Midas - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 48 ratings and
100 reviews & complaints.
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Midas Is Heinous
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEXINGTON, KENTUCKY -- I went to get a brake job done. Told $150 on phone. Got there and of course there's more problems, new total is $320 (have to replace rotors, can't machine them down, bull crap, bull crap, bull crap). I agree. 45 minutes later I have to get a new caliper (they broke it while changing brakes). Now it's $530 dollars (180 bucks for a new caliper).
I google caliper and see its only $70. I ask if this is too expensive, am told no. I tell them I do not even have the money in my bank. I have to pay it or it can't be fixed and I can't leave. I forward money to bank account. 3.5 hours later and $450 more than I was expecting to pay, I leave.

4 days later, the caliper they installed wrong leaked all my brake fluid out. I almost wrecked. I can't imagine what could have happened to me or my daughters, or if my girlfriend had been driving (not that women aren't good drivers but she would not have known how to handle a car with no brakes).

So after making me wait 3 hours longer than I should have, charged me over 400 bucks more than I should have, they put my personal life and property in danger and every single person on the road that I was around that day after I left work. The other customers while I was there all had something else wrong with their car they 'had to get fixed' (lady getting an oil change needed an alignment, lady getting oil change needed timing belt replaced, etc, anything they can say to charge more).

After I told the guy I didn't have enough money initially to pay for it and had to borrow money just to pay them, I tried to use a coupon I printed off their website and was told they couldn't take it. One of the worst experiences of my life. After I had caliper replaced by another mechanic (for 60 bucks), I told them I wanted my money back on my old caliper. They said they are in the retail business, not the wholesale business and that's why I was overcharged!

So their mentality is exactly this: 'CHARGE AS MUCH AS YOU CAN TO EVERY CUSTOMER REGARDLESS OF CIRCUMSTANCE. That's how they make money'. No customer service, no customer care, their guarantee is a lie and a farce...AVOID AT ALL COSTS! Drive these creeps out of business.

Replies
Very Very Bad Service
By -

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- My name is ** and I am writing to you concerning my recent service at Midas in Columbia, SC on October 25th. I called Midas and asked them if I towed my car in if they would look at it and fix it. The manager said yes. My car had no power whatsoever. A few days later ** called and said they found that the main wiring harness wires were bad and needed to be replaced. HE also told me that the fuse between the starter and wiring harness was blown so they changed it. Due to trusting Midas, I took it to an electrical place called southern armature in Columbia.

This is the second tow fee of 60.00. Southern armature calls two days later and says your electronics are fixed but now it isn'€™t starting but it is turning over. Tow it back to Midas; third time. ** says he will look at it. A couple days later he calls and says we found the problem, it was the distributor. Come pick it up. I was charged 403.00 for labor and the distributor. I drove to Lexington and something was wrong.

I popped the hood and found the distributor not tightened down and so the timing was jumping due to Midas not tightening the bolt. Now I was getting upset due to being stuck again and calling another tow truck. It takes two minutes to tighten the distributor bolt down and this time wasn'€™t taken to make sure the service I just paid for was quality. So I took it back to Midas to fix what they didn'€™t do in the first place. By now I'€™m in the money pit - 240.00 for towing, 272.00 for wiring harness and coil, 403.00 at Midas and it still isn'€™t fixed.

They call me the next day and tell me it is running and the alternator is bad€(?).€ Now, pay attention because this is where it really gets interesting, or as I call it, the second phase of me being really pissed. So I pick the car up and drive to my apartment and change the alternator. Drive it the next day to Lexington and guess what, it freaking breaks down AGAIN. So now I go to another mechanic. Within 2 hours he calls me and tells me what he finds.

The reason the car was shutting off was because somebody didn't hook a wire backup to the starter. That is the first thing Midas checked due to the fuse being blown from the starter to the wiring harness. The positive battery cable off the battery was fried on about 2 inches of it in plain site. Next, Southern Armature replaced a coil on my car and the wire plug that went into it had the clip broke and it fell off with the use of a fingertip accidentally touching it. Car doesn't do nothing without that plug being hooked up. So, was the replacement of my distributor or alternator necessary? Myself and my other mechanic don't think so.

He also found two bare wires right beside the coil that should have been found and repaired. When the car broke down, the battery was checked first by me and Advance Auto Parts and it was good. If the alternator was bad before, all this it would not have been charging the battery. So was the alternator bad before this? NO. Was the distributor bad? Probably not, but no one really knows. Was the last two tow jobs necessary? Most likely not. I question whether the tow from Southern Armature and any tow job after that was necessary at all if somebody would've hooked the wire back up from the start.

I went two weeks without a car and because that I'm a FT student with two internships, a job, two kids. Think about the BIG inconvenience all this is, even typing this letter has taken time that I don'€™t have but I want the owner and the corporate people to know what happened to me. My dad has been going to Midas for a long time, I go every once in a while, but no more. I work too hard for the money that I have spent due to trusting the Midas Corporation.

Here's another bad Midas representation: I was going to get rid of the car so I called ** and asked about getting the money back out the distributor. He said he couldn'€™t because he didn'€™t have the original box due to the core being sent to the store he bought it from.

I called some auto parts stores to ask about whether I could return the distributor or the alternator and they said yes if I had the receipt. He didn'€™t say anything except that It was too bad. Not "I'€™ll check into it", or anything else. What a freaking great reply. I was just trying to get some money back out the car and recover some losses but that's TOO BAD for me because I don'€™t have the receipt for the distributor that cost 236.20. I know Midas has it but I don'€™t.

Even though I kept the car because the other mechanic fixed it and I have no longer have had any problems out of the car, this was still the biggest aggravation I have ever received from any auto service place in my life. My question to the Midas Corporation is this: how are they going to fix this situation before I take this matter any further. I would like to tell people that Midas did the right thing by me but that is up to the corporate office because I know the local shop don'€™t care or think a little person like myself doesn'€™t matter.

I do know this, some of the problems and costs couldn't have been avoided due to the problems with the car, but I know some of the costs and issues could have been avoided if somebody would have taken the time to look over my car. The towing fees, what Midas charged me, the Southern Armature bill, the alternator, some of this could have been avoided if somebody hooked the starter wire back up in the first place.

I don'€™t want to post this on telephone poles, or make any t-shirts, or posts this problem on the bulletin board all over USC campus, but my advertising skills will come in handy with all the news stations and the e-mail contacts I have. I don'€™t want somebody else going through this. I will go this length if somebody don'€™t acknowledge this as a major problem in your company.

If the manager said we are not capable of fixing this problem it would have worked out fine, but no he said yes, and because Midas is a well known corporation I took my dad'€™s suggestion and the fact that Midas has a sign on the front of their buildings that reads "€œAuto Service Experts"€, I trusted the company. To resolve this matter, I can be reached on my cell phone and hopefully someone will let me know that the corporate people care more about the customers than the local shops, or at the least the owner of the shops in Columbia because that he owns the one in Columbia and West Columbia. Please call.

Replies
Issue? Don't Trust Midas in Nashville
By -

MADISON, TENNESSEE -- In November 2007 we noted an indicator light (check engine) on our 2001 VW Jetta. I used an OBD to review the issue and noted fault codes for cylinder 1 & 2 (misfire). We took the Jetta to the Midas Auto Service Experts at 1211 S Gallatin Road in Madison, TN 37115 for a tune-up (plugs, wires, filter, oil, etc). The work was completed on 11/10/07 and did not include the plugs and wires. The fuel filter was replaced; cooling system was drained and filled; oil change done; engine and cabin air filters replaced. Total cost was $337.47 (invoice # **).

The manager told us he cleared the fault codes, but the VW plugs would need to be ordered. Additionally he said the codes may or may not return - if they did, they would have the plugs and wires to replace the old ones and it would fix the indicator light (clear the codes).

On 11/11/07 we noted the indicator light returned. I used the OBD and noted the same codes - fault codes for cylinder 1 & 2 (misfire). We took the Jetta back to the Midas Auto Service Experts at 1211 S Gallatin to have the wires and plugs installed. The installation was completed on 11/13/07 for a total cost of $285.46 (Invoice # 5103425). The manager told us he cleared the codes and the car was ready to go.

We were out of town for the holidays and did not use the car for a while. When we did use the Jetta, my wife noted the indicator light came on again. I used the OBD to review the issue and noted fault codes for cylinder 1 & 2 (misfire). This was the third time we had the issue and we had already spent $622.93 at Midas for the same issue. We decided to take our Jetta to the dealership - Hallmark VW/Hyundai at 2431 Gallatin Road in Madison, TN 37115 on 01/15/08.

I received a call from the VW dealer in the morning on 01/16/08 and they noted the same fault codes I saw using the OBD - cylinder 1 & 2 (misfire). They said this indicated the Jetta required a tune-up. I explained to them that I have the car recently serviced at a shop recently and I need the old parts. I called my wife and she contacted the Midas shop manager and told him of the issues. She also reviewed the process for a Better Business Bureau (BBB) complaint. The BBB noted a request / requirement to contact Midas at 615.327.0722 before filing a complaint.

When I picked-up the Jetta later that day, the VW dealer noted the wiring for the cylinders were done incorrectly ("wires routed incorrectly") rand the plugs were "hand tight" (as noted on my VW dealer invoice). Also, the shop (Midas) did not use the OEM plugs or engine filter. The cost for the repairs (replaced the wires, plugs, and engine air filter) was $377.04 (Invoice or "RO" #: **). I stopped at the Midas shop and spoke to the manager.

He told me it was unlikely the cylinders were wired incorrectly and that the work had a warranty - that I should have returned to his shop. I explained that I brought the Jetta to his shop twice, for the same issue, and still had that issue after each visit. That the total cost for the tune-up (just at Midas) had cost me over $600 and a third visit, for the same issue, would be an act of stupidity on my part. It was a judgment call and a reasonable person would not return for a third visits.

I asked what Midas intended to do regarding the issue and he told me he had received a call from my wife earlier in the day and contacted his manager; who would call me the next day (01/17/08). I asked him to call his manager and ensure I was contacted as early as possible. I also provided my cell number **. On 01/17/08, I did not receive a call as of 3 PM and called the number noted via BBB above. I asked to speak to someone regarding this issue - gave the shop location and the make / model of the vehicle and cell number. As of this note (01/18/08 at 9AM), no one has contacted my wife or I about this problem.

On 01/22/08, ** called our home phone and left a message. I returned his call on 01/23/08 and we discussed the VW. ** was adamant that no diagnostic was done on the car at the Midas Auto Service Experts at 1211 S Gallatin Road and questioned the time frame. He was concerned we brought the car in the second time on 11/13/07 and did not report another problem until 01/15/08. I explained that we were out of town for the holidays and did not use the car until the New Year.

** stated that we did not give them an opportunity to fix the issues and I explained to him that the total cost for the tune-up (just at Midas) had cost me over $600 and a third visit, for the same issue, a prudent person would not return a third time for the same issue to the same place. It was a judgment call and I believe a reasonable person would have done the same thing.

** stated that the car should have been returned to the shop per the warranty and I explained that the car was at the same shop twice for the same issue and each time the manager told us the codes were clear. The second time the manager was adamant the car was fine and the codes were clear. I explained that the car indicator light was on after the second visit and I did not feel a third trip to the same shop was a good idea. He again said no diagnostic was done on the car but could not tell me how his shop managers knew what the problem was if they did not do a diagnostic -since I never told him I used the OBD.

I suggested we use the BBB process because he was not listening to what I had to say. ** stated that the car should have been returned to the shop per the warranty and asked again why it took two months to notice the problem. I explained that he was repeating himself and not listening to me. We were on vacation and the second time the manager was adamant the car was fine and the codes were clear. I explained that the car indicator light was on after the second visit and I did not feel a third trip to the same shop was a good idea.

** insisted we should have taken the car to the same shop for warranty work… I thanked him and said we use the BBB process because he was not interested n solving the issue, just arguing the same points. He said, “Well, you should have brought it back.” I thanked him one more time and said we should let the BBB run its course. ** said, “You should have brought it to us sooner, why didn't you?” At that point I knew he was being resistant to the conversation and understood his goal was not resolution. I thanked him and said goodbye.

Replies
When Will My Van Be Running???
By -

BENTONVILLE -- On April 13th, 2007 I brought this van into you because I wanted a battery check as well as a lube and oil change. After a while I was told that my battery was no good and that was because of the alternator not charging my battery and was told that I also needed an alternator. I said well if that is causing the battery to go dead, then replace the alternator.

I waited for some time and was told that the alternator had to be ordered. I then suggested the alternator repair place in Springdale, so I took the alternator myself down to have it tested and the following Tuesday April 17th, was told that there was nothing wrong and brought it back to you. You stated that your testing gauges still stated my alternator was bad so I said fine, go ahead and order one.

After a few days more I was told that they sent the wrong alternator, and finally said there was no problem as I use the van for outings, only to go shopping, or just so we all can be together. I also stated that Saturdays are the only days that I have free in order to pick up the van. Again that was find with us both. I was promised that the van would be delivered to me after having to take a cab home as well paid over above the cost of touring the van back to Midas.

In short, a real hellish day with a granddaughter of two and a grandson of five and my older boys and others, totaling six of us. The expense as well as the promise to bring home the van was not done as you're very busy. I understand this after all I, myself am also busy during the week as well as trying to make a living so I again stated that I could only bring the van down on Saturday. I was told that you would provide another battery which we both knew would get me and the van back to your dealership.

After close to a month, I was called and told that there has to be a short and that you felt you have cured the problem and could not remember that you promised to bring the van home for me. I said then no problem, that I would pick it up on Saturday - with you to give me your word, certainly that it was running correctly.

You also stated that both gas tanks were working. Upon starting the van, I said that they were not. You stated that they may have stopped again. No problem, so I took off. As I said I use the van only for family, I didn'€™t use it until the following Saturday as we all went shopping as well to Pea Ridge then to Rogers Walmart again. The only thing that was used was the air as it was pretty warm those two days that we used the van.

On Monday morning I also advised you that the radio was no longer working as before. I said I feel that the battery ran down and that is what I was running on those two weekends of use. On Sunday July 8th, I went out to start the van for family and darn, it would not start. Neither would the red light on the new switch turned red any more. I had my sister-in-law call you to contact me at a good time.

Around five pm that Monday, I called and asked what the problem was. "Just busy and to bring it back and we will try again". I stated it would be Saturday as that was only day that I had off. April 14th, 2007. Since I have a dead battery and can'€™t afford another toll because I exhausted my usage on my insurance. Of course can'€™t afford to pay another fifty or in this case a hundred dollars again. So, will remove the battery and drive to Midas and get another battery or have this one charged up and drive the van back whatever happens since I am distressed and it'€™s only 3:30 AM Saturday morning.

I wish to let you know that I just want whatever has gone wrong with all that I have replaced. I was able to use van longer on dead battery and voltage regulator as well as alternator longer when I bought the van than I have been with using all the new goodies that I was told needed.

As I said, I am a grandpa and I understand things are hard for everyone, especially hard on grandpa having to raise his kids - kids. But very hard when counting ongoing some place and thinking that were all going to get home safe. Now since I am no way a mechanic as well as not rich and living paycheck to paycheck as most people. I only ask that this time whatever the problem be repaired and the van not kept close to thirty days this time.

When it is repaired and no one is able to bring it back to me, then please remember that I can get it on a weekend only except this next Saturday on July 28th. I will have to work as normally have to work one Saturday a month. I do have Monday the 20th off if it should be ready by then.

But, please there'€™s plenty of gas in both tanks as I refilled both of them before leaving last time for home. Please run it with air on or anything to see if it is really charging or not and not just running on the battery as you stated before it was. But with over five hundred dollars in parts I feel it should be running long before now. I don'€™t blame you as this must be something that you have never ran into. I never had such problems myself either. This is the first, but I just want to be able to go here and there and not worry about getting everyone home and broke as before and not having a pleasure of a family time.

Since this letter is going to be sitting here - and I know someone will read it as all my other personal papers have been removed - just don'€™t waste time as before and repair whatever is needed so we both can get on with other important things in daily life. I do thank each and everyone of you for trying to find whatever started this problem.
But, as I said I am no mechanic and I never have been. I count on people like you as I did in California for many years.

My home number is xxxxxxxxxx and my cell number is xxxxxxxxxx. I again was told to pick up the van on Saturday, and met by another employee before getting out of the car with my keys in hand. He stated that ** said there is nothing wrong with the van, and to call him on Monday. I called and had no return call as promised. I went to the store twice and checked the battery after the trip from your shop as well from the store. The battery was low when I got home. I shut the van off, and tried to restart it again with of course no luck.

I took the battery out and took it to be charged again. After making a trip to Pea Ridge and back home, the battery again is low, and as I stated before this van does not have a short in it. But, the new alternator is not charging the battery or maintaining a full charge for some unknown reason. I was also told that the alternator may not be the correct one for charging this van.

The person that told me this said I best take it back as maybe the alternator is charging, but it'€™s not maintaining the battery charge. You have kept my van for a period of two months over these last three months. The van has set out in your parking lot for weeks at a time and then maybe battery is fully charged in which I can drive it for maybe a day or two.

You have been told this many times and still do nothing but cause me a lot of grief as well as money to charge now the battery in order to drive it one time daily. I had to remove the battery and this last time charged up to bring the van back to you.

I also know that a piece of paper was offered that shows that the alternator you replaced as well as voltage regulator as well as battery were all working on each visit when I picked the van up. I also have told you that the alternator you have in there is not keeping the battery charged as the battery is being drained while driving on just the battery itself. The little trip switch or whatever you put in is nothing what so ever as it isn'€™t keeping the battery charged either.

Again, I stress bring this van back to me when it is in running order and not keep it for weeks at a time in your parking lot and replacing the battery and saying it is done. I paid you for everything that you requested of me and I have not had any use of the van since you replaced all three of these items. The van was running fine when I brought it into you for just an oil change. I knew I may needed a battery, but was not going to do nothing as I charged it and was running for many days after buying it. I was told that I should replace the battery as it had a majority of the cells dead.

Since I didn'€™t want to be stuck any place, I agreed. After a two in half hours of waiting, I was told the delay was because after you placed in the new battery it showed the alternator was not charging, and from this point on, we're back at the beginning of this letter. Please as I stated many times after the second visit, don'€™t hold my van for a month or three weeks (or as this last time, two weeks). All this time could have at least had this van running long before now if anyone really looked into the problem.

After all, if a store can tell me it'€™s the alternator then you also know it is the problem. I expect this van brought back to my home when done. And if it is still just running off the battery when brought back, then expect legal action the next time as you have cost me a lot of money as well as time performing from what I feel was repairs that never were needed in the first place. You have to understand how I feel at this point and I sure am not going to recharge the battery every day I wish to run the van.

My insurance rates are high enough with not being able to enjoy use of the van since your replacing everything in it and finding it was replaced with the wrong alternator or whatever it is you did. Again my phone numbers are listed above. If you can'€™t do the job then it'€™s up to you to replace all my old parts so that I can get it repaired correctly. As for the warranty of the parts, I have not had use of the van for two weeks let along ninety days. It has sat in your parting lot more than it has at my own home!

Replies
Rip Off-They Will Put a Mechanics Lien on Your Car for Unauthorized Repairs
By -

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- I took my vehicle to the location of 3819 Fredericksburg Rd in San Antonio, Texas. Oooh my gosh, what a big mistake. I asked them for an estimate for the brakes and the exhaust leak. They had no problem dropping me off in my OWN CAR, no shuttle, they drove my car that needed repairs, to a friend's house. Before I left, I specifically said "DO NOT DO ANY WORK WITHOUT SPEAKING WITH ME". They said "ooh, no problem, we won't".

My boyfriend called and the man said "can I call you back, I am on the line with someone". We received no call back. An hour later we called again and the same man said "you're ready to go, its all fixed". We got a ride to the shop and said "we did not authorize any work". He said "your boyfriend authorized the work". My boyfriend said "I did not, you were supposed to call us back". He said "well the work is done". I explained we did not have the funds to have all the work done. He stated they had a payment plan they could put us on, but only with a check. We do not have checks. He explained a check from anyone, he didn't care whose check it was.

They would not let me have my car until a portion was paid. I called San Antonio Police and they came out to the location. They explained this was a civil matter, I would have to take them to court to get my car back. Keep in mind, I never signed anything. We agreed to pay a portion of the work, I needed my car for work, we share 1 vehicle.

We got a check from a friend and picked up my car. Apparently the check bounced and 3 months later they towed my car in the middle of the night. We paid the remaining balance, but the owner would not release the car until an $800 towing fee was paid. He kept my vehicle at one of the Midas shops.

The car was parked outside the shop, off their property. I took my car back. They never had a mechanics lein on the car, they just took it without any lawful means. I called the owner 2 weeks after and he explained he just processed the lien with the county clerk. I had already called the county clerk to give them a heads-up, they said they will not approve the lien. This owner claims he is an ex-police officer (I wonder why). He is crooked and he will not work with you. BEWARE OF THIS SHOP...THEY ARE A NIGHTMARE.

Replies
Worst Car Shop ever... They Don"t Fix Your Car They Rip-Off Your Money :(
By -

IRVING, TEXAS -- I took my car to one of the Midas car shop about a month ago to fix muffler. They told me it has the exhaust leakage and since there is no check engine sign on, they don't know anything else. They fixed the exhaust leakage, now my car has Check Engine sign on and my car shakes like hell. So I took it back to them second time they said I have to change spark plugs. I did that too but the problem is still the same. Third time I took it back to them, they said now something else is wrong with the engine they have to look at at it.

They kept my car for 15 days then they said third cylinder has low compression and it costs $1500 to fix it. When I asked why my car is shaking so bad and check engine sign is on, mechanic told me check engine was on from the beginning. And the manager kept adding problems after problems. My car was drivable and used to run smoothly but right after they fixed whatever they told the problem is, it is in its worst condition.

The store manager did not know how to talk to the customer. He yelled at me and instead of fixing my car, he told me my car is too old and I can take it somewhere else to fix my car. He ask money to fix my car and if I don't pay him, he will not give my car key. I called their customer service no one responded me. Finally I got their shops owners no. and called him. At first he was unaware of the issue and when I was trying to explain my problem, he hung up on me.

This is the worst car shop ever. If there is any kind of issue, they tell you to go to court. They just don't know how to fix the car. Bottom line is: DON'T EVER TAKE YOUR CAR TO MIDAS TO FIX IF YOU LOVE YOUR CAR. IT IS THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVER.

Replies
Do Not Trust the Midas Touch
By -

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- As I was leaving my house to go to work, Friday Oct 15, 2010, my car began to overheat. Midas is less than five minutes from my house, so I drove it there. It was about 7:40 am. I explained the problem I was having, they gave a couple different possible causes, but said that they would let me know for sure as soon as they got a diagnostic done. I left the shop and went to work and I made a few calls and talked to some people that I knew were knowledgeable about cars and I told them what they thought was wrong and they told me I would probably be looking to spend about $500.

They called me at about 8:40 am and told me that I would be needing a coolant flush, radiator and thermostat and it would close to $900. I explained I did not have that kind of money to spend and that I could probably get it done for around $500. He said well I will discount it and could you do $564. I agreed. He then asked would I like my oil changed, which I needed so I agreed to that also. They said it would be done today and they would call me when it was ready.

At around 3 pm I had not heard from them, so I called to check the status and they said it should be about an hour or an hour and a half. I got there at 4:15 pm, it still was not ready and they told me it would be about an hour or an hour and a half, but they close at 7 pm so it will be ready by then. At 6:30 I still had not received a call, so I go back up there and they said it was still not ready. My car was not finished until 9:15 pm. Almost 13 hours after I had dropped it off. I get my car and make sure everything that was supposed to be fixed is work properly.

As I get ready to pull out of the parking lot I turn the volume up on my stereo and the radio is playing. I only listen to CDs in my car, so I press the CD button and nothing happens. I press the eject button and nothing happens. I try to put a CD in and it won't take it because the CD that was in there when I dropped my car off is in there. I had just turned out of the parking lot and pulled into the store right next door, so I go right back to Midas and explain my problem. He tries to press the buttons and nothing happens, so he tells me to bring it back the following morning at 10 am and they will look at it.

That night and the following morning I could listen to the radio fine. I take it back to Midas at 10am and about an hour later they had removed the CD, but tell me that my CD player has just died and there was nothing they could do it just went bad. So I was upset because I just couldn't believe that after two years of owning this car the CD player would just die without warning, but I got in my car and prepared to leave.

Before I pulled out the parking lot, I tried to turn my radio on and now I have no sound coming out of my radio. I backed up and went back into Midas and said now I have nothing first my CD player goes out after bringing my car here now my radio.

Again they try to say it was not anything they did, it must have just died too. They tried to blame the problem on a bad system because my radio display was out and has been out since I bought the car two years ago and I have not had any problems with the radio or CD player because of it. There were no sign of a problem and when I had taken my car there earlier this year, they told me that my car was in very good condition.

I called the District Manager whose name and number was displayed on their window and he actually answered and he was extremely rude and did not help at all. He told me that the radio has nothing to do with the radiator, so it is not are problem and that they don't do work on radios or body work or stuff like that. So you just must have a bad system. I was very displeased with the service and customer service from everyone and I would never go back there again. The worst part of all was hearing all the "I told you so" from everyone that had told me not to take my car to Midas in the first place.

Replies
Midas Broke the Door Handle on My Car
By -

COLUMBIA, MISSOURI -- It sucks when you think or imagine that you trust the mechanic. I thought Midas in Columbia, Missouri are trustworthy. I took the car for all the repairs it needed based on a friend recommendation. Lately I took my 1998 Honda Accord to do coolant flush. I opened the driver door at 8 AM just fine, handle was firm and perfectly fine. I took the car to Midas and they pulled it in and did the flush and everything looked just fine.

Made the payment and head out to the car. Usually Midas mechanic will leave the driver window closed while performing the repair because they used to ask me to look at the car and they explain what needs to be repaired and so forth. So I know they usually leave the window closed.

Now when I went to my car, before I touch the handle, I noticed few things. The driver window was open, which means they probably left it open because they broke the door handle and could not open the door from outside. This way they reach to the handle from inside. Also, they always close the door when they pull the car outside and the repair is finished, but this time they left the door open. I looked and said that is very strange and I pulled the handle (without noticing it is broken, since the door was open) and drove the car to my house.

Later at that day, I went out in the evening, tried to open the door and the damn handle won't open the door. The handle is pulled up, but nothing happens, I thought something got loose inside the door. But closer inspection, I noticed the handle also moves left and right and it is not firm as it was in the morning. The only person who touched the car was the Midas mechanic and I can easily identify the guy.

This is totally wrong and disrespectful to your customer Midas. You did not even come to me and say, "hey sorry we broke your door handle". At the least is to acknowledge your mistake. Do not think you can deceive me by leaving the door open so I won't notice the broken door handle. BE SMART. I am not the first one to encounter this problem. They did not tighten the lug nuts on the one of the wheels on my friend's car. He drove the car and the wheel just flew off. He had to tow the car and fix it and Midas denies his accusation, but they are going to court.

Tomorrow I will be at Midas complaining and I am not giving up. I am 100% sure they did it and they are guilty. For sure, they lost a customer and never back again to Midas, never. I will keep you updated on what happen tomorrow. Please do not go to Midas, find somebody else who is more responsible and professional. Find somebody who fixes your car without breaking anything.

Company Response 03/07/2011:

In response to the broken door handle ,if the windows roll down we roll the windows down because we've had doors lock on us,(2) the part of the door handle that was broken was inside the door panel and not accessible to get broken by us.In response to his friends car wheel falling off we have had no such complaints to us .We try to take care of customers complaints within a timely matter and if they are legitimate complaints we do not hesitate to take care of them right away.

Replies
Midas Is a Scam
By -

ALDERGROVE -- I took my 1997 Saab 900s Turbo into the Midas service location in Aldergrove for a power steering leak. They told me that it would it would take a few days to get done and that I would have it back that week for sure. That was on July 9th. I also had the car in the shop for a performance exhaust to be installed. I called the shop on the Tuesday to see how everything was going and if it would actually be completed the next day, they had done the exhaust but they didn't even look at the power steering leak yet.

So my cousin and I went to the Dairy Queen across from the shop for a ice cream when I noticed that my car wasn't even being worked on. It was just sitting in the Dairy Queen parking lot, windows down and all. I walked over to the car to also notice that they had left the KEYS IN THE CAR! I had satellite radio, amplifier and woofer in the back, and aftermarket stereo in the car and they leave it all open with the keys in the car!

So I hopped in and started the car to hear the exhaust and tossed the keys back to the shop manager, **. Thursday rolls by and I finally get a call saying that they found the power steering leak on the car and that the hose would cost $282. Whatever, it's a Saab. So they call me Friday and tell me it's all done. I take it from the shop to my grandma's house (about 15k) and notice that my car really stinks of power steering fluid and the car was making a weird grumble noise. So I pop the hood to find power steering fluid all over the bottom of the hood, all over the engine, and some into my blow off valve on the other side of the car.

I called the shop right away and they asked me to drive it back so they can take a look at it again. Totally not taking any responsibility for what's going on. So I filled up the power steering again and took it back. When I showed up, it was empty again. The technician decided to clean off the engine so he could see where the leak is coming from. So he clean the entire side of the engine and sprayed break fluid on the serpentine belt! They then discovered that the power steering pump was shot also. A ring in it or something like that had burst.

But when I questioned them on the quality of the inspection on the car, they took extreme defense and argued and yelled at my auntie who came to pick me up from the shop. All he would say to me is that he's trying to work with me and such and such.

So anyway, the car had to stay for the weekend there to get the pump done now. When I picked the car up on Monday the 19th, the technician was going over everything they had done with the power steering problem. When he started the car, there was a horrible squeal with the serpentine belt. He told me that in a few days or engine hours that it would eventually go away. I took his word and I was off.

I drove home to the Okanagan, and soon after that I was on my way into town. When I stopped in my drive way to open the gate, I head a loud thump and snap sound. But the squealing was gone. I popped the hood again right away to notice that my serpentine belt had snapped. I turned off the car right away and started thinking. Squealing is friction, and that's what broke the belt. Break fluid created the squealing, and Midas sprayed it on the belt. So Midas is at fault.

I phoned the customer complaint line right away to try to get reimbursed for the new repair cost over this incident. But all they did was phone the Aldergrove repair shop and ask them if they were at fault. They told me that they were going to phone me back and never did. I had to phone 3 times to finally get an answer from them. But all they told me was to go over it with the service shop that worked on the car over the entire power steering problem, including the belt. I spent $761.00 without taxes at Midas and another $342.44 at another repair shop for the belt.

My point is that they should have never sprayed break fluid on the belt to clean it off. They should have just taken a rag a or a shammy and dried it out properly. My car sat in their shop for 11 days, and I was billed for 3 hours of labor!!! How productive was that! The other shop had the car from August 4th to 5th (1 day was waiting for the part) and I had it back that Thursday morning!

My point is that if you go to Midas, your car won't get worked on or properly inspected and the quality of the work is so poor that your better off taking your car out of their shops and paying for a tow into a different shop. When I walked into their shop to pick up my car for the last time, other people were in there waiting for their car to be serviced for a second time because they had messed up on something. My dad has had problems with them, my auntie has had problems with them, and I have had problems with them. The company is poorly run, and the technicians seem to not be trained for other tasks other than an oil change.

Replies
Free Check Engine Light Diagnostic
By -

SANTA ROSA, CALIFORNIA -- Midas has an ad that plays on the radio station I listen to every morning, stating they offer a free check engine light diagnostic test. The ad states "if your check engine light comes on, don't wait...take it to Midas for a free check engine light diagnostic..."

So one day my car's engine light comes on and of course I call up Midas to set up an appointment. I specifically say I am interested in making an appointment for the free engine light diagnostic test. The guy answering the phone puts me on hold and then another guy gets on the phone to set up the appointment date and time.

I get to Midas on our pre-arranged scheduled time and start filling out the paperwork. The guy behind the counter states the diagnostic test costs $105. I told him "No, I wanted the free engine light diagnostic test that you advertise on the radio". Stated, "We don't have such an advertisement. You must be mistaken with another company. Midas doesn't advertise anything like that."

I argue with him again that it WAS a Midas advertisement and that this was the reason I called Midas up first...because THEY were the ones that advertise on my radio station. He then stated I was welcome to take my car and go find another place to have the engine diagnostic done, but that I wouldn't find anywhere else that would do it for free so I might as well just have it done there.

I decided to go ahead and have the diagnostic test done there, because I knew he was right. I would have to pay for the test anywhere else I went, and the fact that I had my ride waiting for me outside while I left my car, I felt pressured into agreeing to the $105 fee.

Once I was back home however, I looked up the Midas online customer service email and explained the situation. I asked that I be reimbursed for the $105 fee when the ad clearly stated it was free. I waited a week and got no response. I emailed again, and still no response. It has been months since this ordeal happened. Funny thing is Midas is STILL advertising the same thing on the radio station. I hear it almost daily! I wish I had a way to record the advertisement and even attempted to get in touch with the radio station, but just couldn't find anyone who could help me out.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >