Regions Bank

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 3 ratings and
28 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Prepaid Visa
Posted by on
NAPLES, FLORIDA -- I don't like to use my bank account and credit cards online that's why I purchased a prepaid Visa card from a Regions Bank back on December 2008. I asked them can I use it online and if I cannot use it, is it possible to return it, both answers were YES. There I purchased it, boy with that didn't I brought a big headache into my life... First, I couldn't purchase the item and went to bank to return the card, they said sorry you can't. Now, I’m stuck to use this card. I went back home activate a PayPal account since I paid for this card I can put that money into my PayPal account and shop from there. One more time I was wrong. I went back to Bank they said because I'm trying to send money to another country it won't work. I called a friend of mine and asked him that can he use this card and forward the same amount of money to my PayPal account and I can send this money and purchase my stuff. He calls me back says it is not working for him either. Then I called the 800 number they said because there is no address entered, PayPal cannot see the account and he was gladly entered my information. I went back home thinking finally I will be able to use it, of course it didn’t work I thought maybe it needs time, a few days passed still don't work. Meanwhile $75 is missing from my account and they don't work weekends I had to wait till Monday to figure it out.

The explanation of that was because it swiped at the pump bank holds $75 of the card amount. "The money will be return to the account after 7th day on the 8th day" I was told. Now, I'm very aggravated finally on the 10th day the money put back into my account. I went out start shopping just to get rid of this darn card and never ever buy it again. I went to a gas station walked inside (just like they said) guess the amount of the gas that I planned to buy and went back to pump. Darn, I guesstimated almost $5 more than what I had, went back inside to make the adjustments and left. Same night I checked my balance they took the bigger amount the difference wasn't reflect to my account yet and also one charge wasn't reflecting at all and there is an extra $54 charge that I had no clue...I called again(not to mention I had to wait next day because they are close), it turned out that $54 charge is purchase + %20 one of my purchase that I had that day they didn't only took $45 off my account also took $9 more. I was shocked. I cannot believe the way they operate. I will never ever buy another prepaid card, It is my money and also paid extra $3.95 to get into this aggravation, also if you don't use it quick there is a $2.50 charge every month.

My $5 will be returned to my account by next week. Today is February 24th and I activated this card in mid January since then it is just a pain in the neck. I don't recommend anyone.
     
Replies
Regions Bank - Inept Again!
Posted by on
BIRMINGHAM, ALABAMA -- Update #3 - 02/04/11 has been added at the end

Update #2 - 01/24/11 has been added at the end

Update #1 - 01/20/11 has been added at the end

This time they have shown my son how inept they are.

Several months ago my son used his Regions Bank debit card to pay his Geico insurance premium.

About Nov. 3, 2010 he closed his account with Regions Bank. No items were outstanding at the time of the closure.

A change was made to his insurance policy which resulted in a $26.49 refund due from Geico. He instructed Geico send a check via the US Mail. On Nov. 18, 2010 Geico refunded the money to the closed account. So, at this point Geico has initiated the problem.

Now enter Regions Bank to compound the problem. Regions cannot post this money to a closed account. They do not return it to Geico. They hold it and wait for my son to contact Regions. (This is according to a Regions CSR) My son would have had no reason to call Regions - the account was supposed to be closed!

A month passes - no check from Geico. He calls Geico. Geico spends an hour trying to find out what has happened. Now he finds out that Geico has mistakenly sent the refund to Regions. Geico says they will retrieve the money from Regions and send him the check.

Now, here is where Regions really screws things up. Geico requests the return of the money that could not be posted to a closed account. What does Regions do? You guessed it! They debit the closed account on Dec 23, 2010 for $26.49. (Regions CSR states they do not officially close an account for 30 days in case there are outstanding items that have not cleared.) Problem: This account has already been closed for 50 days!

The only way he finds out about this disaster is Regions sends him an overdraft notice. So, he calls Regions and appears to get a solution figured out. They found the money but they cannot just erase the overdraft condition. They state they will send a check and then he can go to a local branch and deposit the check to clear the overdraft. Well, two weeks and no check.

Update will follow.

Update #1 - 01/20/11

Went to the local branch. The story is now they will honor ACH debit card transactions for an indeterminate amount of time after an account has been closed. That's right, at some point they will refuse them but not to any time frame they will disclose to the customer.

As it stands now the account will not allow any posts of any kind. Not even to clear this overdraft condition. The branch manager says they should have this straighten out within a couple of days. My confidence level is about 75%.

Stay tuned for more details as they become available.

Update #2 - 1/24/11

The check Regions stated they would send was finally received. It was taken to the local Regions branch in an attempt to clear the account once and for all. The Regions cashiers check was signed and accepted for deposit. I presented the manager with a letter stating that the depositing of this check would clear the account and result in a complete closure. She refused to sign the letter.

The reason is they must be certain there are no other outstanding transactions that might need to clear. Two times I was asked if I was sure there were no more outstanding checks to clear. I could never get her to understand that only Regions had done anything with the account since it had been closed. At this point they absolutely refuse to acknowledge the closure of this account.

I don't think this is over yet. I will keep this updated.

Update #3 - 2/4/11

Four emails have been since Jan 25th in an attempt to get written confirmation that the account is, in fact, 100% closed and no other transactions can possibly take place. The last one was sent today and finally received this response:

"Your account is closed and nothing else will come through it unless you've authorized it."

As you can see Regions leaving the door open for anything to happen and CLAIM he authorized it. They refuse to acknowledge that the last transaction after the account was supposed to be closed was NOT authorized.

Regions Bank has proven complete incompetence through this entire process and steadfastly refuses to confirm the absolute closure of this account.

     
Replies
Seizing of Pension Check
Posted by on
CLINTON, ILLINOIS -- On 03/03/2010 Regions Bank allowed a non-wage garnishment to be placed on the individual checking account used for receiving ACH's from pensions in direct violation of Illinois Statute. Regions Bank did not bother to see what was presented for deposits in this account and whether or not exempt from any form of garnishment. I realized the problem on 03/04/2010 when I checked the automatic teller 1-800 number. I contacted the Clinton Branch of the Regions Bank, found out exactly what had occurred. I stopped off at home and got the pertinent copies of the pension deposits being exempt but the Branch Manager, who seemed not to understand nor would do anything at this time. I finally got the garnishment removed by court order on 03/24/2010 but Regions Bank decided to charge me $2,100 in insufficient check charges for the checks I'd written prior to this event but were attempted to be cashed after the non-wage garnishment was activated and returned. Consequently, having no pension check for the month of March and the obstinant refusal of the Regions Bank, Clinton, IL branch, I was not able to make a mortgage payment, utilities, vehicle, water, critical medicines, other due monthly payments and now I stand to loose my residence, car, and everything else I've worked towards for 35 years in this community. I wrote protest letters during the evening of 03/26/2010 to the various Regions Bank offices and they should have gotten these. I have made an appointment with an atty. in Decautr, IL in reference to this tragic event and will have answers in the next few days. I've also proceeded processing a Chapter 7 bankruptcy as that previously mentioned non-wage garnishment was only for $167,000 from a catestrophic medical event several years ago. What really got me upset was the Clinton branch manager of Regions Bank lied to me and attempted to convince me it was all the Levy-Garnishment Dept. responsibility. I called the Levy-Garnishment office in Birmingham and learned what the truth really was; it was a local call by the facility manager and not as so indicated to me by the Clinton Branch Manager who obviously trying to toss the blame off of his shoulders and onto others. I asked as well as to what reasoning the bank manager was using to deny the return of the pension funds and with his distorted logic and he indicated it was not a bank error. I asked for his supervisors name and he refused to indicate who that would be at the Decatur, IL main bank regardless of several attempts to inquiry on this name since it was a secret! When a Bank decides to do this to an extremely ill pensioner with severe medical conditions causing a slow and painful death because I could not get the critically needed prescription medicines and shows no ethics or compassion in doing what is correct, then such a bank has no business in the financial world but doing what it does best - shylocking the unfortunate client suffering from the aftermath of a brain anueroysm. There seems to be a continuing pattern for Regions Bank in this type of operation to increase profits, employee bonues on the backs of customers using who have used this shyster financial institution.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Lack of Credit Card Competitiveness
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TUSCALOOSA, ALABAMA -- Inadvertently discovered wrong birth date and drivers license number on my account. no explanation given.

When I shopped other credit card offers in order to do a balance transfer I found out just how much I had been ripped off all these years. found an 18 mo, no interest balance transfer with another major credit card company. Yes, there is a transfer fee but when you compare the monthly payment to pay the card balance off in 9 or 10 months with Regions, it is well worth it. I trusted all my accounts and business to Regions for 40-years beginning with First National in 1973 and stayed onboard through two other acquisitions. I prefer all my business transactions stay with a sole source firm. however, the 24.99% rate has become more than I can endure financially. I used to be proud to be a customer of Regions and feel really sad to be looking elsewhere after all these years.

Oh, by the way I want to mention I called to discuss any promotional that might be available for the payoff and customer service said she would would look into a better interest rate because that I had been doing business with them for so many years. I was told to call back in 24 hours to get the results of the review.

Disappointed
Northport Al
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't Use This Bank
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
INDIANA -- This bank likes to keep your money one way or another. I lost $275.00 dollars. If its too late and you lost money w/this bank you can file a complaint w/the consumer financial protection bureau at 855-411-2372.
     
Replies
Release on Pre Authorization
Posted by on
TALBOTT, TENNESSEE -- I attempted to make an on-line purchase December 2, 2011. At the end of the transaction I was told I didn't give the proper address on my credit card, and that the transaction was cancelled. The funds for this transaction were taken out of my account anyway. I called the bank a few minutes or so after this, to get any information I needed. I was given the stores Merchant#. This pending transaction reflected on my online banking and on my phone banking. (in other words there was audible proof and visual proof of my transaction). I decided to wait and see if my package would be delivered, but, it wasn't. I began contacting the merchant that I was dealing with about two weeks later. They told me I had to contact Regions bank, when I called Regions bank I was told to contact the merchant. I also looked on my on line banking website (and phone) for the refund. There was no recording or visual proof of it on either one. I thought this odd because the first day I called Regions Bank I saw this on my account transactions page. I called the merchant and they said that the money was refunded on Jan 5, 2012. I have not seen the money reflected back into my account. I called a Regions representative and was told I would have to sign an affidavit to get my problem solved. Is this necessary? I keep up with my account everyday.
     
Replies
High Fees with Terrible Customer Service
Posted by on
HUNTSVILLE, ALABAMA -- I am about to close out my Regions Bank, not because of those fees, but the combination of excessive fees, failure to update online bank information in a timely manner, poor customer service e-mail response, long delays when calling customer service, long wait when waiting to talk to branch employees and my pet peeve; unable to answer questions and failing to follow up with phone calls.
The most frustrating problem was manipulation of daily deposits and withdrawals so that the maximum fine could be charged. Not once did Regions try to work with me and whether it was a weekly unemployment check back in 2010 or this year with a direct deposit of $1750/week they always charged a "just in time" fee. For instance, I would check my Thursday night balance and see I have maybe $400, but Friday morning even with $1750 posted they would fine me $70 for an Thursday night overdraft. When I called them they would claim, "Our online service does not guarantee the amount posted is available, and you agreed to this when signing up for online banking". The other excuse was, "We do our last batch processing at MIDNIGHT". So at midnight a $12 overdraft includes a $36 fine and then at 6 AM Friday morning (6 hours later) the direct deposit is posted and available. Whatever way they can legally and unethically take money from you they went out of their way to exploit this. I recall going to a Title Loan/Payday Loan and telling them, "The difference between you guys and Regions Bank is you tell me up front what the fee will cost". When I can trust and turn to the local Title Loan/Payday Loan company as opposed to Regions Bank that makes my point. I am tired of them and as they claim to "be listening to their customers" and this was a lie. The reason Regions ended Debit Card Fees is because Bank of America and Wells Fargo had already announced they cancelled their debit card fees. I do not believe Regions would have cancelled any fee if these other banks didn't do it first. As for Wells Fargo, they may charge fees, but their customer service and their branch staff always addressed my concerns in less than 10 minutes
     
Replies
Poor Customer Service
Posted by on
ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- My family has taken out two Mortgages through Regions Bank. I Had also been a loyal customer of Regions Bank Customer for over 12 years. About 6 months ago, my state Identity and Regions Bank card was stolen and all my funds were drained from my account. Regions Bank assured me the problem would be taken care of and I would not be held responsible for any of the debited funds. The person who stole my identity also used fraudulent checks (not my checks) to withdraw money from my current balance. (Eg. He used stolen checks and cashed the stolen checks at a Regions Bank. The transaction was taken by a Regions Bank Employee who then cashed the fraudulent checks on my account. When the checks were returned, Regions bank charged my account for the Fraudulent Checks and the funds were debited out of my account for the amount of the Fraudulent Checks. )

I waited for over 5 months for some action to be taken. I took all necessary steps in which Financial Advisors Sean, Mia, and Michelle asked of me at Regions Bank Cheshire Bridge. I was told I would be contacted by their Corporate Security Officer Frank and he would be the one to tell me when the funds would be released. It is now 6 months later and I have not received $1 of the large sum of money that I was told I would not be held responsible for. The last conversation I had with Michelle is that Regions were exiting their relationship with me after 12 years and goodbye. I will be contacting the FDIC and also the BBB. I plan on posting this review on every possible review web site. DO NOT BE TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF LIKE I WAS. Regions does not stand behind their protocol or any of it's policies with the FDIC. Everything in this statement is true and I will stand behind everything stated. This has destroyed my credit and also my trust in any banking system.

Thanks,

Justin Walley

     
Replies
Regions Bank cannot replace compromised debit cards efficiently
Posted by on
BIRMINGHAM, ALABAMA -- Regions Bank has lost the ability to replace compromised debit cards in an efficient and effective manner.

I received 5 calls on my answering machine from "1-800-737-4667 UNKNOWN NAME" instructing me to provide a 1-800 number and an appropriate message for my client. What the???? I did some internet research and found the number was for Regions bank.

In an email to Regions Bank I was told that Heartland Payment Systems had compromised some debit cards. They were calling me because I had not activated the replacement card. I had not received any replacement card.

I went to my local branch to look into this further. I was told by the manager that there was no replacement card issued on my account. I asked that the 1-800 calls be stopped. They did not stop.

I then called their main office and was told that there was, in fact, another card issued. I told the CSR that I never received the card. She said she would send another. The replacement was received. The information included with the card stated the PIN was the same as the old card. It was activated. However, when I attempted to use it it was declined for a wrong PIN. Regions had assigned a new PIN without telling me what it was. When I called to correct that problem I am told they cannot tell me what the new PIN is.

That was the last straw. I have a debit card that has been compromised, a card that is lost in the mail, a card that is active and that only Regions knows the PIN.

No more putting up with their corporate ineptness. I cashed out my CD's (matured) and my checking account. Good bye Regions Bank.
     
Replies
Applying Overdraft Fees When They Shouldn't
Posted by on
SEMMES, ALABAMA -- My wife and I with our 3 children recently moved. Before doing so, being so close to the end of the month, meaning the 1st of the month was right around the corner, we carefully budgeted ourselves for this move, so we wouldn't cut ourselves short for the 1st of the month. Every penny at this point counted therefore we counted each. Not knowing at the time Regions was too. (For their own purpose).

Here it is the 31st, my direct deposit posted today, we were supposedly still doing good (by our records) the 1st is looking better than we thought. I get online to go on with my reconciliation of the month, budget the upcoming month, when low and behold my account is negative 51.00. When my direct deposit went through, I was negative $560 and some change. I couldn't believe it. Screamed for my wife - (her being a bookkeeper) asked her to review, of course she couldn't make heads or tails of the entire situation not for sure if it was the tears or the shock. She quickly grabs the calculator goes through our records - then the online register - then prints out a bank statement.

Back on the 22nd of Oct, Regions charged us $105 in NSF when were had a positive of $14.99. Granted we knew it was going to be low, On the 23rd a debit charge of $9.03 was posted and yet another $35 NSF was charged. On the 24th my Direct Deposit was posted, and the negative was with drawn. Now on the 28th I was charged $280 in NSF then on the 29th another $70 in NSF and on the 30th yet another $70 in NSF!!! I am not a rich person, my wife and I happily live just a little better that pay check to pay check, but only by sticking to our budget. My entire paycheck for one week went straight to NSF which clearly snow balled only because of the $105 in the beginning.

So my wife and I, race to the bank before they closed. Make it (my wife is fired up with foot tapping - when she gets like this she usually doesn't give in so I thought, "I sure wouldn't want to be that teller). We get in the bank, my wife whips right past the tellers and straight to an office, tells the lady our situation and wants her to review our account. The lady does, and then explains that it was pending charges, and we should pay extra special attention to those pending charges. My wife left her no way out, explaining how good you charge NSF on a positive balance. The woman does not proceed past pending charges.

My wife explains that when the $105 was applied that our negative was only $90. So that itself shows their mistake. But nope the woman is still blaming us and pending charges. Now I do not have any money at all. I am outstanding $51 to Regions, with 2 other checks coming through. My records show I should have $667 to the good. I worked an entire week for nothing. Only to pay Regions who is supposed to be working for my money.

There has to be something legally we can do. But how can we afford it now? I have no money for food for my children, and not for sure how I can even afford to get to work for a week. Not to mention the bills that are due on the 1st. I am closing my account this is for certain. I am going to see the Branch Manager Monday, I will get my money back so sort of way. I have to. My family will not survive!!!


     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >