement
Nothing Short of Disappointed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORPORATE -- I made an online order for stock furniture for my second home in FL and was charged a standard delivery charge of $129+ and promised delivery by June 30. Then received an email confirming delivery for July 1. July 1 came and went and no delivery. I called and was placed on hold for over an hour. Called again and was transferred and then placed on hold for 45 minutes with no response from the CS representative. Finally I received a recording stating "IKEA is now closed. Please call back during normal business hours." This was in the middle of the day on a Wed. Hmmm.

I've called again and again with the similar messages but have not ever reached a representative again. Finally received an email with very little explanation except that the delivery was delayed because a $4 item had been damaged in transit - really crazy email. No contact information that differed from what I already had. My order was substantial and a $4 item shouldn't be delaying the delivery. I'm going to make a fraud claim with my credit card provider tomorrow. Nothing more that I can do. Any suggestions?

Replies
Ordered a Table Which Arrived With the Wrong Legs!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I Ordered a table which arrived with two wrong legs. After calling and complaining, they said they would expedite the legs in 5-7 business days (which I thought was absurd since it was their fault for sending the wrong legs so the least they could do was get it delivered faster). Ok, on the 8th business day, nothing! And not a word also, no email or call giving us any type is status on the delivery.

I called again and guess what? They said the same thing! Would take another 5-7 business days... that is... if the parts were in stock. They couldn't even check to see if they were actually in stock, because as the customer service manager mentioned very politely (not) - they don't have access to stock information! So now what? Wait for MAYBE 5-7 more business days and hope it arrives??? This is so ridiculous, how can a company this big not be able to resolve such a basic issue and not be able to have a decent customer service department? I'm so extremely upset!!!

Replies
IKEA was wrong, I paid the price
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEMPE, ARIZONA -- We bought a new bed frame for our son. When we went to get it delivered, and possibly assembled, the man behind the counter gave me a quote based on my total bill, not the item itself, which is incorrect based on their own rules. The assembly charge was too rich for my blood at $159, so I declined. When I got home and glanced at my receipt, I realized that I had been misinformed by the IKEA representative and that the charge should have been $89. That may not sound like a big difference, but it's the difference between reasonable and gouging in my opinion.

I tried to get the change made via phone, but got caught on IKEA's typical customer service hamster wheel and after about an hour on the phone was told the change could only be made in-store. Since we had just gotten home from IKEA, live about 20 miles away from IKEA, and I had just seriously injured my hand trying to move one of IKEA's giant boxes, I balked at having to make all the effort for something that was NOT MY FAULT BUT ENTIRELY IKEA'S.

Eventually got the frame assembled for $75 by a nice guy not affiliated with IKEA -- a fair price that demonstrates how overpriced IKEA's services are. Their customer service, too, is sorely lacking. Face it, they don't need we consumers satisfied, as they pretty much have a stranglehold on their little market niche. Nevertheless, I'll never shop there again unless I happen to be in the market for fairly cheap furniture that requires a Swedish Ph.D. to assemble and lasts about two years.

Replies
Advertisement
No Customer Service!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST LOUIS, MISSOURI -- The St. Louis store gave me a customer service #, 3 times on hold over 1 hour each, never talked yet. No response to my e-mails either. Still trying, horrible waste of time.

Replies
Trying to Get Replacement Parts for Kvartal 3 Track Curtain Rod Track
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANTON, MICHIGAN -- We have purchased and installed the Kvartal style 3 track hanging blind system in our kitchen. The plastic interlock tabs to move the 3 hanging panels keep breaking. There is one store in Burlington, Ontario 3-1/2 hours away and one in Canton, Michigan one hour away (closest stores). We have been to both twice with no success at obtaining these plastic clips which eventually break (in about a month or two if you get that far) such that you have to handle each panel individually by grabbing them which dirties and bends them - not a great practice.

The frustration is that Ikea does not have part numbers for these clips so instead you have to buy the entire track setup. If they have returns of these tracks or open boxes with missing parts they'll take all these parts and throw them in a bin which they will let you look through to find what you hope you will find - yeah, good luck! One time we were able to do this - miracle of all miracles! These clips again lasted about a month. I have tried to glue them but the type of plastic used does not lend itself to Super Glue or epoxy or any other glue I can find or think of. This is just a poor design or poor choice of polymers.

Phone calls and emails to Ikea Customer (NON) Service have been nothing short of dismal and frustrating. I would like to be able to get several parts and willing to pay for them. I would like to help Ikea make this otherwise good overall product better by letting them know they have a problem with these clips that they should redesign. They understand my problem and frustration but can do absolutely NOTHING nor will they try on either point.

I have never seen such stupidity, such poor product control (no part numbers - you have to copy the assembly instructions and circle the nameless part (not even a Swedish name for it) and show it to them so they will know what you are even looking for). Be careful what you buy at Ikea - it is seemingly cost efficient and reasonably good looking merchandise but if you have to return it or replace something, and if you expect it to last you are really out of your mind with those expectations. They rank among the worst customer service I have encountered and only rivaled by Samsung Customer Non Service - which is an whole other story or stories that you can internet search.

Replies
Ikea Disposed of My Swivel Chair Even Though It Was Reported as a Defective
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALGARY, AB, CANADA -- My Ikea swivel chair had a defective footrest elevator mechanism that made it inconsistent in popping open after the lever was pulled. On the way to Ikea, it fell off my car top which caused the bottom edge to be torn and the arm to be partly scratched. After hearing my story, initially, the returns lady agreed to replace it but when she saw the scratched part she changed her mind. Even after I demonstrated to her that the footrest wouldn't pop open all the time, she insisted that it was ok for as long as I leaned back on the back rest (which wasn't consistent anyhow).

I got mad because of that and told her to put my name on the chair and that I would report her to the Better Business Bureau. She did not inform me that they would only hold my chair for 48 hours and then dispose it even though Ikea had my email and phone info. That same afternoon, I filed a complaint with their after sales customer service dept. that then ruled it as a quality issue that was covered under the 10-yr warranty. I was told that it would be forwarded to the Ikea manager for review. He also asked me where the chair was and I told him it was with the returns department.

They then decided to fix the problem by sending a repair guy... finding out eventually that the returns dept had already destroyed the chair saying that I had abandoned it and that it was their policy. If I had asked the returns lady to put my name on it and that I was going to report it, and if I had been given a complaint file number by the after sales agent who then passed it on to the manager for review, how is it NOT their fault that they failed to inform me of their 48-hour policy? How is it NOT their fault that they failed to coordinate with the returns dept? How is it NOT the manager's fault that he didn't look into it after getting the recommendation from the after sales agent?

Replies
Crummy Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- IKEA claims to be a self-service warehouse, and we found out they mean it literally. We wanted to get about $1500 worth of furniture but chose to have the IKEA staff pick it out and deliver it for which we were willing to pay extra. We thought the process started near the exit past the cash register where a sign Home Delivery was posted. Wrong. We had to go back inside to some station in the middle of the store to place the order.

The attendant was grouchy. Went to the cash register to pay but the line was long and we were short on time so we left. Came back the next day. Stood in line with our order. Then the cashier said the order was not valid because it was done the day before and told us to go back. We did and stood in line again. Cashier then told us the order was filled incorrectly by their clerk. Told her we wanted to speak to a supervisor but she refused to call anyone and just told us to go back and stand in line again.

We refused to stand in line again so I stood exactly where we were, keeping our spot, while wife went back to get the right order and had to stand in line over there because the clerk refused to handle her request until she waited her turn. We finally got out of there and wrote a letter to IKEA consumer affairs and got no answer so I looked for another place where I could file a complaint and warn others that IKEA is not a friendly store. So here I am.

Don't expect any sort of customer service there. They have well-designed products which are clever and attractive. They are cheaply built, however. If there's a problem, tough luck. And if you need something more elaborate like a kitchen, shop elsewhere unless you're ready to proceed with no help from them. They are a perfect example of "you get what you pay for."

Replies
Advertisement
Non Existent Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PLYMOUTH MEETING PA -- After two visits to the store we decided on the Besta TV storage unit which was on display in the show room. Using the product literature included in the show room display we headed down to the self-service area to gather the components. Little did we know that the product was discontinued. Faithfully following the locations indicated on the product literature we searched in vain for the non-existent components. After about 30 min of very frustrating shopping I approached an IKEA associate for help. After a quick search on her computer she told me the product was discontinued.

So I realize I've wasted about 3-4 hours of my time because IKEA advertised a product for sale that was in fact not available. At that point I was extremely frustrated but still wanted the product and offered to buy the display unit at a reduced price. I was told that I needed to return to the show room and discuss my offer with the sales person. So upstairs I went only to hear from the sales person that I should have known the unit was not available. When I pointed out there was no signage she could not tell me how was supposed to know. Frustration is growing.

She asked what I wanted to correct the situation and I said I wanted to buy the display unit for a significantly reduced price. Now we head downstairs with the product on a cart to get it "valued" where I was greeted by a very uninterested employee who slapped a price on the unit. I realized I had just helped the associate move the discontinued product to the clearance area and her offer to make it right was the same price anyone could pay. The price was fair for a display unit but offered me nothing for my wasted time. I countered with a lower price and was told flatly no without any regard to my inconvenience.

There was no concession to me to make the situation right and the total disregard for my grievance is unacceptable to me. IKEA's total disregard of my wasted time which resulted from their sloppy merchandising practices is unacceptable to me. I can not imagine how I would be treated after they had my money. I can assure you they will not get any more of my money.

Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROCHESTER, NEW YORK -- I ordered around 1000 worth of stuff off of their website and got an estimated delivery in about 2 weeks for a rate of $99. I was fine with it and scheduled my order. Three days later I receive an email stating something in my order may not be in stock and it might delay my order but possibly not. They did not give a quote of a new ship or arrival date, they did not say what item it was, they also did not give me any relevant information. I waited a few days and email the person back and ask them to clarify because of how vague it was.

I receive a response saying that the order is fine to ship and still estimated to deliver the original day and I should get an email when it leaves the warehouse and then it should take 2-3 days after arriving at the local delivery facility to be delivered. This would be fine except they emailed this to me 2 days before they said it was scheduled to be delivered and I still received no information on it leaving. I sent another email asking them to clarify because of the timing involved and how I was not sure if they could violate the laws of physics and space to move something instantaneously and did not receive a response.

Two more days no response so I sent another email to them and also contacted them on Twitter and Facebook for support. I received no response from any of the three sources. The delivery day comes and goes and I call Ikea and talk to them directly. They inform me everything is good and it must be at the local delivery person because they show it as filled. I argue the point and after 30 minutes they finally look into it and find out it hasn't left the warehouse. Why? Because a $10 sheet I added at checkout was out of stock in that color. Nobody called, nobody wrote, nobody could even tell me this was it?

They also informed me too much time had passed since I placed the order so I could not cancel for a full refund so the best they could do was remove the sheet from the order so that it would ship, now I have to wait 2.5 more weeks to hopefully get a delivery. I was informed that they cannot do anything to make it right until after it is delivered, so at that time I get to inspect everything and then call back again to try and get a hold of the same person to get an answer. Worst customer service I have ever used.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

IKEA Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 57 ratings and
167 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
IKEA
400 Alan Wood Rd
Conshohocken, PA 19428
1-888-888-4532 (ph)
www.ikea.com/us/en/
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Furniture Stores