Preview Review

Next Review

Sprint Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
If There Is a Hell It Is Named Sprint
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51 - Consumer improved rating by 2 stars

VALLEJO, CALIFORNIA -- Beginning April 2015

Grandson, 18, wanted Sprint for unlimited texting. I agreed to help grandson. Went to Sprint store, told by saleswoman I had to have my name on account to run my credit, said I could take my name off after account set up. Saleswoman very friendly, said to lease phone and lease price would be divided into monthly payments and added to bill. We, grandson and I agreed.

August 28, 2015, Friday

I hadn't taken my name off account yet. Received email from Sprint telling me they were going to send me to collections if I didn't pay $187.00. Paid by credit card. Never received a bill. Decided to take my name off account.

August 30, 2015, Sunday, Begin 11:30 AM end 4:45 PM

Went with grandson to Sprint store to take my name off account as agreed upon. Was told I couldn't do it in store. Given form to do it online. Took form, drove back home, attempted to do it online, per instructions on form, believing I was removing my name from account. Got to page where told I was not authorized to proceed. Called Sprint, went through telephone tree, no option for representative, hit zero six times, got representative. Forty-five minutes, on hold several times, customer representative couldn't understand what I was doing.

Went back online, repeated process on paper given to me at store, got same message. Called Sprint store. Told he couldn't understand, would have to come back into store. Drove back to store. Saw saleswoman who leased phone and sold contract. Told her what happened. She said couldn't do it in store. Was cold and unhelpful. I said she could look in her computer and see message. She did. She said she didn't know why. I wasn't leaving until she helped.

She worked in computer, said problem was grandson had to have login name and password. I said I would do it. She turned computer toward me, asked me to put in grandson's name and new password. I did. Thought problem solved. She said when I got home I had to click on link being sent by email within four hours. Thanked everyone on my way out of store. Drove home, watched for email, never came. Waited through Monday, email never came.

September 1, 2015, Tuesday, 11:30 Am until 3:30 PM

Called Sprint Customer Service. Got telephone tree, would not give me option to speak to representative. Hit zero six times, transferred to representative. Explained I did not get email. Put on hold several times, representative needed to consult with “team”. Much back and forth and being put on hold. Representative came back, said email with form was sent, my grandson and I had to sign it, I had to send it back as attachment in reply to form email. Didn't understand why.

Finally told there were two accounts, one with my name (first account), one with grandson's name (second account). I had filled out paperwork online day before (per saleswoman's directions) and was releasing phone number to new account when I thought I was removing my name from existing account not opening another account. Explained that wasn't what I intended to do, not what I was told I could do, not what saleswoman said she was doing.

Several more times on hold, twice two different representatives called saleswoman who denied she'd told me what she'd told me: that I could remove my name from original account, never a mention about having to open another account. Asked for supervisor. Put back on hold. Same representative came back on phone. Repeated wrong story back to me about my complaint. I clarified by telling entire story again for about seventh time.

Put back on hold. Asked for supervisor two more times, representative kept talking, putting me on hold to consult with team or supervisor. No supervisor provided. Problem not solved. Representative kept explaining same thing to me that there were now two accounts, that I'd made second account. Said I'd done it, nothing else could be done. Got angry, demanded supervisor. Put on hold. Supervisor came online, said she'd spoken with store, saleswoman had mislead me, would have consequences, apologized, said leave new account with grandson name, wouldn't have my name. Old account would cease to exist. Thought problem solved.

September 2, 2015, Wednesday, 1:30 PM

Decided to look into grandson's new account, make sure it was O.K. Had login name and password. Saw bill saying “Due now-$250”, shocked. Called customer service, no option to speak to representative, hit zero six times, got representative. I explained I'd paid $187.00 Friday night couldn't owe $250. Went through entire story, again. Representative went back and forth between old account and new account, saw I had paid $187.00 August 28. Put on hold for representative to consult with team, on hold for fifteen minutes, many previous holds that long.

A different person picked up line and asked me for my phone number as if I was just then calling customer service. I got angry, said I'd been on hold for fifteen minutes. New representative hung up. Called customer service again, no option to speak to a representative, hit zero six time, got representative. Explained entire story to new representative who said he was going to speak to his supervisor but he wouldn't put me on hold, he would just take off headset and go speak to his supervisor, then spent five minutes explaining to me that he was going to help with problem, repeated problem, assured me he would help me.

Waited five minutes listening to background noise. Representative came back, told me $250.00 on new account was deposit for new account because of grandson's non-existent credit rating, only way to remove $250.00 deposit was to return, with my name, with grandson to first account. I got angry, again, said we'd come full circle back to beginning.

Representative was going to take off headset again and go consult another supervisor. I said I'm psychotherapist and client in waiting room for fifteen minutes. Told representative to please leave message on my cell phone (Verizon, thankfully). Representative agreed. Client left. I checked my voicemail. Representative repeated only way to get rid of $250.00 was to return to original account with my name and grandson.

Decided to call Verizon when I got off work and ask them to get phone number to open account with Verizon. A couple of hours later realized I would have to pay for phone and early termination fees and had already paid $187.00 even if I didn't pay $250.00. Threw in the towel. Only way to end insanity was to print out form, sign, email back, pay $250.00 on new account. Paid $250.00 with credit card. Printed form, drove to grandson, he signed, drove home, I signed.

Wrote this, took two hours, nothing compared to time I've wasted with Sprint, not to mention stress. Do not use this company. In my entire 69 years, this is the WORST company/customer service I've ever done business with. I've been to Hell and it is named SPRINT.

Resolution Update 09/08/2015:

After searching the Internet for two hours I was able to find the email address for Sprint's CEO, Marcelo Claure. I was unable to find any other Sprint executive's email. I sent the review to Mr. Claure that I posted here at night and asked him to please read it. By the next am I had an email from him. He said my issue would be resolved that day. By noon someone called me, apologetic, saying things are changing at Sprint. I believe Mr. Claure is the new CEO. She gave me her direct line and listened to my story. The day after that I received an email from her detailing what is going to be done. They're returning my $250, making sure my $187 payment is posted to my grandson's "new" account, making sure nothing goes on my credit including a hard inquiry and making sure I don't have an open account with Sprint. I was floored because of the many, many hours I spent with Sprint customer service and in the Sprint store and got nowhere. Apparently Mr. Marcelo values even the smallest customers at Sprint and he made sure everything was cleared up. I only put three stars because of what I went through to get to Mr. Marcelo. If he is the new face of Sprint I would certainly give it a try after he's had the helm for several months, enough time to overhaul Sprint's customer service. I am very happy that he didn't ignore my email.

Replies
Advertisement
Thieves
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- We purchased (2) IPhone 5S phones and (1) IPhone 4S outright. We own the phones totally. We were the first in the Speedway store to get the new promotion that Sprint offered, $100.00 per month for the family 20GB data share plan. Sprint was supposed to pay for our cancellation fees with AT&T as well. When we received our cancellation bill from AT&T we brought it right over to the Speedway store and they made a copy and sent it in. They stated that it would be around 30 days before we would receive our visa/Mastercard with the money that we already paid to cancel with AT&T.

It was close to a month. I called them and they said that they received the wrong paper bill from us. I could not even understand how someone at the store could have made such an error! I re-sent in the proper paperwork and also went to the store to have them do this again. So 10/17/14 we sent the first one in and on 11/17/14 the second one was sent in. Now when I try to check it with the confirmation number it states that it cannot find an offer matching the number I provided. Wow! Upon purchase of the phones and the plan we were talked into getting two tablets FREE of charge.

We told the employees that we did not need them. They stated that "they are free so you might as well." We discussed at length how "FREE" they would be. They both informed us that we would not be charged a penny for anything that has to do with the tablets. Ha no surprise. When I spoke to the woman at Sprint she told me that we were in fact being charged for the tablets and we still owe $219.99 on each of them. Wow! We are also being charged access fees for all phones and term access charges. With this we are being charged each month for the phones again. We already bought them outright.

I have spent tireless hours since August on this issue. My patience is wearing a bit thin since I can not get anyone to help me or I get, let me call you back today, we are working on it now and never receive a call back. I have never in my life had so many problems with a carrier and have been lied to constantly. We are not a rich people and cannot keep giving Sprint money and not expect the money that is owed to us and not in the form of credit. We gave money out of our pocket and expect the same courtesy of getting the money back to put back in our account. I can go on all day on what we have been going through for all these months.

We have since tried to cancel our phones and tablets that we never wanted. The phones were not on contract. It took a good month to actually get all canceled. We figured, why should we keep paying all the charges that we should not be paying. They will NOT fix anything for us and correct the bill. We are now trying to get our money back, which totals around $1200-$1400. I have called so many times and I have ALL the conversations and details of everything I need in a file waiting for someone to help us.

I called on May 8th and spoke to Robert in the Arizona call center. Without me even asking he found that Sprint owes us about $1200. He didn't search anymore. Just wanted to get it to the correct people so they can cut me a check. The "Right People" declined this and said they don't see anything where we paid extra. Ha, I have everything that states otherwise and the detailed notes from May com and Robert. I continue to call this call center and try to speak to Robert but I get a different story each time. I have his Employee ID# but no one can help. Amazing!! I will not give up on this. I do not like people who make millions of dollars a day to steal from the little people. It is absolutely disgusting!

Replies
Horrible Customer Service Given From Sprint
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- My letter to the CEO of Sprint and to Patricia ** In the office of the CEO of Sprint: My time with Sprint was an experience... I will not soon forget after 3+ years of service with Sprint. Since June when my phone was stolen and needed replacement I have gone through what Sprint considers customer service experiences, that can not be fathomed. In total now since June I have spent 18hrs total on hold or talking with Sprint representatives. I have been through four total phones and was on my way to needing a fifth, and had to travel approximately 30 miles to receive service to even use my phone.

With that being said I hoped that the office of the CEO and its representatives would have listened to my concerns and at least attempted to solve my issue with something other than $250 worth of Bill credits, but instead I was asked to travel to two different stores across town from each other (approx 10 miles in traffic, approximately 30 extra minutes) to be told that my phone would take an hour and a half to take apart and be fix with parts from a 14 day return that someone else had to bring back for whatever reason.

I have attempted to give as much time was needed to accommodate the issue to be resolved and even given suggestions as to what could be done to retain my business. My suggestion was to just simply remove the nightmare of the note 4 from my life, whether it be something comparable or and upgrade version I did not care but something that worked well. I was told that my suggestions were just not possible.

This is not an acceptable way to treat a customer of 3+ years of loyal service at 350+ dollars a month. I understand that I am not a corps. or an Inc and that I am just Jon **. customer, but as such, I plan to advised everyone I know of the level of service that was provided to me even at the top level of your company via social media and word of mouth. I am sure I'll find that there are thousands of people just like me. Patricia has my information as to what was needed for the account going forward. Sincerely, a highly disappointed customer and former user of Sprint services.

Replies
Nothing but Problems
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOISE, IDAHO -- I bought my grandparents a tablet through Sprint so they could use it to check email and Facebook and take pictures. The contract was a two year contract, like normal. Anyways, from day one they can't get service/reception unless they are on WiFi. We call Sprint, they say to do these different things, which we do, to no avail. We took the tablet to a Sprint store, still nothing.

Four trips later, we still can't get their tablet to work without WiFi. They called the Sprint customer service center again to complain about what they have been through and the gal said they will discount their monthly price for all of the inconveniences they have been through. Well, two days later they get a notice on their tablet that says that they have used all of their data, even though the tablet has not even been turned on.

So again, we make yet another call to the Sprint customer service center and we were told that the gal had changed their plan so now they have less data, but they had paid full price for the current month. They were told they would receive a credit for the month as it would be prorated. However, that was not what the girl told them. She said she was giving them a discounted rate for all of the trouble they had had with their service. Sprint refused to help out in any way or do anything to fix the current situation.

So we asked that they put a note in their system that the contract was so to be canceled as soon as the contract was up.... only to be told that they couldn't do that either and that they would just have to call back and cancel it at a later date. This was the most frustrating experience I have ever had with any company. They were completely unhelpful, unapologetic and they did nothing what so ever to even try to remedy the situation.

Replies
Advertisement
Keep Raising Bills, and Offering Excuses as to Why!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We had unlimited everything through Sprint. An in-store sales guide convinced us to go off of it to another plan as we would never go over on minutes. We did. So, I called Sprint to get back on the unlimited plan that we were on. It is no longer offered!!! So, after a bunch of yelling the representative "by a miracle", found me an unlimited plan. We agreed on $270 a month, not a penny over, all in. ALL OF A SUDDEN, we start getting texts from Sprint that we are over on minutes?

I called in AGAIN, got someone else... (Luckily, I wrote down the confirmation # from the first conversation.) She says, "Not sure what happened, but he never saved it in the computer, and I can't find what he promised you, but let me see what I can do". After a half hour on hold, she comes back with another "miracle". $280 a month. "Can't get to $270, but we can do $280 all in." I get my most recent bill, $385!! I am on the phone now, and they are making more excuses. I am screaming at them!!!

They are just trying to run in circles and make excuses. Now they are escalating to someone else because this second level supervisor CANNOT CREDIT ME BACK WHAT THEY OVERCHARGED ME!! What?? How can anyone in the year 2016 think that they can run a business like this?? So terrible!!! I literally have been on the phone with them (a total) of 4 hours and counting!!!

Replies
My Bill Continues to Be Wrong Each Month and the National Sprint Will Not Fix It.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was told there would not be an access fee because that was the promotion when we added a line. Now, each month, the access fee keeps showing up. The local office said it was going on and they have fixed the bill a couple of times. I have tried the Customer Service for the company. They have said they understand and fixed it twice, but they won't take it off the bill. They said the promotion was over when we got the phone and my only option is the local office can continue to fix it if they choose to do it. Very frustrating. The local office should have the authority to fix it for good or else the national Customer Service should fix it.

Replies
Do Not Sign Up With Sprint - Phone And Customer Service At Its Worst
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KANSAS -- Do not sign up with Sprint cellular... ever!!! There is only a 14 day trial period (starts from the date the phones were ordered, not when they are activated) to return the phones if you do not like the service. My service is horrible. I am 5 days outside this 14 day period and Sprint will not allow me to return the phones and get out of the contract without paying all the charges for the 2 years... over $2k!!!

Customer service is not helpful at all. They keep telling me that the connection needs reset and that it is not their network. All the phones on my account drop calls, have minimum reception in most places. I was on the phone with Sprint customer care and it dropped the call. Had to start all over with someone new. Do not sign up!!! If you do and your service does suck like mine take the phones back immediately!!! Do not wait.

Replies
Awful Customer Service-Waste of Time Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNESOTA -- I was connected to a representative to have my phone unlocked for international use. They were not able to help me and ended up disconnecting before answering my further questions. It was a complete hassle trying to connect with them and a complete waste of time once connected. It's bad enough that their products are limited to only their carrier, even after years of using their service. Now the $900 phone I purchased is basically useless unless I am in the US and using Sprint. In this day and age, we live in a mobile world, and Sprint restrictions are unrealistic. I would not recommend this cell phone provider to anyone.

Replies
Advertisement
Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MO., KANSAS -- I bought a Sprint flip phone back in 2009. I ordered the internet, for the first time. I was sickened that the rate was to be 120.00 a month. I endured this ridiculous rate for many months. I added my Son to my plan and was further insulted when the bill returned to show that there was NO additional rate discount on the family plan. I called them to tell them I was paying 250.00 a month for merely two phones. Sprint did absolutely NOTHING to remedy this financial robbery. I then, discontinued my service, as THEY defaulted on THEIR agreement.

Now, today, they renew the ONLY bad reference on my credit report. Hey Sprint, you can shove that fraudulent 850.00 fee sideways up your corporate asses. Find your overblown raises in somebody else's pocket. If I acted like this with other People's finances, I would be subject to Civil Actions. But SPRINT thinks they are above law. It will be a Happy Day when I hear Sprint is finally broke and gone. Good Riddance you deceptive losers! Your business practices follow the same as the now dead Blockbuster Video.

Replies
Was Cheated by Sprint Cell
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA CRUZ, CALIFORNIA -- Started to have problems with Sprint service since I moved from East Bay in 2010. Although for my time with them and since they sent me an Airave I decided to stay with them with a very high cost. I am working with elderly people where the Internet is 100% needed. Took me 4 weeks with Sprint dealing with them and no solution to the very bad reception problem as well as drop calls every other day. The result, I decided to move to another cell company after being informed that I can use Sprint phone with anyone else with the condition that I pay in full. The result, I paid in full the phones and can and could use with any cell carrier provider, Verizon or AT&T.

In both companies I had the same problems and Sprint phones cannot be used. Consequence, I have to buy new equipment spending another 1500$ and having two almost brand new mobiles phones, Note 4 and Galaxy 5. Customers reps, everyone had a different speech but no sign of being polite or look for a solution. Definitely will not spend 160$ a month for ** service. If somebody knows how to fill a customer complaint other than Sprint please let me know. It is not fair and right to be punished in the way that I was and worst spending used 800 for nothing because I cannot use the damn Sprint phones with anyone after being fully paid.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Sprint Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 177 ratings and
308 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Sprint
2330 Shawnee Mission Pkwy.
Westwood, KS 66205
913-624-3000 (ph)
www.sprint.com
investorrelation.sprintcom@mail.sprint.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services