Preview Review

Next Review

IKEA Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- My wife and I traveled 2 hours to visit your store in Orlando Florida yesterday dedicating an entire day with one purpose and goal, and that was to purchase an entire bedroom set for our house. We have always spoke highly about Ikea and recommended it to everyone we know. However after the lack of customer service at this location, the rudeness of your employees, and the failure to both listen and assist us in any way we will no longer be shopping with Ikea. The experience we had yesterday with your staff and BOTH managers was the worst experience we have had at ANY public place!

After spending over 3 hours walking the store, filling our cart and picking out the items we wanted we finally made it to the warehouse level where we were to pick out the pieces we needed for the bed and dresser. At this point we were planning on spending over $1000 in your store, but after it was all said and done we left spending $0. We had written down all of the numbers for all of the pieces and started filling the flat beds with our items needed. We only had one left when we realized that what we needed was just on the 3rd shelf.... just high enough that we couldn't pull it down. At this point I went to the desk to ask for assistance.

The employee there asked what I wanted (with the attitude that I was wasting his precious time). I told him that I needed help, he looked up the part, and then informed me that it was not available. I informed him that it was only on the 3rd shelf and I just needed a hand getting it down. His response was "I won't be able to help you, better luck next time, come back tomorrow and maybe it will be lower". I was completely shocked and offended by this response! A "Customer Service" person that didn't even want to help me or even attempt it! I walked away feeling like a worthless customer.... returned to my aisle to see if I could find it somewhere else... with no result.

So then I asked another employee for help hoping that I just got one bad employee the first time. I asked him for a manager. He radioed the manager and over his radio I hear the manager say "I just talked to "That Guy" and I won't help him... tell him to come back tomorrow" Really??? I am referred to as "That Guy", not a customer? At this point I am getting very upset. I just drove 2 hours, spent 3 shopping in your store and now nobody even cares to help me with 1 item!

So I asked for another manager, still with hope that someone in your company cares about a customer that is going to spend $1000 or more! This manager was even worse. She point blank told me "There is nothing I can do for you" while looking right at the product only an arm length away! We pleaded, asked, begged even and she kept on repeating the same single line.... "There is nothing I can do for you". So, because your staff, and your company would not take one item down from only 7 feet in the air, you have now lost over $1000 in sales.... like your company even cares I am sure.

After multiple attempts to find another solution your manager did inform us that It could be shipped... for another $200! Let me ask you this, if you went to a store and saw the product you wanted, could even touch it let's say and this happened to you, would you accept a $200 shipping fee because they wouldn't help you take it off a shelf? NO... but of course if you are an Ikea employee you would think that this was just all OK just like driving another 4 hours the next day is just all OK as well! To top it off, because I was so visible upset... your manager called security to escort us out of the building. Great job Ikea... Great job caring for your customer.

I don't expect a response to this email because apparently it is your "Company Policy" to not care about your customers that drive a long distance to shop at your store, or even plan on spending hard earned money with you. We went to Target and they were happy to help us get our product that was "Not where we could get it down" and even loaded it in our car for us. You will not see us again, and I will make sure to post this everywhere I can. I am also going to contact the BBB because this was by far the worst experience I could have ever imagined... Period. You have lost a "Customer"... like you even care.

Replies
Advertisement
Buyer Beware!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA, NEW YORK -- In 2007 I purchased a complete bedroom set from Ikea, at the time the HOPEN series dressers, bed and night stands were among the most expensive Ikea had to offer. Shortly after, due to a series of life events my wife and I had to move, the move was only down the street but in the process we managed to break our HOPEN queen size bed frame and one of the smaller dressers. This all took place less than a year after I purchased the original set so I dutifully went back to Ikea to purchase replacement.

Once there I found that Ikea was no longer carrying the HOPEN series, I was told to check back in a couple of months. In the interim I purchased a MALM bed frame that somewhat matched the HOPEN series. Six months later IKEA has the HOPEN in stock again BUT IN A DIFFERENT COLOUR!!! It has been one year since I had spent close to $3000 dollars at Ikea and I could not purchase a replacement for the furniture that had broken. To top it all off the rest of the HOPEN series I had were all falling apart and one look at the new HOPEN material showed that the furniture I had purchased has of inferior quality.

Ikea even admitted to me that they had changed the material the furniture is made out of because they were having so many complaints. When I asked for some kind of return (with the original receipts) I was told it had been a year since I had bought the furniture and that some breakage should be expected. Breakage expected!!! In ONE YEAR!!! This was preposterous! Especially considering the amount I had paid and the fact that I could not replace the damaged units since they did not make them in the same colour.

I suggested a compromise where I bring in all the furniture of inferior quality that the company had admitted should be replaced and I buy a whole new bedroom set. I was told I was free to buy a new bedroom set but they would not offer any discount. Fast forward a few year and I decide to go back to Ikea for a media storage unit, the price was high but they seemed to be made of good quality material. I paid over $3000 dollars for a BESTA media storage unit with the most expensive doors possible, the high gloss brown doors. Once I assembled the units it became apparent just how cheaply made and frustrating the furniture was.

This was supposed to be a media storage system and there was not a single notch or hole or conduit to run cables. In the end I spent several hours with a drill and hacksaw cutting up pieces of aluminum and wood to be able to connect all my equipment (which is not a big set up, a TV a DVD player and a computer, that's it). The BESTA BURS wall unit, which is designed to hold up a TV, does not have a single place to run cables out of the box. Additionally the high gloss brown door were constantly sold out.

Six months later there were still none in stock and I have been informed that the high gloss brown doors have been discontinued in favour of a new high gloss gray door, which does not match at all. In one year Ikea turned my over $3000 dollar investment into garbage! This is the last time I ever shop at Ikea! BUYER BEWARE!!!!

Replies
Nothing Short of Disappointed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORPORATE -- I made an online order for stock furniture for my second home in FL and was charged a standard delivery charge of $129+ and promised delivery by June 30. Then received an email confirming delivery for July 1. July 1 came and went and no delivery. I called and was placed on hold for over an hour. Called again and was transferred and then placed on hold for 45 minutes with no response from the CS representative. Finally I received a recording stating "IKEA is now closed. Please call back during normal business hours." This was in the middle of the day on a Wed. Hmmm.

I've called again and again with the similar messages but have not ever reached a representative again. Finally received an email with very little explanation except that the delivery was delayed because a $4 item had been damaged in transit - really crazy email. No contact information that differed from what I already had. My order was substantial and a $4 item shouldn't be delaying the delivery. I'm going to make a fraud claim with my credit card provider tomorrow. Nothing more that I can do. Any suggestions?

Replies
Ordered a Table Which Arrived With the Wrong Legs!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I Ordered a table which arrived with two wrong legs. After calling and complaining, they said they would expedite the legs in 5-7 business days (which I thought was absurd since it was their fault for sending the wrong legs so the least they could do was get it delivered faster). Ok, on the 8th business day, nothing! And not a word also, no email or call giving us any type is status on the delivery.

I called again and guess what? They said the same thing! Would take another 5-7 business days... that is... if the parts were in stock. They couldn't even check to see if they were actually in stock, because as the customer service manager mentioned very politely (not) - they don't have access to stock information! So now what? Wait for MAYBE 5-7 more business days and hope it arrives??? This is so ridiculous, how can a company this big not be able to resolve such a basic issue and not be able to have a decent customer service department? I'm so extremely upset!!!

Replies
Advertisement
IKEA was wrong, I paid the price
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEMPE, ARIZONA -- We bought a new bed frame for our son. When we went to get it delivered, and possibly assembled, the man behind the counter gave me a quote based on my total bill, not the item itself, which is incorrect based on their own rules. The assembly charge was too rich for my blood at $159, so I declined. When I got home and glanced at my receipt, I realized that I had been misinformed by the IKEA representative and that the charge should have been $89. That may not sound like a big difference, but it's the difference between reasonable and gouging in my opinion.

I tried to get the change made via phone, but got caught on IKEA's typical customer service hamster wheel and after about an hour on the phone was told the change could only be made in-store. Since we had just gotten home from IKEA, live about 20 miles away from IKEA, and I had just seriously injured my hand trying to move one of IKEA's giant boxes, I balked at having to make all the effort for something that was NOT MY FAULT BUT ENTIRELY IKEA'S.

Eventually got the frame assembled for $75 by a nice guy not affiliated with IKEA -- a fair price that demonstrates how overpriced IKEA's services are. Their customer service, too, is sorely lacking. Face it, they don't need we consumers satisfied, as they pretty much have a stranglehold on their little market niche. Nevertheless, I'll never shop there again unless I happen to be in the market for fairly cheap furniture that requires a Swedish Ph.D. to assemble and lasts about two years.

Replies
Defects Not Visible Until Assembled
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WESTCHESTER, OHIO -- I purchased the square LERHAMN dining table and there were not any screw holes for the trim to attach to the bottom of the table top. Called IKEA and was told that was normal and to install the screws with a screwdriver or a drill. So I installed the screws with a borrowed drill since I was not strong enough drive them in with a screwdriver. After all of that effort, I finally achieved full assembly just to find that the finished product had 2 manufacturing defects, that to me were not acceptable.

Called IKEA and told the customer service representative my story and he said I could return or exchange the table which meant traveling back to the store with a fully assembled table and exchange it for another one that could or could not cause me to have the same issue. I asked if it was possible to, upon me being in store with my table, to have IKEA unbox a table while at the store and have them assemble it since I'd already done it once and was told that was not possible.

I will not be purchasing anything from IKEA again. And their pricing is actually rather high for the customer to have to pull the merchandise from the shelves, load your purchases and take them home to assemble or you can make it even more expensive by paying for delivery and assembly of your purchases. Most of the merchandise is made China with the ever so Swede designer names. Find out the hard way that IKEA is not for me and cannot understand why they are so successful with all of the negative reviews. I guess IKEA does not stay afloat with repeat business.

Replies
Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My husband and I ordered 2 end tables online from Ikea on January 3. We got a confirmation email stating it was "shipped" on January 8, 2015 with an estimated delivery date of Jan 14. It is now Jan 17th and we still have not gotten our end tables. We called FedEx and they reported that Ikea has not dropped off the tables or scheduled a pick up to deliver them.

After being transferred twice and sitting on hold for LITERALLY 1 hour and 7 minutes, they said they will re-send the label to FedEx. Estimated shipping date: Jan 27. Ikea has terrible customer service to make someone wait for that long. I would strongly not recommend buying from their website, it seems as though they don't have a reliable system when it comes to shipping an item.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service - Child's Allergic Reaction to Mattress Fumes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUNRISE, FLORIDA -- I purchased 2 MALM beds and two mattresses for Granddaughters. Sultan Hansbo memory foam and Sultan Hanestad. Youngest child woke up with swollen face, eyes, sore throat. Other granddaughter and father sore throats and itching eyes. Small apartment totally smells of whatever gases are being emitted.

I called customer service, spent 60 minutes on the phone being jerked around to 3 different people. Of the 60 minutes only actually talking 5 minutes and being put on hold the other 55 minutes. Promised a callback and then that person said, "You have to call after sales." Well, after sales is a recorded message that they will call you in two days. In the meantime - our whole house smells.

Replies
Advertisement
Trying to Get Replacement Parts for Kvartal 3 Track Curtain Rod Track
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANTON, MICHIGAN -- We have purchased and installed the Kvartal style 3 track hanging blind system in our kitchen. The plastic interlock tabs to move the 3 hanging panels keep breaking. There is one store in Burlington, Ontario 3-1/2 hours away and one in Canton, Michigan one hour away (closest stores). We have been to both twice with no success at obtaining these plastic clips which eventually break (in about a month or two if you get that far) such that you have to handle each panel individually by grabbing them which dirties and bends them - not a great practice.

The frustration is that Ikea does not have part numbers for these clips so instead you have to buy the entire track setup. If they have returns of these tracks or open boxes with missing parts they'll take all these parts and throw them in a bin which they will let you look through to find what you hope you will find - yeah, good luck! One time we were able to do this - miracle of all miracles! These clips again lasted about a month. I have tried to glue them but the type of plastic used does not lend itself to Super Glue or epoxy or any other glue I can find or think of. This is just a poor design or poor choice of polymers.

Phone calls and emails to Ikea Customer (NON) Service have been nothing short of dismal and frustrating. I would like to be able to get several parts and willing to pay for them. I would like to help Ikea make this otherwise good overall product better by letting them know they have a problem with these clips that they should redesign. They understand my problem and frustration but can do absolutely NOTHING nor will they try on either point.

I have never seen such stupidity, such poor product control (no part numbers - you have to copy the assembly instructions and circle the nameless part (not even a Swedish name for it) and show it to them so they will know what you are even looking for). Be careful what you buy at Ikea - it is seemingly cost efficient and reasonably good looking merchandise but if you have to return it or replace something, and if you expect it to last you are really out of your mind with those expectations. They rank among the worst customer service I have encountered and only rivaled by Samsung Customer Non Service - which is an whole other story or stories that you can internet search.

Replies
Products Displayed but Never Available?
By -

CANTON, MICHIGAN -- My wife and I have shopped at Ikea on many occasions and historically, we've enjoyed their prices, products, and selection. We were in the market for a new living room sofa and chair, and despite looking at many other furniture and home stores, were not able to find what we were looking for. After shopping at the Canton, MI Ikea, we saw the Mujik Red Vreta sofa and recliner. The pair were leather, nicely constructed and priced competitively. Moreover, Ikea was running a special whereby if the customer signed-up for an Ikea credit card, the purchase could be made at 12 months same-as-cash.

When we inquired about purchasing, we were told they had neither item in-stock, but would have it "soon." We tried to place an order, but were told we could only place something called a "draft order". We wanted to make sure we got the 12 months same-as-cash deal, so after going round-and-round to several staff members who would not help, my wife happened to ask an employee who turned out to be a manager. He gave us a note authorizing the deal to be applied when the furniture came in, and told us we would be called.

That was in February 2010 and it is now May. Not only has the furniture never arrived, but when my wife attempted to call the manager we had spoken to, he said there was nothing he could do, and oh, by the way, don't EVER call him again! The other night my wife was looking at the Ikea website, and the web inventory indicated both items were in-stock in the Canton store - but no call. So she called the store and they said they didn't have it. When my wife asked about why the website showed the items in-stock, yet we received no call, the employee asked "well, did you PAY for it!"

My wife said we weren't permitted to place a *real* order, only a *draft* order. My wife then asked to speak to a manager, and after some wrangling with the employee, she expected to be put-through, only to have the employee hang-up on her. My wife was very courteous throughout, so there was really no excuse for the employees behavior. I'm puzzled as to WHY Ikea would have items on the floor for MONTHS and yet never seem to have the item in-stock? Why don't Ikea employees at least ATTEMPT to answer the customer's questions?

How can Ikea expect to only allow back-ordered items to be sold if the customer has paid in advance, and then, have a policy that does not allow the customer to place a REAL order or pay for the item? In retrospect, I'm certainly glad we didn't pay, as we would still have no sofa or chair! We found another sofa and chair, and we are resolved to NEVER do business with Ikea again. They are not only rude, but appear to engage in some HIGHLY SUSPECT business practices. I'm contemplating a letter to the State Attorney General's office.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

IKEA Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 59 ratings and
169 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
IKEA
400 Alan Wood Rd
Conshohocken, PA 19428
1-888-888-4532 (ph)
www.ikea.com/us/en/
Product/Services
Compare Furniture Stores