Preview Review

Next Review

Polaroid LCD TVs Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Buyer Beware
By -

I called Polaroid Customer Service on 08/28/09 for a problem with a TV. This was under warranty. After doing everything asked they said they would send me out the part and then would setup a service call. I received the part on 10/15/09. After talking to the support group at 866-289-5168 on that Thursday they assured me that a technical group would call me within 3-5 business days to set up a service call. Today is the 26th of October. I called them once again today and talked to the same manager (**). They keep giving me the runaround. They claim they have no contact the technical company that will come out and install the part.

I feel I have been very patient since my TV has been out since 08/28/09 and it is now 2 months to fix a warranty part. The support group manager claims they will call me within the next three to four days now. Even though he claimed on last Thursday the 22nd of October that after the day of me getting the part they would call within 3-5 business days. This is the second time that this TV has gone bad 09/06/08. The first time they replaced a part on March 10, 2008. Now it does not work again.

Today 10/28/09: A technician showed up at my house at about 11:00 today. He saw that the TV worked but would flicker when there were light colors on the screen. He took the part that they sent to me and went to replace it. This part would not work due to a cable would not connect to the TV from the controller box. They instructed the technician to take the cable from the old controller and put it on the new controller so it would fit. Which the technician had done. After it was reassembled the technician had re-hung the TV and we turned it on to find that the TV screen looked like pastel colors. A whole different issue.

The technician called the company (Polaroid) and explained what was going on. They instructed him to remove the controller board and reseat it again to make sure it was seated correctly. When the technician went to remove the board to reseat it he said the board was very, very hot. Too hot to touch. He let the support technician on the phone know that the board was extremely hot. After trying to reseat and hang the TV once again the TV will now get no picture at all. He explained to the support line technician on the phone that there is no picture now and thinks that the board might have caused a different problem due to the heat of it.

I then had to talk to the representative and he explained to me that there is nothing else they can do and that I am just out of the 719.32 TV that I purchased that is still under warranty. They will not send another technician out and that is it.

Over 20 Years Ago I Bought a Polaroid Instant Camera for Around $25.00. It Was a Good Camera. No Problems
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RANDLEMAN, NORTH CAROLINA -- Polaroid should stick to making cameras not TV's. I flagged a post on my local Craigslist. The owner stated it was a Panasonic, he misspelled it as a Panasonic, but it was a Polaroid TV he was trying to get $200.00 for.

Polaroid TV Still Running Great
Rating: 5/51

BINGHAMTON, NEW YORK -- Had this TV for over 5 years and it's still running great. I know people who play thousands for Sony Vizio or other "high end" brands that don't last as long. And the picture quality isn't nearly as good. I have seen a lot of bad reviews for Polaroid TVs but I am more than happy.

Polaroid LCD TV does not turn on after 17 months of use
By -

BUFFALO, NEW YORK -- Extremely dissatisfied with Polaroid quality. I purchased Polaroid LCD TV FLM-4034B (Model 4000) on Black Friday at Circuit City and after 17 months of use, the TV does not work. FIRST, I submitted the complaint shown below via the Polaroid website:

A reputable repair facility indicated microprocessor in control box is not functioning. Also indicated power supply is operational. Recommends entire control box assembly to be replaced. Quote for control box replacement is $840. Extremely disappointed with poor quality and poor reliability of this product. Is there a product recall for this item or any component within this LCD TV? What compensation can be applied toward this short life LCD TV to ensure consumer confidence and customer satisfaction in Polaroid products? Is the LCD that I purchased a 'lemon'? I think it is.

They responded: "Thank you for contacting Polaroid and for your support and interest in our product. Below is our response to your recent email: Unfortunately, your product is out of warranty and the only service option we can offer is an out of warranty exchange. You will be required to ship your nonworking unit to our service center and we will send you a replacement product at a discounted price. If you would like to do so, please contact Customer Service at 866-289-5168 Mon-Fri 8am-11pm Sat & Sun 10am-8pm EST. To better assist you, please have your model number, serial number, and exact date of purchase.

Or you may take the unit to a local electronics repair shop to have it repaired. You should be able to find a repair shop in your local yellow pages or on a search engine. You may inform the repair person that they may contact these national electronics retailers to obtain parts for repair: Andrews Electronics 800-274-4666, Vance Baldwin Electronics 800-432-8542. Thank you. Polaroid Customer Service, 866-289-5168."

I was not happy with this response, as the LCD TV was only in use for 17 months, at most 5 hours of use on average per day. By anyone's standards, this is not much use before 'burn out' of the microprocessor/control box. The cheapest 'tube' TV would clearly outlast this Polaroid piece of junk.

Not satisfied with the response I got, I immediately called Polaroid via the toll free number indicated in the owner's manual and was told I could get a refurbished LCD TV at approx 80% of the cost of the new one I purchased AND I would have to pay for shipping.

The LCD TV from Polaroid is not a good investment. Stay away from Polaroid as they do not stand by their product. I wonder if Polaroid knowingly marketing a poor quality product to mislead the consumer for monetary gain. A GOOD company would stand by their product and replace a defective component at a fair cost to the consumer.

Many Many Issues With These Televisions
By -

FLORIDA -- I've read comments from many even saw one from a so called customer service representative on here stating that their products have a low failure rate. And that it's a well known fact that LCD's do not last long. LOL. Okay let's go back... 1 year is not a long time nor should it be the goal of Polaroid to achieve in any way.

There are many other companies that make LCD televisions and they do NOT fail in 12 months or 18 months. There is no excuse for this. Polaroid offers a 1 year warranty on their products but the issue is they do not last much more than that. A customer should be able to spend $1,000 or more and fully expect to get well over 5 years with minor issues NOT complete failure. No less failing in 12-18 months. That's insane!!!! Polaroid should fully take responsibility for the 100's of thousands of complaints online & at the BBB regarding the same failure on their LCD line of TV's. This is unacceptable and not even on a lemon law type situation. It's robbing the consumer.

No person or representative from Polaroid should even try and say this is okay and perfectly acceptable that you paid your hard earned money to our company and the product is failing on all levels across their LCD line of TV's. It's disgusting unprofessional and downright ripping off the same people that keep your company afloat. Keep this up and soon no one will be buying your products. Matter of fact I'm more than confident the Polaroid company's name is smeared because of the large amounts of verified lemon products you throw on consumers and expect us to think it's okay that we only get 1 year for a $1,000 product.

After reading so many comments after my Polaroid went after 16 months I did not even bother making contact. I wrote it off as being ripped off and gave the set to the garbage men. I lost $800 and change due to poor electronics and downright sad consumer response to Polaroid's lousy 1 year warranty. Only thing left of my Polaroid LCD is the receipt. I paid $800 for 16 months and a paper receipt. :(

Polaroid Sucks
By -

I bought a Polaroid 32 inch flat screen with DVD from Wal-mart 2 years ago. And like most, first the DVD stopped working. Last week the TV started to smoke and the screen went black. Doesn't work at all now. A lot of money to spend on a piece of crap. I just want to thank Polaroid for there lack of help and compassion during a difficult time for many people in financial difficultly. NEVER, EVER, AGAIN. I will do my best to make sure no one I know and who knows them will ever purchase another thing from Polaroid. If there is any class action lawsuit, please keep me informed.

Defective TV/Poor Customer Service
By -

In April 2007, a purchase was made at Wal-Mart for a Polaroid 37" HD LCD Television FLM-373B. If I would have known this purchase was being made considering what I know now..... I would have returned it to Wal-Mart the same day. I normally research products through other avenues but my husband went out and purchased it. Keep in mind my family has 5+ television sets and not a one of them has gone out and we have two TV sets that are 20+ years old and are still working!!!!

October 13th, 2007 the TV was turned on and then within 10 seconds the picture went out and all we had was audio. I called Wal-Mart immediately to see if I could return the TV set given it was less than a year old and I was told to contact Polaroid because an extended warranty was not purchased. Within a few days I submitted a repair ticket through the Polaroid website. I received a response within 2 days saying that I would receive a part within 2-3 weeks and then within 2-3 days of receiving the part I would be contacted by a technician for a repair.

Unfortunately after numerous e-mails and numerous phone calls, the part was finally received in January 2008. It took almost 3 months for the part to get here. I was told the part was on back order. To make matters worse the technician has yet to contact us to schedule the appointment. I have called Polaroid twice and they keep telling me give it another week. I am concerned at this point even though it may eventually be fixed, that in another few months the TV will go out again and it will no longer be under warranty. I do not recommend purchasing this product.

Customer Service/Warranty Service
By -

In December 2006 we bought a 20" LCD Polaroid Television. In June the TV became defective. I had a lime green screen with lines and snow. I called the warranty service number and was told I would be contacted to set up a repair. It is now a month later and I have talked to 3 more people and been promised a call from the repair service 3 different times with 3 different time frames for the call, the last being 24-48 hours. When no call came I talked to a supervisor who finally admitted to me that he does not even work for Polaroid. He is employed by Accent Co. who handle all the customer service calls for Polaroid.

He told me that there is now a problem with parts for my TV and that my report is in the queue to be handled but he does not know when!!!! I asked him what he would do and said I was ready to contact Polaroid execs. He said that is what he would do. My advice don't buy Polaroid unless you get it somewhere with an extended warranty like Best Buy. We got ours at Wal-mart, enough said about that.

No Warranty Service

DEVON, PENNSYLVANIA -- I Bought a Polaroid LCD TV Model FLM-323B on July 5, 2006. Mailed in the registration card when purchased. It totally died 4 months later. The machine has a date of manufacture of April 2006 right on it. First I had to go BUY fuses and install them before they would even talk to me. Now because my receipt is faded (on thermal paper and not stored in controlled conditions) they will not honor the warranty. 900+ dollars for 4 months of service is really poor. Other websites show the same problem with Polaroid's quality and warranty service.

Beware. Unless you have money to throw out, the product won't last a year and no one will fix it for you under the warranty. I even offered to allow them to back the warranty up to April 2006 which would shorten my warranty period but get my TV fixed. No deal. They rely on thermal paper receipts fading. The rep at the warranty company said they had receipt issues all the time and I should try to get the store to give me a "new" receipt. I asked why I would bother to send in the registration if they wouldn't honor the warranty and he said the registration is a product registration not a warranty registration. STAY AWAY FROM POLAROID ELECTRONICS!!!!

No Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This TV stopped working after three months. Took forever to find customer service to get a return authorization number. The repair service told me that it would take three weeks to fix after they got it. I gave them a few extra days, then called. They told me that "the parts are not in yet" (old excuse) and it would take another month. Today was "another month", and I was told that it will take "another three weeks". YEAH RIGHT! I'm paying for three months of cable with no TV and I'm just TIRED of the lies and excuses! Why don't they just send me a replacement like any company that has customer service? Seems like this company is run from a tree fort!

Top of Page | Next Page >

Polaroid LCD TVs Rating:
Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.3 out of 5, based on 3 ratings and
37 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
4350 Baker Rd # 180
Hopkins, MN 55343
952-641-1020 (ph)
781-386-8588 (fax)
Compare Electronics Companies