Preview Review

Next Review

La-Z-Boy Incorporated Recliners Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Quality
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

ALPHARETTA, GEORGIA -- My wife had part of her foot amputated and needs a powered recliner. Unfortunately I didn't do any research. I just went to La-Z-Boy and bought a top of the line recliner. About 8 months later it quit working. When I moved the chair there were a bunch of broken plastic parts under it. I tipped it over and found it hard to believe anyone would use plastic parts on the drive mechanism for a recliner. Every plastic part is broken. I took it back and told about my wife.

They told me it would be fixed in one week. I called them back after a week and they told me it will be at least another week to 10 day. They have 4 technicians working there and I may get my chair back in 3 weeks. If you are looking for GOOD recliner do yourself a favor and don't buy La-Z-Boy. The people are great but what used to be a good product is not worth owning.

Replies
Advertisement
Power Recliner Rocker Making Loud Noise When Extending the Footrest
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO -- Purchased power recliner and extended warranty and 80.00 for delivery and set up. Chair was not set up correctly and that caused damage to the chair... they did fix it but it took over month and chair was making loud noise when extending the footrest. They sent representative out twice, both times it took weeks to get someone here and he claims it's normal... the way he treated our furniture was awful. Very abusive and manhandles it to the point nearly tossed him and the chair out. Know he was showing me how strong the chair is. But do it on someone else's chair, not MINE! That just paid 1500.00 dollars for.

After reporting this to the BBB am scheduled to have the big dawg out and that again is taking several weeks... am done, the chair is of poor quality. The material/workmanship of the padding is shifting and looking awful. The chair looks like it belongs in the dump... My wife has hospice coming, she is very sick and that is why we purchased the chair so I could sit/sleep next to her if needed.

Our pastor came out and used the chair and seen how loud it was and sent man out to fix it. That same day someone from the church came out and fixed the chair. He said it was poor assembly and they didn't wax the wooden rockers and the finish on the bottom rocker was sticking to the upper rocker that was bare wood and should have been waxed... it was not. He put wax on those two parts and it's working great... La-Z-Boy is very poor company and does not hold true to their warranty.

Replies
Poor Quality, Service, Warranty, Veracity, Technical Expertise
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased 2 recliners from the San Jose La-Z-Boy gallery on Stevens Creek Blvd. in San Jose, CA. I was on a business trip when they were delivered and installed. I came home 4 days after installation and sat in the family room recliner and the foot rest would not stay up after engaging the handle to its highest position. I called the next day and requested a new chair. Was told that the 3 day period for replacement had passed and that it was time to go into the endless loop of warranty service.

One technician came out and stated he couldn't figure out what was wrong but ordered some parts and 45 days later they arrived and I received a call for another service visit. A different technician shows up with the parts, does his own inspection and says he doesn't think this will fix the problem but installs the parts anyway.

He was right, problem still exists. He tells me the service center will call me to follow up. I ask him to write in his report that I am tired of dealing with a broken chair and that I want a new one. He claims he wrote this in his report. I call the service center after 3 weeks of not hearing from anyone and they tell me the service tech wrote that the problem was fixed. This chair is a lemon plain and simple and they and in no way making lemonade out of the situation. I feel like I have been dealing with the sleaziest of the sleaziest car salesmen.

Replies
OSB... $1100.00 Chair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TOLEDO, OHIO -- We have owned several La-Z-Boy products over the years. Bought a new $1100.00 recliner 3 years ago. Never felt correct. You could recline it to a point it would roll all the way over. After 3 years one side collapsed. Found mechanism ripped through the low quality (OSB) board. I paid $1100.00 and after 3 years of use there three areas where the dye is faded from the leather and the cheap OSB board failed. For those who may not know OSB board is a very inexpensive sheet product used in home construction because it is cheaper than plywood. I never expected to find this in a $1100.00 chair.

Several tries to talk to Manager from store failed. Employee apologies for manager's failure to return calls does not get problem solved. I would highly recommend not purchasing anything La-Z-Boy. There are much better companies. I always thought La-Z-Boy equated to quality... Not anymore.

Replies
Advertisement
Chair Did Not Work, Store Would Not Help
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- We just this PM took delivery of a new chair for my wife. But it's not going to work. After sitting in the chair for about 25 minutes, she had to get up because she was in extreme pain. When my wife called the local "Furnishings consultant", she was no help at all... She stated several times that she could do nothing, told us to contact Comfort Care.

I had already emailed the "Consultant" letting her know the problem and requesting a return on the chair, either for refund or store credit. We bought this chair because my wife is going into hospital for cancer surgery, needed a chair that would assist her reclining and sitting up. We paid $1193.46 for this chair, expect better service than this. Are all those reviews online correct? Does La-Z-Boy care only for money you can make, nothing for serving your customers?

Replies
Leather Recliner Not Keeping Its Dye
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

REDDING, CALIFORNIA -- Purchased a leather recliner on May 2010, including the extended warranty. In November 2010 noticed the leather was fading. Went into the store talked to the consultant there. Told her my problem, she told me to wait and see how bad it would get as I had the extended warranty and not to worry. I have been dealing with this problem and have faxed pictures and wrote letters with no answer from the company.

Now they finally call me today October 27, 2014 and tell me they are not responsible. Even though my warranty is still covered until May of 2015 they told me I would have to pay for the solution myself. I have other leather couches in my family room that I purchased from another company in 1999 and the leather is still like new and retains its color. Their furniture is junk and they do not stand behind their warranty.

Replies
Really Bad Furniture
By -

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- I started with one recliner that after constantly having to have cushions replaced due to the mechanism making holes in it & they kept breaking down within 3 months the company decided I should get a different chair. Great I do that & like the first chair I pay extra for added spring for support & once again they want me to pay for another fabric warranty & pick up & delivery which I refused to pay for since it was there idea I replace the piece they deemed defective. I won that round. The second chair came with huge gaps between the back of the chair & seat so your fanny fell into a hole & the padding & cushioning was far less than the show room model.

Went to the showroom immediately to complain & was told wait a while you have a year. This got worse quickly, I had to pay $70.00 to have a tech come out & tell me the chair was not made correctly, however it could be fixed. The next thing I hear is the chair (Todd Oldham design) was discontinued because they were badly designed so they could not repair it. I was told go pick out yet another chair.

Did that & again paid for springs & when it came in I was asked to come to the service department to make sure the springs were in correctly. First thing was the fabric the sales person said was the correct fabric for this chair had a np on it & the cushion was not only badly made the nap was running from side to side & not from front to back so it looked like a totally different color. So much for quality control.

Now the chair will not recline unless you have someone pushing the back down due to the "correct type of fabric" was keeping the chair from freely reclining. What is the point of buying a recliner that does not recline. After refusing to accept the chair the factory representative finally shows up & says it is made to specs, great it's made to specs but does not work. This took over 4 months for them to determine. I called them twice a week every week to complain & demand a full refund. They tried stall tactics but after I threatened them with legal action & threatening to call the TV stations, consumers affairs dept & the BBB I got a full refund it only took me 3 years but

I did get it. It is a shame that a person has to go through all this mess to be told we no longer put springs in our furniture & we no longer use the good foam for our cushions & the now high density foam cushions you are being charged an arm & leg for is really an 1/8" piece of what they call high density foam over the super cheap crappy foam they now use. RUN AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY - DO NOT BUY A THING FROM THEM IT IS ALL JUNK & WAY OVER PRICED FOR WHAT YOU GET.

Replies
Recliner. Padding!? Mostly Wood. That's All You Can Feel When You Try to Sit in a Different Position.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LATHAM, NEW YORK -- I will never buy from La-Z-Boy chair company again and I certainly have every intention of letting everybody know that. I went to a sales representative a week later and spoke with her about the quality of the chair and how I was disappointed and that I would like to exchange it for a better chair and her answer was, "I am sorry. I cannot help you with this unfortunately." Enough said.

Replies
Advertisement
LA-Z-BOY quality has gone DOWN HILL
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- From LA-Z-Boy website: "The comfort and durability of La-Z-Boy recliners have made them the perfect choice for generations. Get product details for our stylish and durable reclining chairs, power recliners, lift chairs and more. Available in leather and vibrant fabrics with eco-friendly cushion options." I say - NOT!!!! At least not anymore!

We purchased two La-Z-Boy recliners in March of 1999. They performed incredibly well; we are still using them today and we had one repair, both chairs, of the ratchet assembly that holds the footrest up. This repair was performed after the chairs were over 10 years old. This is what I have come to expect from recliners that are relatively expensive.

HOWEVER – The quality & durability of two La-Z-Boy recliners that I purchased in Oct 2010 are pathetic in comparison. Both chairs have had to have the seating area replaced (Seat chaise is what they call it). One was replaced in June 2011, under warranty – that chair also had to have the ratchet & pawl assembly replaced already(part that failed after 10 years on previous chairs). The other chair that required the seating area to be replaced failed in the Nov-Dec 2011 time period (“out of warranty” by a couple months). It took La-Z-Boy until April 14, 2012 to replace this faulty part and they charged me a trip charge of $70.00 since it “was out of warranty”

When I complained to the La-Z-Boy Corporate Office, ** in Customer Relations in Monroe MI, he said that I bought it from an independent store – even though the store carries a La-Z-Boy name (they are Furniture Galleries of Atlanta); so I would need to contact them. When I called La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries of Atlanta to express my discontent, after speaking with a guy in Service and his boss the Operations Manager, I was told: I already received a $40.00 discount on delivery; I still paid $70.00 for delivery – actually that was negotiated at the time of sale in order for them to Win the sale. The two chairs cost me over $1,500.00.

Also, they ‘kindly' waived the labor charge for this out of warranty repair and only charged me $70.00 for the trip charge. I still paid $70.00 out of pocket for the repair. Because of these concessions, they said there was nothing they could do for me. We have only two adults living here, both retired and we have no pets. Additionally, I'm sorry to say I recommended that my wife's sister buy two recliners at the same time, that are equally pathetic; she also paid over $1,500 and has the same kind of quality problems.

These chairs did not hold up and I feel they DO NOT meet the criteria for merchantability and thus do not meet Implied Warranty as defined by Federal law and they do not meet the standards espoused on La-Z-Boy's own web site. They failed prematurely!! I am seriously considering taking them to Small Claims Court.

Replies
Paid $1500+ for 2 Leather Recliners They Looked Terrible Within 1 Year!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BUFORD, GEORGIA -- We bought 2 leather recliners a leather sofa and two tables a total of around 6,000.00 in January 2011. We paid for an extra $220.00 for the elite care for the leather and anything that could go wrong with the furniture. That is for 5 years. You get one year from La-Z-Boy. In one year the top of my husband chair had started to turn from a dark brown to a mustard yellow and is very hard.

We called La-Z-Boy Customer Service who told us we would have to go through Guardsman. Guardsman would not even come out and look at it, they told us that oils from a person body could change the color of the leather and they would not cover that but if your cat peed on it they would. So we called Customer Care, I told them that now my chair had started to turn the same color on the back. They ask us to send in pictures. We immediately got the an answer of they could not do anything about it because it could be from dust or sunlight, really. They were just coming up with whatever they could.

Finally I was told they could not do anything anyway I would have to call the store we bought it from. I called and spoke to the sales manager by this time it has been a year we have been going back and forth and we are really upset our expensive furniture is very embarrassing. Now he wants pictures we sent them 5 times, to the Mall of Georgia store and ask him to let us know when he received them, he never called. We took a copy to the store two weeks went by, my husband called several times and he was always busy and would not call back.

The final call my husband told the girl that he would like to leave a message that our next step is to get the local TV station to come and see our chairs and, tell them our story and have them come and talk to him about our situation. He immediately called back and told my husband that he had worked something really nice out for us but he did not work well with threats and did not appreciate my husband, leaving that message, with his employee. I know he did not even look at those pictures, he was not going to do anything. When my husband ask him exactly what was he going to do he hung up on him.

We will be going to small claims court I can't just throw away 1500 dollars. I also will call the department of consumer affairs, the Attorney Generals Office, and whoever I need to and maybe I will contact, a couple of my friends that do work at the local TV stations to see who can help us get the word out. Do not buy from La-Z-Boy you will be sorry.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

La-Z-Boy Incorporated Recliners Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 33 ratings and
56 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
La-Z-Boy Incorporated
1284 N. Telegraph Rd.
Monroe, MI 48162-5138
734-242-1444 (ph)
734-241-4422 (fax)
www.lazboy.com
Product/Services
Compare Furniture Stores