Preview Review

Next Review

Toyota Motor Corporation Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Online banking
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SPRINGFIELD, MISSOURI -- It is next to impossible to view your account online as their website is horrible. Then when you call, you're on hold for 30 minutes... But oh you can bet your sweet buns if you want to purchase a vehicle from them they will constantly blow your phone up. Once you buy a car, hang it up. You're not going to reach a live person period.

Terrible Customer Service Experience
By -

I bought my first new car, a Toyota Corolla, at Kenny Ross Toyota in Moon Twp., PA. The salesman I worked with was great. HOWEVER, working with their financial representative was one of the worst customer service experiences I've ever had.

He kept pushing the extended warranty. I told him NO THREE times. He was insisting that the warranty would only cost $1 or $2 a month, even though that figure didn't add up. He finally came back with an offer that put the warranty at $200, instead of the initial $900. He showed me two figures, one with the warranty and one without. The one with the warranty was only $200 more. For that price I agreed to it.

When I was shown the final bill the list price for the warranty was $903, I asked him about it. He stated that in order to offset the $903 for the warranty he gave me a discount on the interest rate. I made the mistake of signing the papers (I should've walked away that point). Once I got home I reviewed the paperwork and the deal didn't make sense to me. I couldn't understand how I had saved $700 with the adjusted interest rate. It was nowhere in writing.

I went back to the dealership to see if I could get an explanation. I asked financial representative several questions about the numbers. He told me to ‘stop playing games'. He finally explained to me how he came to the numbers on the final agreement: The car without the warranty was shown at an interest rate of 9.6%. The car with the warranty was shown at an interest rate of 7.4%. (He didn't explain this to me until AFTER I had signed the papers).

If I would've know about those exact interest rates at the time I signed the paperwork I never would've taken the deal. I also would've shopped around for better interest rates if I had been quoted at 9.6%. I asked the financial representative when I could cancel the warranty. He said I would have to wait 30 days before I could cancel it since the papers were in transit to the bank. (That wasn't true).

I called his manager the next day, explained the situation to him and told him I wanted to cancel the warranty as soon as possible. He told me I could come in and sign off on it that day, so that's what I did. The financial representative told me that the $903 would be taken off of the principal of my loan and it could take up to 3 weeks for the figure to show up on my statement.

Six weeks later the figure had not come off my balance so I called the manager and he referred me to the financial rep. I was told that sometimes it can take up to two months for the money to be taken off the principal. Two and a half months after signing the warranty cancellation the money still had not come off the principal. Over a 12 day period I placed ten phone calls, left six messages, spoke to the finance representative twice, the manager once and had my father send an email to the dealership. None of my messages were returned.

On October 29 I was promised a call back within 15 minutes of speaking to the financial manager. Two hours later I had received no word so I called and left a message asking him to call me. He never returned the message. On November 1st I spoke to the manager and he promised me a call back about the situation on Monday, the 3rd. I finally received a call back on Tuesday the 4th from the financial rep. He stated that the deduction would be processed that day and a copy of the paper work would be faxed to me.

When I received the paperwork from Kenny Ross Toyota it stated that only $703 (as opposed to the $903 promised) had been deducted from my loan. I called the financial representative again and was told he would look into it and get back to me. I called once again two days later and he told me that he would talk to someone in the leasing department on Monday about it. No word on Monday so I called yet again on Tuesday and he said he couldn't help me and I would have to talk the leasing office.

I left a message with leasing that day. I finally got in touch with them on Wednesday and had the remaining $200 deducted by that Thursday. After canceling the warranty I had to place 16 calls to this dealership just to get to what they had promised me three and a half months earlier. (I would have gone in person but my job required me to move out of state). I felt like I was being ignored in the hopes that I would just go away.

Working with the financing representative was an absolute pain. He was condescending, manipulative and I felt like he was just trying to pull one over on me so he could get a few extra bucks. The worst part for me is that in mid December of last year I sent my customer survey (with an attached letter) to Toyota detailing my experience. It's been five months and I haven't received so much as a "thanks for filling out our survey". It doesn't seem like Toyota cares about me as a customer.

This was my first new car and my first experience with Toyota. I should've known better when making the deal, but that does not justify the way I was handled by the financial rep. or Toyota itself. The car is very nice but to be honest I wish I would not have purchased it.

Toyota Service Department
By -

;TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased my 2005 highlander with a extended warranty 2 years ago. My first problem was a year in to owning the car the door handle came off, you could see a screw came loose inside. Toyota refused to fix the problem saying the lack of a handle was cosmedic. Are you kidding? If I was in an accident my passenger would be trapped in the back, a rescue unit could not get the door opened, there was no handle to open the door. So to protect my family I paid for the repair myself.

On November 12, 2010, Friday, I took my car in. The cd/radio would not work. When I put a cd in it popped right back out. I was told 2 days to repair, I thought great. I was promised a update so when I didn't hear anything on Monday, Tuesday, I called on Wednesday. It took 4 call to learn the service person was not in and would call me the next day, he called only to tell me maybe a week. That was not acceptable so contacted the manager of the Torrance, ca dealership.

I explained the situation to him. I had the extended warranty, why would it take so long? When I contacted the extended warranty they informed me that they would replace the unit if they had the model for that year or repair the unit. When I explained this to the manager he said he would check in to it. I never heard from him again, so on Friday November 19, one week later I contacted the Toyota corporation to file a complaint.

After the weekend I was contacted and told I would have to wait until December 10, 2010 and that is no guarantee that the unit will work. My question was why does it take so long? In the meantime I've paid thousands of dollars for this car only to have to see a big ugly hole in my console every day. When I contacted the Toyota corporation and explained that that was unacceptable, a month without a radio, it's horrible pure torture for me. I was told too bad, live with it.

Toyota doesn't care. What can I do? How long should someone wait? I'm sure they could put a complete car together in less time than it would take to repair my unit. Why, why, why does it take so long to repair a cd unit? A week ok but a month way too long. Come on Toyota you are not going to get repeat business with this horrible service. A note to all, Toyota doesn't care, they lie.

If I have to hear one more sorry for the inconvenience I might get sick. Just fix my unit now, I'm tired of waiting. No one should have to wait a month for a cd unit, come on. They should drive around in a car with a big gaping hole see how the like looking at that every day. It's ugly not to mention the silence. No music, no news, no weather report. Terrible, shame on you Toyota.

Thanks to **
By -

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- Hello, I'd like to compliment three members of Toyota of Lake City for taking a rough transaction on a new car very easy to handle. My wife and I purchased a 2010 Toyota Matrix on June 24, 2010. I noticed the very next morning that I had trouble with the side view out the windows when I was changing lanes on the freeway.

I attempted to return the car on the 25th of June, less than 19 hours after the purchase. Mr. ** was very patient and empathetic, yet could not undo the deal. My wife ** and I left very disappointed and a bit angry. The next morning I was able to speak about the situation to the dealerships Customer Relations Manager, Ms. **, who was very empathetic, and assured me she would speak to the General Manager (Mr. **) about this matter.

Several hours later Ms. ** phoned me and let it be known ** and I could meet with Mr. ** on Monday June 28th at our convenience. Ms. ** was very nice during our conversations and instilled in me the knowledge that Mr. ** was very interested in resolving the issue the best he could. That was indeed very encouraging.

On June 28th ** and I were introduced to Mr ** who was very polite throughout a meeting that did not go very well because ** and I could not understand why the deal could not simply be undone. After several explanations by Mr. **, we still couldn't understand why it couldn't be reversed. ** and I left very disappointed in a car that was not truly safe for me to drive due to the visibility while changing lanes.

We hadn't been home more than five minutes and Mr. ** called and spoke with me and presented an opportunity to come back the next day to see if the issue could be resolved. We were not being forgotten purchasers. He was genuinely wanting to make us happy and that was very clear over the phone.

At 2:00 on June 29th, I returned to Lake City Toyota and was greeted by Mr. ** who had been our salesman from beginning to end. He was very supportive of us throughout the process and was the sales person I requested to work with Mr. ** and me. The three of us sat down and discussed my options. When I mentioned that getting into a base 2010 Matrix wouldn't eliminate the visibility issue, there was a moment of silence and it was clear to me both gentleman were mulling over another option.

When I mentioned that I could not get into a car with a trunk because of my back, and that I truly need a hatch back or a truck to remove items safely. They contemplated this a moment. I then mentioned looking at a Scion. Both men perked up and Mr. ** thought that could be an excellent fix.

Mr. ** remained very supportive through this process and took me on a test drive in a 2011 Scion XB. Mr ** encouraged me to take the XB onto the freeway to see how well the auto would work for me. It was wonderful. I did not have to crane my neck to see the side view. In fact, my analogy of the view is that .. "it is like being on a bicycle".

When Mr. ** and I returned to the showroom, there was no doubt that the XB was the solution. Mr ** helped us get a nice, low interest rate and very nice monthly payments. Mr. ** was simply very honest and supportive throughout the process and yes, I would go back to Toyota of Lake City because of Ms. **, Mr ** and Mr. **. If Mr. ** hasn't moved on to other pastures when it is time for ** and I to buy a Tundra or Tacoma, he will be who I seek out to assist in the purchase.

These three employees were very instrumental in turning an uncomfortable discovery into a very manageable solution. I truly think the Toyota Corporation should acknowledge their fine work as exemplary employees. I am very grateful for Mr. ** patience and professional approach, even with customers who were as unhappy as ** and I originally were.

Toyota Financial Is Incompetent
By -

Bought a brand new FJ Cruiser in 2007. Never bought a new Toyota before, always heard about their reliability, etc... At 3822 mile the clutch went out. Left me stranded out in the middle of nowhere with my young grandkids in the backseat. Towed it to the dealer, had it fixed and they said it was a defective part. Showed me the broken part and it looked like it came straight out of a box. It was just "broke". And believe me, we were babying that thing up to that point.

I've been driving manual transmission for 40 years and never had a clutch fail on me. A little disappointed in Toyota products at that point. Never liked the way their case manager handled my case, in fact I was lied to. I had been tracking the progress of my vehicle repairs with this kid they put in charge of my case with their customer service. Wasn't very happy with the way things were going, but I wasn't belligerent or anything to the kid. Then one day he won't take my call. He has a coworker tell me he is not in.

After insisting repeatedly to speak to his manager, suddenly the kid picks up the phone and asks me what he can do to help me. He was sitting there the whole time and just didn't want to be bothered with his job. But my real complaint in the fiasco of an experience I've had dealing with Toyota is with Toyota financial. What a bunch of incompetents these people are.

I've been trying for months to correct a discrepancy on my monthly statement, and each month I'm assured that it will be taken care of. In fact all they've done is make things worse, and I fear it may be affecting my credit. And it's ALL their mistakes. They can't seem to do anything right at all, and I'm to the point that I fear any more communication with them may only make things more of a mess.

Even worse, I can't get any information to circumvent them and let an adult in the company know that their financial service is dropping the ball. I write this in hopes that I can warn anyone out there that is thinking of buying a Toyota that they are very overrated and you'd probably be better off going in a different direction. They made me feel like they were doing me a favor to buy the car, then they made me feel like they were doing me a favor to let me keep the car and continue to pay for it.

Well, Toyota, as far as I'm concerned you can pack all your belongings and head for Japan. I can't wait to get rid of this vehicle I know longer trust fearing another "design flaw" that many of their other cars are experiencing. Going to get rid of it and get me a Jeep, and Toyota won't have to worry about doing me a favor by letting me buy any of their cars in the future.

Misinformed/ Lack of Knowledge and Failure to Maintain Properly

ARLINGTON, TEXAS -- I have owned and operated an automotive mechanical and body shop for 30 years now. I personally am a certified master tech and had originally worked for Nissan becoming one of the earliest Nissan Master techs. I served as a substitute teacher for a few auto equipment manufacturers, teaching both in the mechanical and collision trades in night classes when called upon.

I have found over the years that there are a significant number of people that bought their cars and never opened their owner's manual which came with the car, consequently never knew about the proper operation, care and maintenance of their vehicles. There are also the buyers who think that buying an economy car means that you do not have to maintain them with timing belt replacements and other services necessary.

A properly maintained Camry that I have had come through my shop on a scheduled maintenance basis often saw 250-300 thousand miles without any major repairs, just regular maintenance. Misunderstandings come often from not giving the service writer the proper information needed to address your problem. Case in point, I have a disgruntled customer who feels that because I replaced a drive belt on her car at her request (it needed replacement), it wouldn't start the following morning.

The engine spins but won't start. "Did it do that before it came here?" “Yes, but you put a new belt on my car, so you must have fixed it and now it has not remained fixed!" NOW as with many other shops and dealerships, they are expected to give unconditional warranties on an entire car because they put a wrench to it? We get cars where they had an expensive repair done at a dealership and it quit running on them. They don't want to bring it back!

We often ask if we can see what the other shop had done? The majority of the time their problem is unrelated to the services rendered and often we see notes written on the receipt informing the customer of the very thing that the car ends up being towed into our shop for! Should the other shop be bad mouthed? Many people feel ripped off if they have a problem with a repair and do not want to bring their car back. IT IS YOUR CHOICE AS TO WHETHER YOU WISH TO EXERCISE A WARRANTY WITH THE SHOP THAT DID THE REPAIR.

Do not expect to present them with a bill from another shop because it will not stand up in court! People look at Toyota's and think foreign car! WRONG! Depending on where you live, your neighbor may have built part of your car, truck or the engine! Look at the manufacturers label of you Chevrolet Impala some time made in Canada! Why? What is wrong with the same Americans that Toyota, Nissan, Honda and Subaru employ to build cars that our citizens curse because they have foreign names.

Check your Dodge Caravan. CANADA! Chevrolet had a joint venture one time in California building Toyota Corolla's and Geo's with American labor! Look at the label on a Geo tracker some time, it ain't made by Americans. Toyota Tundra's are manufactured in Indiana and Texas with American labor, not Canadians, Mexicans, OR CHINESE! The 381 HP V-8 in the Tundra is built by American workers in Alabama! The trickledown theory? How much do you think Toyota Motor corp affects our economy over all?

Remember, shipping, insurance, vendors, technicians, warehouse facilities, dock workers, building contractors and their run off, Dealerships, independent shops as mine. Auto-zone markets parts for Toyota's which aren't original equipment, but it is the Toyota vehicle being here that created the market which warranted enough call for them to seek out a company that would make a part for the car other than Toyota. I could go on, but I think you can grasp the concept of how positive Toyota Products affect our very economy.

In our 30 years of operating, we have found Toyota's to be a top notch product in comparison to most of the competition. A 2000, Impala my mom owned the interior was falling apart, the paint had faded and the steering wheel at the top had disintegrated! My best friend's Dodge ram's dash board crumbled and so did the plastic face pieces. We couldn't even buy parts of the dash from a junk yard because they deteriorate that fast! My shop services all makes and models. It isn't any cheaper to fix a Chevy than a Toyota.

I have had literally thousands of Toyota's through my shops over the 30 years I've been here. Yes, not every car is perfect, but see if you can look at and compare the technical service bulletins which are issued on each make and model. You will find Toyota's do not have anywhere near the problems of many of the other products. I do not believe that every Toyota which is being recalled has a problem.

I believe that Toyota is bringing them in, in some cases to idiot proof them because some of the public haven't the brains to put the floor mat which they unhooked to clean the car, back on the hook designed to keep the mat from sliding toward the gas pedal. And the people not smart enough to know that a floor mat not designed to fit may possibly interfere with the brake, clutch or accelerator pedal and haven't the common sense to keep from installing it.

For those who may experience a pedal sticking and/or cruise control which might want to take over, look to your RIGHT! The thing called a gear selector. It can even be knocked into neutral even by a person in the back seat in a panic situation. There is also a thing called an ignition switch!

AS LONG AS YOU DO NOT REMOVE THE KEY, TURNING IT COUNTER CLOCKWISE WILL JUST TURN THE MOTOR OFF. Both actions will immediately cause acceleration situation to stop. There are more Toyota's, Honda's and Nissan's from the 70's and 80's on the roads than you might think. I have rarely a week where I do not have at least one Nissan, Toyota or Honda from those time frames.

Right now I have 1 1971 240Z, 1 1978 280Z, 1 1970 Datsun 521 pickup, 1 1981 Mercedes 300TD, 1 1983 Mercedes 300TD, plus my body shop is doing two restorations. A 1965 Elcamino and a 1960 Impala. Both have been sitting for over 20 years. The others are daily drivers. This doesn't include later model Chevy's, Fords, BMW's, Mercedes, Toyota's.

Wish I Would Be Offered Some Help and Assisted Like a Valued Customer
By -

STOCKTON, CALIFORNIA -- I frankly do not understand as to why it has been so difficult to be assisted like a good customer should be at the Toyota Dealership located on 2150 East Hammer Lane, Stockton, Ca. 95210. Especially since that is the location where I purchased my first car, and then 2 years later went back to upgraded to a newer model, which I have now (2005 Scion XB to a 2009 Scion XB), and recommended my mother as well, who also purchased a 2008 Camry.

Today, my sister went into that dealership to drop off my car for me during her lunch because I commute 1 hour out of town due to the left brake light going out. I had previously brought this car in for the same reason; difference is before it was the right brake light that went out. The appointment had been scheduled at 9:30 am on 09/15/09, and she had been told a shuttle was available if a ride back to a location was needed.

Upon dropping off the car my sister was instructed to wait because the shuttle would not be back for another half knowing she had already requested one the day before because she stated she would need a ride back, she ended up having to find a ride to avoid being late back to work. Before leaving she was instructed by ** that she will be contacted once the analysis for the repair was determined. No one contacted her.

So she then contacted the dealership in the customer service department around 1 PM an hour before her shift ended, depending on the feedback they were to provide her because the car was her means of transportation home. On that call a representative told her that a part would need to be ordered for the repair to be made, and that the part is on back order for at least 1 week and a half.

No loaner was offered or any type resolution to help, until she requested it, even after explaining to representative that I needed a car to commute and that I had previously been pulled over and given a fix it ticket because of this issue before 2 months ago with same turnaround time to be fixed. Having to pay a fee out of my pocket to have the ticket written off after my commute late from work, and still nothing was done. She was just told that they again would be calling her back, and once again an hour later no one called back.

Finally she spoke to another representative when she got off of work after finding a ride home, and finally was told that a loaner would be provided, but it wasn't guaranteed due to another customer using it that had been waiting on a car repair as well, and the car would only be available if the car was repaired today.

The only other option offered would be to rent a car. Finally around 3:30 PM she was then instructed by ** that a car was available at the dealership and she could go down there to pick it up. She had to find another ride, when she arrived nothing was provided to her, she was told that the only way the loaner car would be released was if she had a big corporate car insurance listing names like AAA, 21st Century, ETC... That would cover the loaner.

Pretty much stating, that the full coverage insurance Titan Insurance, currently covering my car, which I have had for over 3 years, was not good enough for the car to be released to her. She became upset and said, “Well what are you guys going to do for me?” and no response was provided, other than having them request an Enterprise rental car in which they would only provide a purchase order for in the meantime, and that she had to leave a deposit for a hold of about 250 dollars apart from that pay for insurance to cover the car too.

At that point she had had it, requested to speak to a manager for assistance because all ** kept saying to her was it was policy and he couldn't do anything to help other than give her back the unsafe car that I would have to drive with one brake light and commute with at 3 AM every morning until the part was received, and with her luck the manager was nowhere to be found.

All ** said after no attempt to help was, “Do you want me to go get your car?” So she finally said yes and now I'm stuck having to drive my unsafe brand new 2009 car illegally AGAIN with another brake light out in and out of town with no other options. I purchased that car because I wanted a reliable means of transportation, not a vehicle that I would continuously have to keep bringing in for repairs.

I think I was better off with my older car, I'm so unhappy with their services, do not feel like a valued customer, and hope no one else has to go through this experience or that at least they redeem themselves in same way to show me some type of willingness to assist now that I'm having to wait almost 2 weeks to have my brake light repaired. I'm requesting a response to this email with a resolution to this complaint.

I am sure that Toyota Motor Corporation does not want to be held responsible for "God Forbid" an accident of any sort due to my missing brake light in addition to any additional traffic fines that I may incur during these 2 weeks. If I don't receive a response or any assistance from Toyota I will have no other choice but to contact my attorney, the BBB, and share my story on every complaint board possible.

Bad Service
By -

VISTA -- When it was time for me to get a new car, I trusted in Toyota Motors for a variety of reasons. Generally speaking, Toyota is known for producing quality cars and in the past, I have been very satisfied with the Toyota cars that I have owned. They have great gas mileage, they do not require as much maintenance as other lesser brands do, and they are aesthetically pleasing. I support Toyota's Lean Manufacturing. I have always recommended Toyotas to friends, family and colleagues.

However, unsatisfactory customer service can change all that. And, that it exactly what I have experienced at the Carlsbad Toyota Service Center. I currently own a 2008 Toyota Yaris in Polar White. I have never had an issue with my car before. My reason for visiting the service center was due to an interior leak which (evidently) resulted from a clogged drain pipe for the air conditioning condensation.

I first noticed the leaking drainpipe on August 30, 2009. It was the only time I ever saw anything leak from the interior of my car. I decided it would be a good idea to bring it in for a service check and I assumed that this type of thing would be covered under my 100,000 mile warranty. On September 1, 2009, I took my Yaris in for a service check.

** is the person with whom I spoke with for most issues regarding my Yaris that day. Mr. ** told me that the issue was not covered under my warranty but that the service check would be done free of charge on ‘goodwill'. He explained to me multiple times what the issue was. He employed the use of technical jargon, which obviously, I did not understand because I do not work on cars for a living.

I asked Mr. ** to explain what was going on inside my car in more elementary terms, but he proceeded to explain the issue the same exact way. He also seemed rushed, and told me, “I only have 15 minutes.” He seemed eager to get to the next customer, but I left without having my questions answered. Today, I still do not understand how a brand new Toyota could end up with a clogged drainpipe after not even two years of ownership. I left confused and unsure about the stability of my car.

When I asked if my car came installed with a cabin filter (because I had read that some Yaris do not), Mr. ** told me that the computer system reads that my Yaris does, in fact, come equipped with a cabin filter. I had asked him to physically check if I have one before my car was serviced. When I picked my car up, I asked him if he found a cabin filter. Mr. ** said he did not check, he only looked in the computer system. He then slid his fingers in the glove compartment and said he could feel it. But again, I left feeling very unsure about this, too, because I couldn't see or feel it.

After I left the dealership I felt better (despite the bad customer service) because I thought my car is good condition again. I was wrong. After making a quick stop at home, I was on my way to school when my ‘check engine' light came on. I was at a stoplight just a block and a half from my house when this occurred. Then, while sitting at a red light still, the ‘overheating' warning sign came on. When the traffic started moving I immediately pulled over, obviously baffled! How could a Toyota with a little over twenty thousand miles on it be overheating?

Of course, I immediately called Toyota Carlsbad to sort this issue out. Only an hour has elapsed between the time I left the dealership and the time my car began overheating. When Mr. ** called me back about my Yaris, he immediately blamed the accident I had. But there are a few noteworthy points to make: First, my accident only dealt body damage to my vehicle, this can be easily confirmed.

Second, the accident happened in January and since then, I have made two trips to Northern California (a long drive) and over five trips to Palomar Mountain (which is a strenuous drive). And third, my vehicle was in perfect health, aside from the clogged drain pipe, before taking it to the Toyota Dealership.

Mr. ** claims that the hood of my car was never even opened during my service visit precisely because of the front end body damage. Since I was not there, and there are no witnesses I can trust, how can I believe this? It is ridiculous to ask me to believe that I brought my car in for service, and the hood of my car was never opened.

Why would Mr. ** and/or any other personnel not open the hood of my car if I am clearly bringing the vehicle to be serviced? Mr. ** never offered me any advice and was cold on the phone, even as I sat in my car with smoke coming out from under the hood on the side of the road. He simply blamed some minor body damage for the reason my new car was overheating!

When I realized that Toyota Carlsbad was not going to help me, I simply hung up and waited for my car to cool down. When it was safe to do so, I popped the hood of my car myself. Upon inspection, I noticed three things: the radiator cap was off, the intake pipe was completely off, and the engine coolant cap was off.

I do not know a lot about cars, but I do know that if my car was in this condition before I had finished having it serviced by Toyota Carlsbad that I would have never have made it to the dealership rather, I would not have had any other choice but to tow it there. The situation seemed like too much of a coincidence to me.

Luckily for me, I was able to sort things out without the help of Toyota Carlsbad's service ‘professionals'. I cannot prove whether or not one of Toyota's service employees opened the hood of my car and made an honest mistake in leaving the engine coolant cap off. But, Toyota's success had to do with GM and its dealers ignoring customer complaints, not servicing warranty claims, and substandard products. Perhaps Toyota and its dealers are headed in the same direction.

I will be elevating this issue as far as I can go with it. I did not feel that I was treated equally or with respect during my visit to the service department whatsoever. I have always held Toyota in high esteem. I will never service my car again in the Toyota Service Center in Carlsbad, CA and I will never recommend that anyone goes there for anything.

In fact, I'll be pretty vocal about discouraging anyone I know from going there. And, if anyone else wants to hear my opinion (JD Power & Associates, my attorney general, the Better Business Bureau, newspaper, and/or any Consumer Reports that will listen), I will gladly explain my experience in full detail.

It is really too bad that coming to your service center had been such an aggravating experience. I hated being rushed out and feeling like I had been lied to and/or misled. No one enjoys being patronized or dealing with a condescending service professional. Maybe Honda will treat me better.

Toyota Tacoma- Chipping Paint, Bent Tailgate
By -

TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA -- 5/20/05 - 4080 miles. Chipping paint- on hood, roof, front quarter panels and in front of rear wheels on bed. Took vehicle to Toyota of Nashua (Nashua, NH) for evaluation. Toyota personnel told me that these were rock chips. I agreed, but stated that the paint was brittle and should not have chipped. Other Tacoma owners with Speedway Blue trucks complained about paint chipping.

I read about these cases on the Internet site TundraSolutions. ** (Service manager) and ** (Regional manager) offered to repaint the bed, but required that I spend $400 for Toyota running boards. I told them that this was unacceptable and that I should not have to spend any money, as this is a Toyota paint defect issue. Issue not resolved.

9/14/05- 10234 miles. Bent tailgate- Approximately Mid-August 2005, I was loading a riding lawn mower into the back of the truck when I felt the tailgate give way. After removing the lawn mower and ramp, I saw that the left side of the tailgate was bent outward. The tailgate did close properly. Tailgate had NO labels that told of a weight limit, nor were there any labels in the truck. The Owner's Manual did not have any warnings of tailgate damage due to excessive weight. I found out soon after that the tailgate can only hold 200 pounds. This is totally unacceptable for a vehicle that is designed to carry ½ Ton.

My 1996 Tacoma could easily load & haul the riding lawn mower. Took the vehicle to the dealer (Toyota of Nashua) on Sept 14, 2005. I showed the vehicle to ** and **. I explained that there was NO warning labels in or on the truck, nor in the Owner's Manual that stated a 200LB weight limit. ** left me outside in 90-degree weather while they went inside to find documentation that states that the tailgate only has a 200LB rating. They came back in about 20 minutes and told me that they could not find any documentation, but reaffirmed that I was at fault for the damaged tailgate and that I abused the truck.

I told them that they were wrong and that this is a Toyota manufacturing defect. And that the problem needs to be corrected AT NO COST TO ME! ** and ** asked me why Toyota would make a cheap tailgate? I said, you should know, you work for the company. I then explained that the light tailgate and composite bed were to save weight, thus increasing gas mileage.

I explained that my family ALL had Toyotas, Father- ‘89 Xtracab Pickup/ '94 Celica ST, Mother- '95 Avalon XLS, Brother- ‘'96 Tacoma Std Cab, Sister- '97 Tacoma Extra Cab, Sister- 2000 RAV4, Me- 1989 Deluxe Pickup, 1996 Tacoma Std Cab V6 and the fact that this is my third Toyota should mean that they would want to take care of my issues to keep a customer happy. All of this fell on deaf ears.

In any case, the truck was not repaired. ** and ** did not give me a receipt to show that my truck was in the shop for this issue, as they felt that the issue was caused by me and that I was wasting their time. I called Toyota Customer Care that evening and let them know that I am a VERY UNHAPPY customer. Issue not resolved.

7/31/07- 36682 miles. Bent tailgate- I had my truck in for other warranty service. I asked Service Advisor ** if Toyota had acknowledged that there were defects with the 2005-2007 Tacoma tailgates and provided a Technical Service Bulletin. He replied that Toyota had no technical service bulletins regarding the tailgate. Furthermore, the dealer (Toyota Of Nashua) had never heard of any other incidents of Tacoma tailgate failures. I explained my situation and he told me that there was nothing further he could do.

The warranty service included- replacement of a rear shock absorber and the main wiring harness ( Air Bag light was on). I have some other wiring passing through the firewall. This wiring consists of a remote radar detector and an Amateur radio antenna cable. I let ** know that this wiring was in place, and could they please be careful to put it back the way they found it. I was assured that the top accessory technician at the dealership would put everything back together correctly.

When I picked up the truck, the radar detector powered ON, but it indicated that the remote sensor was not connected. And the wiring for the Amateur radio antenna was too short to connect to my radio. The antenna wire was coiled up behind the dashboard and was tie-wrapped to an air conditioner Freon line. This line was HOT and it would have melted the insulation on the antenna cable had I driven the truck for more than the 10 minutes it took to get home.

I drove back to the dealer and told them of these problems. ** did not seem interested in helping me, he told me that they could take a quick look at the problem, but that was as far as they would go. I told him that this was unacceptable and that he just lost a customer. I went home and fixed the problems with the antenna and radar detector myself. Later that night, I called the Toyota Customer Care line and I spoke to **. He was no help and he refused to let me speak to his boss.

5/21/09- 51703 miles. I now live in Tucson, Az. I brought the truck to Precision Toyota in Tucson to have an ECU update done (starting issues, cranks for a long time), to look at the tailgate and the paint chipping. I worked with Service Advisor ** and Service Drive Manager **. Point of note- Technical Service Bulletins. This is the second Toyota dealership I have been to that acts like they never heard of a Technical Service Bulletin until the customer shows them a hard copy. Toyota of Nashua also responded in this manner when asked if there was a TSB concerning an issue with a vehicle.

ECU Issue- The truck does have the latest ECU code so there was nothing that could be done regarding the ECU. The tailgate issue is still not resolved, I was told that they need proof that the issue was brought to Toyota's attention before the 3/36 warranty was up. The Paint Chipping issue was not diagnosed in the shop, but I was told by ** and ** that it was road debris and there was nothing they could do about it. ** told me that his '07 Tacoma has rock chips. I still contend that the paint or the painting process is inferior.

They suggested that I call Toyota Customer Care to see what assistance Toyota Corporate could provide. I called Customer Care and spoke to **. My case # is **. I explained to her about my visit to Precision Toyota a few hours earlier. She told me that under the history for my vehicle, **, the New England Regional Service manager, did look at my truck back in September of 2005 concerning the tailgate. At that time, I was refused assistance.

** had determined that I abused and damaged the truck. There was no technical service bulletin at the time. There is now a technical Service Bulletin (BO018-07) dated 11/13/07 concerning the tailgate. Because ** claimed that I was at fault back in 2005, Toyota still refuses to fix my truck. ** reiterated that once a Regional Service manager makes a ruling, it cannot be reversed or superseded. Also, she told me that Toyota would not help me because I admitted to bending the tailgate.

My Response- Toyota did a poor job engineering the tailgate and the problem lies with Toyota manufacturing and customer service. The '09 Tacoma has a heavier tailgate than my truck, and by coming out with a TSB, they acknowledged that there is a problem with the tailgate. Toyota should be fixing ALL defective Tacoma tailgates, regardless of mileage. I will be speaking with the customer service representative at Precision Toyota in the next week.

5/26/09 - I did speak with **, the customer relations from Precision Toyota. He told me that Toyota would not warranty my tailgate. I explained the tailgate issue to him. He made some notes, then told me to call the Customer care line again. I told him that they had already denied my claim. He told me to call again.

I spoke with Toyota Customer Care Line **. She was very pleasant, but offered no help. She told me that the Denver regional office reviewed my case and denied any assistance. 7/24/09- I received a call from Toyota Customer care on 7/23/09 and returned the call on 7/24/09. I spoke to **. I gave her my case number. She looked at the notes and asked if I had been contacted by the Western Regional parts manager.

I told her that I had not been contacted by any representative from the regional office. She told me that the Regional parts manager has declined my request for service. I explained that I will not buy any more Toyotas and I will tell anybody that asks about my truck not to buy a Toyota until my vehicle is fixed to my satisfaction under warranty. She then said “ I am sorry that you are having a problem with your vehicle. Thanks for calling Toyota, have a nice day.” She then hung up on me.

Toyota of Lewisville Sales Associates Offer Fake Quotes to Lure Customers Into the Dealership!!
By -

LEWISVILLE, TEXAS -- THESE PEOPLE ARE HUSTLERS AND SNAKES... STAY AWAY! My wife got a quote on a car over the phone from one of their sales associates. After the offer was made, she took our baby twin girls to the bank to get a cashier's check, and we drove 45 minutes to get to the dealership.

We show up, check in hand, and tell them exactly what we were told on the phone. They say, “Great, why don't you test drive the car before you buy it.” And then, after my wife had driven the vehicle, they explain that they were NOT WILLING TO HONOR THE PRICE THEY OFFERED OVER THE PHONE!

And then the sales manager proceeded to lie through his teeth, claiming the sales associate who made the offer "wasn't answering his phone". But the guy who made the offer was clearly in the building--we were told as such by other employees.

This was a massively painful ordeal, shuttling our baby twins around to get a cashier's check and driving up to the dealership, and we wasted four hours that I wish we could have back. These people don't seem to care at all that they wasted our time.

They don't care that what they're doing is unethical. And they don't seem the least bit troubled by the fact that they lied to a mother of twin babies to lure her into the building so that the sales manager would get a chance to hustler her. These people have no shame, no scruples, and no dignity whatsoever.

Top of Page | Next Page >

Toyota Motor Corporation Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 9 ratings and
89 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Toyota Motor Corporation
25 Atlantic Avenue
Erlanger, KY 41018-3188
800-331-4331 (ph)
Product/Services | Related Resources
Compare Auto Manufacturers