Preview Review

Next Review

United Healthcare Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Claim Disputes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, NEVADA -- I was hospitalized in May of 2015. I first went to urgent care and was transported from that facility, by ambulance, to the emergency room. I was diagnosed with pneumonia, sepsis and was in renal and respiratory failure when I arrived. I was intubated and put on a ventilator and spent 8 days in ICU. The policy I had, had a $5000 deductible and a $6250 out of pocket maximum. I have satisfied the out of pocket max but I am still having problems getting UHC to pay the physician claims.

On my first appeal, they responded that they had not received the H&P and other medical records to support the claim. I responded with another letter and included all the clinical notes from each day in ICU. I then received a response with another denial saying that they could not find a claim for this appeal. The provider listed on the second denial was my new insurance carrier which was not effective until 11/1/15 and was never mentioned in any of my letters. The letter also stated that I had exhausted my limited appeals.

I responded with a third letter, highlighting all the information and I insisted that a supervisor look through all the documents and respond back to me by phone. I am giving them one week to respond and then I will go the state regulators. I have all the documentation and I am sure in the end they will have to pay the claim. I have never experienced such incompetency and poor customer service in my entire life.

Replies
Advertisement
No Resolution to Problem/no Way to Contact Supervisor
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- When I contacted UHC on October 2nd to get a letter saying that my daughter would no longer be covered as a dependent on my account, I was told she would not be covered after October 31st and a letter would be sent stating this. When the letter did not arrive after a week, I called back at 8 am on October 9th and was told that there was a note in the file that they would not send the letter until after October 31st. My daughter needed the letter in order to enroll in the insurance plan at her new employer. The last day to enroll in her new insurance plan is October 31st. I asked repeatedly to speak with a supervisor and each time the cs representative argued with me.

I was eventually put on hold and then told there was no one available. I asked to have a supervisor call me and was told they had 24 to 48 business hours to call back and someone would call by October 14th. I asked if that meant by 8 am on the 14th and was told that would be the earliest anyone would call. I pointed out that that was not within the 24 to 48 hours mentioned. I went to the website in the hope of finding a different way to contact anyone at the company. There is no email or other phone number for customer service.

I called back and spoke to one more unhelpful person and asked to take the survey at the end. I left a message at the end of the survey. I do not expect to be called back. There is no way to resolve an issue with this company. They have a one-star rating - much too high!

Replies
The Great Divider
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KATY, TEXAS -- I have had insurance through most major carriers in my 40 years of working and some were good and some left a little to be desired, but United Health Care is undoubtedly the worst insurance company on the market. As with other stories here, they lie, they misrepresent and they deny coverage for coverage they say they in fact do allow for.

I am changing after the first of the year and will never use or recommend this insurance to anybody. My wife is going blind and she needs a medication for her eye (which Aetna when we had them had no problem approving) that UHC will not cover after lying to us and her doctor and saying, "Sure we cover that." It is $200 a week and a medicine she will have to use for a couple of years before she can get a cornea transplant something else they don't cover. All I can say is buyer beware when dealing with these crooks.

Replies
Having Hard Time Getting Bill Payed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- Was given referral from primary care Dr to see dermatologist. While there Dr found spot on back. He removed and sent for biopsy. Now United Healthcare is refusing to pay because besides a referral I now need a preauthorization. In other words I needed to go back to primary care Dr so I could go back to dermatologist and spend another $50. This insurance company is the worst. Never had this trouble with any other company. Can't wait till January so I find new insurance.

Replies
Advertisement
A Nightmare That Lasted 30 Days and Is Still Going On...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- UHC has become the ABSOLUTE worst company for Health Insurance. They say they cover medication then reject your prescription. I am on a prescription that must be taken daily or I can die from withdrawal. They have rejected it, and the prescription costs $600/month which I do not have. So, in short, I am screwed. If I have a stroke or seizure, I will sue them to the end of the Earth. Change your plan NOW.

Replies
Insurance Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW MEXICO -- My husband works for BNSF Railways, and for years we have had this insurance. Since ObamaCare has come into play, our insurance costs have gone up dramatically. We have to reach ridiculous premiums for everything. It is out of control. Those of us that have been loyal consumers seem to be getting the raw end of the deal. This is not ok, and hopefully the right people will start reading these posts and so something about this racket!

Replies
Denied Treatment and Prescriptions
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- My wife has Stage 4 Breast Cancer. At every step of the way, from the doctor's request for scans, treatment, prescriptions, United Health Care (UHC) has initially denied everything. Then there are multiple phone calls back and forth between doctor, labs, pharmacy, UHC, and my wife. After sometimes days, everything is eventually resolved, but at great stress and anxiety for my wife. My wife is battling cancer, she shouldn't have to be battling with United Health Care.

Replies
Claims Denied
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DAVENPORT, IOWA -- This company denies valid claims systematically. I have been trying to get a claim for 6 months about a dental procedure and they keep asking about a full mouth x-ray of the full mouth of before the implant was completed. Dental office sent them the 3-D model, which is newer technology, but they have rejected the claim several times. I understand that they want to avoid paying for cosmetic procedures, but this is clearly not the case.

Replies
Advertisement
WORST Experience, Most Incompetent Staff Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARKET PLACE, FLORIDA -- WORST, WORST, WORST experience ever! Here's my experience... (Personal information has been changed for my privacy). 2012 - Signed up for individual insurance for "Suzy " (female) with United Healthcare Golden Rule. March 2015 - Signed up for individual insurance for "Suzy " (female) with United Healthcare MarketPlace. - March 2015 - Marketplace plan was started, and month 1 paid. ID **. March 31, 2015 - Marketplace plan was terminated without communication to either Suzy or Stewart. March 2015 - No payment made to United Healthcare Golden Rule.

May 2015 - Suzy realized she never received an insurance card from the MarketPlace and could not log in to their website. May 2015 - Stewart (Insurance Agent) and I ("Suzy Anne " (female)) called United Healthcare MarketPlace regarding plan established in March. Response was that the plan never went through, and a new application was filled out over the phone. New application used the wrong name (Anne as the first name, as the surname, no mention of Suzy) and indicated insured was a male. Suzy paid $713.72 to cover the balance from April and May. ID **.

May 2015 - United Healthcare mailed Suzy 2 letters regarding outstanding balance of $38.62 and a period of 10 days to pay the balance. Suzy was out of the country and did not receive either letter. No communication was made via email or telephone to either Suzy or Stewart regarding payment issue or coverage termination. July 20, 2015 - Physician office calls Suzy regarding insurance had been terminated. ID **.

July 20, 2015 - Suzy and Stewart call United Healthcare, call was disconnected. Suzy called United Healthcare back and spoke with a customer service. She was advised her insurance had been terminated for lack of payment. Bank statements indicate a check for $224.11 was mailed to United Healthcare each month, yet according to the United Healthcare representative, none of those payments were attributed to Suzy 's account. According to the bank, they were all cashed. Suzy was advised to send an email and explain the situation. An email was sent (to uhcexchange@uhc.com) and Stewart was carbon copied.

July 21, 2015 - Email from United Healthcare was received by Stewart that read "We will make the exception to reinstate without lapse with the additional $38.62 and the June payment of $262.73 for a total of $301.35. The insured can call and pay with a cc payment today or they can send a payment to us to be received by the close of business on 7/23/15, after that date we will not be able to reinstate without lapse."

July 21, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare, paid $301.35 and was advised her account would be reinstated. This reinstated her Golden Rule account from 2012 (ID **), not her most recent MarketPlace account. Suzy was transferred to the MarketPlace, however after speaking with someone and waiting on hold for more than 30 minutes, the call was disconnected. Prior to being disconnected, Suzy was advised that she paid $713.72 in May, and her account had been terminated at the end of May.

July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Marketplace to get reinstated. She was advised that her account (ID **) had been terminated in March. The representative advised a new application would need to be filled out. They found Suzy's name was written as Anne and she was identified as a Male. The call was disconnected before the application could be completed.

July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Marketplace to get reinstated. She was informed that there was nothing she could do as her insurance had been terminated. Call transferred to Tier 2, who sent a request to United Healthcare Case Management to reinstate insured. Suzy was advised the process could take 1 - 2 months. No record of May's payment or Golden Rule account was found. July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Golden Rule to confirm insurance coverage secured the day before (July 21, 2015). Her ID (**) could not be found in the system.

July 24, 2015 - Suzy and Stewart called United Healthcare MarketPlace to discuss coverage. Their system did not reflect calls from earlier in the week, nor did it correct the name "Suzy Anne" and "Anne." Service representative Lance advised call would be elevated to someone that could problem solve and worked on odd situations; United Healthcare MarketPlace should be in touch with Suzy in 5 - 7 business days with a resolution.

July 28, 2015 - Case management called and left a voice mail. Name (first name only) was not understandable. Did not leave a case number. Call was to informed me they had my case and would be working on it. July 27, 2015 at 6:20pm. Called number left on the voice mail (877-887-0441), no notes regarding case management, case manager or case number. Called number that called me (**), call was disconnected.

July 31, 2015 - The MarketPlace called to inform me my application has been updated. Marketplace has updated my application. Sent the application and a request for reinstatement to the UHC. Have to work with UHC to get reinstated. Has no information about payments, old policy ID number. At this point I have to work with the plan (aka UHC). Name and sex have been corrected. No idea who at UHC I need to talk with. Advised her that my policy got messed up because the Golden Rule and MarketPlace systems didn't catch the error in my application.

She asked why not, and I said it was because the systems don't communicate and neither do the people. She said I would need to work with the insurance plan. I asked who that was and she said the plan. After asking for clarification again, she said it was UHC. I asked which department at UHC I would need to talk with since if I called then and said, I need to talk with the Plan, they would think I sprouted a second head. She said she didn't know, she wasn't part of their company and doesn't know their departments. She doesn't communicate with them.

July 31, 2015 - United Healthcare called. Received a file from the MarketPlace on 7/15 showing termination should have been 3/31. As of today, UHC has not received anything from the Marketplace. If the Marketplace sent something, it will take about 30 days to process. July 31, 2015 - A letter from Golden Rule and check came in the mail today. The letter states that I am paid through July 31, 2015 and in fact overpaid by $224.11. The check is for $224.11.

Here are the issues: This payment was made through the website that we set up access to while on the phone with the Marketplace in May 2015. This payment was applied to my old Golden Rule account from 2012. I was dropped from the Golden Rule account in May for non-payment. The Marketplace won't show record of this payment. I also received a letter from the Marketplace that says I am eligible to re-enroll in January. This is the first communication I have received from the Marketplace.

March 2015 through current - Suzy never received any communication, a new card or an invoice from United Healthcare Marketplace. March 2015 through recent - United Healthcare Golden Rule has been charging Suzy for an old plan, collecting payments and not attributing them to her account.

Sent them: Bank payments for United Healthcare Golden Rule. May payment for United Healthcare MarketPlace
American Express payment for $301.35 for United Healthcare Golden Rule, made July 21, 2015. Total paid to United Healthcare 2015. Jan: $224.11. Feb: $224.11. March:. April: $224.11. May: $224.11 and $713.72. June: $224.11. July: $224.11 and $301.35. Total: $2,359.73. Marketplace premium: $356.56. Owed to United Healthcare for = $-35.85.

Replies
"Network" Providers Not Available
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TREASURE COAST, FLORIDA -- As some may or may not be aware United Healthcare terminated 70% of the "Network" providers from their panels. Of course as an insured with UHC notification of this action was not given until after "Open Enrollment" ended thereby locking me in another year with UHC, had this information been available before "Open Enrollment" ended I would not be with UHC anymore however UHC carefully navigated the timing of the terminations of the network physicians so as not to become know till it was too late.

My experience began January 21, 2014 my doctor had ordered "fasting" blood work, I called the lab the day before just to be sure I knew where I was going and confirm the hours, of course there was nothing more than a recording providing the address, directions and hours they are open and informing me there would be no live person to speak to at this location (I should have known right then there was a problem). I arrived at the address provided yet there was no sign, no indication a lab was there upon checking with neighboring properties I was told the lab had closed "months ago".

While standing right there I called UHC and after 25 minutes of checking of course I was told the lab was right there. I mailed them a picture of the empty office and then was provided another location to go to have my fasting blood work done without even an apology, I arrive at the next location provide to me by UHC and again the lab had closed months ago, went through the same scenario with UHC and they sent me to a 3rd location where a lab should have been and yes, believe it or not that location had also closed (Lab Corp was now the ONLY network lab for UHC they did not have to be convenient as we have no other choice.)

The fourth location was the charm. I arrived at the fourth location went to the reception desk to sign in on the sign in sheet for everyone that came in to see I had been there (so much for privacy) and was then told by the receptionist I would need to provide my credit card for them to copy and keep on file for any charges to be put on my credit card if not paid by UHC.

Now understand probably 80% of the time a charge is denied or not paid correctly and they would just put through the charge to my credit card leaving me to fight the battle with UHC and that being the least of the problems leaving your credit card on file for any "authorized" or maybe not even authorized person to use. NOT! I will not leave my credit card with anyone for an in case scenario. It is now 12:30 PM and I am still fasting, the room is spinning and I am feeling very light headed and still no blood work done because without my credit card there will be no blood work done.

I finally left went down the street to our community hospital and had the blood work done and did not provide my credit card to be kept on file and we all know UHC is not going to pay them and I am screwed because UHC only allows Lab Corp as a "network" Lab... what other choice did I have? 3 Locations I was provided to go to by UHC turned out to no longer exist and the fourth wanted to keep a copy of my credit card just in case!

No, the nightmare does not end there! I have been under treatment and had a Mohs surgery (for Basal Cell CA) done April 2013 had a couple of complications so January 2014 I was still under care for skin cancers or lesions that left go can become cancer. In December there was another lesion on my back this time I did not know UHC was terminating 70% of the network providers as of January 1, 2014 and my doctor was one of them. I had an appointment the beginning of January so I mentioned it to the doctor his response was "this doesn't look good" so the biopsy was done immediately, it came back a week later.

Melanoma, and surgery needed to be done. It was schedule to be done Feb but 3 days before the surgery UHC canceled the surgery and called to tell me to find someone in "Network." I am distressed as I already am under treatment for Basal Cell and I must go elsewhere but I moved forward as my doctor said I must get this taken care of. I go to the UHC website, put in my zip code and lo and behold, 51 doctors come up but that was not to be so true.

10 of the doctors are listed as many as 5 times with different addresses, 4 of them are more than an hour each way to get to but none had an available appointment until March 26th and it could not be with a doctor it was with a nurse and she would decide when and if I needed an appointment with the doctor (I am not taking the treatment or non treatment of my Melanoma to a nurse!) No wonder they advertise on TV constantly any quality competent physician does not need to advertise on TV for patients! They want to bill my insurance the same amount for a nurse as a physician they are not on the same level as an MD, sorry!

After much back and forth with UHC they found me an appointment with another doctor, I waited patiently for my appointment day, arrived with all my records in hand anxious to finally be seeing a doctor and moving forward with the treatment for the melanoma... NO that did not happen! Though United Healthcare made the appointment and insist this physician was in "network" his office insisted he did not accept my UHC even after speaking with UHC on the phone at length I was left with no treating physician and a melanoma on my back that can be spreading or even moving to other organs and no "Network" physician to see and treat me!

I spent more than 3 hours on the phone again yesterday with UHC and still do not have an appointment for what can be a deadly form of cancer, I am 58 years old there is no excuse, no justification for this to be happening. United Healthcare decided to terminated 70% of the "Network" providers because the fewer providers, the fewer appointments, the fewer appointments, the fewer procedures or surgeries can be done and guess what that all converts to... United Healthcare pays less money and makes larger profits without regard for the health and welfare of those of us locked into UHC until 2015!! This should be criminal.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

United Healthcare Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 57 ratings and
104 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
United Healthcare
P.O. Box 1459
Minneapolis, MN 55440-1459
866-633-2446 (ph)
www.uhc.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies