Progressive Auto Insurance Boat Insurance

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
4 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Progressive Auto Insurance
6300 Wilson Mills Road
Mayfield Village, OH 44143
440-461-5000 (ph)
Compare Auto Insurance Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Claim Denied
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONTEREY, CALIFORNIA -- Progressive insurance is the worst for boat insurance. I had an accident in which my mast was bent and they turned it down. They said it was metal fatigue without even testing. To make matters worse, they sent an adjuster who does RV and motorcycle. I had my mast inspected by the manufacturer and it was not due to fatigue but accidentally leaving the vang on (too) tight in heavy down wind sailing. The builder sent a letter to that effect and they still said it was due to fatigue. Seems that they have some kind of mental ability to telepathically test metal. Don't buy Progressive Insurance.

Progressive Insurance Will Not Pay Your Claim
By -

On 8-21-2010, while navigating the Delaware River I struck an object in the channel. I immediately filed a claim with Progressive Insurance upon returning to the marina. On 8-23-2010 I spoke to the claim representative. He was advised that the travel lift to pull the boat was out of service for a few days and then the mechanic is going to be away. I asked if there would be an issue keeping the boat in the water until 9-7-10. He advised there would be no issues as long as I don't operate the boat. I obeyed his request.

On 9-7-10 I had the boat pulled. I then immediately contacted the claims representative and advised him. He then went to see the damage on 9-9-10. He called me later that day and advised that the damage didn't look fresh. After sitting in the water for 17 days, anyone with a boat would know that growth and marine life would grow on exposed metal.

At this time I reminded the claims representative that there were 7 people on board and asked if he had called them, he did not. He said he had to do further investigation, and did not call me back until 9-10-10. He then stated he has to gain more information and would know more on Monday. He asked if I could provide him with information, which I did immediately via email. The claim representative called me on 9-13-10 and stated that his boss is now requesting an independent marine survey, and he would have to schedule it. I asked Fahey to please call me by the close of business on this date with the scheduled time.

At this time I asked the rep, how they selected this surveyor, he said this is the one Progressive uses in New Jersey. I asked how is that independent, Progressive pays this person to do the survey, would this guy really bite the hand that feed him. Fahey assured me that this is not the case. I received a call from the representative at 4:45 on this date and he stated that the independent marine surveyor is out of town until next week sometime, and we will have to wait until then. I asked why we have to delay this another week to wait for this one guy, he answered that is the guy Progressive uses.

How independent is this? Why another company cannot be mutually selected and utilized. He did not have the answer. So at this point my boat is being held at bay. I cannot do any work on it or the claim will not be paid, I feel that I am being bullied into dropping the claim by creating these delays. How is this good and proper business ethics? I also note my integrity was questioned without any investigation. WELL IT IS OFFICIAL, THE CLAIM WAS DENIED!!!!! GO TO FACEBOOK GROUP "PROGRESSIVE WILL NOT PAY YOUR CLAIM" FOLLOW THIS LINK **.

Progressive Ins. Screwed Me! Are You Next?
By -

I bought a small 18' boat to take the family fishing with. My insurance carrier doesn't have boat insurance so they referred me to Progressive (I will take this up with them later). After 5+ years of never filing a claim and paying them for coverage, I had to file a claim when my throttle lever was jamming and unable to shift. My boat only has like 25-30 hours on it and gets detailed every time it gets used. Nonetheless, I took my boat out of the water and towed it to my local repair shop. It turned out that moisture intrusion caused the problem with the gearbox. I know what you are thinking... it's a boat!

Well, the fact is that it was mechanical failure as per the troubleshooter, mechanic and supervisor of the shop (authorities in this matter). This is the only reason I filed the claim. Progressive sent their "photographer" and the "non-authority in this matter" decided that it was my personal fault. First off, I baby my boat and will never think to abuse it. My family and I love using our boat and want it to last. Anyway, almost $1,000.00 to repair my boat. I asked the insurance people we were tossed between if the personnel making the assessment were mechanics or certified to override the decisions of a "certified mechanic".

After giving me all the run around, they never gave me a direct answer other than, "you are not going to be covered for this claim". Do I feel ripped off? You bet I do! Am I going to quit this insurance company? You bet I am. Would I recommend this insurance to anyone? You bet I won't. This is the kind of stuff that give insurance companies a bad name... and it should. I plan on making sure everyone knows of what they have done. To override the decision of a certified mechanic who specializes on my specific brand and type of boat. Ridiculous!!

Boat Motor Fire Damage
By -

On a fishing trip to Louisiana July 15, 2010 I had a electrical fire on my motor burning up 2 wiring harnesses and other electrical components. I have had insurance with Progressive over 4 years, never had a claim but they refuse to pay to have it repaired. This is not an old boat, it is a 2005 model, the adjuster said it was due to a mechanical failure and they have a clause that allows them to not cover this. Even if they did not pay for the component that failed and caused this, they should pay for the damage. Based on my first experience with Progressive I would not use them again.

Top of Page | Next Page >