Preview Review

Next Review

Rooms To Go Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Peeling Chair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MCALLEN, TEXAS -- Bought "bonded" leather chair Feb. 2012. Only use 3 months a year in a winter home in south Texas. In 2015 the chair started to peel in the seems. In January 2016 it is peeling so bad that it comes off on your clothes. It looks 30 years old. We have leather and fake leather that it over 20 years that looks new. Went to local store of Rooms To Go and complained. They called customer service and were asked to send them photos. Sent on 1/8/2016. Customer service called on 1/10/2016 and said they would call back in 2 business days. No call for a week.

1/15/2016 - Went back to local store and got 4 managers' names. They would call customer service and demand to call me. They called me on 1/18/2016 and said couldn't find photos but would call back soon. "We are very busy and can't tell you when we can take care of you." Rude and obnoxious. Now I am convinced Rooms To Go have done this to thousands of other customers. Looked online and read hundreds of the same complaints. Can't believe there is no CLASS ACTION FILED YET.

Replies
Advertisement
I will NEVER buy from them again. Horrible delivery experience.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I wish I could give a 0 or even a negative stars for my experience with their delivery service. First of all, let me make it clear that my experience at the store was not bad at all. The sales representative informed me well on all available options and was professional in interaction. It's their delivery service that was BEYOND AWFUL.

Short story: All in all, a horrible experience with the delivery and customer care service. There is a big communication gap between sales and delivery. Store manager tells me that delivery is done through an independent contracting company. The customer care service doesn't care about your problems. They just want to avoid the responsibility. Save yourself some time, money and headache and buy furniture somewhere else.

Long story: I ordered a reclining sofa from them for a specific reason. I was going to get a shoulder surgery done and needed to sleep in reclining position for several days after surgery. While placing my order on a Tuesday, one week before the surgery, I made sure that the sales representative was aware about this requirement. I was promised that if I ordered on the same day, I WILL get it over the weekend or on Monday. I was also told that I will get a call the next day with a confirmed delivery date.

I did not receive any call until Friday. I called the store and they had estimated delivery on my order 10 days after I placed it. I had to talk to a couple of people before getting that corrected and the delivery was scheduled to be on Monday. Had I not called them, I would not have received the sofa in time that was promised.

Monday morning I had to stop by work and I missed the delivery guy by 5 minutes. I had also left a note on the door with my phone number. I received a call on my phone when the driver was already waiting at my place. Why would you not call people 10 minutes before you are on the way to their place? I called the number back and it turns out to be their corporate office number in FL. I asked for delivery assistance and call gets transferred to customer care service. I had to do this 3 times. 15-20 minutes of wait each time and I finally get hold of a real person.

After explaining the situation, the lady puts me on hold to talk to 'dispatch manager'. On return, she explains to me that the driver is gone now and it has been 1 hour since he left my place. Of course it has been 1 hour, I have been on the phone trying to get hold of someone this whole time.

Delivery service is extremely inflexible. To deliver items in Raleigh, they need to get it from their warehouse in Charlotte, which is understandable. But if you miss the delivery, your order is locked and you will not be able to re-schedule the delivery until 2-3 business days. Then it will take 5-7 more days to get it delivered. So if you miss your driver by 5 minutes, you lose 10 days in delivery.

Apparently, if delivery is missed in Raleigh, items GO BACK to Charlotte... WTF?? Who came up with this system? Raleigh (and Triangle area in general) has so many customers. I don't see why they cannot have a local storage in such situations and re-deliver it the next day.

I called store to cancel my order as any delivery after Monday was not acceptable. Store manager wanted to try the dispatch manager again to see if it can be re-scheduled today again. This was at 11 AM. I was asked to wait for a call. I finally received a call after 3:30 PM only to tell me that they cannot deliver it today. If the decision was made not to redeliver it today, why was I not notified earlier. I could use that time to make alternate arrangements.

At the end of all the drama, I ended up canceling the order and losing shipping and force field protection money (together about $120). I bet they can sell that sofa to someone else and charge them $60 again for the same protection treatment. From what I read in several other reviews, the "Force Field" protection is another big scam and warranties/treatments under this protection are at "RTG's discretion". Most of the steps in their delivery process don't make logical sense and nobody seems to care about it.

Replies
Sofa Cushions Peeling
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- I purchased a faux leather sectional almost 3 years ago. I purchased several other pieces that day totaling about $5000. I did purchase the warranty as well. After a year and a half the sofa started getting big cracks in it in a couple of the seat cushions. I immediately called and I did speak to a nice young man. He gave me the details of what I needed to do, which is... send an e mail to this address with some photos. He then informed me I would not hear back for at least a week.

To my surprise, he called back an hour later and told me, they did not have that sofa anymore but they would give me a 600 dollar credit and pick this one up after I picked out another and had it delivered. I was disappointed because I really liked the sofa I had and truly thought it was just one of those things and had a defect. So I went about finding another and it was on sale for 900 dollars. Now I know this isn't by far their most expensive sofa but it IS fake leather, which in my mind was more durable and less likely to fade or crease as I have seen real leather do.

The saleswoman informed me it was some kind of state of the art leather blend because I was really curious about it and she assured me it was a great product. So I selected the NEW sofa which apparently was also this same leather blend but another style and I thought manufacturer. After the credit, with tax and delivery and what have you I still ended up paying 500 dollars. So I get the sofa delivered, they pick up the old one and I am very happy as the new one looks even better than on the website. So now a year has passed and guess what? It starts with one crack and then another and then suddenly the whole sofa is peeling like a bad sunburn!!!

Now about me. I'm a little on the heavy side but the cushions are not broken down or the arms. the sofa sectional has a chaise lounge on the end. None of it is peeling. The ottoman gets the most wear and tear with bare feet and being sat on by me or my teenage son, who is very thin, and it doesn't have any issues. I don't smoke or eat on it or have ANY pets. We are very clean. Seems to me if the whole sectional were made of the same material as the ottoman and the chaise, there would be no problem.

So I have submitted the e mail on this one as well as the photos but this time I was told it would be three weeks to hear as they only had ONE person that works this department. Well it has been over three weeks and I have sent a follow up e mail and have had NO response. I googled "peeling sofas from RTG" and was SHOCKED at the number, so I KNOW the problem is not specific to me but it's their manufacturer. As far s I am concerned they can take my sofa part and cover it with the same material as the ottoman and bring it back to me and make me happy.

Replies
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHATTANOOGA, GEORGIA -- I will never shop at Rooms To Go again. I have seen more people's furniture tear up within 2 years. My mom saw our exact set in someone's yard to go to the dump. Thousands of dollars down the drain. We have had our set for like 3 years and take care of it, even used their conditioning that we purchased to prevent cracking. Their offer to me was for me to spend even more money with them and then give us 550.00 credit if we buy the set which would be thousands. Wow. #roomstogo. #roomstogostinks. #wrcbTV needs to let others be aware. #furniture. Rooms To Go Furniture Store - Chattanooga.

Replies
Advertisement
No Refund or Property Damage Reimbursement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- Bought $8100 in furniture. Paid cash - BIG MISTAKE. Delivered wrong items on 6/11/16 and on re-schedule visit 6/25/16 damaged ceiling and wall of my NEW home. Filed a complaint and no response after calling them repeatedly for a month. Also due to exchanging items was supposed to get a refund. Got one check in mail and the other was to be a debit card credit back to me. As of today 7/21/16 NOTHING. Won't call me back. Won't resolve my issue. I have reported to Better Business Bureau and 5 On Your Side. I will never go there or recommend them. I have spread the word and will continue to do so until I get my refund and money for damage.

Replies
Garbage
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I purchased it January 2, 2014, and one year and seven months later the love seat has come apart at the seams. Customer service told Lori (who was a snob) that it was out of warranty and there is nothing they can do. I sent a pic anyways with the tear to www.showus@roomstogo.com to see if maybe they can do something. I will keep you updated.

Replies
Poor Quality
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- Our reclining "leather mix" sectional fell apart within a year of purchase. I am shocked at the poor quality of both the material and the reclining mechanism.

Replies
Rooms To Go Collects Customer's Money and Then Does Not Deliver
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

DULUTH, GEORGIA -- Rooms To Go collects customer's money and then does not deliver accurate furniture or furniture in good repair. Order value was approximately $8,000. No refund or cancellation possible according to customer service. Order placed June 24th with delivery scheduled for July 12. July 12th order was “bumped” or re-scheduled to July 22 (10 days later). July 22nd order was delivered with a broken bedroom cabinet ($699 value) and two incorrect night stands ($599). Both the broken and incorrect furniture were left on property as the delivery drivers informed my spouse they could not take it back. I cannot park my vehicle in garage due to broken furniture.

July 28th I called customer service and asked to speak with a manager and explained problems. I was informed that no delivery service refund would be made or could I cancel the order because the furniture had been delivered. I object to this corporate response because in fact the furniture was either broken or incorrect and I did not accept the items. However, because the items were left on property according to Rooms To Go I had accepted the items and delivery was complete. No offer of immediate repair or replacement was made and replacement was scheduled for nine days out. No offer of reimbursement for delivery charges was made.

July 30th - Expected re-delivery of bedroom cabinet and two night stands. Interaction with customer service: I was informed that I am not entitled to any return, cancellation or reimbursement for damaged or incorrect furniture and that I had to wait for repair or replacement. Further I was informed that the company really did not care whether I choose to do business again with Rooms To Go or not because that was my decision. If furniture is delivered on the 30th it will be five weeks from date of order. I feel this is unacceptable and had we known we would have NOT placed the order. Rooms To Go takes your money and delivers (maybe) when it's convenient for them - not you.

Replies
Advertisement
Your Furniture Is Of Very Bad Quality And You Don't Care About Your Customers To Make Things Right!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I got a microfiber dual electric recliner sofa and a love seat from you on March 9, 2013. As of this time since the cushions are all out of shape, flat, and you can feel the springs in them. Also the stains in this 2 pieces of furniture won't come off. I was never given the special cleaner that I was supposed to be given at the time of purchase at your store per your ForceField Exclusive Fabric Protection 3 year Warranty Certificate that I was given with my purchase receipt.

It is obvious that this furniture was never professional treated before delivery as it states on the warranty paper. If I would have been given the cleaner I would have been able to get all the stains off as they occur. When contacted you via email at TellUs@roomstogo.com about this problem a technician was scheduled to come to inspect it. When he came he took pictures of it and was told will hear from you in 3 to 5 business days. Your response to this was: "Set overall soiled and requires professional cleaning. Once this has been done to give you a call to schedule a technician again to re-apply the bond."

I replied back asking about the cushions and comfort of the set in which I received a replied telling me that I never told you about this. I replied again sending you my original email to you so you can see this is not true. I received another response telling me that it didn't matter since nothing it can be done until I get it professional cleaned. I contacted you again via email and told you that it will cost me hundreds to have this done.

I received another response telling me that until I get the furniture professionally cleaned nothing could be done. All this emails were replied by **. It clearly shows you don't care and you are not willing to solve the problem at your expense but at my expense. And only thing you are doing is reapplying the bond. Nothing about the condition of the cushions. I also called your customer service department and I was told a different story. Was told that there was nothing you can do about the cushions/comfort of the set because is no longer under the manufacturer's warranty.

This all clearly shows that you sell very low quality furniture and is not worth it. I had furniture in the past that I have purchased from other places and have lasted years with no problems. This is not the first time I purchased furniture from you but it will be my last. As told you in my emails I will be posting my experience with Rooms To Go in any sources I can find to let everyone else know to be careful about buying things from you and better not to and buy it somewhere else!

Replies
Terrible...Just Terrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- Day 1: Paid for my order in full. Apparently the chair to my dining room table, you know the ones on display, have been discontinued. The salesman places an order without my knowledge for different chairs. Day 2: Realized that the order was wrong. I contacted the store. The manager said that I had to come across town to the store. He could not correct the mistakes over the phone. When I arrive at the store I realize, not only are the chairs wrong, the sofa is wrong as well. The manager then proceeds to blame me for not knowing the skew numbers (as the receipt only is a description, not a photo).

He is also rude, and tells me I must pay another $150 for the "discontinued chairs". In frustration, I pull out my credit card to pay, and I am then told I have to pay from home because he cannot take my payment for 30-45 more minutes. He said he would call me within the hour and let me know when to make my payment. 3 hours pass...no call. I call the store..."Andy is at lunch" so I speak with another manager...Beth. She is very rude and not helpful. An hour later Andy calls me, and I make my additional payment.

Day 4: My order arrives. I have my niece there to accept. I assume everything is okay by the pictures she has sent me. Within minutes of the delivery truck driver leaving my house, I receive a phone call from customer service. They want to know how my delivery went. I explain that I am not there. The woman on the phone says..."Well who is? I need to talk them." When I tell her I am not giving her my niece's number, she said "You need to contact us in the next 24 hours" then hangs up. THIS WAS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD! I spent almost $3,000 and was treated horribly. I will never purchase anything from this store again!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Rooms To Go Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 106 ratings and
179 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Rooms To Go
11540 Hwy. 92 East
Seffner, FL 33584
813-623-5400 (ph)
813-620-1717 (fax)
www.roomstogo.com
Compare Furniture Stores