Preview Review

Next Review

LA Fitness Memberships Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
LA Fitness in Denton, Texas
By -

1350 SOUTH LOOP 288, DENTON, TEXAS -- My wife purchased me a membership and personal training sessions at LA Fitness in Denton, Texas on December 7th, 2010. At that time she was charged as follows: *$146.12 for initial membership fee, *$222 for personal training set up and first month. She was then billed for these additional sums: *$32.46 on January 5th, 2010 for another month of membership fees.

On January 14th, 2010 I visited the LA Fitness in Denton for my first trainer session which was to include a fitness assessment. When I arrived for my appointment the trainer was sleeping. I woke him up at his desk and he took me over to begin working out on weights. I asked him for a tour since I had never been to the facility. He took me on a tour. He did not know the locker policy for the facility. He then took me over to do some free weights. I told him that I should receive a fitness assessment first. He said he could not do the assessment, and that the proper trainer to do it was not there. He then said I needed a trainer booklet, but could not locate one to give me.

He said, "That's corporate fitness for you. Corporate fitness sucks." I asked what he meant by that. He stated, "LA Fitness fired me from the Lewisville store. The Denton facility was opened too early and we don't even have a scale to weigh you on for the assessment, or the booklet you are supposed to receive." He then was given permission to give me the fitness assessment on my next visit, even though he stated that he was not officially allowed to administer assessments. When I arrived home, I contacted his supervisors and spoke with them about getting a refund as I did not feel comfortable patronizing LA Fitness in Denton after this experience.

My wife spoke with '**' and '**,' both fitness trainer supervisors. Both indicated that they would not refund any money. *$172.00 on January 19th, 2010 we were billed for another month of trainer fees. *$32.46 on March 1st, 2010 when my wife received threatening phone calls requesting that we pay for another month of membership or we would be have 'credit problems.' My wife stated, again, that she wanted the membership cancelled and our money refunded. LA Fitness refuses to refund ANY moneys.

Replies
Advertisement
Think Before Complaining
By -

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I have been a member of LA Fitness in Atlanta for several months now and am truly surprised at all the bad reviews I see especially about Pro Results. Granted there are going to be unscrupulous fitness trainers and salesmen wherever you go but no offense I have to wonder about some of the circumstances regarding cancellation and was it really that hard. I was also approached about the personal training by the young manager of Pro Results who was somewhat pushy.

But even I have to admit he knew what he was talking about. And was very friendly and professional and even offered a trial basis making it very easy for me to cancel as at the time I really didn't think personal training would benefit me and didn't feel a male trainer would understand where I was coming from.

When I cancelled I got my money back no problems and was not charged any further. All my experiences with LA Fitness ProResults the staff have been nothing but friendly and professional with the LA Fitness manager never failing to ask me how I'm doing and inquiring on my results. I recently met with a female member of ProResults who did not attempt to pressure me into anything was very happy to address my concerns, including my phobia of weight training because I don't want to bulk up.

She showed me the machines I needed to use, outlined a plan, and even said that I may not need personal training if I knew I could stick to it and totally understood my monetary concerns and advised me to think about it. Just to be sure due to all the horror stories I read, I checked my account and saw no other charge than my usual membership fee. LA Fitness or ProResults has not been dishonest, rude or unprofessional with me at any time. They adhere to any of the terms they put in writing on the contract (I still got my copy) and have been very helpful with my long term goals. So in the event heaven forbid I do cancel it will be because of me and not them.

P.S. I am NOT an employee of either entity. BTW I have been a member since 24 Jan 2009.

Replies
LA Fitness Ripped Me Off
By -

PLANO, TEXAS -- According to my contract with LA Fitness, I would pay $115 initially for my enrollment fee on or about November 29, 2005, with the remainder of the fee - $111.22 - to be paid no later than January 31, 2006. On my December 19 visit to LA Fitness, they mentioned I still had the $111.22 due, and I paid the sum in full. On or about January 25, the salesman who I purchased my account from (**) left a phone message saying I had a balance due still. I called him and left a message stating I had paid the balance in full previously. He did not respond. On February 1, my credit card was charged an extra $111.22 by LA Fitness.

I called LA Fitness on February 2, 2006 requesting information regarding the charge, and was told that I would need to speak to Alex regarding the charge, and that he had transferred to the McKiney store and would contact me. After receiving no response, I contacted LA Fitness a second time, when I was asked to bring a receipt for the payments, despite the fact they were able to tell me on the phone exactly when I made both payments. I then physically provided LA Fitness with statements reflecting both charges, and was told I would be contacted regarding a refund. I have did not received any refund or information regarding my account.

After filing a report with the Better Business Bureau, LA Fitness refunded my credit card for $111.22 on 04/04/2006, however illegally charged my credit card *AGAIN* for $111.22 on 04/10/2006. All the calls that I've made to the corporate office have gone unreturned (Specifically I was told to contact **), and the manager at the local gym says he cannot help, as billing is handled at their corporate office. LA Fitness has been holding my $111.22 hostage for nine fricking months now. I'm in the midst of another process with the BBB, or else I'm calling a fricking lawyer.

Replies
Don't Let Them Scam You When Cancelling Your Membership!
By -

ANDORRA, PENNSYLVANIA -- I was able to cancel my month-to-month membership immediately! They told me I'd have to get a form from the club or print it out from their website and mail it in. (Apparently, this is in the original contract when you sign up!) I told them that that wasn't acceptable, since my next billing was going to be in 5 days. I tried calling the 800-number but the member services option didn't work. So I went to the club and the manager dialed someone from the phone on the reception desk. Great move, since anyone coming in could hear what I said.

I asked the representative to tell me what number I could call in the future for member services - she wouldn't! After I refused the snail mail option, she told me that she could process the cancellation over the phone, but that it would take 5 days, and since today was the 23rd and my next billing was the 28th... wait for it... I would have to pay another month! I told her I'd tell my credit card company to reject any future charges from them.

Finally, she told me to talk to "Brian" at the gym, who would cancel my membership. Who's he? The guy sitting at the other end of the reception desk. Would she need to talk to him to let him know? He's been listening to the call the whole time! Creepy! That would explain why she kept saying "Yes" and "OK" on the phone, but not in response to me. So he cancels my membership, effective immediately, as easy as pie, and sends me an e-mail confirmation on the spot.

Oh, and the gym? There are no towels, the classes were often overfilled. I often had to wait for equipment, and one of the trainers kept bothering me and others in the middle of our workouts to sign up with him for a free training session. And half of their free training session is a sales pitch. Ugh!

Replies
Advertisement
LA Fitness - incompetent management and lies
By -

HAMDEN, CONNECTICUT -- It is true that the facilities are probably the best in the area (which admittedly blinds LA Fitness' members for a while), but the management is beyond terrible. I have been a member there for 3 years and am finally canceling after being drug through the mud one too many times. I have had a series of problems, mostly related to billing and overcharging. For example, I purchased training throughout my membership and have been inappropriately charged over $2000. That is correct....$2000 - all of it due to employee mistakes.

I tried for 5 consecutive months to stop the monthly billing so that I would quit accruing training sessions, but each time being assured the billing would stop. However, it never did. Not only was none of that money refunded (as was promised on several occasions), I was also inappropriately charged a membership enrollment fee for becoming a member (almost $200) when I had already been a member for three years. This was the result of the current manager deliberately lying to me! He has since tried to cover it up, although I feel pretty confident that everyone knows he lied straight to my face and was not even man enough to admit he lied or had made a mistake.

This is not an isolated incident; I have dealt with 4-5 different managers, a series of training managers, and each time there is a problem the person I am speaking to directs me to someone else or makes a promise they cannot keep. LA Fitness corporate offices are even more awful. The moral of the story is: DON'T GO TO LA FITNESS. However, if you are going to go to this gym, make sure you check you credit card statements each month very very carefully. Do not purchase training - just go to the free classes. Try to avoid signing up for any recurring monthly charges. LA Fitness is much more into scamming customers than into helping them stay/become healthier.

Watch for hidden fees, etc. and make sure to get absolutely EVERYTHING in writing and take down the name of the person you talk to regarding any disputes even if you feel stupid doing it. Based on my experience, it is much more likely that you will feel much more stupid for not having demanded it! Employees often say they will deliver messages, contact a supervisor, etc and do not. As a result of the ineptitude of the LA Fitness management staff, there is never a paper trail and the members get screwed. It is unfortunate that a company treats its members so terribly, but I guess that is part of the problem with monopolies.

Replies
Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

My local club got bought out and I went in to get transferred over, I was treated like a outcast by the front desk staff. When I asked to speak to the manager, a man named ** came out and was very rude. He first said he could help me and said I had to take my complaints up with my former club that was going out of business. When I asked to speak to his superior, he refused and said he only reports to the owner and his contact information is not available. LA Fitness need to hire more professional, competent, and courtesy people to provide an inviting and friendly first impression for new and confused customers.

Replies
WORST CANCELLATION POLICY EVER
By -

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- They seem to deliberately make it difficult for people to cancel their membership. I called my local gym to cancel my membership and was told I needed to fill out a cancellation form and mail it to the gym. They said the form could be downloaded from their website or I could pick one up in person. I tried downloading it but either the site was not working or my account was not working. I called on the phone to obtain a cancellation form and was told I needed to come in person and speak to only the manager, who by the way does not work evenings or weekends. I work regular hours like most people, so how was I supposed to come in and meet the manager in person?

I finally got some free time and went in to see the manager, who told me that I did not need any special cancellation form and that I could have just sent a simple letter in the mail!! Well all of this process took 2 weeks and I have now been billed for another month's membership!! The manager refused to refund this month's charges, stating that their cancellation policy is "clearly outlined" in my membership contract. Really? The contract that I signed 2 years ago?

Why didn't any of the LA Fitness people who I spoke with on the phone multiple times in the past few weeks just tell me to mail a letter? Why did they keep redirecting me to the manager? My guess is they deliberately gave me the run-around in order to delay or prevent my canceling. It's a scam, IMHO.

Replies
High pressure sales tactics
By -

LAKE WORTH, FLORIDA -- I just left the most unbelievable sales pitch I have ever witnessed in my entire life. After entering the LA Fitness sales center in Lake Worth Florida. I was greeted by an eager sales person who began to ask the usual questions and give the usual sales pitch. I was up front with the sales person and indicated that I currently have a membership and gave him the price I was currently paying. ($19.95 a month) His response was we can probably come close to that. Well after listening to him go on with his presentation he wasn't in the ball park. That's when the manager got involved.

He did present an offer that was enticing but of course I had to sign up today. I wanted to think about it and told him of my intentions. Again he said the deal was only for today. My response was I was sure if I came back he could match the offer. (You would think they could use the business) I just wanted to make sure it was something I wanted to commit to. When I refused to do the deal right then and there the manager began to get vulgar. Profanities began to spew from his mouth. The worst part it was in front of my 16 year old daughter. For such a large corporation I cannot believe the lack of professionalism this person showed.

Replies
Advertisement
What I Had To Do To Cancel My Member Ship With LA Fitness
By -

POWAY, CALIFORNIA -- As anyone knows that has tried to cancel a membership with LA Fitness, it is damn near impossible to do. If you call the corporate headquarters, expect to be "€œaccidentally" hung up on when they are transferring you. Also expect rude customer service agents, and nothing but the runaround. After three months of this crap, I was forced to close my bank account and open a new one so they could not withdraw money from me. Within a week, I got a letter in the mail saying they were unable to process my payment. Because that children, and women may be reading this, I won't tell you what I told them to do with the next letter they sent me.

Bottom line, I think this is the only way to get them from taking money from your account when it is clear that you are trying to cancel your membership.

Replies
Being Cheated
By -

I've read nightmare stories about canceling LA Fitness memberships. At first I could not understand why people were having such a hard time canceling their memberships. It's as simple as filling out a form, placing it in an envelope, throwing a stamp on it and dropping it in the box. Approx. 3 weeks after doing so, I have not heard from LA Fitness and am getting the usual runaround every time I call. "We have no record of your forms on file." (Exactly the line from the nightmare stories.) The member services rep says, "It usually takes about 2 weeks to get here and process."

Two weeks from NJ to CA via snail mail, and for someone to open it and push a few buttons in the computer to cancel auto billing. (Could this not be done over the phone? VIA fax?) The form doesn't even require a signature.
There's no way to prove it because it's been shipped standard USPS. (For all I know it could have been lost/not processed yet/placed in the garbage.) So last week, I re-send the forms via CERTIFIED Mail so I know when it gets there.

To avoid being charged another month for an already cancelled membership, I freeze my account over the phone. I figured if I'm going to lose money $10 is better than $34. Several days later, they call me up to update my credit card info but I refuse. Later that day, I call to inquire the status of my account and it's magically active. How about that? What a mess.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

LA Fitness Memberships Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 6 ratings and
40 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
LA Fitness
P.O. Box 54170
Irvine, CA 92619-1300
(949) 255-7200 (ph)
www.lafitness.com
Product/Services
Compare Health/Fitness Companies