Rip Off Report - Page 2

14 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Fake RipOffReport Complaints
Posted by on
I recently noticed my name and company name showing up as a complaint on RipOffReport. There was a complaint on there from a fake name and they said that they did business with me/us (we do web design). The person that filed a complaint never did business with us and we don't even offer the services they mention in the complaint.

RipOffReport contacted me and said "I can see the complaint is fake" ... "But our policy is we do not remove complaints no matter what".

Then I noticed when people searched for my company name on google, this ripoffreport complaint showed up before our own website.

Then.. Some guy from Ripoffreport called me and basically said if I paid thousands of dollars that they can help me with the complaint issue. I felt like they were extorting me.

I told them no, and was rude with the guy. 2 weeks later there are now 3 new complaints that are completely FAKE LIES. I believe Ripoffreport did this to me.

Finally after I found a company that offered to remove Ripoffreport complaints I got it to not show up on Google. But the complaint is still on Ripoffreport.

If it were not for the help from the company ReputationArmor then this complaint would be seen by all my clients and potential clients. I think that Ripoffreport is the actual ripoff and they are just in business to scare people in to paying them fees to take down complaints...

DO NOT POST TO RIPOFFREPORT they are con-artists!
     
Read 11 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Ponie on 01/12/2009:
It's not the first time I've heard this about ROR. You don't take their 'complaints' with a grain of salt--you use the whole box! When life gets too serious, I sometimes peruse that site for comic relief. Hope things worked out OK for you.
lobo65 on 01/12/2009:
That's why I don't visit that site any more. I hear the guy who runs it is pretty unsavory.
Slimjim on 01/12/2009:
I'm still waiting for someone in government to grow some and see this cyber-rag should not be able to hide behind the first amendment while committing RICO acts.
dan gordon on 01/12/2009:
I tried to respond to some complaints that dealt with companies I was associated with and was surprised that they want to charge you to print anything counteracting the negative reviews. Not a valuable tool
Anonymous on 01/12/2009:
I couldn't take that site seriously after noticing they allowed users to post defamatory comments about people who were identified by full name and the area where they lived. Of course it is an internet gripe board, so there's at least a 50% chance anything posted is going to be filled with lies and embellishment.
bill on 01/12/2009:
The ripoff report is nothing more than an extortion racket.
madconsumer on 01/12/2009:
um, okay ......
DJluvsu on 02/17/2009:
ED Magedson sold my personal information to the company I made a complaint against on his Rip Off Report! This is BS and now I am scared. I filed a ROR report on a company that was a scam business 3 months ago. On January 4 this year I got a letter in my mailbox at my residence from the owner of the company I complained about on ROR. He told me he was sold my personal information by Ed Magedson for 2200.00 and now he can come to my damn home and harass me.

This Ed Magdeson and his ROR is a true scum site. You think your information is protected when you make a report on his site and Ed turns around and sells your contact information to the business you reported on
BokiBean on 02/17/2009:
That's the way Ed rolls...he also keeps slithering out from under lawsuits either by settling, not showing and subsequently not paying the judgements against him, and even winning some.
Anonymous on 02/17/2009:
Why would anyone pay $2200 for your personal information?
BokiBean on 02/17/2009:
They pay for ed's "advocacy" program. Ed will let them know who posted the information, at the same time doing damage control on his site by way of editorial comments, etc. BTW, $2200 is a deal according to the cases that have made it to court...

Here's an indepth article from the Phoneix News (ed sued them for it then dropped the suit later):

http://www.phoenixnewtimes.com/2007-02-01/news/the-real-rip-off-report/

Very interesting read.

Close commentsAdd reply
The Rip Off Report
Posted by on
This guy's site needs to be restructured and/or shut down. The Rip Off Report is a money making machine and there is nothing positive about it for anyone other than Ed and his bank account. Anyone can post anything bad about your company, whether it's true or not. So if you are a business owner in a competitive market (especially if you're a consumer based online company like us), your competition can post a few negative comments that could severely impact your business. That's what happened to us. We spend over $500,000 a month to market our site and the ROR is severely impacting our business b/c a competitor is posting false claims on ROR. Ed has a search engine optimization (SEO) team to code his pages by placing a company's name in Meta tags among other SEO tricks (Big bold letters so that they come up first in search engines results when someone Googles your company. He knows that we are in a 'Google' age and he can and is making a ton of $$ from selling his ROR book for $19.95 and through extortion masked by 'donations' to 'bury' the posts about our company. I sent him a long and detailed email explaining the situation and asked politely for a way to resolve it. All I got in response was an auto-response stating that I could donate money if I wanted. This guy could care a less about consumer complaints...this is a big business for him all he cares about is free advertising and generating revenue. Really this guy and his site are not that far off from the Wendy's 'finger in the Chili' case.
     
Read 16 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
SuperSource2005 on 02/17/2006:
oh please. you are just bitter because your company was exposed as a rip-off. perhaps next time you become an honest business who isn't out to screw the public, its your own fault and no one feels sorry for you. as for Rip-off report it's what us consumers need it's a great tool to decide what businesses deserve my business.
Slimjim on 02/17/2006:
Supersource is another alias for silentassasin, who is a ripoff report plant, here to try to shill away what are an ongoing amount of complaints. It's amazing how he can be gone for like 6 months, yet be here in an hour if a rip-off report complaint shows up. "Search this site for other reports on Rip-Off Report"
tander on 02/17/2006:
I don't care for Rip Off Report either. They completely let other people slander others for sleeping with this persons husband, or for molesting this persons child,and completely ignore the posts that go on and on and on. Rip Off Report should be shut down, or they should follow M3C.Com's rules and have the reviews stick to company's.
KenPC on 02/17/2006:
I stopped reviewing Ripoff Report when I realized (from monitoring a friend's thread) that they only selectively post responses, and spin the criticism in the direction they want it to go. I personally saw a response where they altered the text of the response, which changed its context.

It seems like it would be a need for that site, but from what I can tell, Ed Magedson is more of a bottom feeder than the companies he pretends to be monitoring. I agree that his site needs some legal scrutiny.
Ponie on 02/17/2006:
Don't remember how I heard of that so-called forum, but at one time I checked it quite often. Found the majority of ror's consisted of people who max out their credit cards, go to a credit counseling company for debt consolidation and handling, and then make more complaints when they are 'just a few days' late when making their payments. Then there are the ones who claim the banks are punishing them with 'fees'--mainly for issuing NSF checks--and they should be put out of business for doing so. They all seem to have the same attitude--the world owes me a living and I have no intention of working for it. Just hand over your money or I'll contact my State Attorney General, BBC, FCC, FTC, ABCDEFG, etc. The majority of the answers seem to agree with them, too. IMHO, I think they're all a bunch of losers, except for the guy (whoever he is) who started it all and by reports I've read is making money hand over fist selling his books.
Slimjim on 02/17/2006:
Court documents show the site owner was in negotiations with an IL. law firm where he would send over referrals from posts to drum up class-action suits in return for $800,000 per year. Those zeros are not a typo. A site for the people?? If the people are named Ed Magedson, I guess.
SuperSource2005 on 02/17/2006:
wife beater johnson, perhaps you should do your research a little better because I never left. secondly what part of I'm not a ROR plant do you not understand? you had no evidence months ago nor do you have evidence now, you really should stop embarrassing yourself.
how many different ways do I need to embarrass you? again, Silent assassin and I are 2 DIFFERENT people get that through your wife beating head
Slimjim on 02/18/2006:
You're a flat out liar, you're the same person and it's been proven. Looks like your rip-off report has many vioces saying the same things. Is Ken ,Tander and Ponie all crooks and liars too? Drag your sorry a$$ back to ROR shill!
SuperSource2005 on 02/18/2006:
you never proved it despite being asked many times. provide your evidence, wife beater.
shayen on 02/18/2006:
I LOVE the RoR, they provide a valuable service and I would like to remind the OP that anyone at anytime can make a FAKE posting against any company, whether its here at my3cents, PF, RoR, complaints.com, livejournal, their own website, whatever!!!
Brenda Leah on 02/19/2006:
I used to like Rip Off Report until I saw how many "rip offs" were idiots trying to slander others. It's quite sad that they let anyone post whatever they want too. I wonder how many of the deadbeat father or drug addict mother claims are true? I don't know... if I knew a mother who was a drug addict who couldn't take care of her children I wouldn't be wasting my time on a website. I would be calling child protective services.....
Anonymous on 02/19/2006:
I never go to rip off reports anymore. I, too, stopped going there when I realized they do not post all the comments sent to them.
ripoff1989 on 09/08/2006:
eVERYONE NEED TO CONTACT GOOGLE AND EXPLAIN THE TRUTH ABOUT ED'S RIPOFF REPORT AND HIS EXTOTION SCHEME. His site was removed about ayear ago due to complaints, but he got it back up there. So if enough of us call and e-mail something will happen. Google is not an unfair company. So they can deindex ed's site. plus ed illegally uses your name in advertising and in his html codes and meta tags. I am sure you didn't give him permission to use your name.
Google's headquarters are located in the heart of Silicon Valley.

Google Inc.
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View, CA 94043
phone: (650) 253-0000
fax: (650) 253-0001
use our web form at www.google.com/support
abuse@google.com
legal@google.com

I called ,e-mailed, and faxed google over a two month period and finally someone in their adwords department helped me and got my ripoff report (URL) removed.
ripoff1989 on 09/08/2006:
All people who are attacked by ED's scam(he is in it for the money). Contact his service providers. He may have switched ,but just do a "whois" search on any of his sites. Contact google anyway you can. They remove child porn all the time. The more complaints the faster his whole site gets taken down.

More info: A

The first Site is Ripoffreport.com, which is a site that encourages unhappy customers and employees to post their complaints on the website. In order to post a complaint the victim must post and address, phone number, and valid email address. This is all to make sure the information is legit the company claims.

Once the Ripoffreport.com has duped the victims into posting a negative report, then the operation begins.

The first thing they do is try to sell the customer a pamphlet on how to attack companies. This book basically advises customers to harass and attack the company, especially to keep posting on Ripoffreprt.com. (Click here to see link for manual solicitation)

The second thing that Ripoffreport does is send emails to the posters asking for donations to help fight legal battles with these companies. They use a combination of guilt and veiled threats. We are being attacked by these companies because we just want to help you the consumer. Please help us; we can barely keep our doors open and our servers running. “Our legal costs will bankrupt us”, they claim. Then the veiled threat; implying that the evil corporations do not want to sue just Ripoffreport, but also the poster of negative information. “We will do everything we can to protect you, we just need money for lawyers”, they claim. (Click Here for a sample of the letters sent out by Ripoffreport.com)

After trying to collect money from the consumer then Ripoff charges a business $25 to respond to a complaint after the fourth response. To keep the responses going Ripoffreport emails every complaining consumer every time a complaint is responded to. This gets the consumers to keep complaining and forces the company to keep responding. If the consumer does not file additional complaints, RipoffReport simply makes some up. This forces the company to pay to respond.

Initially it stopped there and was just a run of the mill penny anti scam run by convicted felon Ed Magedson (He bills himself as “Editor” on the site). He probably wouldn’t have attracted too much attention and could have continued this scam forever, but then they decided to go for the big dollars:

rip-off report – Criminal Ed Magedson then joined forces with a group of criminals that form
Code 5 on 09/14/2007:
is Rip Off Report Down? I heard it was shut down? you cannot access it the last 48 hours? Is this true. If it is what a great thing for all of us
Anonymous on 09/14/2007:
Looks like it. I can ping them:

Ping ripoffreport.com (217.17.158.39) ...
1 Addr:217.17.158.39, RTT: 171ms, TTL: 49

Ed is now using:
Xcentric Ventures, LLC on the RIPE network (Europe) Ankara - Turkiye
ALKIMNET Telecommunication LTD
Gundogdu Mah. Cayir sk. No: 14B
Ankara - Turkiye 06230

So wether he has been under a DOS attack or his servers are off line. He moved to Turkey because it was getting to hot for him here in the USA.

It is anybody's guess right now as there are thousands of people and companies trying to shut him down at any given time.

Close commentsAdd reply
ROR caught making up false postings for ROR
Posted by on
I am one of the corporate officers who used to run KMS Investigations Inc of Delaware until we sold the corporation in February of 2007. Enjoying retirement I still check various sites for comedy including ROR. Well what do I find under KMS Investigations Inc but false postings made up by Ed himself. Some joker stating on 8-15-07 he was unemployed and KMS Investigations took his poor $315.00 unemployment money and didn't perform the service. Well Ed, how do you explain this one my friend. KMS Investigations Inc has been out of business for almost 7 months now. Think before you write your own material. Also this supposed victim posts an address KMS Investigations Inc never had. KMS Investigations Inc was a Delaware corporation and not in California at all. My god Ed what do you do sit in front of the TV with food stains and crumbs all over your shirt and think of what you can make up for your site. They have also tried to connected KMS Detective Agency with the former KMS Investigations Inc and posted lies about this other firm when there is no connection what so ever.

This lunatic has to be halted but the trouble is what kind of job will he find in the private sector when his ROR is shut down pretty soon?
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 08/17/2007:
We know all about that site. It's been known for a long time, that he writes up postings himself, and answers them. The only good thing about that site, is that it led me to this site.
Anonymous on 08/17/2007:
Posted earlier today:

The Rip Off Reports Business Model is based on libel and slander. Like Skye says, Ed writes his own posts, changes posts to his liking, will never allow a post about him or the ROR. And extorts money from companies trying to protect themselves, he is a real troll.

Xcentric Ventures, llc
P O Box 470
Tempe, AZ 85280
602.359.4357
Magedson, Ed
domain@xcentricventures.com

scamreviewsites.com/Rip_Off_Reports.htm
ezripofflawsuit.com
bad-business-rip-off.com
goodbusinessbureau.com
======================
Remove Ripoff Reports:
Negative Internet Posting Removal
Negative Posting Prevention
removeripoffreport.blog.ca
Slimjim on 08/17/2007:
Remember way back in the beginning before ED got greedy when the Rip-Off Report actually got good press? Boy, that's a distant memory.
Anonymous on 08/17/2007:
Two reviews related to KMS and ROR in one day. The first one as slim put it, "whoops, that killed a little credibility", when obviously the OP tried to post a comment as another user but forgot to change logins. Now this one.. Something here stinks. It would be cool if the Admin could tell us if charterMember and KMSinc are posting from the same IP address.

Previously on my3cents http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=26059.
chartermember on 08/26/2007:
Check This out. Rip Off Report challenged with false posting about our business. An alleged victim reported KMS took his poor unemployment money of $325.00 to perform a service for him and ran off with his money. What we did is reply, and yes ED Posted the reply which shocked us, Mr. Alleged Victim, KMS will TRIPLE your money back to you if you can provide proof of payment and signed contract for services. We have been running this triple refund for 2 weeks on Rip Off Report to prove these stories are fabricated. Guess What, the alleged victim has yet to claim three times the alleged money he lost to our business. What does this tell us? Fabrication of stories again and caught once more Ed.
kmsinc on 09/17/2007:
Your Readers are going to love this one! Even we are in disbelief. We are almost ready to open our doors to our brand new corporation. We have all the licenses, insurance, offices secured and we just started advertising. We have not taken on even 1 client yet so no customers have been served on the date of this posting.

Which brings us to our point. What do we see today but a Rip Off Report Posting about our business. Now how could this be you ask? How or why should we say would ROR post something about a business that has yet to open it's doors? Your saying, no way, Rip Off Report would not do such a thing. No way would Ed step so low as to invent something and post if so the browsers pick it up about a corporation that has yet to open its doors and see customers. Well we have news for you that's exactly what ROR did. I know, its crazy but its there for all to see.

Now, we are wise and have knowledge of criminals and sleeze ball people like Ed and his ROR site. So, we set up everything with copyrighted material with our attorney just in case Google or ROR tried to invent things to extort money from us. We even took the very unusual steps of pre notifying GOOGLE of our copyrighted material and advising them they were not authorized to carry material from ROR about our corporation and copyrighted name and material. Well what do you know, Google ignored this and posted total fabricated material from ROR about our yet to open corporation. Kind of hard to file a Rip Off Report complaint when the company has not opened its doors yet. But Ed will figure out a way to extort money even in these circumstances.

Close commentsAdd reply
Most Telling Information I've Read
Posted by on
TEMPE, ARIZONA -- At least once every 3 months or so a complaint about the website www.ripoffreport.com surfaces here. A couple people rush to its defense and most others agree with the complainant. Seeing what I've seen, I have no doubt the operator uses it as an a crafty extortion vehicle, but yet some die hard fans think he's so on "the consumers" side.

Anyway, the Phoenix News Times just did a lengthy article on Ed and the site. It parrots every bad thing you've ever heard about him or it and added some new stuff. It's a little long but a good read to anyone who has a liked or disliked interest in the website.

http://news.phoenixnewtimes.com/Issues/2007-02-01/news/feature_1.html

Notice the part where after a settlement with the George May company, he agrees to give up all his anonymous relative posters. That's got to make you think before complaining there no? I got a kick out of him deliberately parking in a handicap spot too. Screw the disabled so his walk is shorter.
     
Read 19 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Sparticus on 02/05/2007:
Interesting article... I had heard of this site before... but didn't know much about it. Thanks for the post!
Anonymous on 02/05/2007:
Nothing wrong with free speech and capitalism, is there? What's next, an earth shattering expose that some people lie on myspace or e-harmony? It brings up an interesting argument, though, do we treat online contributions by average citizens as speech or do we elevate it to the legal standards applicable to the mainstream media.

Extortion??? The guy will remove online posts for a fee. What's wrong with that? It's his website and while unscrupulous it hardly constitutes extortion unless he's behind the contributions for the sole purpose of extorting money. The contributions are from average people who are responsible for the content, you know like here on my3cents. Does anybody believe everything they read on my3cents, I know I don't. How in the world would the site operator even know if the claims are true or not. This story seemed really biased, not well sourced and sounds like somebody had an Axe to grind.
Slimjim on 02/05/2007:
Stew states- "The guy will remove online posts for a fee. What's wrong with that?" Stew, he makes no secret he couldn't care less if they are false, and also couldn't care less if they are true- in other words, whomever is being victimized. Just pay him very handsomely and he'll make them go away. What's wrong with that?? Do you really need someone to explain it to you?
Anonymous on 02/05/2007:
I don't see where it's a crime. The guy hasn't been convicted of extortion as far as know. Also, just because he accepts money to remove a post doesn't mean the post wasn't true, does it? Regardless it was still a poorly written article. The writer was throwing around hearsay and innuendo while at the same time accusing the subject dealing in the same. One man’s MAD magazine is another’s Moby Dick, I guess.
bill on 02/05/2007:
I thought it was a great article. It shows what a slimmy criminal Ed really is. He extorts money from people and is all to willing to give up names if the price is right.
Anonymous on 02/05/2007:
I always got the feeling from his site that he was a bottom feeder
Doe3001 on 02/05/2007:
Hi, my review about EXPEDIA in ripoff report is a true story (I posted here too and I created a website -victimsofexpedia.com-). If multibillion companies can't turn ripoffreport down is probably because the complaints about them are from true victims. Of course, some stories might be fake like "very good reviews" posted by people paid for unethical companies in several forums.
Skye on 02/05/2007:
The only good thing I got out of Ripoffreport.com, is that it led me to this site. Good review, thanks slim.
Anonymous on 02/05/2007:
Sounds like Jesse Jackson's Rainbow Coalition.
Anonymous on 02/05/2007:
As always, great review Slim! Ripoffreport.Com is just that a RIPOFF!
Slimjim on 02/05/2007:
Hey thanks guys. I always get kind words here when I write a review. My3cents rocks! (ROR just blows)
tander on 02/05/2007:
I've seen some of the topics over at Ripoff report and people do slander people, it's just not businesses. There is people accusing others of child abuse, and they post names, addresses and pictures, it's very sickening and I'm sure a lot of it is from disgruntled ex-wives or husbands.
spiderman2 on 02/05/2007:
Wow, I read that and that guy is a real piece of work and arrogant to boot! I definitely agree he is an extortionist.
DebtorBasher on 02/06/2007:
So...that also means that any NCO complaint isn't really real????????
Skye on 02/06/2007:
Tander, I remember some girl slamming another girl, naming her, and saying she gave herpes to a bunch of people. I think his website is very messy looking and sloppy. How about all those ladies who slam the guys for being deadbeat dads. Too much drama over there.
DebtorBasher on 02/06/2007:
I agree with Skye....you would NEVER see anyone on M3C slamming people!
thomharris on 06/03/2007:
Its been my thought, as I read some of the reports, that this is the Jerry Springer of the internet. Low level bottom feeders who are helped by another low level bottom feeder. I have had problems with a company. Posted them here and got results. I would never, ever post on Ripoff Reports. Why? For the same reason that I wouldn't go on Jerry Springer. I want my dispute to be taken seriously.
Anonymous on 09/14/2007:
Bugs, La Cucaracha Troll alert, stomp out the little vermin pests.
Slimjim on 09/15/2007:
Sorry bugs that argument doesn't cut it with me. Because he uses a vehicle that on the surface, can help a few, is absolutely no pass for a racketeering operation, and that is exactly what he does with that Corporate Advocacy program scam. Super just pinged the site and it's being served from Turkey. Do honest people need to look to Turkey to run a website? Last I checked, this site is run from Michigan. They help many too yet can sleep at night.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >