Preview Review

Next Review

United Healthcare Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
HORRIBLE INSURANCE COVERAGE AND COMPANY
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I signed up for the $400/month bronze plan with prescription savings plan... once I signed up for that plan, I then found out it doesn't cover mail order prescriptions, or most prescriptions in general. I called for assistance and basically was told, "sorry we can't do anything..." I basically was lied to or tricked prior to signing up for this plan, and now each time I call it's basically "too bad for you". Also, while applying it asked for my pcp, so I put their name in. Have been seeing this specialist for years now. They put some random doctor as my pcp. Never heard of him.
Was told I cannot change it to a specialist, has to be pcp.

So now I guess I have to go see some random doctor. I don't know to get prior authorization for some of my medications. Which makes no sense, because in the end the health insurance is basically paying for a random doctor when I have my own. I can't wait 'til next open enrollment so I can cancel! I am in the healthcare field, and I make sure I tell everyone about my problems with United Health.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My family doctor and a specialist he referred me to both agree that I need a medication which is given on a daily basis. My family doctor called in a 30 day supply but when I got it home I found out that even though these people agree with the need for the medication and the daily dosage they only allowed 3 pills per month.

Calls from my pharmacy, doctor, and myself failed to change their mind. They advised me to go online and buy it at my own expense which I did. The cost online was only slightly over 1/2 of the co-pay they charged me for the 3 pills they did supply. They also rejected a drug that they agreed I needed because they would only approve a 30 day supply and it is only manufactured on boxes of 60. TOTAL SCAM.

Replies
Having Hard Time Getting Bill Payed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- Was given referral from primary care Dr to see dermatologist. While there Dr found spot on back. He removed and sent for biopsy. Now United Healthcare is refusing to pay because besides a referral I now need a preauthorization. In other words I needed to go back to primary care Dr so I could go back to dermatologist and spend another $50. This insurance company is the worst. Never had this trouble with any other company. Can't wait till January so I find new insurance.

Replies
A Nightmare That Lasted 30 Days and Is Still Going On...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- UHC has become the ABSOLUTE worst company for Health Insurance. They say they cover medication then reject your prescription. I am on a prescription that must be taken daily or I can die from withdrawal. They have rejected it, and the prescription costs $600/month which I do not have. So, in short, I am screwed. If I have a stroke or seizure, I will sue them to the end of the Earth. Change your plan NOW.

Replies
Advertisement
WORST Experience, Most Incompetent Staff Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARKET PLACE, FLORIDA -- WORST, WORST, WORST experience ever! Here's my experience... (Personal information has been changed for my privacy). 2012 - Signed up for individual insurance for "Suzy " (female) with United Healthcare Golden Rule. March 2015 - Signed up for individual insurance for "Suzy " (female) with United Healthcare MarketPlace. - March 2015 - Marketplace plan was started, and month 1 paid. ID **. March 31, 2015 - Marketplace plan was terminated without communication to either Suzy or Stewart. March 2015 - No payment made to United Healthcare Golden Rule.

May 2015 - Suzy realized she never received an insurance card from the MarketPlace and could not log in to their website. May 2015 - Stewart (Insurance Agent) and I ("Suzy Anne " (female)) called United Healthcare MarketPlace regarding plan established in March. Response was that the plan never went through, and a new application was filled out over the phone. New application used the wrong name (Anne as the first name, as the surname, no mention of Suzy) and indicated insured was a male. Suzy paid $713.72 to cover the balance from April and May. ID **.

May 2015 - United Healthcare mailed Suzy 2 letters regarding outstanding balance of $38.62 and a period of 10 days to pay the balance. Suzy was out of the country and did not receive either letter. No communication was made via email or telephone to either Suzy or Stewart regarding payment issue or coverage termination. July 20, 2015 - Physician office calls Suzy regarding insurance had been terminated. ID **.

July 20, 2015 - Suzy and Stewart call United Healthcare, call was disconnected. Suzy called United Healthcare back and spoke with a customer service. She was advised her insurance had been terminated for lack of payment. Bank statements indicate a check for $224.11 was mailed to United Healthcare each month, yet according to the United Healthcare representative, none of those payments were attributed to Suzy 's account. According to the bank, they were all cashed. Suzy was advised to send an email and explain the situation. An email was sent (to uhcexchange@uhc.com) and Stewart was carbon copied.

July 21, 2015 - Email from United Healthcare was received by Stewart that read "We will make the exception to reinstate without lapse with the additional $38.62 and the June payment of $262.73 for a total of $301.35. The insured can call and pay with a cc payment today or they can send a payment to us to be received by the close of business on 7/23/15, after that date we will not be able to reinstate without lapse."

July 21, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare, paid $301.35 and was advised her account would be reinstated. This reinstated her Golden Rule account from 2012 (ID **), not her most recent MarketPlace account. Suzy was transferred to the MarketPlace, however after speaking with someone and waiting on hold for more than 30 minutes, the call was disconnected. Prior to being disconnected, Suzy was advised that she paid $713.72 in May, and her account had been terminated at the end of May.

July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Marketplace to get reinstated. She was advised that her account (ID **) had been terminated in March. The representative advised a new application would need to be filled out. They found Suzy's name was written as Anne and she was identified as a Male. The call was disconnected before the application could be completed.

July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Marketplace to get reinstated. She was informed that there was nothing she could do as her insurance had been terminated. Call transferred to Tier 2, who sent a request to United Healthcare Case Management to reinstate insured. Suzy was advised the process could take 1 - 2 months. No record of May's payment or Golden Rule account was found. July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Golden Rule to confirm insurance coverage secured the day before (July 21, 2015). Her ID (**) could not be found in the system.

July 24, 2015 - Suzy and Stewart called United Healthcare MarketPlace to discuss coverage. Their system did not reflect calls from earlier in the week, nor did it correct the name "Suzy Anne" and "Anne." Service representative Lance advised call would be elevated to someone that could problem solve and worked on odd situations; United Healthcare MarketPlace should be in touch with Suzy in 5 - 7 business days with a resolution.

July 28, 2015 - Case management called and left a voice mail. Name (first name only) was not understandable. Did not leave a case number. Call was to informed me they had my case and would be working on it. July 27, 2015 at 6:20pm. Called number left on the voice mail (877-887-0441), no notes regarding case management, case manager or case number. Called number that called me (**), call was disconnected.

July 31, 2015 - The MarketPlace called to inform me my application has been updated. Marketplace has updated my application. Sent the application and a request for reinstatement to the UHC. Have to work with UHC to get reinstated. Has no information about payments, old policy ID number. At this point I have to work with the plan (aka UHC). Name and sex have been corrected. No idea who at UHC I need to talk with. Advised her that my policy got messed up because the Golden Rule and MarketPlace systems didn't catch the error in my application.

She asked why not, and I said it was because the systems don't communicate and neither do the people. She said I would need to work with the insurance plan. I asked who that was and she said the plan. After asking for clarification again, she said it was UHC. I asked which department at UHC I would need to talk with since if I called then and said, I need to talk with the Plan, they would think I sprouted a second head. She said she didn't know, she wasn't part of their company and doesn't know their departments. She doesn't communicate with them.

July 31, 2015 - United Healthcare called. Received a file from the MarketPlace on 7/15 showing termination should have been 3/31. As of today, UHC has not received anything from the Marketplace. If the Marketplace sent something, it will take about 30 days to process. July 31, 2015 - A letter from Golden Rule and check came in the mail today. The letter states that I am paid through July 31, 2015 and in fact overpaid by $224.11. The check is for $224.11.

Here are the issues: This payment was made through the website that we set up access to while on the phone with the Marketplace in May 2015. This payment was applied to my old Golden Rule account from 2012. I was dropped from the Golden Rule account in May for non-payment. The Marketplace won't show record of this payment. I also received a letter from the Marketplace that says I am eligible to re-enroll in January. This is the first communication I have received from the Marketplace.

March 2015 through current - Suzy never received any communication, a new card or an invoice from United Healthcare Marketplace. March 2015 through recent - United Healthcare Golden Rule has been charging Suzy for an old plan, collecting payments and not attributing them to her account.

Sent them: Bank payments for United Healthcare Golden Rule. May payment for United Healthcare MarketPlace
American Express payment for $301.35 for United Healthcare Golden Rule, made July 21, 2015. Total paid to United Healthcare 2015. Jan: $224.11. Feb: $224.11. March:. April: $224.11. May: $224.11 and $713.72. June: $224.11. July: $224.11 and $301.35. Total: $2,359.73. Marketplace premium: $356.56. Owed to United Healthcare for = $-35.85.

Replies
"Network" Providers Not Available
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TREASURE COAST, FLORIDA -- As some may or may not be aware United Healthcare terminated 70% of the "Network" providers from their panels. Of course as an insured with UHC notification of this action was not given until after "Open Enrollment" ended thereby locking me in another year with UHC, had this information been available before "Open Enrollment" ended I would not be with UHC anymore however UHC carefully navigated the timing of the terminations of the network physicians so as not to become know till it was too late.

My experience began January 21, 2014 my doctor had ordered "fasting" blood work, I called the lab the day before just to be sure I knew where I was going and confirm the hours, of course there was nothing more than a recording providing the address, directions and hours they are open and informing me there would be no live person to speak to at this location (I should have known right then there was a problem). I arrived at the address provided yet there was no sign, no indication a lab was there upon checking with neighboring properties I was told the lab had closed "months ago".

While standing right there I called UHC and after 25 minutes of checking of course I was told the lab was right there. I mailed them a picture of the empty office and then was provided another location to go to have my fasting blood work done without even an apology, I arrive at the next location provide to me by UHC and again the lab had closed months ago, went through the same scenario with UHC and they sent me to a 3rd location where a lab should have been and yes, believe it or not that location had also closed (Lab Corp was now the ONLY network lab for UHC they did not have to be convenient as we have no other choice.)

The fourth location was the charm. I arrived at the fourth location went to the reception desk to sign in on the sign in sheet for everyone that came in to see I had been there (so much for privacy) and was then told by the receptionist I would need to provide my credit card for them to copy and keep on file for any charges to be put on my credit card if not paid by UHC.

Now understand probably 80% of the time a charge is denied or not paid correctly and they would just put through the charge to my credit card leaving me to fight the battle with UHC and that being the least of the problems leaving your credit card on file for any "authorized" or maybe not even authorized person to use. NOT! I will not leave my credit card with anyone for an in case scenario. It is now 12:30 PM and I am still fasting, the room is spinning and I am feeling very light headed and still no blood work done because without my credit card there will be no blood work done.

I finally left went down the street to our community hospital and had the blood work done and did not provide my credit card to be kept on file and we all know UHC is not going to pay them and I am screwed because UHC only allows Lab Corp as a "network" Lab... what other choice did I have? 3 Locations I was provided to go to by UHC turned out to no longer exist and the fourth wanted to keep a copy of my credit card just in case!

No, the nightmare does not end there! I have been under treatment and had a Mohs surgery (for Basal Cell CA) done April 2013 had a couple of complications so January 2014 I was still under care for skin cancers or lesions that left go can become cancer. In December there was another lesion on my back this time I did not know UHC was terminating 70% of the network providers as of January 1, 2014 and my doctor was one of them. I had an appointment the beginning of January so I mentioned it to the doctor his response was "this doesn't look good" so the biopsy was done immediately, it came back a week later.

Melanoma, and surgery needed to be done. It was schedule to be done Feb but 3 days before the surgery UHC canceled the surgery and called to tell me to find someone in "Network." I am distressed as I already am under treatment for Basal Cell and I must go elsewhere but I moved forward as my doctor said I must get this taken care of. I go to the UHC website, put in my zip code and lo and behold, 51 doctors come up but that was not to be so true.

10 of the doctors are listed as many as 5 times with different addresses, 4 of them are more than an hour each way to get to but none had an available appointment until March 26th and it could not be with a doctor it was with a nurse and she would decide when and if I needed an appointment with the doctor (I am not taking the treatment or non treatment of my Melanoma to a nurse!) No wonder they advertise on TV constantly any quality competent physician does not need to advertise on TV for patients! They want to bill my insurance the same amount for a nurse as a physician they are not on the same level as an MD, sorry!

After much back and forth with UHC they found me an appointment with another doctor, I waited patiently for my appointment day, arrived with all my records in hand anxious to finally be seeing a doctor and moving forward with the treatment for the melanoma... NO that did not happen! Though United Healthcare made the appointment and insist this physician was in "network" his office insisted he did not accept my UHC even after speaking with UHC on the phone at length I was left with no treating physician and a melanoma on my back that can be spreading or even moving to other organs and no "Network" physician to see and treat me!

I spent more than 3 hours on the phone again yesterday with UHC and still do not have an appointment for what can be a deadly form of cancer, I am 58 years old there is no excuse, no justification for this to be happening. United Healthcare decided to terminated 70% of the "Network" providers because the fewer providers, the fewer appointments, the fewer appointments, the fewer procedures or surgeries can be done and guess what that all converts to... United Healthcare pays less money and makes larger profits without regard for the health and welfare of those of us locked into UHC until 2015!! This should be criminal.

Replies
United Health Care a total ripoff.*
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- Essentially, United Health Care is a fraud, starting with the bogus name they use on your membership card, "AARP Medicare Complete." They're not Medicare at all!! They are just "affiliated" with them so they can legally use their name, just as they do with AARP. It's all about marketing, NOT giving you great service. Their sales representative promised me that I would be able to use all my own physicians, which was a [bold face] LIE. You can only use those on their private list, and that's for only simple, cheap "health" procedures.

When I went to use them to cover a recent minor surgery, I was shocked to learn from my doctor that I had been turned down!! Why? Because when I had asked all of my current doctors if they would accept Medicare, they all agreed. One catch... none of them accepted United Health Care!!! Get it? they have nothing at all to do with "real" Medicare, only the right to use their name!!!

Here's how United Health Care rips you off.* One month before you turn 65, they FLOOD you with their advertising materials, all of which look "official." Then there fast talking phone reps make you believe that you're getting a "good deal." You THINK that you're being covered by Medicare, but you AREN'T. The additional fact that they also use the "AARP" logo in their ads gives you even more reason to believe that they're a "good deal," when the only thing they're good for are basic, cheap office visits.

Should you need even minor surgery like I did, if you doc isn't on their extremely limited list, your shit out of luck. The fact of the matter is, the phone representative totally lied to me when I asked him if I could use my own doctor. You can't. Thankfully, however, in two more months I'll be able to cancel my membership with this clip joint and sign-up with the only one I should have in the first place... original Medicare.

Replies
Complete Incompetence
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My prescription required pre authorization for the new year. My doctor's office was very quick to react with appropriate documentation. Unfortunately United Healthcare was very incompetent. Making multiple calls (more than 4) and being put on hold for an average of at least 12 minutes per call I finally asked the person ** to pull up the pre-authorization approval and verify that it was correctly submitted. It was then determined that United Healthcare had completely messed it up. They had corrected the verbiage of the message but had "forgot" to change the unit of measure.

I was then told to call back in 2 hours because the department that handled pre-authorizations was not open. It was I, as a consumer, asked that they open the pre-authorization to verify that it it was correctly filled out before one of the 5 representatives I talked to finally opened the document and discovered that my script had not been filled in 4 days due to their own incompetence.

My career has been in analysis and problem resolution and the most basic, first step process is to review the document that is causing the problem. Yet, none of the representatives even though about doing this until I, the customer, recommended that they do this. Even after they finally see what they messed up it will take 3 hours for them to correct it. Sadly, before I made the request for them to open the pre-authorization form all of the representatives were submitting a request for review which would have taken anywhere from 2 to 7 days.

I have already been without the prescribed medication for 4 days. I was looking at potentially another 7 days without medication. It is fortunate that this was not a life threatening medication and in need of quick resolution by such an inept company. I am appalled at such ineptness and disgusted with this service. I now have to drive in an ice storm to pick up a script that is 4 days late due to the incompetence of this company.

Replies
Advertisement
United Healthcare Falsifying Patient Medical Records to Deny Medical Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TENNESSEE -- My father needed to have a CT scan per his doctor to make sure that his cancer (has been cancer free since 2000) had not come back. His claim was denied by United Healthcare. The reason stated was "You have cancer in your nose and throat area. You have neck pain. You have a sore throat and pain in the roof of your mouth. Your provider suspects spread of "cancer" to your brain. Your provider asked for a CT scan of your head/brain with and without a dye called contrast."

The letter goes on to explain what a CT scan is and what a MRI is and then states that "cannot be done for medical reasons and you have a brain function problem such as mental confusion, change in vision, slurred speech or a new severe headache."

My father receives this notification and is devastated!!! First of all, he went the doctor with throat and pain in the roof of his mouth. He NEVER complained of headaches, mental confusion, change in vision or slurred speech. He contacted his doctor and the head nurse called back and apologized over and over again since the information that was sent to him was a LIE!!! She confirmed that no one in the doctor's office provided that information to United Healthcare. It appears that someone that works at United Healthcare falsely added this information/LIES to his records so that the medical services requested would be denied.

I am sure this is not the first time that this has happened to customers of United Healthcare. Please do not use United Healthcare for your medical needs because they falsify medical records so they do not have to approved medical services or items. How many others has this happened to? Who can help with this type of fraud?

Replies
UHC Loaded My Med Files With Hoaxes and Impersonated Me.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- United Healthcare mailed me five provider appeal requests I never made. I got four in November 2014 and the last one dated December 5, 2014. First one gave the name of a company and said I made a complaint against this place and said they sent a decision explanation and since it was a duplicate, I couldn't appeal it. What complaint and what duplicate complaint? I've never made one. I faxed UHC in November 2014 and informed them that I did not make a report and for them to correct it. Ignoring tactics they use. They sent me four more of the same.

They were dated November 4, 7, 17 and 25, 2014. UHC indicated they put them in my patient ID files. The last one was December 4, 2014 and dated with an individual's name as provider appeal request I never made. I faxed provider complaint on a horrible P.T. records content that UHC had paid for and last phone contact about that was October 27, 2014. Last fax regarding that was November 2, 2014. I never heard back on the issue about P.T. session.

I got harassed by UHC with nut job fake reports instead, gee I wonder why. Also November 3rd and 4th, I got two phone messages to call UHC about another made up nonexistent report. Saw bad scene, I was done with UHC. No more phone contact and I looked for another insurance. I would have had to have made a report and received a letter back on an appealed decision in a specific time frame long before the P.OT.. complaint to have even exist, which it was not.

They have NO phone connection or faxes or letters on fake reports. I got 2 answer machine calls on December 5 and 8, 2014, from service coordinator UHC, phony, prank sounding message telling me to call her about my requesting multiple therapy times. I never did! I stopped all calls. October 27, 2014 was the last and only sent a few faxes November 2014 for UHC to take reports I did not make out of my files. And I did not of course, pursue initial complaint.

I left UHC in December 2014. They also apparently sent me to physical therapy two other times , pulling a stunt of having my significant medical condition completely left out and had my other med files hoaxed with as medical conditions magically deleted. My only opinion is all of the above. I have all of my medical records however. I've been trying to get all the fake files out and straighten the records out through other places, but not able to yet. I have not gotten five fake file reports I never even made. I do not have anything to do with UHC!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

United Healthcare Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 62 ratings and
109 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
United Healthcare
P.O. Box 1459
Minneapolis, MN 55440-1459
866-633-2446 (ph)
www.uhc.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies