Preview Review

Next Review

Key Bank USA Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Clearing A Check And Then Bouncing The Same Check, Huh?
By -

TAYLORSVILLE, UTAH -- Big Bank Vs the Little People. Alright here's the scenario. You live a modest life and generally budget yourself paycheck to paycheck. This isn'€™t because you choose to be this way but your current financial situation demands it. So there you are, it's the end of the month and once again time to pay the bills. Now have you ever seen the cartoon of the poor family that puts all their bills on little pieces of paper and put them in a hat? Well in the cartoon drawing the parents allow the kids to draw from the hat to see what bills get paid and in what order that month.

I used to not get the joke either, but seeing as I am still very early in my career and paying the penalties of past poverties, I truly understand that cartoon now. Anyway back to the point, there you are balancing your checkbook and deciding what bills to pay with what you have. The obvious and most immediate bill that must be paid is your rent or mortgage. So simple enough you write a check for $492.00 to pay your rent.

OK fine that's over with. Now you read the threatening letters and realize you are a month behind on your insurance. The letter reads "Pay now to avoid cancellation"€. Now that'€™s fine and dandy but since you are behind a month the insurance company insists you pay the full amount due of $330.00.

Wow, now you have a problem because you have exactly $137.34 left over, which would have covered your insurance just fine normally but again you must pay 2 months to stay insured. So what to do? Well previous experience has taught you that your rent check clears within 1-4 days. So you wait a few days and then mail out a check for the $330.00 and cross your fingers.

The hope is that the bank clears the check and nails you with an already high overdraft fee of $36.50. A few days later your roommate calls you to tell you that the rent check hit and went through just fine. Just to be sure you look online at your online statement. And read what'€™s below. I have even copied the statement information as best as I can without a column format. The statement reads.

11/10/2008..... Check............. Check#218................ $492.00............$137.34

Perfect, the rents clear, no problem right? OK, so later that day your insurance hits. So what happens? Well again here is a cut copy of the way that looks on your statement.

11/10/2008...Serv Charge..Tier3 Overdraft Item Charge...$36.50.........$-229.16

11/10/2008...Check......Check #184................................$330.00........$-192.66

11/10/2008...Check......Check #218................................$492.00........$137.66

.............................................................................................................$629.34

Alright, perfect, things worked out. And you get paid again in a few days so that negative 229.16 won't be a problem. You'€™re OK this month. All that ramen eating and careful budgeting of your gas has paid off! Well maybe not..

One week later you come home late from work to find a "3 days to pay or vacate" notice. "Wait a minute! WHAT? I know my rent check went through. I better double checked to be sure." You think in your head about the math and what your statement read. (629.34- 492.00= 137.34) Yup I remember. There must be mistake right? So what do you do? Well you go back to the source right? So you log in online and look at your statement. It still says the same things as above, but there'€™s more. Here'€™s another cut copy of this very same statement.

11/12/2008..Serv Chg....RETURN CHG: CHK 218 AMT 492.00.......36.50.......519.84

11/12/2008..Serv Chg....RETURN CHG: CHK 184 AMT 330.00.......36.50.......556.34

11/12/2008..Reversal.....REVERSE CHECK.....................................330.00......592.84

11/12/2008..Reversal.....REVERSE CHECK.....................................492.00.......262.84

11/10/2008..Serv Chg..TIER 3 OVERDRAFT ITEM CHARGE..36.50.................-229.16

11/10/2008..Check.......CHECK # 184................................330.00...............-192.66

11/10/2008..Check.......CHECK # 218................................492.00..................137.34

.......................................................................................................................629.34

OK now are you as confused as I am? Yeah you read it right. The bank bounced both checks. Now how can they do that? AHH WELCOME TO KEY BANK!

Now, for some more math. The apartment complex has assessed some late fees and penalties that you must pay 45.00 dollars for non-sufficient funds, 50.00 dollar late fee and since it's now the 7th 5.00 dollars a day fee since the 5th ($60.00). Totaling =155.00 dollars. Now the bank also has to have their piece of this. 36.50 For each check overdraft fee as they call it and 36.50 for return check fee as the call it. Yes, you heard me correct. Key bank not only bounces you when you do have money but charges you for overdraft and return. The terms themselves contradict. I mean which is it? Did you overdraft me or return my check?

Alright so let's assess the damage. 155.00 (for the apartment) + 140.00 (for the bank 36.50*4) total= 295.00 dollars in fees. Grand total for rent in November = 787.00 Oh and don't forget to pay within 3 days or be thrown out. Not to mention your insurance company is a whole other problem. Now I will admit fault in being short on my insurance, I took a chance and figured I would face the consequence with progressive. Never did I imaging this though. It makes no sense whatsoever. WHY? HOW? HUH? WTF?

So I made some phone calls. This is not the first time I have been screwed by Key Bank and this was not going to taken lightly. So I call 1-800-Key-2-You and spoke with a very pleasant woman named **. She looked over my account for a few minutes and then of course I had to ask "€œHow?€ How did this happen?" I half expected a standard crazy answer about how the tellers have a completely different view of my account and on her screen it makes absolute sense.

(Believe it or not this is the traditional answer and true even. What you see on your online statement is not reality! The tellers have an entirely different order to the way checks or debits come out of your account, thus explaining the reason why I got fees for nothing some time ago according to my online statement anyway.. Total ** but anyway) To my surprise she put me on hold to get her supervisor to explain this one to her. She even had the supervisors'€™ supervisor look at it, just to be sure. So would you like to hear the brilliant KEY Bank response to my dilemma? "€œWe have no idea how."€ Which of course brings you to another question.. "HUH?"€

So okay, fair enough. The bank made a mistake. Again! (Did I mention that if you put Cash in a Key Bank ATM after 3 pm on Friday and try to spend anything more than 100.00 dollars on Monday night after 9 pm you will be charged severely! Yep, you heard me right Key Bank takes 4 days to clear cash. And don't be fooled by your ATM receipt that says you have the funds available. That's how they getcha!) So where was I? Oh yeah the mistake. So the Bank call center headquarters out of Washington admits they have no idea how this happened.

"Apparently the branch where you opened your account reserves the right to refuse payment to any check they deem necessary. And the Taylorsville branch apparently has a blind check approval agent, cause other than that, not even the call center office can explain the error." They even explained to me that the bank actually did clear these checks and the branch reversed them. Which explains why your online statement when you click on the check description says the following about both checks. (Notice the part where it says date check cleared? Umm HUH?)

KEY EXPRESS CHECKING........................... Account ######
Check Number..............................................................218
Check Amount.......................................................$492.00
Date Check Cleared.........................................11/10/2008

KEY EXPRESS CHECKING........................... Account ######
Check Number..............................................................184
Check Amount.......................................................$330.00
Date Check Cleared.........................................11/10/2008

So what's the result of that call? "Well Since the call center that is created for solving problems with your account cannot do exactly that. You are going to have to wait." **, being the pro-motivated person she is, calls your branch and your apartment for you the next day. Cross your fingers, cause this going to go nowhere. The next day you get a call from **, who seems a bit frustrated. Apparently your branch has basically told her to butt out and pack sand in her **.

They inform her that the branch certainly made no such mistake and will look into it, but even ** knows that means she will do nothing of the sort. (Some customer oriented service huh?) And for all the fees. well you'€™re told you will need to probably sue the bank to see those again.

So what can you do now? To be honest I have to give the same answer ** first gave me. "I have no idea." But I feel something needs to be said. Of course I have set up a Credit Union Account where hopefully I never run into this again.

BTW their overdraft fee is 18.00 and it only is charged once. I asked.. And yes I called the Key Bank Executive Client Requisition office to report some of my many problems with Key Bank. But what else? Well that is why I am writing this letter. Hopefully to warn off those thinking about joining a new Bank. I warn you. Learn from my mistake. And if my words are not enough then listen to some of the hundreds of others with similar problems. Listed on this website. Best of luck, Another Rape Victim of Key Bank

Replies
Advertisement
Watch Out
By -

If you have a Key Bank account and use online banking watch your account like a hawk. First problems with Key's online billpay service is the fact there is a huge delay when payments are actually sent. Even though Key claims they will send a payment, they actually wait 5 days before it's sent but they take out the money the second you schedule the payment. So for 5 days your money sents in their accounts collecting interest, then they electronical send the payment. FRAUD FRAUD FRAUD. The most serious problem I have with them is they have been caught red handed back dating cleared items.

It started back in April when they deliberately failed to credit a direct deposit. They claimed they never received it, when they were presented with actually direct deposit receipt, rather than researching the payment and giving up the nearly 27 overdrafts at 39 a pop, they decided to return the money to the sender. They actually claimed no such account, even though they had been accepting them every week for 3 years. Called the executive office and faxed them the info and representative confirmed fax was received and the representative said she would get right on this.

Two weeks later now in May, noticed another new trick. Back dating posted items. I use online banking daily, so I was shocked to start seeing items which apparently posted on the 5th not actually show up as posted items until the 9th or the 10th. When you have two debit cards and do not always know what was spent by your wife online banking is a must to balance your check book. What was classic was on the 11th went to make sure direct deposit had cleared and poof 5 overdrafts. On Friday night, there was not pending activity, and a balance of $29.30.

According to Key's records there had been 5 items charged on my wife's debit card for a totally of $39.25. Three of these charges showed posting on the 7th and 2 on the 8th. About noon I went the branch for a explanation. The branch manager told me that these payments were done which I was not going to dispute. I asked her point blank, "How accurate is the online side?" She told me "it was very accurate and is updated constantly."

Fine with me, so I whipped out the printed account summary for the everyday for the last week and said "then explain how charges posted to the account on the 7th and 8th but did not reflect as posted items until today the 11th. Please explain why there are 4 overdrafts when actually only one of the charges overdrew the account? Please explain how you were charging overdrafts when the account was positive?" "Obviously it was a bank error." she said. OK cool 4 overdrafts waived. On Wednesday I receive the overdraft notices in the mail. They do no match the ones directly printed from the website. Even the overdraft items are different.

I ignored it because they had been refunded. June 1st rolls around. Everything is fine until the weekend, when a whole bunch of overdrafts show up, this time from the 1st. They claim that the posted items came in before the direct deposit. These items were are normal payments like mortgage, car payments etc which are all paid through their bill pay service. They claimed that these payments were scheduled before they received the direct deposit. I absolutely lost it with the agent. I told her this was BS and something wrong.

I went online and filed a complaint with Comptroller of Currency on June 6th. On June 24th, I received a call from someone who claimed to be in their legal department. She politely told me that matter was no longer something that they would discuss, and if I called back about it they would terminate our accounts. I decided to change banks, but due to processing time of changing over direct deposit, the first direct deposit into the new account would be July 6th. OK done. So I pay all my bills has usually July 1st through Key. According the online statement, I have exactly $319 left in the account as of July 2nd. I am going to transfer the money directly to the new account.

Come Monday the 11th I write the last check from key and deposit it at the new bank. July 14th, get a notice from new bank saying my deposit was returned. Call Key Bank, I am politely told that the account was closed on July 1st. They tell me I have a check at the branch for 1487.25. I said that is not right, the available balance was 319 as of the July 11th. These dirty rotten scum eaters had stopped all payments in the billpay system. On top of that I now have 5 returned check fees from the creditors plus a missing $197.68 from a debit card refund.

Replies
Customer Service - Account Closing
By -

FORT DRUM, NEW YORK -- OK, approx Dec 16th I reported my debit card stolen to Key Bank. So far no problem, they sounded like it would take a while, but that I would get my money back. Now, when my debit card was stolen, I was wiped clean, and had to go through a very stressful and LONG process to apply for what they call "provisional credit" just so that I would have money for the Christmas holidays. By the time I finally got the credit, which was the 22nd or 23rd, it was late, but it was a load lifted off my shoulders. Now, all I needed was my debit card, so I called and inquired as to a tracking number or something to see if it was possible to get to me before Christmas.

I finally asked them where they sent the debit card. This part really frustrates me. When I filed the complaint I requested the new debit card be sent to a specific TX address. I have told them this literally via phone, in person at the branch, and email, all of which were acknowledged and no problem. OK back to the story, so they of course sent it to my NY address that I would not be at for Christmas leave, so I call and complain, they actually do the right thing and rush me a new card with next day service. So here is where everything gets worse, I get my card right before Christmas, and I activate my account, and I really thought this ordeal was just about over.

Oh no it has just started. I proceed to an ATM to make a withdrawal, DENIED, then I call up the bank and ask them if there was a block, they said yes because I was in TX not NY. I don't understand why they did that b/c they SENT IT TO TX not NY. Perhaps this is an automatic thing, but no big deal. So they call the branch to remove the block and I was told by Jenna at fort Drum, that the block would be removed later that day. Again frustrating but no problem. So I go out with my friends around 8 pm and again go to the ATM, DENIED. The bank is now closed until after Christmas. So they have successfully ruined my Christmas.

When I was finally able to get a hold of them today, I was shocked. I was told that they could not unlock the account because of the fraud on the card, and nothing could change that, no amount of identification, nothing only me coming in to the branch, and Jenna had no remorse for my ruined Christmas. I asked if they were going to call me and tell me this, and she said she was going to, my only question is when, it had been about 4 days since she said my account would be unblocked.

So I give it one last ditch effort and call and complain to her again, a little more desperately now because I have to buy a plane ticket home. She said she will talk to her security adviser and call me back at the end of the day. Now they close at 500. I hadn't received a call yet and it was 4:50 pm. I call back and speak to Jenna who calmly as possible now says that she spoke to the representative at noon (still never called me back like she promised) and they came to the outrageous decision TO CLOSE MY ACCOUNT!

I am absolutely stunned, I was told I have 10 days to retrieve my funds, normally I would be upset and want to find out why, because this is just extreme, but I am so angry and fed up with the bank I was going to close my account with them anyway. And of course I cannot close it until I go into the branch when I get back from leave, the first time I would have been able to touch my funds in about a month. Key Bank, from the bottom of my heart I sincerely thank you for absolutely ruining my Christmas holiday and proving to me that it meant absolutely nothing to you. It was obviously so routine for you guys to screw the little man, that you just blew me off.

Replies
Key Bank's Automatic Harassment for Overdue Accounts
By -

BELLINGHAM, WASHINGTON -- I have been receiving phone calls twice a day for eight months from a Key Bank collector. Unfortunately, these callers do not appear to share/exchange information with each other because I find myself repeating my scenario over and over again ad nauseam. My problem began when PayPal attempted to withdraw funds from my Key Bank account. (Somehow PayPal defaulted momentarily to a bank account I had used five years ago). I was notified in January of 2007 of a problem which had occurred in December of 2006. I was being charged 35.00 by Key Bank for every time PayPal tried to get money from my defunct account.

It was being labeled an NSF charge. PayPal tried to access my account for almost a week (twice a day) before reverting to a back-up credit card. When I realized what was happening I contacted PayPal. They recognized they had accessed an old account, put it into writing that they made the mistake, but they were about to cover any finance charges incurred. I was most concerned with Key Bank's response as I had informed Key Bank (Fall of 2006) to close my account and informed them I had destroyed my bank card.

When I questioned why I was receiving banking charges on a closed account, Key Bank informed me the account was 'open' and could not be closed as there was pending activity (PayPal attempts). I was informed that my account needed to be paid before they could properly close it again. Like a fool I went ahead (March 2007) and paid the NSF charges (now over $300.00) that I had been charged by the bank for PayPal's unauthorized attempts. I paid after I realized that Key Bank was not going to accept any responsibility for this situation. I thought if I paid first, I could recoup the funds at a later date.

Imagine my surprise when I started getting telephone calls in August of 2007. My Key Bank 'delinquent account' had been forwarded to a collection agency for unpaid fees. I told them (collection) I didn't have an account and everything had been settled in March/07. I also mentioned that Key Bank probably owed me money. I have been receiving phone calls - starting with the automated dialing and then a person comes on demanding my personal information prior to continuing. At first I was accommodating, explaining over and over the situation. Then I became angry - refusing to give out information over the phone.

I demanded detailed bank statements as I hadn't received a bank statement since November of 2006. The statements I received show no activity aside from a finance charge that keeps growing. It appears that the amount I paid in March did not convert into the full amount Key Bank felt I owed them. (I paid using Canadian funds via certified cheque which included the conversion amount for the date). My deposit slip is marked 'paid in full/account closed' by the cashier as I asked her to. Now the bank is stating that after the conversion, I still owed over $13.00. To date, I now owe close to $400.00 (according to Key Bank and collectors).

The other day, while sorting out my files, I came across my original receipt from last year's payment. Yes! (People - a reminder to not throw out any proof of payment.) When I informed Key Bank I had my proof of payment and even felt that they probably owed me, they want ME to send them the receipt and statement (original please) for that month/time period. I am to send copies to my original bank, the collector's office, as well as Key Bank's head office. And I do not want to! Even if I do this, I will still have a negative credit rating because of this incident. My question is, shouldn't they already have my payment on file?

Why do I have to run around photocopying, register mailing Key Bank to prove I don't owe them money. Why aren't they sending me information to prove I DO owe them money? Can this American bad credit listing come across the border and register on the Canadian bad credit listings? I have managed for all this time not to incur bad debt, and now this? How can collectors not have anything on their computer to refer to or answer questions with? (For example, when I asked them to tell me the date of my last Key Bank transaction - to prove I wasn't using the account at the time of the PayPal incident.)

They couldn't tell me anything about my banking activity as they didn't have any information. Finally, how does Key Bank justify this rabid dog response to collecting for finance charges? Is this really Key Bank or is this some collection agency? Is it even advisable to give any personal information (they won't continue with their call if I don't give personal information and they become abusive if I hesitate.) I don't even answer their questions anymore. They're the ones who called me so why should I give out my social security number?

My credit rating has its first official 'blemish' and Key Bank continues with their twice a day calls (as soon as I hear the automated click I hang up.) They have spent more in long distance calls than they ever would have collected for what 'I owe'. Advice?

Replies
Advertisement
Problem After Problem
By -

I have had NUMEROUS problems (the last one being the WORST!) with Key Bank ever since I opened my account 5 months ago. Now I'm counting down the days till I can close my account (6-month waiting period) and open one with a more reliable, cooperative, and customer friendly bank.

Problem 1: When opening my account I was never made aware of the $1 fee for getting a receipt with ATM transactions. I was advised when I was opening my account and go my card to go make sure I checked to see that it worked before I left. So of course I took this advice, it seemed like a good idea.

A few days later I set up my online banking and noticed a $1 service charge. I had to go into the bank to find out what it was for and when I told them what happened they said "Well, ** is with a client right now, maybe you could come back tomorrow when we aren't as busy." Needless to say I didn't go back because the cost of gas would completely defeat getting the $1 back but to think about how many times they could do this and come out with quite a profit.

Problem 2: When I opened my account I was 17 and a few months later turned 18. My mom had been on my account and they told me all I'd have to do is go in and tell them I wanted to remove her from the account... no problem. I asked questions to be sure that this was clear that that's ALL it took but no.

So the time came... and I went to Key Bank (away from home) and told them I wanted to take her off my account. They started claiming I needed her there with me and that there was nothing I could do. I couldn't even get papers to fill out, send her to sign and bring back. She HAD to be with me. Yet... she went to the Key Bank at home and got papers, sent them to me, it took one signature, sent them back, and she was able to do all that WITHOUT me there. They claim because of different state regulations, yet they never told me that when I opened the account and asked question after question to verify the simplicity.

Final Problem: I deposited a personal check of a relative's into my account. I had my # on the back of the check for the deposit to. I waited about a week, knowing that banks usually take a few days to process things (even though it was off of the same bank). Nothing had shown up. That's when I realized the #s on my receipt were different from my acct #! They had taken the number from the front of the check to deposit the money into. Luckily I have contact with the person the check was from, otherwise I could have been out a large sum of money. Key Bank has disappointed me way too often and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking to open an account.

Replies
First Bank Experience with Key Bank=Back to the Credit Union
By -

I am 18 years old. I opened my first checking account with Key Bank in July of 2010. It is October so it has been 3 months. In these 3 months I have never been so pissed. They charge me with overdraft fees every chance they get and hold MY checks as if it is theirs. When I withdraw money from my account it seems every time my check is on hold and they charge me with more overdraft fees. I called customer service and explain to them multiple problems I have been having and he said he would call me back to take a hold of one of my recent checks. He called me back at work saying that I would be able to access my funds that day.

I withdraw $300 and use my debit card at Walgreens. They still charged me $116 in overdraft fees even when a representative from Key Bank told me it was alright to access my funds. I'm paying my fees tomorrow and I am canceling my debit card. I am never putting my money anywhere near Key Bank again. I am going back to my credit union, where I never had any problems. But I am not whatsoever done with fighting Key Bank. I know other banks are doing it too. Please join my Facebook page ** to make notice of these unfair actions banks are doing to Americans everyday.

Replies
Key Bank Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I received a call on my cell phone. It was an automated message stating that my Key Bank debit card had been locked for security purposes. As I do not have a Key Bank debit card, I assumed it was a mistake. The automated voice instructed me to press “1” to have my card unlocked or “2” to disconnect. Wanting to speak with someone, I pressed “1”. I was then prompted to enter my 16 digit debit card number followed by the “#” sign. Believing this to be a scam, I hung up.

When I called the number back, an automated voice said “no one is available to take your call” and hung up. I looked up the phone number on the internet and found that it is a number associated with a mortgage scam. As I do have a student loan with Key Bank, I feared that my information might be compromised. I called Key Bank and explained what had happened. The “customer service” representative requested my full Social Security number. I told him that I was calling to report a phone scam and asked what my social security number had to do with anything. He told me that he could not take my report unless I would provide him with my social security number.

Frustrated, I asked to speak with a supervisor. After reaching a supervisor, I again explained what had happened. He asked me for my phone number. I gave him my phone number and he stated that I didn't have a debit card with Key Bank. Again, I explained that I did not have a debit card with Key Bank, only a student loan, and that is how I knew it was a scam.

At this point he pulls up my student loan account and asks me if I'd ever filed bankruptcy! I explained to this idiot that I had indeed filed bankruptcy following my divorce, but asked him what that possibly had to do with someone running a phone scam, pretending to be Key Bank. Then he asked me if I had spoken with their legal department regarding my bankruptcy. Disgusted, I requested that he just transfer me over to the fraud department so that I could make a report. He did transfer me and after 15 minutes on hold, I hung up.

Replies
Customer service
By -

OLYMPIA, WASHINGTON -- Key bank charged my daughter account inactivity fees without our consent. We have this Key Bank checking account for over 3 years. My daughter uses this account to get cash for the minor expense. My daughter hardly took money out because she does not need to. There are no account inactivity fee until around April of 2009. The Key bank kept charging monthly us inactivity fees since April except last two months (because we have account activities.)

They said they sent the disclosure statement for fee structures and monthly statements. We did not receive the statements or disclosure statement for fee change. Somehow the Key Bank mailing system screw up and they did not send us any communication or statement. Until today, we still not receive the statements.

So I went to Olympia, WA branch talked to my concerns around 12/27/09, the customer service manager told me nothing she could do about. I talked to her since she did not able to help me. I requested her branch manager. She said he is on vacation and will ask him to call me 1/12/10. I waited for his phone call. I did not get the call. So I went to the Olympia bank and she still intimidated me and went around not going to refund the inactivity fees.

My analysis and conclusion: 1. They are not interesting to learn why the customer did not receive the statement and correct. If I am a Key Bank employee, my take will be how to correct this problem (not getting statement) from the customer, so I can report it to the system office to correct. In the end Key Bank will solve future problems like this.
2. They are instructed not to refund any fees.

  1. The customer service manager does not know every details. She gave me wrong information and kept explaining to me dormant fee which is totally different. I told her to pull the fee. the paper has no inactivity fees. 4. They don't follow up (manager never call me back as they promised).

  2. Robbing money from the student account. I have no problem with charging fee. but you have to disclosure what you going to charge. Do not assume everyone will receive the letter. This is stealing or robbing without consent. I am not sure other banks also. 6. After I raised the issue, it seems like they want me to close the account.

I hope Key Bank CEO or customer service read this review. I am very unhappy that they rob our money. I am very sad that the reputable company will do such a thing and not care for the customers. I don't have power to fight except to close the account.

Replies
Advertisement
Stolen Key Bank Master Card
By -

I have been a faithful customer with Key bank for over 20 years and have NEVER reported a stolen card. Wednesday my wallet was taken and I found out immediately when I went to purchase an item. I jumped into a cab and within 40 minutes I was home called Key bank and had my credit card closed. The representative from the Key Bank site said that the three items purchased after 9:30 pm Nov 11 when the wallet was taken (over $1300) would be credited back to my account and I could see online that they were.

Three days later I notice on my account summary that those charges are back on my account and that the dates of their purchase were changed as well!! I received no notice from Key and had been feeling secure having talked with the representative and reading online the "0 % liability clause on their website for theft of cards once reported." BEWARE this is NOT TRUE EVERYONE!!

I next spoke to a manager on the Key bank site who said that the funds were under dispute and it would take 10 days to know what the outcome was. I asked if I would have been told about this if I had not noticed on my online statement? I pointed out that no such procedure for theft of cards or disputes of theft (nor email addresses for such an agency) was articulated on the key website. He didn't seem to think that that was odd. He gave me the email address of the dispute center and told me to tell them the amounts and dates everything that they could easily see on my account summary.

It never seemed like anyone would have ever contacted me! I would not have done any of this had I not called and talked at length to a Manager in charge. Long story short.. I had my card stolen, I learned that with Key Bank I have no rights nor is there any written procedures as to how to proceed beyond word of mouth. Key bank needs to become transparent with such policies and given my experience folks would wisely choose to ask these tough questions before they choose to bank with Key.

Replies
Do NOT sign up for Continental Miles Debit Card if not going to use it!!!
By -

Back in February last year, I signed up for the Continental Miles Debit Card program with Key. The customer service representative had told me it was like a $30 annual fee and I could cancel anytime I wanted. What she did not tell me was that the fee, regardless of when you cancel, is NON-REFUNDABLE! Now, fast forward to May 28, 2010. Key took the $30 annual fee out of my account and I called them on June 1 to cancel. The representative told me it was non-refundable even though the fee was from May 28, 2010 until May 28, 2011.

After placing me on hold and supposedly "speaking to her supervisor" (which I doubt she even did) she came back and told me "Sorry, I wasn't able to help you. My supervisor told me it is not refundable." She asked me several times if I was sure I wanted to cancel, because I was already paid up for the year. No, I was paid-up for all of 3 days.

I explained to her that it is theft, that the bank is keeping my money for a service I am not going to even be using and asked her, "What if you paid in advance at a gas station for gas and never used it, yet the gas station told you they were still keeping your money?" The representative was speechless, she didn't want to answer me, probably because she knew the answer and didn't want to say it because she was maybe being recorded.

Long story short, I never used the miles, having left for school abroad for all of 2009. Now I am sitting here $30 poorer (technically, my mom is) while Key Bank is sleeping just fine at night getting rich off people like me. Oh and I'm unemployed too. Thanks mom for spotting me the $30!! DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THIS PROGRAM IF YOU WILL NOT USE IT. The only reason I am keeping this bank account open is because it looks good on my credit report...trust me, I would have closed it!!

The best part was, I had e-paid a tuition bill earlier that morning. The representative said I could put through a stop-payment on it for $34, but there was no guarantee it would go through and I could still have an overdraft fee on my account for $35 plus the cost of the tuition bill plus the cost of the stop-payment. WTF? I hypothetically could have been negative almost five times the cost of the stop-payment!!! Thanks for the help, Key Bank.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Key Bank USA Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 16 ratings and
78 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Key Bank USA
Corporate Office - Cleveland District
127 Public Square, 7th Floor
Cleveland, OH 44114
1-800-539-2968 (ph)
www.key.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks