North American Bancard - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 15 ratings and
98 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't do business with NABC
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I am not going to go into a lot of detail, I have spent over 4 hours dealing with them today and am just plain tired. I would advise anyone, esp. a small business to stay away, use a local bank or go directly to the card companies.
As a note to NABC since I know they read these, I recommend you not automatically sign your merchants up for the Gold mybizperks and start charging them a monthly fee. This is where many of the problems stem from and it is a legal, but misleading way to make money off your merchants. Instead, sign them up for the FREE bronze membership and then allow them to upgrade. You will have less complaints and be a much more customer friendly company.
You would also be wise to not outsource your sales force, that is another source of your complaints.
And, not use robots for customer service reps. I just talked to one, about the 7th one today, who was great, but the first 3 were horrible. I even had to scream at one to get her to stop talking and actually listen to me. She would not stop talking, it was amazing. She kept going on and on about a three year agreement, which was incorrect and when I finally got her to shut up and listen to me. She looked and found I had a 1 year addendum to my contract. It was absurd and I have never gone through anything like that before. No offers of help were given by most of the CSR's only, this is what it says...... I also had to call and get a correction to one of the email synopsis of the conversations, it was completely incorrect.
I still am just waiting out the next couple of months and will cancel when my one year is up and will definitely not recommend anyone doing business with this company. Even with the cancellation letter, I have called three times to get clarification due to the wording of the letter. If I had done what was recommended by one CSR, I would have risk paying the early term fee. I should not have to call 3 times to get correct instructions and am only hoping now I have the correct information. We will see. I do not trust anything I am told by this company.
     
Replies
MYBIZPERKS
Posted by on
Check your monthly statement carefully. NorthAmerica Bancard is charging $9.95 a month for this "Mybizperks" program. I never signed up for it and I am actually upset about this. I was told today that it would all come off my next billing statement. I was put on hold a long long time before reaching a real person, I am releaved that he said it would be credited back...we'll see. I am thinking hard about getting an attorney. Sounds like a class action suit to me. Also I would think three times before signing up with these people. Can you trust them?
     
Replies
My letter to Norhamerican Bancard
Posted by on
TROY, MICHIGAN -- July 23, 2010

NorthAmerican Bancard
969 Chicago Road
Troy, Michigan 48083

RE: Merchant 174945

To Whom It May Concern,

This letter regards my ongoing dissatisfaction with your services. I believe your company is in breach of contract by not responding to my complaints, inappropriately charging me for services I specifically opted out of, as well as inappropriately withholding my funds for excessive periods of time. Following are specifics of these issues.

Incident #1: This incident occurred on or about October 30, 2009.

Incident #2: In December 2009 I secured $2600.00 from you and I repaid this (total of $3600.00+). I am attaching documentation showing NorthAmerican Bancard continuing to withdraw funds from my account for a debt already paid in full. In my opinion this is either theft or, at the very least an inappropriate confiscation of my funds. Upon discovering this I immediately called with my complaint and I was transferred to a voice mail and my call was never returned. The next day my wife called. She had a conversation with an individual who said he never got my call. This was proven false by being sent an email (attached) that confirmed receipt of my call, leaving me to conclude that the individual speaking with my wife was lying.

On the second day (Jan. 30, 2010) I talked with “Travis” and was told it would take 2-4 business days to return my money. On 7/7/10 they still had not returned the refund. I called and was told they had done an audit on my account and had initiated a refund to my account (same story again). I was told the delay was because of the holiday (4th of July). As much as I did receive the money on the 9th of July, I regard this poor performance as a breach of the agreement with me. Further, when I talked with him on the 7th of July I told him I want to discontinue my business dealings with NorthAmerican Bancard. He transferred me to a department to get a form for this and it was the collection department, hardly the people I wanted to speak with. I was told I would owe appx $700+ dollars and declined. I told the individual I wanted the paperwork related to ending my obligation. She told me there was no paperwork and I would be charged a monthly charge equaling up to $295.00. I was asked if I wanted to initiate my opt out and I told her “no”. I wanted out because of a breach of agreement by NorthAmerican Bancard. I asked if I needed to take legal action, she snipped, “Go right ahead”. I did not feel very comfortable with the attitude of your representative. I terminated the call at that time.

Additionally, I was sent a letter (copy attached) dated 3/31/10 about MyBizPerks. I immediately phoned upon receipt and informed the individual that I wanted not to receive this service. I was specifically told “You are opted out.” On my 6/30/2010 billing statement I am charged for MYBIZPERKS. This is totally unacceptable and proof of the breach of the agreement.

In the development of this letter I have also placed repeated phone calls to the phone number provided in the agreement in an effort to terminate our agreement. Not one of these has been returned. On my last call I left an emphatic message noting my desire to terminate the agreement. This letter is a reiteration of that demand, and is serving as my notice that I will no longer participate in the agreement.

On a final note, I am attaching a letter which proves you have divulged private information to another party. I am also attaching a copy of my “agreement” which states (highlighted) information will not be shared. I have not shared such information from my end, so the action clearly came from yours. Thus, a complaint is being filed with FTC regarding this action on your part.

Once again, I am terminating the agreement and expect you to honor this. Further complaint with FTC will be filed unless I hear from you within 2 days of your receipt of this letter.

You have my phone numbers and addresses.


     
Replies
Aggressive Telemarketing
Posted by on
Several weeks ago I was solicited by NAB concerning switching over my credit card processing business. The majority of my business is NOT by CC's, however I do take government CC's occasionally. They were very professional. I faxed them my latest statement from Moneris, my current company. A couple of days later they sent me a comparison of their rates vs. Moneris. Of course they were pretty fantastic. Whenever they would call after that they would always brag that they were the largest credit card processing service in the nation. Something told me not to jump in just yet. Being a sole proprietor and having to do all my paperwork (no secretary) I just don't have the time to research companies. I told them that and they left me alone for a couple of weeks.
When they started calling again they were a little more aggressive. Again stating they were the largest credit card processor in the country, I asked for some references.

The salesman said he could probably do that but he would have to call me back. He called right back and said he would fax me the references. I expected to see some recognizable names on the list and I expected to see more than 3. Well, he called back a few days later and pressed me again. By that time I had gone to My3Cents and read the reviews for NAB, both good and bad and had decided not to switch. I politely told him I had decided to keep my current service. Well, he began to tell me how much more I was paying but I told him again that I wasn't going to switch. He hung up and almost immediately the phone rung; different guy, very professional voice. The new man identified himself as the supervisor and wanted to know why I had decided not to go with them; had one of their references given me some bad info?

I told him I had not called any of them, that I had expected to see some recognizable names since they were purportedly so large. I also stated that I had done some research on the web. He immediately named this website and tried to defend the bad reviews by saying something like, "When you've got 100,000 customers you're bound to have a few with some complaints." But when I asked him why such a large company had to revert to telemarketing he couldn't answer and just hung up.

I thought at this point they had gone away but the phone rang again a couple minutes later. This guy was smooth. He acted like the other two had never called; wanted to know if I had seen the references they had sent. I informed him of the other two calls and put the same question to him about the telemarketing. He replied, "Okay, Billy Bob!" and hung up. After hanging up I laughed out loud and thought they had really shown their true colors.

Yes, large companies have complaints but they don't have to resort to aggressive telemarketing practices or calling their potential customers "Billy Bob"! What a hoot!
Company Response 2/9/2009:
Dear Sir,
We would like to take the opportunity to resolve this issue without further delay.

First and foremost, NAB would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced.

We would like to investigate this issue further to determine if this was initiated by our Corporate Sales Team or an Outside Sales Organization so that this can be addressed correctly.

Please contact me, Rebecca Paull, at your convenience, so we can speak further about this. You can reach me at 1-800-226-2273 x. 1314. I am in the office Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. EST.

I look forward to speaking to you.

Thanks,
Rebecca M. Paull
Research Manager
North American Bancard
1-800-226-2273 x. 1314
     
Replies
Deception At Its Best
Posted by on
TROY, MICHIGAN -- 3/16/09 - I just got my mail. I received a notification from my bank that NAB tried to debit my account again for $109 this time. It's a good thing that my account is now closed and any debit attempts from this company will be automatically returned. So much for their desire to eliminate the debt that I supposedly owe them.

3/3/09 - This issue is NOT resolved. They just charged my account $79 and $30 after I received a letter stating that they were not going to charge these fees! Don't believe a word of their lies!!

Edit: This one might have been resolved through the BBB. I received a reply from them that I wanted more clarification on. I contacted them through the BBB on 2/3, but have not heard back from them yet.

Original review:
First, North American Bancard tricked me into opening an account with them using my personal information even though I told them that I did not have all of the information that I needed to open it under my business name and my website was not completed yet.

Now, they are charging me a PCI Compliance fee of $79 which was not listed anywhere in our agreement. When I contacted them to question what this fee was for, they told me that it was a fee from Visa/Mastercard to become compliant with credit card processing. I have not processed a single transaction on this account. When I asked them to waive the fee, they told me that it was mandatory no matter what I do and that it could not be waived on my account. They also told me that I did not have to agree to the charge. Basically, they told me that they can make up any fee whenever they want and debit my account without my authorization.

I placed a stop payment on the transaction and now they are sending my account to collections. This will appear as a negative mark on my personal credit report because they used deceptive practices to convince me to open it under my personal account instead of waiting for me to be protected through my corporation. When I told them that I wanted to cancel my account, they sent me a letter stating that I have to pay a $540 early termination fee to pay for the remainder of our contract. They broke our contract first, not me. Why should I have to pay? If anyone wants to view this contract, which states nothing about a compliance fee, visit: http://www.nabancard.com/terms/terms.pdf
Resolution Update 02/25/2009:
I received a letter today from this company that they have canceled my account. This action was taken as a direct result of the BBB complaint I filed.
Company Response 3/3/2009:
March 3, 2009


Dear Ms. Provost,

North American Bancard works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

First and foremost, NAB would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced.
The intention was to clear the debt owed for your January fees, however due to a timing issue, this was missed.

We will credit the charge incurred, as well as any bank fees, if applicable.

Please contact me at your earliest convenience to rectify this.
My direct number is 800-226-2273 x1314.


Sincerely,

Rebecca Paull
Research Manager
800-226-2273 x. 1314
     
Replies
Deceptive Practices, Rude Customer Service
Posted by on
PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- I'm having the same types of problems as the other reviewers. We signed up with this company because it sounded like a good deal and came recommended from a good friend. The salesperson told us the fee was $5 a month. Imagine our surprise when there is an additional fee of $25 if you don't use the terminal (charges for credit card transactions are subtracted from this fee, you still have to have over $1000 in transactions to eliminate it). After being treated rudely by customer service I double checked our contract. This fee is listed on the application (not the contract) as "Other fees (if applicable)" Our sales representative never mentioned any of these fees to us and we (naively, I suppose) assumed that they did not apply because we were not told of them.

I complained to the sales rep, who insisted he told us (he did NOT) and I pointed out that our total sales volume (of which credit cards are a small part, we are mostly a cash business) was less than $1000 a month and we would never be able to cover this fee. It turns out that he had changed that number to $10,000. Both he and customer service have ignored our complaints. And now there is this mysterious PCI fee that is NOT in the contract and is poorly explained. The one notification we got of this fee had a vague and confusing explanation. From reading the responses from the company it sounds like we are required to go to some website and do something? This is not explained at all in the bill, so even if this was a legitimate charge, if I hadn't read these reviews I would not be in compliance.

I have tried calling and can't get through or get a call back, apparently I'm not the only one that thinks this is a ripoff. OK - finally got through and they are trying to tell me that MC/VISA charged them $319 for each merchant to be compliant, and they very kindly only charged me $79. The problem with that is that the bill says Mcafee charged them for this (rep had no answer for that). Also, if you look at the bottom of the page that they tell you to go to so you can fill out a questionnaire (that costs $319?!!!) it says on the bottom - this is copied directly: North American Bancard is proud to partner with McAfee®, the security expert, to offer you full access to McAfee® PCI Compliance Service at NO CHARGE through December 2009. And, if you are happy with the service, renew for the second year for only $99, a $220 discount on the retail price of $319 per year.

I asked the representative how $79 dollars was NO CHARGE and she said, and I quote "there is no charge to you because we have already paid the charge" I said, but you are charging me $79, how is that no charge? She said other merchants have had that complaint and all she could tell me was that I have to be compliant and the charge is non-refundable. Pay attention North American Bancard: You will be hearing from my lawyer. And how dare you pull such a sleazy trick right now when so many people are struggling to keep jobs and homes? I will be spending a lot of time on the internet finding ways to warn people away from you.
Carol Claypool, Gifts A Plenti

*****Edited to add my results******

If I had been satisfied with the response I got I would have marked this as resolved and left it at that. However, I continued to get the runaround from this company after filing a complaint with the BBB that they are a member of. They sent another form letter that did not address my complaint and it was even photocopied with another customers name on it! After I responded that I was not satisfied with their response they finally offered to sever my contract without penalty and refund the PCI fee. They only gave us 10 days to return the equipment and only contacted us through email via the BBB website, so if you try this make sure you keep up with it! I just wanted to let everyone know that you can get out of this - you just have to complain to the right people and keep complaining. They are losing their standing in the BBB because of numerous complaints so they will actually try (not very hard) to make you happy and keep their standing. I hope this helps everyone and a word of advice to NAB - if you had dealt fairly and politely will be to begin with you would not have lost a customer. I would have been happy to keep the contract with the original $5 a month fee plus a percentage of sales. It was you who pushed things as far as a cancellation. You should look to your sales practices and customer service if you want to stop these complaints.
Resolution Update 03/02/2009:
I was finally let out of the contract and recieved a refund of the PCI fee. See my review for details of the hoops I had to jump through.
Company Response 1/14/2009:
Dear Merchant,

North American Bancard works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

In regards to the fees that have been questioned, all Agreements list all the fees that may apply to an account.

In regards to the $79.00 fee; On the November 2008 merchant statements it was advised that the PCI Compliance Service fee would be charged on the December 2008 merchant statement and why it was necessary. PCI Data Security Standard was created to offer an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data and applies to all service providers and merchants that accept credit cards regardless of size or acceptance method. The $79.00 PCI Compliance Fee was assessed by North American Bancard to mitigate the costs associated with becoming and maintaining compliance, updating terminal software, providing applications with enhanced security, and replacing non-compliant hardware. Merchants can visit our website at www.nabpci.com to find out more and to determine what their company needs to do to ensure compliance.

Unfortunately enough information was not provided for us to accurately determine your specific Merchant Account. If your account was incorrectly debited, or you believe your fees have been inadequately advised, then we would need specific information in order to properly address the concerns or correct any errors.

Should you have any questions regarding this response, please have your Merchant number ready and contact our Customer Service at 800-226-2273 Ext.1300.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Tippin
Director of Customer Contacts
     
Replies
North American Bankcard ----- Wish I Would Have Know
Posted by on
ST. CLOUD, MINNESOTA -- At the end of Nov of 08 a sales representative representing Quantum Merchant services by the name of Josh came into my salon offering me credit card processing services at a lower rate to good to be true Right? Well we (meaning the 3 girls that work for me and myself) fell for it being times are tough and everyone wants to save a buck. A buck we did not save. We have been charged fees that we where told would not be charged to us. Every time we contact NBA we get put on hold forever (2hours on one occasion). And nothing ever gets accomplished. All we are ever told is yes we will credit you or you will get a statement credit, yet neither has happened. Recently we where charged a fee of $79.99 for PCI. Well after reading other complaints regrading this PCI fee we should have never been charged the fee. Once again we fight with NBA nothing gets solved. All 4 of US Bank at different institutions and have and will be filing fraud charges against NBA for these fees we have been charged and hope to accomplish something. Reading everyones reviews doesn't sound like we will have much luck. We also cancelled our contracts with NBA as of Jan 09 (within 45 days after signing our original contracts which we have never seen copies of). One again after reading other reviews my thoughts are this will not stop them and I will be changing my account. I will also be meeting with an attorney to see what my rights are against NBA and the sales representative that signed me up with this bogus company. I will keep everyone posted and let you know what I will accomplish. I did a little more research on NBA and found there is a class action lawsuit against them from an attorneys office in NY.

Knowing what I know now. Like the saying goes some things are to good to be true NBA would be one of those. they are NO GOOD.

Also NBA do not respond to this with your canned comments spare me the time. All you do is bs people anyway


To respond to the NCA comment. First of all I did not receive a statement in Nov because I did not sign up til the end of Nov. Second the statement fee you claim you refunded is not in my account also you said you would credit me for the next 3 months or the min. $25 charge bad thing is I cancelled so where is the rest of the 2 months. Nowhere. Battle over. Spoke to an attorney and taking care of it from there
Company Response 1/14/2009:
Dear Stefanie,

North American Bancard works very diligently to resolve all merchant issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125,000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our merchants, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

North American Bancard values the business of all of our merchants and we do not take complaints lightly. In an effort to address your many concerns and provide you with some very pertinent information specific to the PCI compliance mandate, we have compiled the information below for your review. First and foremost, you requested a credit for your statement fees in December, and that statement credit was approved for you. We also applied three separate courtesy credits for related statement fees to your account, which covered a three-month period.

The PCI Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) originally began as five different programs from the five credit card associations (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, and JCB). Each company’s intentions were roughly similar: to create an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data.

The Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council (PCI SSC) was formed as a neutral body to address conflicts among the credit card schemes in developing a standard. On Dec. 15, 2004 the credit card associations aligned their individual policies and issued the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS).

In regards to the PCI Compliance Service fee, on the November 2008 merchant statements it was advised that the PCI Compliance Service fee would be charged on the December 2008 merchant statements and why it was necessary. The PCI Data Security Standard was created to offer an additional level of protection for consumers by ensuring that merchants meet minimum levels of security when they store, process and transmit cardholder data and applies to all service providers and merchants that accept credit cards regardless of size or acceptance method. The $79.00 PCI Compliance Fee was assessed by North American Bancard to mitigate the costs associated with becoming and maintaining compliance, updating terminal software, providing applications with enhanced security, and replacing non-compliant hardware. Merchants can visit our website at www.nabpci.com to find out more and to determine what their company needs to do to ensure compliance.


In regards to refunding the one time only fee of $79, we will do so if the merchant became compliant prior to our notification in November 2008. For more information regarding the PCI security standards, please refer to their website https://www.pcisecuritystandards.org/.

Should you have any questions regarding this response, please have your Merchant number ready and contact our Customer Service at 800-226-2273 Ext.1300.

Sincerely,

North American Bancard
     
Replies
[Resolved!] One Of The Most Crooked And Deceptive Companies I've Ever Had To Work With
Posted by on
BOULDER, COLORADO -- EDIT: Well, as it turns out, my3cents really saved the day! They forwarded my review to NABC and within 48 hours they had contacted me about finally closing my account (letter is posted at the end of this review) and even refunded the $79 fee.

So while it was a pain in the you know what, the rep that helped at the end took care of everything.


ORIGINAL REVIEW:

Our small business (restaurant) signed up with NABC a few years ago with what seemed to be a good deal - good rates and good service from a company affiliated with a large and trusted bank like HSBC.

Turns out that it's not good prices, and the service is only good as long as you're doing what your representative wants you to do.

We switched to a local Colorado company a couple years after our contract with NABC had expired because they offered us a better deal, detailed invoices, straight forward prices and actual customer service. Oh yes, I forgot to mention that it takes a decryptor to read NABC statements because they are so convoluted - I assume that it's so hard working business owners don't have the time to figure out that they're being ripped off.

After the switch, everything was fine for a few months, that is, until the original sales representative found out that we had cancelled - I guess news travels slow at NABC.

Then came the threats, the intimidation, the wire fraud and the fake charges.

Call #1:
The first call we get from the representative is him asking us why we switched and I explained that we got a better deal and also wanted to deal locally, he told us that he would beat what ever deal we got and pay the contract cancel fee if we came back. I also explained that we liked the detailed invoices and how easy it was to understand the pricing, and also that we had onsite service because we went local.

Here comes the first threat: he tells us that we owe him hundreds of dollars for a cancellation fee, I reminded him that our contract was years expired but that I would look over his offer and get back to him.

I guess I took too long because a week later I got another phone call and another threat:

He says that the machine that we're using belongs to NABC and we'd have to pay $1000 and he'd automatically take it from our account (for a $400 machine) - in fact he gave it to us - but fair enough, we agree to send the machine back since our current company offered to give us one for free.

I guess what he meant by "send the machine back or I'll take money from your account" was actually "I have the power to take money from your account and I will" because a couple weeks after the machine was returned we found a random charge for $79 from NABC.

We called him and asked him what the charge was for and he made it very clear that he doesn't let his accounts die, and that he would be randomly charging us unless and until we decided to return to NABC - he justified it by saying it was a standard yearly fee although we've never received one before and our account was canceled in May of 2008.

To add to the list, we had our current representative contact the NABC representative to work out the cancellation details, and the NABC representative simply said “you’re an idiot” to my representative and then hung up the phone.

This saga is not over yet, and I will update this as it progresses, but as of now the threats and intimidation have not stopped and we’re currently getting all our paperwork together to give to our lawyer so that all of this can be documented and so we can stop dealing with the old rep.
Company Response 1/9/2009:
Dear Merchant:

In response to the above-referenced merchant account I am providing the following information. We would like to take the opportunity to resolve this issue without further delay.

Our records indicate that you signed a Merchant Account Agreement Application with North American Bancard on or about November 10, 2003, for a term of 36 months, upon which time you agreed to all the terms and conditions contained within the Agreements.

In regards to the Payment Card Industry (PCI) Data Security Standard fee that was assessed in the month of December, compliance with Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards, it is required by all card brands including Visa, MasterCard, AMEX and Discover and is required of all merchant types regardless of how transactions are processes. All merchants that accept credit cards must validate PCI compliance at least annually. All North American Bancard merchants were made aware of this fee on their November Statement.

In regards to cancellation of the Agreement, Section 13 contained in the Terms and Conditions states, “Any merchant who terminates this agreement prior to it's termination date is responsible for any and all monthly fees assessed under the Agreement for the remainder of the then existing term of the Agreement, including all minimum monthly fee commitments….” Our records do not indicate that a signed request to close the account has been received by North American Bancard. We apologize if this request was submitted to the sales agent and not routed appropriately. A cancellation form as been sent, please complete the form and return it to the indicated fax number for proper handling.

Upon receipt of the cancellation request form a refund in the amount of $79.00 for the PCI Compliance Fee assessed will be issued via ACH deposit.

Should he have any questions regarding this response, he may contact our Customer Service Department at extension 1300.

Sincerely,



Kimberly Tippin
Director of Customer Contacts
     
Replies
AWFUL at Best
Posted by on
MIDLAND, MICHIGAN -- I’m not sure how to put this in words that’s not blatantly slamming the company. But here goes. Recently I processed a Discover transaction for 240 dollars. The transaction after several days was not put into my account. So I call the company to find out where it is. The transaction (after talking to discover) was put into a previous owners account. After being on the phone for near over 4 hours of having North American Bancard and Discover arguing between each other to find out whose fault it was. It was decided It was a processing error on North American Bancards side. The accounts last update and download on the terminal was set up as me as the owner and only account. The wrong information was sent to Discover in which the transaction was processed. So the decided to do a reversal that would take 7-10 business days. On the 7th day instead of depositing the money into my account. They took an additional 240 dollars. I call them up and they have no clue what’s going on. They call there processor Global and tell me I should hear the same day or next business day what went wrong. 3 days later and after the 10 return expiration they still don’t know what’s wrong. I’m told my deposit will be made no later then tomorrow. Tomorrow comes and its still not deposited and they still have no clue what’s going on.

To cut it short. North American Bancard is the most incompetent company I have ever dealt with. There customer service is little to none, they have no clue what’s going on and they cannot stand behind there side of the leasing terms. At least at this point they have breached there side of the contract and I am not stuck or obligated to the Heavy fines of breaking the 3 YEAR terms they make you sign.

I also would not wish this company to my worst enemy.
Company Response 6/11/2007:
Dear Jonathan Pinfield-Wells:

Your situation and concerns regarding your account have been brought to my attention.

Under normal circumstances when an Ownership Change is completed a new merchant account number is assigned. At the request of the sales agent and/or merchant an exception was made and the original account number was utilized. This exception is unusual and was done to speed the process that generally takes a minimum of 15 business days.

In reviewing the paperwork returned with the request, new American Express and Discover numbers were not supplied to North American Bancard. It was therefore our belief that an ownership change was completed with them as well and that the existing numbers were transferred to the new owner. Therefore, no changes were made in our system on these numbers.

When a Discover transaction was run under the new owner it was determined that the old Discover accounts had not been updated with them as originally believed. Therefore, the funds for those transactions were given to the old owner by Discover. As North American Bancard does not settle Discover or American Express transactions we are limited in our ability to adjust these transaction types after they have been processed and settled. Discover was unable to transfer the sales in question to the new owners account and therefore significant work was required in order to resolve this situation.

This issue was resolved completely on June 1, 2007.

Since our inception in 1992, we continue to provide unparalleled merchant account processing services for each and every customer. In dedicating ourselves to providing quality services, we continue to scan the digital horizon in able to offer state-of-the-art merchant account processing equipment, competitive rates, and superior, personalized service that will help you better serve your customers. Our responsiveness, integrity, and commitment to quality services have propelled us to the top of the merchant account processing industry.

We apologize for any misunderstanding and do not anticipate any future issues related to this.


Sincerely,
Kimberly Tippin
Director of Customer Contacts
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Fraudulent Practices and Consumer Harassment Case
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ALPHARETTA, GEORGIA -- Merchant #: 8788290280984
Owned a business in 2011 for which I needed a credit-card terminal. I applied through North American Bancard but had to close down the business in few months. I sent their terminal back and closed out the application.
To my surprise, I saw a charge of $895 in my bank account 3 months after the closing of the merchant account.
I immediately closed my bank account but the damage was already done.
I inquired with NA Bancard but was given no proper explanation.
I spoke to numerous agents and they only kept on saying it was for the terminal as per the agreement but there is nothing on the application which mentions about this charge. However, I did see if you do not return the terminal, they are authorized to levy the charge on you but here I had duly returned the equipment.

Somehow, we forgot about the whole mess and 2 years afterwards, another collection agency CFM Group starts giving calls every day harassing that there is another 1100+ dollars due on my account. This was a huge setback as we had not only closed the business but also closed down all the accounts associated with it and there is simply no way, without having the terminal, we would incur these charges.
I think North American Bancard are one of the worst offenders of laws and the regulatory authorities really need to check on their unethical practices. How many consumers it will take to awake these authorities? When in this economy, every dollar counts, how will an average person manage such hassles?

Are there no legal guidelines to stop such harassment?
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >