Preview Review

Next Review

Time Warner Cable Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
HORRIBLE! Don't Keep Promises! Emotionally Drained Trying to Get Resolution. Still None.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HENDERSON, KENTUCKY -- I was promised a specific rate for my cable and internet service - good for ONE YEAR (Norman ID # ** - promise made on 4/16/15 - supposed to be good through 4/16/16). I have been grossly overcharged. Once I realized how much and how long they've been overcharging me, I called customer service LAST FRIDAY.

After the first representative (Victor ID # **) told me that was a "fairy tale" (thanks for making me feel valued, Victor!) AND after I talked to THREE MORE representatives, and still hadn't gotten resolution, I was told by Philnesia, ID # **, that a supervisor would be informed of all the specifics of my complaint (so, you know, I wouldn't have to tell my story a FIFTH time) and was told said supervisor would call me back within 24 - 48 hours. That was SIX DAYS ago and I'm still waiting.

Not wanting to go through the hassle of phone calls AGAIN, I thought, maybe I'd try chat to at least put it back on the radar that I was STILL WAITING for a call from a supervisor. So, on chat, I was told I would get a call in a couple of minutes. And I did! But... NOT FROM A SUPERVISOR! Instead, it was from YET ANOTHER representative that wanted me to - YES, you got it - tell them AGAIN what my issue was because this person had no idea!

When I asked AGAIN, to simply let me speak with a supervisor, I was told they could not do that without me telling them all the specifics AGAIN. I refused to do so and hung up the phone, thinking surely to God by now, with all those "recorded phone calls" and notes of 4 separate representatives AND a chat "record", that a competent supervisor could surely read/listen to those transcripts and call me back prepared to discuss how they could take care of me, their "valued customer" as they kept calling me. Hahaha.

So, I went back to answer my chat representative who had asked me if I had received my phone call, and when I told him, yes, but NOT FROM A SUPERVISOR, was told he would "escalate" me to another team member - still not a supervisor, even though, I have said time and again, I'm not going over all of this again, unless it's with a supervisor.

So, this 2nd chat representative (how many representatives is that now? I've lost count! 4 on Friday, 2 on chat, 1 on a return call - SEVEN! Wow! They sure make it easy to get things taken care of! But wait... It's still NOT taken care of!), this escalation specialist proceeded to tell me that if I wanted to speak to a supervisor, I WOULD HAVE TO CALL CUSTOMER SERVICE TO REQUEST that.

Hahaha - Haven't I already done that? SIX DAYS AGO?! And am I still waiting? YES! So, WHY would I waste my time calling AGAIN - to tell my story AGAIN to... how many people this time? To be told I would be called back? Like they called me back after my request last Friday? Like they kept their promise of the same rate for ONE YEAR (which lasted all of 5 months before eventually going up nearly $50 a month?)

This company does NOT keep its promises. Nor does it care about its "valuable" long-time customers. Time Warner Cable - you can keep the $260 you have overcharged me, but you will not ever get another dime from me. Add that up over another 10 or 20 years and see how much money that loses you. But, yeah, I know - I'm a "valuable" customer that just needs to call customer service again and talk to another 7 or so representatives so they can make more (empty) promises!

Thanks for nothing but unkept promises and giving me the runaround. TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE! Say goodbye to this "valuable customer" and you can count on me telling EVERYONE I can exactly how this played out. And guess what? That's a promise I WILL keep! We'll see if we can end you up on the top 10 WORST customer service lists this year!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Product and Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PORTLAND, MASSACHUSETTS -- A day of expected relaxation turns into a day of anger directed at Time Warner Cable. I've had cable TV for about fifty years. I've had internet service since it was created. I have never seen a product with as poor quality as TWC. The only thing worse than the TWC product is TWC support.

I have a second home in Portland, Maine. I decided 30 Mbps internet utilizing video (network apps, NetFlix, sports apps, etc.) and basic cable would be sufficient for a second home. My friends in Portland warned me TWC is brutally bad. They recommended FIOS. They said I'd get rid of TWC by the third month. They're wrong. I'm getting rid of TWC after one month.

It's beyond my comprehension, 30 MBPS broadband service can't support video without buffering. In another home 5 Mbps from a competitor supports video no problem. In less than a month I've made several service calls. I detest having to be the fingers for customer service people (keyboarding) in an attempt to fix problems. And to this point none of the problems have been fixed.

Are your customer service reps trained to blame my equipment? The TV is new. The TWC approved cable modem is new. The iPad and the Apple TV are less than a year old. It's maddening to have them blame my equipment. Today my cable TV was flashing/blinking. It's the third problem in less than a month. I guess the plus would be at least this time the cable worked even though it was next to impossible to watch.

I called customer service today. I had to get obnoxiously angry before they would agree to send someone out tomorrow (Sunday). I shouldn't have to get my blood pressure up to receive adequate service for a product I'm paying for. I've already had to run out to bars to watch games (and spend money) when I expected to relax at home.

Today I expected to watch the Army-Navy game. The cable reception blinked too much to watch. Tonight I expected to watch the Celtics game via my iPad and AirPlay to Apple TV. It's buffering too much to watch. So my entertainment tonight is to write and complain about horrible TWC product and service. I told the customer service representative if the TWC person isn't at my house by noon to fix the problems I won't be here. I'll be stuck in a bar all day watching football spending money I don't want to spend.

Unfortunately FiOS is not available on this block. If your person can't get here by noon and fix the problems tomorrow I'm throwing your product out. I'm going to get Red Zone broadband and purchase a Slingbox to receive cable from my other home. I figure 30 MBps broadband service from any vendor but TWC should be adequate.

TWC is causing me to waste money. I'm tired of it. I'm at the point where if you offered me free service for a year I wouldn't consider it a good deal. A product that doesn't work adequately and I have to fight with the customer service people to get a service call does not have a value worth holding onto. Even if the service call fixes the problems TWC has been such a poor experience I'll have a "we'll see" attitude regarding the problems being fixed. The fixes don't seem to last more than a day or two.

Replies
Insufferable, Unreliable, Unavoidable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JAY, MAINE -- In this area, you don't really have a lot of choice when it comes to providers. Around 4/10/15, I became aware that I was moving into a new apartment across town. Around the time that everything was being signed, I was informed only two ISPs actually provided to this complex. Time Warner was one of the names I recognized, and in my previous household, they had throttled me and overcharged for speeds we weren't reaching.

For whatever reason, I decided to go with it, and called them to set it up around 4/25/15. After about 15 minutes of arguing with the computer representative, going around in circles, I somehow made contact with a human representative. They were kind and courteous and informed me that the jacks in the new location were live and that they wouldn't charge me for installation, and would instead mail me the router and coax cables if I so desired. I agreed, and proceeded to set up their autopay service with my primary bank account. A family member in the area offered to drive me up to the location and we could pick up the router in person.

When I arrived, I was informed I'd have to pay the first month in advance. That's alright by me, I figured, and reached for my wallet to pay the $40. They charged me $52.49 at first for the first month due to "various fees" and then proceeded to withhold the router from me until I paid an additional $50. When asked why, they explained that they required a deposit on the router. I explained that the previous representative stated otherwise if I set up an automatic payment service, which she said was correct.

However, for whatever reason, the previous representative took my information, told me everything was set up, and then proceeded to cancel that part of the ticket without warning. Autopay was on my account, but was not completely set up, therefore shafting me out of another $50. I tried to argue that we could set it up now and was met with the response "We are not authorized to set up autopay on location. You'd have to do that over the phone with Sales."

I was livid, but I was busy, so I scornfully paid it, took the router, cables, and left to continue my day. 5/2/15 comes around and I'm finally actually moved in, and I begin to set up my internet connection. The router blinks for over nine hours, never once connecting to the internet. Furious, I asked a neighbor if I could borrow her connection for the evening, and she allowed it. I theorized that the jacks either weren't actually on and I was lied to, or that I was given defective hardware.

The next morning, after trying all the jacks in the unit, I was still without connection. I called Time Warner and was transferred around from person to person, asking each just to talk to the tech support. I was on the phone with these individuals attempting to explain my situation and being passed around between departments like a beach ball. I spent several hours just trying to talk to someone in tech support and was transferred from some Australian-sounding woman in North Carolina to a Brooklynite working in Sales. He was the most helpful individual I spoke to, as he registered my number to my account for me, and transferred me directly to tech support.

Tech support lied to my face and told me that the external and internal jacks were all live and that they were getting readings from them. However, they could not ping my router, nor could they remotely reset it. They explained that the following Thursday at some point between 7A and 9P, real nice timing, someone would be around to help diagnose and resolve my problem. Fortunately, at around 7:30 that Thursday morning, I was awoken by my doorbell being rung by a helpful and friendly individual who helped me troubleshoot everything. We sat around at each jack trying to get the router to work until he eventually went out the back and checked their connection. They hadn't been on in the first place.

Another 35 minutes of troubleshooting them all, we devised that the router itself was also defective. We spent nearly an hour on the phone with various representatives, trying to set everything up as he called from department to department, trying his hardest just to get me online. Afterwards, he informed me that, due to it being a fault on the company's behalf, I would not be charged for this service. I thanked him and he offered to play Counter-Strike with me sometime once I'm online.

Back on topic, I've found the internet to be spotty, unreliable, constantly cutting out or resetting itself, and overall infuriating. Speed drops at random points in the day from 15M down to about 200kbps on a good day. Sometimes, it stops and I get errors until I physically restart the hardware. Eventually, as in a few days ago, as of 6/4/15, it leveled itself out for the most part, and only restarts at around 2:30 in the morning, likely as a refresh or to download firmware updates. This has been my only salvation since the maintenance.

Yesterday morning, however, I received a bill for my service, noted at $82.97. I was charged twice for the free repair that I watched the maintenance worker mark as complimentary on his device when he closed the ticket. In short, this provider nickel and dimes with terrible service, terrible customer support, and then expects you to come crawling back. And I'm the idiot that did.

Replies
The Worst ISP I've Ever Dealt With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- My roommates and I had used TWC for some time until they ended up screwing us over with a deal they offered us but did not back. They offered to negate our fee for moving the service from one location to another, but did not back up their offer after we did it, trying to charge us for all the expenses they promised to negate. Months of arguing (and leaving for AT&T [much better]) lead them to seek a collection agency on my roommate in charge of the payment.

Long story short, TWC does not care about their customers OR have any spine to back their promises. They care only for their money and nothing less, but what else do you expect from an oligopoly? If you're reading this, please save yourself the hassle and choose someone else. They are a 1 star company at best. You have been advised.

Replies
Advertisement
Misleading Offer!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ANAHEIM, CALIFORNIA -- I had received a flier from Time Warner Cable (TWC) regarding their latest offer of $89.99 for TV, Internet & Home Phone services. When I spoke with their representative Mr. **, he took my full address details and checked about all the TV channels that my family was interested to watch. Other than their standard package, I had requested for an International channel package, which according to him will additionally cost us $39.99 per month. This should add up my total to $129.98 before taxes.

Instead of that, he added some multiple things like two set up boxes, broadcast fees, DVR rental etc., which normally should be built in a standard package, and brought up my total to $181.50 before taxes. This is just a rip off and no special offer or an incentive to switch over to TWC. Such offers should be screened by consumer courts before they are sent out as they are grossly misleading. I never expected this from a company of the stature of TWC. I was more disappointed when Mr. ** never showed any eagerness to have me as his customer and negotiate on any charges. This was not at all very welcoming. I am highly disappointed.

Replies
Unacceptable
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- After AT&T finally p*ssed me off for the last time I decided it was time to change providers. I called Time Warner Cable the first of August and asked about how much basic TV and Roadrunner turbo it cost me. The woman over the phone told me it would cost me $72.66 a month. The woman took my personal information street address, social security number, that kind of stuff and, told me how would I like to pay for that over the phone or in person. I told her I would like to do it in person so I can pick up the equipment, she said no problem. After that it was about 12 o'clock we both hung up and I went out to eat with family.

It was 2:58 when I get up front at Time Warner Cable to talk to a person about getting the service and everything. The woman over the counter said that she saw everything was set up and all I would have to do is pay my first month for the service in advance and a deposit. I told her I talked to a woman over the phone and she said nothing about the deposit. The woman over the counter replied with they couldn't check my credit because I have none and that there would be a $50 deposit up front with the first service in advance, so the $72 became $123 before they would establish my service.

I paid it and she gave me the modem for the internet. Now that's when I asked her when would it be turned on and she replied later on today if not Friday. She said for more accurate time description I would need to call the 1866 number and ask for more details. I got home and hooked up the internet modem and hooked up all my TVs and nothing was working. I called Time Warner Cable and they told me that there's a service appointment set up for Friday at 5 o'clock. I told the man over the phone thank you and have a good day. He told me the same and then we hung up.

I was home all day Friday and no one came out to my house. I called Time Warner back and I was told that there was no appointment for Friday that I would have to schedule one for Monday. I said okay now I got to go all weekend without any service, what a drag. I setup a service appointment for Monday and the woman over the phone to be an all day thing from 7 a.m. till 10 p.m. And that the service technician could drop by anytime in between those two times, I said wow very accurate timing. Everything was set so we part our goodbyes and we hung up.

Was home all day Monday again no one came out to my house, shocking. I called Time Warner right before the calling center closed they told me I was still within the appointment time and can a rudely asked me not to call until tomorrow. I called Time Warner Cable Tuesday and they tell me the service appointment was set up for 11 to 12 that Tuesday, and they told me that no service appointment existed for Monday. I was just flat-out confused.

Around 11 o'clock there is a white Ford F 150 parked beside the utility pole across the street from my house at the neighbor's house. The truck had bags of potting soil in the back and a trailer attached with a large ladder in the trailer. He climbs the pole messed around with something for about 15 minutes got his ladder put it up and then left. My service still wasn't working.

Wednesday nothing else happened. The pole for the cable is in my backyard and no one touched it and my service still wasn't working so I called Time Warner back. The woman over the phone didn't tell me that could have been the cable man to hook up the service but she said that she didn't know for sure and in fact a service technician did report that he did hook up my cable but it wasn't. I told the woman over the phone I was getting pretty upset about this that she said that she scheduled appointment for tomorrow in between 11 and 12 for Thursday.

She told me that that was the earliest appointment I could get on Thursday and I told her that it would have been exactly one week that I paid over $100 for the service that I'm not getting. She apologized, we both said goodbye I hung up and wait until Thursday. Boy was I mad. The technician called directly at 11 and said is around the corner and we'll be there in about 10 minutes. Well he showed up 30 minutes later. I told him what happened about the other guy across the street he said he didn't know either.

In my backyard he'd looked at the pole and told me it wasn't hooked up, I told him it wasn't hooked up. He climbs the pole and 60 seconds later all the TVs started working and the internet started working too. He asked me did I have any other problems and I told him no. I got the internet registered and it was working completely and so he left.

Time Warner Cable also informed me that I paid for service days I didn't get and there's nothing that they were going to do about it. That was a weeks worth of service I paid for down the drain and on top of it they charged me $50 for the service call to come to hook up my service that was supposed to be done right the first time. Right now I haven't brought that to their attention so it's still on my bill. If they decide to remove it or not I'll make sure to update this to let you know what happens.

Other than paying for service for a week that I didn't get, getting the runaround, lies and other stuff I have to say just watch with the sign up with these guys. Now that the service has been turned on I've been using it for a couple days and TV fine the internet is blazing fast and I think I'm paying a pretty good price so I'm happy for now. P.S Time Warner Cable Informed me if I left that my $123 for not be refunded it would go to a credit towards my bill First. A bill that I never got. But what Time Warner Cable is trying to tell me about my $123 that they would keep it even know I left and never had any service.

Update 8/28/13 2:32 pm. Today Time Warner Cable has charge me $45 extra to install internet which they didn't and charged me an extra $30 for an "Easy Connect" follow up fee. I don't understand those two charges, but, together they add up to a whole month of service and I was told by representatives that they were first time customer charges and there are no way out of them.

I've already paid them a $123 in advance and now they're demanding $147 has my first bill. I don't know what these people are up to, but they're just downright CRAZY! Also another thing is driving me wild they're charging me full price for my turbo internet. No promotional pricing nothing. This is how they treat new customers. Now I see why they only lose them.

I don't even have enough to pay the $72 myself my brother pays half of it and I pay the other half and together we can't pay $147.62. Well then again it should have been a red flag that everyone in my neighborhood has AT&T U verse I'm the only one with Time Warner and now I know why. The Internet is still fast the TV still reliable no issues but it's just too much start up fees. They are just trying to rip you off. Once again I'm going to attempt to call them and ask them to remove those two fees or lose me as a customer.

Update September 9th 2013. Today I finally had those 2 charges for installation removed off my bill. After I called Time Warner Cable and talk to the first employee who was very rude to me. He told me that there was no way out of the two charges. He refused to listen to me and I told him about my story about the first technician not showing up, and the second technician did what the first technician should have done in the first place.

And he told me that the $45 fee was for someone to physically come out into my house and hook up my modem themselves, and that the $30 follow-up connect is where I hook it up myself but didn't do it right and they have to send somebody out to do it right. But that's two charges shouldn't be together. It was so called hooked up by a professional then why was I charged because I didn't hook it up right, that's what I didn't understand.

He was being so rude to me and wouldn't listen to me then I ask to speak to his manager. I had asked four times before I finally got transferred. Once I got his manager listen to me for about the first minute and then told me he would remove the charges on there was no battle or arguing with his manager. He just remove the charges right off my bill. I've already paid my bill for this month switch with $68.50 for some reason. I have everything on.

I'm happy everything was resolved and I can continue being a Time Warner customer, but I would have been even happier if none of this ever started. In the near future I plan to buy my own cable modem and save $7 a month of the finance fees that they charge for their modem. I will post information to let you know how that goes, and I plan on downgrading my internet from turbo to standard. I'll let you know how that goes too. For Now I'm happy with the service and I'm happy with the price.

Replies
Salesman, Aaron, Outright Lied About the Fee for the Services I Ordered.
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- As with other reviewers, I finally had enough of AT&T U-verse. I called the toll free number to check prices for TWC. I first spoke with Freddie. Told him I need to think about it and call me back on TUE. He simply sent an installer to my home. I had not ordered the service yet! He didn't call back, so I called again and spoke to Mark with a list of all my questions, and needed time to consider. When I called back to place my order, I got Aaron, March 14, 2015, 6:20 PM. Each of these sales men were very nice, well mannered, patient with my questions.

After I told Aaron exactly what I wanted, he put me on a brief hold, came back with a price but one of my must haves wasn't on the list. We went back and forth looking for a plan that included everything I wanted: 2 DVRs, HBO, Showtime. Aaron said "you're going to happy with this. Here's what I'm going to do for you: 2 DVRs, Showtime, HBO, and Epic for $142.74 plus tax, no installation fee or activation fee." I asked him "what if my old lines don't work for some reason after my AT&T installation?" He said "at most it would be $19.95 per TV". I wanted to know how much my total monthly payment would be, including tax. He told me "$171.86". I said "OK" and we set up the date.

The installer came and I had to pay the first month's bill and installation fees before he left. Well, the bill went up because HBO wasn't included in the work order. The installation fee was $24.95 per 4 standard play TVs. I had to call customer service right then to get it back to the $19.95, but they couldn't do anything about the added fee for HBO. Chris at customer service said she would 'escalate' it, someone would listen to the recording of my and Aaron's conversation and someone would get back to me.

Later that night I tried to record a program on one of my DVRs, would not work. Another call to customer service, I was told that my price was for one recordable and one play back only DVR. (Aaron never mentioned this fact) Time Warner uses the term 'whole house DVR' very freely. I guess they assume most people have only 2 TVs. I received a bill for the first month and installation fee a few days later (remember I paid it at time of installation). They hadn't given me credit for the overcharge for the standard TVs.

Another phone call. I was suppose to retain the phone number I have had for 30 years. They changed my phone number, another phone call. They did give me my old number back after a few days. My next bill included a charge for a 'phone number change'. Another phone call. In the meantime I had been calling every few weeks about the escalation. I spoke with Jules, Patrick, Jaylen, and Sophie. Each of them assured me that they would listen to the recording and get back to me. I haven't had a call and this is May 11. My total monthly charge is $195.04, about $24 more than Aaron quoted to me.

Replies
I Chose Better
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANTON, OHIO -- After 4 years of mediocre service, I finally had enough. I won't complain about their IP service, I never had any issues with it and it was actually very good service. My cable TV was another issue. After they first installed it, the picture would freeze, then black out. Sometimes changing the channel would help. Sometimes turning the box off and then back on would help. Sometimes, it would just black long enough that I gave up and did something else.

I had multiple techs at our home that couldn't find any problems at all, even though the screen went black right in front of one of them. After changing multiple Oregon Scientific boxes to no avail, one of the techs hooked up a Cisco box that seemed to help quite a bit. It didn't entirely fix the problem, but it did help enough that the screen would only pixelate or black out for a few seconds. And that's how we've watched TV for the last 4 years.

Time Warner is one of those companies that has no problem jacking up prices at least 10% every year. At the beginning of this year, they raised our $142 cable bill to $157. Then a couple weeks later, they sent a letter by mail saying that, "since you are a valued customer, we won't raise your bill this year". About a month after that, they raised our bill by another $5 with no explanation. It really makes you wonder if the company is really that incompetent or if they're just screwing with you because they can.

The biggest issue that I had with Time Warner is their billing department. I had recurring payments set up on my credit card. I decided I wasn't going to use the credit card anymore. I got online, canceled the recurring payments, and requested paper billing through the mail. Next month they charge my card again. I get online and see that I'm still set up for recurring payments and paperless billing. I thought maybe I screwed up. I changed it again. Next month they charge my card again. I get online again and see that I'm still set up for recurring payments and paperless billing. Now I'm irritated.

I call customer service (overseas) and tell the lady about the problem and she assures me that it has been taken care of. I told her I wanted my payment refunded to my card and to send me a paper bill and I'd be happy to pay it. She said no problem. No refund ever came. I recorded that phone call. I called my bank and filed a dispute on the charge. Time Warner sent a bill (through email) for half my bill. I paid it and figured they would straighten it out.

Next month they charge my card again. Now I'm livid. I contact customer support through chat. I recorded the chat session. I tell them the whole situation and that I want all my credit card information deleted from their system. He assures me that they don't have my card information on file anymore, that it had been deleted.

I take my family on vacation for a week. I get home to a letter in the mail stating my account is delinquent and that my service would be shut off in three days. The next morning, two days early, my cable and internet is shut off. Keep in mind I had never been late or missed a payment in the four years I was with them. I checked my account and they were showing that I owed over $400.

My last attempt to rectify the situation was to go to one of their service centers and deal with someone in person. The lady working told me that my bank refunded their charges when I filed a dispute over it and that was why my account was delinquent. That didn't explain the $400 bill or why they shut off my service when I had just paid the full bill from them (even though it wasn't correct) two weeks prior. I tried to explain why I filed a dispute and she just kept saying that was why my account was delinquent. It was like trying to reason with a tape recorder that just kept playing the same recording over and over. I gave up.

After another half hour, we had my bill corrected to that day. $94 I paid it, returned the cable box I'd brought with me and told her I wanted receipts for the payment, for the cable box, for the remote, and that I wanted something in writing that I wanted my service terminated as of that day. I thought I was done with them. Not quite. They charged my credit card again. I had to call my bank and have them close my account for fraudulent charges.

We went without cable and internet for about two weeks before we could get AT&T U-Verse installed. I couldn't be happier with their service. Everything about it is much better than Time Warner right down to the remote control. I chose better service and a better price. Still waiting on my replacement credit card. Thanks for everything Time Warner.

Replies
Advertisement
Debacle In Getting Business Cable Internet Service Transferred
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PLANO, TEXAS -- I am writing to detail the egregious experience I've had in trying to transfer my Time Warner Cable internet service to my new business location. I am due to open my doors on August 1, I am currently training staff – for which I need to access Webinars, and I still have no internet service at my new location. Until the last approximately three weeks, I've been content with the TWC business internet service I've had since 2010. Now, due to the debacle your company has created for me, I'm making plans for 24 months from now to dump this service option as soon as my contract is over.

Timeline details: Tuesday, July 15th: I spoke to ** about transferring my Internet service from my business at ** to **. As she was taking the order, she suggested I also use TWC phone service. In the conversation, she said I'd be able to keep the phone and fax number I've had since January, 1998. As AT&T assured me they couldn't port those numbers, I asked ** if she was sure about that: she insisted TWC could do it. So, I had her write that into the order, and I cancelled my AT&T order.

Friday, July 18th: I called to see when my order would be installed (having called several TWC numbers before I got to the party who could help me). I spoke to ** in Order Management (? Not sure of name of department). ** told me that the order had not been processed, as there was a problem with the phone portion of the order, and that only ** could help me with the resolution. No one bothered to call me to tell me about this!?!

I pursued resolution to this problem for approximately two hours, talking to various people. Frustrations included, but were certainly not limited to: ** phone always went to voice mail when I called, and I couldn't leave a message as the mailbox was full; I sent emails to ** but got no response; I waited for long times on hold (up to 31 minutes and 37 seconds); people often transferred me to ** unanswered phone and full mailbox – so I had to call again and wait on hold.

I finally reached ** again (she was helpful both times) and asked to speak to her supervisor for help. Her supervisor told me that, while they wouldn't know for sure until the order was processed, it looked pretty certain that TWC couldn't port the original phone numbers, and that once the order was processed, the installation would take 7-10 business days.

I told her I needed to cancel the phone order and just go with the internet transfer. (I would have cancelled the internet, too, except for the exorbitant cancellation fee.) Again, I was told that ONLY ** could help me with the cancellation. I asked to speak to ** supervisor, **, received his phone number and was transferred to his line.

I spoke to ** in a long conversation. He tried to assure me that this experience with TWC was not usual. He also noted that the voicemails going unanswered were due to internal phone system problems: not very reassuring to a prospective phone customer. I felt like I had dodged another bullet by cancelling my phone order!

Thursday, July 24th: ** called and told me I would hear from someone that day about installing the service, although he couldn't give me a definite time. As the day progressed and I still hadn't heard from anyone, I called ** several times. Mailbox. Finally got him on the phone, and I was told that he was working with the department that could expedite the order.

But apparently, the protocols of that department were obstacles he had no authority to bypass. Prior to that conversation, someone called my husband's cell phone to set up my service on July 29th. This date is unacceptable! And I still can't fathom why someone would call my husband, when I had made clear to everyone I spoke to what my contact number is!

I expect at this point, I will have no satisfaction in getting internet prior to Tuesday, July 29th. I'm not at all sure it will happen then, as I've lost all confidence in what most of the TWC representatives have told me. I just need to bide my time for what will seem an interminable contract period of 24 months, before I can gleefully dump TWC. I can, however, tell everyone I know – and I will! – that they should run like the wind away from TWC. And I will gladly write as many online reviews as I can find, steering people away from such a poorly functioning company – or at least a poorly functioning, but pivotal department.

If I ran my business the way this department is apparently run, I wouldn't BE in business. It escapes me how TWC can survive with such entrenched problems in your business rules and structures. It seems like it might be a good idea to spend less money in advertising – which I see everywhere! – and more time and money in keeping customers happy. Happy customers do the advertising for a good business.

Replies
They Would Not Be Accountable For Their Mistake!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GREEN BAY, WISCONSIN -- I receive my statements on-line, which is an email saying its ready, but I don't log into the site and look at them. It is the same amount every month. Also being a busy summer, I briefly scan my checking account and confirm balance and know my TW is set up auto pay. Well I happened to check it just yesterday 8/21/2013 and saw the balance was over $600. I had a heart attack. Thought how could this be, and how do I still have working cable and internet? I went and traced back my checking account and sure enough they have not taken out a payment since April. (I pay $116 a month).

I of course am so frustrated thinking I was paying all along and now I have yet another bill to add to my pile! My expiration date had changed in May, so why didn't they call me by June to tell me I am past due? The few other auto pays I have set up contact me a month prior to expiration, as they should if they want to get paid and appreciate the auto payment process.

I pick up phone and call them. 1st person somewhat understands, but I said, I would really like to talk to someone because this is not entirely my fault and I cannot just pay $600 in full right now! He says he has to transfer me to billing. Well I get Collections on the phone. They state, I must pay $475 immediately. I again state, "it is not that I don't want to pay it, but I am asking for some help here, because this is not totally my fault. And for the 3rd time, I am the one calling you, being honest and informing you of your defected system and the issue it has caused!" She says I must have to talk to customer care then as she is only a collections department and if I am not making a payment she cannot do anything.

Guy number 3 on the phone, basically says the same thing and I say, "I just want to talk to someone who can work this out for me. I have been a loyal customer for over 4 years, paying monthly on time always!" I state, "I can pay $300 in two days, but I would like to know what I am getting in return for your fault." He says "well it looks like they won't shut you off until next week." After an hour later, I said, "fine, I will call back Friday and make a payment."

I get home during tornado warnings and storms and guess what? NO TV or Internet! I was furious! I call and talk again to three different people and one a supervisor. They are now saying after I said I will pay $300 now if you turn my TV back on. Again the whole thing that this is not my fault and I have always paid and would not have called you in the first place if I wanted to stop paying! They tell me now at 8:00pm that I can only pay with Cash or cashier check! WHAT? Where do I do that at 8:00PM!

I said that is it, I am so done and this is absolutely ridiculous, how I am being treated for no reason at other than being honest and make the first attempt to fix an issue at hand! Had I not even called, I wonder how long before they would shut me off! I have dropped them, DISH is coming tomorrow and I will be paying a personal visit to return DVR and modem and let them know, they now will not see a dime of what I might owe in free Cable service, because of how they treated me and have no customer care service at all!!

I also have 2 friends who dropped them today and I will work on at least 7 more! Do the math TW!! How much money are you going to be out now? I should go to Netflix or Amazon Prime Broadcast and streamline everything for free, but until I am ready to go that route, I know one thing! Time Warner will never be used and I will make it an effort to exploit them in every way!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Time Warner Cable Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 59 ratings and
171 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Time Warner Cable
60 Columbus Circle
New York, NY 10023
1-800-892-4357 (ph)
Timewarner (fax)
www.timewarnercable.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services