Jenn-Air

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 24 ratings and
56 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Don't Buy Jenn Air
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BEND, OREGON -- I bought a brand new Jenn Air slide-in electric range from an authorized Jenn Air dealer ($1,999.00). The range was delivered on February 15th 2013. I don't do a ton of cooking so I hadn't used this range all that much (the oven twice and the cooktop itself twice).

So the evening of February 25th I was making pasta and sauce using two of the surface elements. As I was heating the sauce and boiling the water, suddenly a bright flash appeared under the cooktop - similar to that which would be created by an electric arc. A few seconds later, a number of similar flashes appeared under the cooktop and the range went dark.

Since it was later in the evening, I wasn't able to contact the dealer until the next day - Tuesday. I called and told them what had happened and they asked me if I wanted to speak with the service department. I told them no, I wanted to speak with the salesman and I didn't want the unit "repaired" I wanted it replaced. The woman I spoke with was nice enough, but she said they would not be able to replace this unit - it would have to be serviced.

The salesman was not available so I left a voice mail message and sent him an e-mail.

In the meantime, I called Jenn Air Customer Care1-800-JENN-AIR (536-6247) and spoke with a representative. I told her what had happened and she said Jenn Air would not replace the unit, but would have the dealer send someone out to examine the range and identify a repair option.

I told the Jenn Air representative I didn't want the unit, which had been in my house a total of 9 days when it went dead repaired, I wanted it replaced. I spent two thousand dollars on this range and I shouldn't have to be stuck with a "repaired" Jenn Air product. The representative told me that was Jenn Air's policy.

Later Tuesday, the dealer called and arranged for a serviceman to come out to examine the range. He came Friday (March 1st). I explained what had happened and he examined the unit. I told him I wanted a NEW range to replace this defective unit and he agreed that if it were him, he would have the exact same position. However, he said the dealer really had no say in how the problem was resolved and Jenn Air policy was to only "REPAIR" defective units,.

The range now has to have a new user interface, new control board, new cooktop and new electrical wiring harness replaced as there was in fact electrical arcing under the ceran surface;. In the meantime, I'm without a range and have no idea when the situation is going to be resolved!.

I've already contacted my credit card company to dispute the two thousand dollar charge and they agreed I should not have to be stuck with a defective NEW range?. They have filed a dispute with the dealer and issued a temporary credit to my account;.

As a follow-up today, March 8th Whirlpool customer service called to see what was going on. They reiterated that they would not replace this broken range - only fix it. They asked when Standard TV & Appliance was coming out to make the repairs. I said I didn't know as I had not heard from them since March 1st. The CS representative put me on hold to call Standard TV and came back and said one of the parts was on back-order and it was being expedited to Standard TV.

However, no one has said when they plan to come out and fix this range which has now been out of service longer than it was working.

Do you really want to buy a Jenn Air appliance and pay top dollar for a product the manufacturer won't stand behind?

So a word of caution to anyone considering the purchase of any Jenn Air appliance - DON'T!

If anything major goes wrong with your NEW Jenn Air product you're going to be stuck with a repaired unit.

     
Replies
Be Forewarned, Do Not Buy Jenn Air Products!!!
By -

BENTON HARBOR, MI -- BE FOREWARNED, DO NOT BUY JENN AIR PRODUCTS!!!

I recently spent nearly $9000 on Jenn Air kitchen appliances (stove, refrigerator, dishwasher & microwave) and boy do I regret it. I was supposed to receive a $2300 rebate in 6 to 8 weeks. That was 12 weeks ago. I called them last week and they were very apologetic for having mishandled it and said that everything was now okay and assured me that I would have my rebate in 6 to 8 weeks! Hold on just a minute, I've already wait 12 weeks. "Can this be expedited"? "I'm sorry sir but that is not an option". "Can I speak to a supervisor please". "I'm sorry sir but there are no one available". "Can you have one return my call please"? "Yes sir, I'd be happy to". That was almost a week ago and I have not received the call yet!

Now let me tell you about the damaged stove that was installed (scratched front panel and scratched and bent top). I immediately called the dealer who gave me the name and number of a service tech who could fix it. I called and left multiple messages. After 3 weeks I finally received a call back on a Saturday night at 9:00 PM. He said he would call me the following Monday letting me know when the parts would be in. That was a month ago. After many more non returned phone calls I finally received a call from the tech on Friday telling me the parts were in and he wanted to know when he could install them. Did I mention that I had called Jenn Air earlier that day and complained about the service problem I was having? An appointment was set up for Monday morning between 9:00 and 10:00 AM. I left the house at 11:30 and he still had not shown up or called. I am also having problems with one of the stoves burner (it takes 40 minutes to bring 4 cups of water to a boil in a 2 1/2 quart pan) and the ice dispenser on the fridge does not work. On my Friday phone call, Jenn Air had set up an appointment with a different company to take care of those problems.

So, I called Jenn Air this afternoon to let them know about the missed appointment and to request that the new company also make the repairs to the stove top. I was then informed that they had no record about the cosmetic damage to the stove and that since I had, had the stove for more than 30 days that damage would not be covered by them and I would be responsible for it myself. They even told me that they had no contact information on the person that was supposed to have fixed it and that he was not an authorized repair facility. But on the previous Friday the Jenn Air representative I had spoken with had no problem calling him and addressing the issue. He is even listed on the Internet as an authorized servicer. What about the fact that the damage was reported to the factory authorized dealer within their time frame? They don't care! A report was never forwarded to Jenn Air so I am now responsible for the repairs! It is one wall after another with this company!

I will never buy or recommend Jenn Air products ever again. This company DOES NOT stand behind what they sell!!!

     
Replies
JENN AIR WILL NOT REPLACE DEFECTIVE UNIT
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FREDERICK, MARYLAND -- I purchased a Jenn Air Down Draft unit after having one for almost twenty years, it is a great unit enabling me to BBQ indoors all year round. I purchased a new Jenn Air Down Draft to replace it through Sears in November 2013.

I am writing this report in mid April 2014 and have had the unit replaced three times due to DEFECTIVE units being sent to me from Jenn Air. They have a constant loud vibration that is caused when the down draft fan is turned on. Sears continues to replace the unit in good faith but I called Jenn Air directly to see if they could send me a unit in good condition. Jenn Air instead sent two repair companies to my home to verify the problem. Both repair companies stated that the unit was making a terrible noise when the down draft was turned on.

When I called Jenn Air they had their own version of the most recent report stating that I refused to have it repaired (a repair was never offered to me). I happened to have the report in front of me and read it to their customer representative Mica from Tennessee who by the way was very short with me not transferring me to a manager. I countered to her that if a brand new unit needs to be repaired it has something wrong with it which means I was sold a defective unit. Per Mica's direction Jenn Air refuses to replace it.

I will take it up with Sears but I will never purchase a Jenn Air product again. Even when their own repair people deem a brand new Jenn Air product defective they will not replace it. Stupid or just plan old dishonest!! Certainly not the high quality product they try to sell themselves as.

     
Replies
5 Jenn Air Appliances for Kitchen Remodel, Big Mistake!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

When we remodeled our kitchen in June/July 2012 we chose to have all Jenn Air appliances because we thought they were quality. Big mistake, I would never use them again or recommend them. We bought them through our local "Quality Maytag Dealer" and the company was OK although there were delays in getting the range and refrigerator from Jenn Air but that wasn't their fault. Eventually all four appliances (dishwasher, gas range, French door refrigerator and range hood/back splash) were finally installed. Then the problems started!!

Within a couple months our top of the line dishwasher started to leak big time! The local dealer replaced a "loose connection" but then it leaked even worse. So they replaced the "entire pump" (it seems there was some 'design flaw'. That fixed it for a couple months and then everything stopped working and they had to replace the "entire electronic unit"! So, less than a year after it was installed, we have a 're-built' unit that was out of service for more than 3 weeks and took 5 visits to repair.

Now the refrigerator is acting up. It started leaking water because the plastic tray that holds water when it defrosts was broken! It was replaced (after 2 visits) and then a persistent noise was occurring every time the compressor when which on that was tracked to another broken plastic part . We're now awaiting that part and of course another, 4th visit to install it.

We had to have them return to adjust the flame on the gas range, which by the way is the 4 burner with the "griddle" which is really bad and totally useless. Doesn't heat hot enough to really make it effective. An awful mistake on our part buying this particular model. The only appliance that is working well is the range hood which is very good. However, we're holding our breath for when it goes out.

BOTTOM LINE, it appears Jenn Air has been living off its reputation for some time and it's kitchen appliances are definitely first rate, dependable and quality products. We would NEVER buy them again.

     
Replies
Don't Waste Your Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

We were sold an extended warranty by Jenn-Air on July 2nd. Apparently their high end applicances only last about seven years. (I guess I should have kept the original oven that was in the house for 20+ years...only problem was that it didn't look "pretty" enough for me. Guess I screwed up big time!)

Tech came to house on July 3rd to look at oven and said he would need to order parts and would be back the following Monday to fix oven. Never heard from them. We called (Monday, July 8th) and they said they were waiting on warrany company to approve repairs. Never heard back.

Called repair company this morning (Friday, July 12th). We were told that the warranty company, Federal Warranty Service Corporation, was supposed to have called us back Monday afternoon.

Finally got Federal Warrany Company on the phone. Apparently they just dropped us with NO notification. Their warranty states they will notify a customer if the warranty will be voided. This never happened.

I understand companies are in it for the almighty dollar. But why sell someone a warranty for $314 dollars and then leave them hanging and expect us to continually call back and spend our time on hold trying to figure out what is going on.
The estimate to fix the oven was $824. So this comapny was going to be out $510 on our warranty. I understand warranties are a gamble on BOTH ends. We may buy a warranty and never use it, or a repair may be more than the cost of the warranty. If our repair had been $100, they would have pocketed money; I would not have gotten a refund. Yet since they were going to be out-of-pocket a little they drop us with no notice. Unacceptable!

Jenn-Air and Federal Warrany Company are a JOKE.

Don't buy Jenn-Air and don't buy their extended warranty they offer through Federal Warranty Service Corporation. You will be wasting your time and money.

     
Replies
Jenn-Air Downdraft Range "LEMON"
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- I purchased a Jenn-Air range as a replacement for one previously installed. My problems started as soon as I found out the range was 1/2" wider than the older unit. I had a very expensive cut to make in a granite counter top for the installation(I could see no reason to change the width 1/2").A short time later the new range started giving me problems. The Following problems have all happened in the first year: (1) Two switches for the top units were replaced. (2) A wire came loose at the surface unit receptacle due to a poor factory welded connection. (3) The control board was replaced.
(4) The oven temperature sensor was replaced.

The oven is still not holding set temperature! Set the temperature at 400 degrees and after 30 minutes it will fall to 350.

My advise to anyone DO NOT BUY a Jenn-Air product, if you do be sure to buy an extended warranty you are going to need it.

     
Replies
Lack of heat control with gas range
By -

DELAWARE -- Please see the following response I received from JENN-Air with my request following their response:

Dear Mr. Wolf:

Thank you for visiting the Jenn-Air web site. We appreciate hearing from you.

I'm sorry you are not happy with the performance of your accessory burner cartridge. However, there is no defect with this product. The cartridge (when installed on the left side in place of the grill and regardless of whether natural gas or propane is being used) operates on all Jenn-Air gas cooktops and ranges in the same fashion.

The output on the left side with the E-Burner grill installed is 8,500 BTU’s for the front and back section of the grill for a total
of 17,000 BTU on high setting. When turned to the low setting the output is 4,000 BTU. The low setting of 4000 BTU is the
minimum output that will assure the flame will not be pulled away from the burner when the downdraft ventilation is on.
The unit has two fixed sealed burners on the right side. The right front burner has 16,000 BTU on high and 1,600 BTU on
Low. The right rear has 5,000 BTU on high and 650 BTU on low. When going from 16,000 to 5,000 BTU’s on high or 1,600
to 650 BTU’s on low a visual difference will be noticed when adjusting the flame. When the two burner cartridge is installed
on the left side, the output will be 8,000 BTU on high and 4,000 BTU on low with both burners on. When going from 8,000
BTU’s to 4,000 BTU’s, little to no visual difference will be noticed when adjusting the flame. This would be considered normal operation.

We appreciate your business with Jenn-Air. We invite you to contact us through email or live chat at www.Jennair.com or by calling us at 1-800-JENN-AIR (536-6247), Monday to Friday between the hours of 8AM and 8PM EST.

Sincerely,

Kathleen G.
Jenn-Air Senior Specialist
Jenn-Air Customer eXperience Center
http://www.jennair.com/
1.800.JENNAIR

*If replying, please use Forward versus Reply or New as that will leave this message intact and will help us to respond faster.

[THREAD ID:1-GDJTVM]

-----Original Message-----

From: terry@gweiner.com
product: Ranges
model_number: JDS9860CDB00
serial_number: JDS9860CDB00
date_of_purchase: 06/02/2011
body:
Sent: 8/19/2011 07:41:23 PM
To: "nar_jennair_customerexperience@Jennair.com"
Cc: Terry Wolf
Subject: Jennair.com Contact Form Submission

Dear Kathleen, thanks so much for responding to my request. We purchased our current primary residence 5.5 years ago. The home had a JENN-AIR range/oven that had the grill/griddle cartridge. Not having a need for that configuration we replaced the unit with a new JENN-AIR flat top electric in 10/08. In the meantime we purchased a winter home in Florida. In doing the renovations we replaced all appliances and since a down draft unit was not needed opted to try a duel fuel range/oven (Kenmore). We became so enamored with the gas range and its finite temperature control we decided to replace our electric JENN-AIR (in our primary residence) with the only duel fuel unit we understood to be available through JENN-AIR. Of course, a consideration was the down draft feature as the unit is installed in an island in the kitchen.
We purchased the unit from Hawkins & Sons in Wilmington, De. on June 2, 2011, serial #
D12278098. It was installed 6/20. When talking with the sales person at Hawkins I stated I had no interest in the grill feature of the duel fuel unit. (We use our Weber outside all seasons.) He did mention the only duel fuel unit available through JENN-AIR was the one with the grill component. He did offer the unit that was gas, both range and oven, but suggested there was a learning curve in using the gas oven as temperature consistency was not one of the selling points of the oven (lack of convection technology). The convection feature in the electric we were familiar with and comfortable. He also offered that for an additional cost we could purchase a cartridge to take the place of the grill unit- which is what we did.
After the unit was installed we found 1) we had essentially no control over the flame in the cartridge that was installed and 2) had only limited control over the right side gas units. We quickly had one of their service technicians in our home trying to improve the control issue. While he did achieve a level (and somewhat acceptable) modification in the ability to regulate the simmer unit and front right heating unit, he had essentially no success with the controls in the left cartridge. As a result we have a gas range were with 2 burners we have a degree of control and 2 we have only high and moderately high heat. Those units can be used to bring something to a boil or a high heat fry but that is the extent of their usefulness.
The technician offered an opinion that the JENN-AIR range when utilizing natural gas seemed to have less of a problem than one using propane. There was no discussion with us when we were considering the purchase as this being a potential issue, and in fact paid extra to have a "conversion kit" to accommodate our propane use.
To me JENN-AIR is in the same class as Wolf, Bosch and other high end units. The fact we were relegated to a downdraft unit also directed us in our decision since the unit is installed in a granite island.
I trust I have expressed my frustration with what we are dealing. I would never have questioned the JENN-AIR product and it's ability to deliver the quality of performance we had come to enjoy from our earlier experiences. The unit as it currently is, does meet the standards we expected from JENN-AIR.
When we first realized the problem it was suggested by the technician I call your company to discuss the issue. The young lady in Customer Service with whom I spoke stated: "most people who buy the duel range unit do so because they are vegetarians and prefer grilling their vegetables in doors." Not a response I was expecting and I trust not the company position as well.
If the technician was correct in that this is an "expected" inconvenience of the duel range and the cartridge issue, especially for propane gas users, I would hope that JENN-AIR is addressing the issue through its competent technical advisors with a remedy forthcoming. If in fact this is an inherent deficiency with the unit, without a technical remedy, I would like to know what alternative you have to offer me.
Thank you for your consideration of this request.

Sincerely,

     
Replies
Jenn-Air Electric Downdraft Range - CPU Has Failed Repeatedly
By -

BENTON HARBOR, MICHIGAN -- Here is an update to the post below: After repeated phone calls to Jenn-Air (Whirlpool) Customer Service, and lack of success in achieving a reasonable offer, we contacted the Better Business Bureau in the locale of Whirlpool Corporate Headquarters. This complaint was then directed to "Executive Staff - Whirlpool Executive Office", where the representative had the additional leeway to give us a fair, pro-rated exchange under much more acceptable terms. Our old machine has been removed and a brand new one installed, and it is clear that some of the design faults have been remediated in the replacement model.

While I cannot say we were given a brand new machine for no cost, I believe we were treated fairly and with consideration. So my recommendation to anyone with a similar problem is to get your complaint escalated to Corporate Headquarters customer service team. If you have difficulty making this happen, log your complaint online with the BBB and do not give until you have been put in contact with them.

====================================

We purchased a Jenn-Air Electric Downdraft Range from Lowe's in May of 2006. Almost immediately, the control knobs began to get caught on everything, fall off and break. Then in 2008, the electronic control panel (CPU) malfunctioned. The part was replaced under warranty with the labor at our cost. This happened again in 2009 and it was replaced once again under warranty and with service at our cost. It has now happened a third time in early 2010. The electronics of the machine will be under warranty now only until May of 2011, and we have little faith that the problem is permanently resolved. With a 4-1/2 year history of three (3) bad CPUs, it seems highly that this problem will recur, and the machine will be out of warranty at that point.

We contacted Jenn-Air, and they offered to pay for the service to replace the CPU a third time. Our response was that this was unacceptable, given that the machine would be completely out of warranty in a few months following. They then offered us a pro-rated exchange, if we would pay $822.15, plus $150.00 for installation and removal of the old machine. However, we have already paid $1,898 for the range, $314 for the elements, and paid for service twice at (approximately 2 x $250 or $500). Therefore, for use of this stove, we have already paid out about $2,700, and they are now asking us to pay another $1,000 for a replacement for this range. We also raised a complaint to the Better Business Bureau local to Jenn-Air (Whirlpool) Corporation in Western Michigan, however, this yielded nothing additional.

We are not unreasonable people, and understand we have had use of this machine – tho limping at half-function a good part of the 4-1/2 years. However, we are not inclined to invest another, almost-thousand dollars in what seems to be a poor quality product. In our last contact with Jenn-Air, we asked that they replace the CPU a third time with part and labor at their expense (as they had offered). But given that the part seems to fail repeatedly, it seemed a reasonable request that they also extend the warranty on the CPU only for the five year warranty usual assigned to the electrical parts. They flatly refused to do this. We maintain that this is a reasonable and logical compromise, but they did not agree.

Compiling the average lifespan from several generic appliance info websites, and using the low end figures, an electric range should be good for 14 years. This range has been good only for half of its 4-1/2 years. This is quite unacceptable from our point of view.

     
Replies
Jenn-Air Appliances All Three Broke Within 2 Years And Oven Caught Fire Against The Wall!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SMALL TOWN, NEW JERSEY -- After purchasing 3 Jenn-Air appliances, stove/oven; refrigerator and in wall microwave, ALL had problems.

I purchased these appliances because of the way they looked and because I thought that they were 'high end' appliances. I purchased them 3 years ago when remodeling my entire kitchen. WHAT A MISTAKE! It was a mistake that almost killed us.

1) The stove/oven caught fire to the cabinets and back wall. They believe the ignition system was delayed. However, had we not been at home and not been directly in the kitchen when this happened most likely the entire house would have burned down and we'd all be dead! However, because we were in front of the stove, we were able to get out alive and call the fire department so the entire house didn't burn down. However, the kitchen fire caused extensive smoke damage throughout the house (requiring a complete gutting of my kitchen and renovation of the other 3 floors of the house due to water damage and smoke, etc from the fire in the kitchen)

2) The french door refrigerator had a fault drain and had to be retro-fitted with a new drain. We had to go online to find this out, but only after the refrigerator leaked continuously all over the new tile floor. Plus, the large center drawer broke within the first 6 months, twice, requiring service calls to replace it twice.

3) The bulb on the microwave went out within 6 months and when I called customer service they said that it has to be replaced by a service person and that would cost over $100. We figured that the food could cook in the dark so we never replaced the bulb.

Most importantly, the Stove/Oven fire could have burned down my entire house. Had we not been in front of it to see the flash of fire between the cabinet and the stove, and to see the dark tendrils of smoke curling out from behind this monstrosity, we would not have had sufficient time to call 911 and get out of the house. The house would have burned to the ground and then we'd all be dead. Perhaps that is how Jenn-Air prevents negative reviews online: Dead consumers can't write negative reviews.

     
Replies
Jenn-Aire Cooktop Inadequate for Anyone who Actually Cooks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a new Jenn-Aire range in November, 2013 and was dismayed to discover that only one burner had a temperature setting of Low. The others only go down to Medium, which is too hot for many cooking procedures. It is impossible to caramelize onions, simmer a sauce, and melt chocolate at the same time. When I complained to the company I was told that I should have had better consumer information before purchasing the stove, but it never occurred to me that a burner would not have a full temperature range, and I never asked that question. This is a very expensive stove, and I find myself constantly improvising with burner guards and shifting pots around to the one Low burner, which is inconveniently located in the back.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >