Indy Air Care - Page 2

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.0 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
29 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Use the Coupon - Show Them the Door!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
INDIANAPOLIS -- I received a coupon in the mail for $49.95 for a cleaning of my air vents. We scheduled a time and I arranged to work from home that afternoon. I had to call several times as the person who was supposed to come out left work early on a Friday afternoon. The supervisor showed with an assistant.

They insisted on showing me dirty vents...I knew they were dirty, that's why I called! When I said I had to work he took pictures of the vents and brought them into my office. Both were personable but it was difficult to work though their stories and endless chatting. I finally shut the door.

After cleaning the vents (which they did a good job on) they inspected the A/C and crawl space. The supervisor came into my office with a quote for removing the mold and vacuum sealing the crawl space. The mold was practically non-existent but he insisted it could cause several physical problems. The total bid was over $2000.00. I told him it was too high and then the games began.

In and out of my office (I'm still working!) he comes with a "better" offer from the boss. He finally came down to around $1600.00 but I had to hang up on a client to get him to leave my house.

Coupons are usually a loss lead which is a great way to get the bigger jobs but this is simply a scam. Use the coupon and say good bye.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Indy Air Care Out to Scam People
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
7525 E. 39TH ST., INDIANAPOLIS, IN 46226, INDIANA -- Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9805398, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This company is out to cheat people out of their money. As an 87 year old woman, quite possibly they are targeting the elderly. Four years ago they charged me $1100 to clean out mold which I believe was bogus. Since I have no way to prove that, I will let that instance be.

This year they claimed that I had mold, water, broken sump pump, etc. which would cost $6700 to fix, but they would do the work for $3500. When I didn't bite he reduced it to $3000 if the work is done today! I had a second opinion the next day and none of the problems existed. In fact, not only was my sump pump not broken, I had 2 functioning pumps!

I want to warn others about Indy Air Care! Do not trust these people! They are out to scam unsuspecting people.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Contractor I Have Ever Had at My Home
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I had these people out for their $39.95 special. try to pressure me to do additional work for $699.00. I told them I would like to discuss with my wife but they continued the pressure. I told them I would call them the next day with my answer.. they then left after I paid the 39.95 . the next day I go to my garage and find they have removed and busted up my humidifier beyond repair leaving a gaping whole about a foot and half square blowing all the air into garage. I called them and they said they would have the manager call me shortly. they have not called. these people are the Scam a]nd switch and bait at their best STAY AWAY
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Soaring Consumer on 08/24/2013:
File a police report for vandalism of private property.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Incomplete Job and Total Scam Artists
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I like most of the reviewers found a coupon for this company for 44.95. We just purchased our house 3 months ago and it was recommended that we get our air ducts cleaned. The serviceman cleaned the vents for about an hour and then pulled my husband downstairs to show him the "mold" he found in the furnace. We have a 9 month old and he told us he could push his schedule to do the cleaning right then and there for $600.

We have a home warranty so we told him no that we wanted to check first to see if it was covered. He then comes back in the house saying his boss would cut the price down to $250. Sounds pretty damn similar to other reviews on here. We declined and called our home inspector asking why this problem wasn't found during the home inspection (Indy Air Care said it had been there for more than a year) and he said there were no signs of mold and recommended a different company. They are currently in my house doing the job that was NOT done by Indy air care. And shocker...no mold in our house.

Don't be a fool and get ripped off by this company!!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 05/29/2013:
Reducing a quote from $600 to $250 for no apparent reason other than they are about to lose the job is a clear indication they should be kicked to the curb.

Incidentally, home inspectors are not exactly infallible.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I called these guys when I had a lot of water in my crawl space. Just have to tell you that this company was great. The arrived on time, were very polite and even told me to get other bids if I wanted to. I had 2 feet of water in a home we just purchased. After they completed the work the crawl space was dry and completely covered by black plastic. Employees were very nice and Wes, the forman was top notch. They even called several time to check on it.

One of the pumps stopped working after a couple of weeks, they came right out, and redid all the work because it was flooded again. They replaced the defective pump and after they were finished, the crawl was as good as new. No charge of any kind. I do not see where they get some of the bad reviews on this site. To me, they are top notch. Good work guys...
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Job well done!
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I'm writing to let you know what a good experience we had with Indy Air Care. The office called us the evening before (Sunday!), then again the morning of the appointment (Labor Day Monday) to confirm the technicians were on their way. Our 2 person Team was pleasant & friendly. At different times throughout the process, they would keep me abreast w/information on what was to occur & why it was important, along w/before & after photos of ducts, vents, fans, filters etc. Because of this, it was readily apparent & gave us a high comfort level that we were receiving good value for our money. They found some 'above/beyond' items that needed addressing. With various service companies, it's often difficult for the average 'layman' to know if these extra add ons are truly necessary or just an easy 'money grab' for the service provider. However, our technicians were not pushy but rather informative & educated us so we could make a low pressure decision about giving the OK for some additional work (especially the mold remediation in the furnace housing/insulation board... Thanks Dave!). Give the good people at Indy Air Care a try, we don't hesitate to recommend them!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 09/03/2012:
I'm glad you had a good experience. It's surprising, given the other reviews here. Some are horrendous.
madconsumer on 09/04/2012:
very helpful review!

thank you for posting it!
TK1998 on 03/12/2013:
I highly doubt that you had high mold in your furnace. That's the exact same thing they told me. When I contacted a mold specialist, they told me there was no way they could know that by looking only. Sorry, you may have had good service, but your probably didn't have any mold. I had another company come in and clean, and guess what, no mold was discovered.
Close commentsAdd reply
Scam-Don't Use
Posted by on
Had a coupon for 49.95 to get air ducts clean. They came back to me and said the air ducts were fine but had fungus and mold in my furnace. They had removed the motor and said look at this-needs to be cleaned and can do for several hundred dollars. Also recommended UV light. I was very hesitant about the two gentlemen that showed up and kept questioning them which they did not like. I was not fond of them taking out the motor on my furnace.

They sprayed who knows what on the furnace and stated it would kill any mold in the lines. $350.00 later they were done. My furnace is not putting off an odd smell and not sure what it is....
     
Add reply
Great Work
Posted by on
INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- This company is great. Very professional, punctual, and helpful. Overall, one of the best contractors I have had to work with. In July, I found this coupon for Air Duct Cleaning and called about it. They came to clean my ducts (I had 2 mains and returns so it cost a little more) as the coupon stated. They then told me that I had mold and I figured this was a scam. He showed me the mold in various locations and told me it would be about $1300 to fully clean and remove the mold. They also said that since I was a first time customer they would lower the price ($700) if I handed out business cards for them.

I read the reviews online and was very hesitant to go through with the full cleaning. I am very glad I did. I followed my tech around to every room and asked him non-stop questions about what he was doing. I am very picky about work done in my house and I inspected every vent and duct after he was done. I was amazed at how clean everything was. My wife didn't want to do the whole cleaning, but I had the guy come back 2 days later to clean the furnace. Our blower was very noisy and had lots of dust and mold built up on it. He disassembled the blower from the furnace and cleaned it then cleaned every metal air flow fin within the furnace. Between the 2 days at the house, he spent at least 10 hrs there, the tech was working constantly. Since the cleaning, my AC and furnace put out much more air, and the blower can't even be heard anymore.

I know most of the reviews are bad, but take it with a grain of salt. Most people don't write reviews unless they have a complaint. You have to also remember that this company specializes in mold removal, and heating and cooling cleaning. Many people don't EVER get a full cleaning of their system. Most do what I used to do. I have had a regular heating and cooling company come out 2 times a year and clean my furnace. They bring their brushes and shop vac out to clean up the dust that is accessible to them. Indy Air Care takes apart the system and cleans every individual piece. I have already recommended them to a friend of mine. As I said before, they did a great job, they always showed up on time, and they were great about answering all my questions as I followed them from room to room. Take bad reviews with a grain of salt because every company has a bad review.
     
Add reply
Threatening the Health and Safety of my Children is no way to do business!
Posted by on
INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- Let me begin by saying, I feel like a complete and total moron but after investigating this company on the net. I have discovered that a company with such low morals would not continue to be in business without a fresh supply of "Stupid" people like us. Please beware the representatives for this company will come in and show you "Microbial Growth" in your ducts, in your attic, and by using a beaker and litmus paper they will show you "Purple" which means "Toxic" Microbial Growth (They are not allowed to call it Mold, "But that is what it is"). THEY WILL TELL YOU FOR THE SAKE OF YOUR CHILDREN'S HEALTH YOU SHOULD TAKE CARE OF THIS PROBLEM ASAP! They will con you with statements like "Don't worry we caught it in time and we can spray this and that to remove it." and "With this UV Light installed in your furnace, we guarantee that even with 6" of water in your basement for 6 months, mold will never grow in this house."

It may, as was the case at my home, turn out that they will never even clean the ductwork anyway. I feel compelled to warn others about this scam and buyer beware the classic too good to be true deal.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Ytropious on 03/08/2010:
So....how DO you know your house isn't filled with "toxic microbial growth"?
Skye on 03/09/2010:
I have to agree with Yt. Did you consider getting another opinion? What if another place comes in, and tells you that they found what this place found??

At least for the safety of your children and selves.
localgod on 03/09/2010:
"It may, as was the case at my home, turn out that they will never even clean the ductwork anyway." Is there proof to the accusation?
jjc1991 on 03/10/2010:
Second opinion was obtained. WE HAVE NO MICROBIAL GROWTH in our home. The air that we breath is perfectly healthy and safe. Everything we were told was a lie!!!! Photos were obtained of our duct work/furnace coils after the so called cleaning and they clearly display that the job was not completed!!!
jktshff1 on 03/10/2010:
Good review, very informational regarding getting the 2nd opinion. Wonder what they were going to put in there to stop the mold. Some the cure is worse than the disease.
Close commentsAdd reply
Bait and Switch
Posted by on
INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I received a coupon in the mail in an ad magazine and chose to call this company. The ad said that they would clean 12 ducts, 1 main, and 1 return for less than $80.00. Our house is less than 1200 sq feet, so I thought that this would cover everything.

A couple of guys came and looked at my heater and wanted to take it apart and clean it....it is only two years old! The total estimate for all of they services they wanted to perform came to $790.00..... I was shocked. And if I chose to do only part of what they suggested they wanted me to sign a waiver. What a Joke. I sent them away without doing anything.

They called back the next day to reschedule. Why, I have no idea. I made it clear I wasn't interested in their services.

There is no way I will ever allow these guys in my house again. I felt like they were looking to see what they could steal. They claimed that the filter was in backwards, which I don't believe.

My suggestion is to not allow these guys in your house. I regret ever doing so.
     
Add reply
Top of Page | Next Page >