Preview Review

Next Review

Bob's Discount Furniture Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
All junk furniture
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- Their furniture and customer relation all garbage. If you want to replace in a year then buy there my bed. Top of their line $3500 didn't make it a year and had to buy another bed. Used another company and their couch made it a year and a half. Wow. All junk. Be warned.

Replies
Lousy Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONROEVILLE, PENNSYLVANIA -- Re: Bob's Discount Furniture, Monroeville, PA. First delivery from Bob's Discount furniture 1/30/18: Large couch, console, and love seat. We were told this console could be placed anywhere - between the two large couch seats, or the two love seat pieces. Once in my home, the delivery guys seemed confused about how I wanted it set up; then I realized why. The console is NOT mobile - it is permanently attached to the loveseat. Because it didn't look as I wanted it to, I spoke to the salesman (Steve **?) later and he confirmed his error.

They did offer to take the furniture back. In addition to not being what I wanted, the delivery men ripped the end off of one of the power recliner wires, so that would have needed replaced as well. When I got a call back from the manager, Norm, a little while later, he offered $200 off if I chose something else in the store. I wasn't sure, but I wanted new furniture, so I looked at a sectional and decided to get it, though the material wasn't exactly what I wanted, I thought I might like it ok. Delivery was set for a week later. The men were taking the previously ordered couch/love seat and bringing in the new stuff.

While disassembling the old furniture, the men gouged three places in my wall (pic attached). And the new furniture, there was no wedge with it! I called the sales guy again, he says ‘There is no wedge in the furniture set you ordered'. Um, I took a picture of it, thank goodness! So, I sent the picture, and what do you know, he calls to say he neglected to order the wedge with the rest of the furniture. Same sales guy as last time (he says I must think he is an idiot - I am mum).

Being it was another $400 for the wedge, I wanted to just forget the whole thing, but I ordered it and set up yet another delivery date to get the wedge. At least they didn't charge delivery on all these mishaps. Unfortunately, I've started reading reviews on Bob's throughout all this aggravation and also seeing constant complaints about the Goof Proof coverage, which I also purchased. I'm thinking, just 24 hours later, maybe I can just return the whole set and be done with Bob's…but no.

After a long conversation with customer service, they would not budge on doing a return. Supposedly there is to be some type of “compensation” for all our troubles, but they can't tell us what exactly that will amount to - not until everything (wedge included) had been delivered, which it now has, as of this morning. I'm sure I'll have to keep badgering them for follow-up. I also want to just “return” the goof proof coverage, but I'm sure I'll get nowhere on that.

The best I can do now is to try to spread the word. You might get lucky with these people, but it's like Russian roulette, so tread carefully. And now, I have seen a sectional I really, really like at Lazor Furniture in Latrobe, PA. It is a family owned business, extremely nice people run it. They have no delivery fee; the gentleman running the place, Conrad **, told us that we were free to get furniture protection but he wasn't pushing it; didn't think we'd really need it. I had looked there while looking at other places, including Bob's. Not sure why I didn't just run with it. Now I'm stuck.

Replies
Horrible product, customer service and Nonexistent coverage from their "GOOF PROOF WARRANTY" they push
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- I went to Bob's in the North Hills a year and a half ago. Bought a sofa and loveseat. Got talked into another $129 for goofproof protection.
Sofa was 14 months old and material was all stretching and wrinkling...Called....past warranty and Goof Proof won't cover mfgr. problem. Now it is 18 mos and love seat material is pulling away from back of loveseat. There are 3 adults and a dog in my house and two of us never even use the livingroom as we are in gameroom. Again neither Bob's or the GoofProof would cover. DO NOT BUY UPHOLSTERED FURNITURE FROM THEM AND DEFINITELY DO NOT WASTE MONEY ON THEIR GOOFPROOF WARRANTY WHICH COVERS NOTHING!
If you think I am crazy, view pictures below!

Replies
Delivery Issues
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LIVONIA, MICHIGAN -- I ordered a reclining sofa with matching recliner on March 23, 2021. I received the sofa around the middle of May. It was missing a part and I was told a replacement sofa would be sent out. The recliner was finally delivered July 17, 2021. The sofa was scheduled four times for delivery since May and each time, the night before, I received notice that for some reason the delivery was cancelled and rescheduled at another date.

I received multiple messages saying my sofa would be delivered August 13, 2021. On that date a truck did arrive. Not to deliver the sofa but to pick up the first sofa delivered in May. Another truck which was to deliver my sofa was mysteriously cancelled. I say mysteriously because when I went to the store, they said they did not understand what happened to the scheduled delivery. Needless to say, I did not allow the sofa in my house to be removed. I did return to the store and I was given another delivery date of August 20, 2021.

Replies
Advertisement
Bought an Adjustable Split King Bed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- We recently bought a bed (a split King adjustable bed) from Bob's. My husband's side was to be firm and mine was to be plush. When it was delivered on Friday the email said we were getting one firm and one plush mattress. I had them set it up and they left. Afterwards we discovered that tags on both mattresses were firm. I am unable to sleep on mine and have been sleeping on the couch for the past few nights.

When I called customer service they said they would not be able to replace it until their stores reopen because they will not ship what I ordered and paid for until they can pick up the wrong mattress. I am expected to use this sleep on this mattress that is way too hard for me. I could be stuck with this mattress for several months until the store reopens and they refuse to ship me the product that I ordered. I will never shop here again and I am doing my best to inform everyone I know about the horrible customer service that I have received. Every night that I go to the bed. I am anger every time I look at this mattress. DO NOT SHOP HERE!

Replies
Alleged warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CONNECTICUT, CONNECTICUT -- The warranty that Bob's furniture advertises all over to it's customers is all LIES. I purchased a mattress from them that allegedly had an 18 year manufacturer's defect warranty. There was splitting at the seam on the Bob-O-Pedic, (which I initially did not know was even there, due to having a mattress cover on it). I call to have them send someone out to look at it. This guy says "we have to make it look really bad so that they'll cover it under warranty", then takes pictures and deems that the damage is not manufacturing defect, but customers fault, and they refuse to do anything about it. I even go as far as to call corporate office, and supervisor Connie tells me that yes, it likely began as splitting, which would have been covered under defect INITIALLY, but that the split was too large now to be eligible for defect warranty. I have never heard such a thing. The company brags in advertising about their warranties but clearly don't stand behind their products. I am highly disappointed and would never recommend this company to anyone.

Replies
Don't shop here
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- DON'T SHOP HERE GUYS! If I could give a lesser star rating I would. My husband and I just bought our first house so naturally, we went furniture shopping. In the store, we were guaranteed delivery on November 12th for a couch if we signed up for the credit card. We signed up. Two days before delivery we receive 3-5 calls a day confirming different delivery dates. I took it upon myself to call and come to find out, the biggest piece of our couch is not available for another week. We confirmed the last piece to be delivered the 16th, the 19th, and then (without calling us) we were confirmed for the 24th- THE DAY OF OUR WEDDING. It took SIX wasted visits and four months to finally get our couch set up correctly. This is completely unacceptable, messy and shady business behavior and I will be reporting them to the Better Business Bureau for lying and bribing us into getting their credit card and for lying about the delivery dates serval times over. It was the most unnecessarily stressful buying experience we've had to go through...and all for a COUCH!

Replies
I had no problem with Bob's furniture or delivery, except wrong color couch.
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

NESCONSET, NEW YORK -- I see many complaints here about Bob's furniture, delivery and customer service so I felt compelled to give my positive review figuring that people only post reviews when they have a bad experience, but not the good. I bought a couch and a king sized Bobby Bear bed with euro top (which I've also seen several complaints about). The salesman I dealt with was very friendly, patient and helpful. After putting my order through I even changed my mind on which couch I wanted before even leaving the store, and he gladly changed the order for me and I gave him the additional money because that couch was $200 more than my original choice.

The furniture was delivered the date it was promised and I had a car accident on my way to my new apartment to meet the delivery, so they even came back later the same day because I was not there for their first delivery attempt that morning due to the accident (as a side note, I was not hurt but my Mercedes was totaled, not a good start to my day). When the delivery guys arrived they were nice enough and although they seemed to move quickly, which made me nervous they would damage the furniture, they didn't cause any damage to the furniture or my new place, and in no time the furniture was inside.

Unfortunately, the one problem I did have was when they started to unwrap the couch, I noticed it was not the color I had ordered it in. I called the store while they waited and arranged for a new delivery of the correct color couch. The salesman said I could keep the wrong color couch for now and when they deliver the correct color couch, they will pick up the wrong couch at the same time. I thought that was cool because at least I still have a couch in the meantime. Other than that I didn't have any problem with Bob's furniture at all.

It is now almost 5 years later and although I have since moved and did have the furniture in storage for part of that time, I have been using the furniture for a total of around 3 1/2 years and I am still happy with both pieces. My Bobby Bear bed is still so comfy, and I believe the problem people are having with it being lumpy or sagging may have something to do with the frame, because I don't have mine on a frame, I have it on the floor with a dust ruffle on the box spring because I don't like my bed too high up and mine is still firm, no lumps and no sagging at all.

My couch is also still in good shape, no sagging and not falling apart and I have pets and fat friends who sit all over it! As far as the stories about the Goof proof insurance, I bought it too but that is a separate company which is an "insurance" company, and to me it just doesn't make sense that they would actually replace or repair anything for such a small amount of money, even damage done due to one's own fault such a long time after purchase and use.

If something seems too good to be true, that's probably because it is. Most insurance is rarely what it's sold as. I got it too but never really had reason to use it. Both of my choices have since been discontinued, and I feel lucky I got them when I did because I am still very happy with both.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible products, Poor Customer Service, Goof-Proof a Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MANCHESTER, CONNECTICUT -- I bought a complete living room set for my home, I bought a sofa, two chairs and a three piece table set. When I first received the tables they were delivered damaged. The coffee table came dented and there were screws sticking out of the legs of the side tables. The screws actually scratched up my floor. It took them 3 months for me to get tables, and the only reason we got tables was because we had to go in and reorder new tables. The originals were on back order and they told me it could be another 2 months before I got the tables, but they sold them to us anyway.

Now less than two years later, the sofa I bought is falling apart. The couch has sunken in and collapsed and the arm is broken. There are no young children in my home and it was not abused. When you touch the right arm of the couch you can hear the wood cracking. The cushions can not be sat on because they are sunken in. It is almost like the foam or whatever is inside is decomposing. There are springs sticking out of the cushions as well. We no longer can sit on the couch.

I bought the goof proof and was told at purchase that is covers everything. They will repair it or replace the furniture if it can not be replaced. I went to Bob's stores and told them what was happening, and that I had goof proof. They told me it only covers small rips and stains, which is not what the salespeople tell you. They sell the goof proof as the ultimate additional coverage. The salesmen told me that it is additional manufacturer coverage, as well as it covers all additional stains and damage caused by anyone even pets and kids. So they told me that I should call Bob's.

I called them today and they told me that goof proof does not cover the quality and that Bob's only gives a one year warranty. There was nothing they were going to do. The couch is collapsing from poor quality and there is nothing I can do. They sent a Bob's technician to my home anyway, and the tech guy walked in and told us that this couch is crap, he has been on many calls about this couch and couches similar to it. I called Bob's and they said they can't help us that the warranty is up, call goof proof. They even told me what to say to get Guardian (Goof Proof Company) to come.

The guy came two months after my initial call, and the guy was at my home for 5 minutes, and also told me that this couch is garbage. He took pictures of the collapsed arm, and the cushions. He then told us "Good luck getting something done, Guardian will only cover small stains and burns and not manufacturer's defects." So essentially we are out of luck, we now have to buy another couch to replace the one I bought 1 1/2 years ago.

I was planning on buying a dining room and bedroom set from Bob's. Thank goodness that the couch fell apart and Bob's poor quality was shown to me before I dropped another 2500 at Bob's. I will go someplace else where I might spend more initially, but will not have to drop more money every 1 1/2 years to replace the cheap garbage I already bought. Update: As predicted, Goof proof will not do anything for my couch, and I am currently shopping for another couch. Bob's furniture is made to last 1 year, just to get past the manufacturer warranty. DO NOT BUY FROM BOB'S, and if you do DO NOT BUY THE GOOF PROOF, it is completely useless.

Company Response 08/07/2013:

I'd like to help. Please email me at BobCares@MyBobs.com with the name, address and phone number associated with your account.
Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Mislead by Sales Rep With Buying Goof Proof
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTHINGTON, CONNECTICUT -- I recently purchased a 6-piece sectional from Bob's in light brown suede. My fiance and I were hesitant with buying suede because we have a 2 yr old. We voiced our concern to the sales representative and he then introduced goof proof. After telling us all about goof proof we thought 'hey we can't go wrong.' The sales representative even gave examples like if our son took a crayon, pen or marker and drew all over the couch it would be covered or if his cup leaked and left a stain.

So we said 'well you can't go wrong. let's do it.' So we purchased the sectional which we found out was not in stock until the following month and we spent the extra $99 for goof proof... The couch ended up being delivered in almost 3 different deliveries they had kept saying that certain pieces were still not in... My fiance was frustrated at that point and we should have taken that as a sign to just cancel the whole order.

So about 2 months after have the couch one day my son gets his hands on a black marker and scribbles all over our storage ottoman and the wedge console to the couch.. My fiance was upset at the time and I wasn't so much. I was like 'hey I will just call goof proof. that's what we brought it for right...' It was a weekend and goof proof was closed so I used the cleaner that was given to us at Bob's which after scrubbing for quite a while got most of the marker out.

So a few days later I called goof proof. I was on the phone for about 20 minutes before anyone assisted me. I told the representative that I needed to file a claim. He asked what happened and what was damaged. I told him which pieces they were and that it had marker and pen and my son had drawn on the couch. The representative then tells me how many marks are on each piece. I thought he was joking but nope they want you to count each mark dots and all. After counting each mark line and dot on each piece he put me on a brief hold. Only to tell me when he returned that it was not covered due to marks greater than 6 inches and being excessive in markage.

I was speechless. I asked him why wasn't it covered, he said because it didn't happen at one time. I was like "were you here when it happened?" - "no.." I told him the pamphlet says it covers marker and pen. He then says "yes if it's an accident", how is a two year old scribbling on a couch not an accident. He said "it's more like if you sit down with a pen in your pocket or something and you mark the couch." When asked what does excessive mean he told me "because you said there are about 20 marks on the ottoman." I said "we'll yes but only because I counted dots."

I mean really I told them they were full of crap and said some other not so great words and then hung up on them. I knew it was too good to be true.. I will never buy that crap again. What a waste of money.. Don't buy goof proof no matter how good it sounds. That Bob's sales representative is full of crap.

Company Response 06/07/2013:

I'd be glad to see what we can do to help out. Please send your contact info to BobCares@MyBobs.com and I'll be in touch. Thanks, Eric.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Bob's Discount Furniture Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 170 ratings and
275 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Bob's Discount Furniture
428 Tolland Tpke.
Manchester, CT 06040
800-569-1284 (ph)
860-645-4056 (fax)
www.mybobs.com
Compare Furniture Stores