Preview Review

Next Review

Startec Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Startec Is the Worst Long Distance Provider
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA, OHIO -- My experience with Startec is that they have not kept any of the promises and they tried to make me believe I imagined they have promised me a deal for a long distance rate to Croatia. When I called they have increased a rate since July 2015 from 6.9 cents to 15 cent and have charged me this rate without advising me - or at least it was not obvious. Then they have promised they would switch the rate to 6.9 cents few months ago and kept charging me the 15 cents ever since even though they agreed to give me a credit for the overcharge in the last 3 months.

Their customer service just don't care - speaking to Melissa their manager it was obvious to me that they simply don't care to lose me as a customer. They explained that there was no way I was promised the lower rate and then when I tried to cancel they offered me this rate again!!! I don't believe they would have kept their promise as I once again was not going to fall for this trick so I have cancelled the service and I really feel good about it. They should not get my money as their customer service is definitely one of the worst I have ever dealt with.

If you by any chance prepay the service and don't pay the bill for 2 months because you have prepaid they will automatically disconnect your service. Good luck in getting the reconnect without paying for the new connection fee. Frankly if you choose them as your provider you have really not looked around as other companies provide much better rates and customer servi

Replies
Advertisement
Startec Is Not Reliable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VANCOUVER -- This company always overcharge the customer. Do NOT trust them! Even after I cancelled my account they charged me because they had my Visa credit card number and didn't stop it! They were supposed to return my money back, but they never did. I'll never recommend anybody to work with this company. You will lose your money.

Replies
Cancelling the Service - as Idiotic as It Gets
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- My Mother-in-Law passed away on December 31st, 2014. I tried to cancel her service (and I have done it for AT&T, PG&E - local utility company in the Bay Area, Cable, etc.) It took one phone call, 5 minutes, expression of condolences on the other end.

THE ONLY EXCEPTION - STARTEC! They requested the Death Certificate (of course, it would take several weeks before we get it.) Incompetent, rude employees, hardly speaking any English. DO NOT CARE attitude. This is not the first time I have experienced unprofessional behavior by Startec employees. My sincere advice to everybody - do not deal with these people.

Replies
Overcharged
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I was a Startec customer for about 7 years. I was not reviewing my bills as I trusted they will take the actual charge from my account (pay as you go kind of contract that you pay based on the minutes you talk.) I checked my account as I saw they are charging a constant amount every month. I noticed that they have included me into a plan, which has a minimum charge. As a result, for the months that I talked only 4 minutes, I have paid 6.25 which should be about 16 cents... That is a rip off... when I called they didn't fix anything and didn't care at all...

Replies
Advertisement
Rip off business
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This company is a rip off. They sell you prepaid telephone cards for a $0.019 per minutes and then they changed it to $0.119 per minutes. I called and talked with them for 20 minutes and I realized that it is their standard operation. Do not let them to rip you off. Stay away from them.

Replies
Startec Is Awful! The Worst Company Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST LOUIS, MISSOURI -- They charged you before even you use the service and also after canceling the account! There is no refund at all! As they would be richer and richer with the small amount of money they charged poor people each month! The customer service is awful. They are rude and disrespectful. When you wanna open an account it is easy like a piece of cake! When you want to cancel it takes hours to do it! They are awful awful awful!

Company Response 09/29/2015:

CANCELING an account DURING a billing cycle WILL yeald one FINAL invoice with your unbilled calls, its only natural, you use you have to pay , right ?

As for cancelation you just have to stay with them untill they offer you a cancelation confirmation number, its that simple . If you hang up, if you request by e-mail, if you send a letter....that won't do .

Replies
False Information
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- The customer service representative are giving different information. They gave me the rate before I sign up then after I checked my bill and it's a different rate. I called them and the representative and manager are so rude. They are not helpful and did not even provide any options. Don't sign up with this company. Poor customer service. I called again and spoke to different manager and they are all rude... Poor customer relation skills. Don't waste your money here.

Replies
They Opened an Account Without My Permission
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO, CALIFORNIA -- I received a bill for an account that I never opened. I called customer services and the explanation that they gave me was that "the account was opened by the SYSTEM" when I dialed **. I don't think this is legal. I have been with Bell for many years and every time I called long distance I dialed in front one of those VoIP number and I was getting billed a reasonable amount as part of the Bell bill. Is it legal for them to "open an account" like this?

Company Response 09/29/2015:

IF you use 1010 access codes that BELONG to this company THAN this company HAS to bill you for the calls you place using that code. They have a billing agreement with your LOCAL company . When you use the code a basic account is created TO keep track of your USAGE and bill you the CORRECT amount . That account, if you can call it that, is something necesary . It has no personal info, just a phone number . And IT IS legal , FCC AND FTC approves. You people should stop, its like you are criticizing THE FCC and THE FTC that are the guard dogs of ANY TELECOM COMPANY .

Replies
Advertisement
Rip Off Fraud Co.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALAMO, CALIFORNIA -- I have opened an account with Startec 3 hours ago. Later when I read the customer's complaints I have changed my mind. I called to cancel my service that I had not used. Startec told me there is a charge to cancel the service, but the representative told me there is no charge. These guys are a rip off. Do not deal with them.

Replies
Startec Thinks I'm Stupid
By -

ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND -- I signed up for Startec last May 26th when I didn't have a phone card handy and had to make an emergency call to the Philippines. After talking to a really nice agent about the details of their services such as not having to dial the access number when dialing from my cellphone, I started making my calls. When I opened my bill from my AT&T on June 2nd, I almost had a cardiac arrest after seeing a $1345.51 bill.

So I called Startec's customer service to clear up the miscommunication and was on hold for almost an hour while they were trying to trace the phone call when I signed up. Finally, they gave me a 24 hr waiting period for them to locate that call so we can listen to it together. I'm still waiting for them to trace it. When I asked to talk to a manager, I was given a 48-72 hr waiting period for them to call me back?! I wrote a letter and faxed and emailed it to corporate and customer service and got this response:

"I apologize if there was miscommunication during the sales call and this is the reason we send out the welcome package to clear up any questions or concerns the customer may have. Startec does not issue credit for charges that were incurred through another provider. If there is anything that I can do to further assist you please feel free to contact me."

But let me clarify that the "Welcome Package" was sent to me BEFORE I talked with the agent and had no instructions specifically for the service I was trying to avail. The person who wrote that email didn't even give "its" name but instead just left the regular customer service line so when I try to call them back, I have to retell my story over again. STARTEC THINKS I'M STUPID FOR FOLLOWING THE INSTRUCTIONS THEY GAVE ME WHEN I SIGNED UP.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Startec Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
19 reviews & complaints.
Compare Phone/Mobile Services