Preview Review

Next Review

La-Z-Boy Incorporated Recliners Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Quality, Service, Warranty, Veracity, Technical Expertise
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased 2 recliners from the San Jose La-Z-Boy gallery on Stevens Creek Blvd. in San Jose, CA. I was on a business trip when they were delivered and installed. I came home 4 days after installation and sat in the family room recliner and the foot rest would not stay up after engaging the handle to its highest position. I called the next day and requested a new chair. Was told that the 3 day period for replacement had passed and that it was time to go into the endless loop of warranty service.

One technician came out and stated he couldn't figure out what was wrong but ordered some parts and 45 days later they arrived and I received a call for another service visit. A different technician shows up with the parts, does his own inspection and says he doesn't think this will fix the problem but installs the parts anyway.

He was right, problem still exists. He tells me the service center will call me to follow up. I ask him to write in his report that I am tired of dealing with a broken chair and that I want a new one. He claims he wrote this in his report. I call the service center after 3 weeks of not hearing from anyone and they tell me the service tech wrote that the problem was fixed. This chair is a lemon plain and simple and they and in no way making lemonade out of the situation. I feel like I have been dealing with the sleaziest of the sleaziest car salesmen.

Replies
Advertisement
Leather Recliner Not Keeping Its Dye
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

REDDING, CALIFORNIA -- Purchased a leather recliner on May 2010, including the extended warranty. In November 2010 noticed the leather was fading. Went into the store talked to the consultant there. Told her my problem, she told me to wait and see how bad it would get as I had the extended warranty and not to worry. I have been dealing with this problem and have faxed pictures and wrote letters with no answer from the company.

Now they finally call me today October 27, 2014 and tell me they are not responsible. Even though my warranty is still covered until May of 2015 they told me I would have to pay for the solution myself. I have other leather couches in my family room that I purchased from another company in 1999 and the leather is still like new and retains its color. Their furniture is junk and they do not stand behind their warranty.

Replies
Terrible, Non-Existent Warranty Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALEXANDRIA, VIRGINIA -- I purchased a La-Z-Boy rocker/recliner on April 22nd, 2012. It broke on May 26, 2014 and I reported it the next day, May 27th 2014. I was told a replacement part would be sent to me in 10-14 business days and then I should call to schedule a technician visit. After 15 business days, I had still not received the part so I called to follow up. I was told the part was on backorder and would not be available until August at the earliest.

Facing two months without a $1300 piece of furniture, I requested the chair be replaced since the warranty text itself refers to "repair, replacement or substitution only at La-Z-Boy's sole discretion..." Apparently 2+ months without a usable piece of furniture doesn't warrant consideration for replacement. I had been considering and researching a La-Z-Boy sectional sofa to replace my current sofa, but have no intention of doing business with them again if a two month wait for repairs is standard and acceptable under their warranty.

Replies
Really Bad Furniture
By -

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- I started with one recliner that after constantly having to have cushions replaced due to the mechanism making holes in it & they kept breaking down within 3 months the company decided I should get a different chair. Great I do that & like the first chair I pay extra for added spring for support & once again they want me to pay for another fabric warranty & pick up & delivery which I refused to pay for since it was there idea I replace the piece they deemed defective. I won that round. The second chair came with huge gaps between the back of the chair & seat so your fanny fell into a hole & the padding & cushioning was far less than the show room model.

Went to the showroom immediately to complain & was told wait a while you have a year. This got worse quickly, I had to pay $70.00 to have a tech come out & tell me the chair was not made correctly, however it could be fixed. The next thing I hear is the chair (Todd Oldham design) was discontinued because they were badly designed so they could not repair it. I was told go pick out yet another chair.

Did that & again paid for springs & when it came in I was asked to come to the service department to make sure the springs were in correctly. First thing was the fabric the sales person said was the correct fabric for this chair had a np on it & the cushion was not only badly made the nap was running from side to side & not from front to back so it looked like a totally different color. So much for quality control.

Now the chair will not recline unless you have someone pushing the back down due to the "correct type of fabric" was keeping the chair from freely reclining. What is the point of buying a recliner that does not recline. After refusing to accept the chair the factory representative finally shows up & says it is made to specs, great it's made to specs but does not work. This took over 4 months for them to determine. I called them twice a week every week to complain & demand a full refund. They tried stall tactics but after I threatened them with legal action & threatening to call the TV stations, consumers affairs dept & the BBB I got a full refund it only took me 3 years but

I did get it. It is a shame that a person has to go through all this mess to be told we no longer put springs in our furniture & we no longer use the good foam for our cushions & the now high density foam cushions you are being charged an arm & leg for is really an 1/8" piece of what they call high density foam over the super cheap crappy foam they now use. RUN AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY - DO NOT BUY A THING FROM THEM IT IS ALL JUNK & WAY OVER PRICED FOR WHAT YOU GET.

Replies
Advertisement
Recliner. Padding!? Mostly Wood. That's All You Can Feel When You Try to Sit in a Different Position.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LATHAM, NEW YORK -- I will never buy from La-Z-Boy chair company again and I certainly have every intention of letting everybody know that. I went to a sales representative a week later and spoke with her about the quality of the chair and how I was disappointed and that I would like to exchange it for a better chair and her answer was, "I am sorry. I cannot help you with this unfortunately." Enough said.

Replies
Sectional recliner
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

We purchased a La-Z-boy sectional recliner about a year ago and have been completely dissatisfied with it. We found that the fabric is either too loose or too tight in certain seating areas making it very uncomfortable. The locking mechanisms to hold 2 sections together are constantly pulling apart and we have trouble closing the recliner sometimes. I have had La-Z-Boy recliners and sofas in the past and have loved them for comfort and longevity but we will never buy another one.

Replies
Poor quality
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- Warranty purchased was useless. Going on 4 months and two broken chairs. 3 service call; parts ordered 2 times and now service call again; "coming to see what the warranty service company has done." NOTHING, La-Z-Boy AND SERVICE COMPANY ARE USELESS. $1600 flushed.

Replies
LA-Z-BOY quality has gone DOWN HILL
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- From LA-Z-Boy website: "The comfort and durability of La-Z-Boy recliners have made them the perfect choice for generations. Get product details for our stylish and durable reclining chairs, power recliners, lift chairs and more. Available in leather and vibrant fabrics with eco-friendly cushion options." I say - NOT!!!! At least not anymore!

We purchased two La-Z-Boy recliners in March of 1999. They performed incredibly well; we are still using them today and we had one repair, both chairs, of the ratchet assembly that holds the footrest up. This repair was performed after the chairs were over 10 years old. This is what I have come to expect from recliners that are relatively expensive.

HOWEVER – The quality & durability of two La-Z-Boy recliners that I purchased in Oct 2010 are pathetic in comparison. Both chairs have had to have the seating area replaced (Seat chaise is what they call it). One was replaced in June 2011, under warranty – that chair also had to have the ratchet & pawl assembly replaced already(part that failed after 10 years on previous chairs). The other chair that required the seating area to be replaced failed in the Nov-Dec 2011 time period (“out of warranty” by a couple months). It took La-Z-Boy until April 14, 2012 to replace this faulty part and they charged me a trip charge of $70.00 since it “was out of warranty”

When I complained to the La-Z-Boy Corporate Office, ** in Customer Relations in Monroe MI, he said that I bought it from an independent store – even though the store carries a La-Z-Boy name (they are Furniture Galleries of Atlanta); so I would need to contact them. When I called La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries of Atlanta to express my discontent, after speaking with a guy in Service and his boss the Operations Manager, I was told: I already received a $40.00 discount on delivery; I still paid $70.00 for delivery – actually that was negotiated at the time of sale in order for them to Win the sale. The two chairs cost me over $1,500.00.

Also, they ‘kindly' waived the labor charge for this out of warranty repair and only charged me $70.00 for the trip charge. I still paid $70.00 out of pocket for the repair. Because of these concessions, they said there was nothing they could do for me. We have only two adults living here, both retired and we have no pets. Additionally, I'm sorry to say I recommended that my wife's sister buy two recliners at the same time, that are equally pathetic; she also paid over $1,500 and has the same kind of quality problems.

These chairs did not hold up and I feel they DO NOT meet the criteria for merchantability and thus do not meet Implied Warranty as defined by Federal law and they do not meet the standards espoused on La-Z-Boy's own web site. They failed prematurely!! I am seriously considering taking them to Small Claims Court.

Replies
Advertisement
Bait & Switch: Beware all Veterans and residents of NM
By -

ALBUQUERQUE, NM, NEW MEXICO -- Bait and Switch and attempted theft!!! BEWARE all Veterans and residents of NM: if your delivered furniture has no warranty tags attached to your furniture at the time of delivery, it is USED furniture, and is a showroom model that should have been heavily discounted and sold as a clearance item. According to the terms in the back of their invoice, “Backroom” labeled furniture is used furniture and NOT covered under the La-z-Boy 1-year warranty!

Close your business and move out of Albuquerque, we don't need anymore shady business people in New Mexico. You harmed a Vietnam Veteran and La-z-Boy has been reported to the Better Business Bureau (BBB). We noted there are other, unresolved complaints listed with the BBB, and La-z-Boy has a “0” trust rating.

A salesman named ** sold us BRAND NEW leather chairs at the 5004 San Mateo NE location. What was delivered was one new chair and one very used, discolored chair. We tried to resolve this with them by phone. ** excuse is the chair in question had been "returned to the warehouse". He refused to confess the chair was used, a floor model or some other issue accounted for the serious wear and tear on the item.

This is bait and switch and is simply an attempted fraud, which they refused to correct. Then if this wasn't enough, and after promising us a full refund, they sent delivery guys out to pick up the used chair and the one new chair and tried to collect a delivery fee of almost $100 with tax for returning their bait and switch products back to the warehouse!

Long story short is DO NOT DO BUSINESS with these people, they are crooked and now the Police Department knows about it. Not only did they try to rob us with giving us used goods, they tried to steal money off the return credit to a credit card. The end result is ALBUQUERQUE POLICE REPORT# **. That's right, and if La-z-Boy doesn't like that then have your lawyer call me, we have tapes, photos and documentation to take you in front of the judge if necessary, and we are mad enough to do it.

La-z-Boy advertised 10 – 40% off new furniture, but the Store Manager refused to discount the used chair as a clearance item, when we brought it to his attention. If I wanted used furniture without a warranty, I would have purchased the chairs on Craigslist. You ruined our holiday season, our first one in NM, and now the word of mouth is going to travel fast. We stand by this complaint and its not going away, no matter what you do.

Replies
Don't Buy from them
By -

WILKES-BARRE, PENNSYLVANIA -- I purchased a sectional recliner for my parents who are in their 70's and do not have all their faculties. I paid for the product upfront before delivery. The product was delivered to my parents house who let the delivery guy set up the sectional and they signed the paperwork acknowledging acceptance although they NEVER tried the product nor were they showed how the recliners worked.

A day later they tried using the 2 recliners and they did not work. One did not open fully and had to be pulled open by hand and the other did open but fell down when you put your feet on it. Also the 4 pieces did NOT connect, as they were placed next to one another without being attached. I called the company 2 days later to inform them of the problem. I was told since my parents singed the acceptance paperwork all they could do was to try to repair the product. A service tech came a week later and could NOT repair the recliners nor could he attach the sections because the pieces were not aligned properly.

I spoke to him via the telephone as live in another sate and he said" a new couch should be delivered" as he could not fix this one. The service tech delivered his paperwork to his boss and I now find that they want to order attachment pieces to re drill holes in the couch to make the pieces connect. Also there was NO indication on how they were going to fix the recliners. I told the service department that I wanted a new couch delivered as this one was defective from the start.

I was told two disparaging comments from ** from the service department. The first was" my parents need to be educated on how to use the product" the second was that"our store policy is not to replace the product but to repair it" Well when you deliver a product that does not work and you take advantage of OLD PEOPLE who are trusting I find this disgusting and am very irate. I told Lazy boy that they could come and pick up this couch and I wanted a full refund. They told me NO that they would not do such and they would try and repair it again.

I told them that I am going to cancel the charge on my credit card since the product delivered and totally defective. I was told by ** in customer service that she would reject my charge back when the credit card company called and said it was doing this out of "SPITE". NEVER EVER buy a product from this company. Check all the other complaints about them.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

La-Z-Boy Incorporated Recliners Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 28 ratings and
51 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
La-Z-Boy Incorporated
1284 N. Telegraph Rd.
Monroe, MI 48162-5138
734-242-1444 (ph)
734-241-4422 (fax)
www.lazboy.com
Product/Services
Compare Furniture Stores