[X]

Lumber Liquidators Bellawood Flooring - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 4 ratings and
13 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Awful Customer Service
Posted by on
After spending close to $10k on our floors, they quickly detoriated to 'cupping' and actually splitting in half!! After numerous attempts to lumber Liquidators customer service, I was totally brushed off and they even accused me that I caused the problem!! Not the case, I used an installer that the local Austin shop recommended. Their final communication to me was so tasteless. We need to ensure that this company no longer does business. This company must own up to their responsibilities and represent themselves with some dignity. Is there a class action lawsuit we all can participate?
Company Response 01/21/2011:
Cupping issues are noted on our Customer Care website under FAQ number 4 as follows:

Why does my floor look wavy / why is it buckling?
A wavy or washboard looking floor indicates a condition called cupping. Cupping is caused by a moisture imbalance between the bottom and top of the boards. Even modest amounts of moisture intrusion will cause board edges to swell, which will be seen as cupping. Buckling is caused by the boards gaining moisture and expanding without a proper expansion space thereby causing the boards to "tent." Both conditions are site related or evidence of improper installation

Our processes do not allow customers to be "brushed off". Whether you spent $10 or $10,000 on flooring does not matter when it comes to cupping issues and the fact that you hired a professional installer would suggest this posting should be directed to the installer, not LL. The product was not at fault and the recommendations provided are never presented in a "tasteless" manner. If the products defective in any way we'll never hesitate to hold a manufacturer accountable, but you can bet we're not going to fork over $10,000 in flooring for installation errors, or site related errors outside our direct control and no seller should be expected to incur costs unrelated to an actual defect. We certainly regret to hear this happened as we want every purchase to end up installed properly to showcase your home, and our flooring products. There are some ways to help settle the floor and we provide this information to you and it would when a floor has been determined to be "cupped", but it would be best to hire an independent inspection company to determine fault. LL does not commission such inspections for cupped floors because we know they are not tied to the manufacture of the product, which is why we do our best to educate the customer with the information we sent to you explaining this condition using National Wood Flooring Association information and other information provided to educate consumers on this condition.

We certainly understand your frustration and wish the outcome was a perfect floor like it should be when hiring a professional, or properly maintaining temperature and relative humidity for a sound floor.
     
Read 15 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

saj80 on 2011-01-21:
Very good answer, dan. I still don't understand why consumers want to blame retailers for issues related to the manufacturer, but perhaps it's because the retailers aren't some faceless organization.
kellim on 2011-01-21:
I understand it could be an installer's fault in a cupping situation; however, Lumber Liquidators recommended this professional installer. Unfortunately, I assumed that LL only recommended the best. And why were we not told of a "moisture barrier" when we purchased the hardwood floors from LL? To me that is lack of buyer beware. Are we to accept this type of business practice now?
face it on 2011-01-23:
Kellim you are not alone. There are many many customers that have had similar issues. The problem lies int he fact that once you have paid your money to Lumber Liquidators you have no recourse other than to hire a lawyer. But the cover themselves by quoting installation guidelines that should have been told to you before the installation regardless of who installed it. There typical response is to push the problem of on the installer! Please tell everyone you know about your experience. Lets join together and put these lying jokers out of business!!
madconsumer on 2011-01-23:
the company response is very good info!!
face it on 2011-01-24:
Could the installer been at fault? possible. The fact is, and I feel this is most important to this "case" is that Lumber Liquidators uses a company called the Home Service Store to offer installation services. The basic break down is the Home Service Store charges the installer 15% of the profit from all installation projects. And naturally Lumber Liquidators profits from the material sales. If the installer does not know the proper procedures for installation then if there is a problem 100% of the burden is placed on the installer to fix or pay out of pocket to replace the project. The Home Service Store and/or Lumber Liquidators do nothing. the point of having an installation service ( HSS ) is to help insure that the installer is certified and knows all the proper installation techniques. However, as you can plainly see, the only criteria for becoming an installer with HSS is that you have a decent credit score and a relatively clean background. It has nothing to do with the fact that the installer has product related knowledge. The agreement the installer must sign to join there program states that if they ever have to go to court the installer must provide $10,000.00 to hss's attorneys on behalf of hss. plus all court costs and fee's. So you got the Home Service Store (hss ) and Lumber Liquidators ( LLI ) profiting from these situations and if ever there is a problem the burden is 100% pushed off on the installer ( who averages $30,000 a year +/-) Should the installer step up and do all they can to makes things right? absolutely. if replacement of the floor is inevitable should the installer be 100% responsible for it? absolutely not!!
face it on 2011-01-29:
FYI for any potential customers of Lumber Liquidators. I have installed product for them for over 10 years. I have seen all aspects of how they operate. One customer had ordered approximately $8,000 worth of product. they wear told it would take 2 weeks to get there. when in all actuality it was already there in the warehouse. then the manager calls demanding that I deliver it to the customer or he was going to charge them more for storage! countless times the manager decided to change the material list to benefit his sales quota for the month! and then the customer is left with material they do not need, or worse yet the proper material was not ordered delaying the job. One customer purchased natural grade American walnut, when the installation was scheduled they went out of town to avoid the "mess" of installation and demo work. But the material they ordered was full of knots and splits! and the order had to be returned and reorder and the installation rescheduled. this are just a few things of the top of the list. The customer holds no clout after there money has been paid. Case in point is simply that this company is out to benefit themselves and them alone. they do not care who they trouble in there money making pursuits. How they get away with there disturbing practises is beyond me. They simply need to be closed down.
face it on 2011-02-07:
Regardless of what the company response says it is simply the fact that the customer was put through this. Of course the company is going to say " it wasn't our fault" but the fact that they did respond simply shows there guilt. case closed.
bonfire on 2011-02-25:
We are looking for laminate for our new construction home. I have looked at a couple of products on-line and had plans to check out the product at the store. However, after reading several of the reviews especially from an installer, I think we will pass and go with Lowes or Home Depot. Thanks for all of your reviews.
The Home Service Store on 2011-03-16:
The Home Service Store maintains a nationwide network of top-quality local contractors in a wide variety of home improvement disciplines. To maintain their affiliation with HSS, that contractor must uphold the highest customer service standards and occasionally, we must remove an incompatible contractor from our network. Over the years, we have worked with thousands of independent local contractors, product manufacturers and elite retailers to develop one of the nation’s best, no hassle home improvement solutions.
Supplied with only an internet user name, it is very difficult to identify who someone is, and the specific nature of their grievance. We can only extend an invitation to call us directly and discuss how they have been disserved by our efforts to provide our customers with the very best in customer service.
face it on 2011-03-17:
The Home Service Store is a company that takes advantage of hard working people. Of course they are going to comment that they are superior and without fault.They take 15% from each job (18% if job is paid by Lumber Liquidators credit card)and if there is a problem with the job they make a laughable effort to correct issues by doing a 3way call between themselves the customer and the contractor. There position in these scenarios is completely unnecessary and there position is simply to take profit from hard working contractors and they serve no actual purpose other than to further complicate relationships between contractor and customer. Also factor in that with them in the mix the price has to be higher to allow for the grossly large percentage they demand. Proof is in simply conducting business with them, if you dare.
Ken James on 2011-07-04:
An alternative would be for the seller of the product to also perform the installation. When this is not done it is easy to ALWAYS fault the installer. Why does not Lumber Liquidators install their own product? I have the same problem (not with this company) where I used an installer with over 25 years experience and he has removed and installed the floor twice to no avail. I am out almost $5,000. It is far too easy to blame the installer when there are no obvious problems with the sub surface. There are just too many unethical companies and people in this world. Period.
Orchidmoon on 2012-07-26:
I've had my Bellawood Braxillian Koa floors in for one month, and places I have rugs are so much lighter than the floors, it makes me sick. LL calls it patina...I call is BS.....if there is such an issue, there should be a warning on every page on LL on the floors that will patina...I didn't pay $4000 for floors to lighten, if I wanted lighter colored floors, I would of purchased lighter floors...the thing that gets me is when I wrote to Bellawood, they sent my email to LL, LL is oney the retailer,not the manufacturer......I'm thinking of geting a lawyer or hopefully finding a class action lawsuit against LL....and the customeservice guy at LL asked me, "why would you put rugs on your new floors"...show me a house with wood floors that doesn't have rugs? Every time I think about my floors it makes me sick...
annonomous on 2013-05-16:
hey Orchidmoon
Your floors didn't get lighter...The surrounding floors got darker. If you move the rug the area that was under it will catch up with the rest of the floor all Natural wood that is unstained will get darker over time So calm down and just move the rugs until its done getting darker.
longchau on 2013-06-09:
I been reading all these complaint for months now. Anyone know how or can we spread out these complaint in an email format to our friends and families. We need to let more people read these complaints . Mass email to everyone on your email list. I believe this will spread out much faster and more sufficient.
pitkingirl on 2013-06-13:
I had Bellawood Brazilian Cherry installed 3 months ago through Lumber Liquidators installers. I have at least 25 boards in the living room that have "checks" or downright cracks that are 3"-8" long. I went through the process of filing a claim and the result is the installer offering to replace some of the boards. At this point I don't know what to do. Have the boards cut out and glued in or call my attorney. Any help out there?
Close commentsAdd reply
Bellawood
Posted by on
ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- We installed Lumber Liquidators, bellawood bolivian rosewood over a concrete floor using Lumber Liquidators instructions and products, in 2 mos. the floor buckled and warped badly, they not only would not stand behind it, they denied telling us we could install it over concrete, I called back and have them on tape telling us we could over concrete using their products, unfortunately, we can not use that tape in court, we ended up removing the wood, having a $8000.00 fire to dispose of it and installed Anderson pre finished flooring, this was 4 years ago and the Anderson floor has held up wonderful. I suggest to stay far away from Lumber Liquidators, they lie.
Company Response 11/08/2010:
It's very unfortunate to have a customer suffer from a flooring problem, but clearly our flooring does not come out of the box buckled and warped, so this is an installation related problem. Stating you followed directions and this happened is very questionable as a properly installed floor would not buckle or warp. Moisture protection from between the concrete and the bottom of the boards failed and the buckling occurs when the boards expand from moisture and there's not enough expansion space between the walls and the flooring. Both are actually examples of not following the directions, so you may want to look at how the Armstrong floor was installed because it sounds like it was done right. Flooring is flooring and while you may pay more somewhere else, if you don’t install it right it can suffer from missed steps. LL is not an outlet for substandard flooring. We sell brand new top of the line products and offer some close out items as well, so you can buy products with a great warranty, or go the less expensive route and get an odd lot at a really discounted price you may not find anywhere else. Again, we're sorry to hear you had a bad flooring experience.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

getoverit on 2010-11-07:
I would think you could go into court, play the tape, and testify that, in fact, the conversation did take place.

However, I would be concerned as to whether you might have been provided with written instructions as to how the flooring can and cannot be used and whether that would be stronger evidence.

I would also think this would actually be settled out of court.

This company does seem to get a lot of complaints and is probably the kind of outfit you need to be really careful about.
raven2010 on 2010-11-07:
In many states, tapes that both parties did not agree to are not admissible.

I would say in the OP's case, what is in the written, signed contract will supercede any phone conversation.
Anonymous on 2010-11-07:
Lumber Liquidators sells discounted lumber and flooring purchased from other companies because it is flawed, been returned, discontinued, or didn't sell.
face it on 2010-11-22:
after having installed LL products for almost 9 years now I can certainly certify that they are all about lying to turn things in there favor. This goes on in such a huge way, it is not just corporate saying (there classic response) it's the installers fault, they actually support and reward there store staff for telling customers "sure, you can do that" when in fact they employ people that have no working knowledge of the product they sale! And when you are stuck paying out money for a bunch of junk they back up and say "we never said that! it's the installers fault!" I have seen it happen many times.
Natural products have certain guidelines that must be followed in regards to moisture as well as other application limitations. But wouldn't you think that the people selling this stuff should have enough knowledge (let alone humility) to inform the customer of these limitations. Most customers I have ever installed for know nothing about these limitations simply because they have never been involved with the installation of these type materials. And by all rights it is not the customers responsibility to know these things. But if you ever shop at LL prepare to be lied to, disrespected, and completely be taken advantage of!
On behalf of us out here truly trying to offer a quality service and not base our practises on a smoke and mirrors approach I want to thank you for taking the step to inform the public of your experience.
Close commentsAdd reply
Bellawood KOA - WAAAAAY Sub-Par Product
Posted by on
We decided to lay Bellawood Koa wood in our bedroom, as we'd put it in the rest of the house 5 years ago and have been very happy with it.
So, we purchased the wood and the LL website (and we called both a store and customer service to confirm this) stated that the "odd lots" were perfectly useable wood, but to expect "up to" 30% waste. Okay, so just in case we allowed for 50% waste and ordered about 110% more wood than we needed, hoping to use it for another project.

Well the wood we got was total crap! It was almost totally unusable! The contractors were at their wits' end - the wood was about 85% crap, totally useless, and the wood that was usable was all in 12" lengths! This wood was all uneven, wasn't finished, wasn't coated with acrylic, was not suitable to be used for anything!!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

face it on 2010-10-17:
what would you call a company that sells product like this? Basically product that should have been thrown out or recycled to make plywood or toilet paper! but instead they fatten there wallets by passing it on to there customers who pay real money for this junk. Do we need a company like this out there further corrupting an already turmoiled economy? I think not!
getoverit on 2010-10-17:
They've had a fair number of complaints on this site and sound like a pretty downscale operation. I would think that if they are openly telling people that the odd lots are of inconsistent quality, it would be wise to buy with caution.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >