IKEA - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 56 ratings and
165 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
400 Alan Wood Rd
Conshohocken, PA 19428
1-888-888-4532 (ph)
Compare Furniture Stores
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Ikea Must Adapt To American Market Not The Opposite
By -

SUNRISE, FLORIDA -- On 1/8/10, I went to IKEA, since they were having a sale, to buy the following product: DVALA Fitted sheet RED, at the Sunrise Store in Broward County Florida. They didn't have any but was told to come back the next day which I did since they would more merchandise coming in. Before leaving home, I went online and checked their inventory at the following web page: **. It read "This product will be in stock: Today Jan 9". As I write this, it still says they have 24 available. It's 1/9/10 at 10:44 ET. I also called on the phone to make sure of the accuracy of the online information. They confirmed it.

So I went to the store, 5 minutes away from my home, and when I got there I couldn't find any. I asked for help and a manager looked up the product in their system and it showed they had 16 available but no one knew where the merchandise was. After attempting for 20 minutes I asked for a "Rain-Check" as it is usual in our American stores, specially if it is their fault, and was told that "WE ARE NOT AN AMERICAN STORE" and that they had their own rules and policies, therefore I would not get a "Rain-Check".

This is not the kind of customer service we should get from a foreign company making a fortune in the American market. If we do not accept it from our own American stores why should we from IKEA? Let's start a campaign where they have to adapt to American values and habits, just as American companies have to do it in foreign markets. ENOUGH is ENOUGH!

Products Displayed but Never Available?
By -

CANTON, MICHIGAN -- My wife and I have shopped at Ikea on many occasions and historically, we've enjoyed their prices, products, and selection. We were in the market for a new living room sofa and chair, and despite looking at many other furniture and home stores, were not able to find what we were looking for. After shopping at the Canton, MI Ikea, we saw the Mujik Red Vreta sofa and recliner. The pair were leather, nicely constructed and priced competitively. Moreover, Ikea was running a special whereby if the customer signed-up for an Ikea credit card, the purchase could be made at 12 months same-as-cash.

When we inquired about purchasing, we were told they had neither item in-stock, but would have it "soon." We tried to place an order, but were told we could only place something called a "draft order". We wanted to make sure we got the 12 months same-as-cash deal, so after going round-and-round to several staff members who would not help, my wife happened to ask an employee who turned out to be a manager. He gave us a note authorizing the deal to be applied when the furniture came in, and told us we would be called.

That was in February 2010 and it is now May. Not only has the furniture never arrived, but when my wife attempted to call the manager we had spoken to, he said there was nothing he could do, and oh, by the way, don't EVER call him again! The other night my wife was looking at the Ikea website, and the web inventory indicated both items were in-stock in the Canton store - but no call. So she called the store and they said they didn't have it. When my wife asked about why the website showed the items in-stock, yet we received no call, the employee asked "well, did you PAY for it!"

My wife said we weren't permitted to place a *real* order, only a *draft* order. My wife then asked to speak to a manager, and after some wrangling with the employee, she expected to be put-through, only to have the employee hang-up on her. My wife was very courteous throughout, so there was really no excuse for the employees behavior. I'm puzzled as to WHY Ikea would have items on the floor for MONTHS and yet never seem to have the item in-stock? Why don't Ikea employees at least ATTEMPT to answer the customer's questions?

How can Ikea expect to only allow back-ordered items to be sold if the customer has paid in advance, and then, have a policy that does not allow the customer to place a REAL order or pay for the item? In retrospect, I'm certainly glad we didn't pay, as we would still have no sofa or chair! We found another sofa and chair, and we are resolved to NEVER do business with Ikea again. They are not only rude, but appear to engage in some HIGHLY SUSPECT business practices. I'm contemplating a letter to the State Attorney General's office.

IKEA Useless Warranty After Sales Department @ 151 NW 136 Ave, Sunrise FL 33325
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SUNRISE, FLORIDA -- I purchased an entire kitchen in November 8, 2008 for $3698.00. This was the Nexus Brown Black design series.
This kitchen was discontinued later on after I purchased it. I finally placed a warranty claim for some damaged parts at IKEA After Sales Department located at 151 NW 136 Ave, Sunrise FL, 33325 with **, the claim is IKEA Claim **.

Like all IKEA Products I got suckered into the famous "25 Year Kitchen Warranty Dream", and the "We tested the items over a million times" dream and so on and on..... Right now today I am stuck with a useless NEXUS IKEA Kitchen because even if I wanted to purchase the replacement parts I cannot, two reason why.

FIRST: The IKEA 25 Year WARRANTY is a bunch of ** and the more you speak to the warranty reps like ** you start understanding that you might as well talk to a wall. I had to do all the research and gathering of information and pretty much stuff it in her head, then she sent the information to a ** (what he does, I have no clue, maybe the janitor) then finally they called back with the famous Cop Out Act "we talked to the IKEA Presidents and looked all over the world for your parts and you are screwed, you have NO WARRANTY ANYMORE".

SECOND: Pretty much like I said before, even if I wanted to purchase the parts IKEA does not have them and they did not even make plans to ensure there was a replacement product similar to the discontinued product to assist and honor their MAKE BELIEVE WARRANTY.

IKEA is a JOKE. I now look at their products differently and this story will be repeated at their store, I will tell my story to every person I see wanting to buy their crap kitchen until I get thrown out. I will be proud to make my friends aware of the reality of this compressed wood possibly termite infested POS Swedish Junk, I will also look into making a web site to gather info on product owners of discontinued items sold under false pretense of product availability and warranty fraud.

I will also look into making a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT against this deceitful company IKEA for breach of contract. I know lawyers who just might see things the way I see it and can help me fight this. To close this experience, People - spend your money somewhere else where their products are warranted for real! IKEA Sucks Big Time!

Ikea Disposed of My Swivel Chair Even Though It Was Reported as a Defective
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALGARY, AB, CANADA -- My Ikea swivel chair had a defective footrest elevator mechanism that made it inconsistent in popping open after the lever was pulled. On the way to Ikea, it fell off my car top which caused the bottom edge to be torn and the arm to be partly scratched. After hearing my story, initially, the returns lady agreed to replace it but when she saw the scratched part she changed her mind. Even after I demonstrated to her that the footrest wouldn't pop open all the time, she insisted that it was ok for as long as I leaned back on the back rest (which wasn't consistent anyhow).

I got mad because of that and told her to put my name on the chair and that I would report her to the Better Business Bureau. She did not inform me that they would only hold my chair for 48 hours and then dispose it even though Ikea had my email and phone info. That same afternoon, I filed a complaint with their after sales customer service dept. That then ruled it as a quality issue that was covered under the 10-yr warranty. I was told that it would be forwarded to the Ikea manager for review. He also asked me where the chair was and I told him it was with the returns department.

They then decided to fix the problem by sending a repair guy... finding out eventually that the returns dept had already destroyed the chair saying that I had abandoned it and that it was their policy. If I had asked the returns lady to put my name on it and that I was going to report it, and if I had been given a complaint file number by the after sales agent who then passed it on to the manager for review, how is it NOT their fault that they failed to inform me of their 48-hour policy? How is it NOT their fault that they failed to coordinate with the returns dept? How is it NOT the manager's fault that he didn't look into it after getting the recommendation from the after sales agent?

Crummy Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- IKEA claims to be a self-service warehouse, and we found out they mean it literally. We wanted to get about $1500 worth of furniture but chose to have the IKEA staff pick it out and deliver it for which we were willing to pay extra. We thought the process started near the exit past the cash register where a sign Home Delivery was posted. Wrong. We had to go back inside to some station in the middle of the store to place the order.

The attendant was grouchy. Went to the cash register to pay but the line was long and we were short on time so we left. Came back the next day. Stood in line with our order. Then the cashier said the order was not valid because it was done the day before and told us to go back. We did and stood in line again. Cashier then told us the order was filled incorrectly by their clerk. Told her we wanted to speak to a supervisor but she refused to call anyone and just told us to go back and stand in line again.

We refused to stand in line again so I stood exactly where we were, keeping our spot, while wife went back to get the right order and had to stand in line over there because the clerk refused to handle her request until she waited her turn. We finally got out of there and wrote a letter to IKEA consumer affairs and got no answer so I looked for another place where I could file a complaint and warn others that IKEA is not a friendly store. So here I am.

Don't expect any sort of customer service there. They have well-designed products which are clever and attractive. They are cheaply built, however. If there's a problem, tough luck. And if you need something more elaborate like a kitchen, shop elsewhere unless you're ready to proceed with no help from them. They are a perfect example of "you get what you pay for."

Non Existent Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PLYMOUTH MEETING PA -- After two visits to the store we decided on the Besta TV storage unit which was on display in the show room. Using the product literature included in the show room display we headed down to the self-service area to gather the components. Little did we know that the product was discontinued. Faithfully following the locations indicated on the product literature we searched in vain for the non-existent components. After about 30 min of very frustrating shopping I approached an IKEA associate for help. After a quick search on her computer she told me the product was discontinued.

So I realize I've wasted about 3-4 hours of my time because IKEA advertised a product for sale that was in fact not available. At that point I was extremely frustrated but still wanted the product and offered to buy the display unit at a reduced price. I was told that I needed to return to the show room and discuss my offer with the sales person. So upstairs I went only to hear from the sales person that I should have known the unit was not available. When I pointed out there was no signage she could not tell me how was supposed to know. Frustration is growing.

She asked what I wanted to correct the situation and I said I wanted to buy the display unit for a significantly reduced price. Now we head downstairs with the product on a cart to get it "valued" where I was greeted by a very uninterested employee who slapped a price on the unit. I realized I had just helped the associate move the discontinued product to the clearance area and her offer to make it right was the same price anyone could pay. The price was fair for a display unit but offered me nothing for my wasted time. I countered with a lower price and was told flatly no without any regard to my inconvenience.

There was no concession to me to make the situation right and the total disregard for my grievance is unacceptable to me. IKEA's total disregard of my wasted time which resulted from their sloppy merchandising practices is unacceptable to me. I can not imagine how I would be treated after they had my money. I can assure you they will not get any more of my money.

Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROCHESTER, NEW YORK -- I ordered around 1000 worth of stuff off of their website and got an estimated delivery in about 2 weeks for a rate of $99. I was fine with it and scheduled my order. Three days later I receive an email stating something in my order may not be in stock and it might delay my order but possibly not. They did not give a quote of a new ship or arrival date, they did not say what item it was, they also did not give me any relevant information. I waited a few days and email the person back and ask them to clarify because of how vague it was.

I receive a response saying that the order is fine to ship and still estimated to deliver the original day and I should get an email when it leaves the warehouse and then it should take 2-3 days after arriving at the local delivery facility to be delivered. This would be fine except they emailed this to me 2 days before they said it was scheduled to be delivered and I still received no information on it leaving. I sent another email asking them to clarify because of the timing involved and how I was not sure if they could violate the laws of physics and space to move something instantaneously and did not receive a response.

Two more days no response so I sent another email to them and also contacted them on Twitter and Facebook for support. I received no response from any of the three sources. The delivery day comes and goes and I call Ikea and talk to them directly. They inform me everything is good and it must be at the local delivery person because they show it as filled. I argue the point and after 30 minutes they finally look into it and find out it hasn't left the warehouse. Why? Because a $10 sheet I added at checkout was out of stock in that color. Nobody called, nobody wrote, nobody could even tell me this was it?

They also informed me too much time had passed since I placed the order so I could not cancel for a full refund so the best they could do was remove the sheet from the order so that it would ship, now I have to wait 2.5 more weeks to hopefully get a delivery. I was informed that they cannot do anything to make it right until after it is delivered, so at that time I get to inspect everything and then call back again to try and get a hold of the same person to get an answer. Worst customer service I have ever used.

Delivery Contractor Did Not "Deliver"
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I placed an order online to be delivered to my home. I received an email stating that my delivery date was 11/17/14 and that a follow up email would show the delivery company and contact info. When the second email arrived, it did have the delivery company, Urban Express; however no contact info for questions. On 11/16/14, I called Ikea Customer Service because at 5pm, I had not received the "phone call" from the delivery company giving me the 4 hour window for delivery on the 17th. I sat on hold for customer service assistance for 20 minutes.

A nice representative came on line and called the delivery company who said my delivery would arrive at my home between 5pm and 9 pm on 11/17. Today is 11/17/14. I got off work early to be at home by 4:30pm in case the delivery was early... My husband said he got a message on his cell phone that our furniture would be delivered between 7pm and 9pm. At 8pm, my husband received an automated call that the furniture would be delivered within 2-5 minutes.... he attempted to call the return number 305-728-8400 and was on hold for quite some time.

I then called the same number again at 8:40 pm and was on hold until after 9pm before I got a live person. I spoke to "**" who claimed to be a supervisor. He called dispatch and told me that because we did not respond to their call and email (which was from a "**" and not Ikea nor Urban Express) that the driver didn't deliver. I got off early to sit and watch my front and side door until after 9pm to be told they would not deliver because I did not return a phone call (which we attempted to return!!). What kind of delivery company does not knock on a door or drive into a driveway?

I believe your customer service will suffer long term with your partnership with Urban Express. "**" would not let me speak to anyone other than himself - nor would he give me any contact at "Dispatch". He said I had to wait and call Ikea tomorrow. My husband has had back surgery and we paid for delivery to be a convenience for him. I would like for someone at Ikea to investigate Urban Express delivery practices.... if in fact they will not deliver unless someone returns their call then it should be stated loud and clear in your delivery terms that this is the case and that they will not pull in a driveway, nor knock on a door unless you call them back.

By not disclosing this on your website, you are misleading your customer.

Horrible After Sales Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRISCO, TEXAS -- If you have purchased a product from Ikea and there are no problems with it then probably you are good. But anytime you have to deal with AFTER Sales, then your nightmare starts. Here is what I have gone through: "Case number - ** (Case Open date Sep 6 2014) - Horrible After Sales Experience. I raised this case and followed up for 2 weeks. I got 3 follow ups from Ikea representatives in between and they all had their own solutions/offers. After 2 weeks, I am now getting call from a VERY RUDE person and he is telling that there is no problem with the product (even when it is unstable).

And I have to purchase a new one (with delivery) and then only they can offer a pick up for old one. Also, the agent is not listening to me at all. He is telling he will hang on on me if I don't let him close the case. Horrible! I am an Ikea customer for last 4+ years and purchased so many products and always suggested my friends to use IKEA. I never had this BAD experience. IKEA does not care about their customers. When there is a problem with the product stability, they don't expect that it could be a problem with the product and they want customer to pay for everything again (delivery fees also) and then only they will except the delivery.

I want this to be escalated and want some expert to come and look at the bed frame and stability issues and then provide pick-up/delivery for old/exchanged product and offer complimentary assembly also on the same. I don't want to talk to some agent who says "I WILL HANG UP AS I GOT THIS RESOLUTION FROM MY MANAGER AND THIS IS FINAL. I HAVE TO CLOSE THE CASE". Really PATHETIC and HORRIBLE! Totally Unaccepted way to talk to any CUSTOMER."

Not What It Used to Be
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COVINA, CALIFORNIA -- Things to remember about Ikea: They do not care if you are happy with their product, customer service, item in stock or the quality. Employees are not empowered to make any decisions and are ultimately frustrated, disgruntled and kept in the dark regarding product info. Have never been able to find/reach/talk to a store manager, there is a wall they hide behind, a wall of powerless staff. All avenues outside of the store for help, helpless.

If you do not live near a store and drive a distance to get there (200 mile roundtrip for us) there is no return policy except for driving all the way back. No matter how small the part is, whether it was missing, broken or you did not get all the parts (mainly because there is no staff to help make sure you do), they simply do not care, it's your tough luck! If you do not have enough money to purchase an entire system at one time, it probably will have been discontinued by the time you return. There is no back-up, you are out of luck!

Ikea is not what it used to be and that's a huge understatement! Quality has gone downhill steadily, prices have gone up. Design seems to be aimed at dorm room throw away items. Just not a good experience or fun anymore. If you, like myself, used to really like Ikea years ago or bought a system that you want to add on to or at least want the same quality with it, you will be sorry that they took your money and you were dumb enough to give it to them. We have a very mismatched Pax wardrobe system in our bedroom and a Besta entertainment system in our living room.

Thanks to their constant changing or discontinuing items, we have 2 systems that were pricey and look like we piecemealed them together. Not even the close hanger rods are the same, yes we found out on our last trip that they even changed them in color and shape. The wardrobe sides are now hollow core and have stickers that warn "do not walk on during assembly" (do they not realize how much room is needed to assemble and walking on them is almost impossible). They weigh a fraction of what they used to, they bow, just plain cheap!!!

Both mirror doors were broken, another 200 miles, if they even take them back and not try to blame us (their favorite comeback). I would call first, but as I have learned in the past, that it is its own nightmare and what they say and what happens when you get to the store are 2 different things. Summary: If none of the above bothers you, then you are their perfect customer and good luck with that!

Top of Page | Next Page >