Preview Review

Next Review

Orbitz Car Rentals Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Was Charged for Two Rental Cars When I Booked Only One
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

In Feb 2016, I booked a trip (flight and rental car) through Orbitz. While booking the rental car I kept getting an error on the website stating that they couldn't process the transaction and to try again, which I did and kept getting the error message. Come to find out that even though I was getting the error message the system was processing the booking thus I ended up with 6 rental car bookings. I called and customer service said that they had deleted all but one car booking.

A couple weeks later I was looking at my credit card statement and saw that I was charge by Orbitz for two rental cars. When I called customer service they told me that it was the rental car problem not theirs. I disagree because it was Orbitz on the credit card statement, not the rental car company, and it was Orbitz that took the card for payment.

I asked to speak to a supervisor and I was hung up on. I called many times asking for a supervisor and only received argument or they would hang up on me. I even tried emailing several times and the response was: "You have an active car reservation."

I called Capital One to see if they could help. They called Orbitz while I was on the line and Orbitz hung up on them too. Capital One said that they would try to work it out with Orbitz. I went on the trip April 3-10, when I went to pick up the rental car the person there asked me about the second reservation, I explained and he said, "no worries". He thought it was a mistake. Then I received a message last night from Capital one that Orbitz gave them 'evidence' that the charge was correct. I don't know what that evidence can be. How can one person drive two cars?

The vacation has past and Orbitz can contact Budget and they can verify that I only took one car. I was charged $226.35 for something I did not want nor booked. At the beginning of this nightmare, I just wanted my credit card credited back for $226.35. I have wasted a lot of time, energy and emotion in getting a wrong righted. It bothers me that a company I have used for years is treated me like this, it is criminal.

Replies
Advertisement
Orbitz Runs A Car Rental Scam - Do Not Rent!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- I rented a car on Orbitz, for pickup at, InterContinental Airport for a quoted price of $190-ish. I made my reservation. When I went to pick it up, the car wasn't there. They had sent it for Hobby Airport, almost 40 minutes away in a car. I was stranded at InterContinental and when I called Orbitz, they cancelled that reservation and told me for almost $100 more, I could rent a car at the airport I was actually at, where I had booked my original reservation.

I filed a complaint with Orbitz and they told me that it was all my fault and I booked it for Hobby and they wouldn't refund me the difference. I explained it's not my first time in Houston. I know the difference between IAH and IOU and I double checked before placing the order that it was at InterContinental. I had had a previous experience with another agency who, also booked me at Hobby but I didn't know that time. So, lesson learned. I quadruple checked I was booked at InterContinental.

During this whole time I had to deal with dropped calls, being told that I was called but my phone never ringing - Orbitz prefers the passive-aggressive e-mail bomb to actual confrontation. I spoke with a manager who told me that basically everything that happened to me was my fault. I should have babysat Orbitz and continued to monitor my reservation because I could have had my refund if only I had watched the booking. And I wasn't going to get my money and NO - her manager doesn't 'take phone calls.' Maybe he's too busy sailing around Monaco with the CEO on the money they shake out of their clients.

What's hilarious is that Orbitz sent me the cars available at InterContinental when I requested a car booking but they told me that this same, amazingly smart, computer had nothing to do with *me* booking it at Hobby. Please stay away from this company if you want a car rental. Their airline booking never gave me any problems, but car rental shopping should come with high blood pressure medication or alcohol. You're going to end up angry and stressed and not to mention, a much lighter wallet. Believe me that company doesn't care as long as they can part you from your cash.

Company Response 09/10/2015:

Hi,

My name is Charlotte, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Charlotte
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL

Replies
Customer Service Inexcusable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Orbitz invoice showed 2 rental car charges for my business trip when I had only reserved and used one. The first Customer Agent (from the US) was very helpful. Unfortunately, I had to call again since the invoice that was resent still showed the two car charges. This time, it sent me to Customer Service in another country. This person was of no help and not only did she tell me, "You need to calm down", she also hung up on me. Her name is Corina. My coworker vouched that although I was frustrated, I was very professional and just needed to get an explanation. The customer agent's response is highly inexcusable.

Replies
Car Rental Price Increase
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I rented a car for my recent trip to New York. The company I rented from overcharged me, and Orbitz doesn't care. The car was filthy, and I didn't notice all of the garbage in the back until after I took it. I showed Orbitz all of the proof of the overcharging and the mess and they still didn't care. Don't use them. They told me that the price is just an estimate and the car company can charge anything they want. Use somebody else, I have never had this kind of trouble before.

Replies
Advertisement
Rental car robbery via Orbitz and partner
By -

Wednesday, 8/4/2010 - Orbitz, Economy Rental Car: We recently booked a rental car via Orbitz for a vacation to Manual Antonio Costa Rica. We chose Economy Rental Car based on their discounted rate. What a mistake!!! Our reservation was made via Orbitz on July 21, 2010. Our pick-up date was Monday, July 26/2010, and the car (a Hyundai Tucson 4X4 SUV), was to be returned on July 31st. Orbitz quoted $299. According to the written contract when we left the office in Manual Antonio on the 26th, it specifically stated the rental was for $385 for the entire week (A rate of $49 per day/$385 for the week), as liability insurance is mandatory @ $20 per day).

Hello Orbitz! During the course of the week, we discovered via our credit card company that our MasterCard had been pinged for $466, $266, $385, and also a hold via Economy Car Rental was placed on our account for $1,253!! All of which we consider to be fraudulent, and deceptive business practice. My wife is an attorney, has been for over 25 years, and fully understands service contracts in general, as do I, and to say the least... she wasn't happy at all about the absolutely ridiculous discussion that took place at the local office when we confronted the representative.

It was an absolute insult to our intelligence. We immediately returned the car, and paid cash for what we had used... then took a cab everywhere for the last few days. Orbitz has been contacted and refuses to make any comment whatsoever. It was the first time we had used the travel site, and will obviously be the last time. I cannot even find who owns/operates Economy Car Rental in Costa Rica. Orbitz really needs to pull their heads out and take a good look at who they are doing business with.

Replies
Phantom Charges Ruined My Bank Account
By -

OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA -- Last night I was on the ORBITZ website, and after finding the flight I needed, I selected a flight, provided all the passenger, address, and credit card information, and clicked the button to confirm and to pay the final amount. I then got an error message that the ticket couldn't be issued, and that I should try again with a different flight. I selected another similar flight, and after confirming the credit information again, I got another message indicating the ticket could not be issued, and to try it again, which I did, and that was also declined.

So after three attempts, I was not able to purchase a ticket. However, the following morning I got a notice on my bank that I was overdrawn by more than $1800.00, because ORBITZ actually charged me for the flight that they said could not be authorized - THREE TIMES!

So far, because of this mistake by ORBITZ, I cannot access my account, I cannot pay for groceries, I have so far bounced several checks and incurred at least one fine, all because ORBITZ charged me for these tickets that they said could not be issued. I spent about 45 minutes with one of the 'customer service' people from another continent, who had no idea what to do, nor did they understand how the ORBITZ website worked, or how American banks operate. They were of absolutely NO help. Not surprisingly, I also got no response from their 'customer service' website.

My bank said they could not reverse the charges, because ORBITZ is using my credit card number to generate 'valid' purchases, for which I have nothing. So, I've been charged three times for three tickets I do not have, I've been locked out of my own account because of the overdraft they caused, and am now paying fees and ruining my credit through checks and payments that are being bounced because of ORBITZ.

After checking the Consumer Affairs website, this is definitely not an isolated incidence as several other people have reported similar problems. I make about five flights a year, most of them overseas and usually with a group, and I will not be using ORBITZ ever again.

Replies
Car Rental
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- I had booked a trip all in one to Key West, and as soon as I landed in Miami to get my car from Dollar rental, they said, "Sorry cannot do it cause of my credit." I spent 3 hours dealing with them. Finally had enough so I went next door to family rental and got a car in 3 minutes. I would never do any of this again. In my opinion Orbitz deserves to give me some money back as I lost so much time on my trip and had to pay 500 dollars more to get a different car. The lady at Orbitz thought it was funny which pissed me off even more. Lesson learned.

Replies
Made good on car rental price
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- Orbitz, which I have used for many years, shows the price of renting a car listed as Total Cost once you complete the booking process. As car rental prices change, I booked a Full size car for 4-4-12 to 4-16-12 for $416 on 2-8-12 and then a few days later on 4-13-12 for $358. Being a helpful person, I promptly canceled the first. Then I decided to switch to a Premium as it was only $10 more and booked this right after on 4-13-12 for $368.63; again I helpfully canceled the prior $358 - Full booking. Today I checked again to see if prices had dropped further but discovered they were much higher, almost twice as much.

Deciding to check my reservation just to be sure, I found it still said Total Cost as $368. But Orbitz has a + for more information on cost and billing; here there was an additional line I discovered showing Total as $745.70. I thought perhaps all of them had this BUT checking, this switch did NOT appear in either of the two prior rentals. In other words, Orbitz seems to have changed their price presentation. Further before you click the + it shows Total as $368.63. Total means TOTAL, and I should not be charged more than that PARTICULARLY as I canceled the prior reservations based on the inaccurate/incomplete information provided.

I have also taken Screenshots of all these items and have them available. It took a long time (1 hour plus) and two calls, but the very professional customer service agent, **, contacted the car company, Thrifty, and they and Orbitz made good on the $368 Premium car price for 12 days from Philadelphia International airport. I've now confirmed it on the Thrifty website.

Replies
Advertisement
DISHONEST and UNRELIABLE
By -

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- Having prepaid a round trip airport to hotel car service transfer, we arrived into the Charlotte airport on schedule. The driver was nowhere to be found. We paged the driver and waited 20 minutes; no one showed up. We placed 3 separate calls to both Orbitz Customer Service and to Carmel Car Service's main office in New York. We were either put on hold or subsequently disconnected.

Upon reaching the hotel we called Orbitz again. After being rerouted and put on hold several times, the Orbitz representative informed us that the driver said he was there, but we were not. They lied to my credit card company as well and I now have no recourse but to pay for services not received. Obviously, I will NEVER use Orbitz again.

Replies
No Assistance
By -

I reserved a car with Budget Rental through Orbitz. I was told when I checked in that there were no cars available, with no idea as to when they would be available. I called Orbitz to get their help, and their response was ludicrous! I called three times, and each time they said they had to call Budget.

They put me on hold each time for over 20 minutes, only to come back on the line and tell me that no one picked up at Budget. Even though I told them that this was the case, they would not check with other rental agencies, or come up with any other solution. In a nutshell, they were absolutely NO HELP!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Orbitz Car Rentals Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
17 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Orbitz
500 W Madison Street
Chicago, IL 60661
312-894-5000 (ph)
312-894-5001 (fax)
www.orbitz.com
Product/Services
Compare Travel Services