Preview Review

Next Review

Rooms To Go Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Spent 10,000 and They Threatened Calling Police Over Our Furniture Complaint. Pass the Store Up!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MYRTLE BEACH, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Initially never received the charger for the chair, rendering the rocker useless for three weeks till we received it. Once plugged in, it had to remain plugged in for the chair to operate, which, according to the directions, creates a fire hazard. Either plugged in all the time or useless rocker. They refused to exchange or refund, and after wife and I complained, they asked us to leave the store or the police will be called.

The chair remains plugged in and we sweat out a fire hazard. We are retired seniors and did not deserve to be treated in that manner, after spending almost $10,000 dollars. The furniture received is substandard and could not be returned. Do yourself a real favor... "Pass this store up," you won't regret it.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Business Transaction
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS -- The person who sold us the furniture out of Rooms To Go was horrible. Poor bedside manners. From there we scheduled a pick up two days after purchase. Picked up furniture, one of the pieces was damaged. Called customer service, they did an exchange for the following week. Two guys came to deliver one child's armoire and upon bringing it in (with a dolly) they still managed to scratch it up and leave some kind of oil stains on it.

Now why wouldn't they leave it in packaging brand new, bring it into the house then unpackage it? Listen, two guys, a dolly and one mid size 900.00 dollar piece of furniture, a birthday present for a ten-yr-old, and the job couldn't get done. Sad or pathetic. I feel both for my situation involving the business. This company spends so much money advertising to make profit off of us customers. I believe Rooms To Go should spend more time and money investigating the sorry people they hire to deliver professional dependable reliable service. Because right now they are picking and choosing who gets quality service. Pissed off in Texas.

Company Response 01/07/2016:

Sorry to hear about your experience. Would you be able to send us the details along with your order info to Tellus@Roomstogo.com?

Replies
Very Bad Quality and Customer Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WATAUGA, TEXAS -- Had the blended leather living room furniture and it started cracking. The company did not replace completely so I had to spend more money. Then after having the new furniture for only 2 months the sofa collapsed onto the front foot (they did repairs on that area on day of delivery). Customer service says it is not a manufacturing defect. Really? You can see the horrible workmanship from day 1. They just sell bad quality and refuse to admit it.

Replies
Recliners
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MYRTLE BEACH, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Our representative was awesome. However, the recliners we ordered have a terrible musty odor that has not dissipated after a week. Also, chairs are very uncomfortable. Recliner in showroom was only a month old and felt completely different. These are very firm and uncomfortable. Very, very unhappy with this purchase. The store manager will allow us to order something else from the store but my concern is all their furniture may have this unpleasant odor from the warehouse. Has anyone else had this experience?

Replies
Advertisement
Peeling Chair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MCALLEN, TEXAS -- Bought "bonded" leather chair Feb. 2012. Only use 3 months a year in a winter home in south Texas. In 2015 the chair started to peel in the seems. In January 2016 it is peeling so bad that it comes off on your clothes. It looks 30 years old. We have leather and fake leather that it over 20 years that looks new. Went to local store of Rooms To Go and complained. They called customer service and were asked to send them photos. Sent on 1/8/2016. Customer service called on 1/10/2016 and said they would call back in 2 business days. No call for a week.

1/15/2016 - Went back to local store and got 4 managers' names. They would call customer service and demand to call me. They called me on 1/18/2016 and said couldn't find photos but would call back soon. "We are very busy and can't tell you when we can take care of you." Rude and obnoxious. Now I am convinced Rooms To Go have done this to thousands of other customers. Looked online and read hundreds of the same complaints. Can't believe there is no CLASS ACTION FILED YET.

Replies
3-Year Old So-Called Leather Sectional Fell Apart
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GEORGIA -- Rooms to Go is short for "ROOMS TO GO STRAIGHT TO THE TRASH"? This place has the customer service quality of a brothel. You walk in, they're all over you... friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. However, as you go back to let them know their furniture is falling a part, they want NOTHING to do with you..

We bought an off-white LEATHER sectional 3.5 years ago for about $2000. The salesperson told us that it was made out of patches of leather as opposed to one big piece. 3 years later, the leather on 3 sections started to crack and peel gradually. I called RTG to see if they could replace the sections. Nope, no go on that one as they discontinued selling and dealing with the manufacturer in Shanghai, China. They asked me to send pictures. I did.

Three months later when I didn't hear back from them, I called and they told me they'd be giving me the depreciated value in the form of a voucher that could only be used in their RTG showrooms (not discounted pieces.. not that I was tempted to set foot there anyway). The value was a whopping $230.73 AND they would also be coming to take the sectional too otherwise, we do not get our big voucher.

We went to the store to see the manager because surely, they would understand our dilemma. The manager was reading my email on the computer and commenting on it, thinking I was one of his salespeople not the customer that just got royally shafted. He was smacking his gum and going, "WTH else does she want after 4 years?" I coughed to get him to realize that his foot was just inserted in his gum-smacking hole. He was fine with that.

He told me there was NOTHING he could do, that it was the way I was using the couch that led it to disintegrate and that there was nothing else he could do. Crappy company, crappy work ethic and for sure WE WILL NEVER EVER SET FOOT IN THAT PLACE!!! I'd get better quality and service at Goodwill than this scam of a business.

Replies
I will NEVER buy from them again. Horrible delivery experience.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I wish I could give a 0 or even a negative stars for my experience with their delivery service. First of all, let me make it clear that my experience at the store was not bad at all. The sales representative informed me well on all available options and was professional in interaction. It's their delivery service that was BEYOND AWFUL.

Short story: All in all, a horrible experience with the delivery and customer care service. There is a big communication gap between sales and delivery. Store manager tells me that delivery is done through an independent contracting company. The customer care service doesn't care about your problems. They just want to avoid the responsibility. Save yourself some time, money and headache and buy furniture somewhere else.

Long story: I ordered a reclining sofa from them for a specific reason. I was going to get a shoulder surgery done and needed to sleep in reclining position for several days after surgery. While placing my order on a Tuesday, one week before the surgery, I made sure that the sales representative was aware about this requirement. I was promised that if I ordered on the same day, I WILL get it over the weekend or on Monday. I was also told that I will get a call the next day with a confirmed delivery date.

I did not receive any call until Friday. I called the store and they had estimated delivery on my order 10 days after I placed it. I had to talk to a couple of people before getting that corrected and the delivery was scheduled to be on Monday. Had I not called them, I would not have received the sofa in time that was promised.

Monday morning I had to stop by work and I missed the delivery guy by 5 minutes. I had also left a note on the door with my phone number. I received a call on my phone when the driver was already waiting at my place. Why would you not call people 10 minutes before you are on the way to their place? I called the number back and it turns out to be their corporate office number in FL. I asked for delivery assistance and call gets transferred to customer care service. I had to do this 3 times. 15-20 minutes of wait each time and I finally get hold of a real person.

After explaining the situation, the lady puts me on hold to talk to 'dispatch manager'. On return, she explains to me that the driver is gone now and it has been 1 hour since he left my place. Of course it has been 1 hour, I have been on the phone trying to get hold of someone this whole time.

Delivery service is extremely inflexible. To deliver items in Raleigh, they need to get it from their warehouse in Charlotte, which is understandable. But if you miss the delivery, your order is locked and you will not be able to re-schedule the delivery until 2-3 business days. Then it will take 5-7 more days to get it delivered. So if you miss your driver by 5 minutes, you lose 10 days in delivery.

Apparently, if delivery is missed in Raleigh, items GO BACK to Charlotte... WTF?? Who came up with this system? Raleigh (and Triangle area in general) has so many customers. I don't see why they cannot have a local storage in such situations and re-deliver it the next day.

I called store to cancel my order as any delivery after Monday was not acceptable. Store manager wanted to try the dispatch manager again to see if it can be re-scheduled today again. This was at 11 AM. I was asked to wait for a call. I finally received a call after 3:30 PM only to tell me that they cannot deliver it today. If the decision was made not to redeliver it today, why was I not notified earlier. I could use that time to make alternate arrangements.

At the end of all the drama, I ended up canceling the order and losing shipping and force field protection money (together about $120). I bet they can sell that sofa to someone else and charge them $60 again for the same protection treatment. From what I read in several other reviews, the "Force Field" protection is another big scam and warranties/treatments under this protection are at "RTG's discretion". Most of the steps in their delivery process don't make logical sense and nobody seems to care about it.

Replies
Horrible Quality And Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DOUGLASVILLE, GEORGIA -- It started in 2011. We purchased a living room group. Everything was fine until summer of 2014 when the material on the leather furniture started cracking and peeling. I contacted customer service and they requested that I send pictures which I did. They did not call me back so I followed up about a week later and was informed that I have been approved to replace the furniture.

In July of 2014 I went to my local store and began the process of picking out new furniture. This became a nightmare because when you are replacing only 2 pieces they do not allow you the same cost/money since it was in a "package" originally. So I got screwed there. I ended up having to pay a couple hundred more for the new set because of course the set I had purchased in 2011 had been discontinued.

In addition, because it was "out of warranty" I was told I would have to pay yet another delivery charge. To say the least I now know I got played. I should have been more assertive and told them it was their issue not mine and refused to pay but I digress. The new furniture was delivered in July 2014.

December of 2014 the fabric on the sofa of the NEW furniture is now fading and becoming discolored. The other pieces, recliner and loveseat are fine. I call the customer service line and schedule a tech to come out on 12/23/2014. He arrives and seems very uncaring to have to be doing a job. He sees my concern and retrieves his camera to take photos and said it will take a couple of weeks to hear back due to the holidays.

I wait until the week of 1/2015 and finally call customer service. I am told that it has been approved to replace the sofa. GOOD. No, wait customer service says... we cannot replace the sofa because this furniture has been DISCONTINUED! I tell her that I have not even had it for 6 months! WOW. So now she tells me that it has been approved for me to replace the 3 piece set AGAIN!! I am not happy. This is getting to be a pain in the butt. So I go to my local store, again and again the sales guy hands me off to the store manager. He pulls up my account in the computer and says we have a very similar set let me show you.

When we get to the set it looks EXACTLY the same as the set I have. He tells me it's a different manufacture. The quality of the bonded leather seems much better. He does his thing in the computer says okay we can do this and there will be no charge for you. REALLY?? Like I would spend any more of my hard earned money with this place! So I tell him fine, we will try this again. This was a Saturday 1/17/2015... he calls me Monday 1/19 to tell me that the furniture is on backorder until March. I am beyond frustrated. I sit on this for a couple of days because I am so angry.

I call the store and customer service because I want to know if due to the frustration that I have been through and crappy furniture if RTG will comp me an upgrade to a reclining love seat since the grouping is now on sale and I am told no that is not how it works. Then I tell them that's fine I just want to return the bad furniture and get a full credit and I will go buy furniture somewhere else.

I am once again told no... they do not do refunds. WOW! At this point I am beyond angry and I tell the store manager I want contact information for management above him because I want to file a formal complaint. He tells me all he can provide is for me to once again call "customer NO service" and ask for "presidential" information.

I do this today, 1/28/2015, and I am put on hold numerous times and hold for more than 10 minutes only to be told that she cannot locate a supervisor at this time and will have to write it up and have someone call me. Like that will EVER happen. So I told her to put it in her computer on my account that I will find every consumer website out there and will write this up. I have been a customer of RTG for over 20 years and had never had this experience before.

But I can tell you that I will never purchase anything from them in the future and would advise that no one else purchase furniture from them either. I will use every resource on the web and social media that I can find to make my experience known in hopes to prevent others from the same anger and frustration that I have and am currently going through.

UPDATE: 1/28/2015 they called and said they found the set and could now deliver as early as 2/3/2015 (after I had to raise my voice and ask for higher ups to file a complaint) AND a ** from corporate (I assume) called and said the best she could do would be to split the cost to upgrade the loveseat but that they would not comp the whole $200.00. Wow... they don't care they just lost a customer of 20 years over $200.00. I am not paying them another dime of my money so they lose not me.

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Shop Here! Worse Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- They have the worse customer service ever! Don't give them your business. I purchase 2 bedroom sets for Christmas. 1 for my twins and 1 for my oldest son. I purchase these items on Nov 4th. They are schedule to be delivered on Christmas eve Dec 24th. Rooms to Go called me the week before to confirm my address and the shipping address. They called my husband today... A day before Christmas Eve... the delivery date to tell us that our Headboard is out of stock for my oldest son and that it won't be in until Jan 24th. They told my husband that the country that they are receiving it from didn't ship it in time. So it will be a little delayed.

Needless to say I was extremely upset so I called into customer service. I spoke with ** in Tampa Florida at 1:47pm. He told me that he couldn't assist me because it was an online order and that he would have to give me the online order number. I told him that I didn't have a pen or paper at the time so I wanted him to transfer me and he said that he doesn't have the ability to transfer calls. I find it hard to believe that a big company like Rooms To Go can't transfer calls between depts. He tried to explain that my headboard won't be in until Feb. At that time I got real upset because they told my husband Jan. NOT FEB. So I asked to speak with a supervisor.

He said that he can write it up and someone will call me back within 48 hours. I told him that was unacceptable and I want a supervisor. He said that no one was able. I offer to hold until someone became available and he said that he would have to hang up on me because he can't wait 48 hours on the phone. I took his information down and proceed to call online support. I received ** in Seffer, FL. He told me that my headboard won't be in until Feb 11th. He confirmed at the time that I placed the order the headboard was available and in stock. I told him that I needed him to fix it.

He gave me two options... to keep my order, everything else will be delivered tomorrow and my headboard will come on Feb 11th or to cancel my order and get a refund. I explained to him that this was a Christmas gift for my oldest son and that I cleaned out his entire room yesterday to prepare for the delivery. I don't understand why they waited until the day before the order was suppose to be delivery to tell us that it won't be complete. I asked for a credit and he told me that they can't. I then explained that I also purchase bunk bed for my twins at kids Rooms To Go and spent $2k on their set.

So between both bedroom sets I spent almost $3k and that you are messing up my son's Christmas. I also explain that if they called us sooner we would have been able to keep his old bedroom set and wait for everything to be delivered in Feb (which is his birthday month anyways) but they waited until the last minute to notified which took away all of our options. I asked for a supervisor and received **. She told me that she was ** supervisor and offered me a $40 credit. Which I think is an insult. The only other option she provided was do cancel this order and do another order but she doesn't know if it will be in stock and that I will have to look online to do a swap.

I asked to speak with someone higher than her and she said that there is no one in her call center that is above her and that I can't talk to anyone else. I asked for the President's name and she told me that I can do my independent research. This is the worse customer service experience ever. All the reps were condescending and rude. With the amount of money I have spent and that this is a Christmas gift for my kids. This is horrible. I have to wait 3 1/2 months for a headboard.

This is unacceptable. I feel like they waited until the last minute so I wouldn't have any options. I can't cancel it because my son won't have anywhere to sleep. It is impossible for me to find another bedroom set and have it delivered by tomorrow. I will never never do business here and I will tell everyone I know to never do business here. So unprofessional and rude. I wish I could cancel it but it would be heartbreaking to my kid. He will think he was bad all year if he has to live in an empty room with no bed, nightstand, or dresser. I would like someone to call me back and offer a valid solution.

Replies
Terrible Service, Terrible Quality
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JENSEN BEACH, FLORIDA -- In approximately 2011, I purchased a "leather" living room set. I used the leather protectant liquid to clean the couches regularly and took great care of my furniture. I have no kids and the furniture was not abused. Recently, I have noticed my leather was separating and that I did not have real leather but some type of fake leather appearing plastic film that gives the appearance of leather. The furniture is lightly used and it is in terrible condition.

I contacted customer service because I never expected I would have to purchase new furniture during the time I was still paying for it. I spoke to Millie ** from customer relations and she was extremely sweet and helpful. Millie reviewed pictures of my furniture and replied in an email that she was crediting me with $447 of in-store credit towards "a selection of your (my) choice."

I called Millie and asked if I could purchase a loveseat by itself and she told me I could, as long as the loveseat was $447 or greater. I specifically asked her if I could purchase one item and she told me I could with the understanding that Rooms to Go would be picking up three pieces of my furniture and not just one or two after the reselection was completed.

I visited the Jensen Beach location and dealt with Patrick. I like Patrick and found him to be a very good salesman. Patrick sold me the original set of furniture and he is a familiar face. I explained to Patrick my situation and he reviewed the notes from Millie. Patrick told me I could purchase my choice of a loveseat, a walnut colored loveseat from the Santa Monica collection, with no issues. Unfortunately, Patrick became busy and referred me to Eric.

Eric was nice and also reviewed Millie's notes. Eric found no problem in completing my order of the loveseat for the reselection. Eric was great until I realized on my way home that he charged me for a Force Field Protection Plan without ever mentioning anything about it. I realized I agreed to a contract he never talked to me about.

The frustrating part of this was that I asked Eric at the end of the transaction, when Eric was folding the Force Field Certificate and placing it into my envelope, what I was being charged for. Eric told me I was only getting charged for the balance after store credit and for delivery. He lied. I was also getting charged $63.91 for something he never told me about.

I turned around and went back to the store, approximately twenty minutes later, and was told Eric was off work. Brad then begin to sell me on the product that Eric neglected to do. I told Brad I just wanted the charge removed. Brad referred me to David, the store manager.

I told David what Eric did and David could not care less. David pointed to the back of the store and told me to go to customer service and started to walk away from me, in the opposite direction of where customer service was. I asked David to please show me where customer service was and to perhaps be present when I had to explain to them what happened. David again seemed unphased and not shocked by his employee fraudulently trying to sneak money out of customers. David walked me back to customer service and then walked away.

I explained to Susan what happened. Susan was not friendly at all and told me she credited 63.91 towards my layaway. I told her I did not have a layaway account and I became confused. Susan said I had a balance and she just put the 63.91 to my balance. I then realized the amount she was talking about was actually the amount that Rooms to Go agreed to be responsible for with the $447 store credit. Susan was basically paying Rooms to Go $63.91 from the $447.

I attempted to tell Susan that the $63.91 amount should be returned the same way it was paid just minutes before, on my MasterCard. Susan said she was just going to credit my Rooms to Go credit card. I asked her to not do that and Susan asked me, "What, are you not paying your Rooms to Go credit card?" This is extremely offensive and none of her business. I proceeded to tell her that I have NEVER been late on a payment and I am a responsible debtor. I told her she could look at my payment history, if necessary.

Every time I attempted to explain to Susan what was going on, Susan cut me off and said multiple times, "Let me start over again so you understand." Again, Susan found a way to be offensive, condescending and mean. I eventually asked her to review the notes on Rooms to Go and was able to explain to her what happened without her cutting me off. Susan said she understood and then credited the $63.91 to my MasterCard.

Now, this afternoon, I received a phone call from the Jensen Beach location. Londa said she was not going to honor my reselection because I had to purchase a full package of furniture. I asked Londa to review the notes from Millie and Londa said she sees where Millie wrote, "a selection of my choice" over $447 and where Millie said I would be responsible for bond fees, delivery and any costs over $447. Londa said Millie made a mistake by not emailing me that I had to reselect a whole new package of furniture. Londa said she was canceling my order and I would not be getting my loveseat, which was set to be delivered on Wednesday, as previously agreed.

I have had bad customer service in the past and there is this. I have never felt like I have had to defend everything I do before like I have had in this experience with Rooms to Go. This experience is without doubt, the worst. I have nothing good to say about this company and as it is right now, I will do everything I can to make sure my friends and family never step foot into a Rooms to Go.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Rooms To Go Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 100 ratings and
173 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Rooms To Go
11540 Hwy. 92 East
Seffner, FL 33584
813-623-5400 (ph)
813-620-1717 (fax)
www.roomstogo.com
Compare Furniture Stores