Preview Review

Next Review

IKEA Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- My wife and I traveled 2 hours to visit your store in Orlando Florida yesterday dedicating an entire day with one purpose and goal, and that was to purchase an entire bedroom set for our house. We have always spoke highly about Ikea and recommended it to everyone we know. However after the lack of customer service at this location, the rudeness of your employees, and the failure to both listen and assist us in any way we will no longer be shopping with Ikea. The experience we had yesterday with your staff and BOTH managers was the worst experience we have had at ANY public place!

After spending over 3 hours walking the store, filling our cart and picking out the items we wanted we finally made it to the warehouse level where we were to pick out the pieces we needed for the bed and dresser. At this point we were planning on spending over $1000 in your store, but after it was all said and done we left spending $0. We had written down all of the numbers for all of the pieces and started filling the flat beds with our items needed. We only had one left when we realized that what we needed was just on the 3rd shelf.... just high enough that we couldn't pull it down. At this point I went to the desk to ask for assistance.

The employee there asked what I wanted (with the attitude that I was wasting his precious time). I told him that I needed help, he looked up the part, and then informed me that it was not available. I informed him that it was only on the 3rd shelf and I just needed a hand getting it down. His response was "I won't be able to help you, better luck next time, come back tomorrow and maybe it will be lower". I was completely shocked and offended by this response! A "Customer Service" person that didn't even want to help me or even attempt it! I walked away feeling like a worthless customer.... returned to my aisle to see if I could find it somewhere else... with no result.

So then I asked another employee for help hoping that I just got one bad employee the first time. I asked him for a manager. He radioed the manager and over his radio I hear the manager say "I just talked to "That Guy" and I won't help him... tell him to come back tomorrow" Really??? I am referred to as "That Guy", not a customer? At this point I am getting very upset. I just drove 2 hours, spent 3 shopping in your store and now nobody even cares to help me with 1 item!

So I asked for another manager, still with hope that someone in your company cares about a customer that is going to spend $1000 or more! This manager was even worse. She point blank told me "There is nothing I can do for you" while looking right at the product only an arm length away! We pleaded, asked, begged even and she kept on repeating the same single line.... "There is nothing I can do for you". So, because your staff, and your company would not take one item down from only 7 feet in the air, you have now lost over $1000 in sales.... like your company even cares I am sure.

After multiple attempts to find another solution your manager did inform us that It could be shipped... for another $200! Let me ask you this, if you went to a store and saw the product you wanted, could even touch it let's say and this happened to you, would you accept a $200 shipping fee because they wouldn't help you take it off a shelf? NO... but of course if you are an Ikea employee you would think that this was just all OK just like driving another 4 hours the next day is just all OK as well! To top it off, because I was so visible upset... your manager called security to escort us out of the building. Great job Ikea... Great job caring for your customer.

I don't expect a response to this email because apparently it is your "Company Policy" to not care about your customers that drive a long distance to shop at your store, or even plan on spending hard earned money with you. We went to Target and they were happy to help us get our product that was "Not where we could get it down" and even loaded it in our car for us. You will not see us again, and I will make sure to post this everywhere I can. I am also going to contact the BBB because this was by far the worst experience I could have ever imagined... Period. You have lost a "Customer"... like you even care.

Ordering Online and Delivery
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- FYI! I decided to order my IKEA stuff online about 10 days ago. There is no place to check past orders on the IKEA website. The order had a delivery date estimate of this past Monday. A small order too. There is NOWHERE to check order status. Called them and am on hold now for ages. WARNING! This ordering online is frustrating!!! You can't look up your past or PRESENT orders and there is no tracking an order. LONG hold for customer service. NEVER AGAIN. 20 Min wait for customer service. She said they have no current or past orders they keep for your login online. Can you believe this?

She said my order is still in the warehouse although it's been “picked” and now it's up to UPS Ground to get it. NO ESTIMATE for delivery and it's been TWO WEEKS! I was shocked. It was so frustrating. What large company feels so invulnerable with no ship date reliability for customers?! IKEA CS said they didn't know, but it was picked in the warehouse. Total disregard for delivery date of last Monday. And now they're saying it wasn't shipped. Hard to believe.

Shipping was Changed from $10 to $349
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

STOUTLAND, MISSOURI -- Placed an order for some shelving units that were on sale. Before placing order checked for shipping and it said $16. I proceeded with order and the shipping came up as $349. I couldn't get it to change to the correct amount. Under contact information there was no phone number, only email that said it took 3 days to get a reply. So I waited till the next day and utilized their web chat option. She gave me a number to call and get it straightened out.

When I called she said I had to place 2 separate orders (even though it said that nowhere on the site) and the shipping would be $10 per order -- total $20. She then told me that they were out, even though when I placed them in my cart they had been in stock. She said I could back order them, but she would not honor the sale price -- even though the reason I didn't pay for my order was because of the $349 shipping that should have been $20. No customer service. My first time EVER dealing with this company. Will be my last.

Nothing Short of Disappointed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORPORATE -- I made an online order for stock furniture for my second home in FL and was charged a standard delivery charge of $129+ and promised delivery by June 30. Then received an email confirming delivery for July 1. July 1 came and went and no delivery. I called and was placed on hold for over an hour. Called again and was transferred and then placed on hold for 45 minutes with no response from the CS representative. Finally I received a recording stating "IKEA is now closed. Please call back during normal business hours." This was in the middle of the day on a Wed. Hmmm.

I've called again and again with the similar messages but have not ever reached a representative again. Finally received an email with very little explanation except that the delivery was delayed because a $4 item had been damaged in transit - really crazy email. No contact information that differed from what I already had. My order was substantial and a $4 item shouldn't be delaying the delivery. I'm going to make a fraud claim with my credit card provider tomorrow. Nothing more that I can do. Any suggestions?

Ordered a Table Which Arrived With the Wrong Legs!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I Ordered a table which arrived with two wrong legs. After calling and complaining, they said they would expedite the legs in 5-7 business days (which I thought was absurd since it was their fault for sending the wrong legs so the least they could do was get it delivered faster). Ok, on the 8th business day, nothing! And not a word also, no email or call giving us any type is status on the delivery.

I called again and guess what? They said the same thing! Would take another 5-7 business days... that is... if the parts were in stock. They couldn't even check to see if they were actually in stock, because as the customer service manager mentioned very politely (not) - they don't have access to stock information! So now what? Wait for MAYBE 5-7 more business days and hope it arrives??? This is so ridiculous, how can a company this big not be able to resolve such a basic issue and not be able to have a decent customer service department? I'm so extremely upset!!!

IKEA was wrong, I paid the price
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEMPE, ARIZONA -- We bought a new bed frame for our son. When we went to get it delivered, and possibly assembled, the man behind the counter gave me a quote based on my total bill, not the item itself, which is incorrect based on their own rules. The assembly charge was too rich for my blood at $159, so I declined. When I got home and glanced at my receipt, I realized that I had been misinformed by the IKEA representative and that the charge should have been $89. That may not sound like a big difference, but it's the difference between reasonable and gouging in my opinion.

I tried to get the change made via phone, but got caught on IKEA's typical customer service hamster wheel and after about an hour on the phone was told the change could only be made in-store. Since we had just gotten home from IKEA, live about 20 miles away from IKEA, and I had just seriously injured my hand trying to move one of IKEA's giant boxes, I balked at having to make all the effort for something that was NOT MY FAULT BUT ENTIRELY IKEA'S.

Eventually got the frame assembled for $75 by a nice guy not affiliated with IKEA -- a fair price that demonstrates how overpriced IKEA's services are. Their customer service, too, is sorely lacking. Face it, they don't need we consumers satisfied, as they pretty much have a stranglehold on their little market niche. Nevertheless, I'll never shop there again unless I happen to be in the market for fairly cheap furniture that requires a Swedish Ph.D. to assemble and lasts about two years.

Trying to Get Replacement Parts for Kvartal 3 Track Curtain Rod Track
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANTON, MICHIGAN -- We have purchased and installed the Kvartal style 3 track hanging blind system in our kitchen. The plastic interlock tabs to move the 3 hanging panels keep breaking. There is one store in Burlington, Ontario 3-1/2 hours away and one in Canton, Michigan one hour away (closest stores). We have been to both twice with no success at obtaining these plastic clips which eventually break (in about a month or two if you get that far) such that you have to handle each panel individually by grabbing them which dirties and bends them - not a great practice.

The frustration is that Ikea does not have part numbers for these clips so instead you have to buy the entire track setup. If they have returns of these tracks or open boxes with missing parts they'll take all these parts and throw them in a bin which they will let you look through to find what you hope you will find - yeah, good luck! One time we were able to do this - miracle of all miracles! These clips again lasted about a month. I have tried to glue them but the type of plastic used does not lend itself to Super Glue or epoxy or any other glue I can find or think of. This is just a poor design or poor choice of polymers.

Phone calls and emails to Ikea Customer (NON) Service have been nothing short of dismal and frustrating. I would like to be able to get several parts and willing to pay for them. I would like to help Ikea make this otherwise good overall product better by letting them know they have a problem with these clips that they should redesign. They understand my problem and frustration but can do absolutely NOTHING nor will they try on either point.

I have never seen such stupidity, such poor product control (no part numbers - you have to copy the assembly instructions and circle the nameless part (not even a Swedish name for it) and show it to them so they will know what you are even looking for). Be careful what you buy at Ikea - it is seemingly cost efficient and reasonably good looking merchandise but if you have to return it or replace something, and if you expect it to last you are really out of your mind with those expectations. They rank among the worst customer service I have encountered and only rivaled by Samsung Customer Non Service - which is an whole other story or stories that you can internet search.

Buyer Beware!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA, NEW YORK -- In 2007 I purchased a complete bedroom set from Ikea, at the time the HOPEN series dressers, bed and night stands were among the most expensive Ikea had to offer. Shortly after, due to a series of life events my wife and I had to move, the move was only down the street but in the process we managed to break our HOPEN queen size bed frame and one of the smaller dressers. This all took place less than a year after I purchased the original set so I dutifully went back to Ikea to purchase replacement.

Once there I found that Ikea was no longer carrying the HOPEN series, I was told to check back in a couple of months. In the interim I purchased a MALM bed frame that somewhat matched the HOPEN series. Six months later IKEA has the HOPEN in stock again BUT IN A DIFFERENT COLOUR!!! It has been one year since I had spent close to $3000 dollars at Ikea and I could not purchase a replacement for the furniture that had broken. To top it all off the rest of the HOPEN series I had were all falling apart and one look at the new HOPEN material showed that the furniture I had purchased has of inferior quality.

Ikea even admitted to me that they had changed the material the furniture is made out of because they were having so many complaints. When I asked for some kind of return (with the original receipts) I was told it had been a year since I had bought the furniture and that some breakage should be expected. Breakage expected!!! In ONE YEAR!!! This was preposterous! Especially considering the amount I had paid and the fact that I could not replace the damaged units since they did not make them in the same colour.

I suggested a compromise where I bring in all the furniture of inferior quality that the company had admitted should be replaced and I buy a whole new bedroom set. I was told I was free to buy a new bedroom set but they would not offer any discount. Fast forward a few year and I decide to go back to Ikea for a media storage unit, the price was high but they seemed to be made of good quality material. I paid over $3000 dollars for a BESTA media storage unit with the most expensive doors possible, the high gloss brown doors. Once I assembled the units it became apparent just how cheaply made and frustrating the furniture was.

This was supposed to be a media storage system and there was not a single notch or hole or conduit to run cables. In the end I spent several hours with a drill and hacksaw cutting up pieces of aluminum and wood to be able to connect all my equipment (which is not a big set up, a TV a DVD player and a computer, that's it). The BESTA BURS wall unit, which is designed to hold up a TV, does not have a single place to run cables out of the box. Additionally the high gloss brown door were constantly sold out.

Six months later there were still none in stock and I have been informed that the high gloss brown doors have been discontinued in favour of a new high gloss gray door, which does not match at all. In one year Ikea turned my over $3000 dollar investment into garbage! This is the last time I ever shop at Ikea! BUYER BEWARE!!!!

Products Displayed but Never Available?
By -

CANTON, MICHIGAN -- My wife and I have shopped at Ikea on many occasions and historically, we've enjoyed their prices, products, and selection. We were in the market for a new living room sofa and chair, and despite looking at many other furniture and home stores, were not able to find what we were looking for. After shopping at the Canton, MI Ikea, we saw the Mujik Red Vreta sofa and recliner. The pair were leather, nicely constructed and priced competitively. Moreover, Ikea was running a special whereby if the customer signed-up for an Ikea credit card, the purchase could be made at 12 months same-as-cash.

When we inquired about purchasing, we were told they had neither item in-stock, but would have it "soon." We tried to place an order, but were told we could only place something called a "draft order". We wanted to make sure we got the 12 months same-as-cash deal, so after going round-and-round to several staff members who would not help, my wife happened to ask an employee who turned out to be a manager. He gave us a note authorizing the deal to be applied when the furniture came in, and told us we would be called.

That was in February 2010 and it is now May. Not only has the furniture never arrived, but when my wife attempted to call the manager we had spoken to, he said there was nothing he could do, and oh, by the way, don't EVER call him again! The other night my wife was looking at the Ikea website, and the web inventory indicated both items were in-stock in the Canton store - but no call. So she called the store and they said they didn't have it. When my wife asked about why the website showed the items in-stock, yet we received no call, the employee asked "well, did you PAY for it!"

My wife said we weren't permitted to place a *real* order, only a *draft* order. My wife then asked to speak to a manager, and after some wrangling with the employee, she expected to be put-through, only to have the employee hang-up on her. My wife was very courteous throughout, so there was really no excuse for the employees behavior. I'm puzzled as to WHY Ikea would have items on the floor for MONTHS and yet never seem to have the item in-stock? Why don't Ikea employees at least ATTEMPT to answer the customer's questions?

How can Ikea expect to only allow back-ordered items to be sold if the customer has paid in advance, and then, have a policy that does not allow the customer to place a REAL order or pay for the item? In retrospect, I'm certainly glad we didn't pay, as we would still have no sofa or chair! We found another sofa and chair, and we are resolved to NEVER do business with Ikea again. They are not only rude, but appear to engage in some HIGHLY SUSPECT business practices. I'm contemplating a letter to the State Attorney General's office.

By -

UNITED STATES -- Have you noticed that there is no section or counter in any IKEA store that claims to be "guests' services" or the "courtesy counter" or "Customer Service"? There is not a single sign or direction anywhere in the store that directs anyone to such a location to have their questions answered, just small towers with an "€œi"€ icon at the top placed at various locations throughout the maze. You might be lucky to find a coworker within a few hundred feet of each of those "€œi"€ towers.

If you do find someone, hopefully you will get a well rehearsed quote from the Yellow Shirt People that customer service is throughout the store. They claim that all coworkers are trained to answer your questions (and solve your problems) at the point of contact. I find this difficult to digest but have been surprised with how much the coworkers know about their immediate areas. I found that any coworker was able to assist me and if there were honest issues that IKEA was at fault for, those issues were corrected. They have simple solutions for just about every situation.

However, the issues that I have learned from are "€œContempt of concept"€. Some of us just don'€™t fit into the IKEA customer profile and the rest of us just do not find the concept an easy way to shop. Maybe we're stubborn or spoiled. Maybe we think that because we are spending our money we should have service on a silver platter. Unfortunately, IKEA does not sell silver. That does not stop one from wanting to vent to the manager about something he has no control of or to threaten to call "Corporate" when we don't get what we want.

There is no real reason to ask for corporate or for the manager. Don'€™t even bother. You can ask for a manager five times during one trip to the store and get five different managers with five different approaches to you as a customer. There is no one true manager that can be found. If there is a general manager, they must be traveling the world or be securely guarded inside their ivory tower somewhere. I know of no one who has heard from the offices in Sweden. I'€™d like to meet someone who actually has spoken to a "€œregional or district manager"€. Those don'€™t exist. IKEA is not that type of retail.

It is not North American retail where anyone with a complaint used to be able to get in touch with the manager'€™s manager, etc. Anyway, how would anyone get anything done if they have to sound complaints or comments every working hour? Your comment or concern is most likely nothing they never heard before. Of course, it feels good to get it off your chest. But understand that it is their concept. We choose to accept it when we enter their locations. Someone with a real problem or issue that needs to be solved needs to know were to go to get that issue solved.

At IKEA one just wonders around aimlessly looking for "Customer Service" or a coworker that looks like they can be interrupted. Some problems that need to be solved are found to be "User Error"€. You may have lost that screw. You should not have used a power driver to tighten that cam lock. You could have thrown the hardware away. You just might be an idiot for buying this stuff in the first place. You do get what you pay for and sometimes you deserve what you get. Not too many larger retail or big box stores are worried about you; there are plenty of other customers going through their check outs to make up for what you don't spend.

IKEA coworkers and managers are there to protect the company'€™s policies which protect the profit, alienating a customer is not a loss to them. Their "€œCult Like"€ following only replaces that lost customer two to one. If you ever get an audience with a supervisory figure, speak in a rational way. You might be surprised as to how far kind words go. Be careful, never pull the "I'€™m a good customer"€ or "I'€™ve spent $$$ here" because the only dollar that is important to them is the dollar that they are protecting at that moment. Playing the "€œI'€™m a Good Customer card" gets you a brick wall almost immediately, if not the brick upside your head.

Who cares how much money you spent? The issue is with this one item here and now. So what makes shopping at an IKEA successful? KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING! My first few trips to IKEA were so frustrating I am shocked that I continued to return. I could not figure out how to buy anything if I wanted too. You must do your homework before you go. Don'€™t get half way through the store before you decide you have no clue how to shop there. Do NOT come into the "exit" if you have not been to the store before. You will only frustrate yourself and annoy every customer and coworker you interrupt trying to find your way upstream.

Do stop in the ENTRY lobby, study the shopping tools, and study the maps. Read the price tags. Walk the store the first time without picking up something. Get your bearings. Learn the shortcuts. Read the overhead directional signs and follow the arrows on the floor. Take a break and breathe. Sit on the furniture and get a visual of where you came from and where you want to go. You are inside of a walled in amusement park for shoppers and it is far too easy to get overwhelmed.

DON'T buy anything at all on your first visit! NEVER! Just get a catalog, pick up the little paper forms that describe the items in detail. Measure the displays, measure your boxes and by all means, MEASURE YOUR CAR, TRUNK or BACK SEAT if you are going to transport the items yourself. Do not expect any coworker anywhere in the store to know if a certain item will fit in your car. The store is IKEA not KIA, they don'€™t know one type of car from another and are far too busy to worry about how you'€™re going to get your crap home.

GO HOME, figure out where that new item is going to fit, measure your space and know that the item you are going to purchase will be what you want. Yeah, there is a "€œNo Nonsense"€ return policy. But that is the store'€™s description not the customers'€™ translation. The return policy is straightforward. YOU MUST HAVE A VALID RECEIPT! Do not read between the lines or assume anything. Your merchandise can be returned if it is still in the original packaging as it was when purchased, not opened, never assembled, never built and then taken apart.

And what ever you do, never open bedding products for any reason if there is any doubt that you will be keeping it. DON'€™T even open bedding just to see if it will match your style. Oh, and there is no exchange vs. return. It is a return, period. You can not "exchange"€ your unwanted item unless it meets the actual return policy and you have your receipt. You must have a receipt for all transactions! There is no reason for IKEA to even have the word "€œExchange"€ posted.

You are not allowed to go shop for the replacement item to bring it back to the return counter for exchange. Your return is done first and then you are sent off to go through the entire shopping process again, either with a refund or a new gift card. If you have "€œFight Club" syndrome and you just can not live without shopping at IKEA; BRING HELP! Do NOT expect to enter the store, provide a list or point a finger to a yellow shirt and expect eager coworkers to gather your purchase up for you. Do not be the only adult in your group with a bunch of rowdy children.

Do NOT expect to push your baby stroller and your merchandise cart at the same time and do not expect someone else to push either one for you. Do NOT expect to have help loading the items in the self serve warehouse. Do NOT expect to get to the cash lanes and ask a cashier to go get an item for you or to have a sales person bring an item up to you. Do NOT expect to have help loading your vehicle. Now have fun. Drive to IKEA, park in a large parking lot, loose your car in that lot. Enter the store, get lost in that store, study your price tags, follow the map, and write down the name, price and location of your item.

Follow the direction tags on the bottom of your price tags. If it says to see a coworker, FIND A COWORKER. If says to continue to the warehouse then make your notes and move on. Locate the larger trolley carts in the warehouse, get your cart and head to your aisle. Load your item, check the number for the correct size and color then head to the cash counter. And heaven forbid the item be out of stock. You can not pre-pay, order or arrange to have the item held for you when it does come into stock. And when it does, you have to start your shopping trip all over again.

Now, have your entire product selection ready to check out and all of your questions answered by the time you get to the cash lanes. Once there, it's too late. The lines will be long and coworkers will be doing what they can to get everyone cashed out and on their way. Pay at self check out, and forget about bagging your merchandise. IKEA is "€œgreen"€ and will not provide disposable bags. You can buy reusable bags like at your grocery store. Truck your purchase out to the loading zone and load your car, drive home and build your new item. Be happy with the process. If you get home and find that you made a mistake, you have no one to blame.

Don'€™t expect sympathy from the store because you picked up a red table but wanted a blue one. Don'€™t even try to play the card "€œBut that is what your coworker put on my cart"€. You'€™re an adult, be responsible for your actions and cut your losses. You shopped from a SELF SERVE WAREHOUSE. Whatever help you got (if any) was just courtesy assistance. Don'€™t expect the store to come to your home and exchange the items you don'€™t want just because it is furniture. If you expect that service; buy your furniture from a high line, high quality, and high price service center... and pay for it.

No one made you make the choice you made. No one made you drive out of your way to get to the store. You made those choices so you have to live with them. No one made you promises. You can have fun at IKEA but you have to do your part. You'€™re paying for soft pine, cardboard and plastic; expect to get what you pay for. But again, DOES IT REALLY MATTER?

Top of Page | Next Page >

IKEA Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 59 ratings and
169 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
400 Alan Wood Rd
Conshohocken, PA 19428
1-888-888-4532 (ph)
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Furniture Stores