Preview Review

Next Review

J.C. Penney Company, Inc. Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Mental Harassment By LOSS Prevention
By -

ARCADIA, CALIFORNIA -- On June 19,2009 me and my sister were shopping at JC Penny, Arcadia CA. We first went to the clothing department and then to the fragrance where I smelled 1 perfume and I grabbed the other 2. The perfumes were right in my hand. Me and my sister then went to the fitting room to try on clothes and left the clothes in the fitting room and brought one pant and the perfumes outside.

The perfumes were right in my hand, clearly visible to everyone. I took the perfumes back to the fragrance department and kept them on top of the gift box sets of perfumes. Me and my sister then left those pants right there as we planned not to buy it as we barely came shopping from Nordstroms and we decided to walk out of the door.

The moment my sister stepped outside the door, I was next but I still had the door opened as there was a lady behind me so that she could walk out as well and when that lady takes out a badge from her pocket and shows it to me and tells me "LOSS PREVENTION", "YOU BOTH NEED TO STEP INSIDE THE STORE". She meant me and my sister. we both stepped inside and she told us to follow her and we did.

On our way, I asked her politely what is this regarding but she said she can not tell me at this time. she then asked me if I have my id on me? My purse was all opened and I just touched my purse because I wanted to see if I have my driver's license here or in the car and the same moment, she tells me "hey don't touch your purse". My sister then said something to me in our own language and she told us "you can not talk". I really felt very embraced as in front of all the other customers and associates, she was telling us all that and people were watching us how we were taken in the store.

It was that lady (** Loss Prevention's Senior Manager) who stopped us, 1 another associate ** and another Loss Prevention ASSOCIATE ** taking both of us in there room. When we entered their room, which was a small room by the dock, the lady ** took our cell phones, my car keys from us and asked us to keep our purses on the table. Both of us did whatever she said and the other lady ** asked both of us to be seated at the desks nearby, on 2 opposite corners in an insulting way like- come on, one needs to be seated here and the other one in that corner.

Trust me I was never treated like that in my life ever. The lady ** then told us that she is going to be searching our purses and she did. She then asked us if we have something on us that belongs to Penny. We both said no. she then left the room and had another associate ** watch me and my sister. It was really boring and my phone at the first was ringing, but I was not allowed to answer that call. Then I got up and there was a dark black coloured glass in front of me and I was looking in there and fixing my hair when that associate ** told me I need to sit down right now.

Oh my god I was like as if I had created a murder plan and they found out and that's why they are treating me like that. On top me and my sister were wearing dresses that had no pockets even so there was no point that we had something on ourselves. Well then I asked **, the other Loss Prevention associate if you could please tell me what is this regarding? She was so rude and tells me " you need to wait and when she ** comes back, she is going to talk to you". I stood quiet because at this point I didn't even know why I was there for. Well then ** the manager came and asked me "WHAT DID YOU DO WITH THE OTHER BOX OF PERFUME THAT YOU HAD?".

I told her where I put both the perfumes, on top of the perfume gift set right on the corner table one on top of the other, both of them together and I also offered her that I could even go with her and show it to her. She said she went and looked and it wasn't there but she will go and look exactly where I told her. She left the room and went and looked and then came back after good 10-15 minutes and telling me they found it and we could go. I asked her where did she find it and she told me it was not there where I had told her because the ASSOCIATE working in that department had put it away where it belonged.

I was like oh my god, you guys should have asked me at first that this is the case and I would have told you and you would not have wasted my 45 minutes and I wouldn't have faced that insult. She said that is the policy. I asked her what kind of a policy to stop and bring anyone in there and start harassing and once proved the customer is innocent, just say to leave and that's it. I asked her why did she think I had the perfume on me? She then started telling me she knows when I smelled the first perfume and after that grabbed 2 perfumes.

So this shows there focus was totally on me. I asked her if she saw me grabbing the perfumes then why did she not see me putting the perfumes away and that also in the perfume department and not anywhere else and also right in front of the camera. That means she had seen but she just wanted to harass me and she told me she was not the one watching the cameras, it was someone else. I said I am not concerned with whom it was but you guys were focusing on me so how could you do that.

How could you stop me for no reason? That lady ** did not apologize even once and when I asked her I need to talk to the store manager and she said she is not in yet but when I insisted she asked some another manager ** to come in and I spoke to her and she went and talked to the store manager over there and gave me her number and when I asked I was given the District Loss Prevention manager's number. ** the supervisor or the manager apologized from me but the loss prevention ladies did not even apologize for once.

She was just telling me that is the procedure? She also told me at the end that because I don't have the perfumes, that is why they didn't call the cops and didn't get me arrested and I am not handcuffed. How did her thing make sense at this time of letting me know about all this when know everyone knows I am innocent. I told her that the associates who had seen me walking with them to her office, imagine what are they thinking about me when almost all of them know me. She told me that "this is not what our associates think? Well think why would they even think that?"

I asked her OK then what do you think they were thinking that you are taking me with you because we are going to a party tonight and we are going to talk about it or you are going to offer me a job and that's why you took me in with you with 2 more associates accompanying us. I then told her that I have worked at Macys before and trust me they are not like that.

Never in the history I have ever heard or that I know that ever caught any innocent. ** quick to turn back and say "how do you know, this is the policy and Macys does that as well. I am so in love with Macys that I told her not to say like that about Macys as Macys has a name and fame and they are known for it" at that time she started laughing and proved if I was an idiot telling her all that.

In a way they were not at all courteous, I felt very insulted. but I am taking this matter very seriously. This ordeal could have been handled with more dignity and respect. She could have easily asked me at the first if not outside then may be when we entered her room, that we accuse you of stealing the perfume, where is that?' I have not been able to sleep even after taking sleeping pills. this thing is haunting me, really killing me. How would I get over all this? Such great insult.

Is this really JC Penny's policy of harassing customers? Why was I considered a thief only because I had the perfumes in my hand and I walked in the store with those and kept them back where they belonged? How would I get over that thing? Who would tell all the customers that passed by and the associates who were there that I was innocent because by the time I got out of the store, it was closed. No one was there. LOSS PREVENTION ASSOCIATES not even courteous enough to apologize.

Replies
Advertisement
Wrongfully Accused Of Shoplifting
By -

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS -- On March 30, 2009 myself, my 2 children, and my sister n law and her baby were shopping at the JcPenney store. We first went to the men'€™s department were I picked out 2 pair of jeans for my husband and draped them over the top of my double stroller. I then went to the women'€™s department were I picked out 4 pair of Capri pants and draped them over the top of the stroller as well.

I then, along with my children and sister went into the handicap dressing room to try on the Capri pants. 1 pair fit, so I left it on the stroller with the men'€™s jeans and left the other 3 pair hanging in the dressing room. We then went to the cash register were a cashier was checking a woman in front of me. A male with a supervisor badge on approached the cash register and told me he could check me out.

While I was checking out there was a woman standing behind me the entire time. I did not think anything of her because she was not wearing a name badge. I thought it strange however that as the man was checking me out, he loudly stated each item I was purchasing, as well as the cost of the items. He announced 2 pairs of men'€™s jeans $x each, and 1 pair of Capri pants at $x. After paying for the items and sliding the bag under my daughter'€™s feet in the stroller, I was given the receipt and he pointed out the customer satisfaction survey on the bottom and asked if I would give a satisfactory response.

My family and I then left the store out into the mall to do shopping elsewhere. We had got almost to the corner of another store and the 2 people from the cash register (the man who checked me out and the woman from behind me) stopped us, 1 in front of the stroller and 1 behind it and asked us to follow them. As I was following them, I politely asked the woman what this was all about and she said she could not tell me, I just needed to follow her. They escorted us all the way through the store to the back into a small room.

At this time, the woman stated pulling my purse and diaper bag from the back of my stroller and going through them. I removed my children from the stroller at that time. She said "you don't have to remove your children". I told her that I would not leave my children in the stroller while she searched through it. Mind you, my 4 year old son was getting very upset asking what was going on. As she was going through these things, she said "€œyou took 2 pair of men'™s jeans from the men'™s department into the dressing room and you did not come out of the dressing room with them, do you want to explain yourself?"€

She now had the items from my diaper bag out on the table. I then told her I just purchased the 2 pair of men's jeans, they were right there in the bag along with the receipt. She then looked to the man who checked me out and said "did she purchase those items?" He told her yes and she said "œthen why didn't you tell me?" He just stammered saying things like "€œI did; you were right there€."€ She shoved my things back in the bag and just said sorry and started to walk off. I turned to the man and asked for him to give me my money back for the items I had purchased. He did.

During all of this, I was extremely humiliated. They escorted me through the entire store with my children, my sister, and the entire store watching. I was wrongfully accused of shoplifting 2 items that never left the top of my stroller and which I had indeed paid for while they both stood there and watched. I was detained without any explanation as to why at first and then my personal belongings were gone through without my consent. I felt much violated and very emotional about the whole ordeal.

I called the corporate office and explained to a woman in Customer relations about what had happened. She assured me that the complaint would be turned over to the manager of that store and he would handle the problem and call me at a later time. He did indeed call me and I was told "€œI am sorry, there was a miscommunication between 2 employees and I have spoken with them". I don't know exactly what I was expecting him to say, but I did expect it to be more than that.

I still don'™t know what I am expecting by writing this letter and complaining, but I am taking this matter very seriously. This ordeal could have been handled with more dignity and respect. They could have very easily asked to see my receipt and my items instead of escorting me through the store and detaining me like they did. I understand that there are a lot of problems and troublemakers in our world today and repercussions should be made for theft.

Myself and my family, unfortunately did nothing wrong, and not once did I feel like I was given a sincere apology from anyone, even after it was confirmed that there was a miscommunication between employees. My husband and I like to shop at this store very much. We spend several hundred dollars there every year, and have many friends who do the same. At this time, I do not feel like I could be comfortable returning to shop at your store. I know that my sister n law that was with me, as well as the rest of my extended family will not feel comfortable as well.

Replies
JC Penney's phone service **!!!
By -

ONLINE/PHONE ORDER -- THIS IS WHAT I SENT THEM MINUS MY PERSONAL INFO: I am a very frequent and loyal shopper of JCP. In fact, I often recommend you to my friends and co-workers. I loved JCP for your deals and service so much that I decided to try you out online. THAT WAS THE BIGGEST MISTAKE OF MY LIFE. I placed an order online on 11/28/11 ) it was supposed to ship in 4-7 business days according to your website and my confirmation. After eagerly and patiently waiting 8 days on the items to arrive, I gave you all the benefit of the doubt and called your customer service department on 12/7/11.

The first time I called in, your incompetent phone representative, Nancy I believe, well she placed me on hold for 4-5 minutes only to tell me that she looked at my order and she needed to transferred me to card services stating I needed to pay on my JCP credit card. OK, I am loyal, but I do not have a credit card with your company nor will I EVER get one after this incident! She transferred me so fast that I did not even have a chance to tell her that I don't have an account with you. Then your card services transferred to your catalog department who transferred me who hung up on me before transferring me back to customer service.

I had to call back in on my own and wait on hold for a customer service representative for 4 minutes. I was then advised that my order was being shipped in 4 pieces and due to the “holiday” it was taking a little longer. I was dryly advised that two of my four pieces were already in transit and that the other two pieces would ship the following business day. Two weeks later, on 12/14/12 at 10:47PM I called back. This is my third call to your company and I spoke with a “Jackie **” who advised that my order had been CANCELED!!!

Now I am very perplexed and annoyed with that statement, because how can you cancel something that was “shipped”? This was a gift for my mother's birthday which as previously stated never shipped! Jackie went on to say that she did not know why the order was canceled and she put me on hold for 6 minutes to research the issue, only to come back to the phone and advise me that she still could not figure out who or why the order was canceled.

I have spent too many minutes of my life dealing with your POOR customer service agents. I am utterly disappointed in your company and service. The irony in this all, is that I am a Call Center Manager for a major corporation, I know how important the call center reps are to the corporation's bottom line. The call center is the face of the company and they set the bar. I know what great customer service is…You don't even come close. I am so disappointed and outraged that this is how JC Penney treats their customers.

Replies
Race Discrimination
By -

Today my wife and I went to purchase an item at the customer service and checkout counter at JC Penney in the Haywood Mall. There were three ladies at three cash registers in a circular shaped booth that said "Customer Service" above them, she stood in line and waited until the person in front of her completed their purchase. When that person had moved on, my wife stepped up to the register and she put down the item she wanted to purchase next to the cash register where a lady named "Ebony" quickly turned away and to the side of the register, she started to count money and then pick up the phone while turning around.

My wife waited a few minutes but ended up getting very upset at that point when the cashier didn't say anything and seemed to avoid her. Then my wife went to the next register that was available and she was asked by that cashier if she was the next customer? My wife replied to the cashier “I was in line at the next counter but she didn't say anything and she refused to take my purchase”. Then that cashier told my wife “Well you waited in the wrong place so you have to move to that line over there.

Due to fact that the counter is round, there were no actual “lines”, just people standing in various places around the registers. We didn't see any sort of sign that said where a line was supposed to be. There was no direction of a line and it appeared that my wife was being ignored because of her race. They could have said she was in the wrong place (there was no actual “line”) when my wife approached the first cashier named “Ebony” but she did not, she just ignored my wife completely. My wife did not try to cut in front of any other customers but was completely ignored while standing at the customer service counter that had three service representatives.

She was so upset did not want to go back into the store again. My wife was fed up and after putting back the item, she walked over to me just outside of the store entrance and said, "Let's get out of here" very angrily. I went back after she had explained to me happened and asked what the first lady's name was so I could inform you of what your "customer service" counter is like.

I have served two tours over in Iraq during 1991-1995 and came back as a disabled veteran to defend all Americans' rights. My wife makes most of the purchases for our family for this reason and just because she is from another country does not mean that she should be given the cold shoulder when approaching a cash register to make a purchase. All of us Americans can trace our heritage to another country except for true Native American Indians so we are almost all immigrants. I feel that just because this took place in the south, does not forgive anyone from mistreating a properly immigrated American citizen for any reason.

I am requesting that you discuss the importance of the customers within your stores with your employees so they understand that we are all human and equal within this country. Apparently, some people working in your stores for your company are not aware of this. Thank you very much for your support in working on a corrective action for this problem.

Replies
Advertisement
I Want My Money Back!
By -

I ordered (2 orders) from JC Penney online. The day that I received notification that my orders were ready to pick up is the same day that the mall JC Penney is located had a fire (Westfield Galleria Mall, Roseville, CA). JCP unfortunately had fire damage and many stores were closed. I called the 1-800 catalog number the next day to see what they were doing with orders. They didn't even know about a fire, and left me on hold while they called around to find something out.

I was then told that it might take about a week, but they were going through the inventory and would let customers know if they needed to pick their orders up at another location (Sunrise Mall, Citrus Heights, CA) or if they would have to be reordered due to damage. This was on 10/21/2010. After a week and I hadn't heard anything, so I called back again and they told me I needed to contact the Sunrise Mall store. I did that. I was told they hadn't received any orders, nor did they show any orders coming. I called the catalog number back and informed them of the information I just received. I was told it may be a few more days.

I am wondering at this point why no one is calling ME to inform me of what's going on with my order. Three days later I called the catalog number. They again told me to call Sunrise Mall location. I was told by the person at the Sunrise Mall location that it looked like my orders were supposed to be coming there, but she didn't know when. I called Sunrise Mall location AGAIN a few days after that -- same information. I called the catalog number (I don't know when or even how many times anymore!) and again was told that they had no information and to call the Sunrise location.

Honestly, I can't even remember how many times I went around in this ridiculous circle. Meanwhile (at this point), I am STILL receiving automated calls from JCP telling me to come and pick up my orders from the Galleria location! I called the Sunrise location one last time (Jasmine), and she informed me that one of my orders had come in, but not both. Upon checking my email after that conversation, I located an email that was sent to a defunct email account that I no longer use, nor EVER gave to JCP (they are similar so they simply did not pay attention, and my email is a catchall account, so I was lucky I got the email at all!).

The email stated “Dear Deborah, This e-mail is in regards to an order that was returned by the store because you did not pick it up. At this time we cannot place a reorder at no charge. A credit was issued to your credit card, even though this card has been cancelled, the credit was applied so the card company should be sending you a refund check for the credit amount. At this time the only way we can place a reorder is if you give us a new form of payment. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. If you would like to reorder please contact our Customer Relations Department at 1-800-221-5898. Thank you.” This is impossible.

The account I paid for the order from (my checking account) had been closed for a couple of weeks. I called the Sunrise location back and told her what I found. She put me on hold and called the catalog number (said she could get farther than me). When she got back on the line, she said she had reordered the one remaining order and put a note that there was to be no charge since it had been paid for and no refund was received. She said she would stop the automated calls until the entire order was in and I could pick them both up, since this mall was a bit out of my way now. Oddly enough, a couple days later one order showed up at my house!

Then I found ANOTHER email in my defunct email account (even though I corrected the email address with them) stating that they couldn't do anything about the refund, and that I would have to contact my credit card company. When I tried to explain to them (in a call to the number they keep listing that knows nothing) that there was no account available to send the money to, they insisted that I contact my card company. Clearly they cannot hear well. I sent a scathing email to the catalog company and also a letter to the CEO.

The only response I received (AGAIN to the wrong email address) was "Thank you for contacting us in regards to your recent JC Penney purchase. As we stated before you will need to contact your bank regarding the credit issued to your account. Thank you for shopping JC Penney. We look forward to serving you again. JC Penney Customer Relations Case **." I am at my wits END! I just want my money refunded ($64.94) and I will NEVER utilize JC Penney for anything again -- online or in-store!

Replies
JCP Scam "20% Off Everything" Promo Code Is Really Only 10%!
By -

I received my daily JCP email, which in this case advertised, "20% off EVERYTHING" with Promo Code URBUDS2. I checked the entire page, including the asterisk area to see if there were exclusions, where there were just a few, like Sephora and gift cards. Nothing at all about slipcovers, furniture, etc. Nada. We had previously purchased a big Linden sectional sofa a few months before and I wanted to order an extra set of slipcovers.

I clicked on the Promo Code, which took me to the JCP site, where I ordered the slipcovers. At the final shopping check out page, I realized that I was only getting 10% off, not 20% off. My radar also went up because there was no listing of the 20% off price, just my "promotion savings". This was obviously only 10%.

I called Customer Service and a young lady told me that since I was "ordering furniture" I would only get "the Associate's discount of 10%". What?? WHERE DID THAT COME FROM??!! HOW WOULD I EVER KNOW THAT? I asked her to connect me to a supervisor, which she did. The supervisor told me to fax her the JCP email, which I did.

I called back and got someone else ("Sue") who understood what I was saying, however, her supervisor, a "Barbara" at the Columbus OH telephone center refused to honor the 20% off because "I should have clicked on the Print Coupon page, which listed the exclusions." I said, "WHY would I click on a separate Print Coupon button when I was shopping off an online Promo Code? WHY ON EARTH WOULD I DO THAT?!!? They flatly refused to do anything. "Sue" said she would send the JCP Internet Team at Corporate my story; then the phone mysteriously "disconnected".

I called back (10 more minutes) and got her again and asked her to read what she wrote. She had sent an email which was written as if I MYSELF had written it and that they had shown me how to "use the Print Coupon button". I was very angry by this point, having lost at least 45 minutes to this nonsense, which was worth all told about $80. We paid $2200 for the sectional. It was clearly JCP's screw up. It's easily foreseeable that a customer would click on the promo code and not hit "print coupon" ever.

I knew my small, local bricks-and-mortar JCP store doesn't sell furniture nor slipcovers. We live in remote Wisconsin and had to drive to Oregon to order the sectional. I would have no reason to EVER print this coupon to take to my store.

I had been telling everyone what a great, Pottery Barn-like sectional we bought and how fantastic JCP service was... I would have been willing to stay a customer if they just had said here, "Ooops, our mistake, sorry! How about we honor the 20% offer and throw in Free Shipping and tax to take out the sting and for your wasted time?" Hey, JCP, do I have to run your company for you? Places make mistakes, but it's how you handle them that counts. I could do this in my sleep. Why can't they?

Replies
JC Penney is 100% Better Than Wal-mart
By -

PORTLAND, MAINE -- This Review is to show Customer why JC Penney is better than Wal-mart: JC Penney: They do train you and they won't sent you out on the floor without proper training and to provide you with a great customer service. (If the associate is rude, not doing their job well don't doubt he/she will get fired right on the spot! They hire professional people with education! I have lot of friends who work there and we do compare it, so much better place to go shopping. I have been customer for 15 years never have a problem with them.

Walmart: You haven't even sign up and finish the basic computer training and they throw you to the registers to work without completing your training and they do cover it up every time you got a brake you have to figure it out how to finish it so that the company shows in their report that Wal-mart is great they do train their employees when in fact they don't. That is why you see on this site and others hundreds of complaints about Wal-Mart.

JC Penney: Don't doubt it if someone use the clothing and returned you don't need to worry IMMEDIATELY the clothing it's sent to claims and that clothing won't ever touch the sales floor again, don't need to worry about buying dirty used clothing without the tags.

Everything you buy is NEW in great conditions at JC Penney. The back of the STORE is immaculate the over stock is lay flat and excellent so you won't find that many items with a hole because stuff are thrown everywhere like Walmart Stores very dusty and nasty not wonder why you sneeze a lot when you go shopping there right? Make sure you got your allergy medicine ready when you go shopping there!

Wal-mart Stores the overstock in the back of the stores most of them associates actually told me the most filthy stores are located in: NY, NJ, AR, NV, AR, MA, IL, CA, UT and many others I visited around the country. (I travel quiet a lot, it's my favorite hobby since I come from Spain travel the world also :-) I love complaining and given compliments to Retail Stores around the country I should get paid for it right? I used to be a secret shopper they do exist but you have to go to their boring meetings and pay your $5 membership I don't do it anymore!

JC Penney the Price Is Right! Yes believe it or not you can buy jeans, dresses, underwear, bedding stuff, toys and nice socks that last for a long time for a lot less money than Walmart. Remember, it's only Propaganda. Every weekend JC Penney got blow out sales you can even print their coupons online from you very home computer. Does Walmart give you coupon discounts for clothing 20%-30%-50% they even give you a damn CHOCOLATE to try to get an extra discount in the fall sales? Hey I bought jeans for under $10 dollars Vs Walmart almost $20 dollars for on pair LEI jeans.

So remember MEDIA control this country, oh yeah let's go there because it's cheaper, no there is nice stores that sales cheaper than Walmart and believe it or not I have clothing almost 10 years old from JC Penney still like new, it hasn't fall apart like the junky clothing they sell at Walmart that the stitching come undone as you put it on.

Those are my 3 biggest reason I don't shop at Walmart and I think JC Penney is better than Walmart. I love JC PENNEY! Never have a complaint and I hope I never will. My friends who work there got a 25% discount immediately. Health benefits within 90 days. A lots of associate coupon discount. 50% off Associate Night Discount and bring a friend! Christmas Party for associate and their family and friends. OMG I love this company and Macy's as well!

Replies
Best Haircut in a LONG Time, and on the First Try!
By -

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- I had a REALLY BAD haircut done by a salon that I trusted for about 3 years. I went back (for the second consecutive time) because the hairstyle was not cut right. Apparently, it was a "difficult hairstyle to design" according to the salon owner. The hairstyle I wanted was an inverted bob (think Victoria Beckham).

The first time I tried to get this haircut styled (about 3-4 months ago), the stylist (who I did not request before) did everything right, EXCEPT she left the right side about 1/2 inch longer than the left, which I went back to the salon with, and the owner fixed. I was happy after that, and decided that since they had suited me for the past 3 years, I would go back.

So, about 2 weeks ago, I went back to that same hair salon, only this time, I asked for one of the stylists that I knew had done a great job in the past with my hair. I showed her the picture, and she proceeded to wash and cut my hair. When it was done, it LOOKED even and what I asked for. I went home satisfied. I woke up the next morning, and looked in the mirror, and noticed that since my hair was flatter (she used A LOT of hairspray), it was NOT what I asked for originally.

I called the salon up, and asked to have someone fix it. I wanted the owner to do it again (I would have asked for her in the beginning but she charges about $15 more than the other stylists who charge $30), but she had already left. The receptionist sent me back to the original stylist. I thought, "Maybe it won't be so bad. Maybe she will fix it." WRONG! She did not do what I asked. Now, you may be thinking, "Why didn't she request a refund?" I would have, only, she used more hairspray, and my hair settled so that it looked like what I asked for.

My hair looked HORRIBLE. About 3 days later, my mom asked me if I was planning to do anything with my hair, and I decided to go to J.C. Penney's Hair Salon and get a completely different cut. I've had a perm there (LOL!) and had my hair cut, and was happy both times. So I went in there, and talked to D. Showed her the picture, and she proceeded to wash my hair and then cut it. I watched her, the ENTIRE time, to make absolutely certain that she was doing what I asked because I was not going to leave this salon unhappy at all! She cut it right, and then, after she had finished blow drying and styling, I asked her what else could be done to style this haircut differently.

Thinking that she would just talk about it (which is what I was expecting), I was surprised when she actually started showing me with the flat iron promising that if I didn't like it, she would wash it out. She was actually happy to have something to do because, it being a Tuesday, they were slow. I did not like it, so she took me back to the wash basin, and started fresh.

I have NEVER had a stylist offer to do this!! She took me back, and used the curling iron on it, and it looked much better. I left SO HAPPY! She made sure of it because I told her my fiasco with the other stylist. I gave her a $5 tip, and got her card. I left smiling! And I've been smiling a week since! J.C. Penney Salon, you have a renewed customer in me!

Replies
Advertisement
Wrong Bed Delivery
By -

CEDAR RAPIDS, IOWA -- My fiance and I ordered a sleigh bed and mattress/boxspring from JC Penneys and when we got it, it was great except for I needed a step stool to get into the darn thing! It was too much trouble, so we did a "re-select" the company calls it (ordered another mattress). We re-selected the same mattress but as a "low-profile." When we FINALLY got it, (they messed up on the delivery date a few times) the delivery service broke our light fixture in our bedroom and didn't even offer to fix it.

It was basically "our problem" and we needed to send JC Penney's a copy of our bill when we purchased another light fixture from our apartment complex... then they would reimburse us for it! So, anyway the bed got delivered, but our backs were starting to hurt after a while of sleeping on the bed. We decided to check the mattress and we found out that it was NOT the one we had ordered, it wasn't even the SAME BRAND that we ordered. As soon as we found this information out, we contacted the store where we initially purchased the mattress.

The store manager said that he would do ANYTHING he could to make this right, well... that hasn't happened yet. We have talked to a few different managers at the JCPenney Corporate office and they told us before they can send out the bed we re-selected, we need to PURCHASE it!! Well, you know what, we already have paid for it! $1400.00 in fact!

And second of all, the original bed we re-selected has now been discontinued, so we took time out, ran to the store, picked out one we wanted instead. Still, we're told, we have to PAY for another mattress to be sent out, then when they collect the mattress that was sent to us in error, they will credit our bank account back!

So, basically...."we" as customers have to pay for the company's mistake!!! What in the hell, we have never been treated so badly and had so much incompetence with a company in our lives. We will NEVER shop at JC Penney again and that is the truth. I will tell everyone I know never to purchase anything from JC Penney's ever again. We have had so much "run-around" from the store and corporate office, they should be ashamed of their customer service.

Took them 2 WEEKS to even call us back to tell us we need to pay for a new mattress to be sent out! 2 WEEKS. I can't believe it. They are not punctual nor do they care about their customers. I have worked retail for many years and it's disgraceful how that company operates. This problem has NOT been resolved and this Friday, will be 3 WEEKS since we first notified the company of the problem. We'll see what happens, the Floor Manager is supposed to call me back, I wouldn't be surprised if she doesn't do anything either. JC Penney does NOT go above and beyond for their customers and I don't think they ever will!

Replies
Discrimination and Harassment
By -

MINOT, NORTH DAKOTA -- This letter is to discuss the experience at your Minot, North Dakota J. C. Penney store. The experience was the worst form of harassment and discrimination that we have encountered. To start with, we went to exchange a pair of pants for our young diabetic son who is 8 years old and has encountered many hardships in his life, this should not have added to his hardships. The visit to J. C. Penney had included my wife, 2-year-old daughter, 8-month-old son, and our 8-year-old son. Pushing the two strollers should not have made us look suspicious. While we we're at your store we decided to do some more shopping, we like the clothes that your store offers.

My son likes to look at the rest of the mall also. He is a very happy 8 years old. My son had to use the bathroom so he went to the one in the mall. My 8-year-old son had to use the bathroom because he is diabetic and sometime is immediate with his body than with a non-diabetic's body. My wife took him and my 2-year-old daughter. While I waited in the store with our 8 month old son, I noticed that there was a woman who had been following us. The security personnel continued to follow us. While the rest of my family was gone, the security continued to follow my 8-month-old son and me.

My wife did eventually return and the security woman proceeded to follow all of us again through the infant area, the toddler area, the young children's area, then to the young teen area where my wife and I looked for our other two teenage daughter's clothes who are 13 years old and 15 years old. It was very disturbing that this was so blatant and obvious, and the fact that she was continuing to follow us through the entire store. It was so apparent what she was doing because there were so many people in the store and she just kept following my family and me. The other people in the store were of no concern to this security guard.

The experience reminded me of a story that I had been told about 4 years ago by a person who had worked there and been told by the staff and security to watch the Native Americans when they came into the store. The former associate told me she was offended. She told the staff about her husband being Native American and they asked her what tribe he was from, when she responded what tribe he was from the staff told her they meant the other tribe in North Dakota from Belcourt, North Dakota. The tribe the staff is referring to is the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, which I come from. So you understand my ethics and beliefs.

I was never taught to run from adversity, I was never taught to scream the word discrimination or to hate anybody for his or her skin. My parents are very proud of being Americans. We are a very strong family. Our core principles are God, education, hard work community service and a faith that others will treat you fair. I have always been independent. I have always taught my five children to better their lives by education, handwork, and the strong belief that we can do better by hard work and believing in God's word. I do not believe in stealing. I have never taught my children to steal nor do I believe anyone should steal under any circumstances.

This would never be acceptable to me. I believe that we do learn from the past and believe me the past is still in play in this store, there are generations of prejudice here in this particular store and the status quo is not ready to change without further urging of the corporate office, the CEO and the President of J. C. Penney. I do believe that you do have to identify the obvious in order to change what is taking place and this store has a serious problem with whom they racial profile and that they choose to employ people who discriminate.

I do hope you appreciate what it feels like to work all your life to undo people's unfair and unwarranted stereotypes and prejudices and to have this happen to your children who you love and care for. I hope you know what it feels like to explain to your children that they have done nothing to deserve this treatment. When my wife and I got to the checkout counter, the person who was the cashier went to exchange something for a different size for us. The security person continued to circle us, which by this time I was very frustrated with this behavior.

We were fortunate that another checker came by because she asked if she could assist us, she started to ring up the merchandise. I let her know how hurt and offended I was, and that I just wanted to pay for our merchandise and leave. I let her know that I was feeling very discriminated against and insulted that this was occurring. I explained to her that the security person even continued to come by and harass us as we stood by the counter waiting for the cashier to return. She asked "was this person blonde?" and I replied yes. The second cashier came back and I filled her in about this situation.

She seemed generally apologetic and at that very time, the person walked again by us and acted as if she was leaving the store. What she really did was go into the security room. I asked the checkout clerk if she would please relay this message to the manager. She stated she would. As we exited the store, I saw the security person again coming from a room by the exit and I told her thank you for making our shopping experience so pleasant. It was very odd how she left when we left, and how she invested a whole hour to just following us. I immediately called the store back when I arrived home and asked if I could speak to the manager.

The supervisor on duty Jackie answered the call. Jackie stated the two cashiers had not yet mentioned the story to her when I asked. I then explained to her what had happened and she said she did not believe that this person was doing this intentionally. I explained to her the circumstances again, there was no mistaking what had happened. She almost seemed like it was finally getting through to her, then she said I would have to speak to the Assistant manager tomorrow. Why did she want me to speak to the assistant manager? I even asked her to view the tapes. I called the store today 08/29/08 the next day around 1330cst.

I initially asked for Jackie the supervisor to see if she had spoken to the manager. Jackie the supervisor then transferred me to the assistant manager Penny. Penny explained that she would have to speak to the cashiers. I asked her Penny to call me back and she asked why? I explained to her that I wanted to have a response to the complaint. She told me sorry but she did not feel that I am owed an explanation.

I felt that she did not even have the customer service skills at this point in our conversation to assure me that she understood my family's concerns. I was very disappointed that some people never find prejudice old and tiring. I am especially hurt that the staff of J. C. Penney did not even feel they owed it to us to properly address this issue.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

J.C. Penney Company, Inc. Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 61 ratings and
203 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
J.C. Penney Company, Inc.
6501 Legacy Drive
Plano, TX 75024-3698
972-431-1000 (ph)
972-431-1977 (fax)
www.jcpenney.com
Product/Services
Compare Department Stores