Preview Review

Next Review

Rooms To Go Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Very Bad Quality and Customer Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WATAUGA, TEXAS -- Had the blended leather living room furniture and it started cracking. The company did not replace completely so I had to spend more money. Then after having the new furniture for only 2 months the sofa collapsed onto the front foot (they did repairs on that area on day of delivery). Customer service says it is not a manufacturing defect. Really? You can see the horrible workmanship from day 1. They just sell bad quality and refuse to admit it.

Replies
Advertisement
Recliners
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MYRTLE BEACH, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Our representative was awesome. However, the recliners we ordered have a terrible musty odor that has not dissipated after a week. Also, chairs are very uncomfortable. Recliner in showroom was only a month old and felt completely different. These are very firm and uncomfortable. Very, very unhappy with this purchase. The store manager will allow us to order something else from the store but my concern is all their furniture may have this unpleasant odor from the warehouse. Has anyone else had this experience?

Replies
Peeling Chair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MCALLEN, TEXAS -- Bought "bonded" leather chair Feb. 2012. Only use 3 months a year in a winter home in south Texas. In 2015 the chair started to peel in the seems. In January 2016 it is peeling so bad that it comes off on your clothes. It looks 30 years old. We have leather and fake leather that it over 20 years that looks new. Went to local store of Rooms To Go and complained. They called customer service and were asked to send them photos. Sent on 1/8/2016. Customer service called on 1/10/2016 and said they would call back in 2 business days. No call for a week.

1/15/2016 - Went back to local store and got 4 managers' names. They would call customer service and demand to call me. They called me on 1/18/2016 and said couldn't find photos but would call back soon. "We are very busy and can't tell you when we can take care of you." Rude and obnoxious. Now I am convinced Rooms To Go have done this to thousands of other customers. Looked online and read hundreds of the same complaints. Can't believe there is no CLASS ACTION FILED YET.

Replies
I will NEVER buy from them again. Horrible delivery experience.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I wish I could give a 0 or even a negative stars for my experience with their delivery service. First of all, let me make it clear that my experience at the store was not bad at all. The sales representative informed me well on all available options and was professional in interaction. It's their delivery service that was BEYOND AWFUL.

Short story: All in all, a horrible experience with the delivery and customer care service. There is a big communication gap between sales and delivery. Store manager tells me that delivery is done through an independent contracting company. The customer care service doesn't care about your problems. They just want to avoid the responsibility. Save yourself some time, money and headache and buy furniture somewhere else.

Long story: I ordered a reclining sofa from them for a specific reason. I was going to get a shoulder surgery done and needed to sleep in reclining position for several days after surgery. While placing my order on a Tuesday, one week before the surgery, I made sure that the sales representative was aware about this requirement. I was promised that if I ordered on the same day, I WILL get it over the weekend or on Monday. I was also told that I will get a call the next day with a confirmed delivery date.

I did not receive any call until Friday. I called the store and they had estimated delivery on my order 10 days after I placed it. I had to talk to a couple of people before getting that corrected and the delivery was scheduled to be on Monday. Had I not called them, I would not have received the sofa in time that was promised.

Monday morning I had to stop by work and I missed the delivery guy by 5 minutes. I had also left a note on the door with my phone number. I received a call on my phone when the driver was already waiting at my place. Why would you not call people 10 minutes before you are on the way to their place? I called the number back and it turns out to be their corporate office number in FL. I asked for delivery assistance and call gets transferred to customer care service. I had to do this 3 times. 15-20 minutes of wait each time and I finally get hold of a real person.

After explaining the situation, the lady puts me on hold to talk to 'dispatch manager'. On return, she explains to me that the driver is gone now and it has been 1 hour since he left my place. Of course it has been 1 hour, I have been on the phone trying to get hold of someone this whole time.

Delivery service is extremely inflexible. To deliver items in Raleigh, they need to get it from their warehouse in Charlotte, which is understandable. But if you miss the delivery, your order is locked and you will not be able to re-schedule the delivery until 2-3 business days. Then it will take 5-7 more days to get it delivered. So if you miss your driver by 5 minutes, you lose 10 days in delivery.

Apparently, if delivery is missed in Raleigh, items GO BACK to Charlotte... WTF?? Who came up with this system? Raleigh (and Triangle area in general) has so many customers. I don't see why they cannot have a local storage in such situations and re-deliver it the next day.

I called store to cancel my order as any delivery after Monday was not acceptable. Store manager wanted to try the dispatch manager again to see if it can be re-scheduled today again. This was at 11 AM. I was asked to wait for a call. I finally received a call after 3:30 PM only to tell me that they cannot deliver it today. If the decision was made not to redeliver it today, why was I not notified earlier. I could use that time to make alternate arrangements.

At the end of all the drama, I ended up canceling the order and losing shipping and force field protection money (together about $120). I bet they can sell that sofa to someone else and charge them $60 again for the same protection treatment. From what I read in several other reviews, the "Force Field" protection is another big scam and warranties/treatments under this protection are at "RTG's discretion". Most of the steps in their delivery process don't make logical sense and nobody seems to care about it.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Quality And Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DOUGLASVILLE, GEORGIA -- It started in 2011. We purchased a living room group. Everything was fine until summer of 2014 when the material on the leather furniture started cracking and peeling. I contacted customer service and they requested that I send pictures which I did. They did not call me back so I followed up about a week later and was informed that I have been approved to replace the furniture.

In July of 2014 I went to my local store and began the process of picking out new furniture. This became a nightmare because when you are replacing only 2 pieces they do not allow you the same cost/money since it was in a "package" originally. So I got screwed there. I ended up having to pay a couple hundred more for the new set because of course the set I had purchased in 2011 had been discontinued.

In addition, because it was "out of warranty" I was told I would have to pay yet another delivery charge. To say the least I now know I got played. I should have been more assertive and told them it was their issue not mine and refused to pay but I digress. The new furniture was delivered in July 2014.

December of 2014 the fabric on the sofa of the NEW furniture is now fading and becoming discolored. The other pieces, recliner and loveseat are fine. I call the customer service line and schedule a tech to come out on 12/23/2014. He arrives and seems very uncaring to have to be doing a job. He sees my concern and retrieves his camera to take photos and said it will take a couple of weeks to hear back due to the holidays.

I wait until the week of 1/2015 and finally call customer service. I am told that it has been approved to replace the sofa. GOOD. No, wait customer service says... we cannot replace the sofa because this furniture has been DISCONTINUED! I tell her that I have not even had it for 6 months! WOW. So now she tells me that it has been approved for me to replace the 3 piece set AGAIN!! I am not happy. This is getting to be a pain in the butt. So I go to my local store, again and again the sales guy hands me off to the store manager. He pulls up my account in the computer and says we have a very similar set let me show you.

When we get to the set it looks EXACTLY the same as the set I have. He tells me it's a different manufacture. The quality of the bonded leather seems much better. He does his thing in the computer says okay we can do this and there will be no charge for you. REALLY?? Like I would spend any more of my hard earned money with this place! So I tell him fine, we will try this again. This was a Saturday 1/17/2015... he calls me Monday 1/19 to tell me that the furniture is on backorder until March. I am beyond frustrated. I sit on this for a couple of days because I am so angry.

I call the store and customer service because I want to know if due to the frustration that I have been through and crappy furniture if RTG will comp me an upgrade to a reclining love seat since the grouping is now on sale and I am told no that is not how it works. Then I tell them that's fine I just want to return the bad furniture and get a full credit and I will go buy furniture somewhere else.

I am once again told no... they do not do refunds. WOW! At this point I am beyond angry and I tell the store manager I want contact information for management above him because I want to file a formal complaint. He tells me all he can provide is for me to once again call "customer NO service" and ask for "presidential" information.

I do this today, 1/28/2015, and I am put on hold numerous times and hold for more than 10 minutes only to be told that she cannot locate a supervisor at this time and will have to write it up and have someone call me. Like that will EVER happen. So I told her to put it in her computer on my account that I will find every consumer website out there and will write this up. I have been a customer of RTG for over 20 years and had never had this experience before.

But I can tell you that I will never purchase anything from them in the future and would advise that no one else purchase furniture from them either. I will use every resource on the web and social media that I can find to make my experience known in hopes to prevent others from the same anger and frustration that I have and am currently going through.

UPDATE: 1/28/2015 they called and said they found the set and could now deliver as early as 2/3/2015 (after I had to raise my voice and ask for higher ups to file a complaint) AND a ** from corporate (I assume) called and said the best she could do would be to split the cost to upgrade the loveseat but that they would not comp the whole $200.00. Wow... they don't care they just lost a customer of 20 years over $200.00. I am not paying them another dime of my money so they lose not me.

Replies
Don't Shop Here! Worse Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- They have the worse customer service ever! Don't give them your business. I purchase 2 bedroom sets for Christmas. 1 for my twins and 1 for my oldest son. I purchase these items on Nov 4th. They are schedule to be delivered on Christmas eve Dec 24th. Rooms to Go called me the week before to confirm my address and the shipping address. They called my husband today... A day before Christmas Eve... the delivery date to tell us that our Headboard is out of stock for my oldest son and that it won't be in until Jan 24th. They told my husband that the country that they are receiving it from didn't ship it in time. So it will be a little delayed.

Needless to say I was extremely upset so I called into customer service. I spoke with ** in Tampa Florida at 1:47pm. He told me that he couldn't assist me because it was an online order and that he would have to give me the online order number. I told him that I didn't have a pen or paper at the time so I wanted him to transfer me and he said that he doesn't have the ability to transfer calls. I find it hard to believe that a big company like Rooms To Go can't transfer calls between depts. He tried to explain that my headboard won't be in until Feb. At that time I got real upset because they told my husband Jan. NOT FEB. So I asked to speak with a supervisor.

He said that he can write it up and someone will call me back within 48 hours. I told him that was unacceptable and I want a supervisor. He said that no one was able. I offer to hold until someone became available and he said that he would have to hang up on me because he can't wait 48 hours on the phone. I took his information down and proceed to call online support. I received ** in Seffer, FL. He told me that my headboard won't be in until Feb 11th. He confirmed at the time that I placed the order the headboard was available and in stock. I told him that I needed him to fix it.

He gave me two options... to keep my order, everything else will be delivered tomorrow and my headboard will come on Feb 11th or to cancel my order and get a refund. I explained to him that this was a Christmas gift for my oldest son and that I cleaned out his entire room yesterday to prepare for the delivery. I don't understand why they waited until the day before the order was suppose to be delivery to tell us that it won't be complete. I asked for a credit and he told me that they can't. I then explained that I also purchase bunk bed for my twins at kids Rooms To Go and spent $2k on their set.

So between both bedroom sets I spent almost $3k and that you are messing up my son's Christmas. I also explain that if they called us sooner we would have been able to keep his old bedroom set and wait for everything to be delivered in Feb (which is his birthday month anyways) but they waited until the last minute to notified which took away all of our options. I asked for a supervisor and received **. She told me that she was ** supervisor and offered me a $40 credit. Which I think is an insult. The only other option she provided was do cancel this order and do another order but she doesn't know if it will be in stock and that I will have to look online to do a swap.

I asked to speak with someone higher than her and she said that there is no one in her call center that is above her and that I can't talk to anyone else. I asked for the President's name and she told me that I can do my independent research. This is the worse customer service experience ever. All the reps were condescending and rude. With the amount of money I have spent and that this is a Christmas gift for my kids. This is horrible. I have to wait 3 1/2 months for a headboard.

This is unacceptable. I feel like they waited until the last minute so I wouldn't have any options. I can't cancel it because my son won't have anywhere to sleep. It is impossible for me to find another bedroom set and have it delivered by tomorrow. I will never never do business here and I will tell everyone I know to never do business here. So unprofessional and rude. I wish I could cancel it but it would be heartbreaking to my kid. He will think he was bad all year if he has to live in an empty room with no bed, nightstand, or dresser. I would like someone to call me back and offer a valid solution.

Replies
Sofa Cushions Peeling
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- I purchased a faux leather sectional almost 3 years ago. I purchased several other pieces that day totaling about $5000. I did purchase the warranty as well. After a year and a half the sofa started getting big cracks in it in a couple of the seat cushions. I immediately called and I did speak to a nice young man. He gave me the details of what I needed to do, which is... send an e mail to this address with some photos. He then informed me I would not hear back for at least a week.

To my surprise, he called back an hour later and told me, they did not have that sofa anymore but they would give me a 600 dollar credit and pick this one up after I picked out another and had it delivered. I was disappointed because I really liked the sofa I had and truly thought it was just one of those things and had a defect. So I went about finding another and it was on sale for 900 dollars. Now I know this isn't by far their most expensive sofa but it IS fake leather, which in my mind was more durable and less likely to fade or crease as I have seen real leather do.

The saleswoman informed me it was some kind of state of the art leather blend because I was really curious about it and she assured me it was a great product. So I selected the NEW sofa which apparently was also this same leather blend but another style and I thought manufacturer. After the credit, with tax and delivery and what have you I still ended up paying 500 dollars. So I get the sofa delivered, they pick up the old one and I am very happy as the new one looks even better than on the website. So now a year has passed and guess what? It starts with one crack and then another and then suddenly the whole sofa is peeling like a bad sunburn!!!

Now about me. I'm a little on the heavy side but the cushions are not broken down or the arms. the sofa sectional has a chaise lounge on the end. None of it is peeling. The ottoman gets the most wear and tear with bare feet and being sat on by me or my teenage son, who is very thin, and it doesn't have any issues. I don't smoke or eat on it or have ANY pets. We are very clean. Seems to me if the whole sectional were made of the same material as the ottoman and the chaise, there would be no problem.

So I have submitted the e mail on this one as well as the photos but this time I was told it would be three weeks to hear as they only had ONE person that works this department. Well it has been over three weeks and I have sent a follow up e mail and have had NO response. I googled "peeling sofas from RTG" and was SHOCKED at the number, so I KNOW the problem is not specific to me but it's their manufacturer. As far s I am concerned they can take my sofa part and cover it with the same material as the ottoman and bring it back to me and make me happy.

Replies
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHATTANOOGA, GEORGIA -- I will never shop at Rooms To Go again. I have seen more people's furniture tear up within 2 years. My mom saw our exact set in someone's yard to go to the dump. Thousands of dollars down the drain. We have had our set for like 3 years and take care of it, even used their conditioning that we purchased to prevent cracking. Their offer to me was for me to spend even more money with them and then give us 550.00 credit if we buy the set which would be thousands. Wow. #roomstogo. #roomstogostinks. #wrcbTV needs to let others be aware. #furniture. Rooms To Go Furniture Store - Chattanooga.

Replies
Advertisement
No Refund or Property Damage Reimbursement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- Bought $8100 in furniture. Paid cash - BIG MISTAKE. Delivered wrong items on 6/11/16 and on re-schedule visit 6/25/16 damaged ceiling and wall of my NEW home. Filed a complaint and no response after calling them repeatedly for a month. Also due to exchanging items was supposed to get a refund. Got one check in mail and the other was to be a debit card credit back to me. As of today 7/21/16 NOTHING. Won't call me back. Won't resolve my issue. I have reported to Better Business Bureau and 5 On Your Side. I will never go there or recommend them. I have spread the word and will continue to do so until I get my refund and money for damage.

Replies
Garbage
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I purchased it January 2, 2014, and one year and seven months later the love seat has come apart at the seams. Customer service told Lori (who was a snob) that it was out of warranty and there is nothing they can do. I sent a pic anyways with the tear to www.showus@roomstogo.com to see if maybe they can do something. I will keep you updated.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Rooms To Go Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 105 ratings and
178 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Rooms To Go
11540 Hwy. 92 East
Seffner, FL 33584
813-623-5400 (ph)
813-620-1717 (fax)
www.roomstogo.com
Compare Furniture Stores