North American Bancard - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
97 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't do business with NABC
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I am not going to go into a lot of detail, I have spent over 4 hours dealing with them today and am just plain tired. I would advise anyone, esp. a small business to stay away, use a local bank or go directly to the card companies.
As a note to NABC since I know they read these, I recommend you not automatically sign your merchants up for the Gold mybizperks and start charging them a monthly fee. This is where many of the problems stem from and it is a legal, but misleading way to make money off your merchants. Instead, sign them up for the FREE bronze membership and then allow them to upgrade. You will have less complaints and be a much more customer friendly company.
You would also be wise to not outsource your sales force, that is another source of your complaints.
And, not use robots for customer service reps. I just talked to one, about the 7th one today, who was great, but the first 3 were horrible. I even had to scream at one to get her to stop talking and actually listen to me. She would not stop talking, it was amazing. She kept going on and on about a three year agreement, which was incorrect and when I finally got her to shut up and listen to me. She looked and found I had a 1 year addendum to my contract. It was absurd and I have never gone through anything like that before. No offers of help were given by most of the CSR's only, this is what it says...... I also had to call and get a correction to one of the email synopsis of the conversations, it was completely incorrect.
I still am just waiting out the next couple of months and will cancel when my one year is up and will definitely not recommend anyone doing business with this company. Even with the cancellation letter, I have called three times to get clarification due to the wording of the letter. If I had done what was recommended by one CSR, I would have risk paying the early term fee. I should not have to call 3 times to get correct instructions and am only hoping now I have the correct information. We will see. I do not trust anything I am told by this company.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2012-03-06:
There certainly are a lot of complaints about this company by small business owners. That's a shame. Thanks for taking the time to express your frustrations.
Slimjim on 2012-03-07:
I've never seen complaints, both in nature and volume, against any gateway processor like I do here with this outfit. One thing B2b companies don't have to worry so much about, is consumer protection bureaus interceding over deceptive business practices. On the other hand, companies have the tools to sue much easier than individuals. I'd quit, tell them to shove any early termination fees, and sue them if they give you any problems over it for breach of agreement. Frankly, businesses should have sued these guys off the map years ago from what I've read here alone.
North American Bancard on 2012-03-08:
Dear scammedbynabc,

We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred while processing with NAB. The cancellation procedures are clearly stated in the Terms and Conditions of the contract that all merchants sign.

Unfortunately, we are not able to locate your specific account based on your post, however I'd love to speak with you further regarding it.

Please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience.

I can be reached via email - vjackson@nabancard.com or by phone - 866-485-8999 x1251.

Again, we apologize for any inconveniences and I look forward to speaking to you.

Thank you for your time,

Veronica Jackson
Research Analyst
DukeL on 2012-05-31:
In September 2010, we had made to let the NAB got access to our bank account and we had to close our bank account Around the end of 2011, the NAB placed the merchant account (No. 8788290220884) with a collection based on a NON-BINDING contract agreement. After hassle with them for about a month, they said that they had cancelled the account and removed all amount from the collection. However, now they have placed the account (No. 8788290220884) with another collection agent.

My advice is DON'T EVER THINK DOING BUSINESS WITH THE NAB. Period.
Close commentsAdd reply
North American Bankcard void of Ethics
Posted by on
I just bought a business from a couple that retired and moved to another country. I called NAB to tell them to discontinue service for them. The business name remained the same but all other aspects were new. I was told that they could not talk to me as I was not authorized(valid). I tracked down the former owners and had them call NAB. The old owners told me that all was settled and account was canceled as soon as I filled out some information that was to be faxed. The paper that was faxed said they would cancel service and for me to just sign and fax back. Very small print at the bottom revealed that the old contract would be canceled and a new contract would begin upon receipt of fax. I did not sign or fax back as there was only a year left in old contract. I called the old owners and they said there was a buyout of $375.00. But when I called(I now had authorization to access the account) I was told a buyout amount of $470.00. I tried several avenues to terminate old contract, each met with a higher buyout amount and the customer service person stating they "couldn't find" the notes about lower buyout amounts. I gave up and figured $30.00 a month for the next year would be the best way to leave it. They just took $129.00 out of my account due to a yearly fee. As the original contract is written I am not sure we can ever get out of the arrangement. I was honest and upfront with the company and each time that information was used to make my amount higher. I found NAB to be very unethical and fear the worst. I did not sign anything with this service but am made to suffer indefinitely. I hate to call to talk to anyone as I fear another penalty amount. I apologize for not giving any details but I think its to safeguard me.
Company Response 3/9/2011:
Dear Merchant,

NAB works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First and foremost, I would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service that you have received in conjunction with this Merchant Account.

According to your post, this is not actually your account, however it seems the owners gave you their personal information so that you could access it. If you feel that the account was incorrectly debited, or your fees have been inadequately advised, then we would need specific information in order to properly address the concerns or correct any errors, however, you may want to speak with the owners of the account to go over the merchant account’s pricing schedule. In instances where ownership changes are completed in a correct manner, there are no cancel fees charged to the closing account.

I would like to speak to you about this further. Please have your Merchant Account number ready, and contact me directly at 800-226-2273 x 1314 so that your situation may be properly researched and addressed.

Sincerely,
Rebecca
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2011-03-06:
I don't really understand this - I guess because I am not a business owner. It seems to complicate things substantially to "take over" or have someone else's credit account transferred to you. It would be a lot easier to start with your own account, wouldn't it?

You evidently didn't follow the old owner's instructions to fax the form that would have cancelled the account - that may have been an easier route.
Anonymous on 2011-03-06:
Good question, trmn8r!
Anonymous on 2011-03-06:
I hope you used an attorney when purchasing the business. They should be able to sort this out for you. If you didn't then this is an example of some of the headaches that arise when you try to save a few dollars.
Close commentsAdd reply
My Biz Perks Scam
Posted by on
ANACORTES, WASHINGTON -- I just happened to look closely at my last North American Bancard statement and discovered that I was being billed 9.95 for My Bizperks program. I then looked through my past statements and found that I had been being billed since 8/31/2010 totaling 59.70. I spoke to a representative who said that I would have been advised that I had 60 days to cancel prior to the billing starting. I found a paragraph on the 5/31/2010 statement that "announces" the My Biz Perks and advises going to www.MYBIZPERKS.com to start enjoying the benefits! I strongly made my point that I had not solicited nor agreed to this program. She put me on hold to consult a supervisor and came back with a courtesy offer of 29.85 refund. I told her that they were fraudulent stealing from me and she asked if I was refusing the refund. Of course I said no I would take the partial theft refund and see who I could report them to and find another credit card processing company.
Company Response 2/23/2011:
February 23, 2011


Dear Merchant,

NAB works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service that you have received in conjunction with your Merchant Account No. 8788290048*** .

Our records indicate that on February 17, 2011, you contacted us in regards to My Biz Perks program and you were advised that all of our merchants were advised via their merchant statement that there was a 60 day free trial period and that if not opted out, you would be automatically enrolled. On this call, you were opted out of the My Biz Perks program. As a courtesy, a three month credit in the amount of $29.85 was submitted to be reflected on your next month's statement.

Please contact me directly at 248-283-6059 so that we can speak in more detail, and to ensure all your concerns are properly researched and addressed.

Sincerely,
Diana
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 2011-02-18:
I guess you do not read your monthly bank statemtents. That's something you should do immediately, to avoid situations like this. This is a good reminder to for those who also do not read their bank statements. You should always know where your money is going.

How were you signed up for this biz perks thing?
trmn8r on 2011-02-18:
I believe there is a 2 month period in which you are liable for charges that you were made aware of (through the statements). They gave you a 3-month refund, which I think is generous. This shows why it is important to at least glance at your monthly statements.
beezer22 on 2011-03-04:
I agree that it is my responsibility to read my bank statement. They charged me for 6 months before I noticed it. I never authorized it in the first place and in looking back at old statements was never advised that it would simply be "sold" to me unawares. I am changing to a different provider.
RedDog on 2011-11-08:
The exact same thing happened to me. The person that does my books sees the statement, I rarely do. I recently started doing my books and noticed this charge. It is a scam, slip in some bogus charges and if you don't notice them you bought it. I called NAB to ask about it and told them that this charge was not approved by me at any time, I also insisted that they refund ALL of the charges and they offered the 3 months if I would "work with them". I am changing over to Square Up and I hope that every Small Business does the same, driving NAB out of business. I smell Class Action Lawsuit...
Lynn on 2012-03-06:
I too was scammed by this company. I have been paying for a mybizperks membership since last Sept. (something I was not even aware of) and now when I try to log in or activate it, it has not record of my merchant number or email. So I have paid for this for 5 months for what?? NABC, of which mybizperks is a part is a horrible company. If you are a merchant stay far away. They are crooks, you don't even get paid for the charges you accept. I will go along with a lawsuit. They only have a 1 rating with the BBB and they don't care.
Maria Bro on 2012-09-25:
I just went through this - I had a little trouble with Square (withholding money) so I decided to try another merchant account.

I signed up with NABC and a couple weeks later, read the email they sent me. Buried deep in it was mention that they enrolled me in My Biz Perks, something I know nothing about, and that I would be CHARGED for it monthly.

I am so angry, that I'm closing my account and going to find another merchant account.

SCAMM!!!!!
zack on 2012-10-04:
This company is a crook " NABC" try to stay a way from this merchant service they send you application
you sign but they charge you other way.don't blieve
even their application and sales raps. Because you
CAN'T reach the same person a gain to proof, what you signed. the first 3, 4 months they are good with you, then they start adding fees on your account even themselves can,t explain, what those charges are. every month another charge. and I'm clothing my account with them. they are BIG "B.S"
Heather on 2013-09-08:
SAME THING happened to me!!!!!!
I will admit I was foolish to not pay attention to my money being taken out of my statements as well, but I remember when I called them two years ago concerned because I wan no longer receiving paper statements, the lady on the phone walked me through the steps of creating a user name so I could log online and view my statements for absolutely FFREE!!! She said that! My other option was to pay for statements to come in the mail, and I'm lazy and cheap, so I confirmed more than once that it was free because I didn't want to go through the painful ten minutes of logging online and creating another account and username I have to remember lol anyway, I've been being charged 9.99 a month for mybizperksgold for two years now. Again my own fault for not realizing it in my statements so I didn't demand any sort of reading because I didn't want to continue being a customer. When the rep heard me say that he said "I don't think you realize how great being a my biz perk gold member is, if your machine breaks, we replace it for absolutely no charge" the machine isn't even my machine, Its the owner of the salons machine, we just use a terminal on it!! I've been paying insurance for a machine that if it breaks down wouldn't be my responsibility to even replace!! The guy said nothing. Then after I asked him about the other miscellaneous fee's they stumble over words to excuse their fraud. In July I got a "mypci.com fee" $25.00 I got a fee for them deciding to throw a website on my fee line and charged me for it! They are SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM SCAM ARTISTS!!!!!! The guy said he would refund me for 60days if I continued to be a customer I said you've been stealing my money for two years you've had enough, I'm closing my account, going with square, you will never see another dime of my money and the guy said well I can send you a cancellation fo rm to sign and fax back but it takes up to 30 days to process. I said okay. knowing that he just basically gave them an excuse to try to charge my account again within thirty days, I cut them off at the source... the bank. I closed my account so they could have no access to my money and I would suggest anyone else to do the same thing, because my friend who went through the same thing as I didn't close her bank account and they charged her again so she disputed it and got a refund, but they will take and take and take your money until you cut them off.
Heather on 2013-09-08:
Also I would LOVE to know about any class action lawsuit that goes against them in the future! Because they deserve it!!!!
Close commentsAdd reply
Never use this company, or you will lose a lot of money
Posted by on
TROY, MICHIGAN -- This company is worst and most dishonest company I ever used in my business life. the sales person who was Mark A. Zames came in my restaurant and ate a lot of foods and ask to show credit card processing statement. I showed him statement and he told me that he could make lower these fees. Off course, I didn't trust this guy, so I checked a first month statement and found out this company charged 1% more money than my previous company. I had a credit card sales of $60,000 this month, so this company over charged $600 more than my previous company. I told Mark that I would change back to previous company, then he told me he will fix these high rate to low rate. It was mistake. I checked next month statement and I found out this company even charged more than last month. I was really upset and I called this company directly and talk about this high rate fee. The person name Chris was taken care of my account and he told me that he will fix these high rate fee to low rate. I checked next month statement and find out this company even charge more money than lat month, so I tried to cancel this account and found out that he set me up for over $1000 cancellation fee for my account. Usually, cancellation fee for credit card processing fee is $250-$350. I have never seen this high cancellation fee for my lifetime, so I talked with Mark about lower my processing fee again and he charged more and more every months. I tried to save some money for credit card processing fee and lost more than $3000-$4000 for only 4 months using this company. I hope nobody get some stupid ripoff what I got.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Slimjim on 2011-02-14:
This site is filled with complaints about these guys. I'd cancel and not pay them. Let them try and sue. Most companies with sketchy business practices would avoid exposing them further.
I'd bet the only reason they are still around is because they are B2B so consumer protection agencies don't really get involved.
North American Bancard on 2011-02-23:
Dear Merchant,

NAB works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First I would like to apologize for any unsatisfactory service that you have received in conjunction with your Merchant Account. After review of our system, we see that you have multiple accounts with us and if you feel that your accounts were incorrectly debited, or your fees have been inadequately advised, then we would would need specific information in order to properly address the concerns or correct any errors.

In regards to fees that are being assessed, the fees charged on merchant accounts would be consistent with the individual's Pricing Schedule within the Terms and Conditions of the signed application. After review of Merchant Account # ********5884, we see that a competitive rate quote was received and matched in December 2010 in which an approval rate form was sent to the fax number on file for approval but have not received any such form back in order to update the rates.

I would like to speak to you about this further. Please have your Merchant Account number ready, and contact me directly at 248-283-6059 so that your situation may be properly researched and addressed.

Sincerely,
Diana
Close commentsAdd reply
MYBIZPERKS
Posted by on
Check your monthly statement carefully. NorthAmerica Bancard is charging $9.95 a month for this "Mybizperks" program. I never signed up for it and I am actually upset about this. I was told today that it would all come off my next billing statement. I was put on hold a long long time before reaching a real person, I am releaved that he said it would be credited back...we'll see. I am thinking hard about getting an attorney. Sounds like a class action suit to me. Also I would think three times before signing up with these people. Can you trust them?
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Dave on 2011-05-31:
Think real hard before using these people. I found out the hard way that there are a lot better companies than this one. They will put you on hold forever, not return calls and generally screw you over.
artist mule on 2011-11-12:
More fees and bad service than most.
Close commentsAdd reply
My letter to Norhamerican Bancard
Posted by on
TROY, MICHIGAN -- July 23, 2010

NorthAmerican Bancard
969 Chicago Road
Troy, Michigan 48083

RE: Merchant 174945

To Whom It May Concern,

This letter regards my ongoing dissatisfaction with your services. I believe your company is in breach of contract by not responding to my complaints, inappropriately charging me for services I specifically opted out of, as well as inappropriately withholding my funds for excessive periods of time. Following are specifics of these issues.

Incident #1: This incident occurred on or about October 30, 2009.

Incident #2: In December 2009 I secured $2600.00 from you and I repaid this (total of $3600.00+). I am attaching documentation showing NorthAmerican Bancard continuing to withdraw funds from my account for a debt already paid in full. In my opinion this is either theft or, at the very least an inappropriate confiscation of my funds. Upon discovering this I immediately called with my complaint and I was transferred to a voice mail and my call was never returned. The next day my wife called. She had a conversation with an individual who said he never got my call. This was proven false by being sent an email (attached) that confirmed receipt of my call, leaving me to conclude that the individual speaking with my wife was lying.

On the second day (Jan. 30, 2010) I talked with “Travis” and was told it would take 2-4 business days to return my money. On 7/7/10 they still had not returned the refund. I called and was told they had done an audit on my account and had initiated a refund to my account (same story again). I was told the delay was because of the holiday (4th of July). As much as I did receive the money on the 9th of July, I regard this poor performance as a breach of the agreement with me. Further, when I talked with him on the 7th of July I told him I want to discontinue my business dealings with NorthAmerican Bancard. He transferred me to a department to get a form for this and it was the collection department, hardly the people I wanted to speak with. I was told I would owe appx $700+ dollars and declined. I told the individual I wanted the paperwork related to ending my obligation. She told me there was no paperwork and I would be charged a monthly charge equaling up to $295.00. I was asked if I wanted to initiate my opt out and I told her “no”. I wanted out because of a breach of agreement by NorthAmerican Bancard. I asked if I needed to take legal action, she snipped, “Go right ahead”. I did not feel very comfortable with the attitude of your representative. I terminated the call at that time.

Additionally, I was sent a letter (copy attached) dated 3/31/10 about MyBizPerks. I immediately phoned upon receipt and informed the individual that I wanted not to receive this service. I was specifically told “You are opted out.” On my 6/30/2010 billing statement I am charged for MYBIZPERKS. This is totally unacceptable and proof of the breach of the agreement.

In the development of this letter I have also placed repeated phone calls to the phone number provided in the agreement in an effort to terminate our agreement. Not one of these has been returned. On my last call I left an emphatic message noting my desire to terminate the agreement. This letter is a reiteration of that demand, and is serving as my notice that I will no longer participate in the agreement.

On a final note, I am attaching a letter which proves you have divulged private information to another party. I am also attaching a copy of my “agreement” which states (highlighted) information will not be shared. I have not shared such information from my end, so the action clearly came from yours. Thus, a complaint is being filed with FTC regarding this action on your part.

Once again, I am terminating the agreement and expect you to honor this. Further complaint with FTC will be filed unless I hear from you within 2 days of your receipt of this letter.

You have my phone numbers and addresses.


     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 2010-07-24:
Well written letter to them. I hope when you sent it, you sent it USPS, certified return receipt mail, so that you have proof they received it, and signed for it.
Close commentsAdd reply
Aggressive Telemarketing
Posted by on
Several weeks ago I was solicited by NAB concerning switching over my credit card processing business. The majority of my business is NOT by CC's, however I do take government CC's occasionally. They were very professional. I faxed them my latest statement from Moneris, my current company. A couple of days later they sent me a comparison of their rates vs. Moneris. Of course they were pretty fantastic. Whenever they would call after that they would always brag that they were the largest credit card processing service in the nation. Something told me not to jump in just yet. Being a sole proprietor and having to do all my paperwork (no secretary) I just don't have the time to research companies. I told them that and they left me alone for a couple of weeks.
When they started calling again they were a little more aggressive. Again stating they were the largest credit card processor in the country, I asked for some references.

The salesman said he could probably do that but he would have to call me back. He called right back and said he would fax me the references. I expected to see some recognizable names on the list and I expected to see more than 3. Well, he called back a few days later and pressed me again. By that time I had gone to My3Cents and read the reviews for NAB, both good and bad and had decided not to switch. I politely told him I had decided to keep my current service. Well, he began to tell me how much more I was paying but I told him again that I wasn't going to switch. He hung up and almost immediately the phone rung; different guy, very professional voice. The new man identified himself as the supervisor and wanted to know why I had decided not to go with them; had one of their references given me some bad info?

I told him I had not called any of them, that I had expected to see some recognizable names since they were purportedly so large. I also stated that I had done some research on the web. He immediately named this website and tried to defend the bad reviews by saying something like, "When you've got 100,000 customers you're bound to have a few with some complaints." But when I asked him why such a large company had to revert to telemarketing he couldn't answer and just hung up.

I thought at this point they had gone away but the phone rang again a couple minutes later. This guy was smooth. He acted like the other two had never called; wanted to know if I had seen the references they had sent. I informed him of the other two calls and put the same question to him about the telemarketing. He replied, "Okay, Billy Bob!" and hung up. After hanging up I laughed out loud and thought they had really shown their true colors.

Yes, large companies have complaints but they don't have to resort to aggressive telemarketing practices or calling their potential customers "Billy Bob"! What a hoot!
Company Response 2/9/2009:
Dear Sir,
We would like to take the opportunity to resolve this issue without further delay.

First and foremost, NAB would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced.

We would like to investigate this issue further to determine if this was initiated by our Corporate Sales Team or an Outside Sales Organization so that this can be addressed correctly.

Please contact me, Rebecca Paull, at your convenience, so we can speak further about this. You can reach me at 1-800-226-2273 x. 1314. I am in the office Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. EST.

I look forward to speaking to you.

Thanks,
Rebecca M. Paull
Research Manager
North American Bancard
1-800-226-2273 x. 1314
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Slimjim on 2009-02-07:
Very unprofessional. You know a company is no good when they pull that name calling or snide remark cr@p when you tell them you are not interested when they cold solicited you.
Hey Supervisor! Do you think you just helped your cause defending complaints here? How are you going to explain away you and your company's sleazy harassment of this poster? Not good. A helpful vote for this review and a big F for North American Bancard.
WReynolds111 on 2012-12-05:
I've been getting calls from this company. the calls last about 35 seconds and every 5 seconds to the nose. there is a beep on the line... (no other calls coming in) when I called up the company I found out there is in fact an account using MY cell phone as the contact number.... AND!!! using a different name... FRAUD? I think so, (MAJOR F for NABANCARDS)looks like my lawyer will be calling them tomorrow... because of the solicitation
Close commentsAdd reply
Deception At Its Best
Posted by on
TROY, MICHIGAN -- 3/16/09 - I just got my mail. I received a notification from my bank that NAB tried to debit my account again for $109 this time. It's a good thing that my account is now closed and any debit attempts from this company will be automatically returned. So much for their desire to eliminate the debt that I supposedly owe them.

3/3/09 - This issue is NOT resolved. They just charged my account $79 and $30 after I received a letter stating that they were not going to charge these fees! Don't believe a word of their lies!!

Edit: This one might have been resolved through the BBB. I received a reply from them that I wanted more clarification on. I contacted them through the BBB on 2/3, but have not heard back from them yet.

Original review:
First, North American Bancard tricked me into opening an account with them using my personal information even though I told them that I did not have all of the information that I needed to open it under my business name and my website was not completed yet.

Now, they are charging me a PCI Compliance fee of $79 which was not listed anywhere in our agreement. When I contacted them to question what this fee was for, they told me that it was a fee from Visa/Mastercard to become compliant with credit card processing. I have not processed a single transaction on this account. When I asked them to waive the fee, they told me that it was mandatory no matter what I do and that it could not be waived on my account. They also told me that I did not have to agree to the charge. Basically, they told me that they can make up any fee whenever they want and debit my account without my authorization.

I placed a stop payment on the transaction and now they are sending my account to collections. This will appear as a negative mark on my personal credit report because they used deceptive practices to convince me to open it under my personal account instead of waiting for me to be protected through my corporation. When I told them that I wanted to cancel my account, they sent me a letter stating that I have to pay a $540 early termination fee to pay for the remainder of our contract. They broke our contract first, not me. Why should I have to pay? If anyone wants to view this contract, which states nothing about a compliance fee, visit: http://www.nabancard.com/terms/terms.pdf
Resolution Update 02/25/2009:
I received a letter today from this company that they have canceled my account. This action was taken as a direct result of the BBB complaint I filed.
Company Response 3/3/2009:
March 3, 2009


Dear Ms. Provost,

North American Bancard works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First and foremost, NAB would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced.
The intention was to clear the debt owed for your January fees, however due to a timing issue, this was missed.

We will credit the charge incurred, as well as any bank fees, if applicable.

Please contact me at your earliest convenience to rectify this.
My direct number is 800-226-2273 x1314.


Sincerely,

Rebecca Paull
Research Manager
800-226-2273 x. 1314
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
purplecat on 2009-02-11:
$79 for PCI compliance is actually a really good deal. Suntrust charges us $150!!
Amy_P on 2009-02-18:
But when I'm being charged a fee that I never authorized them to take out, it's fraud. The PCI compliance fee was never mentioned in the agreement I have from them. I've worked for Bank of America for 8 1/2 years and used to work in the claims department. I know fraud when I see it and any company charging you a fee that they claim doesn't need your authorization to be valid is just trying to get you to pay to upgrade their systems. Why should my money go to pay for your company to upgrade your systems?
Amy_P on 2009-03-03:
After entering a complaint with the BBB, I received the following reply from this company:

February 3, 2009

BBB of Detroit & Eastern Michigan
Carla Appleton
30555 Southfield Road, Ste 200
Southfield, MI 48076-7751

Re: ID 7532632 Amy Provost
MID # 08788290135331

Dear Ms. Appleton:

In response to the above-referenced merchant account I am providing the following information. We would like to take the opportunity to resolve this issue without further delay.

Our records indicate that Ms. Amy Provost signed a Merchant Account Agreement Application with North American Bancard on or about July 26, 2008, for a term of 36 months, upon which time she agreed to all the terms and conditions contained within the Agreements.

Section 5 Payment and Fees state, “Merchant agrees to pay and Merchant's account(s) will be charged for the discount, fees, and other charges described in this Agreement. Merchant also agrees to pay and Merchant’s account(s) will be debited for all fees, arbitration fees, fines, penalties, etc. charged by the card associations or network organizations on account of Merchant’s processing hereunder.”

On Page 9 of the Merchant Application under Pricing Schedule, it states all fees that are associated with the Merchant Account. In regards to the fees in questioned, Section 17 of the Agreement clearly states that the agreement may be amended only in writing signed by Global Direct, Member, and Merchant, except that (a) the Card Acceptance Guide and any and all fees, charges, and/or discounts (including without limitations non-qualified surcharge rates) may be changed immediately, or (b) Global Direct may mail Merchant either a notice describing amendments to this Agreement or an entirely new agreement, which amendments or new agreement will be binding upon Merchant if it deposits sales or credit slips after the effective date of such amendment or new agreement set forth in Global's notice.

PCI Data Security Standard was created to offer an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data and applies to all service providers and merchants that accept credit cards regardless of size or Acceptance method. The $79.00 PCI Compliance Fee was assessed by North American Bancard to mitigate the costs associated with becoming and maintaining compliance, updating terminal software, providing applications with enhanced security, and replacing non-compliant hardware. Ms. Provost can visit our website at www.nabpci.com to find out more and to determine what her company needs to due to ensure compliance. On Ms. Provost's November 2008 merchant statement it was advised that the PCI Compliance fee would be charged on the December 2008 merchant statement and why it was necessary.

In regards to the cancellation fee, Section 13 contained in the Terms and Conditions clearly states, “Any merchant who terminates this agreement prior to it's termination date is responsible for any and all monthly fees assessed under the Agreement for the remainder of the then existing term of the Agreement, including all minimum monthly fee commitments, which in no case shall be less than $295.00.”

As a courtesy, NAB will close the above referenced account and waive the termination fees. We apologize for any confusion or misunderstandings on the part of our sales agent. In addition, the December 2008 statement fees that were stopped have been waived and a collection effort will not be made to recover these funds.

Should Amy Provost have any questions regarding this response, she may contact our Customer Service Department at extension 1300.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Tippin
Director of Customer Contacts

When I just logged into my account today, 3/3/09, I see that they are charging me the $79.00 and $30.00 fees that this letter states that they will not charge me. I was in the process of closing this account and have already changed everything over to my new account, but left the old account opened to make sure that everything was transferred to my new account. Don't believe a word that this company says!
Amy_P on 2009-03-04:
When I tried to contact the company today, I did speak to someone after holding for about 5 minutes, explained the situation and then she said she would have to put me on hold for about 4 minutes while she looked into this further. She never came back on the phone and after I held for another 20 minutes, I was put into someone else's voicemail! Talk about another horrible experience with this company. I placed stop payments on these items again and they should be returned. If my account was closed on 2/11/09 like the letter I received in the mail stated, why would they debit my account on 3/3/09 for these fees and separate them into 2 fees? Because they are nothing but liars and manipulators.
Karl on 2012-10-30:
I am in the middle of a big disagreement with North American Bankcard. I had a merchant account with them which is a 3 year contract. I cancelled 6 months. I spoke to one of their salesmen and he told me that if I gave him a reference and got him in touch with the new owner that he would cancel my account without any fees. I did this and he never followed up. He never finished closing the account. The bank continually withdrew funds from my account. They now want $595.00 and are going to take me to collections. This business is over the top corrupt! Don't do business with North American Bancard.
Close commentsAdd reply
Deceptive Practices, Rude Customer Service
Posted by on
PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- I'm having the same types of problems as the other reviewers. We signed up with this company because it sounded like a good deal and came recommended from a good friend. The salesperson told us the fee was $5 a month. Imagine our surprise when there is an additional fee of $25 if you don't use the terminal (charges for credit card transactions are subtracted from this fee, you still have to have over $1000 in transactions to eliminate it). After being treated rudely by customer service I double checked our contract. This fee is listed on the application (not the contract) as "Other fees (if applicable)" Our sales representative never mentioned any of these fees to us and we (naively, I suppose) assumed that they did not apply because we were not told of them.

I complained to the sales rep, who insisted he told us (he did NOT) and I pointed out that our total sales volume (of which credit cards are a small part, we are mostly a cash business) was less than $1000 a month and we would never be able to cover this fee. It turns out that he had changed that number to $10,000. Both he and customer service have ignored our complaints. And now there is this mysterious PCI fee that is NOT in the contract and is poorly explained. The one notification we got of this fee had a vague and confusing explanation. From reading the responses from the company it sounds like we are required to go to some website and do something? This is not explained at all in the bill, so even if this was a legitimate charge, if I hadn't read these reviews I would not be in compliance.

I have tried calling and can't get through or get a call back, apparently I'm not the only one that thinks this is a ripoff. OK - finally got through and they are trying to tell me that MC/VISA charged them $319 for each merchant to be compliant, and they very kindly only charged me $79. The problem with that is that the bill says Mcafee charged them for this (rep had no answer for that). Also, if you look at the bottom of the page that they tell you to go to so you can fill out a questionnaire (that costs $319?!!!) it says on the bottom - this is copied directly: North American Bancard is proud to partner with McAfee®, the security expert, to offer you full access to McAfee® PCI Compliance Service at NO CHARGE through December 2009. And, if you are happy with the service, renew for the second year for only $99, a $220 discount on the retail price of $319 per year.

I asked the representative how $79 dollars was NO CHARGE and she said, and I quote "there is no charge to you because we have already paid the charge" I said, but you are charging me $79, how is that no charge? She said other merchants have had that complaint and all she could tell me was that I have to be compliant and the charge is non-refundable. Pay attention North American Bancard: You will be hearing from my lawyer. And how dare you pull such a sleazy trick right now when so many people are struggling to keep jobs and homes? I will be spending a lot of time on the internet finding ways to warn people away from you.
Carol Claypool, Gifts A Plenti

*****Edited to add my results******

If I had been satisfied with the response I got I would have marked this as resolved and left it at that. However, I continued to get the runaround from this company after filing a complaint with the BBB that they are a member of. They sent another form letter that did not address my complaint and it was even photocopied with another customers name on it! After I responded that I was not satisfied with their response they finally offered to sever my contract without penalty and refund the PCI fee. They only gave us 10 days to return the equipment and only contacted us through email via the BBB website, so if you try this make sure you keep up with it! I just wanted to let everyone know that you can get out of this - you just have to complain to the right people and keep complaining. They are losing their standing in the BBB because of numerous complaints so they will actually try (not very hard) to make you happy and keep their standing. I hope this helps everyone and a word of advice to NAB - if you had dealt fairly and politely will be to begin with you would not have lost a customer. I would have been happy to keep the contract with the original $5 a month fee plus a percentage of sales. It was you who pushed things as far as a cancellation. You should look to your sales practices and customer service if you want to stop these complaints.
Resolution Update 03/02/2009:
I was finally let out of the contract and recieved a refund of the PCI fee. See my review for details of the hoops I had to jump through.
Company Response 1/14/2009:
Dear Merchant,

North American Bancard works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

In regards to the fees that have been questioned, all Agreements list all the fees that may apply to an account.

In regards to the $79.00 fee; On the November 2008 merchant statements it was advised that the PCI Compliance Service fee would be charged on the December 2008 merchant statement and why it was necessary. PCI Data Security Standard was created to offer an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data and applies to all service providers and merchants that accept credit cards regardless of size or acceptance method. The $79.00 PCI Compliance Fee was assessed by North American Bancard to mitigate the costs associated with becoming and maintaining compliance, updating terminal software, providing applications with enhanced security, and replacing non-compliant hardware. Merchants can visit our website at www.nabpci.com to find out more and to determine what their company needs to do to ensure compliance.

Unfortunately enough information was not provided for us to accurately determine your specific Merchant Account. If your account was incorrectly debited, or you believe your fees have been inadequately advised, then we would need specific information in order to properly address the concerns or correct any errors.

Should you have any questions regarding this response, please have your Merchant number ready and contact our Customer Service at 800-226-2273 Ext.1300.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Tippin
Director of Customer Contacts
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
North American Bankcard ----- Wish I Would Have Know
Posted by on
ST. CLOUD, MINNESOTA -- At the end of Nov of 08 a sales representative representing Quantum Merchant services by the name of Josh came into my salon offering me credit card processing services at a lower rate to good to be true Right? Well we (meaning the 3 girls that work for me and myself) fell for it being times are tough and everyone wants to save a buck. A buck we did not save. We have been charged fees that we where told would not be charged to us. Every time we contact NBA we get put on hold forever (2hours on one occasion). And nothing ever gets accomplished. All we are ever told is yes we will credit you or you will get a statement credit, yet neither has happened. Recently we where charged a fee of $79.99 for PCI. Well after reading other complaints regrading this PCI fee we should have never been charged the fee. Once again we fight with NBA nothing gets solved. All 4 of US Bank at different institutions and have and will be filing fraud charges against NBA for these fees we have been charged and hope to accomplish something. Reading everyones reviews doesn't sound like we will have much luck. We also cancelled our contracts with NBA as of Jan 09 (within 45 days after signing our original contracts which we have never seen copies of). One again after reading other reviews my thoughts are this will not stop them and I will be changing my account. I will also be meeting with an attorney to see what my rights are against NBA and the sales representative that signed me up with this bogus company. I will keep everyone posted and let you know what I will accomplish. I did a little more research on NBA and found there is a class action lawsuit against them from an attorneys office in NY.

Knowing what I know now. Like the saying goes some things are to good to be true NBA would be one of those. they are NO GOOD.

Also NBA do not respond to this with your canned comments spare me the time. All you do is bs people anyway


To respond to the NCA comment. First of all I did not receive a statement in Nov because I did not sign up til the end of Nov. Second the statement fee you claim you refunded is not in my account also you said you would credit me for the next 3 months or the min. $25 charge bad thing is I cancelled so where is the rest of the 2 months. Nowhere. Battle over. Spoke to an attorney and taking care of it from there
Company Response 1/14/2009:
Dear Stefanie,

North American Bancard works very diligently to resolve all merchant issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our merchants, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

North American Bancard values the business of all of our merchants and we do not take complaints lightly. In an effort to address your many concerns and provide you with some very pertinent information specific to the PCI compliance mandate, we have compiled the information below for your review. First and foremost, you requested a credit for your statement fees in December, and that statement credit was approved for you. We also applied three separate courtesy credits for related statement fees to your account, which covered a three-month period.

The PCI Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) originally began as five different programs from the five credit card associations (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, and JCB). Each company’s intentions were roughly similar: to create an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data.

The Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) was formed as a neutral body to address conflicts among the credit card schemes in developing a standard. On Dec. 15, 2004 the credit card associations aligned their individual policies and issued the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS).

In regards to the PCI Compliance Service fee, on the November 2008 merchant statements it was advised that the PCI Compliance Service fee would be charged on the December 2008 merchant statements and why it was necessary. The PCI Data Security Standard was created to offer an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data and applies to all service providers and merchants that accept credit cards regardless of size or acceptance method. The $79.00 PCI Compliance Fee was assessed by North American Bancard to mitigate the costs associated with becoming and maintaining compliance, updating terminal software, providing applications with enhanced security, and replacing non-compliant hardware. Merchants can visit our website at www.nabpci.com to find out more and to determine what their company needs to do to ensure compliance.


In regards to refunding the one time only fee of $79, we will do so if the merchant became compliant prior to our notification in November 2008. For more information regarding the PCI security standards, please refer to their website https://www.pcisecuritystandards.org/.

Should you have any questions regarding this response, please have your Merchant number ready and contact our Customer Service at 800-226-2273 Ext.1300.

Sincerely,

North American Bancard
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >