Time Warner Cable

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 77 ratings and
188 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Time Warner Cable
60 Columbus Circle
New York, NY 10023
1-800-892-4357 (ph)
Timewarner (fax)
Compare Phone/Mobile Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- After AT&T finally p*ssed me off for the last time I decided it was time to change providers. I called Time Warner Cable the first of August and asked about how much basic TV and Roadrunner turbo it cost me. The woman over the phone told me it would cost me $72.66 a month. The woman took my personal information street address, social security number, that kind of stuff and, told me how would I like to pay for that over the phone or in person. I told her I would like to do it in person so I can pick up the equipment, she said no problem. After that it was about 12 o'clock we both hung up and I went out to eat with family.

It was 2:58 when I get up front at Time Warner Cable to talk to a person about getting the service and everything. The woman over the counter said that she saw everything was set up and all I would have to do is pay my first month for the service in advance and a deposit. I told her I talked to a woman over the phone and she said nothing about the deposit. The woman over the counter replied with they couldn't check my credit because I have none and that there would be a $50 deposit up front with the first service in advance, so the $72 became $123 before they would establish my service.

I paid it and she gave me the modem for the internet. Now that's when I asked her when would it be turned on and she replied later on today if not Friday. She said for more accurate time description I would need to call the 1866 number and ask for more details. I got home and hooked up the internet modem and hooked up all my TVs and nothing was working. I called Time Warner Cable and they told me that there's a service appointment set up for Friday at 5 o'clock. I told the man over the phone thank you and have a good day. He told me the same and then we hung up.

I was home all day Friday and no one came out to my house. I called Time Warner back and I was told that there was no appointment for Friday that I would have to schedule one for Monday. I said okay now I got to go all weekend without any service, what a drag. I setup a service appointment for Monday and the woman over the phone to be an all day thing from 7 a.m. till 10 p.m. And that the service technician could drop by anytime in between those two times, I said wow very accurate timing. Everything was set so we part our goodbyes and we hung up.

Was home all day Monday again no one came out to my house, shocking. I called Time Warner right before the calling center closed they told me I was still within the appointment time and can a rudely asked me not to call until tomorrow. I called Time Warner Cable Tuesday and they tell me the service appointment was set up for 11 to 12 that Tuesday, and they told me that no service appointment existed for Monday. I was just flat-out confused.

Around 11 o'clock there is a white Ford F 150 parked beside the utility pole across the street from my house at the neighbor's house. The truck had bags of potting soil in the back and a trailer attached with a large ladder in the trailer. He climbs the pole messed around with something for about 15 minutes got his ladder put it up and then left. My service still wasn't working.

Wednesday nothing else happened. The pole for the cable is in my backyard and no one touched it and my service still wasn't working so I called Time Warner back. The woman over the phone didn't tell me that could have been the cable man to hook up the service but she said that she didn't know for sure and in fact a service technician did report that he did hook up my cable but it wasn't. I told the woman over the phone I was getting pretty upset about this that she said that she scheduled appointment for tomorrow in between 11 and 12 for Thursday.

She told me that that was the earliest appointment I could get on Thursday and I told her that it would have been exactly one week that I paid over $100 for the service that I'm not getting. She apologized, we both said goodbye I hung up and wait until Thursday. Boy was I mad. The technician called directly at 11 and said is around the corner and we'll be there in about 10 minutes. Well he showed up 30 minutes later. I told him what happened about the other guy across the street he said he didn't know either.

In my backyard he'd looked at the pole and told me it wasn't hooked up, I told him it wasn't hooked up. He climbs the pole and 60 seconds later all the TVs started working and the internet started working too. He asked me did I have any other problems and I told him no. I got the internet registered and it was working completely and so he left.

Time Warner Cable also informed me that I paid for service days I didn't get and there's nothing that they were going to do about it. That was a weeks worth of service I paid for down the drain and on top of it they charged me $50 for the service call to come to hook up my service that was supposed to be done right the first time. Right now I haven't brought that to their attention so it's still on my bill. If they decide to remove it or not I'll make sure to update this to let you know what happens.

Other than paying for service for a week that I didn't get, getting the runaround, lies and other stuff I have to say just watch with the sign up with these guys. Now that the service has been turned on I've been using it for a couple days and TV fine the internet is blazing fast and I think I'm paying a pretty good price so I'm happy for now. P.S Time Warner Cable Informed me if I left that my $123 for not be refunded it would go to a credit towards my bill First. A bill that I never got. But what Time Warner Cable is trying to tell me about my $123 that they would keep it even know I left and never had any service.

Update 8/28/13 2:32 pm. Today Time Warner Cable has charge me $45 extra to install internet which they didn't and charged me an extra $30 for an "Easy Connect" follow up fee. I don't understand those two charges, but, together they add up to a whole month of service and I was told by representatives that they were first time customer charges and there are no way out of them.

I've already paid them a $123 in advance and now they're demanding $147 has my first bill. I don't know what these people are up to, but they're just downright CRAZY! Also another thing is driving me wild they're charging me full price for my turbo internet. No promotional pricing nothing. This is how they treat new customers. Now I see why they only lose them.

I don't even have enough to pay the $72 myself my brother pays half of it and I pay the other half and together we can't pay $147.62. Well then again it should have been a red flag that everyone in my neighborhood has AT&T U verse I'm the only one with Time Warner and now I know why. The Internet is still fast the TV still reliable no issues but it's just too much start up fees. They are just trying to rip you off. Once again I'm going to attempt to call them and ask them to remove those two fees or lose me as a customer.

Update September 9th 2013. Today I finally had those 2 charges for installation removed off my bill. After I called Time Warner Cable and talk to the first employee who was very rude to me. He told me that there was no way out of the two charges. He refused to listen to me and I told him about my story about the first technician not showing up, and the second technician did what the first technician should have done in the first place.

And he told me that the $45 fee was for someone to physically come out into my house and hook up my modem themselves, and that the $30 follow-up connect is where I hook it up myself but didn't do it right and they have to send somebody out to do it right. But that's two charges shouldn't be together. It was so called hooked up by a professional then why was I charged because I didn't hook it up right, that's what I didn't understand.

He was being so rude to me and wouldn't listen to me then I ask to speak to his manager. I had asked four times before I finally got transferred. Once I got his manager listen to me for about the first minute and then told me he would remove the charges on there was no battle or arguing with his manager. He just remove the charges right off my bill. I've already paid my bill for this month switch with $68.50 for some reason. I have everything on.

I'm happy everything was resolved and I can continue being a Time Warner customer, but I would have been even happier if none of this ever started. In the near future I plan to buy my own cable modem and save $7 a month of the finance fees that they charge for their modem. I will post information to let you know how that goes, and I plan on downgrading my internet from turbo to standard. I'll let you know how that goes too. For Now I'm happy with the service and I'm happy with the price.

Mistreatment of Their Customers,disgusted by Their Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORONA, CALIFORNIA -- I have been a customer with Time Warner ever since they took over Continental cable. Since the beginning, we have had an ongoing problem with tiling and freezing of the picture on our T.V. The typical process for me is.. I call for a technician to come out and they always have fixed the problem doing something out in the box at curbside. Then after six or so months, the tiling and freezing begins to build back up again. Oh by the way, each tech has a different lie as to why I am having this problem.

This “new way” of Time Warner is.. that when you make an appointment, there will be an automated call the night before and if you are not there to answer that call, then they will.. CANCEL.. the appointment.. WITHOUT.. letting you know. That leaves the customer sitting home waiting for a technician to show up that is not coming, like our time is not as precious to us as your time. This has happened to me several times. This is.. NO WAY.. to treat your customers and is wrong, wrong, wrong and a sure way to lose customers.

Then to add insult to injury, this last time I had to call in for the “same problem” I had another no show of the technician. Called back “again” for another technician to show up and usually the second time you make an appointment, they will actually show up, but only if you answer the phone an hour before they come out. If you miss that call for any reason, throwing trash outside, going to the bathroom, they will not leave a message to let you know its them, they just won't show up. Why would anybody want to stay with a company who treats us this way???

Then a tech did show up, and after staring at my TV for a few minutes (don't know what that did) he said that the problem must be out in the street, and that he was not a street tech and I was told that he would send out a street tech the next day and hook up to my cable and screen for two hours to see if he could catch the problem. They never did this before. Why would Time Warner send out a tech that could not fix the problem which I told them before that the problem has always been in the street and that is where they have always fixed the problem in the past? I was told that I did not have to be here for that. I was here anyway just to see if one would actually show up.. he did not.

I called back and said that I was still have the tiling problem and freezing and was told that they would send out yet another tech. The techs name was ** and I felt that he was the first guy to be honest with me and gave me some instruction as what to do to get to the bottom of this ongoing problem. He told me that if these things did not work, then to call back and ask for him so I don't have to keep explaining the problem to new techs. I did just that as the problem still was not fixed.

I talked with a girl named ** who completely ignored me when I told her that I need ** to come out. She said that she could not guarantee ** would be the one to show up. I told her, "then don't bother having someone other than ** come out as I would not open the door and it would be a waste of his time and mine." Her response to me.. “have a nice day Ma'am.” Then I called back to speak to a supervisor and got someone named ** whose title was escalation specialist, whatever that means. He was sort of laughing at the problem, but told me he would see to it that ** came out and then proceeded to ask me to call the next morning at 8:00am to make sure that ** was coming out. I told him I would, even though I did not think I should have to do that.

I spoke to a man named ** who put me on hold for a minute or two, then came back and promised me that ** would be out that same day between the house of 3 and 4:00pm. Guess what happened.. ** DID NOT SHOW UP, some other tech showed up instead. As I told **, I sent him away. Another day wasted of mine through no fault of my own. Time Warner, would it have really been so hard for your employee tell me up front which day ** can come out instead of playing these games with your customers. This is the last straw for me.

At this point I am willing to go to any other service despite their own set of problems. I will not stand to be treated disrespectfully and lied to and laughed at and ignored by any company, yet alone putting up with the same problem for years. I WAS willing to stay with you even though you could not seem to fix the problem. As long as I could have six months of no tiling and freezing, I was willing to live with that. But your customer relations is getting worse and worse by the day.

It is sooooo funny to me that after an appointment is made the employee will say that I will be getting a call to see how I was treated by that person. You are more interested in how polite your employee was on the phone than actually hearing if they have fixed the problem and the frustration and lies the customer had to go through to get the problem fixed. I will not be fooled that you care by making sure the employees are polite on the phone, that is only a part of the problem. And I am not getting any of these calls that the employee says is coming my way.

I am left feeling that Time Warner no longer cares about the customers who keep them in business. I have been laughed at by your employees, I have been ignored by your employees, I have been lied to many times by your employees.. I am tired, very tired of being treated this way by the Time Warner Company. You do not run your business honestly, you treat your customers as if we have no alternative to switch to another service. We do, and I will. My husband and I are currently searching for a new service.

Yes, every cable company or dish service has their set of problems. It is not the problems that bother me. It's the way I am being treated by Time Warner that is getting “me” (a long time customer) to switch to another service. I am really surprised that Time Warner is still in business the way you run your company. It's not right the way you treat your customers! You might want to think about changing the way you do things before you lose anymore long time faithful customers.

Undue effort for promised $100 "gift card"
By -

The Short Story: After putting me through over seven months of effort, more than fifteen phone calls, and a tremendous amount of aggravation, Time Warner / Saveology (subsidiary of Elephant Group, Inc.) / Private Network Communications, Inc. could not even provide the full $100 that they promised when I signed up for their Fios "Triple Play" promotion. In the end, I only received $93.50. ** at Private Network Communications has not returned my calls thus far.

Comments: Almost all of the people that I spoke to (below) were very polite. This was such a drawn out series of lapses and inactivity that it seems unfathomable to me that overall, it was simply an issue of incompetence or indifference among staff level employees. Is Time Warner / Saveology (subsidiary of Elephant Group, Inc.) / Private Network Communications, Inc. actually making a good faith effort to honor and issue all of the "gift cards" due to Time Warner's customers or is something else happening here?

When Time Warner outsources, they need to take some responsibility for the actions of the organizations that they hire. Does Time Warner effectively have a monopoly in NYC? Personally, I have no other option for cable television services. On the gift card instruction sheet provided by Saveology, no mention is made anywhere of "Private Network Communications" although they perform most of the customer services and administrative functions regarding the "gift card". Many of the calls that I made to Saveology have not been documented. I spelled the names of all employees phonetically; they may be misspelled.

The Long Story: On 10/12/2008, I signed on for Time Warner Fios "Triple Play", and was promised a $100 Mastercard gift card. On 11/16/2008 I completed and mailed the "Time Warner Cable Promotion Redemption Form" in order to receive my $100 Saveology gift card. The form indicates that a card should be received 16-18 weeks after all qualifications and subscriber obligations are satisfied.

On 2/2/2009, I spoke to ** at Saveology, requesting the status of my $100 gift card. She informed me that I did not use the proper rebate ID in completing the redemption form, and instructed me to add the proper rebate ID to my copy of the form, and fax it to Saveology.

On 5/8/09 I requested the status of my card from ** at Saveology. ** informed me that they did not receive my faxed, corrected, redemption form in February. When I stated that I have the successful fax confirmation, she again stated that the person who receives all faxes was not able to locate it. She asked me to fax it again, and told me that she would call me back to confirm that they had received it this time.

On 5/8/09, after not hearing back from ** for several hours, I called ** myself, and she confirmed that she did receive my corrected redemption form. Upon my request, ** stated that since they have been delinquent in processing my card, she was willing bring my redemption form to her supervisor in order to expedite it more quickly.

On 5/28/09 I requested the status of my card from ** at Saveology. ** stated that my redemption form was in fact escalated to a supervisor on 5/11/09, but that no progress had been made. ** stated that she did not know what the issue was or why the supervisor had not acted since receiving the form on 5/11/09. ** volunteered to look in to why my card had not been processed and call me back on 5/29/09. On 6/3/09, I attempted to call Saveology five times using the "Offer Redemption Center" phone number provided on the Redemption form of 1-877-405-5035, but each time I receive a message stating that the phone number is out of service.

Again on 6/3/09 I finally reached Saveology by calling a phone number on their website, once again to request the status of my card. I reached ** (ID# **) in Customer Service, and requested to speak to **. I was told that ** was having lunch. I explained my frustrating situation to **, and ** stated that if she could put me on hold for a few minutes she would find out as much as she could about my situation from her colleagues.

Within five minutes, ** discovered that my card had indeed been mailed to me in March. When I asked why nobody else at Saveology could figure this out for me, ** did not have an answer. ** provided me with the name and phone number of the person at the company who is responsible for issuing the cards. ** did not know the name of the company who had this responsibility.

On 6/3/09, I spoke to the Executive Vice President of Private Network Communications. He informed me that a card had been mailed to me in March, but that it did not have any charges against it. I told him that I did not receive the card. He confirmed my name and address, and said that I should have my card within 7-10 days. I received the card with its instructions in the mail on 6/10/09.

On 6/11/09 I attempted to activate the card through the automated menu, but did not have the required PIN number to do so. The instruction sheet that the card came attached to indicated that the PIN number should be on the instruction sheet, right where the card had been attached, but there was no such number printed. I reached a customer service representative who was able to activate the card anyway.

On 6/12/09 I attempted to make a purchase with the card, but apparently any use of a debit card requires a PIN number, which I did not have. Also on 6/15/09, I called Saveology for help, read my card number to the customer service rep, and they told me that my PIN number would be right behind where the card was attached on the instruction sheet. I told them that no such PIN number was printed, so she transferred me to "Cardholder Services", which is part of Private Network Communications, Inc.

After reading my card number to **, at Private Network Communications, told me that my card actually did not have a PIN number, and needs to be used as a Credit Card, as opposed to a Debit Card. When I explained to ** that my card has "Debit" printed on it, and the instruction sheet indicates that I should have a PIN number, he apologized, but offered no explanation of what may have gone wrong. Also on 6/15/09, I successfully made a $79 purchase using the Saveology card as a credit card.

On 6/16/09 I attempted to make a purchase using the remaining balance on the card. I attempted to make the $21 purchase using the card first as a credit card, then as a debit card. Both times, the card was rejected. On 6/17/09, I spoke to ** at Saveology and explained that the previous representative that I spoke to transferred me to Cardholder Services in an attempt to help resolve the issue of my remaining balance, but I cannot reach anyone there because the automated menu requires a PIN number, which, in my case, I do not have. ** told me that there was nothing that she could do because Cardholder Services is handled by an entirely different company.

Also on 6/17/09, I called Saveology again, and reached **. I explained my dilemma about the remaining balance on my card, as well as the fact that I do not have a PIN number. ** was able to provide me with a different phone number for Cardholder Services which does not require a PIN number. Also on 6/17/09, unable to reach anyone in person, I left a voicemail for ** at Private Network Communications, using the phone number given to me by **. In my message, I explained the issue about the remaining balance on my card, and asked her to call me.

On 6/18/09, I left a second voicemail for ** at Private Network Communications, asking her to call me. I tried to reach ** five different times by phone between 6/17/09 & 6/18/09. Also on 6/18/09, at a store, I was able to determine that there was actually only $14.50 remaining on my card, and that was why the $21 purchase had been rejected. After all this work to obtain my "gift card" and to actually get it working, Time Warner / Saveology / Private Network Communications had only given me a $93.50 "gift card", not the $100 actually promised.

Insufferable, Unreliable, Unavoidable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JAY, MAINE -- In this area, you don't really have a lot of choice when it comes to providers. Around 4/10/15, I became aware that I was moving into a new apartment across town. Around the time that everything was being signed, I was informed only two ISPs actually provided to this complex. Time Warner was one of the names I recognized, and in my previous household, they had throttled me and overcharged for speeds we weren't reaching.

For whatever reason, I decided to go with it, and called them to set it up around 4/25/15. After about 15 minutes of arguing with the computer representative, going around in circles, I somehow made contact with a human representative. They were kind and courteous and informed me that the jacks in the new location were live and that they wouldn't charge me for installation, and would instead mail me the router and coax cables if I so desired. I agreed, and proceeded to set up their autopay service with my primary bank account. A family member in the area offered to drive me up to the location and we could pick up the router in person.

When I arrived, I was informed I'd have to pay the first month in advance. That's alright by me, I figured, and reached for my wallet to pay the $40. They charged me $52.49 at first for the first month due to "various fees" and then proceeded to withhold the router from me until I paid an additional $50. When asked why, they explained that they required a deposit on the router. I explained that the previous representative stated otherwise if I set up an automatic payment service, which she said was correct.

However, for whatever reason, the previous representative took my information, told me everything was set up, and then proceeded to cancel that part of the ticket without warning. Autopay was on my account, but was not completely set up, therefore shafting me out of another $50. I tried to argue that we could set it up now and was met with the response "We are not authorized to set up autopay on location. You'd have to do that over the phone with Sales."

I was livid, but I was busy, so I scornfully paid it, took the router, cables, and left to continue my day. 5/2/15 comes around and I'm finally actually moved in, and I begin to set up my internet connection. The router blinks for over nine hours, never once connecting to the internet. Furious, I asked a neighbor if I could borrow her connection for the evening, and she allowed it. I theorized that the jacks either weren't actually on and I was lied to, or that I was given defective hardware.

The next morning, after trying all the jacks in the unit, I was still without connection. I called Time Warner and was transferred around from person to person, asking each just to talk to the tech support. I was on the phone with these individuals attempting to explain my situation and being passed around between departments like a beach ball. I spent several hours just trying to talk to someone in tech support and was transferred from some Australian-sounding woman in North Carolina to a Brooklynite working in Sales. He was the most helpful individual I spoke to, as he registered my number to my account for me, and transferred me directly to tech support.

Tech support lied to my face and told me that the external and internal jacks were all live and that they were getting readings from them. However, they could not ping my router, nor could they remotely reset it. They explained that the following Thursday at some point between 7A and 9P, real nice timing, someone would be around to help diagnose and resolve my problem. Fortunately, at around 7:30 that Thursday morning, I was awoken by my doorbell being rung by a helpful and friendly individual who helped me troubleshoot everything. We sat around at each jack trying to get the router to work until he eventually went out the back and checked their connection. They hadn't been on in the first place.

Another 35 minutes of troubleshooting them all, we devised that the router itself was also defective. We spent nearly an hour on the phone with various representatives, trying to set everything up as he called from department to department, trying his hardest just to get me online. Afterwards, he informed me that, due to it being a fault on the company's behalf, I would not be charged for this service. I thanked him and he offered to play Counter-Strike with me sometime once I'm online.

Back on topic, I've found the internet to be spotty, unreliable, constantly cutting out or resetting itself, and overall infuriating. Speed drops at random points in the day from 15M down to about 200kbps on a good day. Sometimes, it stops and I get errors until I physically restart the hardware. Eventually, as in a few days ago, as of 6/4/15, it leveled itself out for the most part, and only restarts at around 2:30 in the morning, likely as a refresh or to download firmware updates. This has been my only salvation since the maintenance.

Yesterday morning, however, I received a bill for my service, noted at $82.97. I was charged twice for the free repair that I watched the maintenance worker mark as complimentary on his device when he closed the ticket. In short, this provider nickel and dimes with terrible service, terrible customer support, and then expects you to come crawling back. And I'm the idiot that did.

Salesman, Aaron, Outright Lied About the Fee for the Services I Ordered.
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- As with other reviewers, I finally had enough of AT&T U-verse. I called the toll free number to check prices for TWC. I first spoke with Freddie. Told him I need to think about it and call me back on TUE. He simply sent an installer to my home. I had not ordered the service yet! He didn't call back, so I called again and spoke to Mark with a list of all my questions, and needed time to consider. When I called back to place my order, I got Aaron, March 14, 2015, 6:20 PM. Each of these sales men were very nice, well mannered, patient with my questions.

After I told Aaron exactly what I wanted, he put me on a brief hold, came back with a price but one of my must haves wasn't on the list. We went back and forth looking for a plan that included everything I wanted: 2 DVRs, HBO, Showtime. Aaron said "you're going to happy with this. Here's what I'm going to do for you: 2 DVRs, Showtime, HBO, and Epic for $142.74 plus tax, no installation fee or activation fee." I asked him "what if my old lines don't work for some reason after my AT&T installation?" He said "at most it would be $19.95 per TV". I wanted to know how much my total monthly payment would be, including tax. He told me "$171.86". I said "OK" and we set up the date.

The installer came and I had to pay the first month's bill and installation fees before he left. Well, the bill went up because HBO wasn't included in the work order. The installation fee was $24.95 per 4 standard play TVs. I had to call customer service right then to get it back to the $19.95, but they couldn't do anything about the added fee for HBO. Chris at customer service said she would 'escalate' it, someone would listen to the recording of my and Aaron's conversation and someone would get back to me.

Later that night I tried to record a program on one of my DVRs, would not work. Another call to customer service, I was told that my price was for one recordable and one play back only DVR. (Aaron never mentioned this fact) Time Warner uses the term 'whole house DVR' very freely. I guess they assume most people have only 2 TVs. I received a bill for the first month and installation fee a few days later (remember I paid it at time of installation). They hadn't given me credit for the overcharge for the standard TVs.

Another phone call. I was suppose to retain the phone number I have had for 30 years. They changed my phone number, another phone call. They did give me my old number back after a few days. My next bill included a charge for a 'phone number change'. Another phone call. In the meantime I had been calling every few weeks about the escalation. I spoke with Jules, Patrick, Jaylen, and Sophie. Each of them assured me that they would listen to the recording and get back to me. I haven't had a call and this is May 11. My total monthly charge is $195.04, about $24 more than Aaron quoted to me.

I Chose Better
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANTON, OHIO -- After 4 years of mediocre service, I finally had enough. I won't complain about their IP service, I never had any issues with it and it was actually very good service. My cable TV was another issue. After they first installed it, the picture would freeze, then black out. Sometimes changing the channel would help. Sometimes turning the box off and then back on would help. Sometimes, it would just black long enough that I gave up and did something else.

I had multiple techs at our home that couldn't find any problems at all, even though the screen went black right in front of one of them. After changing multiple Oregon Scientific boxes to no avail, one of the techs hooked up a Cisco box that seemed to help quite a bit. It didn't entirely fix the problem, but it did help enough that the screen would only pixelate or black out for a few seconds. And that's how we've watched TV for the last 4 years.

Time Warner is one of those companies that has no problem jacking up prices at least 10% every year. At the beginning of this year, they raised our $142 cable bill to $157. Then a couple weeks later, they sent a letter by mail saying that, "since you are a valued customer, we won't raise your bill this year". About a month after that, they raised our bill by another $5 with no explanation. It really makes you wonder if the company is really that incompetent or if they're just screwing with you because they can.

The biggest issue that I had with Time Warner is their billing department. I had recurring payments set up on my credit card. I decided I wasn't going to use the credit card anymore. I got online, canceled the recurring payments, and requested paper billing through the mail. Next month they charge my card again. I get online and see that I'm still set up for recurring payments and paperless billing. I thought maybe I screwed up. I changed it again. Next month they charge my card again. I get online again and see that I'm still set up for recurring payments and paperless billing. Now I'm irritated.

I call customer service (overseas) and tell the lady about the problem and she assures me that it has been taken care of. I told her I wanted my payment refunded to my card and to send me a paper bill and I'd be happy to pay it. She said no problem. No refund ever came. I recorded that phone call. I called my bank and filed a dispute on the charge. Time Warner sent a bill (through email) for half my bill. I paid it and figured they would straighten it out.

Next month they charge my card again. Now I'm livid. I contact customer support through chat. I recorded the chat session. I tell them the whole situation and that I want all my credit card information deleted from their system. He assures me that they don't have my card information on file anymore, that it had been deleted.

I take my family on vacation for a week. I get home to a letter in the mail stating my account is delinquent and that my service would be shut off in three days. The next morning, two days early, my cable and internet is shut off. Keep in mind I had never been late or missed a payment in the four years I was with them. I checked my account and they were showing that I owed over $400.

My last attempt to rectify the situation was to go to one of their service centers and deal with someone in person. The lady working told me that my bank refunded their charges when I filed a dispute over it and that was why my account was delinquent. That didn't explain the $400 bill or why they shut off my service when I had just paid the full bill from them (even though it wasn't correct) two weeks prior. I tried to explain why I filed a dispute and she just kept saying that was why my account was delinquent. It was like trying to reason with a tape recorder that just kept playing the same recording over and over. I gave up.

After another half hour, we had my bill corrected to that day. $94 I paid it, returned the cable box I'd brought with me and told her I wanted receipts for the payment, for the cable box, for the remote, and that I wanted something in writing that I wanted my service terminated as of that day. I thought I was done with them. Not quite. They charged my credit card again. I had to call my bank and have them close my account for fraudulent charges.

We went without cable and internet for about two weeks before we could get AT&T U-Verse installed. I couldn't be happier with their service. Everything about it is much better than Time Warner right down to the remote control. I chose better service and a better price. Still waiting on my replacement credit card. Thanks for everything Time Warner.

Debacle In Getting Business Cable Internet Service Transferred
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PLANO, TEXAS -- I am writing to detail the egregious experience I've had in trying to transfer my Time Warner Cable internet service to my new business location. I am due to open my doors on August 1, I am currently training staff – for which I need to access Webinars, and I still have no internet service at my new location. Until the last approximately three weeks, I've been content with the TWC business internet service I've had since 2010. Now, due to the debacle your company has created for me, I'm making plans for 24 months from now to dump this service option as soon as my contract is over.

Timeline details: Tuesday, July 15th: I spoke to ** about transferring my Internet service from my business at ** to **. As she was taking the order, she suggested I also use TWC phone service. In the conversation, she said I'd be able to keep the phone and fax number I've had since January, 1998. As AT&T assured me they couldn't port those numbers, I asked ** if she was sure about that: she insisted TWC could do it. So, I had her write that into the order, and I cancelled my AT&T order.

Friday, July 18th: I called to see when my order would be installed (having called several TWC numbers before I got to the party who could help me). I spoke to ** in Order Management (? Not sure of name of department). ** told me that the order had not been processed, as there was a problem with the phone portion of the order, and that only ** could help me with the resolution. No one bothered to call me to tell me about this!?!

I pursued resolution to this problem for approximately two hours, talking to various people. Frustrations included, but were certainly not limited to: ** phone always went to voice mail when I called, and I couldn't leave a message as the mailbox was full; I sent emails to ** but got no response; I waited for long times on hold (up to 31 minutes and 37 seconds); people often transferred me to ** unanswered phone and full mailbox – so I had to call again and wait on hold.

I finally reached ** again (she was helpful both times) and asked to speak to her supervisor for help. Her supervisor told me that, while they wouldn't know for sure until the order was processed, it looked pretty certain that TWC couldn't port the original phone numbers, and that once the order was processed, the installation would take 7-10 business days.

I told her I needed to cancel the phone order and just go with the internet transfer. (I would have cancelled the internet, too, except for the exorbitant cancellation fee.) Again, I was told that ONLY ** could help me with the cancellation. I asked to speak to ** supervisor, **, received his phone number and was transferred to his line.

I spoke to ** in a long conversation. He tried to assure me that this experience with TWC was not usual. He also noted that the voicemails going unanswered were due to internal phone system problems: not very reassuring to a prospective phone customer. I felt like I had dodged another bullet by cancelling my phone order!

Thursday, July 24th: ** called and told me I would hear from someone that day about installing the service, although he couldn't give me a definite time. As the day progressed and I still hadn't heard from anyone, I called ** several times. Mailbox. Finally got him on the phone, and I was told that he was working with the department that could expedite the order.

But apparently, the protocols of that department were obstacles he had no authority to bypass. Prior to that conversation, someone called my husband's cell phone to set up my service on July 29th. This date is unacceptable! And I still can't fathom why someone would call my husband, when I had made clear to everyone I spoke to what my contact number is!

I expect at this point, I will have no satisfaction in getting internet prior to Tuesday, July 29th. I'm not at all sure it will happen then, as I've lost all confidence in what most of the TWC representatives have told me. I just need to bide my time for what will seem an interminable contract period of 24 months, before I can gleefully dump TWC. I can, however, tell everyone I know – and I will! – that they should run like the wind away from TWC. And I will gladly write as many online reviews as I can find, steering people away from such a poorly functioning company – or at least a poorly functioning, but pivotal department.

If I ran my business the way this department is apparently run, I wouldn't BE in business. It escapes me how TWC can survive with such entrenched problems in your business rules and structures. It seems like it might be a good idea to spend less money in advertising – which I see everywhere! – and more time and money in keeping customers happy. Happy customers do the advertising for a good business.

They Would Not Be Accountable For Their Mistake!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREEN BAY, WISCONSIN -- I receive my statements on-line, which is an email saying its ready, but I don't log into the site and look at them. It is the same amount every month. Also being a busy summer, I briefly scan my checking account and confirm balance and know my TW is set up auto pay. Well I happened to check it just yesterday 8/21/2013 and saw the balance was over $600. I had a heart attack. Thought how could this be, and how do I still have working cable and internet? I went and traced back my checking account and sure enough they have not taken out a payment since April. (I pay $116 a month).

I of course am so frustrated thinking I was paying all along and now I have yet another bill to add to my pile! My expiration date had changed in May, so why didn't they call me by June to tell me I am past due? The few other auto pays I have set up contact me a month prior to expiration, as they should if they want to get paid and appreciate the auto payment process.

I pick up phone and call them. 1st person somewhat understands, but I said, I would really like to talk to someone because this is not entirely my fault and I cannot just pay $600 in full right now! He says he has to transfer me to billing. Well I get Collections on the phone. They state, I must pay $475 immediately. I again state, "it is not that I don't want to pay it, but I am asking for some help here, because this is not totally my fault. And for the 3rd time, I am the one calling you, being honest and informing you of your defected system and the issue it has caused!" She says I must have to talk to customer care then as she is only a collections department and if I am not making a payment she cannot do anything.

Guy number 3 on the phone, basically says the same thing and I say, "I just want to talk to someone who can work this out for me. I have been a loyal customer for over 4 years, paying monthly on time always!" I state, "I can pay $300 in two days, but I would like to know what I am getting in return for your fault." He says "well it looks like they won't shut you off until next week." After an hour later, I said, "fine, I will call back Friday and make a payment."

I get home during tornado warnings and storms and guess what? NO TV or Internet! I was furious! I call and talk again to three different people and one a supervisor. They are now saying after I said I will pay $300 now if you turn my TV back on. Again the whole thing that this is not my fault and I have always paid and would not have called you in the first place if I wanted to stop paying! They tell me now at 8:00pm that I can only pay with Cash or cashier check! WHAT? Where do I do that at 8:00PM!

I said that is it, I am so done and this is absolutely ridiculous, how I am being treated for no reason at other than being honest and make the first attempt to fix an issue at hand! Had I not even called, I wonder how long before they would shut me off! I have dropped them, DISH is coming tomorrow and I will be paying a personal visit to return DVR and modem and let them know, they now will not see a dime of what I might owe in free Cable service, because of how they treated me and have no customer care service at all!!

I also have 2 friends who dropped them today and I will work on at least 7 more! Do the math TW!! How much money are you going to be out now? I should go to Netflix or Amazon Prime Broadcast and streamline everything for free, but until I am ready to go that route, I know one thing! Time Warner will never be used and I will make it an effort to exploit them in every way!

Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- My cable and internet were shut off due to non payment, because the account holder moved out and has not yet switched ownership over to me so my fiance called to pay just the past due balance so we could at least get service back. We paid $137.90 and were told that our services would be turned back on immediately. SIX days later they were still off. So I called and they said they had no record of our payment on our account, despite the payment showing up on our credit card history. So the woman told us she would mark it as a missing payment and a mistake on their part, and reconnect our service immediately.

I told her to stay on the line with me until it came back online. It never did. She scheduled me an appointment with a technician for the following day at 1:00 pm. The next day, I waited until 3:00 pm before calling. I told the woman he was two hours late and we needed our cable and internet. She said the reason why no one showed up was because our account wasn't even paid in full, that we still owed $50.

Outraged, I asked her how that was possible since we paid the past due balance and were promised our service back. She said there is an additional $50 fee to reconnect a past due account and that they took that $50 out of the $137.90 that we paid, so technically our past due balance was then $50 short.

Nobody had mentioned that extra fee when we paid initially and they didn't even bother to call and tell me the technician wouldn't be coming. They just left me waiting for no one. So, being short on cash because I had already paid them, I had to borrow $50 from a family member. I paid the money, and was told once again that my service would be up and running in a few minutes. It never happened.

I called back and got a guy who didn't know what he was doing. He actually suggested to me that I try turning off my TV, and turning it back on again as if the TV would make a difference with the cable problem. After each question he would ask me, I could hear him relaying the information to someone else on the side, like he was equally as clueless as I was. So who is supposed to be helping me here? Certainly not him.

After 10 minutes of him telling me to restart my computer and turn off my TV, which was useless, he suggested I wait until midnight to check it again, because that's when my account would be refreshed. This morning it still wasn't on, so my fiance called AGAIN. They said they would send a specialist to come look at it but didn't give us a specific time of day. They said they would call before they came over.

So here I am now, waiting for the specialist again and the worst part is, I know they aren't going to refund me for the time we haven't had service, even though we've paid. If Time Warner wasn't the only service provider around here, I would drop them in a heartbeat. But I believe that's why they don't care about actually doing their job, because they don't have to fear losing customers seeing as they are our only option and they know it.

Incompetent, Possible Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I paid my Time Warner Bill 2 days ago and gave them an advance payment with my debit card to be deducted on 5/22/13. This morning I checked my bank account and they had debited the amount that was supposed to be taken out on the 22nd. I called the office and got a recording that they knew about this issue and were working to resolve it as soon as possible. I am on a fixed income and that was all the money I had in my account. I tried to talk to a customer service agent and was pushed around to six different people, none of which could answer my question.

A few of them told me they were sending me to the correct department only to put me back to their automated system. One of them yelled so loudly in the phone, even after I asked her to talk a little more quietly that I finally had to hang up and call again. NONE of them could tell me when this would be rectified. I've notified my bank and they are opening a case of fraud against them since this debit was done without my knowledge or consent.

When I gave the information for the payment to be debited on the 22nd I asked the billing representative if she was sure it would not be debited before then and she assured me several times it would not. Now I've incurred bank charges and Time Warner doesn't seem to care they have placed me in a precarious position.

I have also filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau regarding what they did. As soon as my money is returned to me, I will be canceling my service with them and I am seriously considering filing charges against them. I do not for one minute believe this was a computer glitch that just happened on a Saturday morning when you cannot get in touch with anyone in their office or at your local bank.

I firmly believe this was done deliberately and since they have the recording I think it's safe to assume I am not the only one they did this to today. I've had to call them at least once a week because my service is not working properly. I absolutely hate AT&T but I have no qualms about going back to them for my service. I do not give companies a second chance when they steal money out of my bank account.

Beware if you do business with TWC. NEVER give them permission to deduct money from your account. Their customer service is horrible. The agents are rude and have no idea of how to talk to a customer who has a problem. I did keep my cool with them and tried to be nice but after the fourth one sent me to the wrong department I wasn't very nice about it. I strongly suggest no one does business with this company.

Top of Page | Next Page >