Rooms To Go - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 54 ratings and
127 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Requests for Under Warranty Products Are Ignored
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
GULFPORT, MISSISSIPPI -- In July 2013, I purchased a bedroom set and mattress ($2, 250.00 approx) for my son. It was delivered with multiple but small scratches. Knowing how hard it is for me (due to work schedule) to arrange for pick up and delivery, etc...I decided to allow them to "fix it" (Bad decision). The work is sloppy. The small scratches were less obvious than the marks/spots on the furniture after they are finished "fixing it". I took a deep breath and although upset, I let it go.

By Feb 2013 the drawer runner had almost disappeared (the wood had "shaved" and the drawer was not staying centered). I was very busy at the time and did not call them to come fix it until the beginning of May 2013. Two weeks later (mid May), the technician came and said he couldn't fix it due to not having the parts needed (I understood although I did not understand why I wasted time describing over the phone what was wrong with the dresser if the technician was not going to come prepared). He said it would take 2 weeks and he would give me a call. I let him know, it would have to be a Saturday (day off) and he seemed perfectly fine with the request. Two weeks later, a message was left on the answering machine (by the technician himself) letting me know he would be coming the next day (weekday) at 8 am. I called him back but there was no answer so I left him two messages (at different times) to let him know a weekday was not possible for me. I never heard from the technician again.

I called Rooms to go again at the beginning of June. I was mad and I have to admit, also rude because I was very frustrated with their service. This was complicated by a condescending attitude from the customer service staff over the phone. I was told there is nothing they can do and I just need to wait for their call. I wanted to established another complaint about their service but I was denied the chance because I already had a complaint and there was nothing for them to do for me. Tomorrow is June 30th and no one has called me from Rooms to Go. The product is still under warranty plus I bought extended warranty on everything but they literally behave as if they do not care and have no intention to fix the defective product. I have had other problems with them in the past. Seems that there is always something wrong but has taken me 3 purchasing "tries" to complaint online.

Please, do not believe their commercials or their sales staff. They will tell you what they know a customer wants to hear. When the moment comes to make it right to the customer, they turn away and let you sink. The products are not of good quality and the customer satisfaction experience is dreadful.
     
Replies
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
NO Return policy!!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
ARLINGTON, TEXAS -- Bought a mattress from Rooms to Go. Don't do it!! It's been a nightmare! Slept on it for 2 nights. Very uncomfortable my hips and back hurt! Called customer service wanting to exchange it. Very, Very rude customer service employee told me they have a "NO RETURN Policy" and I was "stuck with the $1300 purchase". She claimed it was all in the paperwork which I read and never found!! The store saleswoman claimed she was told not to tell the customer about this fact unless specifically asked! The store FINALLY did make good and replaced the mattress after making me keep it for 2 weeks and then incredibly delivering a wrong second mattress!Finally a month after purchase (and $152 more delivery fee) the right mattress was delivered and I'm sleeping well but I will not never again shop at Rooms to Go! Sad because I've been a very long term customer!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't buy furniture from Rooms To Go!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I bought a leather living room set from ROOMS TO GO about 2 years ago and now the leather is cracking. I also purchased a protection plan when I purchased the set so that if anything happens it would be taken care of. So, I called to get my leather set repaired, but they said that my protection plan was only for spills. I can't believe I wasted over $160 for a protection plan that could never be used. I also purchased a dining room set a couple of months after I purchased the leather living room set and now the chairs wood is wobbly. I barely use my dining room, so how can something that's barely being used break down this quickly?? Please DO NOT buy a thing from this company, because you are not getting your money's worth!!!!!!!!!!!! Room TO Go are crooks and they charge way over price for poor quality furniture!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Delivery 5 Weeks After Purchase
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- I purchased a new bedroom suit from Rooms To Go that was in their ad booklet and asked for a delivery for June the 5 which was 17 days after the purchase. The issues that I have is they are telling me that they couldn't deliver the bed until June the 21th which is more than 5 weeks after the day of purchase. How can you print a ad booklet stating that you have next day delivery with this bedroom suit in it saying that they have next day delivery. I gave them 17 days to deliver that bed! I have a big issue with Rooms To Go and will never purchase anything from this company ever again. I will make sure I tell anyone not to purchase from them also.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- Our nightmare with RTG began Nov. 2010. We ordered a leather couch and love seat. About 4 months later we noticed faded streaks in both pieces. Of course you have to call the 1-800 call center, I call them 1-800 idiots, to have a tech come examine the furniture. The tech comes and says they have this fading occur on this furniture all the time. I wanted to choose a different furniture and RTG said no I could get same kind again. Well I did. Two months later the "new" set begins to fade. I called the 1-800 idiots and they sent the techs again and the techs said the same thing about the fading. Well I still don't want my furniture replaced. I only want them to pick up furniture and just let me be finished with RTG. They said I could replace it with another kind of furniture. Well we choose more sorry furniture. On this third set of furniture the frame was bent on the recliner and because the front legs on the love seat were to far back it would tip forward throwing you out of the seat. The 1-800 idiots said we were not sitting on it properly. Well I begged the local RTG people to please take furniture back. I just want to be finished with them. Its like they continue to punish you for making the mistake of buying their sorry furniture. I am now on my fourth set set of furniture. I hate the day I ever set foot in RTG. I want everyone to know how awful the furniture and service is. It's a shame you have a LEMON LAW on a vehicle but you don't have one on furniture.
     
Replies
Worst Customer Service & Delivery EVER!!!
Posted by on
TAMPA, FLORIDA -- I ordered a Tempurpedic mattress, bunkie board, and mattress protector to be delivered to my home. I was told they would arrive from 1-5 on a Friday. At 4PM I received a call asking how my delivery went. I had yet to have my items delivered. They told me they forgot to put the mattress on the delivery truck and that apparently I told the delivery driver when he showed up at my door that it was okay. I never told anyone this nor did anyone show up at my door. All lies. The store, North Dale Mabry and 275 location, said that they could not just go back to the warehouse and re-deliver on the same day. I had to take the afternoon off from work to wait around for nothing. Then they tried to redeliver on Saturday morning at 8AM, except they were trying to deliver to the wrong apartment. They said that I refused to answer the door. They never came to my door. When they finally arrived they did not bring the bunkie board for the bed to be put on (in place of the box spring) and wanted me to accept a mattress that I could not trust was the correct one without it being in place on the bed frame. They took the mattress back and told me they would not go back and get the missing parts and would not redeliver. I decided to cancel my order and wanted my money refund. They told me they could not do this while my mattress was still in delivery status but they refused to redeliver. I went to the store and the manager Marc refused to return the money to my card and I would have to wait until corporate to take care of it. Then the manager went on to blame me for the delivery problems. I will never shop at any rooms to go. The customer should never be blamed for the incompetence of its own company. They are shady, liars, and down right thieves. Beware of this company, you will become a victim too.
     
Replies
Fraud
Posted by on
NORTH CAROLINA -- Since 1999 I have attempted to resolve a dispute with Rooms to Go, their finance company Household Bank, Na and now a collection agency named Sherman Acquisitions. I opened the account on October 31,1999. On October 31,1999 I purchased a complete berdroom set when it was delivered the molding on the footboard was completely detached from the footboard, I received a cherry oak siderail when the bedroom group was sandlewood, the sandlewood siderail had dents in it as well as white paint skuffed in several different places on it, and the metal slat supports that go under th bed were missing. I asked the delivery people to take the furniture back and send the order when it is corrected, I was told that they could not take furniture back once it is off the truck. I would have to contact customer service. Between the November delivery date and January 15,2000 I tried in good faith to return the damaged goods but again was told by the delivery people that they were not allowed to put stuff back on the truck once it was taken of so I would have to contact customer servic. Customerservice told me that they don't take returns, due to that I then attempted to come to an reasonable resolution to receiving damaged goods, an incomplete order, missed delivery dates (on five different occasions) and terrible customer service but was unable to get assistance from the Rooms to Go’s "customer satisfaction team", I went to their University City showroom in Charlotte on January 16,2000 and spoke with store manager Bill ****. I explained to Mr. **** what went on and after some negotiation I was offered a $400.00 store. I asked Mr. **** for a day to think about it since I had gotten damaged furniture the first go round, and he granted me that. On January 17, 2000 I returned to the RTG show room to accept the $400.00 store credit. When I went to the store I spoke with salesman Rick ****. Mr. **** informed me that Mr. **** was not on the premises but stated that he needed to speak with the office staff to verify my story and would assist me from there. Mr. *** came back and informed me that his staff was aware of my situation but Mr. **** left notes that I was only authorized a $300.00 store credit. I was livid because it was $100.00 less that what he promised me the day before needless to say I felt powerless and did not know what to do. I walked around the store for a while looking for a $300.00 item that I was willing to accept and found nothing, I decided on a 5 piece dinette set selling for $477.00. Mr. **** processed my order and at the conclusion of the sale had worked out a deal so that I paid an additional $36.72 for the dinette set, delivery and fabric protection for the chairs so the account balance would be increased only by $101.71. Delivery was set for January 26,2000 between 11 am and 3pm. On January 26 the dinette set was delivered on time, however the table was damaged. The table corners were badly smashed in and one the seat backs was separated from the chair. I called customer service and was treated rudely but I did manage to get a delivery date and time set up. The delivery was set for Saturday February 5th between 3 and 7 p.m. On February 5th the replacements for the dinette set and damaged chair were to be delivered. This time THREE corners of the table were smashed in and no replacement chair was received. I called customer service and they scheduled February 12th for the next delivery date. February 12 came and I waited all day and no delivery showed up. I left for work at 7:05 p.m. when I arrived home from work an sorry we missed you note was on my door stating that an attempt was made to deliver at 7:20pm. I again called Customer Service but this time demanded that they come get all of the damaged furniture, since their solution to compensate their damages turned out to be a flop but was told that they do not take returns. Because that I was unable to get the problem resolved with Rooms to Go in March of 2000 I decided to file a dispute with their finance company Household Retail services. I sent Household Retail services a statement of chronological events with dates, times and names of every person that I encountered between October 31,1999 to February 2000. In May 2004 I received a letter dated May 19,2000 signed by Mr. Paul **** customer service Representative ruling in my favor for in the dispute. This resulted in the account being credited for the full amounts of $201.74 and $1956.98 total $2158.72 and closed which let the account at a $0.00 balance In October of 2000 RTG contacted me attempting to get me to sign a “Customer Charge back Authorization” form or send them a check for the full amount that was credited by their finance company. The form stated that I was to sign stating that I was happy with resolution that Rooms to go gave which was the damaged dinette set and chairs to compensate for the damaged bedroom set. Because that statement was untrue I declined both attempts that were made to charge back the amount that was disputed and or re-open the account. In 2001 I pulled my credit and the account was closed with a $0.00 balance. In April 2003 I was preparing to qualify for my first home and discovered that the account had been re-opened, charged off and sold to Sherman Acquisitions for collections. Since April of 2003 I have spoken with Household Retail services, Sherman Acquisitions, the Better Business of Charlotte and two of the three credit reporting agencies that will not remove the account from my credit report. Trans Union Deleted the account in 2002 and has not allowed it to be reentered to my credit file. The collection agency and the CRA' keep telling me that the 13 pages of documentation proving that the account was fraudently re-opened is not sufficient to remove the account from collections and or delete it from my credit file. I am now faced with not being able to close on my home in December if this is not resolved by then. I CAUTION anyone from buying or receiving ANYTHING from Rooms To Go even if it was free.
     
Replies
Rooms to Go, Go to Hades!!
Posted by on
Excuse my French but Rooms to Go in the biggest piece of s**t furniture store around. They couldn't care less about their customers. The story begins...

I eagerly walk into a Rooms to Go store to purchase the Belmar Gentleman's Chest in green as an accent to my bedroom decor. The saleswoman was great, in and out, $700+ paid in cash. I inform the saleswoman that I would be back to purchase a furniture set for my son.

The furniture was delivered on time but to my surprise there was a huge hole at the top of the chest. Being the nice person that I am, I saved the delivery man the trouble and bringing the broken furniture up two flights of stairs and denied the delivery.

As soon as the delivery man leaves, I receive a call from Rooms to Go asking how the delivery went. I explain to the customer service representative that the piece of furniture was broken and I denied the delivery. She then informs me that the delivery man has told her the same. So, thinking that we are all on the same page, I ask for another delivery date. She drops the bomb explaining that I must wait 48 hours until I can schedule for a new piece of furniture and that I should have wasted the delivery man time by having him bring the furniture into my home.

48 hours later I call to schedule for a new delivery date and the my pleasure (sarcasm) it will be another week until I can have my furniture. Keep in mind that had my money on the spot. Yay!! It is delivery day; I wonder what awaits me now. This time the delivery man (dm) is late but at least the chest does not have a hole on top. The furniture is brought up and assembled. Then, the dm leaves to get the door for the furniture. Well, Rooms to Go will never let you down, the door is not in the delivery truck! Learning from the previous experience, I kept the chest without the door.

By this time I should add RTG customer service to my Fav 5. I explain the door situation, ask that the door be sent UPS because I am not taking of work to wait for a door. Customer service says they will send the door UPS.
Today the door comes but I did not know that the UPS man wore a RTG shirt!!! Luckily my brother was home, for I was at work trying to make up for the money wasted with RTG. Well guess what else this time, the doors here but there is not hardware to assemble to door!! Now I know that my brother a logical person and doing the logical thing he denied the delivery. So yes, I will have to wait another 48 hours until I can schedule for a new door.

I hate to break my word to that nice saleswoman but I will not be back, also I will tell any and everyone not to purchase furniture from RTG. I am a hardworking, young, single mother, I do not fork over $700+ to just anyone. I am disappointed with the way Rooms to Go conducts business.
     
Replies
Need exercise? Rooms to go kids will give you the run around
Posted by on
I recently ordered the taffy twin/full step bunk with trundle. I ordered online which was easy enough. The actual problems began when I had to interact with the actual company. Initially, they called to give you a four hour time window. This time when extends continually throughout the day and you spend an entire day waiting on a delivery. When the product finally arrives, parts to the full bed are missing. The delivery driver assures me that someone will contact me shortly and even gives me a number to call. Of course, he knew that the offices were closed and I would not be able to contact anyone. I immediately sent them an email. No one contacted me for 2 days. Finally, I contacted their customer service which should be renamed to customer screwers. They informed me that they were really busy and it may take a week before they could deliver. I had already waited a week. After repeatedly refusing their offer of a week, I was told that may be they could fit me in within 48 hours. They would call me back within 30 minutes to confirm. Of course no one called back. The next day I get a call saying the delivery would be the following day between 11 - 3. On the day of the anticipated 2nd delivery I call to confirm and the customer screwers inform me that they have no record of this and I must be mistaken. I inform them that I have the conversation saved on my phone (which I do). They still proceed to say that I must be mistaken because they have no record of me calling. I asked to speak to a higher level of management and I am told "that won't be happening". After this, I call their corporate office in Florida. The service here is not any better. In fact, I am informed that they would be more understanding if they were in my shoes because things do happen. So I do understand that things do happen and after reading a lot of reviews on Rooms to go they tend to happen more at Rooms to go. Therefore, I will spend my money with companies that actually value their customers. If you want exercise, shop at rooms to go because they will give you the ultimate run around experience. However, if you value great customer service, quality for your money, and a pleasurable shopping experience shop somewhere else.
     
Replies
Rooms to go don't honor what they say
Posted by on
ARLINGTON, TEXAS -- Saturday morning I went to Rooms to Go and I decided to buy a livingroom set with a verbal agreement to hold my check till Wednesday that's when my 401k check was going to reflect in my account the lady in the office with the name of Erika agreed and said yes we will hold your check till Wednesday but this will extend the time to when the furniture can be picked up. Obviously that was OK with me as long as they hold the check till Wednesday. As a big chain I believed that I could trust this company to honor the hold. To my surprise they deposit the check the next business day and resulted with 2 overdraft fees of $35. The overdraft fees aren\'t that much money I understand what upset me is that they didn\'t honor what we agreed on. I spoke with the manager thinking this was going to be a professional conversation and I was totally wrong this was a very unpleasant one. The manager was very rude and we asked him to refund our money and he didn\'t want to. He mentioned that after 48 hours he couldn\'t refund the money. Behind the receipt it states that you can get your 100% refund within 48 hours after that you can only get 80%. Guess what? he wouldn\'t refund the 80% neither. I was very upset- they don\'t honor what they say and they don\'t accept their errors. As a manager I would just apologize and refund the overdraft fees of $70 and maintain a happy customer. But they didn\'t want to accept their error and he was just talking of how it was against the law writing a check with no funds. Affortunately I had funds this is the reason it was paid so no I didn\'t break the law! But I was waiting for my 401k check to reflect in my account this is the reason I asked to hold it and they gladly accepted. My bank did pay rooms to go but when over the limit so there goes the first overdraft fee I put gas thinking I had money in my account there goes the second overdraft fee. Just because they didn\'t hold my check for Wednesday. As I was complaining Erika the lady that agreed to hold the check was seating behind the desk and was hearing out conversation. She never stood up to apologize and admit that she made a mistake in sending that check. The manager was the only one raising his voice saying that they don\'t hold and that what I\'m saying is a lie! Again she never stood up to apologize she was hiding behind the desk! They don\'t care about customers Rooms to Go has poor Customer Service- all they care is about making money and once they make a sell they don\'t care about the customer. I have the right to get at least my 80% refund. As a unsatisfied customer they don\'t deserve to keep my money that I work very hard to obtain. My advice to others go to another furniture store that have better customer service and love keeping their customers happy.

Damage Resulting
Overdraft fees and they don\'t want to refund my money that legally I deserve to have. Behind the receipt it states clearly that I\'m entitled to at least my 80% after the 48 hour period. RTG DON\'T WANT TO REFUND ME BACK!!
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >