Preview Review

Next Review

JetBlue Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Mechanical Delay
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

On Oct. 10, 2014 my husband and myself were due to fly out of Punta Cana D.R. at 1.00 pm on a full flight, to JFK and then fly onto SLC, arriving at 11:00 pm. We had never flown with JetBlue before but had heard good things. Realistically, we expected nothing. It's an airline, as long as it took off and landed we don't care.

After waiting on the plane for 1 hour, everyone was bused back to the terminal where we had to wait for three hours. No one would tell us what was going or offer us meal credits. Finally, we boarded at 3:30 knowing there was no way we would make our connecting flight. The pilot then announced that there had been a problem with the toilets not flushing. Everyone was angry because we could have held it for the 3 1/2 hour flight. The pilot said that because it made a light flash in the cockpit, he refused to fly. Fine, whatever. We were told that everything would be sorted once we landed in JFK.

By the time we arrived in JFK, 70% of the passengers had missed their connecting flight. We were immediately told by a JetBlue representative that there were no more flights tonight and that we would all be put in a hotels. We all had to find our own way to terminal 5 (the JetBlue's terminal). Where we were all told that we would not be put up in hotels. That all hotels were booked and that we could spend $150 of our own money (we would be reimbursed apparently) if we could find a hotel. There is no way at the last minute, at JFK you can find a hotel for $150. I spent over an hour trying. Plus there would be no compensation for $70 cab fare to said hotels.

At this point my husband became angry and said they need to do something. The man serving us got very pissy and refused to help us. Refused to help anyone, he went off at us because apparently it's not his problem. "Sorry buddy, you're a JetBlue representative. It is your problem." Finally we spoke to a supervisor. She was no better. Really and truly couldn't have care less. I asked her what we were all supposed to do. She shrugged and said, "It's not my problem."

We had to beg for meal credits. We begged! We hadn't eaten since the morning. All we got was $24 to cover dinner and breakfast for 2 people... in a airport terminal. Yah right!!! Most of the other passengers didn't even get meal credits. Because it was now 11:30 at night the terminal was closed. I had never seen anything like it before. Elderly couples, families with small children, honeymooners try to sleep on a freezing cold floor. One couple had gone on vacation before the wife was starting cancer treatment, talk about ruining a much need vacation.

My husband called up JetBlue and the representative he spoke to was appalled at the way we were being treated and claimed this was not their policy, he then upgraded us to even more space seats and offered us more meal credits (only another $16 though) and put us on the next available flight. That flight left at 9.00 the next morning was a 6 hour flight to Long Beach, CA. There would we have to wait 4 hours for a connecting flight to SLC. At this point we just wanted to get home and were grateful for being upgraded so that we could at least try and sleep. No one else got any of this because they didn't call and complain.

The airline attendant on our flight to Long Beach was the nicest JetBlue representative we came in contact. I was shaking and shivering while waiting for the bathroom (I do that when I only get an hours sleep) at which point he asked if I was ok. I explained everything that had happened and he gave us a free blanket (they normally cost $15 - it was a really crappy blanket) along with extra food.

But our connecting flight to SLC was something else though. It was announced that the flight would be delayed 40 minutes because of fog in SLC. There was no fog in Salt Lake, we checked. When we finally boarded, the pilot said it was because of air force when flying from San Francisco. So wait, which was it? Fog on the flight from SLC or air force interference flying from San Francisco? The pilot also thought he was flying Delta and JetBlue. That was pretty funny.

There was an elderly couple Sat behind us who had been through all this and they hadn't been upgraded. The flight was empty and there were lots of 'even more space" seats available. The elderly women asked if they could move and the flight attendant said, "No, there was a charge for those seats." The old man muttered, "This is ** ridiculous" to which flight attendant name ** said, "What did you just to me?" The gentlemen replied that he hadn't said anything to her. "Yes you did, don't swear at me! I will have escorted off this flight. Is that what you want?"

She then got the supervisor named ** who came and said, "This is my flight and it's gonna go my way." I don't know what they teach their JetBlue representatives but they were so vicious and self centered, everything was an affront to their personal rights. I wouldn't want to be on one of the flights if there was a problem, they seemed like they would use the passengers as flotation devices.

My husband stepped in at this point at told ** he needed to calm down and tried to explain what we had all gone through. He said, "I don't care, I was delayed too." To which I responded, "You weren't delayed 17 hours and made to sleep on terminal floor." He completely disregarded us and said, "That didn't happen!" Then walked off. I don't know how the gentlemen behind us did it but later in the flight he apologized to **, she lapped it all up and said, "If you had told me your situation nicely, I would have upgraded you." We were only halfway there, seats were still available, she didn't move them.

All in all we were delayed 17 hours due to mechanical issues, we were treated like cattle (actually cattle are treated better) and all we got offered is $100 towards another JetBlue flight within the year. We have flown 27 times in the last 8 years with many different airlines and have never been treated this way. I can understand this treatment if it had been a weather delay, but this was a mechanical issue. And a stupid one at that. I will never fly with JetBlue again. I will tell everyone and post this same review on every site on the internet. I don't know who JetBlue bribes to be classed as the best airline but it can go on forever.

Replies
Advertisement
Over and Above
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

We recently flew from Ft. Meyers Florida to JFK then on to Portland Maine (Flt 124 and 608, 02/28/13 - name **). During deplaning I required a wheelchair on the jetway and then to the food court area. At some point I discovered that my wallet was missing. My problem! A new and bulky wallet that easily slipped from my side pocket. Regardless it was not in my possession on delivery to the food court area.

We immediately notified JetBlue who set in motion their staff to check the plane quickly, called the overall service folks for JFK who came to collect my wife and take her from the gate area, to the lost and found and to the baggage area. The wallet was not located. My guess is that it slipped out while moving from the seat to the jetway.

This morning I received a call from JetBlue in Ft. Myers to tell me that the wallet had been found in Ft. Meyers during thorough cleaning of the aircraft. The person, **, walked me through what needed to be done to get the wallet back to me ASAP. I authorized her to search the wallet for my credit card which she and the supervisor did, (time ~11:15 AM, 03/02/13). Needless to say, I am stunned by the successful outcome largely due to the attentive and honest staff at JetBlue and the Customer service chap (AirServe) at JFK, a fellow by the name of **. I am so sorry we did not note the names of the other JetBlue folks who helped as well.

We have been flying JetBlue whenever possible for several years and ALWAYS found the staff and service to be outstanding! Our PWM flight was delayed, however, that is a non-issue in my mind. If one travels "suck it up" that's the way it goes! Don't like it?? Stay at home! The JetBlue staff was exemplary. So our hats are off to the folks at JetBlue and to ** at JFK. Not a thing to complain about.

Replies
Luggage Problem
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA -- I've always enjoyed flying with JetBlue & I would recommend my family & friends to use them! However, recently I had a problem re: my luggage. I flew from Long Beach to JFK (Aug 28th) & returned to Long Beach (Sept 24th). I did not unpack until the following day.

I had placed a pair of DKNY JEANS sandals in the front compartment of my luggage; had not worn them yet. The Left sandal on its side; instep & heel area were broken off. The Left sandal, its toe & instep area were broken off. To receive that much damage to my sandals, my luggage must have been thrown really hard & crushed under something? I was so disappointed, I truly loved flying JetBlue!

Replies
Flight Delays
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- My flight was number 236, schedule to depart at 1:44 am on August 29. The flight attendant notifies me they had a delayed and was leaving at 3:30 am, but the flight was really leaving at 4:16 am. When you notify someone, the airline should be clear enough and not give misleading information. As result, I will stop my traveling with JetBlue company. My child is tired and hungry. She wants to get home. I will not recommend you to any my friends and family. I will think twice to travel with JetBlue, and all my reviews will refer to this inconvenience.

Replies
Advertisement
Where Do I Begin??
By -

I fly often between Las Vegas and New York and normally fly on Virgin America (GREAT airline!). However I had a credit from a cancelled flight last year, so I booked on JetBlue. I paid their extra $40 to be able to fold my body into the somewhat less cramped space of the first 5 rows. I had an aisle seat in the 4th row.

As the passengers arrived, I looked in horror as a family or group who had 6 children with them under the age of 4, including the screeching baby in a child seat approached. My entreaties to various Deities went unanswered as they plopped next to me, behind me, and in front of me. The apparent father knew better and sought refuge across the aisle on the window. I realize everyone has the right to fly with their litters. The same folks also have the right to turn a movie theater into a noisy day care center.

Don't get me started on the appropriateness of breast feeding in an elegant restaurant. But as we took off into the wild blue yonder, the wailing and screeching began in earnest. And it didn't stop except for a brief interlude about 3 hours into the flight, only to resume for the remainder. The mother, on the window seat, at one point decided to change the baby's diapers, and folded down the tray table, plopped the baby onto it, and did her motherly thing. That's the tray table that food is consumed upon.

As I wretched in horror, the flight attendant came down the aisle holding her blue bag for refuse open. Unbelievably, the mother hurled her soggy stinking diaper with her best Kobe Bryant rim shot across my lap and into the bag. The flight attendant only smiled at the mother's expertise, and continued on her quest for less odoriferous refuse. I couldn't wait for the plane to land.

The various children (they couldn't possibly all be hers; probably a family reunion or wedding or some sort of west coast fertility rite) climbed over the seats, kicked the back of seats in front of them (during the brief moments they were actually seated), and at one moment there were a total of 6 adults and children in our row of 3 seats. Thank the good Lord for Bose noise canceling ear phones! To be clear, I adore well behaved children. Occasional relapses of behavior are normal and expected, but there is a line that is crossed when children are allowed by their parents to terrorize a flight, a restaurant, or movie theater.

I wrote to JetBlue about this flight from Hell, and in response received a credit towards a future flight. (Which you can probably guess by now, I will not be taking.) JetBlue was a great idea in its conception. But no longer. The surliness, the unwillingness to assist, the cattle car ambiance of their flights, and their passengers-be-damned attitude have compelled me to never fly with them again. I realize most of this is not JetBlue's fault. I fault the oblivious parents who haven't yet figured out what grandparents are for when the desire to travel overwhelms them. Anyone want my $50 off credit? I will not be using it.

Replies
Not Doggy Friendly - JetBlue Check-In = No Integrity
By -

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- On December 18, 2008 I was scheduled to depart San Diego to Seattle, WA with ** and our two dogs on flight #276. We had purchased 2 roundtrip tickets for our dog the same day we ordered our tickets to assure our dogs would be able to fly. We have flown with ours dogs multiple times on American, Alaskan and United with tremendous service and kindness to our dogs. With our love of JetBlue and the new pet policy we figured this would be the ideal situation for both the dogs and us.

We arrived at the airport via taxi since we would be in Seattle for 10 days and did not want to leave out car. It was $45, but an expected expense. With close to 2 hours until our flight we are waiting in line to check in - dogs on leashes and ready to get into the bags. At Check-in we are addressed by ** a customer service representative who tells us that one of our Boston terriers is far to fat and has to be weighed. We pop adorable Dude on the scale and sure enough he is 26 lbs. We knew he was chubby, but it was never a problem with any other airlines. We were told we would not be able to fly since Dude was 6 lbs over weight - 6 POUNDS!!!

** then tells us our other Boston Terrier is also to big, she weighed 20.5 lbs. We are both flabbergasted that we are being told we cannot take them on the plane. After ** continues to tell us Dude is too fat and cannot fly due to TSA requirements, we point out TSA does not have a weight limit on Alaska, American or United. Instead, the dogs just have to fit comfortably in the TSA approved Sherpa bag that will slide under the seat in front of us. ** continues to become ruder and ruder as shes speaks with us and says that she won't do anything and can't do anything since 6 lbs of dog is a safety concern.

** then proceeds to grab her manager, he comes out 15 minutes later and yells at us for not reading the legal information for JetBlue which requires a dog to be under 20 lbs which includes the weight of the bag. He is also extremely rude to each myself and **. I ask both ** and the manager if we could pay an extra fee for Dude and Fiona, in turn paying for 2 additional dogs ($200 total for the one way ticket for each). Since ** told us no other dogs were on the flight, we thought this was OK. ** also told us the Pilot could approve the dogs flying, but refused to contact him or tells us how we could get approval elsewhere.

Not 10 minutes later ** steps away to help another customer leaving us waiting. The women checking in is bringing along her 3 year old daughter who weighed at least 30 lbs, but paid nothing for her daughter since she was riding on her lap. To me, this is a safety hazard for the child and extra weight to the plane that is not being paid for. I must pay an extra $200 round trip per dog and pay additional dollars for extra bags and overweight bags, but a 3 year old is free. Not only is this ridiculous, but it is something I have alerted TSA to look into.

We talk with ** for another 30 minutes to come up with other ideas how our dogs could fly. She suggests we call a psychologist and lie to get the doctor to sign that Dude is an emotional pet. Not only is she asking us to lie, but she is not helping the current situation. The manager leaves us and refuses to talk with ** and I again.

**€™ only other idea is to try to get the dogs to ride in cargo on American. She suggests we go buy two $200 crates for each dog - we now have 40 minutes until our flight, and not enough time to even book the dogs, let alone pay and hop on our own flight. To make matters worse, ** tells us this should be fine, even though America is not currently flying dogs in cargo since Seattle is below freezing. She says it should warm up soon and American can just keep the dogs in the crates until they can fly.

Needless to say, the weatherman has predicted that Seattle will not warm up above freezing (or even 25 degrees) in 10 days. ** tells us that is not her concern and that we should have paid attention to the details. She hands me the phone to try try to reach United or American to book and the dogs and tells us she would “€œtry to get us on another flight.”€ Her trying consisted of walking away from the check-in counter and proceeding to help someone else.

After realizing we were going to miss out flight anyway, and dealing with extremely rude JetBlue service, that we would drive from San Diego to Seattle. Not only were we visiting for Christmas, we were also interviewing with several companies, all interviews had to be cancelled since we would not arrive on time. We took another $45 taxi home and packed the car and started to drive to Seattle.

Both ** and her manager did not realize the danger, struggles and future JetBlue dollar losses of their actions - all because of an irrelevant 6 pounds. I would understand charging for additional weight, or if there was a weight requirement on the plane where each person could only take X additional pounds and each passenger could only weigh X amount for safety, but that is not the issue. I understand the more weight, the more fuel is used, but that is why we said we would pay additional dollars to cover the 6 lbs that would sooooo drastically affect the fuel consumption.

Never have a dealt with such rude customer service of any airlines, especially in a time when the airlines are struggling so much to get customers. We have already alerted family and friends who have pets to not fly JetBlue. In addition, I will continue to tell my company who flies from San Diego to New York and Boston monthly to fly with another company. We did receive a refund, but minus the $100 change fee per ticket, but it cost us nearly an additional $800 in gas, over 49 hours of traveling, 2600 miles to the car, 2 missed interviews and missed job opportunities... all for 6 lbs!

Perhaps you will tell me that ** was just doing her job and following rules, but it was her rudeness and telling us to lie that showed she did not have integrity, she was just trying to make some innocent travelers lives hell. Needless to say, we drove to Seattle, it took over 26 hours due to the terrible snow and ice. We survived and told everyone our story.

Replies
Severely Inept Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILPITAS, CALIFORNIA -- So, my boyfriend and I live in California and we planned a cruise to the Caribbean. We used JetBlue to get there. Our first flight was cancelled then our second flight was delayed 3 hours due to mechanical failures which made us miss our connecting flight in JFK which, in turn, made us miss our cruise. They eventually got us to Jamaica where we could catch the cruise on the 4th day but had to spend a significant amount of unexpected funds in order to stay there for 3 days.

We sent JetBlue a complaint and all they want to do is give us each a $200 credit each which won't pay for a whole plane ticket. My boyfriend says they aren't legally obligated to do anything since our first flight was cancelled due to weather conditions and the other flights were booked as a "favor" to us. My question is - how can airlines get away with such poor customer service when many/most other companies can't!

I am so frustrated. Thanks for any help or suggestions you may be able to offer. Here is the full story in the form of the complaint letter I sent to JetBlue: I would like to share with you the experience my boyfriend and I had with your airline on June 22nd and 23rd. We had booked a straight flight from San Francisco, Ca. to Fort Lauderdale, Fl. (Flight 278) for a cruise. We were originally very excited to fly with JetBlue because of the wonderful things we had heard from friends. Unfortunately, our experience was not as pleasant as we had expected.

Our flight was supposed to leave around 10pm from SFO and get to FLL at 6am. (Our cruise left the port at Fort Lauderdale at 4pm.) We got to the airport right before 8pm and quickly found out through other passengers that our direct flight was cancelled. Up to this point, we did not receive an email update nor was the information on the JetBlue website updated (it still showed our flight as "€œon time"€).

The lady (I cannot recall her name) at the check-in counter was very nice and tried to find us alternate routes to FLL. She found a flight through another airline company with a layover but at least we were going there in time. During our wait, she discovered that JetBlue had already re-directed us through JFK getting us to FLL by 2pm. The flight to JFK was supposed to leave at 12am. Even though we had a long wait, we were grateful and happy we were going to get to our cruise in time.

We get to the gate at SFO. First, the screen behind the JetBlue representatives had the flight leaving at 11pm. I was a bit confused since the lady at the check-in counter said 12am. When I told one of the staff about the screen, he said, "€œOh, we know."€ I know this may seem insignificant but customers rely on this information to know if it is possible to get something to eat, use the restroom, etc. The fact that these two staff members were accepting wrong information to be posted is unacceptable.

Then our flight arrived at the gate and de-boarded. Midnight and 12:30am came and went with no explanation that there was mechanical failure. Finally, there was an announcement that there is mechanical issues that needed to be taken care of and the flight'€™s new departure time was 2:15am. The plane actually left the gate to get repaired.

Again, 2:15am came and went with no further explanation why the plane was not back at the gate. Finally, around 2:45am, a manager announces that they have not received any new information from the mechanics working on the plane. This announcement was made as our plane was pulling up to the gate. To me, there seems to be a major break in communication among the staff at JetBlue.

In the meantime, we asked the staff at the gate desk about our connecting flight in JFK. First, a staff member argued with me about when the plane would arrive in JFK. According the computer screen he was looking at, the plane would arrive at the same time as it was projected to if it had left at 12am. I asked him mathematically, how that was possible. I understand planes can make up some time in flight, especially in the middle of the night, but not when it is already 2 hours past the original departure time. Then he conceded that may be I had a point and he started to look at other flights leaving JFK that could get us to our destination.

He told us that everything was booked and there was nothing he could do. "No sorry, nothing." I asked to speak with the manager who I had seen make an announcement. He said that he would have another staff member look at flights for us but there was not much more they could do. The other guy looked for a while but informed us that he could not look at other airlines.

My question is, "why not?" Why would I have to leave the terminal, go through the security checkpoint, and go to the check-in counter (where I cannot imagine there was a staff member there to help me at this time of night) to find out if there are other airlines that can get us to our destination? Finally, the staff member put us on standby on the last flight from JFK to FLL that would get us to our cruise in time. We ask are we going to be stranded in JFK and what would happen if we were not able to get on the flight. He said he was certain we were going to get on the flight in JFK and not to worry. Well, he was wrong.

We approached the desk for the connecting flight in JFK and ask the staff member there about our chances of getting on the flight. He huffed and puffed and said every seat was booked and there was no way we would be able to get on. During our conversation, two pilots walk up to the desk. The staff member did not say excuse me or anything but turns towards the pilots mid-sentence and asks them if he could help them. They ask for two seats on the flight we were waiting to get on and without hesitation, gives them two seats.

A little flabbergasted and a lot tired, we asked them how the plane had open seats for them but just a minute ago, the plane was fully booked. He said that his priority was the pilots and not the customers. Yes, those were his words. As you can imagine, I began to get upset. He told me there was no need for me to get upset. I said, "€œI shouldn'€™t be upset for a week'€™s worth vacation to be used for nothing and a $3,000 cruise that I am not going to get to go on?" He said, "€œno, you shouldn'€™t be upset."€ Well, I think many people would agree I had every right to be upset for missing a cruise I had paid my hard-earned money for.

A little later in the €œconversation€, he turned to my boyfriend and said, "€œI am going to talk to you because I can'€™t talk to her."€ Excuse me??? It'€™s one thing to DO this if the customer is upset but to have the nerve to say this in front of me. Does your company train your employees to talk to customers like this? Totally unacceptable.

He finally told us there was absolutely nothing he could do for us because, again, he could not look up other airlines. He told us to go the information desk - at least, this was not on the other side of the security checkpoint. After waiting in a VERY long and time consuming line, we were finally helped by ** (I did not catch her last name) - one of the only two people at the desk.

At this point, I was crying. My boyfriend explained to ** our situation and she actually seemed like she cared. She looked through the different flights leaving JFK and found us a flight to Jamaica where our cruise was stopping along its way. She recommended we call the cruise line before booking the flight to make sure we could catch the cruise in Jamaica.

After confirming that this was a possibility, she booked us on the flight. She told us, though, that our luggage would probably be on it'€™s way to Florida and it may be a day or two before getting the bags in Jamaica. She not only found our bags, she came to our gate and let us know that our luggage would be on our flight to Jamaica.

First of all, I want to explain to you my viewpoints on caring. It'€™s one thing to actually care (or not care) about the customers complaints or problems; however, it'€™s quite another thing to not seem to care. The staff members at the SFO and JFK gates did not seem like they cared AT ALL. One staff member at SFO just stared nastily at another customer who was crying and upset because she was trying to get to an ill family member in New York and the mechanical issues were preventing this from happening.

Secondly, I can understand when flights are cancelled because of bad weather and how this is not the airlines fault. But, when your planes have mechanical problems, the customers should not be punished for that. We were treated by the SFO and JFK staff members like this was something we were just going to have to deal with with no sort of compensation. It was not until we pushed for some sort of resolution that we got answers. The staff member in JFK even argued with me about whether there was mechanical problems on our flight from SFO.

We are both extremely unhappy with JetBlue and the so called customer service we received from many of the staff. Ultimately, my boyfriend and I missed 3 days of our cruise and unexpectedly spending a lot of money ($1500) in Jamaica on hotel, food, and taxi fares because of JetBlue'€™s mechanical failures and poor customer service. There are many things JetBlue could have done to get us, the stranded passengers, where we needed to go on time. There are many things JetBlue could have done to compensate us for the havoc caused by the delays, cancellations, and failures. Instead we were treated with indifference and contempt.

Replies
Lied to by Customer Service Reps - Rude Supervisor
By -

I flew JetBlue from RDU to JFK - JFK to LGB on January 9, 2011 and back on January 11, 2011. My flight out was late leaving RDU, late leaving JFK. Not weather related delays. Then into the flight to Long Beach, CA, we were told that we did not have enough fuel and had to stop in Las Vegas for additional fuel? I was 3 hours late meeting a business associate! This is not the bad part!!!

On the return flight, I flew the red eye from LGB to JFK. Arrived in JFK at 5:05am on 1/11/11. I saw the flight from JFK to RDU had been cancelled. I went to the "Just Ask" counter of JetBlue. I approached the counter, asked the JetBlue employee how she was doing. She did not even acknowledge me. Never talked to me. She just looked at her computer. I stood there and waited for several minutes. Finally, I asked if she could help me. She asked me "what do you want me to do". I asked her what my options were since the flight was cancelled. She said repeatedly, "Call 1800 JetBlue", "Call 1800 JetBlue". She was just RUDE!

So, I called 1800 JetBlue. I talked to a representative. He told me that I would get a credit back to my credit card of "approximately $120.00". The representative told me to wait before I cancelled the last leg and took the credit. The representative suggested that I "explore my options" and then call back. I made my decisions based on the $120.00 credit. I rented a car and drove from JFK to RDU. 600 miles! The total of the rental car, tolls, and fuel was about $120.00.

I called back again to finalize the credit (while driving back from JFK to RDU). I was on the phone for 57 minutes. The representative I spoke to this time, told me she had to put me on hold to talk with a supervisor. While I was on hold, I was disconnected from the JetBlue end of the call. Then I called back and sat on hold another 45 minutes and then had to disconnect because I had a business phone call come in.

So I call back tonight to finalize the $120.00 credit. After being on the phone for another hour, I talked to a representative that told me my refund was $38. Not $120. I asked to speak to a supervisor. I was transferred to a Supervisor that was arrogant, talk to me in the most degrading manner. I was amazed that a supervisor would speak to a customer in this manner. I had him on speaker phone and my wife insisted that I hang up and not be talked to this way.

I stayed on the phone and the supervisor told me I was wrong and "so what that 2 of my employees told you the same thing, the only credit you can receive is $38." I tried to explain the calls, what I was told, and I was repeatedly interrupted by the supervisor. Bottom line was I will only get a $38 credit. This was my first flight with JetBlue and it will be my LAST! I also saw on this site that another lady had a very similar experience with JetBlue in regards to being told one price for a credit and then when the credit was issued, it was a much lower amount. Is this a trend?

Replies
Advertisement
JetBlue Never Again
By -

Just flew JetBlue for the first time. Granted the legroom was great but when it comes to what stands out about the flight, legroom isn't it. Their customer service from check in to exiting the plane is the worst I've ever experienced. To start off I have never taken so long to check in on a flight. It took close to fifteen minutes for the two of us to get our tickets. If it wasn't for everyone else taking so long to check people in, I would have believed the printer not printing properly or any other excuse given as the cause of us spending all that time at the counter.

When waiting at the gate we decided to recheck to see if there would be a meal served on the flight. This is because when booking the flight online we were asked what kind of meal we would prefer. However, before getting the answer I had to wait for the JetBlue employees to ignore me for several minutes while they conducted their personal conversation; only to then be confronted with an attitude.

So if you're wondering about the meal. No they were not going to serve a meal on the over four hour flight. As explained, it was a mistake on the site in which we bought the tickets; CheapOAir.com. Then came the gate change which was a mistake that they did not take the time to properly announce a correction for.

Now comes the second bag and body search at the gate right before getting on the flight. Since it isn't allowed to bring fluids into the airport we are forced to buy beverages inside the airport. So why were we told to throw out any beverage we did not finish before boarding? Were they all not bought at the airport? Then came the random body search. One of us (who is of a female body) was wearing a tank top and open oxford shirt. They were asked to remove their jacket and when it was pointed out that in fact it was a shirt, they were still asked to remove it and was then patted down. There was no space between the top and their skin, so really now?

If was a full flight and unfortunately we didn't get seats together. After sitting down in the middle of a row I realized my check in bag was too big to fit under the seat. One of the only two flight attendants on this Airbus A320 which seats 150 passengers sped by my seat and said the bag had to go under the seat in front of me. If she took a moment to listen she would have heard me say it couldn't. On her second pass by, she did take the time to hear me. She then proceeded to open the over head and say "we can put your bag up here". She then walked away. Now all my life I have known that we is not the same as you or I.

So I waited for her to do her pass by again. Remember I was sitting in the middle seat and didn't want to have the person in the aisle seat to have to move. When the flight attendant came back she said she was not going to put the bag up there for me and that I had to. So my question to her was why the "we". As far as getting headphones which you have to be charged two dollars for, by time the flight attendant got to you the movies were too far into them to actually make you want to watch them.

Then came the announcements that were coming from one of the pilots, flight attendants or want to be comedian that should definitely not give up their day job unless they are a flight attendant. After flying with JetBlue, which was my first and last time, I can see why they thought it okay to make a passenger sit on the toilet for their flight.

Replies
JetBlue, I'm Breaking Up With You
By -

Wow. I used to love JetBlue. I have recommended it to hundreds of people, since I've been flying JetBlue since 2 weeks after it went into business. But after tonight's two hours on the phone on hold and then finally with a very nice but ineffectual representative, I will be reevaluating my family's travel choices, and closing our JetBlue American Express cards. I will also open a formal complaint with American Express.

I called today (2/5/10) to redeem my remaining Old TrueBlue Award for a date five (5) months from today. I was told that there were no award seats available on the day I required, and that the closest days that had available seats on them were 4 days earlier or 4 days later! This, despite the fact that the vast majority of seats on the flight have not been booked!

It is obvious that JetBlue has drastically reduced the amount of seats it makes available for Old Awards, and thus the thousands of dollars I have spent, and that my wife (who has remaining Old Awards and Points) has spent, were spent in vain. The awards we were earning have now become useless. I feel so betrayed by JetBlue, and I am extremely disappointed that this company that I had so much respect for has shown that, despite my loyal and constant patronage for ten years, they have treated me and my family unfairly.

The only thing I could do was to book a return flight using the Old Award, but the issue remains as to how my wife and I will GET to Chicago for the charity fundraiser we are attending (and that we help to organize, recommending to dozens of others which airline to fly to get there -- we will certainly be reevaluating those recommendations). It will be impossible to reach the number of New Points required to earn a reward under the new system and it is unreasonable for us to have to, in effect, re-earn the awards that we already earned.

It is patently unfair and disingenuous for JetBlue to have changed the number of seats available on each flight so drastically while we still have awards that were earned with the reasonable expectation that if we tried to redeem them (5 months in advance! -- and on a weekday!) there would be award seats available, especially when the flight is currently mostly empty.

I requested to speak to a supervisor, and I was told that "everyone at this level is a supervisor", and that no one had the power to make award seats available on any flight. Surely this is not the case - the company is making the decision to severely limit award seats, despite the fact that their customers have been operating under the agreement that their loyal patronage and use of the JetBlue American Express card would result in a reasonable expectation of a return on that investment. I will now advise everyone I know and do business with that something has gone terribly wrong at this company, and it is to be avoided.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

JetBlue Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
98 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
JetBlue
118-29 Queens Blvd.
Forest Hills, NY 11375
800-538-2583 (ph)
718-709-3621 (fax)
www.jetblue.com
Product/Services Related Resources
Compare Airline Companies