Preview Review

Next Review

Netspend - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 95 ratings and
173 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Netspend
PO Box 2136
Austin, TX 78768-2136
1-866-387-7363 (ph)
www.netspend.com
customerservice@netspend.com
Product/Services
Compare Banks
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Netspend WILL STEAL Your Money if You Buy Their Prepaid Card.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I put hundreds of dollars on a NetSpend card thinking it would be no problem to set up and use. It was a huge problem. NetSpend had locked the card and I was unable to access my money on the card! They essentially stole hundreds of dollars from me. Whatever you do, NEVER I repeat NEVER BUY a NETSPEND PREPAID CARD, if you wish to use your own money.

Replies
Advertisement
Biggest Scam for a Gift Card Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND -- Was trying to activate my son's gift card given by family member, was told that the card cost 5.95 a month to monitor for good standing, so 6 months after trying to activate no funds left on card. BIGGEST SCAM EVER. STAY AWAY FROM ANYTHING LABELED NETSPEND.

Company Response 08/03/2017:

We are sorry to hear that you feel that way. Please feel free to email us at Social@netspend.com and we would like the opportunity to rectify this for you. Thanks, Netspend.

Replies
What A Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EVERY transaction you do has a fee associated to it in their favor. Check your balance... That'll cost you 0.50. Load money... That'll cost you whatever the merchant charges you. Etc., etc., etc.. There's literally 23 out of 28 pages of their agreement that is fees only! This company is just preying on people. And should be completely illegal. But they state it in their 23 pages... and people agree to it because they don't read it. Be informed everyone, before you jump at something because it's easy.

Company Response 08/03/2017:

Hi

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear you have concerns with your fee schedule. If there is anything we can do to assist you, please feel free to contact us at social@netspend.com.

Thanks, Netspend

Replies
Very Poor Support
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTUN, TEXAS -- Very poor support. I made a mistake thinking Netspend was a gift card and bought 4 of them loaded with $100. I tried to activate them over the internet but the location was not working so I used phone activation. I gave the information for all four to the person on the phone and they only activated ONE!!! Further phone contact to try and correct the problem brought no action after several tries. I finally gave up and shredded the unactivated cards and and would give them ZERO Stars if that was possible.

Replies
Advertisement
Hey They Suck
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CONCORD, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- I started using NetSpend since 11/01/2016 and December 22nd. They use 99 cents in California then they use it again last month and now I'm waiting for my check and it didn't come in like it should've be in my account on the 1st of this month and it is not on my card at all. They owe me $839. That is how much I get on ssdi and I'm disabled.

Replies
Will Not Release Funds to My Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I purchased a prepaid NetSpend Visa from a local Family Dollar on May 7, 2015. I tried to activate the card online and was told it could not be activated and to call Customer Service. I called CS on May 8, 2015. I was told that there was a glitch in the system and it would be resolved within 24 hours. I was told to check back the next day. I called CS on May 11, 2015 and was told that the system showed my social security number belonged to a deceased person and that I would need to bring a copy of my social security card, drivers license and utility bill to a reload location and have them fax it in to NetSpend.

I took the information to Ace Check Cashing at 8 am on and they faxed the information to NetSpend. I called CS and was told it would take 4-6 hours. When I had not received a response and was still unable to access my funds, I contacted CS again on May 12, 2015. I was told to have the documents resent by a reloading agent so I again went to ACE Check cashing and they refaxed the documents. While I was there, the ACE employee pulled up the verification system and said it did not show my SS# was flagged as deceased. I called CS to verify receipt of the documents and was told yes and it would 4-6 hours.

After 6 hours I called by and was told the issue was I had mistyped my name when I tried to activate online. I was told it would be another 4-6 hours. At 8:36 pm I received an email stating that they were unable to read the faxed documents and I would need to take a photo and send them by reply email. I did this. I received a second email at 11:37 stating that they had received the documents and they had been verified but my account had to be transferred to another department.

I called the morning of May 13th and was told that I had an old account and that in 2008 I made a purchase for $11.36 but my card had a balance of $10 so the account was closed due to an outstanding balance of $1.36. I offered to pay the balance over the phone but they refused payment. The supervisor said they were escalating the issue and it would take 4-6 hours and the funds would be available. They also promised to monitor the account and called when resolved. I followed up with an email to provide written documentation.

At 4:45 I called CS again and was told that the issue was with the documentation department. I told them I had received an email from documentation saying that they had forwarded it to another unnamed department. The supervisor said they would escalate the issue to documentation, monitor the issue and have a manager call me back. I told again the issue was not with documents but with the department that handles charge offs. I was told that CS cannot contact that department or forward customers to the department. Again it would take about 4 hours. I again followed up by email.

When I had not heard anything again, I called at 7:45pm and was told by the CSR that the issue was my social security number belonged to a deceased person. I recanted the entire story and asked to be transferred to a supervisor. After a lengthy wait I spoke with a supervisor who said he was escalating the issue to both documentation and risk. I told him that I was told CS could not contact risk. He said "yes we can but they closed at 8pm so they would not be able to address the issue until the morning and it would take about 4-6 hours after they opened at 8 am for them to review and resolve the issue."

I told them that this money was needed for a payment that was needed Friday morning. I have repeatedly asked that the money be transferred to my open NetSpend account. I also repeatedly offered to pay the $1.43 by phone to have the money released. I informed him that at this point I was filing a complaint with the Texas Office of the Attorney General and the FDIC.

Replies
Unsolicited Letter Sent in the Mail
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- Today I received a unsolicited letter with a prepaid MasterCard and I do not have an account with them nor did I reply for this card. Also, the letter doesn't say that I requested it whatsoever. Something is very fishy about this as I believe that is a scam and will not fall for it.

Replies
NetSpend Works for Me
By -

I have had NetSpend for a few months now. With the economy I do not trust banks, so I was refuse to take my checks to a bank. I have been ripped off not once, but twice by a huge banking corporation and honestly was a bit standoffish about using NetSpend. Being a tattoo artist, I was making too much money to carry around in my wallet and after having my house robbed about a year ago, I don't trust leaving anything too valuable in my home.

I was talking to one of the artists I work with about giving him some money to put on his card so that I could order this really nice tattoo machine online. He pulled out his wallet and showed me his NetSpend card and said "Why don't you go buy one of these from HEB? They are like $5 and it's free to put your money on them. I've had mine for about 2 years and have never once had a problem."

So during my break I went to go buy one and was actually disappointed at first when I found out that any transaction would cost me money, but then I was offered one of the spending plans that is only a little over $7 a month (which honestly is not that big of a deal). They have to make money to stay in business. I was more happy with that plan.

I then created my account and found out all of the great things that a lot of other banks never offered me. Like you have the option of receiving a text message every time there is money spent on your card. I thought it would get annoying but it's actually reassuring. It literally tells you what time, where, and how much was spent. So if you are actually able to track your card down if you really wanted to. The texts come in immediately after you swipe the card. Also you are given an option of free direct deposit, which most banks charge you a fee for.

The company also gives you an option of free bank transfer, which is awesome because if you have a bank and you have money there, but you want to use your NetSpend card, there you go. Honestly the main problem with the bank I was going with was that my card would get stolen, and I'd be in debt even though I reported it stolen the moment it got stolen. They would still allow my account to be open. NetSpend deletes the card as soon as you call them.

Also I love that you can't possibly get any overages. That saves me a lot of money. Sure I don't have extra money that isn't mine to spend if I need it, but I don't get into debt. There are a lot of great things about NetSpend that I haven't mentioned, but you get the point. I feel safe with NetSpend mainly because of the texting option. I don't think I will go with another bank as long as NetSpend is around.

Replies
Advertisement
Scam Scam Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- Applied for a prepaid debit card for my son who is 15. Got the card and then they said I had to give his social security number which I refused to do as he is a minor - they then said that they would set up an account as me as the primary holder and then my son could get a card - I reluctantly agreed and provided my information including my SSN. I received my card and my son's a couple of days later. I then loaded some money on the card and my son used it once and then it stopped working. I attempted to look at the account online and it said my account was locked.

I called in. They said the account was locked because I needed to send in documents verifying my son's identity - I told them I would not provide that information and that I set up the account as required by the agent I spoke with previously. They said they would not activate the account unless I sent in documents which I refused to do. I then started asking question because whomever I was speaking with did not speak proper English yet was telling me that he was headquartered in Austin, Texas. When I asked for his information and identifying number - he gave me the name Matthew ** and he was the supervisor.

I then requested the address of the office he was at, and he had to put me on hold for 3 minutes to get the address which I found very suspicious. When I pressed him on wanting the street address, not the PO Box - he said he could not give me that information. I cancelled the account and requested my money be refunded which he said I would receive in 7-10 business days. This seems like a very big scam and I am now concerned that they have my SSN.

Replies
Dispute of 2 Unauthorized Trasactions
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- I have had NetSpend, now going by Ace Elite account since 2007. I filed 2 disputes: 1 in the sum of $4.95 and 98.41. I've never had any problems of people hacking my account except for this year 2016, I have had to file and close my card and have had to wait 10 business days for another 2 other times. I use this card to pay my monthly bills. The company found In my favor for the $4.95, but still had to wait another month to find out their decision on the $98.41. Well that one they found in favor of the thieves and withdrew it from my account.

I am disabled and live on a very small income from SS. I only get $748.00 a month. I have No clue how they found that the $4.95 was valid, but found it was valid for the $98.41. I have requested the documents on how they determined that the $4.95 was valid but not the $98.41 both from the same company. I am still waiting for the information.

I have used this card only because it was easy for me as I am limited on getting around. But now I must find a way to get a real Banking account and Close my NetSpend/Ace Elite account as soon as possible before it happens again. I don't think they are taking Security serious or I wouldn't have have had so many issues this year.

So I say to anyone that is thinking about using this Company because it is easy Not to get one of their cards!!! You will lose your money should anyone get into your account. They are not good advocates and care about their customers!! Also when you call it seems nowadays that the people you talk to are not English speaking people. They are hard to understand. I Have to repeat back what they say so I am sure I understand what they said.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >