Preview Review

Next Review

Overstock.com Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Overstock Rips Consumers Off
By -

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I used to be one of Overstock.com customer service reps. and have been reading the complaints on this site concerning Overstock service. Here's the scoop: Overstock CSR's are trained to lie point blank. While I was employed with them I receive numerous complaints from angry customers that received damaged goods, wrong orders or just never got their order period and it had already been paid for. Overstock Customer Service reps work from a totally different state than the warehouse okay. At the time I was employed through them our customer centers were in Wyoming and New Mexico, the warehouse however is in Utah.

So any complaints we received had to be resolved by filing a grievance form on the computer. Not only that the orders are paid for we then place the order to the warehouse and a lot of the times that order never gets shipped out but hey Overstock has that little problem covered. When the customer calls in to complain they will tell you that yes it has been shipped and that it was UPS's fault or USPS's fault when the whole time it was never shipped. Now a grievance is filed through Overstock and that takes at least if you're lucky 72 business hours and you'll be lucky if you see your order at all.

As for the orders being shipped to the wrong address well the people at the warehouse itself most of them can't understand or read English - are you following me. A lot of times you'll get something damaged or missing a part yeah good luck getting that resolved. Long story short if you don't want to get ripped off stay away from Overstock. They lie to get your business, once they've conned you into ordering they couldn't care less about whether you get your merchandise or not. And as for their refund policies I had customers that would call me and complain that they had been waiting 6 months for a refund or exchange and had never got it.

You're better off staying away from this company. I know people who quit cause of the dishonesty of this company's business practices including myself. Let me make myself clear I am not a disgruntled ex employee by no means. I just believe that if you are going to spend your money on something you should get exactly what you ordered as seen on the site, not some cheap or damaged version of it. Nor should you be penalized, i.e. restock fees for asking for a refund cause it didn't fit or cause you received damage goods from the warehouse.

And in no way should you be lied to when you call into a call center to request as to where your order is or for a refund or anything else. You are the consumer it's your money and you have a right to be treated honestly and fairly. That is why I quit this company. Cause in my opinion if Overstock actually cared what people thought or the fact that they lose good customers everyday because of the crap they dish out, they would listen to their customers and do what they had to to make it right . However this not the case with Overstock. They need to change how they operate.

Replies
Advertisement
Delivery
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FLORIDA -- Ordered a rug as a gift for my daughter - received tracking information. Tracked package, but UPS stated that Overstock.com needed to verify the delivery address (they had already delivered half of this order the previous day, so Overstock.com did have the correct address in their file) and instead of verifying the address, they canceled the order and had the rug returned to them (it was already in the state and correct delivery area) and said they would just send me out a new one which would take another 6 days. Not one person could or would give me an explanation as to why they returned it instead of verifying the address. Will never buy from them again.

Replies
Overstock = Overpriced and Super-Slow
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COTTONWOOD HEIGHTS, UTAH -- Waste your time buying off Overstock, by all means go and frustrate yourself with the online inconvenience that is Overstock. Failure to communicate honestly, clearly and timeously. The manner in which a sale is presented is not altogether honest. If I had been quoted an ETA to begin with, I would have declined to use this slow service. If they have legally presented themselves honestly, it would have to be obscure fine print because I didn't see any indication that I was choosing a more expensive delivery that pertains to local shipping (and I haven't been refunded for a useless option?!?). Fair warning up front, not an ETA after I have paid and the goods are despatched.

When I complained to Overstock that 18 days is ridiculous for an online purchase, this is 2016, I run an online business and even with African time, I still beat the likes of Overstock and they are based in the USA. AVOID OVERSTOCK. - Patrick M Byrne = Major Fail, talks the talk and runs with the money or bitcoin! They should be called OVER-PRICED... and they couldn't care less about your concerns... Charge top-dollar for a product, pay extra for a faster service and have to wait 18 days! My parcel has spent a week in the USA already, it should be in Africa already!!

And when I said that I had been tricked into a terrible service, they said they have done all they can and that's the end of the matter. Well, I will NOT be using Overstock.com... no way. They overcharge and they take forever to arrive. Terrible service - 1/10. They got one because they took my money real fast.

Replies
Ordered adjustable base bed 12/08/15 foundation arrived damaged mattress was ok.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I ordered a Serta adjustable bed on 12/08/2015. This order included 2 pcs. adjustable base and mattress. The delivery company delivered items 12/23/15. Upon opening the adjustable base it was boxed and had plastic covering, the plastic cover was not torn but we could see the tear across the top of adjustable base, it was clearly damaged. The delivery guy said I could refuse the one piece and just keep the mattress so I did that. I then called Overstock.com, talked to customer service rep. She apologized and she said she would forward the information to the warehouse dept. and they would call me on 12/24/15 if not maybe not until the following Monday 12/28/15.

I never received a call from anyone so called on 12/29/15 again. They told me that someone was working on this and I would be contacted as soon as this was resolved. I had ordered this adjustable base bed because I had recently had open heart surgery and it was difficult for me to get out of bed. I had purchased this item with Comenity Bank which is the bank Overstock uses to finance items to their customers.

I am calling every other day since 12/28/15 with no resolution. The last time I called they told me they were having problems with Serta sending me another adjustable base, at this point I have even made my first payment to Comenity Bank 1/4/2015 and I still don't have my bed. What can I do? I'm just not getting anything resolved.

Replies
Advertisement
Item Still Not Delivered After a MONTH From the Order and Four Calls to Customer Services.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I placed an order for multiple products on 09/30, one of them was not delivered. I contacted Customer Services via Chat. They said that they were going to check with the courier and if the package was not found they were going to send me another one. In 1-4 business days. I contacted them 10 business after, they confirmed that the package was not found and that they were going to send me another one.

It's been 32 days since the original order and I'm still waiting. I contacted support three more times and they keep promising a replacement. No new tracking number on the Website. I'm requesting a refund trough my credit card company, filing an official complaint with BBB and spreading the word.

Replies
Ridiculously Frustrating and Never Solved. O Sent Me 3 Mistakes That They Never Took Ownership Of And I Had to Pay The Price.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I ordered 2 matching quilt sets for 2 twin size beds sharing a room. I received not only 2 different quilt sets but not even the sku # was correct. I returned one set and O automatically sent a set that didn't match and that I had to then send back which I was charged for. This happened twice!!! Then, the phone line was down in my attempt to actually speak with a person. I had spoken with someone weeks before who asked that I take multiple pictures and send them to her personally and she would solve the terrible mix-up/mistake on Overstock. Never heard a thing from her so it may have been fake to just keep me happy.

I took many detailed pictures, emailed them to the woman who represented Overstock and never heard another thing from her or anyone else at Overstock. So when there was no one to actually speak with at customer service, I connected with the only other option, the chat option. Twice I was chatting with someone (mind you that you give all sorts of information and then the person you are connected with asks you all for it again, all in typing so if you are painfully arthritic, it really makes it hard). O screwed up 3 times and I am getting charged. Do not buy anything from Overstock.

Replies
Severely Disappointed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I bought a Galaxy S6 active from Overstock.com and paid an extra almost 70 dollars for a 2-year protection plan. I had started using my phone on a Friday and it broke the next Monday, so I used it for a total of three days and the screen blacked out. I contacted Overstock.com and told them what happened and they had told me that it would be covered on my 2-year accidental coverage plan. I was told that they would try to just fix the problem but if they couldn't then they would send me a replacement phone instead.

After waiting a week from me sending in my phone they received it and I waited a few days and decided to check on the progress, that is when I seen that it said that they could not fix my phone so a reimbursement was being sent to me.

I called them and told them I was told that if my phone could not be fixed I would be sent a replacement, they went on to tell me that sometimes they send replacements and sometimes they just send reimbursements. I then asked about my 2-year protection plan because they said they were only reimbursing me for the cost of the phone, I then learned that the protection plan is now null and void because "they fulfilled their end of that deal." I am very annoyed by this website and how they handle things. I will not be recommending them to anyone in the future because of how they handle things.

Replies
Makes Returns Impossible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- I bought a recliner from Overstock.com. The product is so cheap and weak my mom could not use it. It is made for a child. My mother is in a care facility and because they did not keep the box it is impossible to return. Nobody makes boxes big enough, they even sent me to the UPS store and they could not make it. Overstock.com will take no responsibility for it.

Mike one of the managers over the phone at Overstock says it is not their problem if I did not keep the box and I cannot return it. Overstock.com has no boxes and WILL NOT help in any way. Knowing my mother is in a care facility and giving absolutely no true guidance shows what type of company it is. NEVER AGAIN will I buy anything from them.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- I ordered a small item from Overstock.com, though not inexpensive. They sent it via UPS (which is another horrible story in itself). When I reported it late and, according to the UPS site unaccounted for over four days, Overstock customer service via email told me that after four days they would do something about it. I took on UPS (maybe my complaint should also be about them!) which was a terrible experience. They blamed Overstock.com for not downloading a shipping manifest. True or not, I received my package by own effort.

I communicated to Overstock customer service in an email that I was a first-time customer and would not be returning and inquired about the missing shipping manifest. They sent me this self-congratulatory email response that they had taken care of the problem by looking up the shipping information.They did not respond to my complaint or question, but patted themselves on the back for no effort whatsoever on their part and then told me I could contact them in 7 days if I had not been satisfied. I see other complaints on this site are very similar to my own. Buyer beware!

Replies
Pathetic Delivery Management by Overstock
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- Order date: September 6th, 2015. Order Number: **. I ordered a coffee table (Anjin Enzo Contemporary 2-tone multi-storage coffee table) with Brand of "Furniture of America" from Overstock.com. I received the parts a week after placing the order, just to realize that there were missing parts, without which I could not even start the process of building the table. When I registered a complaint with customer care of Overstock.com, the gentleman named Kade promised that I would receive USD 50.00 as compensation and that the parts would be replaced at the earliest.

What happened next... guess what!!! I get an email mentioning that the order for missing parts for "Altra Carson End Table" has been placed and I shall hear from their customer care in 2 business days!!! So wrong parts ordered for wrong product and not a mention of the refund!!! When I called customer care again to confirm what's going on, I hear that there was no refund promised or registered in system. Also, the parts were wrongly ordered as I had guessed. They corrected it in their system (apparently.... let's see what email I receive next from Jessica) and there was NO promise for any compensation....

This is not the first time Overstock.com has messed with the delivery of parts for "Furniture of America". Just a few days earlier, my headboard that ordered from Overstock.com had parts with holes drilled in wrong places. They finally had to send replacement parts which arrived after 8 days of complaining. NEVER AGAIN any order from OVERSTOCK.COM.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Overstock.com Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 72 ratings and
201 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Overstock.com
6350 South 3000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
800-843-2446 (ph)
801-944-4629 (fax)
www.overstock.com
ceooffice@overstock.com
Compare Online Stores/Auctions