[X]
Feedburner count

Orbitz - Page 3

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
178 Reviews & Complaints


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible Customer Service!
Posted by Dervish9 on 07/10/2013
Do you think that they could hire somebody from the US instead of outsourcing? They had no idea what I was talking about - It was an absolute nightmare. They couldn't understand even the simplest question. So extremely frustrating - ARRGH!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Orbitz Worldwide on 2013-07-11:
Hi,
My name is Charlotte, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, and I will be happy to assist you.
Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Charlotte
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Close commentsAdd reply


StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Orbitz - Flight Time Change Without Notification
Posted by Molly.rudd on 07/10/2013
ONLINE, WASHINGTON -- I spent over 2 ½ on the phone yesterday, only to have Brian – Agent #039191 refuse to pass me on to his manager. I booked 4 tickets to Cincinnati on 3/20/2013 for a flight on 7/11/2013. I am flying with 2 children and am VERY picky about layover times. I chose the flight I did because the only non-stop to CVG is a red eye and this flight only had an hour layover and was only about an 1 ½ hours longer than the direct flight.

Apparently the airlines cancelled the first leg of our flight and moved us to a flight that left 4 hours earlier (making it nearly a 5 hour layover in Denver) on May 13, 2013 but we weren’t notified. The only e-mail we received on all 4 of our flights was for my husband’s (his was booked under a separate itinerary because he had to come home earlier than us) on May 30, 2013 and it showed the 2:36 departure (which had been canceled 2 weeks prior to that). The next notice we received from Orbitz was yesterday to prepare for your trip, and it showed the new departure time of 10:36.

Unfortunately with it only being 2 days prior to flying it did not give adequate time to take any action. If I had been notified timely I would have either canceled our flights with Frontier and booked something that had a more acceptable flight time, or made arrangements to fly a day earlier as that flight was still available then. The airlines didn’t have another flight to offer and Orbitz would not take responsibility and put me on a different flight. The only accommodation offered was a $50 voucher. I can assure you that if this is how Orbitz conducts business I will never use them again and ensure I have posted my dissatisfaction on every available social media.

I was completely shocked at how poor the customer service was. Then I started reading the reviews here and realize that this is not a one off situation.

BEWARE - ALWAYS BOOK DIRECTLY WITH THE AIRLINES!!!!!
Read Company Response
Company Response on 07/18/2013:
Hi, Molly,
This is Robert, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations team. I am sorry for the disservice from Orbitz. Please forward the Orbitz Record Locator to us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com. Please use my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.
Thank you for your patience, I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Robert Woyach
Orbitz Customer Relations
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Weedwhacked on 2013-07-10:
You want a travel agency to pay for a different flight due to an AIRLINE schedule change? When you purchased your ticket you agreed to the term that the airline can change flight times at any time they choose. It is your own responsibility to keep up-to-date on your itinerary.
Posted by molly.rudd on 2013-07-10:
It was Orbitz responsibility to update the itinerary with the change from the airlines, which they did not. I had been on-line and looked at my itinerary after the airline made the change and Orbitz was not reflecting the change. Just as the e-mail they sent on May 30th didn't reflect the new flight times (this was 17 days after the airlines made the change). I agree that if I HAD been notified of the change and chose to not do anything about it at that time it would be my own fault, or if the airline had made the closer to the travel date, it would be between me and the airline. But this was CLEARLY Orbitz' miss.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
HORRIBLE. I Am Done With Orbitz
Posted by Poetaparadise on 07/07/2013
Orbitz is horrible. I have used them for many years, but this is the end. I booked two tickets to Europe, then never received a confirmation or itinerary. I called customer service, and they couldn't find one either. So I re-booked. Then I get my Visa bill with TWO charges for $2,600! I call the airline and sure enough, I've been booked twice on the same flight. I call Orbitz and after a half an hour on hold, I'm told that I have to call back when the airline is open. Why can't they just take care of this? I ask.

Oh no, it only works when you're on the phone. This is when I slam the phone down on the representative (which I never do this kind of thing) because I am so angry. Screw you, Orbitz. I am taking my thousands of dollars of annual travel someplace else.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by custrelguy on 2013-07-08:
Hello,

My name is Shalon, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Shalon
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Posted by Sastia on 2013-07-10:
I experience exactly with orbitz. I was charged double with my flight and they did not notice it at all. According to them it is just one booking in their record and they said they'll fix it and I was asked to hold on the line while they call the visa card company. What nonsense is that? They promised to call back but they never did and until now there is still two bookings and one is not cancelled. I will never ever use orbitz again. The worst customer service ever!
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
"There Is Nothing We Can Do"
Posted by Dorapoo on 07/06/2013
Due to a scheduling conflict, my husband and I had to change our returning flight. Orbitz explained that there would be a $105 charge per ticket, which I understood. However, the new flight was $95 cheaper than the original flight. The customer service representative assured me that the $95 would be given to me in the form of an in-flight voucher (a voucher that could be used on food in the plane). She provided me with a phone number where I could call and receive my voucher. What I had not mentioned previously, was that she put me on hold for 30 minutes while she looked this policy up in her refund manual.

I called the number listed, and the voice on the other end stated that "Orbitz lied to you, we do not do that here."

I called Orbitz back, explaining the situation, and asking for a refund of that $95. The representative and supervisor just kept repeating, "there is nothing we can do." In the 10 minutes it took me to call the number provided, and call Orbitz back, my credit card had already been charged, and they could no longer process any fee changes to my booking...

I said, let me ask you this: if the flight was more expensive, wouldn't you charge me? Then if the flight is cheaper, you should refund me. It can't go one way and not the other.

In the end, there was nothing that Orbitz could do, except for repeat that there was nothing they could do. Their customer service was terrible and unprofessional. They have no regard for the individuals who help keep their company afloat. They're a scam.

I would never do business with them again.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Jeanna on 2013-07-07:
Hi

My name is Jeanna, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Jeanna
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Close commentsAdd reply


StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Customer Service
Posted by Greenprobe5 on 06/28/2013
Don't book through Orbitz!!!!! Need to cancel a hotel reservation, which the hotel allows without penalty. Was on hold with Orbitz customer service for over 2 hours. When the Rep finally answered, claimed he couldn't hear me and promptly hung up. At the same time I was on their website trying to log in so I could cancel there. Their server wouldn't let me in. I hate you Orbitz. Never again.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Old Timer on 2013-06-28:
It's not just Orbitz. All these 3rd party travel sites are bad. Though Orbitz and Priceline are a couple of the worst for stealing peoples money.

Book direct, less grief, more help.
Posted by custrelguy on 2013-06-29:
Hello,

My name is Shalon, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Shalon
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Posted by Cristina on 2013-07-04:
Dear Orbitz traveler,

We regret to inform you that, due to limited availability, the airline was not able to confirm the flights you requested. As a result, no tickets have been issued for this trip and we have reversed any credit card charges.

OK, the airline ticket was reimbursed. Wait to see if Orbitz charges will be reimbursed too.

BUT....Looking on Orbitz website...guess what. The "cancelled" flight is still available (3 tickets left @ this price) ???

Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Never Use Orbitz From Australia
Posted by Info1601 on 06/28/2013
UNKNOWN -- NEVER, NEVER, NEVER use Orbitz from Australia. You will lose all your money if you try to make any changes. You have to call an international number (not toll free) which take my word for it, will never answer (or more accurately the International reservations section will never answer) - I wasted over 30 minutes in the course of 3 calls this way. I had to give up and kiss my flights payments goodbye.

There are far better online booking services you can use, but keep away from Orbitz.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by custrelguy on 2013-06-29:
Hello,

My name is Shalon, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. We want to learn more about your experience so that we can address the issue. Please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and enter my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.

Thank you for your patience, and I look forward to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,

Shalon
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Posted by Russell on 2013-09-18:
I am australian and have booked many flights through Orbitz , including canceling flights and have never had any trouble ..I must emit i not rang call center from australia only from europe and then i make sure its in USA business hours .
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Ridiculous!!!
Posted by Dr_hora on 06/19/2013
They keep making promise they can't keep.
They don't refund your money even after they can't keep the promise.
Orbitz makes you circle around a phone.
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
The Worst Customer Service
Posted by Ortalmay on 06/19/2013
I'm experiencing the worst customer service ever!!! I booked a flight for me and my brother. And the second we got the confirmation email we discover that the return date is December and not September. I called the international dept and waited more than 2 hours. By that I gave up and called again after few hours and still waited more than 1 hour. And gave up again. Did the same thing every signal day and never got the option to talk to anyone from the international dept. today ( 7 days from my booking ) I waited 4 hours ( called 3 different times) at the end I talked to the international representative in the Philippines which told me that I need to pay the changing fee. Even though I never choose December, and even though the were not able to answer me in the 24 hours since the reservation. This is way far from being called customer service!! The worst company that I ever got ( or better say never got ) customer service from.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by AnoniMouse on 2013-08-03:
airline impose that once you change a reservation they are going to collect airline penalty fee. When you book your reservation, you are given a summary of your new flight 3 times prior to really booking it.
Lesson learn: check flight if you input the correct month or date nor time if you don't want to pay the change fee.
Close commentsAdd reply


StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible
Posted by Sarajordan101 on 06/18/2013
I had booked a round trip ticket with Orbitz to go to an event in Kansas City...The event was cancelled and they would not refund my money...Pure and simple, highway robbery....
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by custrelguy on 2013-06-19:
Hi Sara Jordan,
My name is Lynne, and I’m a member of the Orbitz Customer Relations Team. Unfortunately, Orbitz must adhere to the airline fare rules at all times. Regrettably, if the ticket is non-refundable according to those rules, only the airline can make any exception. Please understand, it is the airline, not Orbitz, which holds your funds for travel. This information is easily verified via the credit card billing statement.
In extreme medical/emergency situations, some airlines do make exceptions. If you’d like us to check out any specific options for you, please email us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com and include the Orbitz confirmation# and your contact information. I’ll look at the airline fare rules and check for any “waivers” on your behalf.
Thanks for reaching out.
Sincerely,
Lynne
Orbitz Customer Relations
Chicago, IL
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Highly Untrustworthy Orbitz/cheaptickets
Posted by Shyamgs2001 on 06/12/2013
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- Purchased 8 tickets on Orbitz and cheaptickets for 2 families to NY for a 04th July vacation trip. Very interestingly, both the sites did not provide the reservation conf # at the end of the ticketing process. However, my credit card had a temp hold for 2 days and after close follow ups, they said "Your reservation did not complete". I've to rebook the tickets again and since prices went up, had to pay an additional $800 for the same.

I would never ever visit these sites for any travel plans/bookings. Be aware of these sites - Orbitz, cheaptickets. com, Travelocity, tripadvisor.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Weedwhacked on 2013-06-12:
I worked for an airline and a travel agency and can tell you exactly what happened. When you made the reservation the fares you saw were available. However, when Orbitz tried to "ticket" the reservations the fare had gone up. This is why you received no confirmation from them.

If you tried to book maybe 4 or 6 of the original fare tickets, they may have been available. A reservation doesn't give you some lower fare tickets and some higher fare ones. It defaults and makes them all the higher priced ones. I was honest and used to explain to customers that they can get 2 lower fare tickets, but after that it would be higher for the rest of them.
Posted by Orbitz on 2013-06-13:
Hi, shyamgs2001,
This is Robert, and I am part of the Orbitz Customer Relations team. I am sorry for the disservice from Orbitz. Please forward the Orbitz Record Locator, or if you do not have a current booking, the email address used to attempt the booking to us at socialnetwork@orbitz.com. Please use my name in the subject line, so that I can investigate further.
Thank you for your patience, I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Robert Woyach
Orbitz Customer Relations
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >