Resort Equity Marketing

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
28 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Scam!
By -

After reading some other reviews, I see I didn't get taken as bad as some! My service cost $585 back in July 2005. If it didn't sell in 180 days I would get 2 free airline tickets to anywhere in the world (limited to their 10 or so places - IF you pay for the hotel or resort, which was way more expensive than buying the plane tickets and paying for the resort through Expedia! - I guess they are making money with that too). Anyway, they DID list it on their website, they DID send me the packet for choosing where I wanted to vacation - after it didn't sell the first 6 months. I didn't bother sending for the packet the second time - couldn't afford it!

Anyway, after re-activating my ad (you have to do this every 90 days - OR ELSE!) 4 or 5 times, I forgot to do it. REM didn't call to remind me, so I kept forgetting. Fast forward to April 2009 -- I call to renew my ad (and lower the asking price by half). I am told my ad was CANCELLED because it hadn't been renewed in such a long time, and I COULDN'T renew it! I asked to speak to a supervisor, was transferred and received voicemail. Didn't get a callback.

I am planning on calling every day that I'm off work until I talk with a supervisor or manager. The only thing my contract says regarding this situation is "Resort Equity Marketing assumes that my property unit sells or rents within 90 days, unless I advise them to the contrary, prior to the expiration of the 90 day period. Upon notification Resort Equity Marketing will renew my ad at the company's expense. Resort Equity Marketing will advertise my property unit until it is rented or sold." Anyone for a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT?

     
Replies
A Big Scam... Stay Away!!
By -

RESORT EQUITY MANAGEMENT -- I have been trying to sell my timeshare for about a month, but I didn't know how to go about getting it done. These people, Resort Equity Management, called me and called me about selling my time share quickly and easily until finally I gave in. They told me about how they only sell to companies and how these companies buy so much and all the time. They said the average is 30 DAYS but not more than 3 months and that they guarantee my property will be sold. That was over 8 months ago and haven't heard a peep from them.

In the third month I even lowered the price of the sale to almost 10 thousand dollars less than they said was a good selling price. and I still haven't herd from not one buyer or anybody from their offices still. I called no answer I emailed no return. I don't even see my property on the site for that matter. If you are looking for a company to sell your time share this is not the one. I wish I would have seen some of these complaints when I first started out to sell mine.

I got took for my money, highway robbed scammed!! Until I get some action, I will be all over the net with my complaints about this company. I will also be directing all the other complaints towards the others so they can all be seen and read. This is only the beginning for me. If I can get this on TV it will be!! that's a promise.

     
Replies
Not All Bad Experiences Mean Scam!
By -

FLORIDA -- I have read some of the reviews about Resort Equity Marketing and was a bit shocked to say the least! The one that really threw me was from the consumer that said that REM's phone number was a home phone, and that their bank was going to sue! Are you kidding? Or just ignorant? Please, lets be serious. If you had a little intelligence, and I do mean just a "tad bit" you would have done your research.

Not too hard, go to the state site that regulates businesses and see if the company is legit! Are they licensed? Sure are! That would be in Fla, sunbiz.com, well look there.. it's a genuine company in the same location for years! Not a home phone, and a bank suing? For what? Because their customer said so, again, please. I, for one had a good experience with REM. It didn't happen overnight that I rented.

But at 3 mos. I had 2 weeks, rented, so yes, worth it. I made back the money I paid and then some. Reading some of these complaints really makes you wonder! Are they disgruntled employees, or maybe uneducated people who expect a miracle overnight and when they don't get it make things up to make others look bad. Lets all be educated consumers, and at the very least use common sense! A licensed business with a home phone number? Same location for years... Come on, they are very legit, maybe some of you need to direct your anger elsewhere, and also exercise patience. And, oh, by the way, did you forget the one really important thing that I don't lose site of?

We all bought these timeshares, aren't we the dummies? Unless of course some of you were physically forced to do so. Otherwise, if you are trying to get rid of your timeshare and don't use it, blame yourself for buying it in the first place, I do. Don't make those that may be able to help you the scapegoats. And again be patient, even houses don't rent or sell overnight!

     
Replies
Timeshare Marketing
By -

Resort Equity Marketing is a BIG scam. The company promised to rent or sell my time share for a fee of approximately $600.00, boasting that they have corporate businesses waiting in line to do so and that there rental time is approximately 30 days. Nine months later I am still waiting for my unit to be sold or rented. I have not had a single consumer inquiry regarding the sale of the unit. Customer service is poor. Whenever I try to contact a representative I have been told that the agents are busy, the phone rings continually or the call is not returned.

Once I was able to get a fax through to a manager inquiring about why my timeshare had not rented. He called back and told me my unit may never rent. This is of course after they collected my money. My advice to anyone who gets a call from REM to market their timeshare is say NO! It's a SCAM.

     
Replies
Scam to the Bone!!
By -

ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FLORIDA -- This review concerns a marketing institution that deals in the marketing of time shares. In @ May of 2003 My wife and I received a phone call from Resort Equity Marketing out of Altamonte Springs, Florida. At the time, my wife and I were discussing selling our time share at Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort In Gattlinburg TN. When we received this call from REM we were told that for @865.00 they would market our time share for us. ** who was in the employ of REM told us that an average turn around time for a sale was around 30 days. She also told us that we would receive phone calls from potential buyers.

As of today, we have not yet received one call. Not to mention that we found out that it was our responsibility to update our contract @ every 4 months. What kind of a company takes money to market a product and then relies on its customer to update their own contract. If we don't update the contract our time share sits in limbo (not being listed) until we reinstate it.

It has been almost three years without so much as a phone call from REM or a potential buyer. We ask for our marketing data and they cannot provide it. We have reduced a $16-$20,000 property to about $9500.00 dollars. I did call Westgate and confirmed the price of what their time shares are selling for, and according to that price, we are underselling by A $10,000.

I know that our property is a very hot seller, so all that I can come up with is that REM is only a listing agent. That's funny, because we never heard that verbiage over the phone. All that I can say is that were taken buy a company that is more concerned about taking your money and not at all concerned about your welfare. SCAM, SCAM, SCAM. The Central Florida BBB should really take a look at the operations of REM and protect the innocent that fall into their trap.

     
Replies
SCAM!!! DO NOT TRUST!!!!
By -

I purchased a timeshare at Sheraton Plantation at Myrtle Beach, SC in 2004. After having some financial problems, I decided to sell it. First of all... Resort Equity Marketing contacted me. They guaranteed on the phone that unlike some of their competition, they would be able to sell my time share within 60-90 days. That was almost 8 months ago. They assured me that not only did they list it online but made a conscious effort to sell it in person to companies who have business trips to the Myrtle Beach area. I have NEVER received an offer. I have contacted them several times and never get my phone calls returned.

When I do get through, rather than assure me that they are trying to sell it, I get the impression that I am interrupting a bunch of high school kids playing video games. The representatives are rude, and disrespectful. When I contacted them about the free airline vouchers, I received a package that did give free airline tickets WITH AN EXPENSIVE 7 DAY VACATION PACKAGE!!! They are liars and thieves and I hope that someone will read this and save themselves the money and humiliation that I have faced. Once I do sell the timeshare, I will NEVER buy another one because of the scam I have dealt with on this one.

     
Replies
Resort Equity Marketing - SCAM SCAM SCAM
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- Stay away from this company and please do your homework before giving any timeshare marketing company your money! You need to read the Better Business Bureau of Central Florida's report on these guys. We signed up with REM 1/05 to sell our timeshare condominium. This was over the phone and the sales pitch and guarantee seemed reasonable. However, in thinking it over and doing some additional research (BBB of Central Florida, etc.), we discovered that this was not the upstanding company that we were led to believe. Given the fact that we were told we had 7 days to cancel the contract, we figured we had an out without any issues.

Only one problem, we were not given a contact number to reach this company by the phone sales person. Only told that our contract would arrive in a few days and that we had time to cancel once we received it. Attempting to reach these people at numbers listed on the Better Business Bureau's website were futile. We received our contract on the 8th day after we had agreed to sign up with them over the phone. How convenient?! We were now past the contractual 7 day limit for cancelling!!!!

We have attempted to cancel with them via phone, mail, etc. and asked for a refund since that time, but they say they cannot do that because they have already started marketing our timeshare. Yet, when we have asked for proof of the services they are providing, they cannot provide us any. The only thing that has been done is that our condo is listed on their website (along with hundreds of others). No other marketing has been done, contrary to what they led us to believe (i.e., conventions, other sales literature, etc.).

To test their marketing and follow through on potential sales offers they are supposed to notify us of, we have put several offers out on the online system for our own condo. Used relatives' names/contact information (with their permission of course). We wanted to see what action, if any, they would take in notifying us of offers. That was approximately 5 weeks ago, and we have not received the 1st notice that anyone is interested in purchasing our timeshare. So what are they doing for the $685.00 we foolishly paid these con-artists?!?

And, oh by the way, the guarantee they offer of 2 round trip airline tickets if they don't sell your timeshare in 6 months??? Well, that's a scam too. In order to get those tickets, you need to purchase a 7-night stay at one of the resorts they are somehow affiliated with before they will send you the airline tickets. What an operation? Is the Attorney General of the state of Florida aware of any of this? We are attempting, though our credit card company, to get our money refunded. Not sure what will come of this, but we have to try. Stay away from Resort Equity Marketing or whatever new company name they choose to do business under in the near future!!!!!

Company Response 05/19/2009:

Resort Equity Marketing is a FOR SALE BY OWNER company. We are responsible for marketing and advertising the availability of your unused timeshare unit or points.
We do have an unsatisfactory rating with the BBB, however we are in the company of WalMart and many actual vacation property resorts. We have done business with over 48,000 clients of which we have 131 complaints. Although we are making efforts everyday to improve this rating we do not feel this speaks for our services.
We of course strive to accomplish the goal of successfully finding our clients a buyer or renter for their unit, however if this does not happen within our guarantee period we offered (at the time) 2 roundtrip airline tickets. This is simply a courtesy gift and not intended to replace the service we will continue to provide if the property had not yet rented/sold. Please understand we are not affiliated with the company these tickets are issued by.
At any point in time, so long as the account was kept active by the client, they may have viewed their personal listing on our website. We also have a customer service department more than happy to help any questions our clients may have.
In addition, we do have a 14 day cancellation policy from the original sign up date. If the contract was received on the 8th day there is still enough time to make the cancellation.

We do apologize for any inconvenience.

     
Replies
Not Happy With REM
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH ADAMS, MASSACHUSETTS -- I signed up with REM on 5/27/2009. I sent the $395. The last time I spoke to a live person was 5/11/2010. I called today 4/6/2013 and left a message. I wonder if the "contract" I received was legal or not? Anyway, I went to try to find the web site and was unable to find it. I would like to now cancel my contract.

     
Replies
Happy with REM
By -

It took REM 63 days from the day I signed up with them to sell my timeshare. I did read some of the bad things on the internet just like you have. I own my business and I have found out that ANYONE CAN WRITE ANYTHING ABOUT YOU!!!! I have had terminated employees write things that have hurt my business. I was very happy with the way REM handled everything. I am now timeshare free! No more maintenance fees!! No more hoping I can get to use the timeshare (because they always seem to be booked!) Thank you REM!!! I have sent other people to you!!!!

     
Replies
It worked for me
By -

WINTER PARK, FLORIDA -- After ready a complaint I couldn't believe what I read. For starters if that person would have kept in contact they would have received results. I was afraid to pay upfront but took the risk. I owned a timeshare in New Smyrna Beach and thought yeah right you can sell that. well guess what they did to my surprise within 65 days I was rid of it, not saying it was a bad place but money wise I could have stayed elsewhere. Now I don't own and made a good, very good profit. As in anything you try to sell keep abreast of what you are doing and you get results, **.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >