Preview Review

Next Review

J.B. Robinson Jewelers Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Diamond and Ring Repairs
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

PORT HURON, MICHIGAN -- We bought my new ring in Dec. of 2016. After it had been out for soldering I purchased the third band and wanted to send it out again. The salesgirl found that one of my diamonds was chipped and informs me that it would take at least a month. Well it was about 30 days and my ring was back and perfect. They set realistic repair times and fixed it for free. The key is you have to have the inspection every 6 months. A reasonable request.

Replies
Advertisement
Was Scared Because Of Bad Reviews But...
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

NILES, OHIO -- Everyone is always so quick to write negative reviews so, I wanted to include a positive one. Shortly before my grandmother passed on she gave me her second set of wedding rings. My mom had them before me but she passed as well thus the rings went back to my grandma. These rings were very important to me since both women wore them. Upon getting engaged and getting grandma's approval I decided to use her wedding rings as my own. Sadly she passed before the wedding. Anyhow back to the rings.

They happened to be 2.5 sizes too big. Seeing how much they mean to me, sending them off for sizing was extremely scary. Especially, after seeing all the bad reviews and hearing nothing good except word of mouth. In my area there is NO local jeweler. Every store sends rings away for sizing so I chose J.B. Robinson based on least amount of bad reviews and positive word of mouth from friends.

Well I just got my rings back today four days early I might add. They are perfect. The fit is exactly right. There isn't a seam to be found where they were soldered together. The rings look brand new as they were professionally cleaned. I didn't realize this is what they truly looked like. The sales staff at the store were very patient and reassuring with my constant calling. I could not be happier and I want to thank J.B. Robinson publicly for doing such and amazing job and keeping my precious rings safe.

Replies
Batteries in Watches That Was Just a Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKEMOS, MICHIGAN -- My husband has many watches and took three in to get batteries. We were in there for over a hour to change the batteries. I told him "something is wrong. It shouldn't take that long." Finally the gentleman came out and said he couldn't get the back on one of them so it would have to be sent out, then he proceeded to say the he ended up breaking the other one so that one would have to be sent out as well, and then on the third watch it just didn't work when the battery was put it.

This was on June 12, 2014. They said it would take about 2 weeks. After about two or so weeks they called and said "one of the three were ready." We didn't get in there for a couple of days and when we went in nothing was there or ready. They couldn't give us a time frame really no answer at all other than it should be soon. We then received a call on the one to tell us how much it would cost to be fixed. We told them "no just send it back to us." I finally called about a month later to see if they were back yet the gentleman told me it would be back on July 15, 2014. We still did not hear a thing.

Finally he got a call that one watch was back. He went in, pick up the one watch and asked about the other one. Finally one of the gentlemen in there explained the other watch which was his mother of pearl Invicta would not be in for awhile due to the fact they had to order parts from Invicta. That gentleman was helpful and said they would fix the watch that wasn't working for all the crap.

So finally they called and said the Invicta was ready to be picked up. He went today and the mother of pearl face was cracked. Now all they want to do about it is a 50 gift card to use there... What a joke. You would think they would want to make all this right. This has been going on since June 12, 2014. I am so over all this crap with them. Do not get batteries in your watches changed there.

Replies
Poor Craftsmanship and Care
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ZANESVILLE, OHIO -- My fiancé ordered my ring from JB Robinson on May 11, 2013 and they told him that since it was a custom designed ring that it would take a few weeks to get it made and in the way that he wanted. He picked it up May 25, 2013 and ended up surprising me with the proposal on June 1, 2013 with our friends present. I had my ring for 4 days and took it in to JB Robinson to get it sized because it was slightly big. Since I was sending it away to get sized I decided that I would like it engraved with our initials in cursive. I watched the sales associate write the note and they sent it away.

Two weeks later my ring comes back to the store and they call me to let me know it is ready to pick up. When I go in to get my ring, the engraving is in bold block letters (not cursive as requested) and there is yellow on my white gold band. Simply unacceptable; so we send it back. They have my ring for another week and call me again on June 25, 2013 to let me know that my ring is in once again. I look at the ring and you cannot even read the initials that I requested be engraved into my band. They are on top of each other. At this point I am upset and crying in the middle of the store because they have not only messed up my ring for the 2nd time, it needs to be sent out AGAIN.

I picked out a new font for the initials and told them that the numbers were good and not to change them. The manager was able to push back our first payment at my request because we did not wish to make a payment on a ring that I didn't even get to wear the first few weeks of our engagement. We still get to pay the extra interest. I get my ring back June 28, 2013 and they have changed my numbers, and there is a dent in my band from where they have engraved my band.

At this point I have called it quits on getting any of my work done at JB Robinson. I took my ring and I have since gone to another jewelry store capable of doing work in their store. I had planned on buying our wedding bands at JB Robinson also, but have since changed my mind because of the poor craftsmanship and not so careful handling of my very expensive ring ($7100.00). I could not be any more disappointed in my experience and do not plan on ever going back to purchase jewelry from this store. Would not recommend to anyone.

Replies
Advertisement
DON'T BUY FROM JBR
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

JOLIET, ILLINOIS -- Don't waste your time with this store. My husband purchased my wedding and engagement rings from JBR and had no complaints at the time. However you must have them inspected every 6 months to keep up the warranty, if you don't the warranty is voided. We have been married 3 years so had them in maybe 6-7 times. Twice now I've had to have them sent out to repair cracked diamonds in the bands...how cheap are these diamonds, no one else I know has had to have small diamonds repaired in their rings.

With this second repair I have been waiting 3 months and still have no ring. I was told the rings were in so I went to pick them up and 1 out of 3 rings were in. I was then informed that my other two rings were sent to the home office repair shop and they were sorry I wasn't informed of that. 2 weeks after picking up the ring I got a call letting me know that is what was taking so long. I was told it would be 6-8 weeks before they were in.

It's been 11 weeks and no one calls to update me. I've called multiple times to find out the status and the repair shop is either closed or says they're still working on getting the diamonds. I'm not sure what's taking so long it's a jewelry repair shop, this is their job!

I was told they should be ready in the next 2 weeks, but I won't hold my breath as the 6-8 week deadline came and went a long time ago. The worst part for me is I did not have my rings for my anniversary, pictures with my pregnant belly, and more than likely won't have them for the birth of my child and the pictures following the birth : ( I'd rather have a ring with a cracked diamond that's too small to notice than no ring at all, but I don't get a say in the matter.

Replies
Very inconvenient service plan, bad customer service, and jewelry does not get clean when you bring it in for care
By -

WESTLAND, MICHIGAN -- When you purchase jewels from JB Robinson be careful because they are not going to mention that you are required to bring your diamond in every six months to be inspected and if something happens to it they won't cover it. When I went back to the store for service they were snotty, rude and acted as though they did not want to be bothered. When my jewelry was cleaned it came out looking just a bad as it did going in. They don't have a Smith so in order to get your jewelry cleaned properly and polished you have to bring it to the store, have them send it out for 7 to 10 business days at least, just for that.

I didn't find that out until I got so upset from repeated bad customer service and still dirty jewelry that I finally just went off and told them everything that they had done up to this point to make me so sorry for being their customer, and then she told me about getting it sent off for about two weeks at least and don't bother going during the holiday when you have time because it takes even longer. How very, very inconvenient. I think that it is done purposely to deter me from bringing my diamond in for service because they are very nice when they sold it to me but not so much when I come back for service.

I won't buy anything else from them, not that they care because they have so many stores it doesn't matter if they lose me as a customer. They have Kay, Leroy's, Jared, Sterling and the list keeps going. They talked to me very rudely in person and over the phone. I have learned my lesson, I will be more careful with selecting a store and read everything because they are not going to explain it and go over anything with the customer.

The customer service representative told me it is not the sale person's job to educate the customer, it's their job to sell. Maybe you can save yourself the frustration that I feel by being careful, or not going to them at all. Whoever reads this will be better off than me. Good luck.

Replies
JB Robinson Misleading Company Representation
By -

WALDORF, MARYLAND -- JB Robinson Waldorf Maryland Sale Lady with a very dark haired Asian selling her own jewelry while working. I was approach while buying a ring. Then when I came home I was very surprise she called me at home when I did not gave her my phone number guess she must have gotten it from the computer data. Then the following day she called me again and ask if I am interested to buy her jewelry. Then start talking how bad her co-workers.

WASHINGTON -- The law firm of Cohen Milstein Hausfeld & Toll, PLLC, co-lead counsel for the plaintiffs, announced that it has filed a class action lawsuit in federal court in the Southern District of New York on March 18, 2008 on behalf of 15 current and former female employees of Sterling Jewelers, the nation's largest chain of jewelry stores. Sterling Jewelers was charged with committing widespread sex discrimination against its female retail sales employees. Sterling Jewelers operates more than 1300 stores located in shopping malls and centers in every state in the nation.

The stores operate under at least 12 retail brand names, including Jared The Galleria of Jewelry, Kay Jewelers, Belden Jewelers, JB Robinson Jewelers, Marks & Morgan Jewelers, Weisfield Jewelers, Osterman Jewelers, Shaw's Jewelers, Rogers Jewelers, LeRoy's Jewelers, Goodman Jewelers and Friedlanders Jewelers. The suit was filed by 15 current and former female employees who have worked at stores located in New York, Florida, California, Texas, Indiana, Missouri, Massachusetts, Nevada and New Jersey.

The suit claims Sterling Jewelers has engaged in a pattern or practice of sex discrimination by denying female retail sales employees equal opportunities to be promoted into and within management jobs, and by paying them less than men performing the same work, at the same levels, in the same stores and at the same time period. The suit seeks fundamental changes to Sterling's personnel policies, as well as awards of earnings and benefits lost because of discrimination and compensatory and punitive damages. "While Sterling Jewelers sold more than $ 1 billion in jewelry last year, it failed to p

Replies
They've Ruined My Wedding Ring
By -

TAYLOR, MICHIGAN -- In May 2008 I took my wedding ring to J.B. Robinson Jewelers to have the shank repaired as it had broken. The ring sat in the shop for 2 weeks. They said it would be back in 10 days. After I inquired they said, "Oh, no one called you? They cannot repair it, you have to have the shank replaced for $90." Okay, fine I said. So another 2 weeks went by and the ring was sent back with a beautiful new shank on it. BUT it was a size 3! I wear a 5 3/4! So they sent it back and they mangled it. They just stretched it out.

We sent it back for fixing. They fixed it, got the size right. The person who had taken it from a 3 to a 5 3/4 heated it up and just pulled on it and the entire ring was disfigured. I wore it for a month and then noticed that a diamond fell out of the shank because of the poor repair they had done. So I took it back in tears as this is my wedding ring and it will never be the same ring blessed at my wedding. They said they wanted their best guy on it but he was out of town and I had to wait a week. Then, I called back and they said (after the first week) that the guy was at their corporate office and wouldn't be back for another week.

Now we are into week 3, I called this past Friday, they said they would check on it and call me back. Never did. I called today, and someone will get back to me later today. This is my wedding ring and they screwed it up and no one seems to care! I'm waiting to hear if the guy at the shop will recast the entire ring as it is too disfigured to repair. HELP!

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Service Terrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOURBONNAIS, ILLINOIS -- For Christmas I received a Levian ring from JBR. 2 months later the main stone fell out. I was just folding laundry, I didn't hit it on anything. I also only wear the ring on weekends, jewelry is not allowed at work. The store was going to have it repaired, I insisted on a new one. They gave me the one in the case which needed to be sized. So they sized the one I had, I thought, and sent it out. Over a week later I go pick it up and they sized it to the wrong size.

The manager kept telling me it's the same as before. Finally she looked it up and they were in fact wrong. So it's being sent out yet again. The customer service is terrible there, and no one knows what they are talking about. My husband and I both spend a lot of money in there and we will now be going somewhere else.

Replies
Don't Let Them Get Over You
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

FORT GRATIOT, MICHIGAN -- In 2013 I purchased earrings on my account with them with a deposit down to get the no interest terms for pay back. Long story short, after months I finally looked at my statement and seen I was being charged interest. It took a whole two days for them to fix and credit my account back for the interest I had been paying. This should have never happened in the the first place.

Take pictures during purchase at the store, before the 6 months inspection and at the store again after they inspect and especially before and after repairs right at the store so they can't lie, grounds to be taken to court cause you'll have proof. Record if you need to cause I'd be really pissed and close my account if they ever try and screw me over again.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

J.B. Robinson Jewelers Rating:
Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.5 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
34 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
J.B. Robinson Jewelers
14600 Lakeside Circle, Unit 1230 Lakeside Mall
Sterling Heights, MI 48313
00-800-9001-0044 (ph)
www.jbrobinson.com
Compare Jewelry Stores