Overstock.com - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 32 ratings and
162 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Do Not Order From Overstock!! They Are Pond Scum!!
Posted by on
MISSOURI -- Please see the following email sent to my mother for a return on shoes she sent to me as a gift that did not fit.

We received your return for the Circa Joan & David Jude Women's Leather Moccasins . A credit in the amount of $17.00 was issued on 3/12/08. This credit will reflect on your account in accordance with the timeframe established by your card provider.

A breakdown of your refund is shown below:

Item price: $ 33.99

Refund Deductions:
Original Discount: $ -00.00
Return Label Cost: $ -00.00
Open/Used Item Fee: $ -17.00

Total Refund Issued*: $ 17.00

*Original shipping is non-refundable.


An open/used item fee has been deducted from your refund because the shoes were dirty. For questions regarding our return policy or for additional assistance, please click here to visit our online Help Center.

Thank you for shopping with Overstock.com.

Sincerely,


Customer Care Returns
Overstock.com


Please see reply e-mail I sent...
Dear Overstock Customer Service Rep,

This is absolutely ludicrous! Those shoes were not worn or used in any sense of the word. Pictures were taken of those very shoes, box and all at the post office prior to mailing them to your facility. This is something I thought would be in my best interests when I heard a friends horror story about a return fiasco with your company Overstock.com.

How is someone to know that a product they purchased on-line is or is not the product they purchased, shoes in this case, without opening the box? Please explain this to me?

If a full refund is not approved for this return, you will see my reviews on your return procedure and horrible customer service on every review for every item you have on your website, Overstock.com. I will make it my daily amusement to ensure that your on-line consumers browsing with Overstock.com be wary and proceed with caution due to the Overstock.com return 'policy':

"Don't open that package, unless you the consumer only want half of what you paid for it refunded back! Regardless if you used it or not! And you can forget about being reimbursed for shipping it back to us too! We will just resell this product over again and do it to someone else."

I think I like the mantra 'And then some better' but who am I just someone who tried purchasing some shoes. That was obvious to the four (4) people in the room did not fit my foot as soon as they were pulled from the box!

Not to mention the other sites I will voice my concern on. I know you are merely a Customer Service minion but I would suggest that someone get this into the hands of someone that can do something about getting the full refund within the next 7 business days, including shipping which was $9.75.

In seven days without a full refund and return shipping, I will contact Consumer Reports, I will contact the on-line BBB, I will contact my local news in St. Louis, MO, I will place a nice long babbling conversation on my blog of how my mother was taken advantage of by Overstock.com, just because she was trying to be kind and purchase a gift for me. Oh and hello You-Tube!!!

So, I would simply ask you to rethink the condition the product really was in when 'inspected' by your Overstock.com staff (shoes, in a box for Christ sake)

Professionally,
Allison
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
sarahnkrystal on 03/13/2008:
First off, I worked in a shoe store for over 6 years and tell everybody not to buy shoes as a gift because they always go back. OK I'm done with that.
Second, yes Overstock is wrong, but I am not sure you will get anything out of it from what I read.
Third, you won't get the shipping back, I don't know any company that does that.
Anonymous on 03/13/2008:
You had my interest until you posted:

"I know you are merely a Customer Service minion", that's where you lost all credibility.

Here are some rules you could have followed to help get what you wanted:

• Know your contractual obligations.
• When possible, complain on the spot.
• Stick to concise, relevant details.
• Written complaints generate more results than phone calls.
• Note misbehaving employees by name.
• State specifically how you want to be compensated or have the problem corrected.
• Keep it under one page.

>>>>>> • Be polite. <<<<<<<
GothicSmurf on 03/13/2008:
Nothing says "Professional" like this sentence: I will place a nice long babbling conversation on my blog of how my mother was taken advantage of by Overstock.com, just because she was trying to be kind and purchase a gift for me. Oh and hello You-Tube!!!

And making threats to a company isn't a good idea as it won't get you anywhere.
Anonymous on 03/13/2008:
If I pony up 17 bucks would you shut up already.

I voted AlleyS >Best Answer<
bargod on 03/13/2008:
Buying anything online is a gamble and clothing even more so.
tnchuck100 on 03/13/2008:
Except for the shipping charges I think he has a legitimate complaint. He did, much to his detriment, let his anger do his writing.
superbowl has the best answer.
TGT101 on 06/14/2008:
It says OPEN/used. If it was worn then it was open. So in terms of policy everything is correct.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't buy on Overstock
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PENNSYLVANIA -- I have been an online purchaser for a long time and I stick with my regular and reliable stores, rarely do I buy from Overstock.com but on this occasion there was this bed I wanted. Well the large bed headboard was sent in packaging only fit for a pillow, so inevitably the package was very damaged, a whole corner broken off and two large cracks in the top. Terrible, but it happens and that's why there is returns assistance ... or so I thought.

First my returns submission vanished, then customer service insisted that I return the 3 heavy boxes to a UPS store by myself (already helped the UPS driver bring them in as he came on his own and they were too heavy), then they told me I wouldn't be refunded for up to 2 weeks, then they told me I would expect a home pickup one day in the next 2-10 days which suggests I stay home every day.... this was disgraceful and everyone else who goes through this must stand up to them. Finally they agreed to refund the money in 1-2 days and an inspector might be out within 10 days to view the damaged item, I got this in writing from 2 online chat agents ... needless to say they lied and I have no money and just a broken bed ... the fight continues, do NOT buy from OVERSTOCK.

So refund promised today, didn't arrive today ... so guess what, back on to customer service and again they extended their time frame and guess what ... it''ll be in my account tomorrow ... again!!! So I asked them where I get my lawyer to contact and she just ignored the question, I repeated it time and time again but she ignored it ... so finally I gave up and said I guess I'll have to find out where my lawyer contacts by myself ... still no refund.

I don't want a smashed up bed, I want them to take the bed back and refund my money ... guess what, they just ignore everything I say or ask ... Overstock has turned into a scam!
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Filtering Negative Review Is the Same as Lying About Your Products Quality
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SALT LAKE, UTAH -- I purchased a $5,100 couch from Overstock based largely on the glowing reviews. I assumed a couch at this price must be a good quality since there wasn't a single negative review. Since we as consumers are buying these products site-unseen the reviews are a major factor in whether someone does/doesn't buy. You must trust the company you are buying from to be open, honest and ethical in allowing reviews, even negative ones, to be posted.

Overstock clearly is none of those things. I have attempted on 5 occasions to leave a review an honest, unemotional, review, each one was rejected. It is far worse to only allow positive reviews than it is to have no reviews at all. That is a COMPLETE misrepresentation of the products you are selling. My review spoke in detail about the quality of the product, from a very informed perspective and was rejected not once but five times.

They cited the fact I mentioned the shipping, which was out of their control, but every single positive review on their site currently for the product also mentions shipping but they let those get posted as they are 5 stars. I feel robbed and cheated in this whole process. This is purely unethical and I will go to great lengths to insure all potential Overstock consumers are informed about this practice of filtering out negative reviews. Buyer beware.

Additionally I called to try to cancel the order before receiving the shipment since the date of the shipment kept slipping out. The Overstock representative on the other end of the line convinced me to accept the delivery by telling me, repeatedly, that if I took delivery a manager would call me back and compensate me with a credit I could use on future purchases. They did not. I took delivery based on that promise, which they broke, and I ordered based on reviews that they have manipulated to misrepresent the product.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
cmthru on 10/25/2013:
I never trust any review on a manufacturers or vendors website. There are many independent reviews sites out there.
trmn8r on 10/25/2013:
Furniture deliveries are often delayed - that part doesn't concern me so much. As for reviews, with the internet you need to be alert for shill reviews, and whether it appears reviews are skewed. There is an art to this. If they are all positive, that would be a flag to look more closely. If the reviews are on the company's own site, one again should consider what they are reading carefully. I have to be honest - from the beginning of the Big 0, I have been suspicious about the company's products. When I read 3rd party reviews, such as on this site, they are pretty poor.
Weedwhacked on 10/26/2013:
Unfortunately there is no law that requires any vendor to post negative reviews of their business.
Marilyn Oliver on 08/24/2014:
Cannot be trusted. When trying to deal w/wrong delivery my emails disappeared. Asked for return of xtra order before complete order was delivered. Before THAT ordered pattern rocker pad and received solid blue pad. Complained on 21st that only 1/2 order was rec'd.. Overstock says they sent ,RETURN LABEL for XTRA cushions on same dsy only half order was rec'd.... Now threatening me to pay
for that half order. Customer service tells me next half will be sent on same day they say they have notified me to return X-TRA cushions. And i purchased many items..trusted them..be very careful.. and write them. important emails disappeared. Shame 2 problems in 2 orders
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Completely awful!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WASHINGTON -- I ordered the Lauren Grey canopy bed from Overstock.com with expedited shipping. Boxes arrived within a few days (it ships in two different boxes). I opened them to find one box was correct, while the other box was to a completely different piece of furniture!

I called to complain, and they did immediately refund what I paid for expedited shipping and said they would look into it. However, the next day I received an email saying the bed was out of stock, they wouldn't know if it would be back IN stock for over a month, and here's $30 of in-store credit to overstock.com...like I'm going to use that!

I was even more appalled at the dismissive tone of the email when I discovered that there is another Lauren Canopy bed that is *exactly the same* with the exception of a different colored headboard. I called to ask if they could send me the 2nd box for that one instead. I was given several days of run around, being referred to different departments and different people. Someone tried to tell me that just because two beds LOOK alike doesn't mean they have the same parts...I had to inform her that the beds did not simply "look alike," they were actually the same bed with the same model number.

Finally they agreed to ship those parts to me, and kept informing me that the "warehouse was working on it". I was told the bed would go out with expedited shipping. (Ironically, the original bed color had come back in stock while all of this was going on.) My bed shipped over a week after the original incident started and guess what??: No expedited shipping! Instead of 2 business days I was told it would arrive in 5-10 business days. I called to complain and they claimed that there was nothing in the notes about expedited shipping, yet it did say that RIGHT in the email chain that I was looking at from their customer service reps (I spoke to about 9 different people).

Overstock literally messed this up at every step of the way and I will never shop there again. Oh well, guess I'll never get to use my $30 in store credit.

Btw, still waiting on my bed.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bait and Switch
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I ordered five 4 packs of Axe deodorant to put into care packages for Christmas. Overstock sent me 5 individual sticks. Then, they said they will send the right amount out. They sent 5 sticks again, and closed the customer service complaint as "buyer remorse"! They have since changed the description of what I ordered. Even their customer service gave me a link to the exact product I ordered, copy and pasted the description into the body of the e-mail, but manipulated it to make it look like the description was for what they sent me. Bait and switch tactics, and bad customer service. DISHONEST!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 01/13/2013:
"Bait and Switch" is a very specific kind of activity, and this does not sound like it is bait and switch. It is closer to more general false advertising, based on your description.
At Your Service on 01/13/2013:
Do you have the link to show what you were supposed to receive?
O.co on 01/15/2013:
adjiii, I am so sorry there was an issue with your order and we woud love to help you. Please send your order number to: social@overstock.com
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bait and Switch - inferior laptop delivered
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Product Details said Lenovo laptop Standard Memory was 4 GB; Maximum Memory of 8 GB. A "Features" box at the bottom of the Product Details listing said "Computer Memory - 8 GB." The listing certainly implied that the version they were selling had been upgraded to 8 GB of memory, in which case it was the best deal I could find on Black Friday. Laptop received only has 4 GB of memory. As far as I'm concerned, they advertised one product and shipped an inferior product. They have offered to refund my money, but since the other Black Friday deals I passed on in favor of Overstock.com are over, I'm screwed.
Company Response 12/01/2012:
If you can send me your order information at social@overstock.com , I would love to help you.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
CUontheFlipSide on 11/29/2012:
In a laptop, those extra 4g are pretty much irrelevant. If the deal was good, I wouldn't lose sleep over the extra memory, you'd likely never even use it.
Old Timer on 11/29/2012:
RAM is not that expensive right now. See if they will give you the extra 4GIG for free or at their cost? I remember Overstock does sell replacement and upgrade RAM. How much and for what? Not sure about their selection. If not, try a 2nd market and used memory dealer. You may be able to upgrade at a minimal expense.

This does not get OS off the hook for a poor job of selling, just an option. If you like the laptop , I would keep it and upgrade the RAM.
Bill on 11/29/2012:
Tell them to send you a 4gb chip or two 2gb chips if your machine will accept that configuration.
Ram is farely cheap. You should be able to get 4gb for less than $100.00.
If they refuse tell them to refund you $100.00.
madconsumer on 11/29/2012:
if the laptop is going to be used for video, gaming, or graphic art, the extra 4gb of memory is extremely valuable.

sure sounds like a bait and switch to me.

very helpful review, and voted as such!
trmn8r on 11/29/2012:
It does sound like false advertising, or a mistake. How to determine the difference?

One thing it is not, and that is bait and switch. That is a different animal. I can see how you felt you were baited and switched though.

Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Where is My Order?
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I ordered a light fixture from Overstock.com and paid for expedited shipping to insure getting it in 2 business days. When I called at the end of the 2nd business day I learned my order was shipped and attempted to be delivered to the incorrect address. Overstock's response appeared genuine at
the time and guaranteed a replacement light fixture was being sent out overnight and guaranteed it would be delivered in 2 days. Guess what? did not happen either. They really dropped the ball on this one and it seems there is no one who is accountable for not following through with the promises.
I will not be ordering from Overstock in the future - ever!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
melissa253 on 10/16/2012:
That just happen to me with Direct TV. I ordered a replacement box and the CS guy told me that they ship 2 -day by FedEx. That was Saturday and I got it today-Monday. Turns out the FedEx actually received it on Saturday (to my State) but they just didn't deliver it.
melissa253 on 10/16/2012:
Above correction. I ordered the replacement box on Thursday and was supposed to receive it by Fed X on Saturday. It came on Monday
O.co on 10/16/2012:
I’m so sorry to hear about that. If you could please send your order info to social@overstock.com, we would be happy to see what can be done.
Close commentsAdd reply
Made in the USA...Not!
Posted by on
We attempt to buy products made in America whenever possible. When needing to replace our coffee maker, we did research on the Internet and Overstock.com advertised a Cuisinart coffee maker as being "made in the USA." We ordered it, and upon receipt the box clearly indicated that it was made in China. Just to be certain, we contacted Cuisinart customer service and were told that "all our products are made in China." Disappointed, we wrote a negative review on Overstock's site. This review was never posted. We contacted Overstock customer service and they agreed to accept the return of this product without additional shipping charges to us (hence the 1 star). We asked the very polite and helpful customer service representative from Overstock to have this Cuisinart coffee maker and all other Cuisinart products (and there were a number of them under the coffeemaker section alone) removed from their "made in the USA" designated list. Approximately a month later this coffee maker (Cuisinart DTC-975 ) along with at least another 6 Cuisinart coffee makers are still being touted as "made in the USA." I would doubt if many, if any, of the products they advertise as "made in the USA" actually are. It just seems like an underhanded way of moving some merchandise and taking advantage of the American consumer's desire to bring/keep business in the USA.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 01/09/2011:
According to what I just googled, all Cuisinart products made after 1992 were made in China, except for the occasional glass caraffe or lid that was made in Germany. The food processors made before 1992 were made in Japan or France.


I guess Overstock did not receive the memo.
trmn8r on 01/09/2011:
How shabby. I read some things about Overstock that turned me off to the idea of ever ordering from them, followed by the "O O O" holiday commercials which just made me angry.

It this company has a "Made in USA" product list, they have to maintain and update it. That's just wrong, but I'm not surprised to hear this company behaves in this manner. Very helpful review.
karleebarlee on 01/10/2011:
Maybe try Amazon? They're usually pretty honest about their prodcuts.
CrazyRedHead on 01/10/2011:
What about made in America from imported parts, hence, why the box said Made in China.
jktshff1 on 01/10/2011:
Crazy, Assembled in America would be a better term.
Close commentsAdd reply
Fraud
Posted by on
SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- overstock.com sold me a bedroom set and charged my credit card. They then canceled the order and told me I would receive the credit after 10 days in a live chat. The first chat person refused to give me a phone number to call and refused to give me an explanation for the cancellation. I then went through and looked at their bedroom sets. The product that was canceled was still for sale. I then went back to live chat and they told me it was an error and to go ahead and order it again. I ordered it again. They charged my credit card again and then THEY CANCELED THE ORDER AGAIN! So now I will have to wait to receive a credit again. I would imagine they make a lot of money on interest by holding money from a lot of people for a minimum of 10 days on products they don't have.

I would encourage everyone with a complaint to file with the BBB in Utah.

http://www.saltlakecity.bbb.org/complaintsearch.html

Just type in overstock.com and click on the first address it brings up.

CONTACT: Mr. Kumar Pandya
ADDRESS: 6350 South 3000 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84121
PHONE: 801 947-3100
FAX: 801 944-4629

Here is a copy of my live chat.

Welcome to Overstock.com Customer Service, you are now chatting with Grace.
Grace: Thank you for visiting Overstock.com. How may I help you today?
you: Today's Date 11/15/05
Hi Grace. My order was canceled by you and I looked and everything is still available that I ordered. I need to know why I can't get it and why it was canceled. You charged my credit card and I would really like this bedroom set. If I can't get it then why is it still available to order? Are you selling items that you don't really have? Here is your link to the items I ordered. http://www.overstock.com/?PAGE=ENDECA&N=0&keywords=Soho+Honey&IMAGE.x=23&IMAGE.y=17 Why do I need to wait to have my money credited back to my account when the items are still available for sale? I really need an explanation. If it's available and I ordered it, it would seem that you need to fill my order.
Grace: I am sorry to know that.
Grace: Please give me a minute or two while I read the issue.
you: OK, thank you.
Grace: Thank you.
Grace: For security purposes, would you please verify the full name and billing address on your account?
you: **************
Grace: May I place you on hold for a minute or two while I verify this information?
you: Yes
Grace: Thank you for staying online.
Grace: I see that the refund of $280.73, $370.72 and $231.46 has already been credited to your credit card ending with **** four digits on 11/14/2005.
Grace: Your bank should post this credit within the next few business days, however, that time frame depends on your bank's policies and procedures.
you: I don't want the credit. I want the furniture. Why was my order canceled?
Grace: Unfortunately, we were unable to ship your order. We use an inventory control database to prevent this type of thing from happening, but some error has apparently occurred in the process.
Grace: I'm terribly sorry for the inconvenience that this error on our part has caused you.
you: Can you tell me why you were unable to ship my order please?
Grace: I see that these items are still available on our website, I suggest you to re-order them today, as we cannot guarantee on quantities and prices.
Grace: Due to some technical error the order was cancelled. I am sorry we are unable to process the order since the refund has already been credited to your credit card.
Grace: I suggest you to re-order this today.
you: Are you sure I'll get the credit because this puts me in for double the price if I order before I get the credit?
Grace: I will like to inform you that a $20.00 also been issued to your account with us for this inconvenience.
you: I'm also having trouble with my email account right now and the order confirmation may bounce back. Will that be a problem?
Grace: The amount has already been credited to your credit card. This will reflect on your next bank statement.
Grace: Not at all, I suggest you to delete the Cookies while placing the order.
Grace: Regarding the in-store credit of $20, this amount will automatically be applied on your next purchase with us.
you: Thank you Grace. I'll go place the order again.
Grace: Is there anything else I can assist you with today?
you: No thank you.
Grace: Thank you for contacting Overstock.com! If you feel I was able to assist you today, I would really appreciate it if you would fill out the survey at the end of this chat. Just click the "close" button on the chat window, and the exit survey will come up. Thanks!



This just in.11/18/05

Welcome to Overstock.com Customer Service, you are now chatting with Bryan.
Bryan: Thank you for visiting Overstock.com. How may I help you today?
you: Date: 11/18/05 Invoice Number: ******** Hello Bryan. You canceled my first order and it took time to credit my account. (Invoice Number: ********)The furniture was still available. You told me to order it again. I oredered it again and you canceled it again. I need for my account to be credited immediately. You are selling items you don't have in stock and you did it to me twice. Here is our last chat. (insert above chat here) Bryan: Please stay online while I go through it.
you: OK
Bryan: Thank you for being online.
Bryan: I have verified your account.
Bryan: I am really sorry for this inconvenience.
Bryan: As we deal with liquidation business we tend to sell out our items very quickly.
Bryan: I am really sorry that this happened to you even after placing the order.
Bryan: I sincerely apologize for the same.
Bryan: I can understand how you would be feeling at this point of time. If I were in your position I would have felt the same.
you: I'm just concerned about my credit. Do you have any information on the day it will be credited back into my account. You have already tied up this money for over a week. Thank you.
Bryan: I do see that the refund has already been credited back to your credit card ending with the last 4 digits ****.
Bryan: I would like to inform you that this credit will appear in your next billing statement. I am really sorry for the inconvenience caused to you.
you: Can you tell me the date it was credited back to my account?
Bryan: Let me explain to you.
Bryan: $226.23 was credited for the Soho Honey Three-drawer Nightstand on 11/17/2005.
Bryan: $274.37 was credited for the Soho Honey Five-drawer Chest on 11/17/2005.
Bryan: $362.31 was credited for the Soho Honey Bed (Queen) on 11/17/2005.
you: Please hold while I compare that with my order.
Bryan: Sure.
you: OK thank you Bryan. Will that inconvenience credit of $20.00 also be put back into my account that you used with this canceled order?
Bryan: Let me check that with my supervisor.
Bryan: If you are interested in purchasing now, we can give you a $20.00 discount on the order. Is that fine with you?
you: I'm not ready to purchase now. I've just made many purchases. You already gave me that $20.00. You can go ahead and keep it. Have a nice day Bryan. Thank you for your help.
     
Add reply
Overstock is evasive and untrustworthy.
Posted by on
SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased a “Luxury 230 tc Down Alternative Color Comforter, King Loden” at the end of August. For $49.99, it sounded like a good deal. Two weeks later, however, when I received the item, my good deal came to an end. They sent not only the wrong color, but the wrong size! As there was no information on how to make a return or how to even contact the returns department in the box with my comforter, I began the process of making a return in my account online. This than began a series of misspelled and confusing emails with random Overstock.com customer service reps. For example, one dated September 9th at 7:54AM stated:

“Thank you for shopping with Overstock.com! We appreciate your business.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience we have caused by shipping an incorrect 'Luxury 230 tc Down Alternative Color Comforter'. We go to great lengths to supply quality products and we stand behind our service guarantee. We also plan to expedite the return of your item at no cost to you. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to fulfill your order with a replacement.

I have contacted our Return Processing Center and instructions on how to process your return will be emailed to you within the next 2 to 4 business days.

All returned items are tested and inspected by certified technicians and if found not to be incorrect, we charge a $4.95 restocking fee for each returned item as outlined in our return policy. Please allow up to 14 days after we receive your item to process your returned item and send your replacement.

[NAME], we hope that you will visit us again and give us the opportunity to provide you with trouble free Internet shopping. Don't miss out on our great deals on name-brand products! Please let us know if we may be of additional assistance.”

I didn’t receive any response by September 14th in the afternoon, so I emailed them again. Their response was:

“Thank you for shopping with Overstock.com. We appreciate your business. I understand your concern regarding prepaid shipping label for your 'Luxury 230 tc Down Alternative Color Comforter'. I appreciate the opportunity to assist you. I am sorry you have had questions about Return shipping label has not been sent to you.

[NAME], it takes 2-4 business days for the label to be delivered to you. You are within the time frame for the label to be delivered. I appreciate your patience regarding this.

Please feel free to give us a call at 1-800-843-2446, seven days a week, 24 hours a day (except holidays). You can choose to simply reply to this email as well. Thank you for this opportunity to assist you. If we can be of any further assistance, please let us know. Please visit us again and mention some of our great savings to your friends.”

What does “I understand your concern regarding prepaid shipping label for your 'Luxury 230 tc Down Alternative Color Comforter'. I appreciate the opportunity to assist you. I am sorry you have had questions about Return shipping label has not been sent to you.” mean?

In response to this, I replied on the 15th with”

“Hello Johny and Overstock,

It has now been over 2-4 business days. In fact, today is the 5th business day. I am not unhappy with Overstock; I simply would like to return the wrongly shipped item for the correct one. I hope to see the RMA sometime today.”

And the next day, I receive this message: “Thank you for letting us know about your need to update or correct information on your account. I am sorry that we were not in a position to assist you in a timely manner.

[NAME], after reviewing the information on your account, I see that you have previously been assisted with this matter by one of our customer service representatives. I hope they were able to resolve all of your issues to your satisfaction.

Please visit us again and mention some of our great savings to your friends! If we can be of further assistance to you for this, or any other issue please let us know.”

First of all, obviously my issues were not resolved to my satisfaction. Secondly, I did not want to correct my account, I wanted to get the correct item. This shouldn’t have been so difficult. So finally I called Overstock to request the RMA. It took two tries for the email to go through, and I finally received the RMA on September 21.

I sent the wrong comforter back on the 22nd, and it arrived at the warehouse on September 30th care of UPS ground. As of last week, I hadn’t received my replacement comforter, so I called Overstock (I’ve learned never to email them again), and after being put on hold, was told that I would receive an email within 2 business days updating me as to the status. The CSR said that at that time, my return was still being processed. Incredible. So two days go by, and I call because I didn’t get an email update. This new CSR said that it’s actually two to four days and that I should wait. Well, at that point, no, I shouldn’t have to wait for them to email their warehouse and then email me back. So I explained that at this point, It’s been 20 days since they’ve received my return, and that at this point I wanted a full refund. It shouldn’t take 2 months to get the correct product in my hands. The CSR said that he’d email the warehouse and ask them to expedite the return so that I could receive a full refund. I was told to expect and email (egad) within four days detailing this and my refund. Today is the fifth day, so I called again. This time, I was told that the previous CSR incorrectly filed my request. Apparently, he asked for a refund and not a credit to my credit card. Apparently these are different things. Also, my return hasn’t been completed, so I might get a credit. Or, a new comforter could show up anytime in the next few months. This time, I’m told to wait at least eight full business days for my credit to appear.

This whole process has been awful. I ordered this comforter as a gift, and because of the whole “wrong item” mix-up, I’ve had to spend more money to buy a new comforter as well as wait around for this return process to kick in. Honestly, I feel like Overstock is trying to avoid any chance of crediting me or resolving this. Plus, I’ve spent countless hours on the phone, patiently sitting through repeating muzak in order to try to rectify this. I intend never to order from Overstock again because they are evasive and untrustworthy.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
writergeeknh on 11/07/2005:
If you haven't yet received satisfaction with this I suggest filing a complaint with the BBB. I did that, along with Consumer Affairs. And actually the Federal Trade Commission is in the process of investigating Overstock, you might want to try there. I did a full court press and filed complaints with everyone I could think of and got my refund.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >