Virgin Mobile - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 16 ratings and
39 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Changing Plans and Activating Phone
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
I've had this service for several years as a back up for my regular phone but once I retired I dropped my old carrier and took this on with a $20, 300 minute plan. Prior service was completely dependable with no problems ever. The switching to a new phone was tedious but not impossible. The technician was patient and competent. My LG Optimus Elite phone though was purchase used. It was real cheap and I got what I paid for with spotty service and tinny sound but other times it was ok. I've only had it a few days though so I'll give it a try. Let's face it if you want something easy to use and dependable get an iPhone!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Virgin Mobile Cell Phone
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ALL, ALABAMA -- I have had my cell phone for several years and maintain a positive balance. My current balance is $36.90. The company turn off my phone because I refuse to top up and put more money in the account. This company changed my plan inadvertently and refused to allow me to use the phone even though I had money in this account. I can not believe that when I tried to use the phone it said I had no money in the account. This company tried to tell me that I had to pay an addition $20.00 in this account. They must be changing all the cell phone plans or something. I had to cuss and carry on just to get them to turn my phone back. The message said no money in account and if I didn't not top up I would loose my number and any funds in that account. I feel this company serious endangered my life, because if I had an emergency I could not use my cell phone. They are in sensitive to the needs of there customers and don't care one bit. Guess what folks they just don't care. VIRGIN MOBILE SUCKS....AVOID THIS COMPANY!!!!! I hope people will read this warning.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
$55 a Month for Dialup Internet
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WARREN, NEW JERSEY -- In the first week of December 2012, I purchased a Ovation MC760 Broadband2Go USB stick for $19.99. On 12/3/12 I received the USB stick. I purchased the $55-5 gig month to month plan. I tried to download a 14 meg file. It took 30 minutes to download the file at an avg speed of 10kb a second. When I surfed the internet I had to reload pages several times before they would load because the broadband device would keep disconnecting. Virgin Mobile advertises this device as 3G broadband. It only delivers dialup speeds. $55 a month for dialup internet is ridiculous. I called that night 12/3/12 at 10:30pm and spoke to Michael. I told him I wanted a full refund. He stated that he would issue a $55 credit immediately. He would also send a postage paid return envelope to return the device. Virgin Mobile would issue a refund by check in 4-6 weeks after receiving the device. I never received my $55 credit. Virgin Mobile never mailed me the postage paid return envelope. I contacted my credit card and they agreed to reverse the two fraudulent charges from Virgin Mobile.

Verizon Wireless is the best wireless carrier. Unfortunately they are also the most expensive. Use Page Plus Cellular which runs on the Verizon network.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Misinformation/Bait and Switch
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Before purchasing my new phone (Chaser) I inquired on an online chat as to whether I would be able to swap my phone and keep my usual plan of $25/300 minutes/unlimited text & data. I was assured by the representative that I would be able to do so. But when I tried to activate my new phone, I was informed that the representative had given me false information: the Chaser is in a different category of rate (more expensive monthly fee) from my old phone, because it is a smartphone. Meanwhile, I had just spent a week looking forwqrd to using the coolest phone I'd ever owned--classic bait & switch. I feel that customer service agents have a responsibility to consumers--to be truthful in their advertisement. But the company's response was 120 minutes of passing me around to different representatives--none of whom had the power to provide a fair response to the problem (which for me would have been to exchange my phone for one which would work with my existing plan and offer me at least a small compensation for the trouble.) This type of issue is unethical to say the least.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Fraud- Virgin Mobile Broadband2go
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
UTICA, NEW YORK -- Virgin Mobile Broadband2Go is FRAUD, plain and simple. I paid $70 for a USB stick because I was assured the coverage was good in my area. After almost a year of throwing away $50/mo on a useless unlimited wireless plan, I am finally bailing out. In the last few months alone I have had no service for at least 10 days a month. Today alone I have had to disconnect and reconnect at least 20 times because the signal fails after a few minutes if I can connect at all. I have called for support at least 10 times, been through the same pass the buck, uninstall, reset, all of that. I've been assured that I am in a good service area, been told someone from "engineering" would call me, who never did, you name it. Now Virgin is advertising 4G! They can't do 3G! DO NOT BUY THIS SERVICE OR ONE OF THEIR DEVICES! They should be investigated for fraud.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Deactivation Of My Phone And Non Replacement Received
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CATASAUQUA, PENNSYLVANIA -- Virgin mobile said they send replacement or new phone in January to replace my malfunctioning phone and never got it. In turn the disconnect my phone for not sending old, when I never receive the replacement or new phone they claim I did. I never did and if they did not request a signature, they probably stole it, from the my porch, if is true that it was deliver. If I would it got it I would it activate the one send and send the old one, but I still got the old one, so they should know that, because the replacement new or old would have a different serial number. I am a disable person and mother of 3 kids and do not have any other phone to communicate for anything and not even an emergency. If I do not get at least for now my old one activated, while they send a new phone, I would have to do a lawsuit for discrimination against a disable person. My # was;484-201-9298 and pin is; [snip]. You can contact my step father at;352-556-4404 or cell 813-731-4523
their customer service sucks and they hang up on me numerous times and they do not care about disable people.
     
Replies
Fraudulent Billing
Posted by on
I got a mobile phone from virgin. it seemed good at the time so I decided to stay with them. I moved and could not get good reception where I lived at so I had to change mobile services. my number was [removed]. I called and told them to disconnect my services on 09/09. they said that it was fine, I assumed that they had done this. a month later I get another bill for the phone. I called them and they stated that I would have to disconnect them from the billing list on my end so I did that. I was using them earlier from a different account but had changed my payment methods. they went back to my old account on 01/06/10 and billed me from that account. I then had them to refund my monies. they called this an adjustment of funds. so a month and a half later on 02/27/10 they billed me again for $58.84 this caused me to have an NSF on a check that was due that day. now mind you this phone had been off for 4 months. I wrote them first and I called them on 03/01/10 and they said that it was not true until I provided proof from my bank statement that it was. they then stated that it would be resolved. the email came back and said that it was not true and to call so I called. they stated that they had opened a case and that it was in process. that it would take a week. I waited to hear from them and received an email stating again that they did not owe me anything.

I called again on 03/05/10 they said that they had found it and that I would be refunded in a few days. I waited for a week and did not hear from them. so I called them again and they said that someone would be in touch with me. now on 03/22/10 I call them and they tell me to email them. I told them that I had so they give me this website to write a complaint on. I have proof and I am seeking for $58.84 and $25 in NSF fees for the bounced check that was their fault.
     
Replies
Can't even get the basics right
Posted by on
My experience with Virgin Mobile has been terrible, and I haven't even used the cellphone yet, although I have wasted 2.5 hours of my life (so far) trying to get service set up. I called yesterday to set up new service with a phone number from another carrier. I went through most of the process with a representative, but when it came time to program my phone, she got a "-1 error" (whatever) which she said was a glitch in the system that would not allow her to program my phone. She told me to call back when my old phone stopped having service and that they would program my new phone, no problem. The next day I had no service on my old phone. I called, as instructed, and was told that the agent from the day before had made a mistake and that they could not start my service and they didn't know when they would be able to. This was not acceptable, as I now have NO service. People can't even leave a message. After a little over an hour on the phone, with much perseverance, I got a supervisor who had someone enter my info by hand, which allowed her to program my phone. She swore that I would receive a text within the hour confirming my service and I would then be able to use my phone. I did get a text 2-3 hours later, but my phone doesn't work. Exasperatingly, I sat on hold for TWENTY MINUTES this evening without ever getting through to a person. And then their hours ended, so I gave up. I will have to call again tomorrow. Who knows how many more hours this is going to suck down? Who knows when (if) I'll have a working cell phone? One thing I do know: I'm not sticking with Virgin Mobile. I understand that mistakes happen, but not answering your phone or being able to fix mistakes is not an acceptable way to run a business. STAY AWAY!
     
Replies
Virgin Mobile Canada: Misleading Advertising And Charging For Non-Delivered Service
Posted by on
TORONTO, CANADA -- I would like to share my recent experience with Virgin Mobile Canada and am wondering if there are other people who subscribed to their service during their Christmas promotion which promotes $20 + $15 activation credit.

My full message which was left unanswered is included bellow. Some details masked for privacy reasons.

Dear Sir/Madam,

This is **** ********. On 23 of December 2009 I have placed an order
(Order No. C018607148 dated 23 of December 2008) on your website
www.virginmobile.ca paying for a new mobile phone LG 150 and a top-up of
$10 for a prepaid plan. According to the advertisement placed on your
website www.virginmobile.ca about the $20+$15 activation credit, the
amount of my balance is expected to be $10+$35=$45. However after
receiving my phone my balance was $10+$20=$30. After a numerous phone
calls with your customer service representatives (some of them are
*****, contacted on 31 of December 2008, and ******, contacted on 2 of
January 2009) and the supervisor ***, contacted on 2 of January 2009, I
were not provided with the service ordered as advertised (for detailed
information about this incident please check the recorded phone calls
from my number 647-521-1840 to your customer service). As a result of
that I had no choice, but to cancel the service and contacting you with
a claim for a full refund of my payments regarding this purchase as follows:

1. MasterCard transaction for $11.30 dated 23 of December 2008

and

2. MasterCard transaction for $33.89 dated 23 of December 2008

I appreciate your timely answer and please be advised that in case my
claim is not respected timely and in full, I will have no choice, but to
consider your actions/non-actions as an intentional misleading
advertising and unfair/fraudulent commercial practice and will have to
report this case to the following third party authorities:

1. The MasterCard department of BMO as a issuer of my credit card
regarding the non-rendered service according to the promised advertisement

2. The Commissioner for Complaints for Telecommunications Services Inc.
(CCTS) regarding the non-rendered service, misleading advertising and
unfair commercial practices

3. The Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission
(CRTC) regarding the non-rendered service, misleading advertising and
unfair commercial practices

4. The Competition Bureau regarding the misleading advertising and
unfair competition practices

I believe you will take the proper actions to resolve this case in fair
and the easier for both parties manner or I will proceed as advised.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Unfavorable Update!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Virgin Mobile (VM) is continually harassing me about "adding $ to my acct" to get their service when they still owe me $335.15 which they refuse to refund. They can't even keep track of my acct. or ph.#. This company is NOT to be trusted. I "wrote" off my loss so I wonder why they keep after me. Perhaps they will need to account to the IRS in some way.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >