Vonage - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 22 ratings and
395 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Liars --- Unlimited Calling Plan - If You Use The Service A Lot, They Threaten You
Posted by on
Vonage liars signed me up for unlimited plan. When my wife and I started calling our relatives a lot, Vonage said, the industry standard for unlimited calling is 500 minutes a month (500 minutes a month, yeah right!), but we allow 5000 minutes. If you ever exceed that, we'll double your billing and start charging you per minute. VONAGE ARE A BUNCH OF LIARS AND CHEATS. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THEIR SERVICE. It was a "not-profit-making-company" until last year. Just let them fail and go out of business. The liars. Below is their notice. If you try to call them (at the number they've provided) they never pick up the phone. Instead they'll ask you to leave a voicemail, and send more nasty emails to you.


Thank you for using Vonage as your Internet telephony provider.

As the industry leader in VoIP technology, we are constantly working to provide you with service that exceeds your expectations. In order to offer the most competitive rates to all our customers, Vonage conducts routine reviews of call activity to ensure that all accounts are on the appropriate plan for our customerb

After a careful review of your account, we have determined that the pattern of usage on your line 1-(555)-555-5555 is indicative of usage consistent with our Small Business plan. I apologize if there was any confusion upon creating your account and selecting the right plan for you when you joined Vonage.

Please contact me either by replying to this email or calling 1-(866)-254-3704 (Monday to Friday 9:00am to 5:00pm EST) within 72 business hours so that we may discuss your rate plan. If no response is received, your account may face suspension or an automatic upgrade to the Small Business Unlimited Rate Plan at the rate of $49.99/month plus tax.

For more information, please review the following Terms of Service:

5.4 Inconsistent with Normal Use.
If you use the service or the device in a way that is inconsistent with the normal use for your service or plan, you will be required, at Vonage's sole discretion, to pay the rates for the service or plan that would apply to the way you used the service or device, or terminate the plan. For example, if you subscribe to one of our residential service plans, and your usage is inconsistent with normal residential use, you may thereafter be required to pay our applicable, higher rates for commercial service for all periods in which your use of our service or the device was inconsistent with normal residential use. Unlimited voice services are provided primarily for continuous live dialog between two individuals. Lack of continuous dialog activity, unusual call patterns, excessive numbers and/or consistent excessive usage will be considered indicators that use may be inconsistent with normal use, or that impermissible use may be occurring and may trigger an account review or furth

er action by us. Failure to contact Vonage in response to its notifications and/or failure to promptly correct usage activity to conform to normal use will result, in Vonage's sole discretion, in immediate mandatory transfer to another appropriate plan, suspension or termination of service. You acknowledge that if your service is terminated under this provision, you are subject to all applicable disconnection and device or other rebate recovery charges. Vonage's right to terminate your account under Section 6.5(b) (with or no reason) is not limited by this provision. For a non-exhaustive list of examples of uses of our service inconsistent with normal residential use, click here.
b
b
The use of the service by others who do not reside in your personal residence primarily by reason of its unlimited feature

If you have any questions, please reply to this email or call 1-(866)-254-3704.

Sincerely,

John Doe
Vonage Usage Department
Revenue Operations
1-(866)-254-3704
     
Replies
Dishonest Service Representation
Posted by on
QUEENS, NEW YORK -- I have been using Vonage as my phone service for nearly 2 years now. At first, customer service was average--not too good, but good enough to speak with a service representative and explain what I needed in a service. I had Sunrocket prior to this, and their customer service, services offered and website outlay was very customer friendly.

When Sunrocket failed in July 2007, I decided to give Vonage a try. Over the nearly 2 years I have been with this company, however, it has been getting progressively more difficult to communicate with anyone. Every e-mail contact is responded to with a nonsensical e-mail that does not address the issue, and it is difficult getting anyone on the phone with whom you could speak sensibly about what you need in service changes or additions. Often you get someone for whom English is a very CHALLENGING language--or an English speaking U.S., rep with a very bad attitude.

Late 2008 I decided to get rid of my Verizon land line and, for the convenience of friends who were not regularly in touch and still had my old land line number, have it transferred to Vonage as an additional number. I had seen this feature advertised on their website. Unfortunately, when I called to inquire, I was told that their service only allowed for the availability of an additional line--NOT number. (My daughter has another digital phone service that allows her to have additional numbers for a very small fee each month) During these attempts to have my land line number transferred as a second number, I explained to several service reps that as I was the only person in my household, I didn't need an additional line. Finally, I was told that I could have the additional line for $9.99 for the FIRST 3 months and $24.99 after--or they could let me have it for ONE year at $14.99 monthly. I explained that I would NOT pay $24.99 after 3 months for an additional line and I agreed to the latter service for $14.99. However, every attempt to have this number activated was a problem, and every e-mail I sent was followed by a donotreply response that made no sense, and in early December 2008, I wrote to Vonage explaining that I had decided to cancel the application for this service. I AM SO VERY SORRY THAT I DID NOT KEEP TO THIS DECISION LATER.

Shortly after this December correspondence by e-mail, I received a call telling me that my service was valued and that my new number would be activated. The service charge of $14.99 monthly for ONE year was agreed on and I decided that I would give it a try. I was also told that to make up for all the problems I had encountered, I would be given 2 months free service for both lines from Vonage. Service started December 8, 2008.

I never had the phone ring turned on but could check when someone called me on that number as I received an e-mail alert. I could also look at the caller ID box and identify the callers and return calls that were important through my primary number.

On checking my Vonage account for the past 4 months, I was appalled to find that I had been billed consistently at $24.99 monthly for this line, even though I do not use it, ONLY agreed to have it installed at the $14.99 charge, and was offered 2 months of no service charges--December 2008 and January 2009 for both numbers because of the aggravation I had suffered in trying to have the number set up. I am indeed sorry that I hadn't left the landline with Verizon, which ensured I always had a working phone and which cost less than I have been billed with Vonage, to date.

I spoke to a very unhelpful U.S.,service rep--Sat--5/30/2009, who said that I could have a virtual service for that number where I would be alerted when someone called but not have the phone number ring. The cost I was told would be $4.99 per month. In the meantime, request to have all over billing taken off my bill was excused with the matter being at "a higher level now and that he was unable to resolve the issue then."


He never mentioned cost of installation for this virtual number--just the $4.99 cost. Nor did he mention that there would be a charge to terminate the 2nd number, in dispute. However, later that day I saw a donotreply e-mail listing cost of termination at $$44.97, AND an installation service charge of $15.28 for the virtual number.

I am truly appalled that this company is both DISHONEST and quite insensitive to their customers, on whose backs they have built this business over this decade.

I am determined to let ALL my friend know of their dishonesty and unfriendly customer service unless I am reimbursed for my unfair charges.

It's so ironic, as I had, until recently been trying to get many friends and colleagues here--AND in Europe--use Vonage as their phone service over other carriers.

I shall provide update but do not intend to leave this matter quietly. Vonage should look at the history of other phone services, their financial downfall and failure to regain lost customers, if they intend to stay in this highly competitive business now.
     
Replies
Vonage is a RIP-OFF!
Posted by on
I am so furious with Vonage. I signed up for their service on April 23, a few weeks later I received their equipment, within that few weeks, I have received emails stating that my phone number is in the process of being transferred and there would be approximately 24 hours without phone service, well that ended up being more than three days-my number was transferred before I could get my internet hooked up to DSL, even so, since my number was supposedly being transferred, I wouldn't be able to get hooked up to DSL because Vonage took my dial tone from me. After that, I have been on the phone (my cell phone) complaining to Vonage and Verizon that I need a dial tone to get my DSL hooked up and all I received the run-a-round, kept being put on hold and transferred all over the creation-well, let me tell you.....I had calculated up all of the minutes used on my cell phone with just Vonage and I had figured up that I spent just about 5 hours (most of which was on hold for about an hour each time)trying to get an answer. I went without phone or internet for approximately almost two and a half weeks trying to get somewhere. One would tell me that it is the other one's problem they have to fix it-and visa-versa. Once I thought I was on the right track to victory with getting a dial tone, I would get shot right down and right back to the beginning I go. Any way, I had Cancelled Verizon with no problem whatsoever...Vonage on the other hand, I called them two weeks before the "so-called trial period" and they told me that I had to pay the shipping and handling to send the equipment back to them plus 39.95 "security fee". I told them I was not going to pay because my "trial period" wasn't up and I didn't even use the service because no one would give me a dial tone to use either service. I sent the equipment back to them anyway. A few days later, I see a withdrawal in my account from Vonage.....WHAT!!!!! $27.78 for the monthly fee of service. Just yesterday, I had checked my e-mail, received a couple of emails from Vonage Customer Care, my account has been cancelled, please check your account for the remaining balance due....EXCUSE ME!!! The next one is better....."On 5/30/2006 we have successfully processed your charge card for $119.98" I was literally in tears when I saw this. I had filed two complaints with my bank and also one with the Better Business Bureau. The sad part about all of this is that one-I wasn't even able to use their service, and two-I didn't even authorize them to withdraw any money from my account. Now I cannot pay any of my priority bills that are due this week!! Thanks a lot Vonage! My account is now in the hole because of them. I should have listened to my gut, it was too good to be true.....
     
Replies
How Vonage Ruined My Life
Posted on
PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- Vonage ruined my life, I am a disabled person in need of a good working telephone service for life sustaining support. Vonage called my home, and convinced me that I would save money. I had Comcast VoIP that worked perfectly before the big switch. They are manipulating from the very beginning, first they charged my credit card (Beware of any service who charges because the don't do paper billing)a activation fee which was never disclosed, and other fees I was not aware of. Then they sent a email saying welcome, here is your "virtual" phone no. till your home no. is transferred, and here are the Terms Of Service you are bound to. Since when does somebody agree to something then given the terms afterwards, and say your bound to them. I'm not going to repeat what you all can read about their lousy service, what I am going to do is advise you that they will do whatever it takes to get your money, all before you realize it. They are scam artists, and what most people don't know is they are not governed by the FCC except for two things, 1. Your Local Number Portability, and 2. Providing 911 service. Now my line never worked properly, so how could I call for emergency service if it doesn't work. Also, they offer a 30 day guarantee which they will do whatever it takes to extend you beyond that period with transfer delays, delays in troubleshooting their service, blame your ISP and play the blame game with your original provider, anything. How do I know this, well I maybe a disabled person, but I have a degree in Electrical Engineering (I also have a FCC License in Amateur Radio), I am someone they did not fool. I will be filing a lawsuit against Vonage, they caused me, and my family both physical, and mental abuse over a 5 week period with their promises to fix their lousy service and their lousy third party carriers. They fail to disclose many things, even when I cancelled the service, they think its perfectly acceptable to steal your money by telling it's a recovery fee for their phone adapter when you want to send it back, and a termination fee for subscribing to a non working line. I have filed complaints with the FCC, FTC, New Jersey BBB, and plenty more to come, even if it takes me to testify before a Senate, or Congressional Committee to stop these scrupulous thieves. Vonage is deceptive, and couldn't care less who you are, it's all based on deception. My only purpose now is to for warn you people are even thinking of switching to Vonage, just get smart and search the internet about these complaints, they are all the internet. Maybe the CEO Mr. Jeffrey Citron needs to be taken to court again, just like when he was ordered to pay back millions for Exchange and Internet Fraud. You change change the spots on a leopard. I stopped them from further charging my credit card, I closed the account, filed a dispute, all for services not rendered, and I will get it back, every penny plus for ruining 5 weeks of my and my families life, rest assured Vonage, what comes around goes around.
     
Replies
Dissatisfied Customer
Posted by on
HOLMDEL, NEW JERSEY -- [Name removed] (employee #22412) is a customer service “manager” at Vonage who reports directly to the office of the CEO (wow). This customer service office is located at Vonage Corporate 23 Main Street Holmdel, NJ 07733. One would think my call to this employee regarding my dissatisfaction over broken promises (ex. my issue has been escalated, I'll receive an email confirmation, your home security system will not be affected), unfulfilled services, inability to transfer my phone line, yada, yada, yada would bear some weight.

Wrong!

Like a well trained dog, this employee's response to my request to cancel (despite the numerous previous calls to customer service for updates and resolution) was met with a regurgitated reply “You have exceeded the 30 day return policy and will be charged a $40 cancellation fee and $80 for the router”. No exceptions to the policy!

“But”, I explained, “every time I’ve contacted your customer care center, I was told it would take just a little more time to switch my line over…”we expedited it!” Had I been told that Vonage was unable to transfer my line, I would have cancelled the service within the terms of your policy”

Sorry, he replied…no exceptions!

As the conversation progressed, I became increasingly agitated. I demanded to talk to someone higher…his manager, perhaps? Sorry, there is no one higher than me.

Great, if you have no superior to discuss the matter with, you must have the ability to make exceptions to the return policy due to your company’s inability to provide me the service I was promised.

Nope sorry, the policy came down from the CEO, no exceptions.

Well this went back and forth as you can imagine; they are very well coached and scripted agents. It’s like playing a shell game to try to get answers. The only sliver of information I was able obtain was the name of the CEO (Michael Snyder…no phone number of course).

Unsatisfied with this limited information, I did a little digging on my own. Below are several of the corporate officer names and titles. Each (except Michael Snyder) has voicemail accessible from the automated corporate directory at:

732.528.2600

MIKE SNYDER, CEO -
JEFFREY CITRON, CHB-CHIEF STRATEGIST
JOHN S REGO CPA, CFO
MICHAEL TRIBOLET, EXEC VP-OPERATIONS
LOUIS MAMAKOS, CTO

Corporate Fax: 732.834.0189
So far I have left voicemail for all officers except Mike Snyder…I emailed him at mike.snyder@corp.vonage.com, but I'll get his number too!

The bottom line is that Vonage misrepresents the service that they are capable of providing and strings you along until your 30 day cancellation window has closed. You contact customer service which allows no recourse nor the ability to escalate your issue.

The facts that (1.)they are in the process of going public, therefore cannot risk loss of revenue; (2.) have most likely exceeded their marketing budget ($200 per subscriber of apx. 1.4M active subscribers); and (3.) had to replace their CEO (Jeffrey Citron) prior to going public due to fraud charges stemming from his days as a day-trader with Datek Online in the mid-90s (settled by Citron personally paying $22.5 million to the Securities and Exchange Commission), probably have something to do with their current business practices. Jeffrey Citron remains chairman of the board and retains 41% interest in Vonage.

In response to Ponie's comment, it may be out of your comfort zone to escalate matters to a "C" level officer of a company, but in my experience as a corporate manager, the lack of consideration and service that Vonage has illustrated would never be tolerated in my company. That being said, I feel perfectly just in raising the issue to the CEO (who I'm told is the architect of the "no exception" policy) when offered no alternate solution. I'm sorry you don't feel important enough based on principal.

Hope this information can help YOU!


     
Replies
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
They Tried Not to Let Me Leave
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
HOLMDEL, NEW JERSEY -- I've been a fairly well satisfied Vonage customer for 7 years. I have had trouble with intermittent poor line quality, but it has never been clear whether this is a problem with my ISP. I've often found that the quality of customer service is poor, but I've not had a lot of reason to call them except to make changes in my service.

However, when, after porting out my phone number and making sure it worked on the new phone service, I called Vonage to cancel my service, they made it very difficult to cancel service, gave me a very hard time, and tried not to cancel my service. This was month to month service; I did not have a contract, and I did not expect a partial refund for cancelling in mid month. I actually cancelled the day before the month ended.

You can't just cancel service online. I called customer service. First I got someone who insisted that my number hadn't been ported out. I checked to make sure the port was complete and the phone number working correctly on my new phone service before trying again. Then I learned that while all other Vonage customer service is available 24/7, you have to call between certain hours and talk to a special office to cancel service. Then when I called back, the customer service person insisted I tell her why I want to cancel service before she would transfer me, and I had to Shout at her four times that I don't have to tell her anything, transfer me, and she actually transferred me when I told her I'd changed my payment method to a card with insufficient money available for Vonage to get their hands on it. When she put me through, a Chinese guy kept demanding to know why I was cancelling my service, and insisting that I had to do "cooperations" with him before he would cancel my service. I had to Shout at him six times that I don't have to tell him anything, I don't have to cooperate with him, cancel my service, NOW. He finally cancelled my service when I told him that I changed my payment method to a card with no funds available, and Vonage won't be able to get any more money from me, ever. The whole experience was completely outrageous, and at this moment, I can't recommend anything about Vonage to anybody.
     
Replies
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Expected the Worse, Was Surprised
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
ROANOKE, VIRGINIA -- After reading the hundreds of horror stories around the web about the nightmare of cancelling Vonage, I was expecting the worst when I decided to cancel my service this month after 6 years. I have to say in all that time I had excellent service. The calls were as clear as my cell service, and I never had a dropped call. When I signed up I got 30 days free, but the original box they sent didn't work. It took me the whole month to get a replacement, but they gave me another 30 days free because of the non-functioning box. After that I never had any reason to contact customer service until my cancellation today.

To be prepared, before I called Vonage, I called my credit card company that my Vonage bill is auto-paid on, and told them I am cancelling Vonage and want to block any further payments to them. Then I called Vonage. My hold time was about 15 minutes. I knew my Vonage PIN and had answered all the screening questions on the automated system, so didn't have to waste time re-verifying other than to give my name, number, and address. She did try to sell me a cheaper service (I told her I lost my job and couldn't afford Vonage any more), but when I said no, please just cancel she said OK. She told me the confirmation email would take up to 24 hours to arrive. The entire call took under 30 minutes.

The device stopped giving dial tone within 30 minutes, and the conformation email arrived within 10 minutes of the end of my phone call. I recorded both the call to my credit card company and to Vonage just in case. I know that sometimes people have gotten calls from collection agencies years later, so I intend to keep my confirmation email and these recordings until the end of time if needed. So far, so good.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Greed Greed
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
REDDING, CALIFORNIA -- I 1 week ago connected to Vonage in thought of saving money, not thinking at the time of the stress I would endure through this company, The order process went well I guess when you want money that is when everything is in order, I did not understand a lot that was said however was told not to worry that I could use my land line with the service, they also let me keep my old number for Charter, I got the modem and connected trying to use my land phone and only got a message that I need to check my internet connection.

So I called them thanks to a neighbor letting me have use of a cell phone. I was then walked through form a lady on making sure that I had the right connection and told me to see if I could log onto CNN on the internet. I am disabled and under doctors care for medical issues. Cannot be without my phone service. I was told that the lady would get back to me in the morning to see if I had service. Seems to me I will be getting the run around here.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Never Honored Request to Cancel Account, Found Out 3 Years Later
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
HOLMDEL, NEW JERSEY -- I was a Vonage customer in 2009. After deciding that I no longer needed a home phone, I called to cancel my service. Having heard nothing from them since I assumed the matter was finished. Now, three years later, I received a letter from a collection agency claiming that I owed Vonage $99.67. I contacted the agency and was told to call Vonage. In calling Vonage I was told that they had never honored my request to cancel my account. I asked several times why I was never informed of their claims that I owed them money or even that my account was still active. They claimed to have called (the phone that I assumed was deactivated and no longer used), and e-mailed (an old e-mail that I hadn't updated because, again, I thought my Vonage account was closed). I further questioned why, as they obviously have my name and address, they never sent me anything in the mail expressing their claims. The only response was that they, "...don't do that..."

I felt the need to inform them that I in fact was not psychic and had no idea that my account was still active after I had requested cancellation. After filing a report with the Better Business Bureau and the FCC, I searched the internet and discovered that apparently Vonage is known for not honoring customer's requests to cancel services. Vonage has the most bizarre business practices of any company I have ever dealt with. There is absolutely not way possible I would ever associate with this corrupt company again. If I could give them a negative star rating I would.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Vonage: FUBAR
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SANTA BARBARA, CALIFORNIA -- I have never been so relieved to be rid of a "service" in my life-- Vonage gets an F-minus as a telephone service provider. The connection is unreliable (it worked maybe 40% of the time), the process of getting someone to help with lack of connectivity is seemingly deliberately labyrinthine (and when you finally have success reaching help, the call is outsourced to India!), the process of trying to quit is frustrating (I finally asked Verizon to take over and cancel Vonage for me). I urge anyone contemplating using Vonage to avoid it at all costs. The main reason I had it is because they offered a transcript of voice messages sent to my email, and I live out of the country half-time, so this was very useful. Now, Google Voice provides a similar service for free! If I could take out a billboard on a major freeway warning people against Vonage, I would do it. Do your research!
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >