Rite Aid

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 21 ratings and
51 reviews & complaints.
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Great Managers and Co-Workers, Unsanitary Work Environment
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

IRVINGTON, NEW JERSEY -- Main complaint: Corporate asks too much from store employees esp store and assistant managers - focused only on the bottom line. I was hired mid January 2014 and was horrified to discover the conditions of their facility, break room (located right beside the women's restroom), overall store cleanliness. I am lucky I live across the street - was able to use my own bathroom until one of my managers asked why I can't use the store's. I blatantly said it was filthy! I was somehow "forced" to use their facility but have been really forced to clean it before I can use it.

I mentioned it during an employee survey. 2 weeks later, we got a toilet seat replacement that does not really match. I can't seem to fathom how my co-workers managed to use it because it was horrendously filthy and stinky. Then the sink was out of commission for about a month, and recently had a new toilet seat that finally matches! Yippee! Being a pharmacy and "little grocery," I've been surprised how filthy the registers and everything around it was. Corporate does not even provide the store with appropriate cleaning supplies to the point that I HAD to buy the toilet brush AND glass cleaner.

Worse, computer cleaning supplies have NEVER been in the budget AT ALL! I have been constantly cleaning the counters, registers, SigCap equipment and it's pen, phone, scanners, even vacuum the foyer and rugs by the registers. I can't imagine how long the dirt under the registers have been there. I always come home with filthy shirts and pants after having to deal with shelves whether it be behind the register or around the store.

Another point I want to take into account is SECURITY. We are and have been overcome with too much shoplifting. Not much help if we do not have any security guard in the morning with just the manager and a cashier working too! We both have our regular tasks, which I must say is overwhelming, literally an understatement, and be on the lookout for thieves and deal with them too.

Third point is our so-called break room with only a wall that separates it from the women's restroom, which is not weather-friendly - freezing in winter and steaming during the summer, not to mention, unsanitary surroundings. Thinking that Rite Aid is a multi-million company, everyone will assume they hire a cleaning service. No sirreee! We are left to clean the store ourselves, as if cutting down on employee budget is not enough! We have to fend off doing EVERYTHING ourselves AT minimum pay!

Fourth point: A leak in the roof, caused by refrigeration issues was not dealt with for at least 3 months, hence, gnats, mosquitoes and other flying insects were present for about the same length. BIG BLOW! Am in my late 40s, somewhat suffering from hot flashes, had to endure working at a temperature over 80 degrees for 7 hours despite an electric fan beside me! Not to mention the nudging of my manager to move faster, which I don't blame him for it.

Corporate is CLUELESS as to actual store operations despite short and seldom visits from the district manager and loss prevention, yet has the nerve to continually push EVERYONE to the limit at the company's expense. I enjoy working at the store as it's beginning to focus on teamwork, efficiency and productivity. CORPORATE, who should be an ally, has constantly been undermining the store's supposedly success. Seems like they would rather close the store than assist us towards growth and improvement! Store #01998. Photos to follow.....

Replies
Disdain, Arrogance, Judged, Embarrassed - Will Never Go Back
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BARBOURVILLE, KENTUCKY -- I want to say I am a manager myself dealing with public daily in the hotel industry. I am educated as well. I went to Rite Aid to pick up my prescription. I had just left the doctor's office where my medicine was counted and the number of days needed was called in. I went to pick it up and was told give us 20 min. I did so. I went to pick up window. They said my insurance said they would not cover it until Sunday and I could get it Monday 16. I said, "No Ma'am, I just came. I have one day left."

The pharmacist (a female 30+ on shorter side medium-length auburn brown hair pulled back in pony tail) told me I had 25 days worth. I said, "No Ma'am I just came from my Dr. They count my medicine, it is policy. I am out tomorrow." She said, "You need to go home. Count." I realized she had judged me by the type of medicine I was prescribed so I went back to the Dr office made sure again my prescription was for 12-10-13 and for 2.5 per day.

I returned to pharmacy where I asked if she could check it. She said nothing she could do. I brought a coupon my Dr office gave me. Another employee tried to use (tall blond hair, northern accent, I seen her before several times). This employee very nice. However they would not let me without buying so much. I tried to get the original lady to look at my chart to see. She refused, talked to me with disdain. I had to drive 20 miles home to call WellCare + my Dr. They called the pharmacy and somehow my med had been put in computer by Rite Aid wrong # of days and wrong dose.

After WellCare fixed the issue, I had to drive all the way back to town 20 miles both ways to get my prescription. I was treated like I done something wrong. I left very hurt, and embarrassed at the complete lack of respect for another human displayed toward me. It ruined my whole day. On top of all that, I was shorted 2 strips of medicine. When I called, I was told I couldn't count, they were right. Her voice and attitude was unprofessional, pathetic, and condescending. I had cancer and was prescribed strong pain med for years and that is why I take Suboxone now. I feel like I need to explain myself to the employees at Rite Aid in Barbourville because of 1 ignorant lady.

She could have just looked at my prescription instead of dismissing me as an addict. I was told by WellCare the pharmacist said "Oh if I known that was the problem, I could have fixed it." I lost my day off to running to town and calling govt agencies unnecessarily to still be shorted. I am not making an extra trip up there to be treated that way again. I did nothing to provoke this on myself. I would think that Rite Aid would have professionalism to deal with public better than this. Even though it was 1 employee, I will be taking my business, along with my family's, elsewhere.

Replies
Rudest Pharmacy I Have Ever Been To...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GOOSE CREEK, SOUTH CAROLINA -- My nightmare encounter started when I walked up to the counter to give my prescription to the associate and she, in terrible broken English, just looked at me with the most disgusted look and said "Just hold on...." and walked away. Strike #1. Once the associate returned, she looked at my order, hit some keys on her computer and after having to apologize for making her repeat it three plus times because it was evident English was her second language, she tells me in no certain way "We no have enough" and literally handed me my script back and walked off. Strike #2.

I proceeded to wait till she walked back over to the counter, trying hard to remember I am a mother standing there setting an example for my children who were with me at the time, asked if she could please check the other local Rite Aid pharmacies to see if they had enough in stock because I needed it filled that day. I want to add, I know from being a loyal platinum customer that this is easily done by simply checking something in the computer. If I thought she had to physically call each one, I would never impose on her to do that because she does have other customers to wait on other than me.

After asking about the other stores, she said to me, puzzled look and pointing at her chest, "You want me check other store, we no do that but you welcome call them you self" and again walked away. Strike #3 I'm out. I would have asked for the pharmacist and or manager at that moment but in my opinion, I shouldn't have to. Not to mention that employee set the tone of that day's interaction and it could not recover. I drove across town to my old Rite Aid store I've used for years with no issue.

I just built a $300,000 home just 5 minutes from that store I just poorly reviewed and it irritates me because I now feel I have to spend an extra hour of my time to go across town to get good treatment. Just an FYI, the next week my husband went to fill his script and was told by the same pharmacy that the dosing instructions weren't "clear enough" for them because the Dr wrote "use as needed" and handed it back and the pharmacist walked off with a "Sorry, call your Dr to get it corrected" and the employee if front of him at the register, literally looked around him and asked the gentleman behind him if she could help "next in line."

I did later take his to our old Rite Aid and the pharmacist immediately explained the issue with a smile and an apology and called the Dr's office for us, cleared the issue, and had it filled for me in 30 minutes flat. I did use this location I poorly reviewed a couple more times due to sheer convenience and had a problem every single time and it was handled rudely every single time as well. I have been a customer service manager for 15 plus years and this is NOT how you treat people you hope to keep as recurring customers. I hope to be completely transferred over to another pharmacy and a happy customer again. Your loss Rite Aid.

Replies
Prescription Rip Off
By -

TEMPLE CITY, CALIFORNIA -- I took a prescription to the Rite Aid Pharmacy in Temple City, CA. It was for a class 2 medication for pain. They had to have the original Rx before it could be ordered. Since I had no insurance, I asked for the price. I was quoted $61.99 without their discount. I had also received the same quote over the phone. Two other pharmacies had quoted me $97.00 without the discount card. The difference in price is why I opted to have the Rx filled at Rite Aid. All three pharmacies had the same delivery time of 2 or 3 days.

I gave the original Rx to Rite Aid on a Tuesday. Four days later, the Rx was filled. The original Rx was for #120 tabs. When I called to ask if the Rx was filled, the pharmacist informed me that they only had #100 tabs and the price would be $135.00. I was in shock about the difference in the price I was quoted for #120. To add insult to injury, he also informed me that I could not get the additional 20 tabs without another Rx.

I had been in severe pain without relief since Tuesday. He now tells me that I can wait till next week to get the full Rx of #120 or take the Rx to another pharmacy. This was on a Friday after 6:PM. I voiced my complaint about the overcharge and the shortage to no avail. I was between a rock and a hard spot... What could I do? I had to have some relief from the pain, so guess what? I had to accept the overcharge and the shortage and just get "RIPPED OFF!" I feel like a 74-year-old fool, but I just couldn't endure the pain any longer.

Can anyone tell me if this is FRAUD or what? How can Rite Aid justify $135.00 for 100 tabs vs $97.00 for #120 tabs? How can I find out if this is legal and who can I file a complaint with?

Replies
Problems With Filing My Medication, Not Going by Label on Bottle
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLLEGE POINT NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I take Dilantin for a seizure disorder. Now even though I have insurance, I prefer to purchase the mess right out so that I can get a sealed bottle of 100. As you probably know, through insurance you only get the exact dose you take, in my case that would be 2x daily which comes to 60 pills per month. I like to have extra on hand in case some are not good or I misplace them which years ago I lost a pill case with about 12 in it. Now my medicine is very important to take daily, because skipping doses can bring on life threatening seizures called status epilleticus, which can be fatal.

What I like to do and have been doing since 1982, is to keep one bottle ahead meaning that for every 100 that I use, I always have another 100 on hand. The problem has been recently that when I finish a bottle, I bring the empty one to the store and they are supposed to fill it according to the label, like 2 refills left, one left and so on. When I reach no refills left, I am due to see my neurologist for a checkup and a new prescription. I see him 2x per year.

Since he enters the prescription into his computer and sends it to the store, I guess to go "paperless" as they say nowadays, I was informed by the pharmacist that everything is in the system, just call and prescription is filled. But that is not the case. Every time I get a new bottle, it has conflicting info on the label. Example, one bottle read "80.0 units or pills left till July 2014", another said, "one refill left till August 2014." Now which is right, July or August? I was told that he would have to call my doctor for a new prescription. He did and now the new bottle reads, "2 refills left until October 2014." Yet the bottle I am working on now reads "1 refill until August 2014."

What will happen when I bring in that bottle? Will I be told that I already have that prescription as it has happened in the past, and will they fill the order using one of the October 2014 refills, supposedly short changing me meaning another call to the doctor for a new prescription way before my summer appointment which is in August.

By the way, my winter appointment is in February. I cannot see my doctor making all these mistakes on his end. I believe something is "Rotten in Rite Aid" and I will probably look into the matter further. At one time I had a pharmacist there who was very reliable. I am now seriously considering switching pharmacies because of this. Enough said.

Replies
The Manager Treated Me as a Beggar!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FOREST HILLS, NEW YORK -- I just got my Rite Aid Wellness Card few months ago and just earned 250 points, which is a 10% shopping pass last week. The Edge shaving cream was on the flier last week and I used the pass to purchase them. An Edge shaving cream original price is $3.69 and it has a $2 off coupon in the store ad. I bought 7, which supposed to be $3.69 X 10% off - $2 coupon = $1.32 each (and 0.37 off per shaving cream). After the cashier scanned my coupons and 10% shopping pass, I got my receipt and about the leave the store. I saw that 10% discount was not applied. I asked the cashier and she agreed with me, so she asked the manager to come.

The manager looked at the receipt, insisted that I got my 10% off, because the bottom of the receipt shows "Your BONUS saving: 80 cents" (which I believe it's the chocolate discount, I got 2 Twix, original price is 99 cents and on sale is 59 cents). She insisted and walked away. The cashier looked at me because she understood the situation but she has no authority to fix the problem. I stood next to the counter...... What the....? The manager walked back 10 sec later, still insisted that each shaving cream would only get $0.17 cents discount (because 3.69 - $2 coupon = 1.69, and 10% applies to $1.69, not $3.69).

I was like OK, if what you said was right, I would get more than 80 cents off. She did the math, 0.17*7 = $1.19. Then she said OK, 30 cents different, you know what, I have a quarter in my pocket, let me give it to you. Did she treat me as a beggar? I screamed and said "I don't want YOUR money!" She even asked "Why...that solves the problem." I repeated myself firmly. She said "Call the number on the back of the Rite Aid card." I left the store with anger and disappointment. I seriously wonder how could she become a manager when a cashier could provide better customer service than her.

Replies
Disabled Customer Gets Verbally Attacked While Getting Meds
By -

ALTURAS, CALIFORNIA -- I have been using Rite Aid to get my meds since they have opened. I have only had a few issues with my meds not being ready or short a few pills (3) from a couple bottles once. In Sept 2011 I went in to pick up my monthly meds and was waited on by the same girl that usually waits on me. While I was signing for my meds, she leaned down real sneaky and asked me if I was the one who wrote a letter for her sister-in-law. I told her yes I did that, they are great neighbors. Well that was all I had to say.

She then started telling me about her sister-in-law with so much hate and anger and telling me to be careful. She has done this to other older people who know her sister-in-law as well but has scared them off. I wrote the letter for my neighbor to take for a court case the pharmacy girl had against my neighbor. Now the Rite Aid employee stares at me in the store or anywhere she sees me. I have since felt the need to transfer my scripts to an out-of-town pharmacy and receive them in the mail.

I was only picking up my meds, I had never mentioned anything about the feud she has with my neighbor, it isn't my business or family but my neighbor has been truly a good neighbor, and I didn't feel I should be afraid to write a letter about her, expressing she has been a great neighbor. However I was told by the Rite Aid girl that I should be careful, very careful. I take that as a threat. I also know she has been looking through my personnel paperwork about meds that had recently been picked up for me by my son and I was called a liar in court when I said I have not had contact with this girl at the pharmacy or anywhere but she knew my meds had been picked up.

The only way she would have known that is if she looked at my personnel info. The managers at the store don't want to hear about their girl. Now the Rite Aid girl had gotten me involved in her mess, she is evil, will do anything because of the hate she has for her sister-in-law. This is not showing any professionalism. She is supposed to be a caregiver, not trying to convince someone not to be friends with someone just because she doesn't like them.

My neighbor told me the Rite Aid girl would turn on me and I told her I don't think so, why?? She had always been nice. Well she turned and I won't use Rite Aid pharmacy unless it's an emergency but I will continue to shop the store. I won't be intimidated by her and I feel she needs to lose her position if she can't treat everyone the same.

Replies
Creative Cashier
By -

I shop at Rite Aid about twice a month. It is my pharmacy of choice because that they almost always have the greatest savings through their +UP program and they seem have better control of their inventory on the weekly sales items. Unfortunately, it has come to my attention that my transactions on at least 3 recent occasions have not been rung properly. The cashier on all of the receipts is the same and it is a very sweet, friendly, bubbly young lady who seems to have a handle on what she is doing but apparently doesn't.

One weekend in April I ran in to purchase a shampoo for my son. It was an expensive shampoo (about $10) and I added about 3 or 4 things like candy, gum, etc... She rang the items, I was busy fooling with my kids and I swiped my card and left. When I got to the car I realized that the total was only about $4 and she had forgotten to ring the shampoo even though it was in the bag. I took the shampoo back in, waited in line again and paid for it. She apologized and we left.

On May 30th, I went in to take advantage of an Arm & Hammer sale. Everything was Buy One, Get One Half Off and I had several manufacturer's coupons and some Rite Aid +UP coupons. She did OK with the coupons but she very badly rang the B1GH. I had 4 A&H Laundry Detergents, 2 A&H deodorants, and 2 A&H Toothpaste. She said the sale wouldn't ring automatically and she had to do it manually. Looking at the receipt today (I save them), I can see she did the laundry detergent just right, charged only the half price for both of the deodorants and rang me for 3 toothpastes instead of 2 and charged full price for 2.

Today I went in and did 2 transactions. One was to get a slew of +UP coupons to use on the second transaction. She did the first one perfectly and I earned $23 in coupons for the second one. On the second transaction, the coupons did not scan (they rarely do) and she entered them manually, forgetting to put in one for $5. I had to return to the store (14 miles) to get the $5 and now I notice that there is mystery item for $1 that says "Merchandise Taxable" that I have no idea about. I work from a list and I know exactly what I purchased and the $1 item is not accounted for.

The cashier is a doll and I hate to get her in any trouble but I spend a lot of time calculating these savings and it is a huge headache making an extra trip when they don't get it right. Of the last 10 receipts, hers are the only ones with issues. It isn't a huge amount of money but if I am clipping to save $3, what's the use when you take back $5? Not happy :(

Replies
My Experience at Rite Aid Was Equivalent to a Nightmare
By -

BOISE, IDAHO -- Rite Aid 15th State Boise Idaho. Supervisor **. Associate **. Sunday May 22, 2011. Incident occurred between 9:30 am and 12 pm. ** and ** saved me $100 dollars. I should be thanking them. I had been feeling very congested. I went into Rite Aid looking for something to soothe my sore throat and relieve my cold symptoms. This was my first time patronizing Rite Aid and it will definitely be my last. I wish I would have never stepped foot in Rite Aid.

I saw the Altoids (breath mints) were on sale so I stocked up on them among a few other things. I paid for my items and left. That transaction cost $46.00. I paid with cash. As I was walking to my destination I realized I should have bought more Altoids since they were on sale. I turned around and walked back to Rite Aid to buy more Altoids and a few other products I forgot to buy. After making my selection, the cashier ** said I was not allowed to buy any more Altoids because I had already bought a lot of them.

He said it was store policy to limit customers. I asked him to show me that in writing (it wasn't like I was buying all of the Altoids they had in the store). He said the policy just started today and he did not have anything in writing. I asked to see the store manager. That's when the supervisor ** came out and said, “We can't just be letting you come in here and buy up all of our products.” Then ** said, “You already bought Altoids and you can't buy more. It's store policy and it just started today.”

Of course while ** was talking loudly to me, she created a public scene. She treated me as if I was robbing the store or as I had stolen something. That's when I told her she could keep all of her products. I returned everything I had already purchased. This is the most interesting part of this humiliating experience. For return transactions (at this particular Rite Aid), ** had to input her fingerprint for the cash register to process the return. The register will only permit $5 per fingerprint on a return. ** had to stand at the register and input her fingerprint by touching the blue glass on top of the register 10 times. My return took 20 minutes.

Hence the $46 for the return along with the additional $54 dollars' worth of products that I didn't buy saved me $100. As I was leaving with the $100 I had intended to spend at Rite Aid safely in my pocket, I began to think about how ** (the store supervisor) was hounding me the entire time I was in the store. Every time I turned a corner to walk down an isle, she was standing there. She even scared me a few times because she ran up behind me. ** was standing so close behind me at one time she almost stepped on my foot.

I also noticed ** (the cashier) running from cash register to cash register watching my every move. I suppose they were trying to catch me stealing and when they were not successful, they decided to limit the amount of products I could buy. I don't know what the Rite Aid employees thought they were accomplishing by denying me the opportunity to purchase their products, but they certainly lost a customer for life. The bigger question is why I put up with that treatment? When I called customer service at 1800-RiteAid, I was told by customer service that management had the right to limit the product quantity.

Then she offered to have the team leader contact me. I declined. I originally purchased 30 tin cans and went back to purchase 30 more but the store had over $10,000 tin cans of Altoids in various flavors. They were going to run out. If I walk into a store and any of the employees cause me to feel uncomfortable, I never spend another penny in that store again. That's my policy!

Replies
Where Have the Good Caring People Gone?
By -

DOWNINGTOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- I wanted to write a review on my experience this morning, and this one will be the first of many that I post out on the web. People should be aware of the maltreatment happening at this Rite Aid drug store. I went in this morning to pick up my antibiotics that I had dropped off two days prior, and to get Monistat, which every woman knows is embarrassing enough to have to buy. For some reason they did not have my insurance information on file, even though I had used the same pharmacy for 5 years.

Well, I could not find my insurance card, so I had to request one before I could go back and get my meds. I printed a copy of the temporary card right off my Benefits Website at work. I walked up to the counter greeted by a woman who clearly had no interest in welcoming me, or even cracking the smallest of smiles. I felt as though I was an instant inconvenience. She said, "Pick up?" I said yes and gave her my name. She then looked in the pouch and threw it over the other counter yelled over her shoulder "Re-bill!" So now I'm pretty confused because I don'™t what that means, but had already handed her my insurance paperwork.

So another lovely bundle of happiness goes over and picks up the prescription and is typing something into her computer. I walk over 3 feet and stand in front of her. She looks up and says, "Can I help you?" I am now thinking to myself, "Am I missing something, what's wrong with these people?" I tell her she working on my prescription paperwork. She says, "You need to stand over there," pointing to the next stall (maybe a foot away). So I take one step to the left where she insisted I needed to stand. Now 2 minutes go by and she screams my name out like I'm not standing in front of her. She says "I cannot get your insurance information in here, it isn't working."

Well now I've reached my wit's end. I ask her politely to retrieve my prescription and I will take my business elsewhere. She goes and retrieves it, and hands it to me. I turned to walk away, leaving the Monistat on the counter, and one of the ladies makes a remark about me and the product and the entire pharmacy broke out in laughter. Please put yourself in my shoes and tell me this isn't the most humiliating situation. I couldn't do anything but run for the door. I was so embarrassed.

I plan to take this as far as I can to ensure that no one else experiences what I went through today. I am appalled at the lack of humanity. I researched Rite Aid online and found it funny that their "Code of Ethics" is easily found. Have these people read this? Should they be serving the people of our community? When one walks into a pharmacy it is likely they are ill, and on top of feeling bad, they have to deal with incompetent staff who couldn't care less about us as customers or human beings.

Needless to say I took my prescription to Wegman's Pharmacy, was greeted with a smile, treated with respect, and there were NO ISSUES with my insurance. I had my prescription in 10 minutes. This company will also receive reviews from me, in the highest of praise. Rite Aid should be ashamed of the people they hire. I am writing a letter to Corporate, and to my local newspaper. I was humiliated and I won'™t stand for it. Thanks for reading this.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >