Preview Review

Next Review

Rooms To Go Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Spent 10,000 and They Threatened Calling Police Over Our Furniture Complaint. Pass the Store Up!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MYRTLE BEACH, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Initially never received the charger for the chair, rendering the rocker useless for three weeks till we received it. Once plugged in, it had to remain plugged in for the chair to operate, which, according to the directions, creates a fire hazard. Either plugged in all the time or useless rocker. They refused to exchange or refund, and after wife and I complained, they asked us to leave the store or the police will be called.

The chair remains plugged in and we sweat out a fire hazard. We are retired seniors and did not deserve to be treated in that manner, after spending almost $10,000 dollars. The furniture received is substandard and could not be returned. Do yourself a real favor... "Pass this store up," you won't regret it.

Replies
Advertisement
Faulty Upholstery: Interior Stuffing Pokes Through It and Hurts.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREENSBORO -- I ordered a sofa, loveseat and two reclining chairs from Room To Go. After 2 years, the interior stuffing fibers poke through the substandard upholstery making it unbearable to sit on. It feels like little needles poking you. My kids won't sit on it unless we put a blanket over it. The furniture has had little wear and looks brand new - just horrible manufacturing. I complained to Rooms To Go and was told that their warranty is only for one year, and they refused any responsibility for faulty fabric. Be warned: Rooms To Go does not stand behind their product. I fear many families will experience the same as the fabric is a basic one that they sell on many of their products.

Replies
Horrible Business Transaction
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS -- The person who sold us the furniture out of Rooms To Go was horrible. Poor bedside manners. From there we scheduled a pick up two days after purchase. Picked up furniture, one of the pieces was damaged. Called customer service, they did an exchange for the following week. Two guys came to deliver one child's armoire and upon bringing it in (with a dolly) they still managed to scratch it up and leave some kind of oil stains on it.

Now why wouldn't they leave it in packaging brand new, bring it into the house then unpackage it? Listen, two guys, a dolly and one mid size 900.00 dollar piece of furniture, a birthday present for a ten-yr-old, and the job couldn't get done. Sad or pathetic. I feel both for my situation involving the business. This company spends so much money advertising to make profit off of us customers. I believe Rooms To Go should spend more time and money investigating the sorry people they hire to deliver professional dependable reliable service. Because right now they are picking and choosing who gets quality service. Pissed off in Texas.

Company Response 01/07/2016:

Sorry to hear about your experience. Would you be able to send us the details along with your order info to Tellus@Roomstogo.com?

Replies
Very Bad Quality and Customer Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

WATAUGA, TEXAS -- Had the blended leather living room furniture and it started cracking. The company did not replace completely so I had to spend more money. Then after having the new furniture for only 2 months the sofa collapsed onto the front foot (they did repairs on that area on day of delivery). Customer service says it is not a manufacturing defect. Really? You can see the horrible workmanship from day 1. They just sell bad quality and refuse to admit it.

Replies
Advertisement
Recliners
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MYRTLE BEACH, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Our representative was awesome. However, the recliners we ordered have a terrible musty odor that has not dissipated after a week. Also, chairs are very uncomfortable. Recliner in showroom was only a month old and felt completely different. These are very firm and uncomfortable. Very, very unhappy with this purchase. The store manager will allow us to order something else from the store but my concern is all their furniture may have this unpleasant odor from the warehouse. Has anyone else had this experience?

Replies
They Tell You You Have Warranty but They Don't Cover
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- At the time of my purchase the sales associate convince me to get a white sofa and he has a two-year-old and his sofa is the same. If anything happen I have three years warranty and if anything happen they come clean. If it doesn't clean they deliver a new. I call them. They said not cover. I feel cheated. I bought my whole house from them but not even respect. They hung up on me.

Replies
Peeling Chair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MCALLEN, TEXAS -- Bought "bonded" leather chair Feb. 2012. Only use 3 months a year in a winter home in south Texas. In 2015 the chair started to peel in the seems. In January 2016 it is peeling so bad that it comes off on your clothes. It looks 30 years old. We have leather and fake leather that it over 20 years that looks new. Went to local store of Rooms To Go and complained. They called customer service and were asked to send them photos. Sent on 1/8/2016. Customer service called on 1/10/2016 and said they would call back in 2 business days. No call for a week.

1/15/2016 - Went back to local store and got 4 managers' names. They would call customer service and demand to call me. They called me on 1/18/2016 and said couldn't find photos but would call back soon. "We are very busy and can't tell you when we can take care of you." Rude and obnoxious. Now I am convinced Rooms To Go have done this to thousands of other customers. Looked online and read hundreds of the same complaints. Can't believe there is no CLASS ACTION FILED YET.

Replies
3-Year Old So-Called Leather Sectional Fell Apart
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GEORGIA -- Rooms to Go is short for "ROOMS TO GO STRAIGHT TO THE TRASH"? This place has the customer service quality of a brothel. You walk in, they're all over you... friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. However, as you go back to let them know their furniture is falling a part, they want NOTHING to do with you..

We bought an off-white LEATHER sectional 3.5 years ago for about $2000. The salesperson told us that it was made out of patches of leather as opposed to one big piece. 3 years later, the leather on 3 sections started to crack and peel gradually. I called RTG to see if they could replace the sections. Nope, no go on that one as they discontinued selling and dealing with the manufacturer in Shanghai, China. They asked me to send pictures. I did.

Three months later when I didn't hear back from them, I called and they told me they'd be giving me the depreciated value in the form of a voucher that could only be used in their RTG showrooms (not discounted pieces.. not that I was tempted to set foot there anyway). The value was a whopping $230.73 AND they would also be coming to take the sectional too otherwise, we do not get our big voucher.

We went to the store to see the manager because surely, they would understand our dilemma. The manager was reading my email on the computer and commenting on it, thinking I was one of his salespeople not the customer that just got royally shafted. He was smacking his gum and going, "WTH else does she want after 4 years?" I coughed to get him to realize that his foot was just inserted in his gum-smacking hole. He was fine with that.

He told me there was NOTHING he could do, that it was the way I was using the couch that led it to disintegrate and that there was nothing else he could do. Crappy company, crappy work ethic and for sure WE WILL NEVER EVER SET FOOT IN THAT PLACE!!! I'd get better quality and service at Goodwill than this scam of a business.

Replies
Advertisement
I will NEVER buy from them again. Horrible delivery experience.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I wish I could give a 0 or even a negative stars for my experience with their delivery service. First of all, let me make it clear that my experience at the store was not bad at all. The sales representative informed me well on all available options and was professional in interaction. It's their delivery service that was BEYOND AWFUL.

Short story: All in all, a horrible experience with the delivery and customer care service. There is a big communication gap between sales and delivery. Store manager tells me that delivery is done through an independent contracting company. The customer care service doesn't care about your problems. They just want to avoid the responsibility. Save yourself some time, money and headache and buy furniture somewhere else.

Long story: I ordered a reclining sofa from them for a specific reason. I was going to get a shoulder surgery done and needed to sleep in reclining position for several days after surgery. While placing my order on a Tuesday, one week before the surgery, I made sure that the sales representative was aware about this requirement. I was promised that if I ordered on the same day, I WILL get it over the weekend or on Monday. I was also told that I will get a call the next day with a confirmed delivery date.

I did not receive any call until Friday. I called the store and they had estimated delivery on my order 10 days after I placed it. I had to talk to a couple of people before getting that corrected and the delivery was scheduled to be on Monday. Had I not called them, I would not have received the sofa in time that was promised.

Monday morning I had to stop by work and I missed the delivery guy by 5 minutes. I had also left a note on the door with my phone number. I received a call on my phone when the driver was already waiting at my place. Why would you not call people 10 minutes before you are on the way to their place? I called the number back and it turns out to be their corporate office number in FL. I asked for delivery assistance and call gets transferred to customer care service. I had to do this 3 times. 15-20 minutes of wait each time and I finally get hold of a real person.

After explaining the situation, the lady puts me on hold to talk to 'dispatch manager'. On return, she explains to me that the driver is gone now and it has been 1 hour since he left my place. Of course it has been 1 hour, I have been on the phone trying to get hold of someone this whole time.

Delivery service is extremely inflexible. To deliver items in Raleigh, they need to get it from their warehouse in Charlotte, which is understandable. But if you miss the delivery, your order is locked and you will not be able to re-schedule the delivery until 2-3 business days. Then it will take 5-7 more days to get it delivered. So if you miss your driver by 5 minutes, you lose 10 days in delivery.

Apparently, if delivery is missed in Raleigh, items GO BACK to Charlotte... WTF?? Who came up with this system? Raleigh (and Triangle area in general) has so many customers. I don't see why they cannot have a local storage in such situations and re-deliver it the next day.

I called store to cancel my order as any delivery after Monday was not acceptable. Store manager wanted to try the dispatch manager again to see if it can be re-scheduled today again. This was at 11 AM. I was asked to wait for a call. I finally received a call after 3:30 PM only to tell me that they cannot deliver it today. If the decision was made not to redeliver it today, why was I not notified earlier. I could use that time to make alternate arrangements.

At the end of all the drama, I ended up canceling the order and losing shipping and force field protection money (together about $120). I bet they can sell that sofa to someone else and charge them $60 again for the same protection treatment. From what I read in several other reviews, the "Force Field" protection is another big scam and warranties/treatments under this protection are at "RTG's discretion". Most of the steps in their delivery process don't make logical sense and nobody seems to care about it.

Replies
Horrible Quality And Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DOUGLASVILLE, GEORGIA -- It started in 2011. We purchased a living room group. Everything was fine until summer of 2014 when the material on the leather furniture started cracking and peeling. I contacted customer service and they requested that I send pictures which I did. They did not call me back so I followed up about a week later and was informed that I have been approved to replace the furniture.

In July of 2014 I went to my local store and began the process of picking out new furniture. This became a nightmare because when you are replacing only 2 pieces they do not allow you the same cost/money since it was in a "package" originally. So I got screwed there. I ended up having to pay a couple hundred more for the new set because of course the set I had purchased in 2011 had been discontinued.

In addition, because it was "out of warranty" I was told I would have to pay yet another delivery charge. To say the least I now know I got played. I should have been more assertive and told them it was their issue not mine and refused to pay but I digress. The new furniture was delivered in July 2014.

December of 2014 the fabric on the sofa of the NEW furniture is now fading and becoming discolored. The other pieces, recliner and loveseat are fine. I call the customer service line and schedule a tech to come out on 12/23/2014. He arrives and seems very uncaring to have to be doing a job. He sees my concern and retrieves his camera to take photos and said it will take a couple of weeks to hear back due to the holidays.

I wait until the week of 1/2015 and finally call customer service. I am told that it has been approved to replace the sofa. GOOD. No, wait customer service says... we cannot replace the sofa because this furniture has been DISCONTINUED! I tell her that I have not even had it for 6 months! WOW. So now she tells me that it has been approved for me to replace the 3 piece set AGAIN!! I am not happy. This is getting to be a pain in the butt. So I go to my local store, again and again the sales guy hands me off to the store manager. He pulls up my account in the computer and says we have a very similar set let me show you.

When we get to the set it looks EXACTLY the same as the set I have. He tells me it's a different manufacture. The quality of the bonded leather seems much better. He does his thing in the computer says okay we can do this and there will be no charge for you. REALLY?? Like I would spend any more of my hard earned money with this place! So I tell him fine, we will try this again. This was a Saturday 1/17/2015... he calls me Monday 1/19 to tell me that the furniture is on backorder until March. I am beyond frustrated. I sit on this for a couple of days because I am so angry.

I call the store and customer service because I want to know if due to the frustration that I have been through and crappy furniture if RTG will comp me an upgrade to a reclining love seat since the grouping is now on sale and I am told no that is not how it works. Then I tell them that's fine I just want to return the bad furniture and get a full credit and I will go buy furniture somewhere else.

I am once again told no... they do not do refunds. WOW! At this point I am beyond angry and I tell the store manager I want contact information for management above him because I want to file a formal complaint. He tells me all he can provide is for me to once again call "customer NO service" and ask for "presidential" information.

I do this today, 1/28/2015, and I am put on hold numerous times and hold for more than 10 minutes only to be told that she cannot locate a supervisor at this time and will have to write it up and have someone call me. Like that will EVER happen. So I told her to put it in her computer on my account that I will find every consumer website out there and will write this up. I have been a customer of RTG for over 20 years and had never had this experience before.

But I can tell you that I will never purchase anything from them in the future and would advise that no one else purchase furniture from them either. I will use every resource on the web and social media that I can find to make my experience known in hopes to prevent others from the same anger and frustration that I have and am currently going through.

UPDATE: 1/28/2015 they called and said they found the set and could now deliver as early as 2/3/2015 (after I had to raise my voice and ask for higher ups to file a complaint) AND a ** from corporate (I assume) called and said the best she could do would be to split the cost to upgrade the loveseat but that they would not comp the whole $200.00. Wow... they don't care they just lost a customer of 20 years over $200.00. I am not paying them another dime of my money so they lose not me.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Rooms To Go Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 99 ratings and
172 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Rooms To Go
11540 Hwy. 92 East
Seffner, FL 33584
813-623-5400 (ph)
813-620-1717 (fax)
www.roomstogo.com
Compare Furniture Stores