LA Fitness - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 26 ratings and
164 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
LA Fitness
P.O. Box 54170
Irvine, CA 92619-1300
(949) 255-7200 (ph)
Compare Health/Fitness Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Discrimination, TERRIBLE customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PORTLAND, OREGON -- I attempted to use Kid Klub services at LA fitness last night and was told my membership didn't include this. The guy who signed me up a few days prior, **, never mentioned this to me. Nonetheless he comes over to explain that it costs extra per month to use those services and that he told me about those fees and that I declined. It was 7:30 P.M. and I had only 30 minutes to work out before the Kids Klub closed. I arrived with my kids and obviously wouldn't had done so if I knew that I didn't have this service. I explained to ** that he didn't mention any of this to me during my sign up on Saturday, April 28, 2012.

He persisted that he told me. I reminded him that I even asked him what the kids klub hours were during my sign up and he gave me the sheet with the hours on it. I had received no further information. He left me in the lobby of LA fitness to speak with general manager and I could hear him telling the general manager about how he told me all of this and how he was right and I was wrong. I walked over to their desk thinking they were going to take care of things or move forward with the issue but no, we basically argued over what he told me and what I heard from him on Saturday.

The conversation then moves over to cancellation and I was handed a form and told they weren't going to assist me further and calling the police. Point is: They called the police, canceled my membership and told me that I wouldn't be receiving a refund of any amounts paid on my account which consisted of first and last months membership fees of approximately $60-65.00 because they claim I breached my contract by arguing with ** in front of other patrons.

Ideally the situation would have gone down like this: Hey **, sorry for this misunderstanding, let's get you signed up real quick so you can hit that work out tonight. I can take care of the information for you while you hustle in the gym. To be honest, that's all I was looking for. Someone to take care of the problem and let me go work out. Instead, I was called a liar by **, store manager (male) and receptionist (male).

If You Require Medical Assistance You Better Have Your Cell Phone Handy
By -

I have been a member of various gyms for many years and am in good shape and good health. After a Yoga class at LA Fitness I became extremely dizzy upon attempting to sit up. I laid back down and waited a minute, but as soon as I started to sit up the room literally began to spin. Several women in the class noticed I was in distress and came to my aid. Since it was very warm in the room, they brought me a cold compress and water which I was unable to sit up to drink. One woman went out to the desk to ask for help. An employee came in, asked me what I had for breakfast and left.

Several minutes later, and not feeling any better, a classmate again went out to the front desk and requested they call an ambulance since it was becoming obvious that I was not going to get up and walk out of there on my own as much as the employees might have hoped. A different front desk person came into the room and asked me what I had for breakfast and offered me orange juice. I told him I did not have low blood sugar and did not think drinking OJ would be a good idea at that point. He tried to pull me up by my arms but I became extremely dizzy again and had to beg him to let go of my arms.

Several more minutes passed and my classmate went to the desk to see where the ambulance was - and found out they had not called one. At that point, after three employees coming in and asking me what I had for breakfast and 3 requests for an ambulance, she stood there and insisted that they call 911 which they reluctantly did. The strangers in my class were more concerned about me than any of the employees were.

After many medical tests it was determined that it was an attack of vertigo. However, it just as easily could have been a stroke or heart problems causing the neurological systems and the staff would have no way of knowing that. The delay in calling an ambulance could have been life threatening.

Several days later I received a call from the Manager who sounded like a 15 year old girl. She said she was in Key West over the weekend and just found out about the incident. She was calling to see how I was feeling. When I told her what happened and suggested she review emergency procedures with her staff so they would not leave the next victim lying on the floor for 40 minutes before they call an ambulance she told me that her staff told her: "An older woman took a yoga class that was too much for her but she wouldn't stop and they called an ambulance right away."

I explained that this was not the case and instead of acknowledging that this was a training opportunity for her staff she insisted that her employees version of the story was correct. Needless to say, I quit LA Fitness and am now working out at a gym where an owner or manager is always present. Now I am waiting to see how many months it takes before they stop charging me.

Hours of operation are misleading
By -

This is to serve as a notification. I recently was inquiring about the brand new LA Fitness that was to open in McCandless, PA. One thing that I thought was a bit unusual is that they were trying to get memberships in a local park and indicating that if you gave them your credit card information they would "hold" the offer for you. Ahhh, that seems a bit skeevy to me as I neither signed a contract and I would be giving my credit card information to a complete stranger over the phone. Now I will have to admit that setting up a tent and marketing in an area where people were working out is smart.

Secondly, I was informed that the gym would open at 5:00 am. I told the sales representative that I thought that was great as I am an age group triathlete and would need to get in a workout before work and one after work. I asked about the pool and the hours only because I had done some research and seen this on other LA Fitness sites. That is when the record scratched. The hours of the gym ARE NOT THE hours for the pool. I was then informed that the pool would not be available EVER until 6:00 am because they had to have a lifeguard on duty.

Well, I currently belong to a gym where I am in the pool at 5:05 am and there is a lifeguard in the pool. I was not aware that lifeguards could not work until after 6:00 am. Anyway, the whole reason I would look at that facility was to be able to have a pool and if the hours do not work for me then the membership is useless. I would ask about all of the amenities and ensure that they will be available when you intend to use the gym or you have a useless membership.

Misleading threats from CSR LA fitness
By -

RIVERSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- I am contacting you (and Corporate Headquarters) regarding an incident at your LA Fitness Branch 2600 Canyon Springs Parkway Moreno Valley CA 92555. I received a voice mail from a ** Saturday 7th May 2011 at 9:00 pm and Sunday 8th May 2011, csr ** at approximately 9 PM regarding my account which she left a message stating my account is delinquent. However this is not true as you can see my account is in a positive status, and they left the number 9516533240 to call them back concerning my past due account. ** passed the phone to ** said he's going canceled my account and was not listening to me but want to yell and talk over me.

This is very poor customer service. I joined the gym in Feb 2011. Paid $89.00 and $44.95 a month where I was told in Feb 2011 by manager that we don't require to have a credit card on file if we pay monthly we agreed pay and started the gym. From Feb 2011 to May there are problems. Now on Sunday this was not the case. Now there is a trust issue being created.

Just a reminder LA Fitness calls my home after 8:00 PM and 9:00 PM at night. Left messages. As a consumer I am protected under FDCPA section 805(A)(1). Also calls to my job. Calls from LA fitness to my place of employment, LA fitness knows or they has reason to know that my employer prohibits the consumer from receiving such communication are in violation FDCPA. I would like you to ensure that your CSR are properly trained on this matter. As of today there is no resolution. I also would like someone to counseled ** for yelling at me and having no clue about my account. My account is in a positive status.

I would also like to request, in writing, that no telephone contact be made by your offices to my home or to my place of employment. If your offices attempt telephone communication with me, including but not limited to computer generated calls or correspondence sent to any third parties, it will be considered harassment and I will have no choice but to file suit. All future communications with me MUST be done in writing and sent to the address noted in this letter.

So much for Customer Service
By -

SPRINGFIELD, MASSACHUSETTS -- I just joined a week ago and I'm already thinking of pulling out and trying to get my money back. When I signed up the guy I talked to (**) was nice. Not high pressure, made me comfortable. I told him I was joining because of my doctor's instructions to get into better shape for long term health problem prevention. I was told as part of my membership I was going to get a free health assessment to help me figure out how to use the gym right.

The assessment guy they gave me (**) basically came over and eagerly said he'd do my assessment. Then he gave me the hard sell on a personal trainer... WAY outside my budget. I politely but firmly told him no. Since then, ** has canceled my appointment with him for the assessment (keep in mind this is part of what I paid for when I signed up). I didn't make a big deal, and we rescheduled the appointment for a few days later. When I came for the rescheduled appointment, he left me waiting for 30 minutes until I got fed up and left.

My appointment was at 5:30 and by 6 he still was telling me “Just a second” every time he went by. I saw him talking at one of the desks they used to sign folks up for the club to a woman who was obviously signing up for a membership. He left me waiting to do a high powered sales pitch to a new customer.

Obviously he doesn't care to fulfill what I paid for now that he knows I'm not going to pay him any extra money. I have a new appointment with a ** in a week, and I am willing to see if he gives me the attention I was promised. If this guy blows me off, I'm demanding my money back and finding a different gym. And why is it so hard to find information to contact their Corporate office to lodge a complaint?

LA Fitness - Diamond Bar
By -

DIAMOND BAR, CALIFORNIA -- Me and my wife went to the LA Fitness on June 13, 2010, located at: DIAMOND BAR II 20801 GOLDEN SPRINGS DR. DIAMOND BAR, CA 91789 (909) 595-0045 Sales Rep: ** Height: around 180 cm Characteristic: Tattoos on his left palm. After a short while waiting, we were introduced by a salesman named “**”. He then brought us to his desk on the right (from the main door) and was asked to come in and join him, so we sat down facing him and the desk.

First he asked, “So what brings you here, you looking to get skinnier, or buff like **?” We laughed a little, then I asked, “Just need to know your pricing so we know how much we are talking about.” Then he mentioned that he needs to know what our intention is so he can set up a schedule and pricing and so on. So he went on and asked to my wife, “What's your weight? How much are you planning to lose?” then my wife shortly answered, “Oh, I'm not sure about my weight, I haven't looked recently.”

Then I whispered to her, “Do you want me to just ask how much so we know?” She nodded. I asked ** again, “We just need to know the pricing, because we are doing comparison between fitness clubs and doing some thinking”, then ** said, “So you've went to other clubs and what are their pricing?” I then explained, “No, we haven't gone to any other club, in fact, we are planning to go to the 24 Hour Fitness nearby and ask them the same question.”

Then he replied, “Why don't you go there and check it out”. Then we both nodded, went straight out the door, without looking back, thinking in our head, “We'll never go back to LA Fitness again.” So **, here's your letter of promotion, “Congrats, now everyone know what you said to LA Fitness potential customers.”

Registration fee and dues at Parsippany location
By -

PARSIPPANY, NEW JERSEY -- My wife and I joined LA fitness in Parsippany recently. I was told by a couple friends that you can negotiate price with the membership staff. This is partially true. We came in for the first time about 4 months ago in October. Originally we met with one of the head sales employees **. He told us that it would be $149 to register for the both of us and the monthly would be 35 with a possibility to go up. What we did not like was that cardio equipment was scarce. We did not join and I told him that I would wait for a better deal down the line. He was very persuasive but I was hoping to get a few more of my friends to join with me in the future to lower the price.

After about a month the ** had called me to explain he had a special if my wife and I were ready to join, and it would be 29.99 a month without racquet ball. Again we did not join. After about 2 more months of persistence and going back and forth into the gym we decided that we would join for the 29.99. We went to the gym to sign up and ** was not there so we tried to sign up with another tall man who was not polite and confusing. He told us that the lowest program was $45 a month. I was very dissatisfied with the situation.

I called ** and he drove in on his day off to give special approval to the program. We were very pleased with how he helped us that we recommended all of our friends. He has promised us that any of our friends that join will join for a discounted program and they have. If you want the lowest price and the best service you must see **. Anyone else will overcharge you.

LA Fitness - Harrisburg PA
By -

HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- So I have been a member of LA Fitness on and off. I never minded the gym itself and the classes are always great. However, I have always been put off by the sales environment and the pushiness of the sales staff. I found if I just pushed them off and ignored them, I would be okay.

Now I am done completely with them. A few weeks ago I got a "We want you back" email that offered me no initiation and a monthly fee of $29.99 a month. I thought this was a pretty good deal so I signed up with my mom. (also a former member) After I signed up I got a phone call EVERY night "reminding" me of the personal training session that I had scheduled. Finally I answered one of these calls and told them I wasn't interested and to stop calling me.

2 weeks later my mom got the same "We want you back" email and HER rate was $19.99 a month. WHAT? SO I figured this would be an easy fix. I go in with her and her email and tell the guy that I would like our rate to be matched to the one in her email. Cause I can't justify paying $30 a month when I know that there's a $20 a month floating out there. And to boot, it was offered to my MOM who was currently signed up with me at $30 a month.

The guy looked at me like I was nuts and told me that corporate sends those out and there's nothing he could do. So I told him to cancel both of us. Again, looked at me like I was nuts and told me "It's only $10 a month. You can stay around for $10 a month." I said, "I guess I COULD but why would I when I know if I hadn't joined myself I would have joined 2 weeks later for $19.99." And he was rolling his eyes at me. I said "You're rolling your eyes at me!" and he said "Well I just don't' understand why you'd cancel. Where are you going to go?" I said "I would go to Central Penn where my friend works and can get me a decent discount or I can get a corporate one from my job."

He said "Well why did you bother coming here in the first place?" I told him "the location is closest to my house." And with attitude he said, "So you're coming here out of convenience...Right?" So I just snapped for him to just cancel my account and stop asking me dumb questions. He threw the cancellation paperwork at me and told me to "Have fun at Central Penn." What a jerk! I can't even believe that's the kind of customer service I received when clearly I had a valid issue. I will never step foot into that gym again.

LA Fitness Apple Valley MN
By -

APPLE VALLEY, MINNESOTA -- I rejoined LA fitness a few months ago. After being back, I now remember why I left! The women's locker rooms are disgustingly dirty. There is thick layers of dust built up around the air vents. The bathrooms and showers have lime build up on the facets, shower heads, and anything that was metal has a nice red rusty shine. Some of the shower curtains have black colored mold. I just don't get it.

Another issue I have is the male janitor that has to come into the ladies locker room. He has entered on more than one occasion while women are in the middle of changing and in the showers. I have complained as have other women at the club. The last time he had to clean the ladies lockers a woman attendant came through and told the women that were in the locker room that we had to hurry up because it was getting late and the male janitor had to clean. It was 7 pm, the club hours on the weekend are until 8 pm. Another issue that I have is that if they need to clean the ladies locker rooms starting at 7 pm then they should just close the damn club at that time.

Lifetime fitness you will be getting me back. I'm done with the mental mindset of LA Fitness Apple Valley! I'll pay the extra money for peace of mind knowing that I won't be treated rudely and that I can feel safe and comfortable in the ladies locker room without having a male janitor walk in on you and also when I bring up a concern to the management, it will be heard in a respectable manner by the staff at the front desk. And also I know I won't be breathing in dust and moldy air in the locker room, etc.

Unsafe environment and zero gym etiquette
By -

NORWALK, CONNECTICUT -- The Gym itself is an impressive facility and the hours are better than most gyms that I have experienced in my 13+ years of weight training. They have 2 trainers, ** and **, that really know what they are doing. Most of the other trainers can be seen text messaging and relaxing WHILE training clients. There is even a European female trainer that hordes weights for herself while she is training and she will confront you if you tell her that she doesn't need to take 7 dumbbells off the weight rack for her client.

Mats are left on the stairwell which is a fire-code violation, 6-12 plates can be found on abandoned leg press machines from 7:00am-1030am every week day, dumbbells are left in all areas of the gym for days on end, 20-36 dumbbells are consistently absent from the racks...

I have begged the staff for over 10 months to require that the members and trainers to rack their weights. All to no avail. There is not 1 sign in the facility asking clients to return/rack weights. 2 weeks ago, I posted 4-5 signs throughout the gym asking members to rack the weights. I was confronted by an employee because of this. Instead of him being upset with the staff for it being necessary for a customer to post signs and repeatedly beg for them to follow proper gym etiquette, he decided to give me attitude.

Yesterday I asked ** (the membership card-scanner, girl) for his name because I am considering writing an article regarding the lack of gym etiquette. She responded with "I am going to revoke your membership". I told her that was fine as long as she refunded my $200+ initiation fee. She said she wouldn't because I have been a very uncooperative member...

She revoked my membership because after begging them for 10+ months to put the weights/equipment away (which is an insurance regulation and a fire code violation) I posted some signs asking members to rack their weights. (How dare me.)... It is the only gym I have ever been in that doesn't care about weights, steps, mats, etc strewn all about the floor and fire exit stairs.

I have numerous photos of the conditions I speak of. I am now pursuing a lawsuit. On a side note, I learned yesterday that one of the trainers at this facility tripped over weights that were left on the workout floor and was on crutches for more than 3 weeks.

Top of Page | Next Page >