Preview Review

Next Review

Netspend - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 73 ratings and
151 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Netspend
PO Box 2136
Austin, TX 78768-2136
1-866-387-7363 (ph)
www.netspend.com
customerservice@netspend.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I like to give the NetSpend the worst possible rating. I have nothing but hate for this business. The reason is simple. After being a customer for a few years, these idiots put my social on their blacklist. Recently, I purchased a card without knowing who the issuer was. It was NetSpend. Now I am on the phone with customer service for 15 minutes and really angry. Card should have been activated but since my social is on their blacklist, they are not going to activate my card. Very displeased with this company. One star is very generous.

Replies
Advertisement
Will Not Release Funds to My Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I purchased a prepaid NetSpend Visa from a local Family Dollar on May 7, 2015. I tried to activate the card online and was told it could not be activated and to call Customer Service. I called CS on May 8, 2015. I was told that there was a glitch in the system and it would be resolved within 24 hours. I was told to check back the next day. I called CS on May 11, 2015 and was told that the system showed my social security number belonged to a deceased person and that I would need to bring a copy of my social security card, drivers license and utility bill to a reload location and have them fax it in to NetSpend.

I took the information to Ace Check Cashing at 8 am on and they faxed the information to NetSpend. I called CS and was told it would take 4-6 hours. When I had not received a response and was still unable to access my funds, I contacted CS again on May 12, 2015. I was told to have the documents resent by a reloading agent so I again went to ACE Check cashing and they refaxed the documents. While I was there, the ACE employee pulled up the verification system and said it did not show my SS# was flagged as deceased. I called CS to verify receipt of the documents and was told yes and it would 4-6 hours.

After 6 hours I called by and was told the issue was I had mistyped my name when I tried to activate online. I was told it would be another 4-6 hours. At 8:36 pm I received an email stating that they were unable to read the faxed documents and I would need to take a photo and send them by reply email. I did this. I received a second email at 11:37 stating that they had received the documents and they had been verified but my account had to be transferred to another department.

I called the morning of May 13th and was told that I had an old account and that in 2008 I made a purchase for $11.36 but my card had a balance of $10 so the account was closed due to an outstanding balance of $1.36. I offered to pay the balance over the phone but they refused payment. The supervisor said they were escalating the issue and it would take 4-6 hours and the funds would be available. They also promised to monitor the account and called when resolved. I followed up with an email to provide written documentation.

At 4:45 I called CS again and was told that the issue was with the documentation department. I told them I had received an email from documentation saying that they had forwarded it to another unnamed department. The supervisor said they would escalate the issue to documentation, monitor the issue and have a manager call me back. I told again the issue was not with documents but with the department that handles charge offs. I was told that CS cannot contact that department or forward customers to the department. Again it would take about 4 hours. I again followed up by email.

When I had not heard anything again, I called at 7:45pm and was told by the CSR that the issue was my social security number belonged to a deceased person. I recanted the entire story and asked to be transferred to a supervisor. After a lengthy wait I spoke with a supervisor who said he was escalating the issue to both documentation and risk. I told him that I was told CS could not contact risk. He said "yes we can but they closed at 8pm so they would not be able to address the issue until the morning and it would take about 4-6 hours after they opened at 8 am for them to review and resolve the issue."

I told them that this money was needed for a payment that was needed Friday morning. I have repeatedly asked that the money be transferred to my open NetSpend account. I also repeatedly offered to pay the $1.43 by phone to have the money released. I informed him that at this point I was filing a complaint with the Texas Office of the Attorney General and the FDIC.

Replies
NetSpend Deceptive and Fraudulent Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- Good morning! My name is ** and I am a Connecticut native residing in Huntsville Alabama. I hope my email reaches the recipient and their interests in the riches of good health and happiness. My reason for this correspondence is to make an attempt to alert consumers during the holiday season about a company that does not stand by their product and has internal issues as it relates to security and safety of your personal funds and or money. I have become a victim and want to empower others before they get duped like my wife and I have.

On October 27th and 28th I purchased two prepaid NetSpend load packs from Walgreens in Huntsville Alabama. What my wife and I did not know prior to paying 307.80 for both cards was the fact that we had to request a debit card from NetSpend to load the funds onto. Once I paid the 307.80 I had to wait a few days for the debit card to arrive to my place of residence. I received the NetSpend debit card on Thursday October 30th, 2014 and proceeded to call the NetSpend number listed to load the 300.00 onto my debit card. The 7.80 were fees for the purchase of both cards.

What would happen next would truly and literally blind side my wife and I. Both cards were already loaded onto another NetSpend account without our authorization. NetSpend has chose to implicate the customer in having to do something with the theft of these cards. What I have gathered from this incident is whoever has stole this money has to be an internal employee of NetSpend. An employee within the Mid Level or higher management team who can oversee any and all inquiries of issues of this magnitude and nature.

I have spoke to an employee of NetSpend named **. Mr. has informed me my money has been loaded onto another NetSpend account and there is nothing he can do concerning this theft of my funds. I was informed to contact the Huntsville Police Department concerning theft of funds with an online banking company. The person who can steal this funds would have the capacity to control all avenues and areas of the investigation process without being considered a suspect in the theft of funds of their customers.

I have filed several complaints and have contacted businesses who partner with NetSpend to inform them of what has happened to my money and the stand the company has not chose to take. I have emailed several departments within the NetSpend umbrella and one employee continues to be the only person I can speak to and make contact with. Mr. has more or less informed me my money has been stolen and has been applied to another account within the NetSpend accounts.

My question was why can't you suspend the account the money was loaded on and proceed to inquire to the person owning the account how did he come into possession of another customer's money and or funds. When one person is privy to all avenues of the investigation process of funds stolen one would have to make an informed decision to believe the person stealing the money can very well be the same person managing all avenues of the investigation process. I was told no matter who I contact within NetSpend all communications will be reviewed on his desk.

I am urging all who will listen to inform consumers of this practice before they experience what my wife and I have experienced. My wife and I were traveling to Connecticut to see our oldest son and spend time with family. This has been very stressful on my beautiful wife and I. We do not have 300.00 just to blow in the wind.

I am saddened the company would take the standpoint and implicate me. Please ensure all of your consumers are aware of this companies practices. There is no constructive way for this money to have been stolen other than a NetSpend internal mechanism having the ability to cipher the funds without the customer's authorization and or approval.

NetSpend is a subsidiary of TSYS of Columbus Georgia. I have contacted the offices of Mr. ** and his subordinates concerning this very deceptive scheme taking place within the scope of his NetSpend Company. I have filed a complaint with FBI Internet Crimes Complaint Center, The Texas Watch Consumer Outlet, The Texas and Alabama Attorney General and still working on other avenues to uncover this very deliberate and organized scheme against consumers of NetSpend and or their business partners.

Thank you for any and all consideration to inform customers prior to purchasing this prepaid load pack. Please do not allow your consumers to experience what I have been dealing with since the 30th of October. I cannot sleep, eat or think straight knowing somebody can simply take your money and there is no cause and or action you can take to recover your funds.

Replies
NetSpend Defrauded Customer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- I had paid my wife's insurance premium using my NetSpend card. My wife had an accident and totaled the vehicle. We canceled our insurance policy and they refunded our policy payments retroactively to the date of the accident. The insurance company sent 2 refunds to the card they had on record (NetSpend). One on Thursday and another on Friday. A day later my account was frozen without notice or explanation.

When I called customer service (and I use that title very loosely because they're third world country customer service representatives are barely understandable) they told me that my account was frozen due to fraud activity. Insinuating that I had committed some type of fraud. They also told me that I can have my insurance company take the money back and send me a check. This would release my other funds I have available on the card.

So, I called my insurance company and they told me there is no way to cancel a refund once it has gone through and accepted. They also told me that the card company can reverse the transaction on their end. But NetSpend reps claimed they are not able to do that, which is a blatant lie. I have a merchant account and I know first hand that transactions can be reversed by the bank or the merchant.

The representative asked that I send them proof of the transaction. I immediately complied and sent them documentation from the insurance company. This was on Saturday afternoon. They told me once they receive the documents it may take up to 8 hours to unfreeze my account and release my money. I printed out the documentation from my insurance company. I faxed the paperwork over to the number they provided me with. I received confirmation that the documents were received. In addition, I also emailed the same documents to the email address they provided me with. All emails were confirmed received.

There was never any response from them that night. I called on Sunday and asked for a supervisor. The phone representative avoided getting a supervisor by stalling and putting me on hold for 15 minutes. They did the same on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. I have been placed on hold several times, for upwards of 40 minutes each time. I have document these phone calls for future reference.

The company's customer service tactics are proof that this is a criminal organization who intentionally refuses to help their customers and attempts to defraud them of their money. Unfortunately, I have given up after spending so much time trying to rectify this matter and have gotten nowhere with these people.

I now believe the money has been stolen and I am forced to take legal action against NetSpend and Meta Bank. In addition, I will be filing a criminal complaint with the New York State Attorney General's office as well as the Office of the Comptroller of Currency. After reading about so many customers who have been robbed by this company I have come to the conclusion that the defrauded customers should file a class action lawsuit against these criminals.

Replies
Advertisement
NetSpend Worst Idea Ever!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- Trying to get a bill paid due to bank account not being in order. I purchase the PayPal debit card. I put 50 bucks on it to cover the bill. I call to activate the card and I get asked maybe about a 4 to 5 times my address and SS. Finally I get a customer service agent who lets me know that I need verification credentials in order to activate. OK. Not so bad, but after faxing in some info.

I called back to check for activation as I had sent everything they needed to verify me. I got in touch with an agent after the same vetting process that I received earlier. The Agent states that they were unable to see my SS card due to the fax (which was fax from my workplace so I know that it shouldn't have been horrible quality).

So I sent two more faxes with a brighter resolution just in case so there would be no issue. I wait their 8 business hrs and call back to check and the agent tells me this time (after the same crappy vetting process) that there is problem due to the difference in my current address and my old address on my DL and I will need mail to verify my current address.

So I faxed mail, a bill from AT&T that has my address and name on it. Called back after another wonderful 8 business hrs only to find that the mail wasn't good enough and I needed an actual bill, which it was. Hold on, it gets better folks. After resending via fax numerous times, I give them the weekend to square this. I call them and this time they are not receiving my faxes now. I sent these documents over 10 times and they can't locate the info. All I want to do is pay a bill. They have all my current info but they still can't activate my card. Meanwhile I got 50 bucks I can't spend and my Internet account is about to go up due to lateness.

So I'm heated of course and decide to talk to MGR, on hold for about a half hr I reach a supervisor who tells me that whatever dept hasn't sent up my information and that in order to be able to use the card to pay a bill online I still need those credentials authorized. This is after at least 4 to 5 calls to NetSpend, two to three people asking me my address and social three different times and on each call.

So with that I was fed up. I want my money back. **, I think her name, informed me that it will take twenty business days in order to get my money back, which I heard prior while snapping on an agent on the phone about them not getting my info after at least 24 business hours. This is actually the second time I have talked to ** who has no Idea what is happening or why my info has not been processed.

So I'm fed up of course since now my bill has defaulted and I have the money that I was to use stuck at NetSpend. I chose to not use the card, they wanted me to just activated for store use early on but I refused. So I asked for money back regardless of the twenty day wait (which just seems ridiculous).

So I took down ** info and tried to get her managers info which she refused. I wanted some type of confirmation that I would get my money back and she had none just the ref number they gave me for the initial fax that they could never recover. SO now it's about two and a half weeks past the twenty days and I give them a call. I get ** who states that someone never deposited the check that needed to be sent. Of course she is so sorry, not sorry enough to expedite my money because another twenty days needs to go by before I get my the money.

So I give in, just activate the card so I can use the money on something. I'm sure that works for them because they get a nice 5% of it. Something tells me that this was the plan all along. So, way too much hassle just to pay a bill. I wouldn't recommend to an enemy or maybe I would. I would def stay away from NetSpend and all its associates.

Replies
NetSpend Works for Me
By -

I have had NetSpend for a few months now. With the economy I do not trust banks, so I was refuse to take my checks to a bank. I have been ripped off not once, but twice by a huge banking corporation and honestly was a bit standoffish about using NetSpend. Being a tattoo artist, I was making too much money to carry around in my wallet and after having my house robbed about a year ago, I don't trust leaving anything too valuable in my home.

I was talking to one of the artists I work with about giving him some money to put on his card so that I could order this really nice tattoo machine online. He pulled out his wallet and showed me his NetSpend card and said "Why don't you go buy one of these from HEB? They are like $5 and it's free to put your money on them. I've had mine for about 2 years and have never once had a problem."

So during my break I went to go buy one and was actually disappointed at first when I found out that any transaction would cost me money, but then I was offered one of the spending plans that is only a little over $7 a month (which honestly is not that big of a deal). They have to make money to stay in business. I was more happy with that plan.

I then created my account and found out all of the great things that a lot of other banks never offered me. Like you have the option of receiving a text message every time there is money spent on your card. I thought it would get annoying but it's actually reassuring. It literally tells you what time, where, and how much was spent. So if you are actually able to track your card down if you really wanted to. The texts come in immediately after you swipe the card. Also you are given an option of free direct deposit, which most banks charge you a fee for.

The company also gives you an option of free bank transfer, which is awesome because if you have a bank and you have money there, but you want to use your NetSpend card, there you go. Honestly the main problem with the bank I was going with was that my card would get stolen, and I'd be in debt even though I reported it stolen the moment it got stolen. They would still allow my account to be open. NetSpend deletes the card as soon as you call them.

Also I love that you can't possibly get any overages. That saves me a lot of money. Sure I don't have extra money that isn't mine to spend if I need it, but I don't get into debt. There are a lot of great things about NetSpend that I haven't mentioned, but you get the point. I feel safe with NetSpend mainly because of the texting option. I don't think I will go with another bank as long as NetSpend is around.

Replies
Unauthorized Transfer to Someone Else's Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ARLINGTON, WASHINGTON -- This was the first year I used TurboTax. I opted to get the NetSpend card which was the worst thing I ever did. My money was deposited before a card ever came. After waiting and waiting I chose to call to find out where the card was. I should mention my phone was lost and I had to order a new one during this waiting period. My phone was set up with security features but it obviously didn't stop the crooks from getting into my personal information. I use my phone for everything. Including filing my taxes.

After calling NetSpend I finally got ahold of a customer service representative He told me I had to wait for the card and all was fine. He seemed confused and kept asking random questions over and over. I was unable to access anything online. After repeating myself several times come to find out my personal info was compromised and NetSpend allowed someone to transfer half of my tax return out of my account to someone else's account and also drain the rest from my account. My card was obviously intercepted and stolen. Within a matter of a weekend plus a couple days everything was gone.

I completed the necessary letter stating I never authorized anything nor did I ever even receive a card. Every time I call NetSpend to get info I get hung up on or told I can't speak with anyone. This is my money. Most banks issue a credit within 3 days. I am contacting an attorney, Visa, TurboTax, and the IRS. I have a serious illness and without these funds my life is in danger. This issue has cost me the loss of my moving deposit along with medical treatment. I am now out $2827.01 plus fees.

TurboTax shouldn't offer services to their customers. I have read thousands of reviews of the same thing happening. Someone calls in and wants to transfer funds to a 3rd party card and that doesn't raise suspicious actions? NetSpend clearly doesn't care. And it this point I'm starting to think it's inside operations that is giving out personal info. No banks authorize money transfers to 3rd party accounts without extreme caution and authorization. I am disgusted and will be filing charges and proceeding with a lawsuit. Not only that, I will make sure TurboTax dissolves their relationship with NetSpend.

Replies
Fraud and Dispute
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- This by far is the worst experience that I have had from any company. 05/15/14 there was an charge on my NetSpend Card for $57.73 transaction in Miami Florida for gas and I was using my card at the same time in Orlando Florida which the two cities are 300 miles apart. And 05/16/14 there were 7 additional charges for gas totaling $580.57. I had always maintain possession of my NetSpend Card.

I called them on the 05/16/14 I when I seen the charges and reported it to the as soon I as saw the charges. The question that I had for the Customer Service Agent is how could they allow 7 gas charges to be processed on my card in a totally different city? And second question how could the company allow 7 different gas charges to process within an hour time. The company does not have a fraud system to check their customer spending trend? They don't protect your money!

I spoke with three different Customer Service Agents and they all advise that I needed to send a letter advising that I didn't authorize the transaction and advise that I haven't allowed anyone to use my card and advise that I tried to work it out with the Merchant. I explained to them that they have me filing a (courtesy claim) (Dispute) and not fraud claim.

I explained to them I worked for an bank and I know exactly what they are doing. They lie and tell ten business at first then after the 10 business days expire they then tell you they will dispute with the merchant or MasterCard which can take 60 days to resolve. But now I see why they don't protect your money cause they won't help you get it back nor refunded when they are the ones that allowed fraud to take place. They are scam, do not trust them. They got me with releasing you direct deposit 2 days earlier. I have place comments on my Facebook, Instagram, Twitter warning people not to use them.

Replies
Advertisement
Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- I would love to tell you how NetSpend has ruined my life. I had direct deposit with them through my job, well this is twice that they allowed unauthorized companies to take my money out of my account. It happened Sept 5 2013, they allowed AT&T to take 500.00 out of the account which I didn't approve. I had to go to hell and hot water to make them release my funds. The second time was September 19 2013, they allowed AT&T to take 853.00, left me with 40.00.

I am a single mother with three kids and had no money for groceries. I called NetSpend. They told me to call AT&T to get my money released. I did, then they said to forward an email to faxrequest@NetSpend, still they tell me that wasn't good enough. I called all weekend, I cried screamed and yelled. There is no supervisor or manager to talk to because if you do they hang up on you. They are a ripoff. I want to sue them. I spoke with twenty different people. They all kept saying I have to wait. I went 5 days without any money or food for my children, I had no gas in my truck to go anywhere.

Finally on the 5th day I speak with a supervisor who name is ** who tried to tell me the fax and email and conversation with AT&T on a 3 way call still wasn't good enough. I screamed and cussed and ask to speak with a manager who never came. They said that the back office was releasing my funds to me at that time.

Okay, but who's the back office and on top of that this company can not be in Texas not to offend anyone but they sound like they're in the middle east somewhere or Indonesia. Everyone had a accent and it wasn't Texas talk, it sounds like they're middle eastern. Get out while you can. Do not use this card. Do not get direct deposit. Believe, you will regret it.

Replies
My Experience With NetSpend
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- OK just wanted to say a couple things. First of all NetSpend card is a prepaid Credit card. It has the added features of a checking account so that you may setup direct deposit if you like. But it is still just a prepaid card. There are fees associated with the use of a prepaid credit card... reloading, use, ATM access, etc. Think of it like this obviously people like me or you who have a NetSpend card most likely have credit and/or money problems, otherwise you would not need to have a prepaid card. So I am truly sorry to anyone who has had a bad experience with them but it is your own responsibility to keep track of your spending.

My advice is to keep track of your balance and account for any active cards. NetSpend and MetaBank are legitimate companies and I really doubt their employees are going around spending their customers money. Me personally had a horrible experience with BofA when I opened up a checking account just for direct deposit. Apparently everything went through just fine and my direct deposit was processed. On the day before pay day I went to check status of my account. Turns out my account was flagged as high risk and they closed it without my knowledge.

When I called them they told me they would mail me a cashier's check for the balance. Now the big problem was my boss has already submitted Payroll and the money was already deducted from her account. Bank of America and Intuit payroll stated that it could be up to two weeks before the money would credit back to my bosses account.

I had a NetSpend account that I didn't use very much so since I needed the money desperately my boss setup direct deposit with my NetSpend account. I was skeptical at first but didn't have much choice as I needed the money ASAP and my work only paid through direct deposit. Unbelievable but the day my boss submitted my payroll... that night exactly at midnight my funds posted and were immediately available.

So more than a year later my credit has greatly improved but I still prefer my NetSpend card over a regular bank. Thank you NetSpend for helping me out of my jam. You made a loyal customer out of me. My only complaint would be the ATM fees but I guess that is to be expected. :-D

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >