Window World

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.0 out of 5, based on 49 ratings and
69 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Customer Service and Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHANTILLY, VIRGINIA -- I hired Window World to do a complete replacement of the exterior of my 3000 sq foot home (roof, siding, gutters). Sales negotiations went well and our sales representative was always responsive. However installation and project management were terrible. The installation crew was unprofessional, had little knowledge of the product being installed and even attempted to fabricate makeshift materials when they ran out of supplies.

The roofing crew showed up on site without an air compressor and had to borrow my unit for a day. On another day the siding guys did not have a saw and again asked to borrow my tools to complete their work. Several days the workers were on site without a work truck containing necessary tools. Countless calls were made to Window World DC to have a representative come out and oversee their subcontractors. It wasn't until the project was nearly complete that the installation manager stopped by the site. At that point the job had been overdue by almost a full week and most of the work was complete.

A daily mess was left and at one point the workers even used my grill cover as a tarp to cover the air conditioning unit. 6 months after the installation I am still finding problems and have had Window World DC cancel on me twice the day before they were due after committing to the date to complete the repairs. While in my attic I noticed that the professional roofers had roofed over a 4" hole in the plywood and the siding team had placed siding over missing sheathing on the gables on the house. House wrap and step flashing were visible from inside the attic.

The attractive price was not worth the horrible experience that I have had. Here is a quote from the latest email with Window World DC on rescheduling. Apparently if they do the work for you ensure that it will be done by ** as he is the only worker available to do quality work.

From Install Manager **: "We as a company want/need ** to be the one to do the repairs at your house since he knows exactly what is needed to be done and to make sure the quality of work is top notch. I could get another crew, but we would not trust that everything would come to meet your/our standards."

Update 07/11/2014:

All issues from the original installation were finally corrected though it took several months to complete.

I hired window world to do a complete replacement of the exterior of my 3000sq foot home (roof, siding, gutters). Sales negotiations went well and our sales rep was always responsive. However installation and project management were terrible. The installation crew was unprofessional, had little knowledge of the product being installed and even attempted to fabricate makeshift materials when they ran out of supplies.

The roofing crew showed up on site without an air compressor and had to borrow my unit for a day. On another day the siding guys did not have a saw and again asked to borrow my tools to complete their work. Several days the workers were on site without a work truck containing necessary tools. Countless calls were made to window world DC to have a representative come out and oversee their subcontractors. It wasn't until the project was nearly complete that the installation manager stopped by the site. At that point the job had been overdue by almost a full week and most of the work was complete. There are too many details to list everything that went wrong.

     
Replies
Poor Service After the Sale!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA -- I contracted with Window World of Tallahassee to replace 14 windows and a door in our newly purchased home. Initially I was satisfied with the timeframe and quality of the job..... I still believe the actual windows are a quality product.

A period of time later when replacing the siding on our home extensive rot was discovered around virtually all of the windows that has either A) started since the completion of the job or B) was noticed but ignored/ covered up with extensive wood putty and caulk to make it LOOK like a quality job.

Window World of Tallahassee refuses to accept any sort of responsibility for the rotting wood (even though it was understood in the contract that any rotting wood found would be repaired or replaced during installation at an additional cost to me.). I am now having to remove the windows, replace all of the rotten wood and reinstall all of the windows at a cost of thousands of dollars to me.

Don't be fooled by their pricing. If you have to re-do the job in the near future because of their shotty workmanship it will cost you much, much more than getting a quality job done the first time.

I have reported to the BBB and am writing negative reviews, but Window World doesn't seem to care. They got my money..... They're done!

     
Replies
Bait and Switch - Run
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- They advertise any window replaced for $189.00 - up to a certain size. When the salesman ** came he said "Oh, you're replacing vinyl windows? I'm sorry, but our price is only valid if you replace wood windows. But we can replace these for $ 250.00". I told him to leave. He then insulted me further with saying: "Well, we can do it for $ 246.00 per window." How stupid does he think I am. I told him that that I have no interest in dealing with them.

He later called me and offered to do it for $ 200 per window, but I made it clear that this was principle and that I have no interest in dealing with such an unethical company. This is called 'Bait and Switch' and it's illegal in Georgia.

     
Replies
No Response After A Month Of E-Mails Calls And Texts
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- Approximately 1 month ago, March 21st, 2014, a Window World representative from the Pensacola, Fl store came to our house after we requested a quote for all new windows (will be about 25 in all). He spent about an hour and a half at our house. He told us that he would get us a quote in about a week (we have some unique windows he has to figure out) so I figured that was about right. The following Friday my wife receives a call from Window World's quality assurance office (or something like that) asking if we were going to purchase from them. My wife told them that we are not sure because we hadn't received a quote yet.

The representative told my wife that she would get on that right away. Fast forward to Tuesday, 15 April, 2014 still no word from anybody at Window World. My wife even e-mailed and left text messages for the man who came out to measure them and he has not responded. This is kind of weird because he was a very nice and knowledgeable person and we were excited about getting new windows. On 15 April I e-mailed the office in Orlando Florida and stated that I was not happy with not receiving any response from Window World.

I explained all of the above to him and also said that if I did not hear back from him that I would e-mail the corporate office, this was Tuesday night at 8 p. m., I received a response within 5 minutes from a ** in Orlando asking that I please give him a call so he can look into this issue and said thanks for my patience. I did not call that night because I was at the bowling alley. I phoned him the next morning at 11:30 a. m. His secretary said he was not in yet and asked if I wanted to be sent to his voicemail. I said yes and I left a message to please call me with my cell and office number.

Tomorrow will be a week and still have not heard from him. Friday night I e-mailed the corporate office in North Carolina, again explaining the above and also asked if this is Window World's standard operating procedure (not calling back customers) told them I would never buy from them and that I would not refer them to any of my friends and acquaintances. I also said that I was going to start leaving negative comments as well but was giving them an opportunity to rectify the situation. Well, I've still heard nothing.

Window World, what is your problem? If my house is too much of a hassle to put in new windows all you have to do is say so. Not returning calls or e-mails is pretty [upsetting]!!! I would have been spending quite a bit of money on you. Oh yeah, I just remembered, the rep who came to my house was also going to have their vinyl siding person get a hold of me. Well guess what?? They've never called either. So I guess what I really need to say is that this is one unprofessional company and I'm really surprised they are even in business!!!

     
Replies
Window World Not Trustworthy
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I had 13 windows replaced in January of this year. A friend had recommended Window World and she said she couldn't even tell they had been to her home. What a different experience I had... don't know if it was just a bad crew or what. First, they told me they would do one window at a time because it was the dead of winter... They took out 5 windows in my dining room all at the same time. When I questioned why, I was told because I had hung a sheet up between the dining room and living room they thought it would be okay. A sheet does not keep the heat in!

My friend told me they were never inside her house... I had all 3 men in my house tracking up my white carpet. They chipped paint from my walls, chipped a wood base board, scratched saloon doors in bathroom, and gouged wall paper. They pitched an outdoor thermometer for a solar clock I had into an empty flower pot where it got rained on and now my temperature gauge doesn't work. They left chunks of mortar in the floor in several rooms. My dining table was covered in cement dust... I had a mess to clean up when they left.

I complained and their supervisor came out and he assured me that they would talk to the crew and make sure the next customer was aware these things might happen... said that is where they failed me. What?? If they had told me that, do you think I would've used them? He promised me a $100 discount for my troubles... I have not seen a penny. Oh, and when they say the person who referred you will get $100, don't believe them... She hasn't received a cent. I wish I had gone with another company. And do not believe the $189 window...12 windows cost me $3500.

     
Replies
Horrible Customer Service, No Control of SubContractors
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NAPERVILLE, ILLINOIS -- I contracted Window World to install new windows for all of my windows, a new bay window and a new storm door. Sales date was November 2, 2011. Did not hear from company again until ready to install in late January. ** from WW called to arrange delivery dates since it would take 2 days to complete the job. He offered me two weekday delivery dates, February 1st and 2nd (Wednesday and Thursday).

I informed him work is busy and I could not take 2 weekdays off work until after February 11th due to our workload. ** stated he needed the warehouse space and could not wait that long so he scheduled to have my windows installed on Friday February 3rd and Saturday February 4th. Crew that came Friday was not a Window World crew but a subcontractor. I was OK with this.

They got to work and all was going well. At the end of the day, as the crew was packing up, I asked what time they would be back in the morning and they informed me they were not coming back until Tuesday February 7th. I stated this was not possible and that I had been told they would be back Saturday Feb. 4th. They informed me they had another job that was scheduled to be done Feb. 4th and that I would instead have to call the office Monday and schedule the remaining install the FOLLOWING Saturday, Feb. 11th.

I had already made arrangements for my wife and twin 7 month old babies to be out of the house on Saturday Feb 4th, and now I had to make new arrangements for them to be out of the house the following week on the 11th. On top of not coming back when they were supposed to, the crew also left gaps between the windows and frame to where outside cold air was blowing into my home. I had to go to the hardware store and purchase gap filling foam since I could not let cold air blow in my house for more than a week.

I called Monday and spoke to ** in the office who listened to my complaints about the crew not adhering to the scheduled work dates and leaving the install project in a state that was unsatisfactory. She asked me to send her an e-mail with photos and my complaint. I did that on Monday Feb. 6th at 9:30 am. Despite several attempts later Monday and all Tuesday, it took until Wednesday Feb. 8th for the office to e-mail me back. ** stated that "unless it is for a crew not showing up there is usually no discount. I will bring your concern to the installation managers attention again and let you know if there is a change."

The issue arises from WW's use of a subcontractor who they cannot control. I contracted Window World to complete the install, THEY contracted the sub contractor. Their poor communication is not my problem, WW should have made this right for their customer. I argued that the crew not coming back on Saturday WAS a case where the crew did not show up.

In the days since, I have repeatedly tried to contact ** concerning this issue. She has replied to me about other issues but will not discuss the requested discount. I have also requested to speak to **, or whomever is in charge of the Naperville office but no one will call back. I have also requested a number for Window World Corporate and cannot get anyone to provide one.

I am requesting a nominal discount as a good faith compensation for the additional week that the install took, for having to reschedule time for my babies to be out of the house and for the crew's poor workmanship on the initial install. The company has since completed the install and the product looks great, however the customer service of this company is extremely subpar.

Company Response 02/22/2012:

We have received the above complaint and I agree that most of the statements are true. When we had to go back and finish the project it was a minimal amount of work which included installing a storm door, some interior trim, some exterior work and miscellaneous caulking. The homeowner didn't need to have his children removed from the house; however, that is his choice. We completed the work, it looks great and the customer has full and complete warranties for any future issues. We are in the process of working with the BBB to work out the issues with the customer.

     
Replies
Do Not Buy Anything From Window World seriously
By -

CHANTILLY, VIRGINIA -- I have had the worst experience ever with Window World of DC. First of all they say the sell a 189 window installed, that's a lie. Yea sure they will install it for 189 but you got to get this and that (you have to get the ext. Trim and low/e argon gas and any other options more $$$) and the 189 is their low end window... So right off the bat it's more like 400 per window minimum. OK so that isn't the bad news... Oh and the sales people will show you reviews and comments from previous customers raving about the company but I think that's total bs probably just made it up themselves.

The sales people tell you "oh you'll get a call in a few days 3-5 at the most and someone will come to measure your windows"...Another lie. Nobody calls you. No one. You have to call and practically beg and complain for someone to come out. And when these people who work over there answer the phone they have this attitude like why are you calling me? What's your problem? Customer service really really really sucks. The people who work there must be miserable. It's like you're calling the morgue. You got to be courteous, have a smile in your voice but more like they're angry that you called.

Oh and when this measurer does call you he doesn't speak English. Yea so you have a really hard time trying to communicate and the caller gets upset with you and yells at you. Umm hello I'm the customer I should be upset not you. And the installers don't speak English so you got to call the office and go through hell just to communicate. I mean they speak very limited basic English. And I got no problem if you can't speak English but if I'm paying you guys thousands of dollars I shouldn't have to go through that to ask questions during install.

Cheap windows cheap labor a friend told me. So they say 4-6 weeks from time you sign a contract to the time you get installed another lie. Took 3 months. It was a nightmare mismeasures, order wasn't placed correctly, oh the truck from the factory didn't bring the windows blah blah blah excuses excuses.

And they rave about their lifetime all inclusive warranty. Yea if you call and complain 10 times and put up with their horrible customer service. If you ever call them they'll say I need to take a message we'll call you back... Yeah next year. I had to drive to their office just for them to listen to me when I had a warranty issue and when I just wanted to know what the hell is taking so long for you guys to call a customer back. Look if I wasn't so upset with their product, service, and just the way they treat people I wouldn't be wasting my time putting this up. I just don't want anyone else to go through this nightmare because they say they're great but they're not.

Company Response 04/01/2009:

This review was written by a previous disgruntled employee that was terminated from our company.

Company Response 04/03/2009:

The attorney for Window World of DC is in the process of pursuing this former employee to the fullest extent of the law because of acts committed while in the employ of our company. Further, he will challenge the site to remove these lies and inuendos.
We take customer service very seriously. We have grown our business in the DC metro area to be one of the most successful window replacement firms in this area. We install over 20,000 units per year with approximately 40-50% of that coming from referrals. Obviously that would not happen if we were not satisfying our customers.

     
Replies
Avoid Window World
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- We had windows original to the house (1982) and decided that the curtains blowing inside on a windy day was a bad thing. We got estimates from a few companies. They ranged from $18,000-$3,000, needless to say the $18,000 was a no go. We decided to go with window world even though they were not the cheapest. The sales person was not all that great. I frustrated him because I did my research and knew what I wanted.

After 6 weeks my windows finally came in. I had 8 windows but because the opening on one was so big they had to make it into 2 windows. The first scheduled date for install was cancelled because it was to cold and my house has half of the windows in stone and the mortar won't set in temps below 32 degrees. The second install day came up and the temp was only 34 degrees but they decided to roll with it. They were supposed to show up between 8-9 am. At 9:30 I called and was told they were about to leave. Then I called again at 11:00 and was told they were about 30 minutes away even though my house is less than an hour from their wear house.

They finally showed up at 12:30. They told me they should be able to get most of the way done in the 5 hours they had. They got 2 windows out and 2 placed and foamed around the edges. I told them they could be at my house at 7 the next morning to start working. They showed up at 8:30. They told me that their trailer with my windows in it fell off while driving down the highway. At 12:00 they had removed one more window and installed the interior trim on 2.

I was quite ticked off and told them I could not miss anymore work. They decided to work outside and get it all buttoned up. That didn't happen. When I got home it was half done and looked like crap. They set a 3rd day to work on my house. I told them I would not allow the first 2 installers back in my property. They sent 2 new guys that were able to do the next 5 windows in 4 hours. So if you get the ** and ** I'm sorry. ** seemed like a smart guy, he was the helper so he couldn't take charge. But ** is a moron, send them away and ask for a different group of installers.

With this company the right hand does not know what the left is doing. I had a $35 balance left to make to conclude my business with this company. I was told not to worry about it they would wright it off because of the hassle I went through. That was the least they could do after I took 3 days off. Then I get a bill in the mail for the $35, I call and had to talk to 3 people to get it taken care of.

The manager ** is a moron and after meeting him and talking to him I am not impressed, he kept saying "we will make it right, you have my word." Well his word is crap! Do not use this company, you will regret it.

     
Replies
Sloppy workman ship not thorough when it came to detail
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

GRAND PRAIRIE, TEXAS -- Window World will hire contractors so you will not know the skill of workmanship. I had 11 windows replaced and they sent out a 2 man crew (father and son) the father was still teaching the son while at the house. They used drop clothes inside the house under the area where the windows were being ripped out. There were no drop clothes put on the outside of the house and the next day I spent most of the day using my own shop vac to vacuum up shards of glass (still don't know if some of the glass fell into the pool that is outside the kitchen windows.)

I am also concerned about now planting in the flower beds that were under the windows as I am fearful of getting glass in my hands the calking that was put on the inside of the windows was put down very uneven and also not completely sealed. They cut corners and put new calking over some of the old calking instead of removing all of the old.

Some of the boards around the bay window were loosened while the windows were being removed and they didn't reseal the wood under the windows. All of the calking on the outside of the windows was smeared unevenly and without any attention to detail as the calking was all over the bricks next to the windows and there are still spots where the windows were not sealed completely.

After they drove off I had to use my shop vac and clean up all of the broken glass they left on the street that was under their trailer that they used to haul off all of the broken old windows. I have a call into the company for a manager to come look at the work done and I will do a follow up post after I meet with Window World.

     
Replies
Horrible customer service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WAYNESBORO, VIRGINIA -- First of all for the record I'd like to state that I am not the type of person to complain. I work in customer service myself so I realize how difficult it can be. However, my experience with Window World has been absolutely horrible. Their customer service is terrible. Not only do they never call you back when they say they will but the person who measured my windows the first time measured wrong so my new windows were brought to me and not able to be replaced on the installation date.

It has been a nightmare trying to find out when the new windows (for the second time) will be installed. Not to mention the fact that all of this has already been paid for. I will never recommend Window World to a friend or family member ever again.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >