Preview Review

Next Review

Netspend - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 81 ratings and
159 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Netspend
PO Box 2136
Austin, TX 78768-2136
1-866-387-7363 (ph)
www.netspend.com
customerservice@netspend.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TX, TEXAS -- These people are criminals, do not deal with them. Keep your money in a sock, it will be better. Absolute shame. These people prey on people who need some sort of debit card. I bought one for my wife to buy a Christmas gift with and, well lets say I got ugly with their representative. I'm sorry for that but if you work for criminals it's going to happen. If there was a zero star for gross I would use it.

Replies
Advertisement
HORRIBLE, NEVER AGAIN, WORTHLESS
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BELTSVILLE, MARYLAND -- They owe me a remaining balance that I had inside my account before closing it. It's been over 4 months I have yet received my funds. Unacceptable. Everyone save the trouble and do not associate with NetSpend.

Replies
Will Not Release Funds to My Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I purchased a prepaid NetSpend Visa from a local Family Dollar on May 7, 2015. I tried to activate the card online and was told it could not be activated and to call Customer Service. I called CS on May 8, 2015. I was told that there was a glitch in the system and it would be resolved within 24 hours. I was told to check back the next day. I called CS on May 11, 2015 and was told that the system showed my social security number belonged to a deceased person and that I would need to bring a copy of my social security card, drivers license and utility bill to a reload location and have them fax it in to NetSpend.

I took the information to Ace Check Cashing at 8 am on and they faxed the information to NetSpend. I called CS and was told it would take 4-6 hours. When I had not received a response and was still unable to access my funds, I contacted CS again on May 12, 2015. I was told to have the documents resent by a reloading agent so I again went to ACE Check cashing and they refaxed the documents. While I was there, the ACE employee pulled up the verification system and said it did not show my SS# was flagged as deceased. I called CS to verify receipt of the documents and was told yes and it would 4-6 hours.

After 6 hours I called by and was told the issue was I had mistyped my name when I tried to activate online. I was told it would be another 4-6 hours. At 8:36 pm I received an email stating that they were unable to read the faxed documents and I would need to take a photo and send them by reply email. I did this. I received a second email at 11:37 stating that they had received the documents and they had been verified but my account had to be transferred to another department.

I called the morning of May 13th and was told that I had an old account and that in 2008 I made a purchase for $11.36 but my card had a balance of $10 so the account was closed due to an outstanding balance of $1.36. I offered to pay the balance over the phone but they refused payment. The supervisor said they were escalating the issue and it would take 4-6 hours and the funds would be available. They also promised to monitor the account and called when resolved. I followed up with an email to provide written documentation.

At 4:45 I called CS again and was told that the issue was with the documentation department. I told them I had received an email from documentation saying that they had forwarded it to another unnamed department. The supervisor said they would escalate the issue to documentation, monitor the issue and have a manager call me back. I told again the issue was not with documents but with the department that handles charge offs. I was told that CS cannot contact that department or forward customers to the department. Again it would take about 4 hours. I again followed up by email.

When I had not heard anything again, I called at 7:45pm and was told by the CSR that the issue was my social security number belonged to a deceased person. I recanted the entire story and asked to be transferred to a supervisor. After a lengthy wait I spoke with a supervisor who said he was escalating the issue to both documentation and risk. I told him that I was told CS could not contact risk. He said "yes we can but they closed at 8pm so they would not be able to address the issue until the morning and it would take about 4-6 hours after they opened at 8 am for them to review and resolve the issue."

I told them that this money was needed for a payment that was needed Friday morning. I have repeatedly asked that the money be transferred to my open NetSpend account. I also repeatedly offered to pay the $1.43 by phone to have the money released. I informed him that at this point I was filing a complaint with the Texas Office of the Attorney General and the FDIC.

Replies
NetSpend Deceptive and Fraudulent Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- Good morning! My name is ** and I am a Connecticut native residing in Huntsville Alabama. I hope my email reaches the recipient and their interests in the riches of good health and happiness. My reason for this correspondence is to make an attempt to alert consumers during the holiday season about a company that does not stand by their product and has internal issues as it relates to security and safety of your personal funds and or money. I have become a victim and want to empower others before they get duped like my wife and I have.

On October 27th and 28th I purchased two prepaid NetSpend load packs from Walgreens in Huntsville Alabama. What my wife and I did not know prior to paying 307.80 for both cards was the fact that we had to request a debit card from NetSpend to load the funds onto. Once I paid the 307.80 I had to wait a few days for the debit card to arrive to my place of residence. I received the NetSpend debit card on Thursday October 30th, 2014 and proceeded to call the NetSpend number listed to load the 300.00 onto my debit card. The 7.80 were fees for the purchase of both cards.

What would happen next would truly and literally blind side my wife and I. Both cards were already loaded onto another NetSpend account without our authorization. NetSpend has chose to implicate the customer in having to do something with the theft of these cards. What I have gathered from this incident is whoever has stole this money has to be an internal employee of NetSpend. An employee within the Mid Level or higher management team who can oversee any and all inquiries of issues of this magnitude and nature.

I have spoke to an employee of NetSpend named **. Mr. has informed me my money has been loaded onto another NetSpend account and there is nothing he can do concerning this theft of my funds. I was informed to contact the Huntsville Police Department concerning theft of funds with an online banking company. The person who can steal this funds would have the capacity to control all avenues and areas of the investigation process without being considered a suspect in the theft of funds of their customers.

I have filed several complaints and have contacted businesses who partner with NetSpend to inform them of what has happened to my money and the stand the company has not chose to take. I have emailed several departments within the NetSpend umbrella and one employee continues to be the only person I can speak to and make contact with. Mr. has more or less informed me my money has been stolen and has been applied to another account within the NetSpend accounts.

My question was why can't you suspend the account the money was loaded on and proceed to inquire to the person owning the account how did he come into possession of another customer's money and or funds. When one person is privy to all avenues of the investigation process of funds stolen one would have to make an informed decision to believe the person stealing the money can very well be the same person managing all avenues of the investigation process. I was told no matter who I contact within NetSpend all communications will be reviewed on his desk.

I am urging all who will listen to inform consumers of this practice before they experience what my wife and I have experienced. My wife and I were traveling to Connecticut to see our oldest son and spend time with family. This has been very stressful on my beautiful wife and I. We do not have 300.00 just to blow in the wind.

I am saddened the company would take the standpoint and implicate me. Please ensure all of your consumers are aware of this companies practices. There is no constructive way for this money to have been stolen other than a NetSpend internal mechanism having the ability to cipher the funds without the customer's authorization and or approval.

NetSpend is a subsidiary of TSYS of Columbus Georgia. I have contacted the offices of Mr. ** and his subordinates concerning this very deceptive scheme taking place within the scope of his NetSpend Company. I have filed a complaint with FBI Internet Crimes Complaint Center, The Texas Watch Consumer Outlet, The Texas and Alabama Attorney General and still working on other avenues to uncover this very deliberate and organized scheme against consumers of NetSpend and or their business partners.

Thank you for any and all consideration to inform customers prior to purchasing this prepaid load pack. Please do not allow your consumers to experience what I have been dealing with since the 30th of October. I cannot sleep, eat or think straight knowing somebody can simply take your money and there is no cause and or action you can take to recover your funds.

Replies
Advertisement
Unsolicited Letter Sent in the Mail
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- Today I received a unsolicited letter with a prepaid MasterCard and I do not have an account with them nor did I reply for this card. Also, the letter doesn't say that I requested it whatsoever. Something is very fishy about this as I believe that is a scam and will not fall for it.

Replies
NetSpend Works for Me
By -

I have had NetSpend for a few months now. With the economy I do not trust banks, so I was refuse to take my checks to a bank. I have been ripped off not once, but twice by a huge banking corporation and honestly was a bit standoffish about using NetSpend. Being a tattoo artist, I was making too much money to carry around in my wallet and after having my house robbed about a year ago, I don't trust leaving anything too valuable in my home.

I was talking to one of the artists I work with about giving him some money to put on his card so that I could order this really nice tattoo machine online. He pulled out his wallet and showed me his NetSpend card and said "Why don't you go buy one of these from HEB? They are like $5 and it's free to put your money on them. I've had mine for about 2 years and have never once had a problem."

So during my break I went to go buy one and was actually disappointed at first when I found out that any transaction would cost me money, but then I was offered one of the spending plans that is only a little over $7 a month (which honestly is not that big of a deal). They have to make money to stay in business. I was more happy with that plan.

I then created my account and found out all of the great things that a lot of other banks never offered me. Like you have the option of receiving a text message every time there is money spent on your card. I thought it would get annoying but it's actually reassuring. It literally tells you what time, where, and how much was spent. So if you are actually able to track your card down if you really wanted to. The texts come in immediately after you swipe the card. Also you are given an option of free direct deposit, which most banks charge you a fee for.

The company also gives you an option of free bank transfer, which is awesome because if you have a bank and you have money there, but you want to use your NetSpend card, there you go. Honestly the main problem with the bank I was going with was that my card would get stolen, and I'd be in debt even though I reported it stolen the moment it got stolen. They would still allow my account to be open. NetSpend deletes the card as soon as you call them.

Also I love that you can't possibly get any overages. That saves me a lot of money. Sure I don't have extra money that isn't mine to spend if I need it, but I don't get into debt. There are a lot of great things about NetSpend that I haven't mentioned, but you get the point. I feel safe with NetSpend mainly because of the texting option. I don't think I will go with another bank as long as NetSpend is around.

Replies
NetSpend Users Beware! Company Asking for Inappropriate Information.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have been a NetSpend user for a few months and had no issues. However, after trying to use their check deposit function on their mobile app, I had to call customer service. I was trying to cash my parent's Christmas check (drawn on a major financial institution) and had received a message that the writer of the check could not be reached. So I called customer service.

Once on the line with these folks, I began to get suspicious. To cash my father's check, the representative asked me for my father's birth date and his social security number. And this was asked by NetSpend customer service, even though NetSpend contracts the check-cashing service with Ingo. So I am not sure why a NetSpend customer service representative would be asking me this information. I did not give it to him.

I called back today and asked to speak to a supervisor. The representative put me on hold to see if a supervisor was available, and then the call was disconnected. Was it an act of God? Perhaps. Otherwise, I just wanted to caution everyone to be aware of what I have ultimately determined to be an offshore based customer service department for this company. There is no reason that they would need my father's birth date and Social Security number. Shame on you, NetSpend.

Replies
Unauthorized Transfer to Someone Else's Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ARLINGTON, WASHINGTON -- This was the first year I used TurboTax. I opted to get the NetSpend card which was the worst thing I ever did. My money was deposited before a card ever came. After waiting and waiting I chose to call to find out where the card was. I should mention my phone was lost and I had to order a new one during this waiting period. My phone was set up with security features but it obviously didn't stop the crooks from getting into my personal information. I use my phone for everything. Including filing my taxes.

After calling NetSpend I finally got ahold of a customer service representative He told me I had to wait for the card and all was fine. He seemed confused and kept asking random questions over and over. I was unable to access anything online. After repeating myself several times come to find out my personal info was compromised and NetSpend allowed someone to transfer half of my tax return out of my account to someone else's account and also drain the rest from my account. My card was obviously intercepted and stolen. Within a matter of a weekend plus a couple days everything was gone.

I completed the necessary letter stating I never authorized anything nor did I ever even receive a card. Every time I call NetSpend to get info I get hung up on or told I can't speak with anyone. This is my money. Most banks issue a credit within 3 days. I am contacting an attorney, Visa, TurboTax, and the IRS. I have a serious illness and without these funds my life is in danger. This issue has cost me the loss of my moving deposit along with medical treatment. I am now out $2827.01 plus fees.

TurboTax shouldn't offer services to their customers. I have read thousands of reviews of the same thing happening. Someone calls in and wants to transfer funds to a 3rd party card and that doesn't raise suspicious actions? NetSpend clearly doesn't care. And it this point I'm starting to think it's inside operations that is giving out personal info. No banks authorize money transfers to 3rd party accounts without extreme caution and authorization. I am disgusted and will be filing charges and proceeding with a lawsuit. Not only that, I will make sure TurboTax dissolves their relationship with NetSpend.

Replies
Advertisement
Fraud and Dispute
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- This by far is the worst experience that I have had from any company. 05/15/14 there was an charge on my NetSpend Card for $57.73 transaction in Miami Florida for gas and I was using my card at the same time in Orlando Florida which the two cities are 300 miles apart. And 05/16/14 there were 7 additional charges for gas totaling $580.57. I had always maintain possession of my NetSpend Card.

I called them on the 05/16/14 I when I seen the charges and reported it to the as soon I as saw the charges. The question that I had for the Customer Service Agent is how could they allow 7 gas charges to be processed on my card in a totally different city? And second question how could the company allow 7 different gas charges to process within an hour time. The company does not have a fraud system to check their customer spending trend? They don't protect your money!

I spoke with three different Customer Service Agents and they all advise that I needed to send a letter advising that I didn't authorize the transaction and advise that I haven't allowed anyone to use my card and advise that I tried to work it out with the Merchant. I explained to them that they have me filing a (courtesy claim) (Dispute) and not fraud claim.

I explained to them I worked for an bank and I know exactly what they are doing. They lie and tell ten business at first then after the 10 business days expire they then tell you they will dispute with the merchant or MasterCard which can take 60 days to resolve. But now I see why they don't protect your money cause they won't help you get it back nor refunded when they are the ones that allowed fraud to take place. They are scam, do not trust them. They got me with releasing you direct deposit 2 days earlier. I have place comments on my Facebook, Instagram, Twitter warning people not to use them.

Replies
Stole My Tax Check and Filed Claim
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- My claim should've been updated today. I talked to a representative. She said I should be credited for my dispute today. I've been waiting 20 days. I showed my police report verifying I was robbed at gunpoint and that my purse was stolen with all my cards and I.D. but NetSpend did nothing. I have my $1,078 Light bill to pay and I have rent I'm behind on. Can't you guys give me an update? I've been waiting long enough. The officer said I wouldn't have to wait this long because there's a report and they won't credit back my tax check. The IRS said NetSpend is responsible for crediting it back. That's $2,422.00 that was stolen.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >